DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed June 25th, 2026, are noted. Applicants’ amendments to the Specification to overcome the objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/25/2026 are noted.
Applicants’ amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claims 15-24 are now canceled; Claims 1-14 and 25-35 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-14 and 25-35 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 25-26, 30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boon (U.S. PG Pub US2004/0238909A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Boon teaches an optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]), comprising:
a semiconductor die (20) fig. 8 [0034] mounted on a lead (460a) fig. 8 [0034] (lead/die mounted on one-another [0020, 0022]) and electrically connected (electrically coupled through 61 [0026, 0034]) to the lead (460a) of the optical sensor package (410);
a mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] (“casing” formed by mold compound [0027]) covering the semiconductor die (20) and the lead (460a), the mold compound (480) having a cavity (opening in 480) fig. 8 [0034], wherein a side surface of the lead (460a) is coplanar with a side surface of the mold compound (480) (see plane in annotated fig. 8 below), and wherein the side surface of the mold compound (480) forms a portion of an exterior surface (outermost surface) of the optical sensor package (410);
an optical sensor (30) fig. 8 [0023-0024] (active area to detect radiation/optical signals) on the semiconductor die (20) and exposed to the cavity (opening in 480) fig. 8 [0034]; and
[AltContent: textbox (Cavity in 480, filled by 40, 46 )]a glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] (glass window) inside the cavity (opening in 480), the glass member (40) abutting (being supported by) the sensor (30) and a wall of the cavity (opening in 40), the glass member (40) exposed to an exterior environment of the optical sensor package (410), the glass member (40) having a thickness approximately equivalent to a depth of the cavity (depth of cavity at level of 40 – see annotated fig. 8 below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (48)][AltContent: textbox (Depth of cavity at level of 40)][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Plane defined parallel to and comprising outermost, left sides of 466a, 480 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 8 of Boon
Regarding claim 2, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) of claim 1. Boon also teaches further comprising an optical adhesive (48) fig. 8 [0024-0025] abutting (being supported by surfaces of) the optical sensor (30) fig. 8 [0023-0024] and the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034].
Regarding claim 4, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) of claim 1. Boon also teaches wherein a volume of the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] is approximately equal to a volume of the cavity (opening in 480) fig. 8 [0034] (where cavity in 480 is filled by 40, have approximately equivalent rectangular shaped volume).
Regarding claim 5, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) of claim 1. Boon also teaches wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] (glass window) has a first portion (P1) and a second portion (P2) (refer to annotated fig. 8 of Boon above for definitions of P1 and P2, divided by line), the first portion (P1) closer to the optical sensor (30) fig. 8 [0023-0024] than the second portion (P2), the first portion (P1) having a larger horizontal cross-sectional area than the second portion (P2) (P1 is defined as a larger portion of 40 than P2, as defined in annotated fig. 8 of Boon above).
Regarding claim 25, Boon teaches an optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]), comprising:
a semiconductor die (20) fig. 8 [0034] including an optical sensor (30) fig. 8 [0023-0024] (active area to detect radiation/optical signals) mounted on a lead (460a) fig. 8 [0034] and electrically connected to the lead (460a) of the optical sensor package (410);
a glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] (glass window) covering the optical sensor (30); and
a mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] (“casing” formed by mold compound [0027]) covering the semiconductor die (20) and contacting side walls of the glass member (40) such that a top surface of the glass member (40) is coplanar with a top surface of the mold compound (480) and wherein a side surface of the lead (460a) is coplanar with a side surface of the mold compound (480), the side surface of the lead (460a) and the side surface of the mold compound (480) together forming a side surface (outermost surface) of the optical sensor package (410).
[AltContent: textbox (61)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Cavity in 480, filled by 40, 46 )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (48)][AltContent: textbox (Depth of cavity at level of 40)][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Plane defined parallel to and comprising outermost, left sides of 466a, 480 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 8 of Boon
Regarding claim 26, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 25. Boon also teaches wherein the (top of) glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] is exposed to an exterior environment of the optical sensor package (410) (top of 40 is exposed at top of package 410).
Regarding claim 30, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 25. Boon also teaches further comprising an optical adhesive (48) fig. 8 [0024-0025] abutting (being supported by surfaces of) the optical sensor (30) fig. 8 [0023-0024] and the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034].
