DETAILED ACTION
Continued Prosecution
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 11/04/2025, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892
Claim Status
3. Claims 15-24 are canceled; Claims 1-14 and 25-35 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-14 and 25-35 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 25-26, and 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (U.S. PG Pub No US2005/0009239A1) (of record) in view of Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022], comprising:
a semiconductor die (32) fig. 3 [0022] electrically connected to a/the lead (37) fig. 3 [0022] of the optical sensor package;
a mold compound (encapsulate implied as 38) fig. 3 [0025] (at least partially) covering the semiconductor die (32) and the lead (37), the mold compound (38) having a cavity (opening in 38), wherein a/the side surface of the mold compound (38) forms an exterior surface (upper exterior) of the optical sensor package (of fig. 3);
an optical sensor (33) fig. 3 [0023] on the semiconductor die (32) and exposed to the cavity (opening in 38); and
a glass member (35) fig. 3 [0023] inside the cavity (opening in 38), the glass member (35) abutting the sensor (33) and a wall of the cavity (opening in 38), the glass member (35) exposed to an exterior environment of the optical sensor package, the glass member (35) having a thickness approximately equivalent to a depth of the cavity (opening in 38).
However, Wolff does not explicitly disclose and a semiconductor die (32) fig. 3 [0022] mounted on and electrically connected to a/the lead (37) of the optical sensor package (Wolff does not show die 32 mounted on lead 37),
wherein a side surface of the lead (106A/124A) is coplanar with a side surface of the mold compound (3).
Boon teaches an optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) comprising a semiconductor die (20) fig. 8 [0034] mounted on (lead/die mounted on one-another [0020, 0022]) and electrically connected (“electrically coupled” through bond pads 24 [0034] and wire bonds 61 [0026]) to a/the lead (660a) fig. 8 [0034] of the optical sensor package (410),
wherein a (outermost, left) side surface of the lead (466a) is coplanar (in plane identified in annotated fig. 8 below) with a (outermost, left) side surface of the mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] (“casing” formed by mold compound [0027]) (refer to annotated fig. 8 of Boon below).
[AltContent: textbox (Plane defined parallel to and comprising outermost, left sides of 466a, 480 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 8 of Boon
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have elongated the lead of Wolff to stretch underneath the semiconductor die such that they are mounted to each other [0020, 0022] in order to enhance the degree of electrical coupling of the die and lead(s) [0004-0005, 0022], and to modify an outer-edge of the lead to be coplanar with an outer-edge of the mold compound [0027, 0034] in order to make the package more robust [0033] by preventing the breakage and bending of the leads [0030, 0033], as taught by Boon.
Regarding claim 25, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022], comprising:
a semiconductor die (32) fig. 3 [0022] including an optical sensor (33) fig. 3 [0023] electrically connected to a/the lead (37) fig. 3 [0022] of the optical sensor package;
a glass member (35) fig. 3 [0023] covering the optical sensor (33); and
a mold compound (encapsulate implied as 38) fig. 3 [0025] covering the semiconductor die (32) and contacting sidewalls of the glass member (35) such that a top (uppermost) surface of the glass member (35) is coplanar with a top (uppermost) surface of the mold compound (38), the side surface of the lead (37) and the side surface of the mold compound (38) together (collectively) forming a side surface (right/left side) of the optical sensor package (of fig. 3).
However, Wolff does not explicitly disclose and a semiconductor die (32) fig. 3 [0022] mounted on and electrically connected to a/the lead (37) of the optical sensor package (Wolff does not show die 32 mounted on lead 37),
wherein a side surface of the lead (106A/124A) is coplanar with a side surface of the mold compound (3).
Boon teaches an optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) comprising a semiconductor die (20) fig. 8 [0034] mounted on (lead/die mounted on one-another [0020, 0022]) and electrically connected (“electrically coupled” through bond pads 24 [0034] and wire bonds 61 [0026]) to a/the lead (660a) fig. 8 [0034] of the optical sensor package (410),
wherein a (outermost, left) side surface of the lead (466a) is coplanar (in plane identified in annotated fig. 8 below) with a (outermost, left) side surface of the mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] (“casing” formed by mold compound [0027]) (refer to annotated fig. 8 of Boon below).
