DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
The amendments filed 01/20/2026 have been entered, accordingly claims 20-37 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted amendments of claims 32 and 35 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: parent claims 20 and 27 as currently amended provide that a pre-determined depth of processing groove is formed wherein an “entirety of the two-dimensional barcode” is “within the groove”, however newly restricted claims 32 and 35 are mutually exclusive as addressed by Applicants arguments filed 1/16/2026, as the embodiment to figure 2d with support from specs [0024-0037], where the oxide film is raised to the surface of the substrate without groove processing “the part P is defocused to transfer heat to the extent that the part P does not melt”… “an oxide film Pa3 is formed on the surface of the part P by applying heat without scraping the part P” specifications [0032]. Laser processing forming a “swollen convex portion of the ring” (claims 32/35) said term swollen (in addition to oxide film) also linking to figure 2d where a groove does not exist “However, when the part P illustrated in portion (d) of FIG 2 is aluminum or stainless steel, the engraved portion including the region Pa may swell due to thermal expansion in order to transfer heat to the metal to develop color. In this case, the two- dimensional code information may be transferred to the swollen convex portion.” specifications [0034].
Since Applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 32 and 35 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant firstly argues (Page 9-11):
Independent claim 27 is amended in a similar manner with varying scope. Applicant
respectfully submits the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the limitations of independent claims 20 and 27.
Thus, independent claims 20 and 27 have been amended to recite "the two-dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove having a predetermined depth and then processing the groove to form the two-dimensional barcode such that an entirety of the two-dimensional barcode is within the groove and when the surface of the edge ring is worn out due to repeated processes, it is configured to prevent the marker from being lost," which is supported by FIG. 2(a)-(d) and the corresponding description (see paragraphs [0024] - [0037] of the Publication describing the two-dimensional barcode marker formed in the groove Pal).
Regarding the limitation "the marker is a two-dimensional barcode, and the two- dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove such that when the surface of the edge ring is worn out due to repeated processes, it is configured to prevent the marker from being lost by digging a groove having a predetermined depth," the Office Action cited Frazer (Office Action pages 6-8). Applicant respectfully submits that Frazer fails to teach or suggest "the two-dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove having a predetermined depth and then processing the groove to form the two-dimensional barcode such that an entirety of the two-dimensional barcode is within the groove " of independent claims 20 and 27.
Frazer discloses forming recessed "cells" to form the "barcode" (Frazer paragraph [0077] and FIGs. 9B and 9C. However, the cells in Fraser are not formed in a pre-processed groove having a predetermined depth. Instead, the cells themselves are individual grooves. In contrast to Frazer, an entirety of the two-dimensional barcode of the present application is formed in a pre-processed groove having a predetermined depth.
Therefore, Frazer fails to teach or suggest "the two-dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove having a predetermined depth and then processing the groove to form the two-dimensional barcode such that an entirety of the two- dimensional barcode is within the groove and when the surface of the edge ring is worn out due to repeated processes, it is configured to prevent the marker from being lost" of independent claims 20 and 27, thereby failing to remedy the deficiencies of Krishnan.
For the reasons set forth above, Krishnan and Fraser fail to teach or suggest the
limitations of independent claims 20 and 27. Further, no reference relied upon remedies the deficiencies of Krishnan and Fraser. Accordingly, it is submitted that independent claims 20 and 27 and each of the claims depending therefrom are allowable.
However Examiner respectfully disagrees because the present applicant does not appear to have a distinction between processing of the groove and processing of the color therein, see Applicants specifications providing laser heat processing as the grooving and coloration source “The marker 25c is engraved on the part P by heat-processing the part P with a laser. Portion (a) of FIG 2 illustrates a state of a part of the region Pa of the marker 25c engraved on the part P when the part P is quartz. The marker 25c includes a groove Pal formed in the part P by laser processing. [0023] When the part P is quartz, the marker 25c is engraved on the part P by irradiating the quartz with a laser to heat and melt an engraved portion including the region Pa to form an unevenness. Thus, the amount of reflected light changes between the portion of the groove Pal that has been melted and smoothed and the portion Pb of the sand-polished glass, resulting in a contrast of light.” [0022], the laser processing in grooving providing heat and therefore discoloration ”When the part P is ceramic, the marker 25c is engraved on the part P by irradiating the ceramic with a laser to heat and melt the region Pa to form an unevenness. Thus, the amount of reflected light changes between the portion of the groove Pal that has been melted and smoothed and the other portions, resulting in a contrast of light. In addition, the heated region Pa is discolored. Since the region other than the heated region Pa has the color of the ceramic before discoloration, a contrast of color occurs between the color of the discolored portion Pa2 and the other portions.” [0026].
