DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4, 6-14 and 17-20 are under examination.
Claims 2-3, 5 and 15-16 are canceled.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment(s) to the claim(s) filed June 30th, 2026 is acknowledged and the previous rejection is withdrawn.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "battery cell box" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8-9, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (CN108134020A as cited in IDS and using machine translation as English version), hereinafter Wei, in view of Foreman et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2013/0062247 A1), hereinafter Foreman, in view of Shin et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0260069 A1), hereinafter Shin, in view of Lee et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0221804 (A1)), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses a battery cell, comprising: a battery box comprising: at least two walls including a first wall and a second wall (See Annotated Fig. 1), the first wall intersecting the second wall (See Annotated Fig. 1), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first/second wall(s).
Wei further discloses a pressure relief mechanism comprising a first portion and a second portion connected to each other (i.e., at least bursting ring ref. 500 that at least includes a first portion of the first blasting strip(bar) ref. 510 and at least a portion of the second blasting strip(bar) ref. 520 as shown in See Annotated Fig. 1, and as disclosed in at least [0029]-[0030], [0033]), such that said first/second portion(s) are least connected to each other as shown in Annotated Fig. 1, and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first/second portion(s). Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that first/second portion(s) are designations and are broad in scope as claimed, such that since Wei discloses said portions, said first/second portion(s) are at least provided, lacking any further distinction thereof. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the bursting ring is at least a pressure relief mechanism so that in more violent explosions, the blasting ring is broken, and the entire venting section, the lower part of the side wall and the straight panel will fall off, etc., as disclosed in [0033], and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said pressure relief mechanism.
Wei further discloses the first portion and the second portion being respectively arranged at the first wall and the second wall (See Annotated Fig. 1), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first/second portion, first/second wall and/or said arrangement.
Wei further discloses in [0029] a first blasting strip ref. 510 is disposed at the bottom connection position between the air release section ref. 200 and the explosion-proof top ref. 100, and further discloses in [0030] the side wall ref. 300 is provided with a second bursting bar ref. 520, and the second bursting bar ref. 520 and the first bursting bar ref. 510 form a bursting ring ref. 500, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0033] in more violent explosions, the blasting ring is broken, and the entire venting section, the lower part of the side wall and the straight panel will fall off, so there is a much larger vent, and the upper explosion-proof plate can still effectively limit the explosive from rising into the air, etc., which at least provides the first portion and/or the second portion are/is configured to be able to fracture (i.e., broken), when an internal pressure of the battery box reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure, lacking any further distinction thereof (also see Annotated Fig. 1 with regards to the bursting(blasting) ring (ref. 500) as well as first/second portion(s).
Wei further discloses in [0031] the bursting ring ref. 500 is provided with through openings at intervals, etc., which at least provides the first wall is provided with a first opening in a region where the first portion is located so as to provide opening(s) at intervals (i.e., at least provide at intervals of said ref. 510 and ref. 520 of which ref. 500 comprises), lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said first opening and/or first portion.
Wei further discloses in [0031] the bursting ring ref. 500 is provided with through openings at intervals, etc., which at least provides the second wall is provided with a second opening in a region where the second portion is located so as to provide opening(s) at intervals (i.e., at least provide at intervals of said ref. 510 and ref. 520 of which ref. 500 comprises), lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said first opening and/or first portion.
Wei further discloses in [0030] the side wall ref. 300 is provided with a second bursting bar ref. 520, and the second bursting bar ref. 520 and the first bursting bar ref. 510 form a bursting ring ref. 500, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0033] in more violent explosions, the blasting ring is broken, and the entire venting section, the lower part of the side wall and the straight panel will fall off, so there is a much larger vent, and the upper explosion-proof plate can still effectively limit the explosive from rising into the air, etc., and further provides in [0031] the bursting ring ref. 500 is provided with through openings at intervals, thereby at least providing the first opening is connected to the second opening so that the first/second bar(s) (i.e., portions) are broken when an internal pressure of the battery box reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure, lacking any further distinction thereof (also see Annotated Fig. 1 with regards to the bursting(blasting) ring (ref. 500) as well as first/second portion(s)).
However, Wei appears silent as to each of the first portion and the second portion is a sheet-like structure, and the first portion and the second portion are an integral structure that is bent. Furthermore, Wei appears silent as to an outer surface of the first wall is provided with a first recess, the first opening is arranged at a bottom wall of the first recess, and an edge of the first portion is arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall of the first recess along a thickness direction of the first wall, so that the first portion is installed to the bottom wall of the first recess and the first portion covers and seals the first opening. Furthermore, Wei appears silent as to the first portion is welded to the first recess.
Furthermore, Wei appears silent as to an outer surface of the second wall is provided with a second recess, the second opening is arranged at a bottom wall of the second recess, and an edge of the second portion is arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall of the second recess along a thickness direction of the second wall, so that the second portion is installed to the bottom wall of the second recess and the second portion covers and seals the second opening. Furthermore, Wei appears silent as to the second portion is welded to the second recess.
Furthermore, Wei appears silent as to an electrode assembly, the electrode assembly being arranged in the battery box.
Foreman teaches a battery holder and dispensing package (Title). Foreman further teaches each of the first portion and the second portion is a sheet-like structure, and the first portion and the second portion are an integral structure that is bent (See Annotated Fig. 29), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate said first/second portion(s) are sheet-like structure that is an integral structure that is bent so as to provide a membrane ref. 982, such as a polymer film or foil that closes bottom openings ref. 961b, ref. 944, and such that the membrane could be broken away from the frame, etc., as disclosed in [0108], and lacking any further distinction thereof. Furthermore, Foreman further teaches the first opening is connected to the second opening (See Annotated Fig. 29 which is commensurate in scope with that disclosed by Wei), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said openings are at least connected so as to provide a cutout of the corner as shown in at least Fig. 29, also see ([0102]-[0119], Figs. 26-33), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Foreman further teaches in [0023] the open design of the sidewalls and a bottom wall of the frames allow the frames to shed debris which would otherwise collect in the compartments, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Wei with the teachings of Shin, whereby the battery box including the first/second wall(s), pressure relief mechanism comprising first/second portion(s), etc., as disclosed by Wei further includes each of the first portion and the second portion is a sheet-like structure, and the first portion and the second portion are an integral structure that is bent, and the first opening is connected to the second opening as taught by Foreman so as to provide an open design of the sidewalls and a bottom wall of the frames allow the frames to shed debris which would otherwise collect in the compartments, etc.