[AltContent: textbox (Plane defined parallel to and comprising outermost, left sides of 466a, 480 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 8 of Boon
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have elongated the lead of Wolff to stretch underneath the semiconductor die such that they are mounted to each other [0020, 0022] in order to enhance the degree of electrical coupling of the die and lead(s) [0004-0005, 0022], and to modify an outer-edge of the lead to be coplanar with an outer-edge of the mold compound [0027, 0034] in order to make the package more robust [0033] by preventing the breakage and bending of the leads [0030, 0033], as taught by Boon.
Regarding claim 26, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022] as discussed above in claim 25. Wolff also teaches wherein the glass member (35) fig. 3 [0023] is exposed to an exterior environment of the optical sensor package (at top).
Regarding claim 30, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022] as discussed above in claim 25. Wolff also teaches further comprising an optical adhesive (34) fig. 3 [0023] abutting the optical sensor (33) fig. 3 [0023] and the glass member (35) fig. 3 [0023].
Regarding claim 31, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022] as discussed above in claim 25. Wolff also teaches wherein the glass member (35) fig. 3 [0023] is a stepped cylindrical member having two different (upper and lower) diameters.
Regarding claim 32, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022] as discussed above in claim 25. Wolff also teaches wherein the semiconductor die (32) fig. 3 [0022] is electrically connected to the lead (37) fig. 3 [0022] of the optical sensor package via a bond wire (36) fig. 3 [0022].
Regarding claim 33, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022] as discussed above in claim 1. Wolff also teaches wherein the mold compound (38) fig. 3 [0025] is an opaque mold compound (epoxy having some degree of opaqueness [0012, 0014, 0025]).
Regarding claim 34, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022], comprising:
a glass member (35) fig. 3 [0023] covering an optical sensor (33) fig. 3 [0023]; and
a mold compound (encapsulate implied as 38) fig. 3 [0025] (at least partially) contacting side walls of the glass member (35) such that a top surface of the glass member (35) is coplanar with a top surface of the mold compound (38),
the side surface of the lead (37) and the side surface of the mold compound (38) together (collectively) forming a side surface (right/left side) of the optical sensor package (of fig. 3).
However, Wolff does not explicitly disclose and wherein an external side surface of a lead of the optical sensor package is coplanar with an external side surface of the mold compound (38).
Boon teaches an optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]), wherein an external (outermost, left) side surface (exposed to “ambient environment” [0034]) of the lead (466a) is coplanar (in plane identified in annotated fig. 8 below) with an (outermost, left) side surface (exposed to “ambient environment” [0034]) of the mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] (“casing” formed by mold compound [0027]) (refer to annotated fig. 8 of Boon below).
[AltContent: textbox (Plane defined parallel to and comprising outermost, left sides of 466a, 480 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 8 of Boon
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have elongated the lead of Wolff such that an outer-edge of the lead to be coplanar with an outer-edge of the mold compound [0027, 0034] in order to make the package more robust [0033] by preventing the breakage and bending of the leads [0030, 0033], as taught by Boon.
Regarding claim 35, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022] as discussed above in claim 34. Wolff also teaches wherein the optical sensor (33) fig. 3 [0023] is part of a semiconductor die (32 with 33) fig. 3 [0022].
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-8, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shizuno (U.S. PG Pub No US2006/0043514A1) (of record) in view of Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shizuno teaches an optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103], comprising:
a semiconductor die (5) fig. 3C [0105];
an mold compound (30) fig. 3C [0112] covering the semiconductor die (5), the mold compound (30) having a cavity (opening in 30), wherein a/the side surface of the mold compound (30a) forms a portion of an (upper, side) exterior surface of the optical sensor package (100);
an optical sensor (14) fig. 3C [0105] on the semiconductor die (5) and exposed to the cavity (opening in 30); and
a glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] inside the cavity (opening in 30), the glass member (17) abutting the optical sensor (14) and a wall of the cavity (opening in 30), the glass member (17) exposed to an exterior environment (open top) of the optical sensor package (100), the glass member (17) having a thickness approximately equivalent to a depth of the cavity (opening in 30).
However, Shizuno does not explicitly disclose the semiconductor die (5) mounted on a lead and electrically connected to the lead of the optical sensor package,
the mold compound (30) covering the lead, wherein a side surface of the lead is coplanar with a side surface of the mold compound.