Examiner further notes that the bottom of the groove is the last portion proceed as such the coloration of the groove as a single operative step occurs after grooving, additionally the groove as already modified by Fraser is processed in multiple operative steps of subsequent passes that result in varied coloration “It was found that the relationship between the contrast CC and depth d can be mostly linear. It was expected that the deeper the recess of the dark cell, the darker it would appear thus giving a higher value of contrast. One important information to note is the significant increase in contrast between the first, second and third passes. Indeed, as the relationship between depth d and contrast is close to linear and the relationship between number of passes and depth d is not, a higher gain in contrast can be expected between passes 1 to 2 or 2 to 3 than compared to passes 3 to 4 or 4 to 5. A depth d between 0.3 mm and 0.4 would thus be expected to yield the satisfactorily high contrast” [0094].
Therefore the rejection is maintained.
Applicant secondly argues (page 11):
Claims 32 and 35 have been amended to recite the embodiment of FIG. 2(d), which is described in paragraphs [0033] - [0036] of the Publication. Applicant respectfully submits that none of the cited references disclose "the edge ring includes an oxide film prior to forming the marker, the marker includes a color of the oxide film and a color of the edge ring prior to discoloration, and the discoloration is caused by swelling due to thermal expansion and the marker is formed in a swollen convex portion of the edge ring" of claims 32 and 35. Accordingly, consideration of claims 32 and 35 are respectfully requested.
However Examiner notes these claims have not been examined as amended because they are restricted under original presentation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 21-23,25-28 and 30, 31, 33, 34, 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan (US 2016/0372321 A1) in view of Furutachi (JP 2013/165289 A), Fraser (US 2021/0308798 A1), Nitescu (US 5,641,375) and Hofmeister (US 7,192,791).
Regarding claim 20, Krishnan discloses a
a processing chamber (processing chamber as intended with use of wafer carrier 402 “where the inner surface refers to a surface that faces toward the center of the chamber and the outer surface refers to a surface that faces away from the center of the chamber.” [0012]) including a chamber body (limits of processing chamber);
a gate valve (means of confining gas to chamber “A purge tube 828 is used to provide positive pressure purge gas 829 to the cavity.” [0099]) provided in the chamber body (gate valve as part of confinement defining chamber).
Krishnan is silent regarding a reader arranged on the gate valve, wherein the reader is configured to read a marker, the marker is a two-dimensional barcode.
However Hofmeister teaches a reader (108) arranged on the gate valve (102/106) (see figure 7, reader 108 at gate 102, placed to ID wafers at point of entry through gate in open position “the FOUP 100 is positioned on processing apparatus 102 so that the opening 104 in the FOUP faces the aperture of the processing apparatus. The FOUP door 100 may be removed by any suitable means and positioned as desired. As seen in FIG. 7, the apparatus 102 may be provided with a sensor or reader 108 capable of detecting the wafer(s) 10 in the FOUP 100 when the door 106 is removed. For example, the sensor 108 may be an electro-optical sensor, such as a laser, capable of directing a beam of electromagnetic radiation (indicated by arrow B in FIG. 7) at the region 12 of the wafer 10 having marks 11 thereon. The sensor 108 may be able to detect the region by sensing a reflected beam from the wafer for example. The sensor 108 depicted schematically in FIG. 7, may further be able to scan the region to read the pattern of mark 11 thereby reading the identification information embodied therein. The repeated pattern of mark 11 around the peripheral region of the wafer(s) 10 ensures that at least one pattern (or such portions as to form one pattern) of mark 11 faces the sensor 108 and may thus be read by the sensor.” (column 6, lines 26-60)), wherein the reader is configured to read a marker (11, see above column 6, lines 26-60), the marker is a two-dimensional barcode (“The repeated identification marks can be, for example, a bar code or numerals or letters as a combination of numerals and letters, i.e. alphanumeric symbols. Examples include 2D bar codes, codes such as EAN-UPC, ITF, CODE 39, CODABAR and CODE 128.” (column 6, lines 21-25)).
The advantage of a reader arranged on the gate valve, wherein the reader is configured to read a marker, the marker is a two-dimensional barcode. is to confirm identity of wafers transferring through a processing environment at the point of transition between locations “The FOUP door 100 may be removed by any suitable means and positioned as desired. As seen in FIG. 7, the apparatus 102 may be provided with a sensor or reader 108 capable of detecting the wafer(s) 10 in the FOUP 100 when the door 106 is removed.” (column 6, lines 26-60) by passive identification processed into existing transferring materials “The identification mark 11 in the form of, for example, the bar code as illustrated can be formed by engraving the semiconductor wafer 10 by laser beam radiation so as to recognize the outline of an engraving in the form of a repeating identification mark along the peripheral edge portion of the wafer.” (column 3, lines 46-60).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Krishnan as modified and Hofmeister before him or her, to further modify the wafer identifying/processing apparatus of Krishnan to include gate placement of reader of Hofmeister because a reader on a gate enables immediate indentation of a wafer when the wafer is at a transferring location in a wafer processing environment and utilizes existing material being transferred to be processed for identification marks.
