DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a AsH3 or PH3 injector inlet” must be shown (labeled) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) with respect to Fig. 2, the elected embodiment. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim not specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the AsH3 or PH3 injector outlets”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was meant to reference “the plurality of AsH3 or PH3 outlets” and has examined accordingly.
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2002/0155713 to Tsvetkov et al in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0204533 to Schunemann et al.
Regarding claim 1: Tsvetkov et al. disclose a reactor (Fig. 2, 200) capable of deposition of at least one layer of a semiconductor device using hydride vapor phase epitaxy (HVPE) substantially as claimed, wherein the reactor is capable of producing the at least one layer of the semiconductor device at a rate of greater than 300 µm/h at a pressure of about 1 atm. See, e.g., paras. 11 and 29.
The reactor may further comprise an injector inlet (portion of 223 and 224 connected to a gas source) capable of injecting AsH3 or PH3, a plurality of outlets (portions of 223 and 224 outletting to substrate) capable of outletting AsH3 or PH3; and source boats (227, 229, 231, 233, 235)). Additionally, Tsvetkov et al. teach that various materials may be used depending on the layers and structures that are to be fabricated (see, e.g., para. 30, 33 and 43).
However, Tsvetkov et al. fails to explicitly disclose that the plurality of AsH3 or PH3 outlets positioned radially around a growth substrate.
Schunemann et al. disclose providing arsine gas provided from a source (labeled AsH3) and through an injector inlet (portion of 24 connected to source) and a plurality of outlets positioned radially around a growth substrate (portion of 24 for outletting to substrate) provided in proximity to a deposition substrate in an HVPE method and apparatus for the purpose of, inter alia, producing a GaAs crystal with increased carrier lifetime (see, e.g., Figs. 5A-B, abstract, paras. 38-39, 42). In Fig. 5A, at least the outermost outlets of plurality of outlets are positioned radially around the growth substrate thereby meeting the claim limitation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided an injector inlet and a plurality of outlets positioned radially around the growth substrate of Tsvetkov et al. in order, inter alia, produce a GaAs crystal with increased carrier lifetime as taught by Schunemann et al.
Examiner notes that the claimed apparatus is capable of the plurality of recitations drawn to an intended use of the apparatus tied to various processing parameters (e.g., processing material identity, processing temperatures and resulting product) associated with a desired method that may be performed in the reactor. Additionally, Examiner notes the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969); and the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
With respect to claim 5, the reactor of Tsvetkov et al. may further comprise a high temperature region (left side of chamber) and a low temperature region wherein the high temperature region contains the source boats and wherein the low temperature region contains the outlet capable of outletting a group V hydride material (see, e.g., paras. 29 and 34).
Additionally, with respect to the recitations drawn to intended use of the reactor in claims 5-6 and 8-14, similar to claim 1, Examiner notes the courts have ruled claims directed to apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Danly, 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969); and the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 8-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record, as presently applied, for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner maintains that “a AsH3 or PH3 inlet” should be labeled in the drawings with respect to the embodiment under examination. Examiner notes the fact that Applicant themselves has pointed to a feature that is clearly not a feature of the elected embodiment (Fig. 2) represented by the present claims provides further evidence that the feature should be labeled for clarity.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 5,254,210 discloses an HVPE system and reactor that includes a source of AsH3 or PH3. Also see above suggestions for expediting examination with respect to claiming an apparatus for performing a specific method.
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716