Boon teaches an optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) comprising a semiconductor die (20) fig. 8 [0034] mounted on a lead (660a) fig. 8 [0034] (lead/die mounted on one-another [0020, 0022]) and electrically connected (“electrically coupled” through bond pads 24 [0034] and wire bonds 61 [0026]) to the lead (660a) fig. 8 [0034] of the optical sensor package (410),
the mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] (“casing” formed by mold compound [0027]) covering the lead (660a), wherein a (outermost, left) side surface of the lead (466a) is coplanar (in plane identified in annotated fig. 8 below) with a (outermost, left) side surface of the mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] (refer to annotated fig. 8 of Boon below).
[AltContent: textbox (Plane defined parallel to and comprising outermost, left sides of 466a, 480 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 8 of Boon
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have elongated the lead of Shizuno to stretch underneath the semiconductor die such that they are mounted to each other [0020, 0022] in order to enhance the degree of electrical coupling of the die and lead(s) [0004-0005, 0022], and to modify an outer-edge of the lead to be coplanar with an outer-edge of the mold compound [0027, 0034] in order to make the package more robust [0033] by preventing the breakage and bending of the leads [0030, 0033], as taught by Boon.
Regarding claim 2, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 1. Shizuno also teaches further comprising an optical adhesive (not shown) [0110] abutting the optical sensor (14) fig. 3C [0105] and the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112].
Regarding claim 4, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 1. Shizuno also teaches a volume of the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] is approximately equal to a volume of the cavity (opening in 30) fig. 3C [0112].
Regarding claim 7, Shizuno teaches an optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103], comprising:
a semiconductor die (5) fig. 3C [0105];
an opaque mold compound (30) fig. 3C [0112] (“conceals” [0112], indicating some degree of opaqueness) covering the semiconductor die (5) and having a cavity (opening in 30), wherein a/the external side surface of the mold compound (30a) forms a portion of an (upper, side) exterior surface of the optical sensor package (100);
an optical sensor (14) fig. 3C [0105] on the semiconductor die (5); and
a glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] coupled to the optical sensor (14) and abutting multiple walls of the cavity (opening in 30), the glass member (17) having a same cross-sectional (rectangular) shape as the cavity (opening in 30), the glass member (17) exposed to an exterior environment (open top) of the optical sensor package (17).
However, Shizuno does not explicitly disclose comprising:
the semiconductor die (5) electrically connected to a lead of the optical sensor package;
the cavity (opening in 30) having first and second horizontal cross-sectional areas that differ from each other,
wherein an external side surface of the lead is approximately coplanar with an external side surface of the opaque mold compound (30), and wherein an external side surface of the lead is part of an exterior surface of the exterior surface of the optical sensor package.
Boon teaches an optical sensor package (410) fig. 8 [0034] (“image sensor” packaged [0034]) comprising:
a semiconductor die (20) fig. 8 [0034] electrically connected to a lead (660a) fig. 8 [0034] (“electrically coupled” through bond pads 24 [0034] and wire bonds 61 [0026]) of the optical sensor package (410),
the cavity (opening in 480) fig. 8 [0034] having first (HA1) and second horizontal (HA2) cross-sectional areas that differ from each other (HA1> HA2, as defined in annotated fig. 8 of Boon below),
wherein an external (outermost, left) side surface of the lead (466a) is approximately coplanar (in plane identified in annotated fig. 8 below) with an external (outermost, left) side surface of the opaque mold compound (480) fig. 8 [0034] (“casing” formed by mold compound [0027]; mold compound opaque / “conceals” in Shizuno’s device [0112 Shizuno]), and wherein an external side surface of the lead is part of an exterior surface (outermost, left sidewall exposed to “ambient environment” [0034]) of the exterior surface of the optical sensor package (410) (refer to annotated fig. 8 of Boon below).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (HA1)][AltContent: textbox (HA2)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: textbox (Plane defined parallel to and comprising outermost, left sides of 466a, 480 )][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 8 of Boon
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have elongated the lead of Shizuno to stretch underneath the semiconductor die such that they are mounted to each other [0020, 0022] in order to enhance the degree of electrical coupling of the die and lead(s) [0004-0005, 0022], and to modify an outer-edge of the lead to be coplanar with an outer-edge of the mold compound [0027, 0034] in order to make the package more robust [0033] by preventing the breakage and bending of the leads [0030, 0033], as taught by Boon.