Regarding claim 32, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 25. Boon also teaches wherein the semiconductor die (20) fig. 8 [0034] is electrically connected (“electrically coupled” [0026]) to the lead (460a) fig. 8 [0034] of the optical sensor package (410) via a bond wire (61) fig. 8 [0026] (see annotated fig. 8 above for 61 label in fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1) (of record), as applied in claims 1 and 25 above, in view of Shigemitsu (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0013939A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 3, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) of claim 1. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] (glass window) is a stepped cylindrical member having two different diameters (40 shown with uniform diameter throughout).
Shigemitsu teaches an optical sensor package (10b) fig. 4 [0062] wherein the glass member (32b) fig. 4 [0062] is a stepped cylindrical member having (at least) two different horizontal diameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the glass member in Boon’s device to include the curved bumps and steps [0062] of Shigemitsu’s glass lens in order to modulate light propagation towards the image sensor in a way that may improve resolving power [0003] and reduce optical sensor package size [0002], as taught by Shigemitsu.
Regarding claim 6, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) of claim 1. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] (glass window) has a convex surface (flat instead).
Shigemitsu teaches an optical sensor package (10b) fig. 4 [0062] wherein the glass member (32b) fig. 4 [0062] has a convex surface (upper bumps) [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the glass member in Boon’s device to include the curved bumps and steps [0062] of Shigemitsu’s glass lens in order to modulate light propagation towards the image sensor in a way that may improve resolving power [0003] and reduce optical sensor package size [0002], as taught by Shigemitsu.
Regarding claim 31, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) of claim 25. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] (glass window) is a stepped cylindrical member having two different diameters (40 shown with uniform diameter throughout).
Shigemitsu teaches an optical sensor package (10b) fig. 4 [0062] wherein the glass member (32b) fig. 4 [0062] is a stepped cylindrical member having (at least) two different horizontal diameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the glass member in Boon’s device to include the curved bumps and steps [0062] of Shigemitsu’s glass lens in order to modulate light propagation towards the image sensor in a way that may improve resolving power [0003] and reduce optical sensor package size [0002], as taught by Shigemitsu.
Claims 7-8, 13, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1) (of record) in view of Etschmaier (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0226514A1).
Regarding claim 7, Boon teaches an optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]), comprising:
a semiconductor die (20) fig. 8 [0034] electrically connected (electrically coupled through 61 [0026, 0034]) to a lead (460a) fig. 8 [0034] of the optical sensor package (410);
a mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] (“casing” formed by mold compound [0027]) covering the semiconductor die (20) and having a cavity (opening in 480) fig. 8 [0034] over (at least partially above) a portion of the semiconductor die (20), the cavity (opening in 480) having first (P1) and second (P2) horizontal cross-sectional areas that differ from each other (as defined in annotated fig. 8 below, the cross-sectional area of the P1 portion above the line defined in annotated fig. 8 is less than a cross-sectional area of the P2 portion below the line defined in annotated fig. 8), wherein an external side surface of the lead (460a) is approximately coplanar with an external side surface of the mold compound (480) (see plane in annotated fig. 8 below), and wherein the external side surface of the lead (460a) is part of an exterior surface (outermost surface) of the optical sensor package (410) (see annotated fig. 8 below);
an optical sensor (30) fig. 8 [0023-0024] (active area to detect radiation/optical signals) on the semiconductor die (20); and
a glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] (glass window) coupled (thermally coupled) to the optical sensor (30) and abutting multiple walls (both left and right sidewalls) of the cavity (opening in 480) fig. 8 [0034], the glass member (40) having the same cross-sectional shape as the cavity (opening in 480) (where cavity in 480 is filled by 40, have same rectangular shape), the (top of) glass member (40) exposed to an exterior environment of the optical sensor package (410) (top of 40 is exposed at top of package 410) (see annotated fig. 8 below).
[AltContent: textbox (Cavity in 480, filled by 40, 46 )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: textbox (P2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (48)][AltContent: textbox (Depth of cavity at level of 40)][AltContent: ][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Plane defined parallel to and comprising outermost, left sides of 466a, 480 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 8 of Boon
However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the mold compound (480) is an opaque mold compound (opaqueness properties of 80/480 material not explicitly disclosed).
Etschmaier teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0074-0075] wherein the mold compound is an opaque mold compound (3 comprising 31) fig. 3 [0063, 0077, 0080-0081].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor package of Boon such that the sidewall molding compound is explicitly formed of an opaque, light blocking mold material [0063, 0077, 0080-0081] in order to improve parasitic light blockage [0090] by the molding compound so as to aid in the reduction of optical crosstalk [0002, 0003] for improved optical sensor package reliability, as taught by Etschmaier.
