DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 9 July 2025 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendments have provided grounds for 35 USC 112(b) rejections.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 USC § 103 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. After conducting an updated search, an additional reference was identified, which teaches the amended portions of claims 1 and 11. Therefore, the claims remain rejected as obvious in view of the prior art.
Status of the Claims
In the amendment dated 9 July 2025, the status of the claims is as follows: Claims 1, 11-14, and 20 have been amended. Claims 3-4, 21, and 24-27 have been cancelled. Claims 28-30 are new.
Claims 1, 3-21, and 24-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "The method of claim 2…. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 2 has been cancelled. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as being dependent on claim 28.
Claim 30 recites the limitation "The method of claim 3…. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 3 has been cancelled. For the purpose of the examination, the limitation will be interpreted as being dependent on claim 1.
The rejections are provided based on new claims 29 and 30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8-10, 21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (JP-6374093-B2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) in view of Hosseini (US-20150136743-A1) and Hirayama et al. (US-20160251251-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fan teaches a method for manufacturing an electronic apparatus (“method for packaging glass packages using a laser,” para 0001; OLED (organic light-emitting diode) displays, para 0002; construed as an electronic apparatus), the method comprising:
rotating a laser source (rotation of laser 100 around fig. 4, para 0042; the laser modules 202 and 203 in fig. 3 are construed as the claimed “laser source”) around a moving path (path shown in fig. 4);
selectively emitting a laser beam (laser 100, fig. 3) while moving the laser source along the moving path (figure 7 is construed as shown as selective emission of a laser beam; the top plot shows the movement speed and bottom plot shows the selective application of laser output, para 0042);
wherein the moving path is a closed loop line (fig. 4 is construed as being a closed loop), and comprises a first section (section between a1 and a2, fig. 4) which is a part of the closed loop line and a second section (section between a2 and a1, fig. 4) which is the remaining section of the closed loop line,
wherein the first section and the second section are connected to each other to define the closed loop line (combining the construed sections results in the complete path shown in fig. 4),
wherein the selective emitting of the laser beam comprises a first step of rotating along the moving path once and a second step of rotating along the moving path after the first step (“plurality of scanning cycles,” para 0039; the “first step” is construed as the first cycle starting at a1 and returning to a1; the “second step” is construed as a second cycle from a1 to a1 again after the first cycle), and
wherein, during the first step, the laser source does not irradiate the laser beam to the first section (“the region a1-a2 in FIG. 4, and not activate the laser output,” para 0042; during the first cycle, the beam does not irradiate between a1 and a2, fig. 7), and
during the second step, the laser source irradiates the laser beam to an entirety of the first section and the second section (in subsequent cycles, the beam irradiates between a1 and a2, fig. 7, and from a2 to a1 after the first cycle during the “plurality of scanning cycles,” para 0039).
Fan, figs. 4 and 7
Fan does not explicitly disclose supplying a preliminary electronic module comprising a circuit board, an electronic panel, and a protective film on each of a top surface and a bottom surface of the electronic panel, and comprising an active area for displaying an image, the active area having a hole-forming area, and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area; a moving path defined along a boundary between the hole-forming area and the active area; removing the hole-forming area from the preliminary electronic module to form an electronic module having the module hole, and removing the protective films from the top surface and the bottom surface of the electronic panel after selectively emitting the laser beam.
However, in the same field of laser ablation, Hosseini teaches supplying a preliminary electronic module (object 2, fig. 1) comprising a circuit board (“smart phones,” para 0032; a smart phone is construed as having a circuit board), an electronic panel (“The multilayer substrate may comprise multi-layer flat panel display glass, para 0032), and a protective film on a top surface (“a sacrificial layer is applied to the target surface,” para 0038) of the electronic panel, and comprising an active area (area inside the solid line 21s, which is the “scribed line,” para 0077; fig. 1) for displaying an image (“smart phone cover glass,” para 0121; smart phones display images), the active area having a hole-forming area (hole in the main substrate 1 along the contour 21S, fig. 1), and a peripheral area (area of substrate 1 outside of the contour 21S, fig. 1) adjacent to the active area; a moving path defined along a boundary between the hole-forming area and the active area (path along the cut 21S, fig. 1; para 0077); removing the hole-forming area from the preliminary electronic module to form an electronic module having the module hole (“the closed form separates from the substrate,” para 0105; para 0081), and removing the protective films from the top surface and the bottom surface of the electronic panel after selectively emitting the laser beam (“the ejecta mound could be removed along with the sacrificial layer at a later time,” para 0063; construed such that the sacrificial layer would be removed after capturing the ejecta caused by the laser beam emissions).
