DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
(Submitted 7/2/2026)
The examiner notes that the independent claims 1, 10 and 16 are amended. No other claims are amended and claims 2, 7-8, 11, 14-15, 17 and 20 are CANCELED.
In regard to 13 rejection
- The applicant on Page 8, argues that the references do not teach the amended limitation “ changing the tile size to dynamically adjust the compression ratio” with the support from spec [0066] and states that the reference” Jiang” discloses the limitation in section 1 of Page 377 and section 2.3 on Page 378 but has no suggestion of a “change of tile size”
Examiner’s Response:
The examiner respectfully “disagree” with the arguments. First of all, the examiner unable to understand the difference between the earlier phrase” wherein a compression ratio is dynamically adjusted and optimized by changing a tile size” in the last Office Action and the amended phrase “ changing the tile size to dynamically adjust the compression ratio”. The interpretation of both sentences are the same. Perhaps, the examiner sees that the applicant is trying to change as focus change shifting from “compression ratio” to “tile size” . This does not change the interpretation perhaps known to the POSITA. Any “adaptive tiling” as taught by “Jiang” does represent the change of the tile size and perhaps that any POSITA can agree with the examiner. The examiner further notice that spec [0066] implies that the compression ratio increases as the sparsity increases. The examiner could have kept the same mapping from the reference “Jiang”. However, to add more clarity to the “mapping”, the examiner has added some additional phrases from the reference “Jiang reference” . No additional references are used and as a result this Office Action has not attached the form 892 (references).
In CONCLUSION, the examiner rejects independent claims 1, 10 and 16 and all dependent claims 3-6, 9, 12-13, and 18-19 as FINAL REJECTION under 103 without the need for new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-10, 12-13, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sudheendra Vijayanarasimhan et.al(hereinafter Vijay) US 2016/0180200 A1,
in view of Peng Jiang et.al(hereinafter Jiang) A novel data transformation and execution strategy for accelerating sparse matrix multiplication on GPUs, Proceedings of the 25th ACM SIGPLAN symposium on principles and practice of parallel programming, Published Feb 19, 2020,
In regard to claim 1: (Currently Amended)
Vijay discloses:
- An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; a memory to store data for processing, including plurality of layers, each layer including a plurality of neurons, and
[0070]:
Computers suitable for the execution of a computer program include, by way of example, can be based on general or special purpose microprocessors or both, or any other kind of central processing unit. Generally, a central processing unit will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory or a random access memory or both. The essential elements of a computer are a central processing unit for performing or executing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data,
[0006]:
In general, one innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this specification can be embodied in methods for processing an input through each of multiple layers of a neural network to generate an output, wherein each of the multiple layers of the neural network includes respective multiple nodes include the actions of for a particular layer of the multiple layers,
[0004]:
For instance, the matrix multiplication is a combination of an activation vector, e.g., input for the particular layer, and a weight matrix, e.g., the weights for some of the nodes in the particular layer. The neural network uses a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique to approximate a result of the matrix multiplication to allow the neural network to generate scores for a large number, e.g., millions, of output classes,
[0008]:
Selecting the nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and the hash table may include selecting the one or more nodes in the particular layer by using the integers as input to the hash table. The integers may include a first subset and a second, mutually exclusive subset.
- the one or more processors to perform sparification of at least two of the plurality of the layers of the DNN, including selecting a subset of the plurality of neurons of a first layer of the DNN for activation based at least in part on locality sensitive hashing of inputs to the first layer, the sparsification of one or more layers including:
[0025]:
The classification system 100 uses an input activation vector x to determine one or more hash codes. The classification system 100 uses the hash codes to determine a set of nodes y.sub.k in the particular layer y that are closest to the activation vector in the hash space and computes the matrix product for x and the set of nodes y.sub.k to determine the output for the particular layer y. The classification system 100 may set the output values for all other nodes in the particular layer y, other than the nodes in the set of nodes y.sub.k, to zero.