Regarding claim 8, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 7. Shizuno also teaches wherein the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] has a horizontal cross-sectional area and thickness such that the optical sensor (14) fig. 3C [0105] is able to detect a light ray having an angle of incidence at the optical sensor (14) between 0 and 70 degrees (i.e., 1 degree – a slight offset from normal to the surface).
Regarding claim 10, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 7. Shizuno also teaches wherein the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] is a glass-filled polymer (can be considered to comprise epoxy resin) [0122].
Regarding claim 13, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 7. Shizuno also teaches wherein a volume of the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] is approximately equal to a volume of the cavity (opening in 30) (fills cavity).
Claims 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shizuno (U.S. PG Pub No US2006/0043514A1) (of record) modified by Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1), as applied in claim 1, and further in view of Shigemitsu (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0013939A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 3, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 1. However, Shizuno does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] is a stepped cylindrical member having two different horizontal diameters.
Shigemitsu teaches an optical sensor package (10b) fig. 4 [0062] wherein the glass member (32b) fig. 4 [0062] is a stepped cylindrical member having (at least) two different horizontal diameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the glass member in Shizuno’s device to include the curved bumps and steps [0062] of Shigemitsu’s glass lens in order to modulate light propagation towards the image sensor in a way that may improve resolving power [0003] and reduce optical sensor package size [0002], as taught by Shigemitsu.
Regarding claim 5, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 1. Shizuno also teaches wherein the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] has a first (lower) portion and a second (upper) portion, the first (lower) portion closer to the optical sensor (14) fig. 3C [0105] than the second (upper) portion.
However, Shizuno does not explicitly disclose the first (lower) portion having a larger horizontal cross-sectional area than the second (upper) portion.
Shigemitsu teaches an optical sensor package (10b) fig. 4 [0062] wherein the glass member (32b) fig. 4 [0062] has a first (lower, stepped) portion and a second (upper bumps) portion, the first (lower, stepped) portion closer to the optical sensor (26a) fig. 1 [0045] than the second (upper bumps) portion, the first portion (lower, stepped) having a larger horizontal cross-sectional area than the second (upper bumps) portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the glass member in Shizuno’s device to include the curved bumps and steps [0062] of Shigemitsu’s glass lens in order to modulate light propagation towards the image sensor in a way that may improve resolving power [0003] and reduce optical sensor package size [0002], as taught by Shigemitsu.
Regarding claim 6, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 1. However, Shizuno does not explicitly wherein the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] has a convex surface.
Shigemitsu teaches an optical sensor package (10b) fig. 4 [0062] wherein the glass member (32b) fig. 4 [0062] has a convex surface (upper bumps) [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the glass member in Shizuno’s device to include the curved bumps and steps [0062] of Shigemitsu’s glass lens in order to modulate light propagation towards the image sensor in a way that may improve resolving power [0003] and reduce optical sensor package size [0002], as taught by Shigemitsu.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shizuno (U.S. PG Pub No US2006/0043514A1) (of record) modified by Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1), as applied in claim 7 above, and further in view of Shigemitsu (U.S. PG Pub No US2018/0013939A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 14, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 7. However, Shizuno does not explicitly wherein the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] has a convex surface.
Shigemitsu teaches an optical sensor package (10b) fig. 4 [0062] wherein the glass member (32b) fig. 4 [0062] has a convex surface (upper bumps) [0062].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the glass member in Shizuno’s device to include the curved bumps and steps [0062] of Shigemitsu’s glass lens in order to modulate light propagation towards the image sensor in a way that may improve resolving power [0003] and reduce optical sensor package size [0002], as taught by Shigemitsu.
Claims 9 and 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shizuno (U.S. PG Pub No US2006/0043514A1) (of record) modified by Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1), as applied in claim 7 above, and further in view of Wong (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0052277A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 9, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 7. However, Shizuno does not explicitly disclose further comprising a coat on the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112], the coat configured to filter light of a target frequency.