Krishnan as modified above is silent regarding a marker formed by processing at least one of a surface and an inside of the edge ring, the edge ring being disposed in an internal space of the chamber body. However Furutachi teaches a marker formed by processing at least one of a surface and an inside of an edge of the edge ring, the edge ring being disposed in an internal space of the chamber body (emphasis added “To provide a dicing sheet with an identification symbol which can be identified even after being stuck to a wafer, and to which the identification symbol such as a name of an article is affixed without damaging the dicing sheet” (abstract)).
The advantage of a marker formed by processing at least one of a surface and an inside of the edge ring, the edge ring being disposed in an internal space of the chamber body, is to track the held wafer through wafers processing steps at an area on the carrier that is not covered by the wafer “To provide a dicing sheet with an identification symbol which can be identified even after being stuck to a wafer, and to which the identification symbol such as a name of an article is affixed without damaging the dicing sheet” (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to modify Krishnan further with Furutachi, by adding to the wafer holding system of Krishnan, the wafer identification of Furutachi, to track the held wafer through wafers processing steps at a/any of the finite available space/areas on the carrier that is not covered by the wafer (in regards to selecting where to place the maker on the finite visible space of the edge ring, see MPEP 2144.05 II. Routine Optimization regarding).
Krishnan as modified is silent regarding and the two-dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove having a predetermined depth and then processing the groove to form the two-dimensional barcode such that an entirety of the two-dimensional barcode is within groove and when the surface of the edge ring is worn out due to repeated processes, it is configured to prevent the marker from being lost.
However Fraser teaches and the two-dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove having a predetermined depth and then processing the groove to form the two-dimensional barcode such that an entirety of the two-dimensional barcode is within groove (subsequent laser passes provide groove to depths and provide contrast “It was found that the relationship between the contrast CC and depth d can be mostly linear. It was expected that the deeper the recess of the dark cell, the darker it would appear thus giving a higher value of contrast. One important information to note is the significant increase in contrast between the first, second and third passes. Indeed, as the relationship between depth d and contrast is close to linear and the relationship between number of passes and depth d is not, a higher gain in contrast can be expected between passes 1 to 2 or 2 to 3 than compared to passes 3 to 4 or 4 to 5. A depth d between 0.3 mm and 0.4 would thus be expected to yield the satisfactorily high contrast” [0094]) and when the surface of the edge ring is worn out due to repeated processes, it is configured to prevent the marker from being lost (Laser marked identifier is both recessed and color darkened “laser-marking the identifier on a surface of the received metal workpiece by laser-removing, for each one of the plurality of dark cells, metal from the surface of the metal workpiece only at a center portion of the corresponding dark cell thereby leaving a recess bounded by a peripheral wall in the corresponding dark cell” [0010]).
The advantage of and the two-dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove having a predetermined depth and then processing the groove to form the two-dimensional barcode such that an entirety of the two-dimensional barcode is within groove and when the surface of the edge ring is worn out due to repeated processes, it is configured to prevent the marker from being lost, is to provide protection to an identification of a part while keeping the part identifiable through subsequent processing steps, emphasis added “laser-marking the identifier on a surface of the received metal workpiece by laser-removing, for each one of the plurality of dark cells, metal from the surface of the metal workpiece only at a center portion of the corresponding dark cell thereby leaving a recess bounded by a peripheral wall in the corresponding dark cell, the recess having a depth of at least 100 microns and having an opening with a width ranging between 400 microns and 1750 microns and representing between 30 percent and below 99 percent of the corresponding cell size such that the corresponding dark cell appears dark to an optical reader, the depth, the width and the corresponding cell size of the corresponding dark cell providing a shot blast resistance to the laser-marked identifier.” [0010].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Krishnan and Fraser before him or her, to modify the undisclosed depth of barcode of Krishnan with the barcode having depth of Fraser because having a recessed barcode provides resistance to wear of the mark/barcode in subsequent material ablative processing.
Krishnan as modified is silent regarding the wafer processing to include plasma processing.
However Nitescu teaches that it is known in the art of wafer processing to use plasma and of plasmas wearing nature to components of the chamber that necessitates additional sacrificial wear material “During processing the chamber walls are eroded, or worn, from chemical attack and ion bombardment of the walls as a secondary effect of plasma processing of a substrate inside the processing chamber. A typical plasma process is as follows. A substrate is placed onto the pedestal 24. Gas is flowed into the processing chamber while the chamber is maintained at a subatmospheric pressure. A corrosive gas, such as chlorine, may be included in the gas mixture. Power is applied to the cathode 28, and a plasma forms of the gas. Reactive gas species and sputtering ions impinge on the substrate to etch exposed areas of the substrate. The same reactive gas species and, to a lesser extent, the sputtering ions, also contact the walls of the chamber. After a number of processing runs, there is considerable wear and erosion of the chamber walls. Without a protection mechanism for the walls, the walls must eventually be replaced.” (column 4, lines 11-26).