[0041]:
In some implementations, during training and run-time, the classification system 100 divides the activation vector x that contains n elements into M portions that each contain n/M elements. The classification system 100, during training, creates a hash table 104 for each portion, {T.sub.m: m=1 . . . M}. For instance, the classification system 100 determines the hash code for each portion x.sub.m of the activation vector x, using the method described above or another appropriate method, and uses the resulting hash code as an index to the corresponding hash table T.sub.m,
[0042] :
During run-time, the classification system 100 similarly determines the hash code for each portion x.sub.m of a corresponding activation vector x and uses the portions x.sub.m as indices to the corresponding hash tables T.sub.m to determine a set of all identifiers of the nodes for which to perform matrix multiplication. In some examples, each hash table T.sub.m has only one entry for each index and the classification system 100 determines the set of all identifiers of the nodes using the corresponding hash codes, e.g., to determine at most M nodes. In some examples, the hash table or hash tables 104 include only one entry for each of the nodes in the particular layer y,
(BRI: the M portions represent hashing of patterns)
[0004]:
The neural network uses a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique to approximate a result of the matrix multiplication to allow the neural network to generate scores for a large number, e.g., millions, of output classes,
[0023]:
FIG. 1 is an example of a classification system 100 that uses a hash table to determine for which nodes in a particular layer y to perform matrix multiplication using an activation vector x.
in [0018]:
For instance, the classification system uses the hash codes as input to the hash table to determine the nodes and then determines the corresponding weight vectors W.sup.(K) for those nodes”
(BRI: the contribution of determined nodes to perform the matrix operation provide patterns in the matrix)
[0023]:
The matrix multiplication may be a product of the activation vector x from a previous layer in the neural network or an initial input for the neural network, e.g., when the particular layer is an input layer in the neural network, and the weights W. The classification system 100 may use a hashing technique, e.g., a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique, to approximate the actual matrix multiplication to determine the output for the particular layer.
[0018]:
a neural network uses a winner takes all (WTA) hash method to reduce the computation time for the matrix multiplication,
[0018]:
a classification system stores a weight matrix W of a particular neural network layer y in a hash table using the WTA function.
In [0018]:
the classification system computes hash codes using the activations from the previous layer x, e.g., the output values from the previous layer, and uses the hash codes to determine which nodes in the current layer y are most likely to be triggered based on the activations. For instance, the classification system uses the hash codes as input to the hash table to determine the nodes and then determines the corresponding weight vectors W.sup.(K) for those nodes
(BRI: the storage of weight matrix in a hash table using WTA is a “hash bucket”)
[0006]:
an activation vector as input for the particular layer, selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and a hash table that maps numeric values to nodes in the particular layer, and processing the activation vector using the selected nodes to generate an output for the particular layer
[0007]:
The method may include creating a modified activation vector by setting the values in the activation vector that correspond to the nodes that were not selected to zero,
[0023]:
the matrix multiplication may be a product of the activation vector x from a previous layer in the neural network or an initial input for the neural network, e.g., when the particular layer is an input layer in the neural network, and the weights W. The classification system 100 may use a hashing technique, e.g., a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique, to approximate the actual matrix multiplication to determine the output for the particular layer y.
[0027]:
For instance, when the particular layer y is an output layer, the classification system 100 only needs output for the top K classes of the output layer and can determine the top K vectors W.sup.(K), from a weight matrix W, that have the largest dot products with the activation vector x. The classification system 100 computes the probabilities for only these K classes, and sets the probabilities of all other classes to zero.