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman are silent as to an outer surface of the first wall is provided with a first recess, the first opening is arranged at a bottom wall of the first recess, and an edge of the first portion is arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall of the first recess along a thickness direction of the first wall, so that the first portion is installed to the bottom wall of the first recess and the first portion covers and seals the first opening.
Furthermore, Wei appears silent as to an outer surface of the second wall is provided with a second recess, the second opening is arranged at a bottom wall of the second recess, and an edge of the second portion is arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall of the second recess along a thickness direction of the second wall, so that the second portion is installed to the bottom wall of the second recess and the second portion covers and seals the second opening.
Furthermore, Wei appears silent as to an electrode assembly, the electrode assembly being arranged in the battery box.
Shin teaches a secondary battery (Title). Shin further teaches battery box comprises: a housing being a hollow cuboid and having an opening at one end (i.e., at least case ref. 140 including an opened opening formed at its one plane, and a receiving part ref. 140a for receiving the electrode assembly ref. 110, etc., as taught in [0056] and shown in at least Fig. 3A), which at least provides an electrode assembly, the electrode assembly being arranged in the battery box, lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [0005], [0029]-[0030], [0035]-[0039], [0046]). Shin further teaches in [0015] since the safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, the secondary battery may have improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process (also see [0005]-[0014], [0016]).
Shin teaches an outer surface of the first wall is provided with a first recess (i.e., at least vent groove ref. 247 including leading edge ref. 247a, etc., See Annotated Fig. 4, also see [0076]), lacking any further distinction as to outer surface and/or first recess.
Shin further teaches in [0077] notch groove ref. 248 is formed to have a predetermined depth ranging from the a bottom surface of the vent groove ref. 247 to the interior surface, etc., which at least provides the first opening is arranged at a bottom wall of the first recess (See Annotated Fig. 4), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said notch groove is at least a first opening so that said notch groove ref. 248 may be ruptured when internal pressure of the secondary battery is increased (i.e., ruptured notch groove at least provides a first opening), thereby releasing internal gases of the secondary battery to the outside, etc., as taught in [0078], also see Annotated Fig. 3C such that a substantially same configuration except for the position of the safety vent is provided as also discussed in [0071], and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first opening/recess, etc.
Shin further teaches an edge of the first portion is arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall of the first recess and along a thickness direction of the first wall (i.e., at least leading edge ref. 247a is in a stacked position, etc., See Annotated Fig. 4, also see [0076]-[0078]), lacking any further distinction thereof as to first portion, edge, bottom wall and/or first recess.
Since Shin teaches in [0078] notch groove ref. 248 may be ruptured when internal pressure of the secondary battery is increased, thereby releasing internal gases of the secondary battery to the outside, etc., this at least provides the first portion is installed to the bottom wall of the first recess and the first portion covers and seals the first opening, such that said opening is at least sealed so as to provide that the depth T3 of the notch groove ref. 148 may be 40% to 60% of the depth T2 of the vent groove ref. 147, etc., as disclosed in [0060], whereby the skilled artisan would appreciate that said notch groove at least covers and seals said opening prior to rupture. Furthermore, since a first portion is broad in scope as claimed and a bottom wall, first recess, etc., are provided, said first portion is at least provided, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first portion, etc.
Shin further teaches an outer surface of the second wall is provided with a second recess (i.e., at least vent groove ref. 147 including leading edge ref. 147a, etc., as discussed in [0057]-[0058], also See Annotated Fig. 3C), lacking any further distinction as to outer surface and/or second recess.
Shin further teaches in [0059] the notch groove ref. 148 is formed to have a predetermined depth ranging from a bottom surface of the vent groove ref. 147 to the interior surface, etc., which at least provides the second opening is arranged at a bottom wall of the second recess (See Annotated Fig. 3C), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said notch groove is at least a second opening so that said notch groove ref. 148 is formed to have a smaller thickness than other regions of the safety vent ref. 146, and it is ruptured when the internal pressure of the secondary battery ref. 100 is increased (i.e., ruptured notch groove at least provides a second opening), thereby releasing internal gases to the outside, etc., as taught in [0059], also see Annotated Fig. 3C, and whereby a substantially same configuration except for the position of the safety vent is provided as also discussed in [0071], and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said second opening/recess, etc.
Shin further teaches an edge of the second portion is arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall of the second recess and along a thickness direction of the second wall (i.e., at least leading edge ref. 147a is in a stacked position, etc., See Annotated Fig. 3C, also see [0057]-[0059]), lacking any further distinction thereof as to second portion, edge, bottom wall and/or second recess.
Since Shin teaches in [0059] the notch groove ref. 148 is formed to have a smaller thickness than other regions of the safety vent ref. 146, and it is ruptured when the internal pressure of the secondary battery ref. 100 is increased (i.e., ruptured notch groove at least provides a second opening), thereby releasing internal gases to the outside, etc., this at least provides the second portion is installed to the bottom wall of the second recess and the second portion covers and seals the second opening, such that said opening is at least sealed so as to provide that the depth T3 of the notch groove ref. 148 may be 40% to 60% of the depth T2 of the vent groove ref. 147, etc., as disclosed in [0060], whereby the skilled artisan would appreciate that said notch groove at least covers and seals said opening prior to rupture. Furthermore, since a second portion is broad in scope as claimed and a bottom wall, second recess, etc., are provided, said second portion is at least provided, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said second portion, etc.
Shin further teaches in [0015] since the safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, the secondary battery may have improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process (also see [0005]-[0014], [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman with the teachings of Shin, whereby the battery box including the first/second wall(s), pressure relief mechanism comprising first/second portion(s), etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman further includes an electrode assembly, the electrode assembly being arranged in the battery box, an outer surface of the first/second wall(s) are provided with first/second recess(es), the first/second opening(s) are arranged at a bottom wall of the first/second recess(es), and an edge of the first/second portion(s) are arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall(s) of the first/second recess(es) along a thickness direction of the first/second wall(s), so that the first/second portion(s) are installed to the bottom wall of the first/second recesses and the first/second portion(s) covers and seals the first/second opening(s) as taught by Shin so that a safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, thereby providing a secondary battery with improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process.