The advantage of using plasma as a processing step to a wafers, is to provide ions to sputter a target and thereby free atoms or larger particles of target material for deposition on a surface such as a wafer and or to provide an environment for etching layers of material formed on a surface of a wafer “Plasma processing is used in the manufacture of various types of articles including semiconductor integrated circuit devices. Plasmas may be used to provide ions to sputter a target and thereby free atoms or larger particles of target material for deposition on a surface such as a semiconductor substrate. Plasmas may also be used to provide an environment for etching layers of material formed on a surface such as a semiconductor substrate.” (column 1, lines 13-31).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Krishnan as modified and Nitescu before him or her, to further modify the wafer identifying/processing apparatus of Krishnan to include the plasma processing features of Nitescu, because using known plasma processes for processing a wafer enables ions to sputter a target and thereby free atoms or larger particles of target material for deposition on a surface such as said wafer and or to provide an environment for etching layers of material formed on a surface of said wafer, while anticipating sacrificial surplus material as resistance to the wear inherent to plasma processing.
Regarding claim 21, Krishnan as modified teaches the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 20, Krishnan as already modified teaches wherein the reader is configured to read two-dimensional code information from the marker (nature of symbols having at least two dimensions to be perceivable), the marker including at least one of a groove formed in the edge ring by processing and two or more types of colors (Fraser as already modifying teaches laser marked identifier is both recessed and color darkened “laser-marking the identifier on a surface of the received metal workpiece by laser-removing, for each one of the plurality of dark cells, metal from the surface of the metal workpiece only at a center portion of the corresponding dark cell thereby leaving a recess bounded by a peripheral wall in the corresponding dark cell” [0010]).
Regarding claim 22, Krishnan as modified teaches the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 21, Krishnana as already modified teaches wherein the reader is configured to read the two-dimensional code information by a contrast of light incident on the marker (Fraser as already modifying provides contrast of dark laser etching to identification “laser-marking the identifier on a surface of the received metal workpiece by laser-removing, for each one of the plurality of dark cells, metal from the surface of the metal workpiece only at a center portion of the corresponding dark cell thereby leaving a recess bounded by a peripheral wall in the corresponding dark cell” Fraser [0010]).
Regarding claim 23, Krishnan as modified teaches the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 21, Krishnan as already modified teaches wherein reader is configured to read the two-dimensional code information by a contrast of the two or more types of colors formed on the marker (as already modified by Fraser “dark cell appears dark to an optical reader” Fraser [0010]).
Regarding claim 25, Krishnan as modified teaches the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 21, Krishnan as already modified teaches wherein the edge ring is quartz (a variety of materials to include quartz are anticipated, emphasis added, “Wafer carriers and rotating tubes can be formed from a variety of materials such as, for example, silicon carbide (SiC), boron nitride (BN), boron carbide (BC), aluminum nitride (AlN), alumina (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), sapphire, silicon, gallium nitride, gallium arsenide, quartz, graphite, graphite coated with silicon carbide (SiC), other ceramic materials, and combinations thereof. In addition, these and other materials can have a refractory coating, for example, a carbide, nitride or oxide refractory coating. Furthermore, the wafer carrier and rotating tubes can be formed from refractory metals, such as molybdenum, tungsten, and alloys thereof.” Krishnan [0072]), and the marker is configured with the groove formed in the edge ring by laser processing (Any surface not occupied by the wafer on the carrier is anticipated to placement of the marker/identification symbol as already modified by Furutachi “To provide a dicing sheet with an identification symbol which can be identified even after being stuck to a wafer, and to which the identification symbol such as a name of an article is affixed without damaging the dicing sheet” Furutachi (abstract)).
Regarding claim 26, Krishnan as modified teaches a substrate processing system comprising:
a plasma processing apparatus (as already modified by Nitescu “A thin flexible removeable shield made of electrically conducting material presses against the interior walls of an apertured processing chamber to protect the processing chamber walls from erosion from the reactive plasma gases.” (Nitescu abstract)) according to claim 20 (as already modified);
a transfer chamber (as already modified by Nitescu, transfer chamber existing to other side of gate 20 of the plasma processing chamber, see figure 1 and below movement between chambers (Nitescu, column 3, lines 39-46) configured to transfer the edge ring to the substrate processing apparatus (as already modified by Nitescu “The slit valve aperture 20 is the slot through which a substrate is carried on the blade of a robot arm for placement in and out of the processing chamber.” (Nitescu, column 3, lines 39-46)); and
controller circuitry (as already modified by Hofmeister, scanner 108 with controller thereto associated “The wafers typically are tracked on a computer system to control inventory or to select or control one or more processing steps depending upon the identity of a particular wafer.” (Hofmeister column 1, lines 15-36)),
wherein the reader reads two-dimensional code information from the marker (Hofmeister as already modifying, emphasis added “The repeated identification marks can be, for example, a bar code or numerals or letters as a combination of numerals and letters, i.e. alphanumeric symbols. Examples include 2D bar codes, codes such as EAN-UPC, ITF, CODE 39, CODABAR and CODE 128” (Hofmeister column 6, lines 21-25)), and
the controller circuitry is configured to acquire information on the edge ring included in the read two-dimensional code information and record the information on the edge ring on a recording medium (as already modifying Hofmeister provides wafer identifiers are updated on the controller in relation to on going processings “The wafers typically are tracked on a computer system to control inventory or to select or control one or more processing steps depending upon the identity of a particular wafer.” (Hofmeister column 1, lines 15-36)).