(BRI: Setting node to zero and setting probability to zero can deactivate the node)
- applying one or more locality sensitive hashing algorithms to the plurality of inputs to the first layer,
[0023]:
The classification system 100 may use a hashing technique, e.g., a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique, to approximate the actual matrix multiplication to determine the output for the particular layer y,
[0006]:
methods for processing an input through each of multiple layers of a neural network to generate an output, wherein each of the multiple layers of the neural network includes respective multiple nodes include the actions of for a particular layer of the multiple layers,
[0006]:
an activation vector as input for the particular layer, selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and a hash table that maps numeric values to nodes in the particular layer,
- where in the plurality of inputs to the first layer comes from the sparsification of a prior layer of the plurality of layers of the DNN
[0052]:
At 210, the classification system processes the activation vector using the selected nodes to generate an output for the particular layer. For example, the classification system performs matrix multiplication using the activation vector x and the determined weight vectors and then applies a function to the result of the matrix multiplication to generate an output for each selected node and sets all other output values for the particular layer y to zero.
[0025]:
The classification system 100 uses an input activation vector x to determine one or more hash codes. The classification system 100 uses the hash codes to determine a set of nodes y.sub.k in the particular layer y that are closest to the activation vector in the hash space and computes the matrix product for x and the set of nodes y.sub.k to determine the output for the particular layer y. The classification system 100 may set the output values for all other nodes in the particular layer y, other than the nodes in the set of nodes y.sub.k, to zero.
- wherein the one or more previous sets of inputs relate to a first subset of the plurality of neurons,
[0018] :
a neural network uses a winner takes all (WTA) hash method to reduce the computation time for the matrix multiplication. For instance, a classification system stores a weight matrix W of a particular neural network layer y in a hash table using the WTA function.
[0018] :
the classification system computes hash codes using the activations from the previous layer x, e.g., the output values from the previous layer, and uses the hash codes to determine which nodes in the current layer y are most likely to be triggered based on the activations.
(BRI: the activations from previous layer to determine which nodes in the current layers are most likely to be activated provide a relationship)
[0032]:
The classification system uses the updated weight vectors to compute updated hash codes for the top K nodes and moves the identifiers for the top K nodes, or a subset of these nodes, to the locations in the hash table 104 pointed to by the updated hash
[0043]:
In some implementations, the classification system 100 may retrieve a corresponding count for each node from the hash table 104. For instance, each count may provide a lower bound for the dot product between the activation vector x and the weight vector for the node. The count may represent the ordinal similarity between the two vectors. The classification system 100 may select the K nodes with the greatest ordinal similarity between the two vectors
- and selecting the first subset of neurons as the subset of neurons for activation based at least in part on the relation of the first subset of neurons to the one or more previous sets of inputs,
[0006]:
receiving, by a classification system, an activation vector as input for the particular layer, selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and a hash table that maps numeric values to nodes in the particular layer, and processing the activation vector using the selected nodes to generate an output for the particular layer,
[0008]:
Selecting the nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and the hash table may include selecting the one or more nodes in the particular layer by using the integers as input to the hash table. The integers may include a first subset and a second, mutually exclusive subset,
[0032]:
The classification system uses the updated weight vectors to compute updated hash codes for the top K nodes and moves the identifiers for the top K nodes, or a subset of these nodes, to the locations in the hash table 104 pointed to by the updated hash codes.
[0017]:
For instance, a neural network may use matrix multiplication W*x during a classification process, where x is the input from a layer and W refers to the weights of the connections to the next layer's outputs.
Vijay does not explicitly disclose:
- detecting similarity between a received set of inputs of the plurality of inputs and one or more previous sets of inputs based on results of the application of the one or more locality sensitive hashing algorithms
- mapping the received set of inputs to the first layer to one of a plurality of hash table buckets based on the detected similarity between the received set of inputs and the one or more previous sets of inputs of the first layer
- wherein the one or more processors are further to perform compression of a weight or activation matrix of one or more layers of the DNN, including detection of sparsity patterns in a weight or activation matrix of the first layer of the DNN based at least in part on locality sensitive hashing of patterns in the matrix;
- wherein compression of the matrix of the first layer includes:
grouping connections of the first layer of the DNN into hash buckets;
- and combining values of the grouped connections of each hash bucket to generate a group value for the grouped connections;
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: establishing a hash bucket for each of a plurality of sparsity patterns for the matrix;
- decomposing the matrix into a plurality of tiles;
- [and]] applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map each of the plurality of tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns found in the tiles:
- changing a tile size to dynamically adjust and optimize a compression ratio
However, Jiang discloses:
- detecting similarity between a received set of inputs of the plurality of inputs and one or more previous sets of inputs based on results of the application of the one or more locality sensitive hashing algorithms
[Abstract, Page 376]:
SpMM (multiplication of a sparse matrix and a dense matrix) and SDDMM(sampled dense-dense matrix multiplication) are at the core of many scientific, machine learning, and data mining applications.