However, as discussed above, the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin are silent as to the first portion is welded to the first recess. Furthermore, the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin are silent as to the second portion is welded to the second recess.
Lee teaches a rechargeable battery (Title). Lee further teaches in [0055] the vent member ref. 39 is disposed to contact the second stepped portion ref. b, and an end portion of the vent member ref. 39 may be fixed to the side wall of the second hole ref. 6b by laser welding, etc., which at least provides welding a portion to a recess as shown in at least Annotated Fig. 4 (also see [0012], [0056]-[0060], Fig. 3, also see Fig. 5 with regards to first/second recesses).
Lee further teaches in [0018] according to the present exemplary embodiment, a rechargeable battery of which a thickness and a weight of a case are not increased even through a vent member is formed below the case by forming a side wall of the vent hole to be multi-stepped.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin with the teachings of Lee, whereby the battery cell comprising the battery box including the first/second wall(s), pressure relief mechanism comprising first/second portion(s), first/second recesses, first/second opening(s) arranged at a bottom wall of the first/second recesses, and an edge of the first/second portion(s) are arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall(s) of the first/second recess(es) along a thickness direction of the first/second wall(s), so that the first/second portion(s) are installed to the bottom wall of the first/second recesses and the first/second portion(s) covers and seals the first/second opening(s), etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin further includes welding a first (second) portion to a first (second) recess as taught by Lee so as to provide a rechargeable battery of which a thickness and a weight of a case are not increased even through a vent member is formed below the case by forming a side wall of the vent hole to be multi-stepped.
Furthermore, the examiner asserts that since Wei and Foreman and Shin disclose the battery cell comprising the battery box including the first/second wall(s), pressure relief mechanism comprising first/second portion(s), first/second recesses, first/second opening(s) arranged at a bottom wall of the first/second recesses, and an edge of the first/second portion(s) are arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall(s) of the first/second recess(es) along a thickness direction of the first/second wall(s), so that the first/second portion(s) are installed to the bottom wall of the first/second recesses and the first/second portion(s) covers and seals the first/second opening(s), etc., which is an identical product to that claimed, and it is known in the art to weld portion(s) to recesses as taught by Lee so as to provide a rechargeable battery of which a thickness and a weight of a case are not increased even through a vent member is formed below the case by forming a side wall of the vent hole to be multi-stepped, the skilled artisan would appreciate that the combined teachings of Wei and Shin and Lee at least provide, with proper motivation, the limitations as claimed, lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Annotated Figure 1 (Wei)
Annotated Figure 29 (Foreman)
Annotated Figure 3C (Shin)
Annotated Figure 4 (Shin)
Annotated Figure 4 (Lee)
Regarding claim 4, Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Wei further discloses the first portion is installed to an outer surface of the first wall, an outer surface of the first portion is flush with the outer surface of the first wall (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the outer surface of the first wall and first portion are not staggered and/or protruding relative to one another, that said outer surface of the first portion is at least flush with the outer surface of the first wall, lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Wei further discloses the second portion is installed to an outer surface of the second wall, an outer surface of the second portion is flush with the outer surface of the second wall (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that since the outer surface of the second wall and second portion are not staggered and/or protruding relative to one another, that said outer surface of the second portion is at least flush with the outer surface of the second wall, lacking any further structural distinction thereof.
Regarding claim 6, Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Wei further discloses the first portion and the second portion are perpendicular to each other (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1); the first portion has the same shape as the second portion (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Wei further discloses the first portion has the same area as the second portion (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that since said first/second portion(s) are broad in scope as claimed, that said portion(s) may be any portion of ref. 510 or ref. 520 so as to have the same area, lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said first/second portion(s), etc.
Furthermore, since Wei discloses the first/second portion(s) the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in size/proportion and/or shape are a matter of obvious design choice, such that changing said size/proportion and/or shape would not provide a battery box that performs different, and absent persuasive evidence and/or criticality as to the size/proportion(s) and/or shape(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.).
Regarding claim 8, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. However, Wei is silent as to the first portion and the second portion are provided with a third recess, and the first portion and the second portion are configured to fracture at the third recesses, when the internal pressure of the battery box reaches the threshold, to relieve the internal pressure.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Shin further teaches the first portion and the second portion are provided with a third recess (See Annotated Figs. 3C and 4 above in claim 1, also see [0058], [0078]).
Shin teaches in [0078] notch groove ref. 248 may be ruptured when internal pressure of the secondary battery is increased, thereby releasing internal gases of the secondary battery to the outside, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0060] the depth T3 of the notch groove ref. 148 may be 40% to 60% of the depth T2 of the vent groove ref. 147, etc., as disclosed in [0060]. Furthermore, since a first portion is broad in scope as claimed and a bottom wall, third recess, etc., are provided, said first portion is at least provided, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said first portion, etc.
Shin further teaches in [0059] the notch groove ref. 148 is formed to have a predetermined depth ranging from a bottom surface of the vent groove ref. 147 to the interior surface, etc., whereby said notch groove ref. 148 is formed to have a smaller thickness than other regions of the safety vent ref. 146, and it is ruptured when the internal pressure of the secondary battery ref. 100 is increased, thereby releasing internal gases to the outside, etc., as taught in [0059], also see Annotated Fig. 3C above in claim 1, and whereby a substantially same configuration except for the position of the safety vent is provided as also discussed in [0071].
Since Shin teaches notch grooves refs. 148 and 248 that at least include a third recess, and further teaches said notch groove(s) are ruptured when the internal pressure of the secondary battery is increased, thereby releasing internal gases to the outside, etc., this at least provides the first portion and the second portion are configured to fracture at the third recesses, when the internal pressure of the battery box reaches the threshold, to relieve the internal pressure, lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said first/second portion(s), third recesses, etc.
