DETAILED ACTION
This office action addresses Applicant’s response filed on 3 December 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, 9, 11-14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 2018/0314785) in view of Lu (US 2015/0364359), Licausi (US 2018/0174895), and Shah (US 9,070,552).
Regarding claim 1, Schultz discloses an integrated circuit (IC) layout diagram system (¶¶3, 20, 59, 60) comprising:
a processor (¶¶3, 20, 59, 60); and
a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium including computer program code for one or more programs, the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code being configured to, with the processor, cause the system (¶59) to:
place a cell comprising a first metal segment of a first metal layer in an IC layout diagram, wherein the cell has a cell height in a first direction (¶¶3, 4, 28);
route a second metal segment of a second metal layer overlying and adjacent to the first metal layer to the cell by positioning the second metal segment along a first plurality of tracks having a first pitch in the first direction (Figs. 1-3, Metal 1; ¶3, 4);
route a third metal segment of a third metal layer overlying and adjacent to the second metal layer to the second metal segment by positioning the third metal segment along a second plurality of tracks having a second pitch in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (Figs. 1-3, Metal 2; ¶3, 4);
route a fourth metal segment of a fourth metal layer overlying and adjacent to the third metal layer to the third metal segment by positioning the fourth metal segment along a third plurality of tracks having a third pitch in the first direction (Figs. 1-3, Metal 3; ¶3, 4); and
generate an IC layout file comprising geometric pattern information of each of the first metal segment, the second metal segment, the third metal segment, and the fourth metal segment arranged in respective first through fourth layers (Fig. 3, segments in respective Metal 0-3 layers; ¶3); and
fabricate a set of masks based on the IC layout file (¶¶27, 60).
Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that a ratio of the second pitch in the second direction to the third pitch in the first direction has a value ranging from 1.1 to 1.5. Lu discloses these limitations (¶¶20, 27, 32), and also further discloses the claimed routed first, second, third, and fourth metal segments in corresponding metal layers overlying and adjacent to each other (Fig. 13, segments in each metal layer). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz and Lu, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of decreased resistance/improved performance by using larger pitches for a given metal layer. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Schultz discloses placement and routing of standard cells and associated metal layers. Lu teaches that performance and yield can be improved by relaxing pitches in a metal layer. The teachings of Lu are directly applicable to Schultz, so that Schultz’s routing of metal layers would similarly relax the pitch of a metal layer to improve performance and yield.
Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that a ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is equal to or less than five. However, the ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is a conventional measure of cell height, such that cells are referred to as a ‘5 track cell’, ‘9 track cell’, etc., and the height of the cell can be chosen by circuit designers to satisfy desired specifications. Furthermore, Licausi teaches that a ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is equal to or less than five (¶4). If Licausi is found to be unclear regarding the first pitch, Shah discloses the same (col. 3, lines 44-50). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, and Shah, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of using known 5-track cells in a cell layout based on design requirements. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Schultz discloses placing cells in a layout and routing metal segments on associated tracks. Licausi teaches that cells have heights of five tracks, and Shah teaches tracks having the first pitch. The teachings of Licausi and Shah are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz would similarly use known 5-track cells based on the first pitch to meet design requirements.
Regarding claim 6, Schultz discloses that the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, further cause the system to: perform a design rule check on the fourth metal segment (¶¶4, 51).