Regarding claim 8, Boon in view of Etschmaier teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 7. Boon also teaches wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] has a horizontal cross-sectional area and thickness such that the optical sensor (30) fig. 8 [0023-0024] is able to detect a light ray having an angle of incidence at the optical sensor (30) between 0 and 70 degrees (could detect light at middle having an i.e., 1 degree – a slight offset from normal to the surface).
Regarding claim 13, Boon in view of Etschmaier teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 7. Boon also teaches wherein a volume of the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] is approximately equal to a volume of the cavity (opening in 480) fig. 8 [0034] (where cavity in 480 is filled by 40, have approximately equivalent rectangular shaped volume).
Regarding claim 33, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 1. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] is an opaque mold compound (opaqueness properties of 80/480 material not explicitly disclosed).
Etschmaier teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0074-0075] wherein the mold compound is an opaque mold compound (3 comprising 31) fig. 3 [0063, 0077, 0080-0081].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor package of Boon such that the sidewall molding compound is explicitly formed of an opaque, light blocking mold material [0063, 0077, 0080-0081] in order to improve parasitic light blockage [0090] by the molding compound so as to aid in the reduction of optical crosstalk [0002, 0003] for improved optical sensor package reliability, as taught by Etschmaier.
Claims 9 and 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1) (of record) modified by Etschmaier (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0226514A1), as applied in claim 7 above, and further in view of Wong (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0052277A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 9, Boon in view of Etschmaier teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 7. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose further comprising a coat on the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034], the coat configured to filter light of a target frequency.
Wong teaches an optical sensor package (50) fig. 4 [0040] further comprising a coat (74) fig. 6 [0042] on the glass member (66) fig. 6 [0036, 0039], the coat (74) configured to filter light [0043] of a target frequency (color) [0043].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor package of Boon with the coloring features of Wong in order to improve certain types of light sensing applications [0043, 0064] involving color filtration and optionally user appeal [0008], as taught by Wong.
Regarding claim 12, Boon in view of Etschmaier teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 7. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] is colored to filter a target color of light.
Wong teaches an optical sensor package (50) fig. 4 [0040] wherein the glass member (66) fig. 4 [0036, 0039] is (optionally, slightly) [0008] colored to filter a target color of light [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor package of Boon with the coloring features of Wong in order to improve certain types of light sensing applications [0043, 0064] involving color filtration and optionally user appeal [0008], as taught by Wong.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1) modified by Etschmaier (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0226514A1), as applied in claim 7 above, and further in view of Michiwaki (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0265015A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 10, Boon in view of Etschmaier teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 7. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] is a glass-filled polymer (type of glass not explicitly disclosed [0008]).
Michiwaki teaches an optical sensor package [see title, 0160] wherein the glass member (300) fig. 12 [0193, 0195] is a glass-filled polymer [0202] (could be acrylic glass [0202], acrylic indicating a polymer, or many other different types of glass [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glass member of Boon to include the specific material polymeric acryllic glass [0202] because of its art-recognized suitability as a member material in a sensor package [0202], as evidenced by Michiwaki (See MPEP 2144.07). However, Michiwaki discloses a variety of suitable glass member material alternatives [0202].
Regarding claim 11, Boon in view of Etschmaier teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 7. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] is a crystal glass member (type of glass not explicitly disclosed [0008]).
Michiwaki teaches an optical sensor package [see title, 0160] wherein the glass member (300) fig. 12 [0193, 0195] is a crystal glass member [0202] (or many other different types of glass [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glass member of Boon to include the specific material crystal glass [0202] because of its art-recognized suitability as a member material in a sensor package [0202], as evidenced by Michiwaki (See MPEP 2144.07). However, Michiwaki discloses a variety of suitable glass member material alternatives [0202].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1) (of record) modified by Etschmaier (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0226514A1), as applied in claim 7 above, in view of Shigemitsu (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0013939A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 14, Boon in view of Etschmaier teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 7. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] (glass window) has a convex surface (flat instead).
Shigemitsu teaches an optical sensor package (10b) fig. 4 [0062] wherein the glass member (32b) fig. 4 [0062] has a convex surface (upper bumps) [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the glass member in Boon’s device to include the curved bumps and steps [0062] of Shigemitsu’s glass lens in order to modulate light propagation towards the image sensor in a way that may improve resolving power [0003] and reduce optical sensor package size [0002], as taught by Shigemitsu.