Hosseini, figs. 1-2
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, a preliminary electronic module comprising a circuit board, an electronic panel, and a protective film on a top surface of the electronic panel, and comprising an active area for displaying an image, the active area having a hole-forming area, and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area; a moving path defined along a boundary between the hole-forming area and the active area; removing the hole-forming area from the preliminary electronic module to form an electronic module having the module hole, and removing the protective films from the top surface and the bottom surface of the electronic panel after selectively emitting the laser beam, in view of the teachings of Hosseini, by cutting the cover a smart phone, as taught by Hosseini, using the beam 100 before the beam seals the display device, as taught by Fan, in order to use a method of forming recesses, forming defects, or orifices that precisely cut the glass cover of a smart phone but with the advantage of not weakening or damaging the glass cover of a smart phone as a result, whereupon after cutting the substrate to form the glass cover, the glass cover could be hermetically sealed using the method taught by Fan (Hosseini, para 0009; Fan, para 0053).
Fan/Hosseini do not explicitly disclose a protective film on a bottom surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser ablation, Hirayama teaches a protective film (base materials 31 and adhesives 33, fig. 18) on a bottom surface of the electronic panel (“a protective material formation step of forming protective materials on a glass so that the protective materials are superimposed on both surfaces of the glass,” para 0008).
Hirayama, fig. 18
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, a protective film on a bottom surface, in view of the teachings of Hirayama, by using the base material 31 and adhesive 33, as taught by Hirayama, on both sides of the substrate 1 as it is cut, as taught by Hosseini, because electronic components have miniaturized over the years, but by using a protective material on the glass, warpage of the glass can be suppressed, facilitating higher accuracy of materials during laser drilling and cutting (Hirayama, paras 0002 and 0009).
Regarding claim 7, Fan teaches wherein a start point (point a1, figs. 4 and 7) and an end point (point a3, figs. 4 and 7) of the emitting of the laser beam are defined on the moving path (both points are located on the path shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Fan teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser beam is a pulse laser beam.
However, in the same field of laser ablation, Hosseini teaches wherein the laser beam is a pulse laser beam (“ultrafast laser pulses,” para 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, wherein the laser beam is a pulse laser beam, in view of the teachings of Hosseini, using the beam 100, as taught by Fan, such that it produced ultrafast laser pulses that were used as a method of forming recesses, forming defects, or orifices uses laser pulses that precisely cut the glass cover of a smart phone but with the advantage of not weakening or damaging the glass cover of a smart phone as a result, whereupon after cutting the substrate to form the glass cover, the glass cover could be hermetically sealed using the method taught by Fan (Hosseini, para 0009; Fan, para 0053).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fan in view of Hosseini and Hirayama as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 9. Specifically, Hosseini teaches wherein the hole-forming area has one of a circular, elliptical, or polygonal shape (area inside cut 21S has a polygonal shape, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Fan in view of Hosseini and Hirayama as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 10. Specifically, Hosseini teaches wherein the hole-forming area (area inside cut 21S has a polygonal shape, fig. 1) comprises a plurality of hole-forming areas (multiple holes are formed inside the cut part 2, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Fan teaches a method for manufacturing an electronic apparatus (“method for packaging glass packages using a laser,” para 0001; OLED (organic light-emitting diode) displays, para 0002; construed as an electronic apparatus), the method comprising:
rotating a laser source (rotation of laser 100 around fig. 4, para 0042; the laser modules 202 and 203 in fig. 3 are construed as the claimed “laser source”) around a moving path (path shown in fig. 4);
selectively emitting a laser beam (laser 100, fig. 3) while moving the laser source along the moving path (figure 7 is construed as shown as selective emission of a laser beam; the top plot shows the movement speed and bottom plot shows the selective application of laser output, para 0042);
wherein the moving path is a closed loop line (fig. 4 is construed as being a closed loop), and comprises a first section (section between a1 and a2, fig. 4) which is a part of the closed loop line and a second section (section between a2 and a1, fig. 4) which is the remaining section of the closed loop line,
wherein the first section and the second section are connected to each other to define the closed loop line (combining the construed sections results in the complete path shown in fig. 4),
wherein the selective emitting of the laser beam comprises a first step of rotating along the moving path once and a second step of rotating along the moving path after the first step (“plurality of scanning cycles,” para 0039; the “first step” is construed as the first cycle starting at a1 and returning to a1; the “second step” is construed as a second cycle from a1 to a1 again after the first cycle), and
wherein, during the first step (starting at a1, the first cycle of the “plurality of scanning cycles,” para 0039), the laser source moves at a first speed in the first section (the region a1-a2 is a “start zone,” paras 0042 and 0049; the “first speed” is construed as an accelerating speed from 0 m/s to the speed reached at a2), and at a second speed (“3 m/s,” para 0037) greater than the first speed in the second section (the laser accelerates from being stopped at a1 until a speed of 3 m/s is reached at a2, para 0042),
wherein, during the second step (second cycle of the “plurality of scanning cycles,” para 0039), a moving speed of the laser source is equal to the second speed (“3 m/s,” para 0037; “maintains operation at the predetermined…movement speed,” para 0042).