Regarding claim 8, Schultz discloses an integrated circuit (IC) layout diagram generation system (¶¶3, 20, 59, 60) comprising:
a processor (¶¶3, 20, 59, 60); and
a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium including computer program code for one or more programs, the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code being configured to, with the processor, cause the system (¶59) to:
place a cell in an IC layout diagram, the cell having a cell height and comprising a first metal segment of a first metal layer (¶¶3, 4, 28);
overlap the cell by positioning a second metal segment of a second metal layer overlying and adjacent to the first metal layer along a first plurality of tracks having a first pitch aligned with the cell height (Figs. 1-3, any of Metal 1; ¶24);
overlap the second metal segment by positioning a third metal segment of a third metal layer overlying and adjacent to the second metal layer along a second plurality of tracks having a second pitch perpendicular to the cell height (Figs. 1-3, Metal 2);
overlap the third metal segment by positioning a fourth metal segment of a fourth metal layer overlying and adjacent to the third metal layer along a third plurality of tracks having a third pitch aligned with the cell height (Figs. 1-3, Metal 3); and
generate an IC layout file comprising geometric pattern information of each of the first metal segment, the second metal segment, the third metal segment, and the fourth metal segment arranged in the respective first through fourth layers (Fig. 3, segments in respective Metal 0-3 layers; ¶3), and
fabricate a set of masks based on the IC layout file (¶¶27, 60).
Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that a ratio of the second pitch in the second direction to the third pitch in the first direction has a value ranging from 1.1 to 1.5. Lu discloses these limitations (¶¶20, 27, 32), and also further discloses the claimed first, second, third, and fourth metal segments in corresponding metal layers overlying and adjacent to each other (Fig. 13, segments in each metal layer). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz and Lu, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of decreased resistance/improved performance by using larger pitches for a given metal layer. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Schultz discloses placement and routing of standard cells and associated metal layers. Lu teaches that performance and yield can be improved by relaxing pitches in a metal layer. The teachings of Lu are directly applicable to Schultz, so that Schultz’s routing of metal layers would similarly relax the pitch of a metal layer to improve performance and yield.
Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that a ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is equal to or less than five. However, the ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is a conventional measure of cell height, such that cells are referred to as a ‘5 track cell’, ‘9 track cell’, etc., and the height of the cell can be chosen by circuit designers to satisfy desired specifications. Furthermore, Licausi teaches that a ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is equal to or less than five (¶4). If Licausi is found to be unclear regarding the first pitch, Shah discloses the same (col. 3, lines 44-50). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, and Shah, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of using known 5-track cells in a cell layout based on design requirements. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Schultz discloses placing cells in a layout and routing metal segments on associated tracks. Licausi teaches that cells have heights of five tracks, and Shah teaches tracks having the first pitch. The teachings of Licausi and Shah are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz would similarly use known 5-track cells based on the first pitch to meet design requirements.
Regarding claim 9, Schultz discloses that the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the system to overlap the first cell by overlapping the first metal segment of the cell with the second metal segment (Figs. 1-3, any of Metal 0-3 overlapping a vertically adjacent layer, e.g. Metal 0 segment overlapping metal gate).
Regarding claim 11, Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the first plurality of tracks comprises a total of three, four, or five tracks positioned within the cell height. As discussed above with regard to claim 1, the ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is a conventional measure of cell height, such that cells are referred to as a ‘5 track cell’, ‘9 track cell’, etc., the height of the cell can be chosen by circuit designers to satisfy desired specifications and Licausi and teaches that the first plurality of tracks comprises a total of three, four, or five tracks positioned within the cell height (Licausi Fig. 2, five tracks 142 in cell 102i). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Schultz discloses that the second metal segment is a first second metal segment of the second metal layer positioned along a first track of the first plurality of tracks, and the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the system to: further overlap the cell by positioning a second second metal segment along a second track of the first plurality of tracks, wherein the first and second second metal segments are aligned coextensively in a direction of the cell height (Figs. 1-3, any additional Metal 0-3 parallel to any second metal segment from claim 8, e.g. parallel Metal 0 segments).
Regarding claim 13, Schultz discloses the third metal segment is a first third metal segment of the third metal layer positioned along a first track of the second plurality of tracks, and the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the system to: overlap the second second metal segment by positioning a second third metal segment of the third metal layer along the first track of the second plurality of tracks (Figs. 1-3, any additional Metal 0-3 parallel to any third metal segment from claim 8, e.g. parallel Metal 1 segments).