Wong teaches an optical sensor package (50) fig. 4 [0040] further comprising a coat (74) fig. 6 [0042] on the glass member (66) fig. 6 [0036, 0039], the coat (74) configured to filter light [0043] of a target frequency (color) [0043].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor package of Shizuno with the coloring features of Wong in order to improve certain types of light sensing applications [0043, 0064] involving color filtration and optionally user appeal [0008], as taught by Wong.
Regarding claim 12, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 7. However, Shizuno does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] is colored to filter a target color of light.
Wong teaches an optical sensor package (50) fig. 4 [0040] wherein the glass member (66) fig. 4 [0036, 0039] is (optionally, slightly) [0008] colored to filter a target color of light [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor package of Shizuno with the coloring features of Wong in order to improve certain types of light sensing applications [0043, 0064] involving color filtration and optionally user appeal [0008], as taught by Wong.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shizuno (U.S. PG Pub No US2006/0043514A1) (of record) modified by Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1), as applied in claim 7 above, and further in view of Michiwaki (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0265015A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 11, Shizuno teaches the optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] as discussed above in claim 7. However, Shizuno does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] wherein the glass member (17) is a crystal glass member.
Michiwaki teaches an optical sensor package [see title, 0160] wherein the glass member (300) fig. 12 [0193, 0195] is a crystal glass member [0202] (or many other different types of glass [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glass member of Shizuno to include the specific material crystal glass [0202] because of its art-recognized suitability as a member material in a sensor package [0202], as evidenced by Michiwaki (See MPEP 2144.07). However, Michiwaki discloses a variety of suitable glass member material alternatives [0202].
Claims 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (U.S. PG Pub No US2005/0009239A1) (of record) modified by Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1), as applied in claim 25 above, and further in view of Shizuno (U.S. PG Pub No US2006/0043514A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 27, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022] as discussed above in claim 25. However, Wolff does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (35) fig. 3 [0023] is a glass-filled polymer (borosilicate glass instead [0023]).
Shizuno teaches an optical sensor package (100) fig. 3C [0091-0092, 0103] wherein the glass member (17) fig. 3C [0112] is a glass-filled polymer (can be considered to comprise epoxy resin) [0122].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glass member in the optical sensor package of Wolff to comprise the epoxy resin material of Shizuno in order to improve the strength of the physical bond between the glass member and sensor [0122], as taught by Shizuno.
Claims 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (U.S. PG Pub No US2005/0009239A1) (of record) modified by Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1), as applied in claim 25 above, and further in view of Michiwaki (U.S. PG Pub No US2019/0265015A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 28, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022] as discussed above in claim 25. However, Wolff does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (35) fig. 3 [0023] is a crystal glass member (borosilicate glass instead [0023]).
Michiwaki teaches an optical sensor package [see title, 0160] wherein the glass member (300) fig. 12 [0193, 0195] is a crystal glass member [0202] (or many other different types of glass [0202] such as borosilicate glass [0202]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the glass member of Wolff to include the specific material crystal glass [0202] as an alternative to borosilicate glass [0202] because of its art-recognized suitability as a member material in a sensor package [0202], as evidenced by Michiwaki (See MPEP 2144.07). However, Michiwaki discloses a variety of suitable glass member material alternatives [0202].
Claims 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (U.S. PG Pub No US2005/0009239A1) (of record) modified by Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1), as applied in claim 25 above, and further in view of Wong (U.S. PG Pub No US2017/0052277A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 29, Wolff teaches an optical sensor package [see fig. 3, 0022] as discussed above in claim 25. However, Wolff does not explicitly disclose does not explicitly disclose wherein the glass member (35) fig. 3 [0023] is colored to filter a target color of light.
Wong teaches an optical sensor package (50) fig. 4 [0040] wherein the glass member (66) fig. 4 [0036, 0039] is (optionally, slightly) [0008] colored to filter a target color of light [0008].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical sensor package of Wolff with the coloring features of Wong in order to improve certain types of light sensing applications [0043, 0064] involving color filtration and optionally user appeal [0008], as taught by Wong.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Appeal Brief pages 6-14, filed 11/04/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1, 7, 25, and 34 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Boon (U.S. PG Pub No US2004/0238909A1) for claims 1, 7, 25, and 34 under 35 U.S.C. 103
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references newly-added to the PTO-892 form are all considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all feature dies mounted on and connected to underlying leads.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 03/07/2026
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892