Regarding claim 27, Kirshnan discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising:
a chamber body (processing chamber body as intended with use of wafer carrier 402 “where the inner surface refers to a surface that faces toward the center of the chamber and the outer surface refers to a surface that faces away from the center of the chamber.” [0012]);
a gate valve (means of confining gas to chamber “A purge tube 828 is used to provide positive pressure purge gas 829 to the cavity.” [0099]) provided in the chamber body; and
Krishnan is silent regarding a reader arranged on the gate valve, wherein the reader is configured to read a marker, the marker is a two-dimensional barcode.
However Hofmeister teaches a reader (108) arranged on the gate valve (102/106) (see figure 7, reader 108 at gate 102, placed to ID wafers at point of entry through gate in open position “the FOUP 100 is positioned on processing apparatus 102 so that the opening 104 in the FOUP faces the aperture of the processing apparatus. The FOUP door 100 may be removed by any suitable means and positioned as desired. As seen in FIG. 7, the apparatus 102 may be provided with a sensor or reader 108 capable of detecting the wafer(s) 10 in the FOUP 100 when the door 106 is removed. For example, the sensor 108 may be an electro-optical sensor, such as a laser, capable of directing a beam of electromagnetic radiation (indicated by arrow B in FIG. 7) at the region 12 of the wafer 10 having marks 11 thereon. The sensor 108 may be able to detect the region by sensing a reflected beam from the wafer for example. The sensor 108 depicted schematically in FIG. 7, may further be able to scan the region to read the pattern of mark 11 thereby reading the identification information embodied therein. The repeated pattern of mark 11 around the peripheral region of the wafer(s) 10 ensures that at least one pattern (or such portions as to form one pattern) of mark 11 faces the sensor 108 and may thus be read by the sensor.” (column 6, lines 26-60)), wherein the reader is configured to read a marker (11, see above column 6, lines 26-60), the marker is a two-dimensional barcode (“The repeated identification marks can be, for example, a bar code or numerals or letters as a combination of numerals and letters, i.e. alphanumeric symbols. Examples include 2D bar codes, codes such as EAN-UPC, ITF, CODE 39, CODABAR and CODE 128.” (column 6, lines 21-25)).
The advantage of a reader arranged on the gate valve, wherein the reader is configured to read a marker, the marker is a two-dimensional barcode. is to confirm identity of wafers transferring through a processing environment at the point of transition between locations “The FOUP door 100 may be removed by any suitable means and positioned as desired. As seen in FIG. 7, the apparatus 102 may be provided with a sensor or reader 108 capable of detecting the wafer(s) 10 in the FOUP 100 when the door 106 is removed.” (column 6, lines 26-60) by passive identification processed into existing transferring materials “The identification mark 11 in the form of, for example, the bar code as illustrated can be formed by engraving the semiconductor wafer 10 by laser beam radiation so as to recognize the outline of an engraving in the form of a repeating identification mark along the peripheral edge portion of the wafer.” (column 3, lines 46-60).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Krishnan as modified and Hofmeister before him or her, to further modify the wafer identifying/processing apparatus of Krishnan to include gate placement of reader of Hofmeister because a reader on a gate enables immediate indentation of a wafer when the wafer is at a transferring location in a wafer processing environment and utilizes existing material being transferred to be processed for identification marks.
Krishnan is silent regarding the marker formed by processing at least one of a surface and an inside of the part disposed in an internal space of the chamber body.
However Furutachi teaches the marker formed by processing at least one of a surface and an inside of a part disposed in the internal space of the chamber body (“To provide a dicing sheet with an identification symbol which can be identified even after being stuck to a wafer, and to which the identification symbol such as a name of an article is affixed without damaging the dicing sheet” (abstract)).
The advantage of the marker formed by processing at least one of a surface and an inside of a part disposed in the internal space of the chamber body, is to track the held wafer through wafers processing steps at a spot on the carrier that is not covered by the wafer “To provide a dicing sheet with an identification symbol which can be identified even after being stuck to a wafer, and to which the identification symbol such as a name of an article is affixed without damaging the dicing sheet” (abstract).
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to modify Krishnan further with Furutachi, by adding to the wafer holding system of Krishnan, the wafer identification of Furutachi, to track the held wafer through wafers processing steps at a spot on the carrier that is not covered by the wafer.
