Status of Claims
Claims 1, 11, and 18 have been amended. Claim 20 stands withdrawn. Claims 1-4 and 6-8, 11-19, and 21 as filed 2 October 2025, are examined herein. No new matter is included.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that Wood, Sato, and Miller fail to disclose or suggest the amended limitation of claim 1, “wherein the thermal management component comprises a first thermally conductive plate, a second thermally conductive plate and a flow channel between the first thermally conductive plate and the second thermally conductive plate, wherein the flow channel accommodates a liquid to adjust the temperature of a cell.”
Examiner notes that Sato at [0049-0051] (as set forth below) provides evidence that electrolyte fluid (a liquid) is discharged when a cell is vented, thus rendering obvious the instant claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8, 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wood (US 20090274952 A1) in view of Sato (US 20090181288 A1) and Miler (US 20190157636 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Wood teaches a battery (battery module 12) [0005],[0028], FIG. 2, comprising:
a plurality of battery cells (26) configured to be electrically connected to each other through a bus component (connectors 24) [0028];
a cover body (upper tray 30) comprising an accommodation space (opening 66) configured to install the bus component [0035]-[0036], FIGS.2,12;
a top panel or cover (not shown) disposed on the cover body and provided to cover at least the bus component [0038].
Wood fails to teach wherein the top panel or cover is an insulating part attached to the cover body. However, Sato, from the same field of endeavor, teaches a bus bar plate 122 (reads on cover body) and end cover 130 made of resin ([0036]) (reads on insulating part) can be integrally formed [0011-0013], FIGS. 1-2. Sato teaches that this integral forming will reduce the number of parts required. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the body cover and insulating part of Wood with the integrally formed parts of Sato, in order to reduce the number of parts required, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Wood further teaches:
wherein at least one battery cell of the plurality of battery cells comprises a pressure relief mechanism, and the pressure relief mechanism is configured to be actuated when an internal pressure or temperature of the at least one battery cell reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure; (FIG. 5 vent mechanism 40. [0033] “conventional pressure relief valve”)
wherein the pressure relief mechanism and the bus component are respectively arranged on different sides of the at least one battery cell, so that when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, emissions from the at least one battery cell are discharged in a direction away from the bus component; ([0034] lower tray 32 defines an air space (chamber) below the cells. Cell vents 40 are in communication with the chamber. [0036] bus bars ….extend upward from the upper trays.) Examiner notes that therefore, the emissions are discharged in a direction away from the bus component.
Wood teaches a cooling system ([0036]) which is a type of thermal management component. Wood also teaches a lower tray (FIG. 3 tray 52, [0034]) which defines air space (chamber) 55 below the cells and above bottom panel 92 of housing 14, (FIG. 8 and [0038]) At [0039], the housing is formed from thick sheet metal (a thermally conductive material). At [0039] an opening allows vented gas to escape from chamber 55, therefor, chamber 55 is accommodates a fluid to adjust the temperature of the battery cell. (Examiner notes that allowing hot gases to exit the battery cell results in lowering of the temperature). While Wood does not explicitly teach that material of tray 52 is thermally conductive, Examiner notes that the metes and bounds of “thermally conductive” are not defined and every known material is therefore “thermally conductive”. Tray 52 and bottom panel 92 of Wood therefore form a thermal management component wherein the thermal management component comprises a first thermally conductive plate, a second thermally conductive plate and a flow channel between the first thermally conductive plate and the second thermally conductive plate, wherein the flow channel accommodates a fluid to adjust a temperature of the battery cell. However, Wood does not explicitly teach that wherein the flow channel accommodates a liquid to adjust a temperature of the battery cell and the thermal management component is configured to be damaged when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, so that the emissions from the battery cell pass through the thermal management component.
Returning to Sato, Sato provides evidence [0049-0051] that both gas and electrolyte fluid [e.g. liquid] are discharged when a cell is vented. Therefore, the vented opening of modified Wood will release both gas and liquid. Examiner notes that when hot gasses and hot liquids are vented from a cell, that adjusts the temperature of the cell. Therefore, the flow channels of modified Wood as set forth above will accommodate a liquid to adjust the temperature of the cell.
Miler, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a battery pack having ([0120]) cell vents 406 and pack vents 408. At [0100] the pack vent may have a frangible seal. At [0061] “The pressure - sensitive adhesive material may allow the seal 194 to fail at a pressure, thereby allowing trap door 182 to open outward (e.g., downward in the exemplary orientation of FIG. 1G).” At [0064] The seal may additionally serve as a predetermined point of failure, allowing the cell block vent 180 to open at low pressures. At [0068-0069] and FIG. 1B, the plate structure 114 and gap 116 define a plenum chamber that … can receive discharges of matter. At [0064] “a seal of a cell block vent may function as an environmental seal protecting an interior of the cell block from water, dust intrusion, and so forth. The seal may also protect the interior of the cell block from vent gasses generated by neighboring cell blocks (i. e., during thermal runaway of the neighboring cell blocks).
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the lower tray of modified Wood by adding a pack vent with a frangible seal of Miler, with a reasonable expectation of successfully protecting the interior of the cell block from water and dust, and also protecting adjacent cell blocks from gases in the case of thermal runaway.
Further regarding claim 18, Wood teaches an apparatus (vehicle 10) comprising a battery (12), the battery being configured to provide electric energy.
Regarding claim 2, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Wood further teaches wherein the accommodation space is a through hole (opening 66) formed on the cover body (upper tray 30), and the bus component (121) passes through the through hole and is fixed ([0036] “received by areas defined by raised projections”) on the cover body. ([0035-0036])
Regarding claim 3, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Wood further teaches wherein the insulating part is applied or assembled to the cover body. (Sato – [0011-0013], FIGS. 1-2).