[6, Page 386]:
Several efforts have sought to improve the performance of sparse matrix multiplication by reordering the input data and defining new representations for sparse matrices.
[Abstract, Page 376]:
We focus on performing the row-reordering efficiently, by using a hierarchical clustering procedure optimized by locality-sensitive hashing.
[6, Page 386]:
Several efforts have sought to improve the performance of sparse matrix multiplication by reordering the input data and defining new representations for sparse matrices
[3.2, Page 380]: Row-Reordering by Clustering
We have shown that reordering the rows of the sparse matrix can improve data locality for SpMM and SDDMM.
As shown in Fig2a, arow of the output matrix Y is the weighted sum of certain rows of the dense input matrix X, which are selected based on the non-zeros in the sparse matrix S.
[Abstract, Page 377]:
the effectiveness of the adaptive-tiling approach depends on the sparsity structure of the input data. If a sparse matrix already has good data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling is an efficient implementation to exploit the data locality. However, if a sparse matrix has poor data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling cannot improve the data locality.
[3.2, Page 380]:
We achieve this by using a hierarchical clustering procedure. Each row of the sparse matrix can be considered as a set of column indices. Two rows are similar if they have many non-zeros in identical columns. A natural definition of the similarity between two rows would be the Jaccard similarity between the two sets representing the two rows:
For example, row 0 of the sparse matrix in Fig 1a has nonzeros in column 0 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,4}), while row 4 has nonzeros in column 0, 3 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,3,4}).
The similarity between row 0 and 4 is |
S
0
∩
S
4
|/|
S
0
∪
S
4
| = 2/3. Intuitively, two rows with a large similarity should be put close to each other to allow more data reuse among the rows of the dense matrix. Initially, we consider each row as a cluster by itself. Then, in each iteration, we select the two clusters that have the largest similarity and group them into one. The similarity between the two clusters is the similarity between the representing rows of the two clusters. The representing row of a cluster can be defined in the following way: if a cluster has only one row, then it is the representing row; if two clusters are grouped together, then the representing row of the resulting cluster is the representing row of the larger cluster between the two; if the clusters are of the same size, we choose the row with the smaller index as the representing row of the resulting cluster.
[3.2, Page 380]:
Because any two rows in the cluster have a large similarity, which means they have many columns in common, there will be good data reuse for the dense input matrix X in SpMM and SDDMM. The procedure ends when there is no cluster left. Although the clustering procedure,
[2.2, Page 378]:
In SDDMM, two dense matrices X and Y are multiplied and the result matrix is then scaled by an input sparse matrix S (Hadamard product). As shown in Fig 2b, an element in the output matrix (O[i][j]) is nonzero only if the corresponding element in the input sparse matrix (S[i][j]) is nonzero,
- mapping the received set of inputs to the first layer to one of a plurality of hash table buckets based on the detected similarity between the received set of inputs and the one or more previous sets of inputs of the first layer,
[3.2, Page 380]:
The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering. Because the pairs of nodes within buckets are much fewer than the pairs of all nodes, LSH reduces the memory consumption and computation complexity of the clustering procedure. The performance of LSH is controlled by two parameters: siglen (the length of the signature) and bsize (the size of the band). The larger the siglen, the more accurate the hashing. The smaller the bsize, the more likely two nodes will be hashed into the same bucket. The total time complexity is siglen × nnz + siglen/bsize ×N +
d
m
a
x
× E where nnz is the number of nonzeros in the sparse matrix, N is the number of rows,
d
m
a
x
is the number of nonzeros in the longest row, and E is the number of candidate pairs generated
[3.2, Page 381]:
Alg 3 shows our clustering-based row-reordering procedure. First, we use LSH to get a list of candidate pairs of rows that are likely to have large values of similarity score. These candidate pairs are put in a priority queue (sim_queue) to enable a fast querying of the pair with the largest similarity
[3.2, Page 381]:
(BRI: LSH that provides candidate pair of rows that are in similarity queues does represent received set of inputs and the previous set of inputs of the first layer by hashing the input items and grouping the items to the same bucket)
- wherein the one or more processors are further to perform compression of a weight or activation matrix of one or more layers of the DNN, including detection of sparsity patterns in a weight or activation matrix of the first layer of the DNN based at least in part on locality sensitive hashing of patterns in the matrix;
[2.1, Page 377]: Compressed Sparse Row Representation
The compressed sparse row (CSR) representation is one of the most widely used data structures for storing sparse matrices.