Shin further teaches in [0015] since the safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, the secondary battery may have improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process (also see [0005]-[0014], [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further with the teachings of Shin, whereby the battery cell including the battery box including first/second portion(s), as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further includes the first portion and the second portion are provided with a third recess, and the first portion and the second portion are configured to fracture at the third recesses, when the internal pressure of the battery box reaches the threshold, to relieve the internal pressure, as taught by Shin so that a safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, thereby providing a secondary battery with improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process.
Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since first/second recesses are at least provided by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee, simply duplicating recesses so as to provide third recess(es) has no patentable significance, lacking any new and/or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.04, VI., B.).
Regarding claim 9, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 8. However, Wei is silent as to the third recesses are arranged at an outer surface of the first portion and an outer surface of the second portion.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery box as discussed above in claims 1 and 8. Shin further teaches the third recesses are arranged at an outer surface of the first portion and an outer surface of the second portion (See Annotated Figs. 3C and 4 above in claim 1) so that the depth T3 of the notch groove ref. 148 may be 40% to 60% of the depth T2 of the vent groove ref. 147, etc., as disclosed in [0060] lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said outer surface and/or first/second portion(s).
Shin further teaches in [0015] since the safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, the secondary battery may have improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process (also see [0005]-[0014], [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further with the teachings of Shin, whereby the battery cell including the battery box including first/second portion(s), as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further includes the third recesses are arranged at an outer surface of the first portion and an outer surface of the second portion as taught by Shin so that a safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, thereby providing a secondary battery with improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 11, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Wei discloses a cover plate covering the opening of the housing (i.e., at least semi-cylindrical explosion-proof top ref. 100 covering the opening of the housing so that the bottom of which is connected to a gas relief section ref. 200, etc., as discussed in [0027] and shown in Fig. 1, also see [0029], [0032]).
However, Wei is silent as to the battery box comprises: a housing being a hollow cuboid and having an opening at one end.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Shin teaches a secondary battery (Title). Shin further teaches battery box comprises: a housing being a hollow cuboid and having an opening at one end (i.e., at least case ref. 140 including an opened opening formed at its one plane, and a receiving part ref. 140a for receiving the electrode assembly ref. 110, etc., as taught in [0056] and shown in at least Fig. 3A). Shin further teaches in [0015] since the safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, the secondary battery may have improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process (also see [0005]-[0014], [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further with the teachings of Shin, whereby the battery cell including the box as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further includes the battery box comprises: a housing being a hollow cuboid and having an opening at one end as taught by Shin so that a safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, thereby providing a secondary battery with improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process.
Furthermore, since the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee discloses the battery box the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in size/proportion and/or shape are a matter of obvious design choice, such that changing said size/proportion and/or shape would not provide a battery box that performs differently than that disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee, and absent persuasive evidence and/or criticality as to the size/proportion(s) and/or shape(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.).
Regarding claim 12, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 11. Wei further discloses the second wall is a side wall of the housing (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
However, Wei is silent as to the first wall is a bottom wall of the housing, and the bottom wall of the housing is a wall opposite to the opening of the housing.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Shin further teaches the first wall is a bottom wall of the housing, and the bottom wall of the housing is a wall opposite to the opening of the housing (See Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1, also see [0072] with regards to bottom part ref. 245, etc., and Fig. 3A with regards to said opening of the housing as discussed above in claim 11). Shin further teaches in [0015] since the safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case (also see [0014] whereby the safety vent may be formed at the bottom part of the case, etc.), the secondary battery may have improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process (also see [0005]-[0014], [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee with the teachings of Shin, whereby the battery cell including the battery box as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further includes the first wall is a bottom wall of the housing, and the bottom wall of the housing is a wall opposite to the opening of the housing as taught by Shin so that a safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case (i.e., also the safety vent may be formed at the bottom part of the case, etc.), thereby providing a secondary battery with improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 13, Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 12. Wei further discloses the second wall is the side wall with the smallest area among side walls of the housing (See Annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Furthermore, since Wei discloses the battery box including first/second wall(s) the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in size/proportion and/or shape are a matter of obvious design choice, such that changing said size/proportion and/or shape would not provide a battery box that performs differently to that disclosed by Wei, absent persuasive evidence and/or criticality as to the size/proportion(s) and/or shape(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.).
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Suba et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2019/0181419 A1), hereinafter Suba.
Regarding claim 7, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. However, Wei is silent as to the pressure relief mechanism has a thickness of 0.4 mm to 0.7 mm. Furthermore, Wei is silent as to the pressure relief mechanism has a total area of 600 mm2 to 1400 mm2.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Suba further teaches an overcharge electrical disconnect system (Title). Suba further teaches in [0096] in establishing a vent structure in battery systems of the type disclosed herein, it is desirable to provide a vent mechanism that operates at very low pressures (P3 in FIG. 1) without risking nuisance failures in regular use due to that relatively high metal residuals can be maintained at the score site, whereby this low pressure for P3 in turn allows use of mechanically sealed cans/containers, or alternatively laser welding can be used to seal the can, because the P4 pressure may also be reduced without risking an overlap with P3, and thus, the ability to reliably reduce P3 may translate to an overall improvement in battery system design and operation. Suba further teaches in [0097] the area of the vent should be relatively large to allow a reliable opening pressure with a controllable flow area, allowing for quicker pressure release and eliminating atomization of the electrolyte, whereby a larger vent area should generally produce a design with increased safety. Suba further teaches in [0103] for circular or substantially circular vent openings, an opening diameter of about 1½ inches (i.e., 38.1 mm) may provide suitable vent functionality for batteries of the present disclosure, although alternative diameter openings may be employed based on features/functions of a specific battery implementation, etc., which at least provides a pressure relief mechanism (i.e., at least circular vent opening) with an area of ×(38.1/2)2 = 1140 mm2, which is at least a value that is within the claimed range of the pressure relief mechanism has a total area of 600 mm2 to 1400 mm2 , thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.).