Krishnan as modified is silent regarding the two-dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove having a predetermined depth and then processing the groove to form the two-dimensional barcode such that an entirety of the two-dimensional barcode is within groove when the surface of the edge ring is worn out due to repeated processes, it is configured to prevent the marker from being lost.
However Fraser teaches and the two-dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove having a predetermined depth and then processing the groove to form the two-dimensional barcode such that an entirety of the two-dimensional barcode is within groove (subsequent laser passes provide groove to depths and provide contrast “It was found that the relationship between the contrast CC and depth d can be mostly linear. It was expected that the deeper the recess of the dark cell, the darker it would appear thus giving a higher value of contrast. One important information to note is the significant increase in contrast between the first, second and third passes. Indeed, as the relationship between depth d and contrast is close to linear and the relationship between number of passes and depth d is not, a higher gain in contrast can be expected between passes 1 to 2 or 2 to 3 than compared to passes 3 to 4 or 4 to 5. A depth d between 0.3 mm and 0.4 would thus be expected to yield the satisfactorily high contrast” [0094]) when the surface of the edge ring is worn out due to repeated processes, it is configured to prevent the marker from being lost (Laser marked identifier is both recessed and color darkened “laser-marking the identifier on a surface of the received metal workpiece by laser-removing, for each one of the plurality of dark cells, metal from the surface of the metal workpiece only at a center portion of the corresponding dark cell thereby leaving a recess bounded by a peripheral wall in the corresponding dark cell” [0010]).
The advantage of and the two-dimensional barcode is formed by directly processing the edge ring to dig a groove having a predetermined depth and then processing the groove to form the two-dimensional barcode such that an entirety of the two-dimensional barcode is within groove when the surface of the edge ring is worn out due to repeated processes, it is configured to prevent the marker from being lost, is to provide protection to an identification of a part while keeping the part identifiable through subsequent processing steps, emphasis added “laser-marking the identifier on a surface of the received metal workpiece by laser-removing, for each one of the plurality of dark cells, metal from the surface of the metal workpiece only at a center portion of the corresponding dark cell thereby leaving a recess bounded by a peripheral wall in the corresponding dark cell, the recess having a depth of at least 100 microns and having an opening with a width ranging between 400 microns and 1750 microns and representing between 30 percent and below 99 percent of the corresponding cell size such that the corresponding dark cell appears dark to an optical reader, the depth, the width and the corresponding cell size of the corresponding dark cell providing a shot blast resistance to the laser-marked identifier.” [0010].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Krishnan and Fraser before him or her, to modify the undisclosed depth of barcode of Krishnan with the barcode having depth of Fraser because having a recessed barcode provides resistance to wear of the mark/barcode in subsequent material ablative processing.
Krishnan as modified is silent regarding the wafer processing to include plasma processing.
However Nitescu teaches that it is known in the art of wafer processing to use plasma and of plasmas wearing nature to components of the chamber that necessitates additional sacrificial wear material “During processing the chamber walls are eroded, or worn, from chemical attack and ion bombardment of the walls as a secondary effect of plasma processing of a substrate inside the processing chamber. A typical plasma process is as follows. A substrate is placed onto the pedestal 24. Gas is flowed into the processing chamber while the chamber is maintained at a subatmospheric pressure. A corrosive gas, such as chlorine, may be included in the gas mixture. Power is applied to the cathode 28, and a plasma forms of the gas. Reactive gas species and sputtering ions impinge on the substrate to etch exposed areas of the substrate. The same reactive gas species and, to a lesser extent, the sputtering ions, also contact the walls of the chamber. After a number of processing runs, there is considerable wear and erosion of the chamber walls. Without a protection mechanism for the walls, the walls must eventually be replaced.” (column 4, lines 11-26).
The advantage of using plasma as a processing step to a wafers, is to provide ions to sputter a target and thereby free atoms or larger particles of target material for deposition on a surface such as a wafer and or to provide an environment for etching layers of material formed on a surface of a wafer “Plasma processing is used in the manufacture of various types of articles including semiconductor integrated circuit devices. Plasmas may be used to provide ions to sputter a target and thereby free atoms or larger particles of target material for deposition on a surface such as a semiconductor substrate. Plasmas may also be used to provide an environment for etching layers of material formed on a surface such as a semiconductor substrate.” (column 1, lines 14-31).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Krishnan as modified and Nitescu before him or her, to further modify the wafer identifying/processing apparatus of Krishnan to include the plasma processing features of Nitescu, because using known plasma processes for processing a wafer enables ions to sputter a target and thereby free atoms or larger particles of target material for deposition on a surface such as said wafer and or to provide an environment for etching layers of material formed on a surface of said wafer, while anticipating sacrificial surplus material as resistance to the wear inherent to plasma processing.