Regarding claim 4, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Wood further teaches an accommodation space (opening 66) is a blind hole (i.e., as modified by Sato to include the cover attached to the cover body), the bus component (24) is capable of entering the accommodation space through an opening of the accommodation space, and at least a portion of the bus component is accommodated in the accommodation space, and the insulating part is integrally formed with the cover body (Sato – [pars. 0011-0013], FIGS. 1-2) and (Wood - FIGS. 2 and 12).
Regarding claim 6, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Wood further teaches wherein the battery further comprises a case shell (housing 14), the case shell and the cover body (upper tray 30) collectively enclose and form a case configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells, and the control module is provided outside the case (i.e., although not shown, FIG. 6 shows that the wires extend to the outside of the housing 14 through an opening 82 and are configured to be connected to the ECU [0036], FIGS. 6,8).
Regarding claim 7, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Wood further teaches wherein at least one of the control module and the electrical connection component is embedded in the cover body (i.e., as shown in FIG. 6, the wires run through walls 68 of the cover body at least in part).
Regarding claim 8, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Wood fails to teach wherein the electrical connection component comprises a circuit board configured to be electrically connected with the plurality of battery cells to capture temperature or voltage signals of the plurality of battery cells. However, in another embodiment, Wood teaches the battery module includes an electrical connection component comprising a circuit board (cell supervising controller boards 224) configured to be electrically connected with the plurality of battery cells to capture temperature or voltage signals (voltage sensors 70) of the plurality of battery cells. ([0036], [0042], FIGS. 16-17). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the electrical connection component of modified Wood to comprise a circuit board configured to be electrically connected with the plurality of to capture temperature or voltage signals of the plurality of battery cells as a well-known alternative to using wires for the same.
Regarding claim 11, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Wood does not teach wherein the thermal management component (lower tray 32), is configured to be damaged when the pressure relief mechanism is actuated, to allow the liquid to flow out.
Examiner notes that the liquid is rendered obvious with respect to claim 1, above.
Miler, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a battery pack having ([0120]) cell vents 406 and pack vents 408. At [0100] the pack vent may have a frangible seal. At [0061] (emphasis added) “The pressure - sensitive adhesive material may allow the seal 194 to fail at a pressure, thereby allowing trap door 182 to open outward (e.g., downward in the exemplary orientation of FIG. 1G).”
As set forth in claim 1, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify the lower tray of modified Wood by adding a pack vent with a frangible seal of Miler, with a reasonable expectation of successfully protecting the interior of the cell block from water and dust, and also protecting adjacent cell blocks from gases in the case of thermal runaway.
Regarding claim 12, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Wood teaches wherein the thermal management component further comprises: an avoidance structure (lower tray 32 and seal or gasket 36) configured to provide a space allowing the pressure relief mechanism to be actuated, and wherein the thermal management component is attached (FIG. 10 and [0037] “seal or gasket … around cell sockets” [0047] “cutouts or sockets to receive the cells”) to the plurality of battery cells to form an avoidance chamber (air plenum or chamber 255) between the avoidance structure and the pressure relief mechanism. (See FIG. 18 space 255)).
Regarding claim 13, Wood in view of Chu teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Wood further teaches wherein the thermal management component further comprises: an avoidance structure (FIG. 10, FIG. 18 lower tray 32 and air plenum or chamber 255) configured to provide a space allowing the pressure relief mechanism to be actuated. Wood further teaches the avoidance structure is a through hole penetrating the thermal management component (FIG. 11 lower tray 32 comprising cell sockets).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Wood teaches an avoidance chamber (FIG. 11, socket for battery) and teaches a collection chamber (FIG. 10, FIG. 18 lower tray 32 and air plenum or chamber 255) but Wood does not explicitly teach wherein the avoidance chamber and the collection chamber are isolated by the thermal management component.
Miler discloses a battery pack having (FIG. 4A, FIG. 4B) cell vents 406 and pack vents 408. At [0113] Miler contemplates a conduit fluidly coupling the pack vent to the cell vent. At [0120] Miler contemplates that the cell vents may be displaced away from the pack vents. At [0131] Miler discloses that a tortuous pathway may allow hot particles and gasses to separate via inerta, which may prevent ignition outside of the plate structure.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify cell vent and pack vent placement of modified Wood by having a separation between the two as taught by Miler, with a reasonable expectation of successfully allowing hot particles and gasses to separate via inerta, for a reduced chance of ignition. This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 15, “wherein the avoidance structure and the collection chamber are in communication with each other”
Regarding claim 16 Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and further teaches a protective member, wherein the protective member (lower tray sealing plate 250) is arranged on a side of the thermal management component away from the battery cell, and the collection chamber (air plenum or chamber 255) is arranged between the heat management component (vent mechanism 40) and the protective member. (See FIG. 17)
Regarding claim 17, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and further teaches a sealing member (a seal 238, a seal clamping plate 228) arranged between the thermal management component (vent mechanism 40), and the protective member (lower tray sealing plate 250) to seal the collection chamber. See FIG. 17 and [0042].
Regarding claim 19, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Wood further teaches wherein the accommodation space is a through hole (opening 66) formed on the cover body (upper tray 30), and the bus component (121) passes through the through hole and is fixed ([0036] “received by areas defined by raised projections”) on the cover body. ([0035-0036])
Regarding claim 21, Wood in view of Sato and Miler teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Wood teaches the battery further comprises a battery management unit, (FIG. 17, [0045] battery modules 212 comprising battery disconnect unit 300) the battery management unit comprises a control module ([0042] cell supervising controller (CSC) boards 224) and an electrical connection component, and the control module and the bus component are connected by the electrical connection component. ([0036] “walls 68 include slots … that allow sensors … to be connected to the bus bars or terminals”, FIG. 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 1/15/2026