Suba further teaches in [0169] exemplary safety features associated with the disclosed lithium-ion battery ref. 800 include an overcharge electrical disconnect feature, a vent assembly ref. 1000, and a pressure disconnect device (PDD) assembly ref. 900, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0185] with reference to exemplary PDD assembly ref. 900, a conductive dome ref. 912 is positioned with respect to a second opening ref. 832 defined in the top wall ref. 826 of sidewalls ref. 802, etc. Suba further teaches in [0194] in an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure where dome ref. 912 is fabricated from aluminum such that the central region thickness is about 0.015 to 0.022 inches (with or without film disc 913) (i.e., 0.381 mm to 0.558 mm), which at least provides a range of thickness values that are within the claimed range of the pressure relief mechanism has a thickness of 0.4 mm to 0.7 mm, thus a prima facie case of anticipation exists (MPEP 2131.03, I.).
Suba further teaches in [0084] to realize safe and reliable cells across a range of sizes, including large prismatic cells, the present disclosure provides advantageous designs that perform venting and pressure disconnect actions in an effective and reliable manner, without risk for flashback and without nuisance failures in regular use, whereby the designs disclosed herein may be used in combination and/or may be implemented in whole or in part to achieve desirable cell systems.
Furthermore, since the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Suba discloses the battery cell including the battery box the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in size/proportion and/or shape are a matter of obvious design choice, such that changing said size/proportion and/or shape would not provide a battery box with a pressure relief mechanism that performs differently than that disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Suba, and absent persuasive evidence and/or criticality as to the size/proportion(s) and/or shape(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.).
Regarding claim 10, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 8. However, Wei is silent as to a thickness of the first portion and the second portion at the third recesses is 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claims 1 and 8. Shin teaches the first portion and the second portion are provided with a third recess as discussed above in claim 8. Shin further teaches in [0078] notch groove ref. 248 may be ruptured when internal pressure of the secondary battery is increased, thereby releasing internal gases of the secondary battery to the outside, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0060] a thickness T4 of the notch portion of the safety vent ref. 146, corresponding to the notch groove ref. 148, is preferably 10% to 30% of the overall thickness T1 of the first side all part ref. 143, etc.
Shin further teaches in [0059] the notch groove ref. 148 is formed to have a predetermined depth ranging from a bottom surface of the vent groove ref. 147 to the interior surface, etc., whereby said notch groove ref. 148 is formed to have a smaller thickness than other regions of the safety vent ref. 146, and it is ruptured when the internal pressure of the secondary battery ref. 100 is increased, thereby releasing internal gases to the outside, etc., as taught in [0059], also see Annotated Fig. 3C above in claim 1, and whereby a substantially same configuration except for the position of the safety vent is provided as also discussed in [0071].
Shin further teaches in [0015] since the safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, the secondary battery may have improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process (also see [0005]-[0014], [0016]).
Suba further teaches an overcharge electrical disconnect system (Title). Suba further teaches in [0169] exemplary safety features associated with the disclosed lithium ion battery ref. 800 include an overcharge electrical disconnect feature, a vent assembly ref. 1000, and a pressure disconnect device (PDD) assembly ref. 900, etc., whereby as disclosed in [0185] with reference to exemplary PDD assembly ref. 900, a conductive dome ref. 912 is positioned with respect to a second opening ref. 832 defined in the top wall ref. 826 of sidewalls ref. 802, etc. Suba further teaches in [0194] in an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure where dome ref. 912 is fabricated from aluminum such that the central region thickness is about 0.015 to 0.022 inches (with or without film disc 913) (i.e., 0.381 mm to 0.558 mm).
Suba further teaches in [0084] to realize safe and reliable cells across a range of sizes, including large prismatic cells, the present disclosure provides advantageous designs that perform venting and pressure disconnect actions in an effective and reliable manner, without risk for flashback and without nuisance failures in regular use, whereby the designs disclosed herein may be used in combination and/or may be implemented in whole or in part to achieve desirable cell systems.
Since Shin teaches notch grooves refs. 148 and 248 that at least include a third recess, and further teaches a thickness T4 of the notch portion of the safety vent ref. 146, corresponding to the notch groove ref. 148, is preferably 10% to 30% of the overall thickness T1, and Suba teaches that the central region thickness is about 0.015 to 0.022 inches (with or without film disc 913) (i.e., 0.381 mm to 0.558 mm), the skilled artisan would appreciate that the combined teachings of Shin and Suba at least provide a range of thickness values (i.e., 0.1×0.381 = 0.0381 mm to 0.3×0.558 = 0.167 mm), that overlap the claimed range of a thickness of the first portion and the second portion at the third recesses is 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further with the teachings of Suba and Shin, whereby the battery cell including the battery box as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Shin and Lee further includes a thickness of the first portion and the second portion at the third recesses is 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm as taught by Shin and Suba so that a safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, thereby providing a secondary battery with improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process, and so as to realize safe and reliable cells across a range of sizes, including large prismatic cells.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Aikata et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0194819 A1), hereinafter Aikata.
Regarding claim 14, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 12. However, Wei is silent as to the bottom wall of the housing has a thickness of 1.5 mm to 2.5 mm; the side wall of the housing has a thickness of 1 mm to 1.5 mm.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claims 1 and 12. Aikata teaches an energy storage device and energy storage module (Title). Aikata further teaches in [0021] an energy storage device according to an aspect of the present invention includes: a case formed in a rectangular parallelepiped shape, and having a bottom wall and a ceiling wall, a front wall and a rear wall having areas smaller than an area of the ceiling wall respectively, and a pair of side walls having areas larger than the area of the ceiling wall respectively; a stacked electrode assembly accommodated in the inside of the case, etc. Aikata further teaches in [0047] thicknesses of the bottom wall ref. 7, and the pair of side walls ref. 11 can be set to values which fall within a range of from 0.5 mm to 1.5 mm inclusive, for example, which at least provides a range of thicknesses that overlap the claimed ranges of the bottom wall of the housing has a thickness of 1.5 mm to 2.5 mm, and the side wall of the housing has a thickness of 1 mm to 1.5 mm, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Furthermore, since the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Aikata discloses the battery cell including the battery box the skilled artisan would appreciate that changes in size/proportion and/or shape are a matter of obvious design choice, such that changing said size/proportion and/or shape would not provide a battery box that performs differently than that disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Aikata, and absent persuasive evidence and/or criticality as to the size/proportion(s) and/or shape(s) (MPEP 2144.04, IV., A., B.).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (EP 3503250A1 as previously cited), hereinafter Jang.