Regarding claim 28, Krishnan as modified teaches the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 27, Krishnan as already modified teaches
wherein the reader is configured to read two-dimensional code information from the marker (identification marking of Furutachi as already modifying, see Furutachi (abstract)), the marker including at least one of a groove formed in the part by processing and two or more types of colors (Fraser as already modified teaches laser marked identifier is both recessed and color darkened “laser-marking the identifier on a surface of the received metal workpiece by laser-removing, for each one of the plurality of dark cells, metal from the surface of the metal workpiece only at a center portion of the corresponding dark cell thereby leaving a recess bounded by a peripheral wall in the corresponding dark cell” [0010]).
Regarding claim 30, Krishnan as modified teaches the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 28, Krishnan as already modified teaches wherein the part is ceramic (“Wafer carriers and rotating tubes can be formed from a variety of materials such as, for example, silicon carbide (SiC), boron nitride (BN), boron carbide (BC), aluminum nitride (AlN), alumina (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), sapphire, silicon, gallium nitride, gallium arsenide, quartz, graphite, graphite coated with silicon carbide (SiC), other ceramic materials, and combinations thereof.” [0072]), and
the marker includes the groove formed in the part by laser processing, a color discolored by the laser processing, and a color of the part before discoloration (as already modifying Fraser provides that dark laser grooves forming dark cells in contrast to bright cells of non laser ablated areas “the plurality of cells having a plurality of bright cells corresponding to a first binary value and a plurality of dark cells corresponding to a second binary value” Fraser [0010] and Figure 8A).
Regarding claim 31, Krishnan as modified teaches the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 28, Krishnan as already modified teaches wherein the part is aluminum, stainless steel, anodized aluminum, or silicon (“Wafer carriers and rotating tubes can be formed from a variety of materials such as, for example, silicon carbide (SiC), boron nitride (BN), boron carbide (BC), aluminum nitride (AlN), alumina (Al.sub.2O.sub.3), sapphire, silicon, gallium nitride, gallium arsenide, quartz, graphite, graphite coated with silicon carbide (SiC), other ceramic materials, and combinations thereof.” [0072]), and the marker is formed in the part by laser processing and an unevenness on a surface of the groove (Fraser as already modifying teaches groove marker “laser-marking the identifier on a surface of the received metal workpiece by laser-removing, for each one of the plurality of dark cells, metal from the surface of the metal workpiece only at a center portion of the corresponding dark cell thereby leaving a recess bounded by a peripheral wall in the corresponding dark cell” Fraser [0010], see unevenness of groove surface figure 8A).
Regarding claim 33, Krishnan as modified teaches the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 27, Krishnan as already modified by plasma specific wafer processing of Nitescu teaches further comprising:
a mounting table (wafer pedestal 24, Krishnan) in an internal space (processing chamber defined by wall 10 and or shield 38, Krishnan figure 1) and for supporting a substrate (wafer of said pedestal), the mounting table including an electrostatic chuck (“the pedestal 24 includes a wafer securing device to secure the wafer to the pedestal 24 temporarily during processing, such as an electrostatic chucking mechanism” (column 3, lines 51-55)), a lower electrode (cathode 28, Krishnam) and an electrode plate (22, Krishnan);
an upper electrode (anode 80 “Power, usually a radio frequency electric current, is coupled to the cathode. All other parts of the chamber are grounded.” (column 3, lines 58-65), Krishnan) including a top plate (16, Krishnan), the top plate including a plurality of gas ejection holes (“A circular, showerhead-type gas distribution plate 16 is attached directly to the lid. The process gas or gases are fed to the chamber through an inlet (not shown) to be evenly distributed through the gas distribution plate 16 over a substrate received in the chamber.”( column 3, lines 31-38)); and a
radio-frequency power supply connected to the electrode plate (“Power, usually a radio frequency electric current, is coupled to the cathode. All other parts of the chamber are grounded” (column 3, lines 58-65)).
Regarding claim 34, Krishnan as modified teaches the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 33, Krishnan as already modified teaches wherein the plasma processing apparatus is for performing plasma processing to the substrate (“Plasma processing is used in the manufacture of various types of articles including semiconductor integrated circuit devices. Plasmas may be used to provide ions to sputter a target and thereby free atoms or larger particles of target material for deposition on a surface such as a semiconductor substrate. Plasmas may also be used to provide an environment for etching layers of material formed on a surface such as a semiconductor substrate.” (column 1, lines 13-31) -Nitescu).