Regarding claim 14, Schultz discloses an integrated circuit (IC) layout diagram generation system (¶¶3, 20, 59, 60) comprising:
a processor (¶¶3, 20, 59, 60); and
a non-transitory, computer readable storage medium including computer program code for one or more programs, the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code being configured to, with the processor, cause the system (¶59) to:
place first and second cells in an IC layout diagram, each of the first and second cells comprising a first metal segment of a first metal layer and having a cell height in a first direction (¶¶3, 4, 28, 37);
execute at least a portion of an automated placement and routing (APR) algorithm whereby a first electrical connection to the first metal segment of the first cell and a second electrical connection to the first metal segment of the second cell are defined (Figs. 1-3, any contacts; ¶¶3, 4); and
generate an IC layout file comprising geometric pattern information of each of the first cell, the second cell, the first electrical connection, and the second electrical connection (¶3); and
fabricate a set of masks based on the IC layout file (¶¶27, 60), wherein
each of the first and second electrical connections comprises a second metal segment of a second metal layer overlying and adjacent to the first metal layer and aligned along a track of a first plurality of tracks having a first pitch in a first direction, a third metal segment of a third metal layer overlying and adjacent to the second metal layer and aligned along a track of a second plurality of tracks having a second pitch in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, and a fourth metal segment of a fourth metal layer overlying and adjacent to the third metal layer and aligned along a track of a third plurality of tracks having a third pitch in the first direction (Figs. 1-3, Metal 1-3),
the IC layout file comprises geometric pattern information of each of the first through fourth metal segments arranged in the respective first through fourth layers (Fig. 3, segments in respective Metal 0-3 layers; ¶3).
Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that a ratio of the second pitch in the second direction to the third pitch in the first direction has a value ranging from 1.1 to 1.5. Lu discloses these limitations (¶¶20, 27, 32), and also further discloses the claimed first, second, third, and fourth metal segments in corresponding metal layers overlying and adjacent to each other (Fig. 13, segments in each metal layer). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz and Lu, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of decreased resistance/improved performance by using larger pitches for a given metal layer. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Schultz discloses placement and routing of standard cells and associated metal layers. Lu teaches that performance and yield can be improved by relaxing pitches in a metal layer. The teachings of Lu are directly applicable to Schultz, so that Schultz’s routing of metal layers would similarly relax the pitch of a metal layer to improve performance and yield.
Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that a ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is equal to or less than five. However, the ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is a conventional measure of cell height, such that cells are referred to as a ‘5 track cell’, ‘9 track cell’, etc., and the height of the cell can be chosen by circuit designers to satisfy desired specifications. Furthermore, Licausi teaches that a ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is equal to or less than five (¶4). If Licausi is found to be unclear regarding the first pitch, Shah discloses the same (col. 3, lines 44-50). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, and Shah, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of using known 5-track cells in a cell layout based on design requirements. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Schultz discloses placing cells in a layout and routing metal segments on associated tracks. Licausi teaches that cells have heights of five tracks, and Shah teaches tracks having the first pitch. The teachings of Licausi and Shah are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz would similarly use known 5-track cells based on the first pitch to meet design requirements.
Regarding claim 18, Schultz discloses the first and second cells are a subset of a plurality of cells, each cell of the plurality of cells comprises a corresponding first metal segment of the first metal layer, the APR algorithm comprises defining a plurality of electrical connections to corresponding first metal segments of the plurality of cells, and each electrical connection of the plurality of electrical connections comprises a corresponding second metal segment of the second metal layer aligned along a track of the first plurality of tracks, a corresponding third metal segment of the third metal layer aligned along a track of the second plurality of tracks, and a corresponding fourth metal segment of the fourth metal layer aligned along a track of the third plurality of tracks (Figs. 1-3; ¶37, array of cells having corresponding first-fourth metal segments as discussed above with regard to claim 14).