In this embodiment, Fan does not explicitly disclose supplying a preliminary electronic module comprising a circuit board, an electronic panel, and a protective film on each of a top surface and a bottom surface of the electronic panel, and comprising an active area for displaying an image, the active area having a hole-forming area, and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area; a moving path defined along a boundary between the hole-forming area and the active area; removing the hole-forming area from the preliminary electronic module to form an electronic module having the module hole, and removing the protective films from the top surface and the bottom surface of the electronic panel after selectively emitting the laser beam; wherein the laser source emits the laser beam while rotating about one to about 200 times around the moving path.
However, in a different embodiment, Fan teaches wherein the laser source emits the laser beam while rotating about one to about 200 times (“10 times,” para 0040) around the moving path (fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the embodiment of figs. 4 and 7 to include, wherein the laser source emits the laser beam while rotating about one to about 200 times around the moving path, in view of the embodiment of figs. 6A-B, where the plurality of scanning cycles was ten cycles, in order to obtain sufficient energy to obtain a target temperature so that a hermetic seal can form in the glass substrates (Fan, para 0039).
Fan does not explicitly disclose supplying a preliminary electronic module comprising a circuit board, an electronic panel, and a protective film on each of a top surface and a bottom surface of the electronic panel, and comprising an active area for displaying an image, the active area having a hole-forming area, and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area; a moving path defined along a boundary between the hole-forming area and the active area; removing the hole-forming area from the preliminary electronic module to form an electronic module having the module hole, and removing the protective films from the top surface and the bottom surface of the electronic panel after selectively emitting the laser beam.
However, in the same field of laser ablation, Hosseini teaches supplying a preliminary electronic module (object 2, fig. 1) comprising a circuit board (“smart phones,” para 0032; a smart phone is construed as having a circuit board), an electronic panel (“The multilayer substrate may comprise multi-layer flat panel display glass, para 0032), and a protective film on a top surface (“a sacrificial layer is applied to the target surface,” para 0038) of the electronic panel, and comprising an active area (area inside the solid line 21s, which is the “scribed line,” para 0077; fig. 1) for displaying an image (“smart phone cover glass,” para 0121; smart phones display images), the active area having a hole-forming area (hole in the main substrate 1 along the contour 21S, fig. 1), and a peripheral area (area of substrate 1 outside of the contour 21S, fig. 1) adjacent to the active area; a moving path defined along a boundary between the hole-forming area and the active area (path along the cut 21S, fig. 1; para 0077); removing the hole-forming area from the preliminary electronic module to form an electronic module having the module hole (“the closed form separates from the substrate,” para 0105; para 0081), and removing the protective films from the top surface and the bottom surface of the electronic panel after selectively emitting the laser beam (“the ejecta mound could be removed along with the sacrificial layer at a later time,” para 0063; construed such that the sacrificial layer would be removed after capturing the ejecta caused by the laser beam emissions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, a preliminary electronic module comprising a circuit board, an electronic panel, and a protective film on a top surface of the electronic panel, and comprising an active area for displaying an image, the active area having a hole-forming area, and a peripheral area adjacent to the active area; a moving path defined along a boundary between the hole-forming area and the active area; removing the hole-forming area from the preliminary electronic module to form an electronic module having the module hole, and removing the protective films from the top surface and the bottom surface of the electronic panel after selectively emitting the laser beam, in view of the teachings of Hosseini, by cutting the cover a smart phone, as taught by Hosseini, using the beam 100 before the beam seals the display device, as taught by Fan, in order to use a method of forming recesses, forming defects, or orifices that precisely cut the glass cover of a smart phone but with the advantage of not weakening or damaging the glass cover of a smart phone as a result, whereupon after cutting the substrate to form the glass cover, the glass cover could be hermetically sealed using the method taught by Fan (Hosseini, para 0009; Fan, para 0053).