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1) (of record), as applied in claim 25 above, in view of Michiwaki (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0265015A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 27, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 25. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] is a glass-filled polymer (type of glass not explicitly disclosed [0008]).
Michiwaki teaches an optical sensor package [see title, 0160] wherein the glass member (300) fig. 12 [0193, 0195] is a glass-filled polymer [0202] (could be acrylic glass [0202], acrylic indicating a polymer, or many other different types of glass [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glass member of Boon to include the specific material polymeric acryllic glass [0202] because of its art-recognized suitability as a member material in a sensor package [0202], as evidenced by Michiwaki (See MPEP 2144.07). However, Michiwaki discloses a variety of suitable glass member material alternatives [0202].
Regarding claim 28, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 25. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] is a crystal glass member (type of glass not explicitly disclosed [0008]).
Michiwaki teaches an optical sensor package [see title, 0160] wherein the glass member (300) fig. 12 [0193, 0195] is a crystal glass member [0202] (or many other different types of glass [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glass member of Boon to include the specific material crystal glass [0202] because of its art-recognized suitability as a member material in a sensor package [0202], as evidenced by Michiwaki (See MPEP 2144.07). However, Michiwaki discloses a variety of suitable glass member material alternatives [0202].
Claims 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1) (of record), as applied in claim 25 above, in view of Wong (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0052277A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 29, Boon teaches the optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] of claim 25. However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (40) fig. 8 [0008, 0034] is colored to filter a target color of light.
Wong teaches an optical sensor package (50) fig. 4 [0040] wherein the glass member (66) fig. 4 [0036, 0039] is (optionally, slightly) [0008] colored to filter a target color of light [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor package of Boon with the coloring features of Wong in order to improve certain types of light sensing applications [0043, 0064] involving color filtration and optionally user appeal [0008], as taught by Wong.
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boon (U.S. PG Pub US2004/0238909A1) (of record) in view of Kinsman (U.S. PG Pub No US2003/0077853A1).
Regarding claim 34, Boon teaches an optical sensor package (110) fig. 5 [0028, 0030] (“image sensor” packaged [0028]), comprising:
a glass member (40) fig. 5 [0008, 0028] (glass window) covering an optical sensor (30) fig. 5 [0023-0024];
a mold compound (80) fig. 5 [0027] (“casing” formed by mold compound [0027]) contacting side walls of the glass member (40) such that a top surface of the glass member (40) is coplanar with a top surface of the mold compound (80), and wherein an external side surface (leftmost surface) of a lead (160a) fig. 5 [0030] of the optical sensor package (10) is coplanar (lies in same vertical plane) with an external side surface (exposed periphery) of the mold compound (80), the external side surface of the lead (160a) and the external side surface of the mold compound (80) together forming a side surface (collective outermost surface) of the optical sensor package (110).
However, Boon does not explicitly disclose wherein a plane along the side surface of the optical sensor package (110) is orthogonal to a plane along a (horizontal) bottom surface of the optical sensor package (110) (side surface of molding compound 80 shown as slanted rather than vertical).
Kinsman teaches a package (70) fig. 1C [0040] wherein a plane along the side surface (left sidewall 93) fig. 1C [0040] of the optical sensor package (70) is orthogonal to a plane along a (horizontal) bottom surface of the optical sensor package (70) (side surface of molding/encapsulating compound 72 [0038] is expanded to have a pronounced, vertically-oriented sidewall, as shown in fig. 1C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor package of Boon such that the encapsulating mold compound is extended [0038, 0040] to ensure a greater degree of encapsulation of the package leads [0015, 0018, 0040] so as to enhance respective isolation [0040-0041] and diminish undesired interactions between [0040-0041] electrical package components, as taught by Kinsman.
Regarding claim 35, Boon in view of Kinsman teaches the optical sensor package (110) fig. 5 [0028, 0030] of claim 34. Boon also teaches wherein the optical sensor (30) fig. 5 [0023-0024] is part of a semiconductor die (20) fig. 5 [0023, 0030] (30 is active area of 20 [0023]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 and 25-35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Newly-added Shiramizu (U.S. PG Pub No US2015/0340300A1) teaches another example of a package wherein the sidewall of the encapsulating molding compound is vertically-oriented.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 09/28/2026
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892