Regarding claim 36, Krishnan as modified teaches the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 20, Krishnan as already modified by plasma specific wafer processing of Nitescu teaches further comprising:
a mounting table (wafer pedestal 24, Krishnan) in an internal space (processing chamber defined by wall 10 and or shield 38, Krishnan figure 1) and for supporting a substrate (wafer of said pedestal), the mounting table including an electrostatic chuck (“the pedestal 24 includes a wafer securing device to secure the wafer to the pedestal 24 temporarily during processing, such as an electrostatic chucking mechanism” (column 3, lines 51-55)), a lower electrode (cathode 28, Krishnam) and an electrode plate (22, Krishnan);
an upper electrode (anode 80 “Power, usually a radio frequency electric current, is coupled to the cathode. All other parts of the chamber are grounded.” (column 3, lines 58-65), Krishnan) including a top plate (16, Krishnan), the top plate including a plurality of gas ejection holes (“A circular, showerhead-type gas distribution plate 16 is attached directly to the lid. The process gas or gases are fed to the chamber through an inlet (not shown) to be evenly distributed through the gas distribution plate 16 over a substrate received in the chamber.”( column 3, lines 31-38)); and a
radio-frequency power supply connected to the electrode plate (“Power, usually a radio frequency electric current, is coupled to the cathode. All other parts of the chamber are grounded” (column 3, lines 58-65)).
Regarding claim 37, Krishnan as modified teaches the plasma processing apparatus according to claim 36, Krishnan as already modified teaches wherein the plasma processing apparatus is for performing plasma processing to the substrate (“Plasma processing is used in the manufacture of various types of articles including semiconductor integrated circuit devices. Plasmas may be used to provide ions to sputter a target and thereby free atoms or larger particles of target material for deposition on a surface such as a semiconductor substrate. Plasmas may also be used to provide an environment for etching layers of material formed on a surface such as a semiconductor substrate.” (column 1, lines 13-31) -Nitescu).
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan in view of Furutachi, Fraser, Nitescu and Hofmeister and in further view of Xiao (US 2019/0034684 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Krishnan as modified teaches the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 21,
Krishnan as modified is silent regarding wherein the marker is configured such that an error correction of the two-dimensional code information is possible.
However Xiao teaches wherein the marker is configured such that an error correction of the two-dimensional code information is possible (error correction of defaced barcode/QR codes is well a known practice of reading such codes “The present invention relates to a method and system for quantitative defacing of a QR Code. Defacing of the method includes data and error correction code word defacing, boundary defacing, position detection pattern defacing, correction pattern defacing, positioning pattern defacing, version information defacing, and format information defacing. Quantitative defacing varies with the defacing patterns and positions of a barcode. The defacing degree of the QR Code is not greater than the capability of the barcode for correcting error codes.” (abstract)).
The advantage of wherein the marker is configured such that an error correction of the two-dimensional code information is possible, is to provide error correction within an code reading system wherein the code readable medium has been defaced “the coding pattern of the QR Code is analyzed; defacing of the data and error correction code words of the QR Code is quantified; 8 data bits of each one of the data code words and each one of the correction code words are randomly defaced; and when a reading error appears at any one or more of the 8 data bits, it is determined that a substitution error has occurred to the current data code word or error correction code word.
In one embodiment of the present invention, the number of substitution errors of the current QR Code corresponding to the current version and correction grade is queried to ensure that the defacing degree of the data and error correction code words does not exceed the capacity of the QR code for correcting the error code words” [0012-0013].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to add to the code reading system of Krishnan as already modified, the code error correction features of Xiao, to provide error correction within an code reading system wherein the code readable medium has been defaced.
Additionally see the industry known correction code of “Reed-Solomon error correction”.
Regarding claim 29, Krishnan as modified teaches the substrate processing apparatus according to claim 28,
Krishnan as already modified is silent regarding wherein the marker is configured such that an error correction of the two-dimensional code information is possible.
However Xiao teaches wherein the marker is configured such that an error correction of the two-dimensional code information is possible (error correction of defaced barcode/QR codes is well a known practice of reading such codes “The present invention relates to a method and system for quantitative defacing of a QR Code. Defacing of the method includes data and error correction code word defacing, boundary defacing, position detection pattern defacing, correction pattern defacing, positioning pattern defacing, version information defacing, and format information defacing. Quantitative defacing varies with the defacing patterns and positions of a barcode. The defacing degree of the QR Code is not greater than the capability of the barcode for correcting error codes.” (abstract)).
The advantage of wherein the marker is configured such that an error correction of the two-dimensional code information is possible, is to provide error correction within an code reading system wherein the code readable medium has been defaced “the coding pattern of the QR Code is analyzed; defacing of the data and error correction code words of the QR Code is quantified; 8 data bits of each one of the data code words and each one of the correction code words are randomly defaced; and when a reading error appears at any one or more of the 8 data bits, it is determined that a substitution error has occurred to the current data code word or error correction code word.
In one embodiment of the present invention, the number of substitution errors of the current QR Code corresponding to the current version and correction grade is queried to ensure that the defacing degree of the data and error correction code words does not exceed the capacity of the QR code for correcting the error code words” [0012-0013].
Therefore it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to add to the code reading system of Krishnan as modified by Fraser, the code error correction features of Xiao, to provide error correction within an code reading system wherein the code readable medium has been defaced.
Additionally see the industry known correction code of “Reed-Solomon error correction”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Spencer H. Kirkwood/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/STEVEN W CRABB/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761