Regarding claim 17, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 16. However, Wei is silent as to the bottom wall of the housing being a wall of the housing opposite to the opening of the housing. Furthermore, Wei appears silent as to a backing plate being located between the electrode assembly and a bottom wall of the housing.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claims 1 and 11. Shin further teaches the bottom wall of the housing being a wall of the housing opposite to the opening of the housing (See Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1, also see [0072] with regards to bottom part ref. 245, etc., and Fig. 3A with regards to said opening of the housing as discussed above in claim 11). Shin further teaches in [0015] since the safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case (also see [0014] whereby the safety vent may be formed at the bottom part of the case, etc.), the secondary battery may have improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process (also see [0005]-[0014], [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee with the teachings of Shin, whereby the battery cell including the battery box as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further includes the bottom wall of the housing being a wall of the housing opposite to the opening of the housing as taught by Shin so that a safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case (i.e., also the safety vent may be formed at the bottom part of the case, etc.), thereby providing a secondary battery with improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process.
Jang teaches a rechargeable battery (Title) including a spacer (ref. 700) installed between the electrode assembly (ref. 120) and the bottom surface in the casing (ref. 27) ([0048]-[0049], Figs. 2 and 4), thus reading on “a backing plate being located between the electrode assembly and a bottom wall of the housing”, such that the spacer is at least a backing plate so as to back the electrode assembly as shown in Annotated Fig. 2. Jang further teaches the bottom wall of the housing being a wall of the housing opposite to the opening of the housing (See Annotated Fig. 2, also see Fig. 4). Jang further teaches the multiple holes (ref. H) may be disposed in various manners as long as inside gas may be easily moved to a vent member ([0050]). Jang further teaches the spacer is installed between the electrode assembly and the casing, such that a gas flow path may be easily formed even though the vent member is positioned on the bottom plate of the casing, whereby the vent member is easily broken when internal pressure in the casing goes beyond a predetermined level, and gas in the casing is discharged, such that additional explosion may be prevented ([0019]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee with the teachings of Jang, whereby the battery cell including the battery box as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Shin and Lee further includes a backing plate (i.e., at least spacer) being located between the electrode assembly and a bottom wall of the housing as taught by Jang, so that a gas flow path may be easily formed even though the vent member is positioned on the bottom plate of the casing, whereby the vent member is easily broken when internal pressure in the casing goes beyond a predetermined level, and gas in the casing is discharged, such that additional explosion may be prevented.
Annotated Figure 2 (Jang)
Regarding claim 18, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 17. However, Wei is silent as to the first wall is the bottom wall of the housing, and the backing plate is provided with a notch corresponding to the first portion such that the backing plate does not block the first portion.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claims 1 and 17. Shin further teaches the first wall is the bottom wall of the housing (See Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 1, also see [0072] with regards to bottom part ref. 245, etc., and Fig. 3A with regards to said opening of the housing as discussed above in claim 17). Shin further teaches in [0015] since the safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case (also see [0014] whereby the safety vent may be formed at the bottom part of the case, etc.), the secondary battery may have improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process (also see [0005]-[0014], [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further with the teachings of Shin, whereby the battery cell including the battery box as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin further includes the first wall is the bottom wall of the housing as taught by Shin so that a safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case (i.e., also the safety vent may be formed at the bottom part of the case, etc.), thereby providing a secondary battery with improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Jang disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 17. Jang further discloses the spacer (ref. 700) includes a plate-shaped member (ref. 71) which has multiple holes (ref. H), and multiple protrusions (ref. 73) which protrude from the plate-shaped member (ref. 71) toward the bottom surface in the casing (ref. 27) ([0048]-[0050], Figs. 2 and 4), such that the spacer (i.e., at least backing plate) is at least provided with a notch (See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 17), and the protrusions (ref. 73) are positioned between the holes of the plate-shaped member (ref. 71) to support the plate-shaped member (ref. 71), such that the bottom surface in the casing (ref. 27) and the plate-shaped member (ref. 71) may be spaced apart from each other ([0051]). Jang further teaches the multiple holes (ref. H) may be disposed in various manners as long as inside gas may be easily moved to a vent member ([0050]). Jang further teaches the spacer is installed between the electrode assembly and the casing, such that a gas flow path may be easily formed even though the vent member is positioned on the bottom plate of the casing, whereby the vent member is easily broken when internal pressure in the casing goes beyond a predetermined level, and gas in the casing is discharged, such that additional explosion may be prevented ([0019]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Jang further with the teachings of Jang, whereby the battery cell including battery box including the first wall (i.e., at least bottom wall) and first portion as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Jang further includes a first opening and spacer (i.e., at least backing plate) including the notch is installed between the electrode assembly and the bottom surface in the casing (i.e., at least surface of first wall) as taught by Jang, such that the backing plate (i.e., at least spacer) with notch does not block the first portion so that a gas flow path may be easily formed even though the vent member is positioned on the bottom plate of the casing, whereby the vent member is easily broken when internal pressure in the casing goes beyond a predetermined level, and gas in the casing is discharged, such that additional explosion may be prevented.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Jang as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Li et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2017/0331090 A1), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 19, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 18. However, Wei is silent as to the first wall is provided with a first opening in a region where the first portion is located, with an area of the notch being greater than that of the first opening, and a distance between an edge of the notch and an edge of the first opening being greater than or equal to 1 mm.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Jang disclose the battery cell as discussed above in at least claim 18. Jang further discloses the first wall (i.e., at least bottom wall) is provided with a first opening (See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 17), with an area of the notch being greater than that of the first opening (See Annotated Fig. 2 above in claim 17). Jang further teaches the multiple holes (ref. H) may be disposed in various manners as long as inside gas may be easily moved to a vent member ([0050]). Jang further teaches the spacer is installed between the electrode assembly and the casing, such that a gas flow path may be easily formed even though the vent member is positioned on the bottom plate of the casing, whereby the vent member is easily broken when internal pressure in the casing goes beyond a predetermined level, and gas in the casing is discharged, such that additional explosion may be prevented ([0019]-[0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Jang with the teachings of Jang, whereby the battery cell including the battery box including the first wall (i.e., at least bottom wall) and first portion as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Jang further includes a first opening and spacer (i.e., at least backing plate) including the notch is installed between the electrode assembly and the bottom surface in the casing (i.e., at least surface of first wall) as taught by Jang, such that the first opening is at least in a region where the first portion is located and the backing plate (i.e., at least spacer) with notch does not block the first portion so that a gas flow path may be easily formed even though the vent member is positioned on the bottom plate of the casing, whereby the vent member is easily broken when internal pressure in the casing goes beyond a predetermined level, and gas in the casing is discharged, such that additional explosion may be prevented.