[2.1, Page 377]:
As shown in Fig 1, CSR format contains three arrays: rowptr, colidx and value. The value of rowptr [i] is the index of the first element of row i in array colidx and value. The array colidx stores the column indices of the nonzeros in the sparse matrix row by row. The corresponding values of these nonzeros are stored in the array value. For example, in Fig 1b, the second element of rowptr is 2, which indicates that the column index and the value of the first nonzero in the second row of the sparse matrix is in colidx[2] and value[2].
(BRI: Perhaps as known to the POSITA, the CSR is a representation of the weight matrix of a layer in a NN that stores and manipulate sparse matrix)
- wherein compression of the matrix of the first layer includes:
grouping connections of the first layer of the DNN into hash buckets;
[1, Page 377]:
The goal of this work is to achieve consistently higher performance for SpMM and SDDMM.
[1, Page 377]:
We propose to use a row-reordering procedure to group similar rows together. More specifically, we first reorder the rows of the sparse matrix such that rows with non-zeroes at similar locations are put in the same row panel. This brings more non-zeros to the dense tiles and increases data reuse in the shared memory.
[3.2, Page 380 ]:
The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381 ]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering
[5.4 , Page 386]:
The ratios of the preprocessing time to the actual computation time for the 416 matrices that need row-reordering are summarized in Tables 3 and 4 for SpMM and SDDMM, respectively. We can see that, when K = 512, more than 85% of the matrices have preprocessing time that is less than 10x of the actual computation time of SpMM, and more than 90% matrices have preprocessing time that is less than 10x of the actual computation time of SDDMM.
[6, Page 386]:
Compressed Sparse Blocks (CSB) [3] is another sparse matrix storage format that exploits register blocking. The sparse matrix is partitioned and stored as small rectangular blocks. SpMM implementation with CSB data representation has been demonstrated to achieve high performance when both SpMM and transposed SpMM
(BRI: smaller rectangular blocks of sparse metric represents tiling)
- and combining values of the grouped connections of each hash bucket to generate a group value for the grouped connections;
[3.2, Page 380]:
We achieve this by using a hierarchical clustering procedure. Each row of the sparse matrix can be considered as a set of column indices. Two rows are similar if they have many non-zeros in identical columns. A natural definition of the similarity between two rows would be the Jaccard similarity between the two sets representing the two rows:
For example, row 0 of the sparse matrix in Fig 1a has nonzeros in column 0 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,4}), while row 4 has nonzeros in column 0, 3 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,3,4}).