Fan/Hosseini do not explicitly disclose a protective film on a bottom surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser ablation, Hirayama teaches a protective film (base materials 31 and adhesives 33, fig. 18) on a bottom surface of the electronic panel (“a protective material formation step of forming protective materials on a glass so that the protective materials are superimposed on both surfaces of the glass,” para 0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, a protective film on a bottom surface, in view of the teachings of Hirayama, by using the base material 31 and adhesive 33, as taught by Hirayama, on both sides of the substrate 1 as it is cut, as taught by Hosseini, because electronic components have miniaturized over the years, but by using a protective material on the glass, warpage of the glass can be suppressed, facilitating higher accuracy of materials during laser drilling and cutting (Hirayama, paras 0002 and 0009).
Regarding claim 12, Fan teaches wherein, during the first step (the “first step” is construed as the first cycle starting at a1 and returning to a1), the laser source does not irradiate the laser beam to the first section (“the region a1-a2 in FIG. 4, and not activate the laser output,” para 0042; during the first cycle, the beam does not irradiate between a1 and a2, fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Fan teaches wherein during the second step (the “second step” is construed as a second cycle from a1 to a1 again after the first cycle), the laser source irradiates the laser beam to an entirety of the first section and the second section (in subsequent cycles, the beam irradiates between a1 and a2, fig. 7, and from a2 to a1 after the first cycle during the “plurality of scanning cycles,” para 0039).
Regarding claim 14, Fan teaches wherein, the second speed is about 50 mm/s to about 6000 mm/s (“3 m/s,” para 0037).
Regarding claim 17, Fan teaches wherein a start point (point a1, figs. 4 and 7) and an end point (point a3, figs. 4 and 7) of the emitting of the laser beam are defined on the moving path (both points are located on the path shown in fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Fan teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein the laser beam is a pulse laser beam.
However, in the same field of laser ablation, Hosseini teaches wherein the laser beam is a pulse laser beam (“ultrafast laser pulses,” para 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, wherein the laser beam is a pulse laser beam, in view of the teachings of Hosseini, using the beam 100, as taught by Fan, such that it produced ultrafast laser pulses that were used as a method of forming recesses, forming defects, or orifices uses laser pulses that precisely cut the glass cover of a smart phone but with the advantage of not weakening or damaging the glass cover of a smart phone as a result, whereupon after cutting the substrate to form the glass cover, the glass cover could be hermetically sealed using the method taught by Fan (Hosseini, para 0009; Fan, para 0053).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Fan in view of Hosseini and Hirayama as set forth above regarding claim 11 teaches the invention of claim 19. Specifically, Hosseini teaches wherein the hole-forming area has one of a circular, elliptical, or polygonal shape (area inside cut 21S has a polygonal shape, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Fan in view of Hosseini and Hirayama as set forth above regarding claim 1 teaches the invention of claim 10. Specifically, Hosseini teaches wherein the hole-forming area (area inside cut 21S has a polygonal shape, fig. 1) comprises a plurality of hole-forming areas (multiple holes are formed inside the cut part 2, fig. 2).
Regarding claim 28, Fan teaches wherein, during the first step, the laser source (rotation of laser 100 around fig. 4, para 0042; the laser modules 202 and 203 in fig. 3 are construed as the claimed “laser source”) moves at a first speed in the first section (the region a1-a2 is a “start zone,” paras 0042 and 0049; the “first speed” is construed as an accelerating speed from 0 m/s to the speed reached at a2), and at a second speed (“3 m/s,” para 0037) greater than the first speed in the second section (the laser accelerates from being stopped at a1 until a speed of 3 m/s is reached at a2, para 0042).
Regarding claim 29, Fan teaches wherein, during the second step (second cycle of the “plurality of scanning cycles,” para 0039), a moving speed of the laser source is equal to the second speed (“3 m/s,” para 0037; “maintains operation at the predetermined…movement speed,” para 0042).
Regarding claim 30, Fan teaches wherein, the second speed is about 50 mm/s to about 6000 mm/s (“3 m/s,” para 0037).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (JP-6374093-B2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) in view of Hosseini (US-20150136743-A1) and Hirayama et al. (US-20160251251-A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kang et al. (US-20170358781-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Fan teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein a power of the laser beam is about 0.5 W to about 30 W.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting, Kang teaches a power of the laser beam is about 0.5 W to about 30 W (“the second intensity may be about 5 W when the first intensity is about 30 W,” para 0113; construed as a power range of 5-30 W).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, wherein a power of the laser beam is about 0.5 W to about 30 W, in view of the teachings of Kang, by using the power range, as taught by Kang, for the laser beam 100, as taught by Fan, when the laser is used to cut the smart phone cover, as taught by Hosseini, because the power of a laser determines how effectively a mother substrate is cut through and whether a haze area results, causing burrs, but by using a power of 30 watts for a first intensity followed by a second intensity of 5 W, the amount of haze areas are reduced while still achieving cut-through of a substrate, for the advantage of ensuring that burrs do not form on a substrate (in paras 0104-0113, Kang teaches a process for determining the optimal power; see also figs. 11D-16). Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Fan teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein a power of the laser beam is about 0.5 W to about 30 W.