Li teaches a secondary battery (Title), whereby as taught in [0009]-[0011] the secondary battery includes a housing, the housing being provided with an explosion proof valve at the bottom thereof, whereby a cell pallet received in the housing and located at a bottom of the housing, the cell pallet provided with a first through-hole and at least one grooves, etc. Li further teaches in [0044] referring to Figs. 5 and 6, the cell pallet ref. 50 is provided with a first through-hole ref. 52 aligned with the explosion proof valve ref. 14, etc. Li further teaches in [0045] it should be understood that in various embodiments of the present invention, the cell pallet ref. 50 may have one or more of the following structures: 1) the cell pallet ref. 50 may be provided with notches ref. 58 having different sizes and shapes as shown in Figs. 5-8, etc. Li further teaches in [0046] in order to prevent large particle sparks released from the explosion proof valve ref. 14 from causing fire in abuse tests, such as nail penetration test, the first through-hole provided in the cell pallet corresponding to the explosion proof valve ref. 14 is not a large through hole but a sieve net ref. 52a having a number of sieve openings. Each sieve opening may have a kidney shape, a triangular shape, a circular shape, a square shape, or the like, whereby the sieve openings can be arranged regularly to form gas channels, and the size of each sieve openings is configured to be able to effectively block large particle sparks and ensure the safety of the battery in nail penetration test, such that, for example, it is preferable that the sieve net ref. 52a includes a number of kidney-shaped holes each having a length of 1 mm and a width of 0.5 mm arranged uniformly. Li further teaches in [0047] it should be understood that, in various embodiments of the present invention, the cell pallet having sieve net ref. 52a shown in Figs. 10 to 11 may also have one or more of the following structures: 1) The cell pallet may define a groove ref. 56a in the upper and lower surfaces thereof as shown in Figs. 10 to 12, etc.
Since Li teaches a groove, etc., at least adjacent to a first through-hole, and further teaches the sieve net ref. 52a includes a number of kidney-shaped holes each having a length of 1 mm and a width of 0.5 mm arranged uniformly, such that the cell pallet having sieve net may also have a groove ref. 56a in the upper and lower surfaces thereof, this at least provides a distance between an edge of the notch and an edge of the first opening being greater than or equal to 1 mm, such that since multiple holes are provided as shown in Annotated Fig. 10, the skilled artisan would appreciate that Li at least provides a range of distances that overlap and/or encompass a distance between an edge of the notch (i.e., at least notch is a groove) and edge of a first opening is at least greater than or equal to 1 mm, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.), lacking any further structural distinction as to said notch, first opening, etc. Li further teaches in [0052] the first through-hole, the second through-hole and the grooves of the cell pallet ref. 50 can effectively guide the gas inside the secondary battery to the explosion proof valve ref. 14, to prevent the secondary battery from exploding in nail penetration test, etc., whereby as taught in [0054] the sieve net can effectively block the large particle sparks, so as to ensure the safety of the secondary battery in nail penetration test.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Jang with the teachings of Li, whereby the battery cell including the battery box as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee and Jang further include a distance between an edge of the notch and an edge of the first opening being greater than or equal to 1 mm as taught by Li so as to effectively guide the gas inside the secondary battery to the explosion proof valve to prevent the secondary battery from exploding in nail penetration test, etc., such that the sieve net can effectively block the large particle sparks, so as to ensure the safety of the secondary battery in nail penetration test.
Annotated Figure 10 (Li)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0153064 A1 as previously cited), hereinafter Ishikawa.
Regarding claim 20, Wei discloses the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. However, Wei is silent as to a battery, comprising: a plurality of battery cells including at least one battery cell of claim 1. Furthermore, Wei is silent as to a bus component configured to achieve electrical connection of the plurality of battery cells; and a case configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells and the bus component.
The combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the battery cell as discussed above in claim 1. Shin further teaches in [0002] a high-capacity secondary battery in which several tens of battery cells are connected in a battery pack is widely used as the power source for motor drives, such as those in hybrid electric vehicles, whereby as taught in [0039] in case of a high-capacity, high-output battery, the plurality of electrode tabs ref. 111b and 112b are extended from the electrode assembly ref. 110, thereby obtaining a high output current, etc., which at least provides a battery, comprising: a plurality of battery cells including at least one battery cell of claim 15, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said battery, etc.
Furthermore, since Shin teaches in [0039] in case of a high-capacity, high-output battery, the plurality of electrode tabs ref. 111b and 112b are extended from the electrode assembly ref. 110, thereby obtaining a high output current, whereby the electrode tabs refs. 111b, 112b (i.e., uncoated portions or separate members) of the electrode assembly ref. 110 are directly electrically connected to the terminals, electric paths can be shortened, thereby simplifying electrically connecting processes between the electrode assembly ref. 110 and the terminals, lowering internal resistance of the secondary battery and reducing the number of components of the secondary battery, etc., this at least provides a bus component configured to achieve electrical connection of the plurality of battery cells, such that electrode tabs are at least bus components so as to be directly electrically connected to the terminals, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said bus component.
