DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a AsH3 or PH3 injector inlet” must be shown (labeled) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) with respect to Fig. 2, the elected embodiment. Also, “the plurality of AsH3 or PH3 injector outlets positioned radially in a circle” must be shown (labeled) or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) with respect to Fig. 2, the elected embodiment. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Examiner is unable to locate support for claim limitations “an AsH3 or PH3 injector inlet” and “the plurality of AsH3 or PH3 injector outlets positioned radially in a circle”. In order to expedite examination, the claims have been examined as written. Note: Examination as written is not a suggestion that support exists. Applicant should consider their overall disclosure and claims as presented and proceed accordingly.
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claims 1, 5-6 and 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim not specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the AsH3 or PH3 injector outlets”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was meant to reference “the plurality of AsH3 or PH3 outlets” to correspond with the feature as originally introduced and has examined accordingly. Note: Any assumption made by the Examiner is not a suggestion to amend in any particular way. Applicant should consider their overall disclosure and claims as presented and proceed accordingly.
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 8-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2002/0155713 to Tsvetkov et al in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0204533 to Schunemann et al. and U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2013/0098293 to Lee et al.
Regarding claim 1: Tsvetkov et al. disclose a reactor (Fig. 2, 200) capable of deposition of at least one layer of a semiconductor device using hydride vapor phase epitaxy (HVPE) substantially as claimed, wherein the reactor is capable of producing the at least one layer of the semiconductor device at a rate of greater than 300 µm/h at a pressure of about 1 atm. See, e.g., paras. 11 and 29.
The reactor may further comprise an injector inlet (portion of 223 and 224 connected to a gas source) capable of injecting AsH3 or PH3, a plurality of outlets (portions of 223 and 224 outletting to substrate) capable of outletting AsH3 or PH3; and source boats (227, 229, 231, 233, 235)). Additionally, Tsvetkov et al. teach that various materials may be used depending on the layers and structures that are to be fabricated (see, e.g., para. 30, 33 and 43).
However, Tsvetkov et al. fails to explicitly disclose that the plurality of AsH3 or PH3 outlets positioned radially around a growth substrate.
Schunemann et al. disclose providing arsine gas provided from a source (labeled AsH3) and through an injector inlet (portion of 24 connected to source) and a plurality of outlets positioned radially around a growth substrate (portion of 24 for outletting to substrate) provided in proximity to a deposition substrate in an HVPE method and apparatus for the purpose of, inter alia, producing a GaAs crystal with increased carrier lifetime (see, e.g., Figs. 5A-B, abstract, paras. 38-39, 42). In Fig. 5A, at least the outermost outlets of plurality of outlets are positioned radially around the growth substrate thereby meeting the claim limitation.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided an injector inlet and a plurality of outlets positioned radially around the growth substrate of Tsvetkov et al. in order, inter alia, produce a GaAs crystal with increased carrier lifetime as taught by Schunemann et al.
Examiner notes that the claimed apparatus is capable of the plurality of recitations drawn to an intended use of the apparatus tied to various processing parameters (e.g., processing material identity, processing temperatures and resulting product) associated with a desired method that may be performed in the reactor. Additionally, Examiner notes the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969); and the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Regarding, the plurality of AsH3 or PH3 outlets positioned radially in a circle, Lee et al. disclose providing a plurality of outlets (Fig. 1-7, 330) positioned radially in a circle around a growth substrate for the purpose of providing and configuring the plurality of outlets to uniformly supply reaction gas (see, e.g., abstract and paras. 36 and 40).
Thus, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided the plurality of outlets positioned radially in a circle in modified Tsvetkov et al. in order to provide and configure the plurality of outlets to uniformly supply reaction gas as taught by Lee et al.
With respect to claim 5, in modified Tsvetkov et al., the reactor of Tsvetkov et al. may further comprise a high temperature region (left side of chamber) and a low temperature region wherein the high temperature region contains the source boats and wherein the low temperature region contains the outlet capable of outletting a group V hydride material (see, e.g., paras. 29 and 34).
Additionally, with respect to the recitations drawn to intended use of the reactor in claims 5-6 and 8-14, similar to claim 1, Examiner notes the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969); and the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to prior art rejections of claim(s) 1, 5-6 and 8-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record, as presently applied, for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the previously set forth drawing objections, Examiner notes that in general the propriety of the restriction requirement set forth on 12 December 2022, where Applicant elected without traverse on 13 February 2023, is not up for argument at this time, because Applicant elected without traverse and the election was made final on 29 March 2023. Applicant should consult the MPEP for guidance on how to properly traverse a previously election made without traverse, if possible, if they so choose.
However, in as much as the requirement for restriction/election relates to the elected species and the claims currently under examination, as argued by Applicant, Examiner does address the issues presented by Applicant in their most recent response filed 9 June 2026 below.
Whereas Applicant has stated that “restrictions must be made on the basis of distinct claimed inventions not figures”, Examiner disagrees and notes that although in most instances an election will not be made unless multiple species are actually claimed, the basis for requirement for election between species is not made on the claims. Species elections are based on the disclosure including the specification and the drawings, and the mutually exclusive features set forth therein, which the claims are meant to represent as the claimed invention. Additionally, Examiner notes that it is not improper to use illustrations to help describe separate species/inventions. In the instant case, the restriction was made based on different inventions, species, that have mutually exclusive characteristics. The drawings were used as evidence of these mutually exclusive characteristics.
In the instant application, no clear nexus was provided for the structural configuration of the disclosed Group V hydride injector inlet of Fig. 1 and the AsH3 or PH3 inlet of claim 1 as related to the elected embodiment represented by Fig. 2. Note element “201” points to both sides of the outlets they represent as per the original specification and no mention is made of the inlet in the specification with respect to the figure. While one could imagine configurations for the claim language (which is why the claims are capable of being examined as written), patent examination is based what is set forth in the original disclosure.
Presently, Applicant’s claimed invention, as amended throughout examination (often to distinguish over prior art), appears to extend beyond what was explicitly or implicitly disclosed at the time the application was originally filed. Beyond removing the features at issue and focusing on other features of the disclosed invention with sufficient disclosure, Examiner does not have any specific recommendations for overcoming the drawing rejections and rejections under 35 USC 112a, especially since, the features at issue are known in the art, such that there are also rejections under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 5,254,210 discloses an HVPE system and reactor that includes a source of AsH3 or PH3. USP Pub 20200035852 discloses a gas introduction means encircling a substrate(s).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716