However, in the same field of endeavor of laser cutting, Kang teaches a power of the laser beam is about 0.5 W to about 30 W (“the second intensity may be about 5 W when the first intensity is about 30 W,” para 0113; construed as a power range of 5-30 W).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, wherein a power of the laser beam is about 0.5 W to about 30 W, in view of the teachings of Kang, by using the power range, as taught by Kang, for the laser beam 100, as taught by Fan, when the laser is used to cut the smart phone cover, as taught by Hosseini, because the power of a laser determines how effectively a mother substrate is cut through and whether a haze area results, causing burrs, but by using a power of 30 watts for a first intensity followed by a second intensity of 5 W, the amount of haze areas are reduced while still achieving cut-through of a substrate, for the advantage of ensuring that burrs do not form on a substrate (in paras 0104-0113, Kang teaches a process for determining the optimal power; see also figs. 11D-16). Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fan et al. (JP-6374093-B2, referencing foreign version for drawings and provided English translation for written disclosure) in view of Hosseini (US-20150136743-A1) and Hirayama et al. (US-20160251251-A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Unrath et al. (US-20140263223-A1).
Regarding claim 6, Fan teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein a frequency of pulses of the laser beam is about 100 kHz to about 20000 kHz.
However, in the same field of endeavor of drilling holes in workpieces, Unrath teaches wherein a frequency of pulses of the laser beam is about 100 kHz to about 20000 kHz (“Laser pulses within the beam 105 are may generally generated at a PRF in a range from about 20 kHz to about 2000 kHz. It will be appreciated, however, that the PRF may be less than 20 kHz or greater than 2000 kHz. For example, mode-locked laser may run up to 200 MHz,” para 0024; construed as range from 20 kHz to 2000 kHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, wherein a frequency of pulses of the laser beam is about 100 kHz to about 20000 kHz, in view of the teachings of Unrath, by using a PRF of 20-2000 kHz, as taught by Unrath, for the laser 100, as taught by Fan, when the laser is used to cut the smart phone cover, as taught by Hosseini, because the PRF is a results-effective variable, where selection of the PRF (in combination with the velocity of the laser beam as well as the number of circular repetitions) determines the bite size, which is the distance between pulses, and by increasing the PRF from 70 kHz to as much as 2000 kHz, the beam velocity could then be increased by a factor of 28.5 for the same bite size and number of cycles, enabling a faster processing speed for the laser beam due to the increase in the PRF. Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, Fan teaches the invention as described above but does not explicitly disclose wherein a frequency of pulses of the laser beam is about 100 kHz to about 20000 kHz.
However, in the same field of endeavor of drilling holes in workpieces, Unrath teaches wherein a frequency of pulses of the laser beam is about 100 kHz to about 20000 kHz (“Laser pulses within the beam 105 are may generally generated at a PRF in a range from about 20 kHz to about 2000 kHz. It will be appreciated, however, that the PRF may be less than 20 kHz or greater than 2000 kHz. For example, mode-locked laser may run up to 200 MHz,” para 0024; construed as range from 20 kHz to 2000 kHz).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Fan to include, wherein a frequency of pulses of the laser beam is about 100 kHz to about 20000 kHz, in view of the teachings of Unrath, by using a PRF of 20-2000 kHz, as taught by Unrath, for the laser 100, as taught by Fan, when the laser is used to cut the smart phone cover, as taught by Hosseini, because the PRF is a results-effective variable, where selection of the PRF (in combination with the velocity of the laser beam as well as the number of circular repetitions) determines the bite size, which is the distance between pulses, and by increasing the PRF from 70 kHz to as much as 2000 kHz, the beam velocity could then be increased by a factor of 28.5 for the same bite size and number of cycles, enabling a faster processing speed for the laser beam due to the increase in the PRF. Additionally, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Response to Argument
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new rejections of Fan combined with Hosseini and Hirayama.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERWIN J WUNDERLICH/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 9/6/2025
/EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761