Ishikawa teaches a battery module and battery pack (Title), whereby the battery pack (Fig. 1, ref. 1) includes a battery module (Fig. 1, ref. 2), a case (Fig. 1, ref. 3) accommodating the battery module, and a cover (Fig. 1, ref. 4) covering the case, whereby the battery module includes a plurality of battery cells (Fig. 1, ref. 5), a bus bar module (Fig. 1, ref. 7) assembled to the battery cell assembly (Fig. 1, ref. 6), etc. (Abstract, [0030]-[0031]). Ishikawa further teaches the positive electrode (Fig. 1, ref. 10) and the negative electrode (Fig. 1, ref. 11) formed in such a shape that can be connected to a bus bar of a bus bar module (Fig. 1, ref. 7), such that the adjacent battery cells (Fig. 1, ref. 5) are disposed such that the adjacent battery cells can be connected in series by a bus bar ([0032]). Ishikawa further teaches the battery module of the present invention, the cooling range can be remarkably expanded compared with the conventional example, and therefore the cooling effect is improved, and since the battery module having the above effect is included, a better battery pack is provided ([0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee with the teachings of Ishikawa, whereby the battery cell including the battery box as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee further includes the battery, comprising: a plurality of battery cells, a bus component configured to achieve electrical connection of the plurality of battery cells (e.g., series connection), and a case configured to accommodate the plurality of battery cells and the bus component as taught by Ishikawa so as to provide a battery module with an expanded cooling range so as to improve the cooling effect such that a better battery pack is provided.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 30th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue Page 7, “Amended claim 1 is now directed to a battery cell, wherein the battery cell includes a battery box and an electrode assembly, and the electrode assembly is arranged in the battery box. That is, the claimed battery box refers to the casing of the battery cell itself, and the pressure relief mechanism is arranged directly on the battery cell. In contrast, the safety battery box in Wei is an external container used for accommodating fully assembled batteries. The bursting ring 500 in Wei is disposed on this external safety battery box rather than on the battery itself. Therefore, the safety battery box in Wei is a completely different structure from the battery box of the battery cell in the present application.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the limitations with proper motivation to combine, whereby the battery box including the first/second wall(s), pressure relief mechanism comprising first/second portion(s), etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman further includes an electrode assembly, the electrode assembly being arranged in the battery box, an outer surface of the first/second wall(s) are provided with first/second recess(es), the first/second opening(s) are arranged at a bottom wall of the first/second recess(es), and an edge of the first/second portion(s) are arranged in a stacked configuration with the bottom wall(s) of the first/second recess(es) along a thickness direction of the first/second wall(s), so that the first/second portion(s) are installed to the bottom wall of the first/second recesses and the first/second portion(s) covers and seals the first/second opening(s) as taught by Shin so that a safety vent is integrally formed with a side wall part of the case, thereby providing a secondary battery with improved safety and can demonstrate effects of reducing the manufacturing cost and simplifying the manufacturing process.
Furthermore, and in response to applicant's argument that “the safety battery box in Wei is a completely different structure from the battery box of the battery cell in the present application”, Wei is not relied upon solely to meet the limitations, such that the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee are relied upon to meet said limitations, whereby a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicants further argue Pages 7-8, “Similarly, regarding Foreman, according to paragraphs 102-108, Foreman discloses a battery holding device 900 including a frame 920 that can hold a plurality of batteries. Foreman also fails to teach the claimed battery cell structure. The battery holding device 900 in Foreman is a dispensing package used for accommodating loose batteries, meaning the bottom membrane 982 is not disposed on the battery itself. Furthermore, the function of the bottom membrane 982 in Foreman is explicitly taught in the specification: when a user applies a radial inward force using a finger, the bottom membrane 982 tears or separates from the frame, such that the finger can underlie the bottom edge of the battery within the compartment (either by direct contact or through the thickness of the membrane 982) and thrust the battery upward. Therefore, the bottom membrane 982 of the battery holding device 900 in Foreman is designed to be destroyed from the outside by a user's finger, so as to facilitate the user to remove the battery from inside the frame 920. Additionally, after the bottom membrane 982 is destroyed, the "open design" featuring opening 944 and opening 961b in Foreman is intended to discharge debris that is external to the batteries.”:
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, the combined teachings of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee disclose the limitations with proper motivation to combine, such that in response to applicant's argument that “…the function of the bottom membrane 982 in Foreman is explicitly taught in the specification: when a user applies a radial inward force using a finger, the bottom membrane 982 tears or separates from the frame, such that the finger can underlie the bottom edge of the battery within the compartment (either by direct contact or through the thickness of the membrane 982) and thrust the battery upward…”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicants argue Page 8, “However, amended claim 1 is directed to a battery cell. The pressure relief mechanism is arranged on the battery box, and the first portion and/or the second portion of the pressure relief mechanism are configured to be able to fracture when an internal pressure of the battery box reaches a threshold, to relieve the internal pressure. Therefore, in claim 1 of the present application, the pressure relief mechanism is fractured due to the internal pressure of the battery box. Additionally, When the pressure relief mechanism is fractured due to internal pressure, it is designed to discharge emissions from inside the battery cell, such as the electrolyte. Therefore, both structurally and functionally, the bottom membrane 982 in Foreman operates on entirely different principles and serves different purposes, which is fundamentally different from the pressure relief mechanism of claim 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not apply the external packaging design of Foreman to the internal casing of the battery cell of the present application.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, and in response to applicant's argument that “Therefore, both structurally and functionally, the bottom membrane 982 in Foreman operates on entirely different principles and serves different purposes, which is fundamentally different from the pressure relief mechanism of claim 1”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Furthermore, Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) “a battery cell, comprising”. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “a battery cell, comprising” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Furthermore, applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Therefore, in light of the amendments to the claims, a new grounds of 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is made for claims 1, 4, 6, 8-9, and 11-13 in view of Wei and Foreman and Shin and Lee. See the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhou et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2021/0074961 A1) discloses a power battery and battery module (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0063] a surface area of the second vent film ref. 43 located within the annular joint is the effective force-bearing area of the second vent film ref. 43, the gas discharged from the through hole ref. 41 can apply a compressive force on the surface of the second vent film ref. 43 located within the annular joint, a cross-sectional area of the through hole ref. 41 refers to a projected area of the through hole ref. 41 along the height direction Y, the larger the surface area of the second vent film ref. 43 located within the annular joint, the lower the pressure required for its breaking, according to product requirements, the second vent film ref. 43 is selected to have a suitable size to effectively ensure the safety of the power battery.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727