Claim(s) 2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz in view of Lu, Licausi, Shah, and Nelson (US 2018/0145063)
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Schultz discloses does not appear to explicitly disclose that the ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is equal to three or four. However, as discussed above with regard to claim 1, the ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is a conventional measure of cell height, such that cells are referred to as a ‘5 track cell’, ‘9 track cell’, etc., the height of the cell can be chosen by circuit designers to satisfy desired specifications, and Licausi and Shah teach that cell height is a multiple of the first pitch/track. Nelson further teaches that a ratio of the cell height to the first pitch is three or four (¶52). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, Shah, and Nelson, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of using known 4-track cells in a cell layout based on design requirements. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Schultz discloses placing cells in a layout and routing metal segments on associated tracks. Licausi and Shah teaches that cells have heights that are a ratio of metal pitch/tracks, and Nelson teaches 4-track cells. The teachings of Licausi, Shah, and Nelson are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz would similarly use known 4-track cells to meet design requirements.
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz in view of Lu, Licausi, Shah, and Ray (US 2018/0004886).
Regarding claim 3, Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, further cause the system to: route a fifth metal segment of a fifth metal layer overlying and adjacent to the fourth metal layer to the fourth metal segment by positioning the fifth metal segment along a fourth plurality of tracks having a fourth pitch in the second direction wherein the fourth pitch is larger than the second pitch and the third pitch. However, these limitations are conventional, as taught by Lu (¶3; Fig. 13, M4). If Lu is found to be unclear regarding the fourth pitch in the second direction, Ray discloses the same (Fig. 1C). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu Licausi, Shah, and Ray, because doing so would have involved merely the combination of known elements according to known techniques, and/or the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way, to achieve the predictable results of improving performance by using wider pitches on orthogonal upper metal layers. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Schultz discloses placement and routing of standard cells and associated metal layers. Lu and Ray teach upper metal layers in alternating orthogonal directions that can have wider pitch than lower metal layers to improve performance. The teachings of Lu and Ray are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz would similarly route orthogonal upper metal layers with wider pitches than lower metal layers to improve performance.
Regarding claim 7, Schultz discloses that the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, further cause the system to translate the IC layout file into a representative data file, wherein fabricating the set of masks is based on the representative data file (¶60). If Schultz is found to be unclear regarding these limitations, Ray discloses the same (¶132). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, Shah, and Ray, because doing so would have involved merely the routine combination of known elements according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of manufacturing masks according to layout data. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Schultz discloses generating masks from a layout. Ray teaches that generating masks from a layout includes converting a layout file into a representative data file. The teachings of Ray are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz would similarly convert the layout file into a representative data file to generate the mask.
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz in view of Lu, Licausi, Shah, Ray, and Noguchi (US 2003/0032292).
Regarding claim 4, Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that a ratio of the fourth pitch to the third pitch is greater than or equal to 1.3. Lu discloses these limitations (Fig. 13, P5 to P4). If Lu is found to be unclear regarding these limitations, Noguchi discloses the same (¶174). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, Shah, Ray, and Noguchi, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of improving performance by using wider pitches on upper metal layers. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Schultz discloses placement and routing of standard cells and associated metal layers. Lu and Noguchi teach upper metal layers that can have wider pitch than lower metal layers to improve performance, with Noguchi providing a specific example where the ratio of upper pitches to lower pitches is greater than or equal to 1.3. Persons having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that specific pitch ratios would be chosen by designers according to design requirements. The teachings of Lu and Noguchi are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz would similarly route upper metal layers with pitches greater than or equal to 1.3 times the pitches of lower metal layers to improve performance.
Regarding claim 19, Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that each of the first and second electrical connections comprises a fifth metal segment of a fifth metal layer overlying and adjacent to the fourth metal layer aligned along a track of a fifth plurality of tracks having a fourth pitch in the second direction. However, these limitations are conventional, as taught by Lu (¶3; Fig. 13, M4). If Lu is found to be unclear regarding the fourth pitch in the second direction, Ray discloses the same (Fig. 1C). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claims 3 and 14.
Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose a ratio of the fourth pitch to the third pitch is greater than or equal to 1.3. Lu discloses these limitations (Fig. 13, P5 to P4). If Lu is found to be unclear regarding these limitations, Noguchi discloses the same (¶174). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claims 4 and 14.
Claim(s) 5, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz in view of Lu, Licausi, Shah, and Ang (US 2008/0201678).
Regarding claim 5, Schultz discloses that the cell is one cell of a plurality of cells (¶¶4, 37), and the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, further cause the system to place the plurality of cells in the IC layout diagram based on routing of each of a plurality of second metal segments of the second metal layer comprising the second metal segment, a plurality of third metal segments of the third metal layer comprising the third metal segment, and a plurality of fourth metal segments of the fourth metal layer comprising the fourth metal segment (¶¶24, 48).
If Schultz is found to be unclear regarding placing the plurality of cells in the IC layout diagram based on routing of each of a plurality of second metal segments of the second metal layer comprising the second metal segment, a plurality of third metal segments of the third metal layer comprising the third metal segment, and a plurality of fourth metal segments of the fourth metal layer comprising the fourth metal segment, Ang also discloses these limitations (Fig. 3, ¶35). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, Shah, and Ang, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of accounting for routing of one cell when placing another cell. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Schultz discloses placing and routing a plurality of cells. Ang teaches routing one cell before placing another cell to account for the routing of one cell when placing another cell. The teachings of Ang are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz’s placement and routing of cells would similarly route one cell before placing another cell to account for cell routing during placement.
Regarding claim 16, Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose the APR algorithm comprises placing the second cell in the IC layout diagram after defining the first electrical connection. Ang discloses these limitations (Fig. 3, ¶35). Motivation to combine remains consistent with claim 5.
Regarding claim 17, Schultz does not appear to explicitly disclose that the APR algorithm comprises defining each of the first and second electrical connections after placing each of the first and second cells in the IC layout diagram. However, these limitations merely set forth how placement and routing is conventionally performed, as taught by Ang (¶6). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, Shah, and Ang, because doing so would have involved merely the routine use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way to achieve the predictable results of placing and routing cells in the conventional manner. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1396. Schultz discloses placing and routing a plurality of cells. Ang teaches that routing is conventionally performed after placing the cells. The teachings of Ang are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz’s placement and routing of cells would similarly place cells and then route them in the conventional fashion.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz in view of Lu, Licausi, Shah, and Tseng (US 2014/0195997).
Regarding claim 10, Schultz discloses that the non-transitory, computer readable storage medium and the computer program code are configured to, with the processor, cause the system to overlap both of the third and fourth metal segments with a via (Figs. 1-3, vias between any of Metal 0-3), but does not appear to explicitly disclose a slot via. Tseng discloses these limitations (¶27). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, Shah, and Tseng, because doing so would have involved merely the routine substitution of an element with a known equivalent according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of connecting metal lines using known via types. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Schultz discloses routing metal segments which are connected by vias. Tseng teaches that slot vias are a known type of via for connecting metal segments. The teachings of Tseng are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz would similarly connecting metal segments using known slot vias.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz in view of Lu, Licausi, Shah, Ray, Noguchi, and Tseng.
Regarding claim 20, Schultz discloses that each of the first and second electrical connections comprises a via between the third and fourth metal segments and/or a via between the fourth and fifth metal segments (Figs. 1-3, vias between any of Metal 0-3), but does not appear to explicitly disclose a slot via. Tseng discloses these limitations (¶27). It would have been obvious to persons having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Schultz, Lu, Licausi, Shah, Ray, Noguchi, and Tseng, because doing so would have involved merely the routine substitution of an element with a known equivalent according to known techniques to produce merely the predictable results of connecting metal lines using known via types. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 U.S.P.Q.2d 1385, 1395. Schultz discloses routing metal segments which are connected by vias. Tseng teaches that slot vias are a known type of via for connecting metal segments. The teachings of Tseng are directly applicable to Schultz in the same way, so that Schultz would similarly connecting metal segments using known slot vias.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts that the examiner’s reliance on the “known technique” KSR rationale for combining Schultz with Lu is invalid, because the use of that rationale requires that the reference solve the same problem, and Schultz and Lu are directed to different problems. Remarks 10. The examiner disagrees. There is no requirement that the references solve the same problem in order to use the “known technique” KSR rationale; in fact, such a requirement would be nonsensical. As stated in MPEP 2143.01(I)(C), “The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that a method of enhancing a particular class of devices (methods, or products) has been made part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art based upon the teaching of such improvement in other situations” (emphasis added). Persons having ordinary skill in the art, aware of a known technique for improving the durability of a tabletop, for example, would not have any reason to limit their application of that technique only to tables that were disclosed to address the problem of tabletop durability. Under Applicant’s reasoning, the technique for improving tabletop durability could not be applied to tables with added casters that address the problem of table immobility, or tables with height-adjustable legs that address the problem of satisfying differing user height preferences. Clearly, this defies common sense; anyone would recognize that a technique for improving a device is broadly applicable to similar devices, whether or not those devices were directed to solving the same problem. Here, Lu’s technique of using non-hierarchical metal layers, where a lower metal layer has larger pitch than a layer above it, to improve performance and cost of integrated circuits, is broadly applicable to integrated circuit (IC) metal layers, even if those ICs are disclosed in references that also solve other problems.
Applicant quotes Intel Corp. v. PACT XPP Schweiz stating that both references addressing the same problem is precisely the reason that there’s a motivation to combine under KSR, but the Court did not create a requirement that the references address the same problem, or otherwise state that there would not be motivation to combine under KSR if the references addressed different problems. The Court in Intel reversed a finding by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board that there was no motivation to combine prior art references when the references addressed the same problem; specifically, the Board found that since the primary reference already addressed the problem, persons having ordinary skill in the art would not regard the second reference’s technique for addressing the same problem to be an obvious improvement. Thus, the quoted statement in Intel that the prior art references addressing the same problem is “precisely the reason that there’s a motivation to combine under KSR” is a refutation of the Board’s specific reasoning that there was no motivation to combine because the references addressed the same problem, rather than the creation of a new requirement that the references must address the same problem in order to be combinable. In other words, the Court found that the “known technique” rationale applies even if the references address the same problem, not that the rationale applies only if they do.
Indeed, the Court in Intel reiterates the well-established principle that “the motivation-to-combine analysis is a flexible one”, quoting KSR and emphasizing that “Any need or problem known in the field of endeavor … can provide a reason for combining” prior art teachings, and that “a person of ordinary skill in the art is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton”, who would “be able to fit the teachings of multiple patents together like pieces of a puzzle”, such that “the motivation-to-combine analysis ‘need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ’.” The Court further stated that “‘universal’ motivations known in a particular field to improve technology provide ‘a motivation to combine prior art references even absent any hint of suggestion in the references themselves.’” The Court even found that the use of the “known technique” rationale does not require showing that the combination would be “an ‘improvement’ in the categorical sense”, and that the technique being a “suitable option” was sufficient. None of the Court’s reasoning, supporting a “flexible” approach to the motivation-to-combine analysis that rejects the treatment of persons having ordinary skill in the art as automatons, is consistent with Applicant’s assertion that the “known technique” rationale somehow requires that the references address the same problem despite KSR not setting forth such a requirement.
Applicant asserts that because Applicant has demonstrated the criticality of specific limitations in claim 1, MPEP § 2144(III) bars the use of KSR as the sole rationale to combine Schultz and Lu. Remarks 12. Specifically, Applicant relies on the MPEP’s statement that “if the applicant has demonstrated the criticality of a specific limitation, it would not be appropriate to rely solely on the rationale used by the court to support an obviousness rejection” (emphasis in original), and assumes that the impropriety of ‘sole reliance’ on a court’s rationale is referring to KSR’s “combining prior art elements rationale” discussed in the same section. The examiner disagrees.
It is clear from reading MPEP § 2144 as a whole that ‘sole rationale’ refers to the use of legal precedent on its own, without teachings from supporting secondary references, to establish obviousness. MPEP § 2144 explicitly “discusses supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 by reliance on scientific theory and legal precedent”. Specifically, § 2144 states that “in keeping with the flexible approach to obviousness under KSR … Office personnel may invoke legal precedent as a source of supporting rationale … So, for example, automating a manual activity, making portable, making separable, reversing or duplicating parts, or purifying an old product may form the basis of a rejection” (emphasis added). The statement in § 2144(III) relied on by Applicant, that “it would not be appropriate to rely solely on the rationale used by the court …” corresponds to § 2144.04, which states:
an examiner may utilize legal precedent as a source of supporting rationale when warranted and appropriately supported. In formulating any rejection invoking legal precedent, the examiner must take care to ensure that the rationale is explained and shown to apply to the facts at hand. Examples directed to various common practices which the court has held normally require only ordinary skill in the art and hence are considered routine expedients are discussed below. If the applicant has demonstrated the criticality of a specific limitation, it would not be appropriate to rely solely on case law as the rationale to support an obviousness rejection.
(emphasis added). As is clear from the entirety of § 2144.04, the ‘sole reliance on rationale’ that would be inappropriate is the use of legal precedent such as finding that mere aesthetic design changes, omission of an element and its function, automating a manual activity, changes in size/shape/sequence, etc., based on case law, are obvious, based solely on case law without supporting teachings from a secondary prior art reference. The discussed obviousness rationales have nothing to do with KSR motivations to combine the teachings of prior art references.
Applicant’s interpretation is further contradicted by essentially every case that uses KSR as the ‘sole motivation’ for combining prior art references, of which prior-cited Intel is an example. If KSR motivations for combining references, such as the “known technique” rationale, could not be used as the sole motivation to combine references, then the references in Intel could not have been combined using the “known technique” rationale to begin with. Applicant’s interpretation would render KSR effectively inapplicable in practice, since combining references that teach any substantive claim limitation would require finding other, non-KSR motivations to combine. KSR does not restrict its holdings to apply only to claims with non-critical limitations, nor does KSR require that the provided rationales for combining references be used in combination with other rationales in order to properly show obviousness. In fact, KSR largely holds the opposite: that any one of a number of rationales would motivate persons having ordinary skill in the art to combine prior art teachings, without requiring specific motivations in the prior art.
The technical context of the present case also supports the appropriateness of using the “known technique” KSR rationale for obviousness. Applicant’s allegedly critical feature is the claimed pitch ratio between the second metal layer and the third metal layer above the second metal layer, particularly that the pitch on the third metal layer is smaller than the pitch on the second metal layer. Remarks 12. This feature was already clearly and explicitly taught by Lu and is thus a known technique for improving ICs. The placement and routing of the cell and interconnect structure is conventional: traditional IC designs comprise cells routed using several metal layers in ‘Manhattan’ configurations where adjacent layers are routed in alternating X/Y orientations with inter-layer vias connecting wires on adjacent layers; Schultz is one clear example of such a structure. Thus, Applicant’s claimed invention involves applying the pitch relationship between layers, taught by Lu, to placed and routed IC structures as shown in Schultz, which is a textbook case of the “known technique” KSR rationale that any persons having ordinary skill in the art would find obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
15 December 2025
/ARIC LIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2851
/JACK CHIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2851