[3.2, Page 380]:
Intuitively, two rows with a large similarity should be put close to each other to allow more data reuse among the rows of the dense matrix. Initially, we consider each row as a cluster by itself. Then, in each iteration, we select the two clusters that have the largest similarity and group them into one. The similarity between the two clusters is the similarity between the representing rows of the two clusters. The representing row of a cluster can be defined in the following way: if a cluster has only one row, then it is the representing row; if two clusters are grouped together, then the representing row of the resulting cluster is the representing row of the larger cluster between the two; if the clusters are of the same size, we choose the row with the smaller index as the representing row of the resulting cluster. Whenever the size of a cluster reaches a threshold, we output the rows in it and remove the cluster. Because any two rows in the cluster have a large similarity, which means they have many columns in common, there will be good data reuse for the dense input matrix X in SpMM and SDDMM. The procedure ends when there is no cluster left. Although the clustering
(BRI: the similarity measure is the combined value of each bucket)
[3.2, Page 380 ]:
The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
In [3.2, Page 381 ]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: establishing a hash bucket for each of a plurality of sparsity patterns for the matrix;
[2.1, Page 377]:
The compressed sparse row (CSR) representation is one of the most widely used data structures for storing sparse matrices
[2.1, Page 377]:
As shown in Fig 1, CSR format contains three arrays: rowptr, colidx and value. The value of rowptr[i] is the index of the first element of row i in array colidx and value
(BRI: Fig 1 represents a sparsity pattern matrix)
[3.2, Page 381 ]:
The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering. Because the pairs of nodes within buckets are much fewer than the pairs of all nodes, LSH reduces the memory consumption and computation complexity of the clustering procedure.
- decomposing the matrix into a plurality of tiles;
[3.1, Page 380]:
Consider again the sparse matrix in Fig 1a. Row 0 has two identical columns (i.e. location of non-zeroes) with row 4, while row 1 has one identical column with row 5.
[1, Page 377]:
[3.1, Page 380]:
If we exchange row 1 and row 4, we can get a reordered matrix as shown in Fig 4a. Applying ASpT to the reordered matrix will give us a tiled matrix as shown in Fig 4b. We can see that the number of nonzeros in the dense tiles increases to 9. This means that more data movement from the global memory can be saved during the execution.
- [[and]] applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map each of the plurality of tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns found in the tiles:
[Abstract, Page 376]:
We focus on performing the row-reordering efficiently, by using a hierarchical clustering procedure optimized by locality-sensitive hashing.
[1, Page 377]:
To reduce the clustering overhead, we use a locality sensitive hashing procedure to first generate candidate pairs that may have similarities larger than a threshold [28], and we only consider the clustering of the candidate pairs, which are far fewer than all possible combinations of the rows,
[3.2, Page 380]:
The clustering procedure will need to compute and store 1M × 1M = 1T similarity values, which will require a large number of computing cycles and easily exceeds the memory capacity of a common computer. Therefore, we use locality sensitive hashing (LSH) to reduce the clustering overhead [28]. The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering. Because the pairs of nodes within buckets are much fewer than the pairs of all nodes, LSH reduces the memory consumption and computation complexity of the clustering procedure.
[1, Page 377]:
the effectiveness of the adaptive-tiling approach depends on the sparsity structure of the input data. If a sparse matrix already has good data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling is an efficient implementation to exploit the data locality
[BRI: a sparsity structure is a sparsity pattern]
[1, Page 377]:
We propose to use a row-reordering procedure to group similar rows together. More specifically, we first reorder the rows of the sparse matrix such that rows with non-zeroes at similar locations are put in the same row panel. This brings more non-zeros to the dense tiles and increases data reuse in the shared memory. Next, we reorder the rows of the remaining sparse tiles in a similar way. This allows rows with similar non-zeroes to be processed simultaneously and improves temporal locality in the cache when computing with the sparse tiles.
[BRI: a sparse tile represents tiles with sparse patterns]
[3.1, Page 380]:
If we exchange row 1 and row 4, we can get a reordered matrix as shown in Fig 4a. Applying ASpT to the reordered matrix will give us a tiled matrix as shown in Fig 4b. We can see that the number of nonzeros in the dense tiles increases to 9. This means that more data movement from the global memory can be saved during the execution.
- changing a tile size to dynamically adjust and optimize a compression ratio
[6, Page 386]:
Compressed Sparse Blocks (CSB) [3] is another sparse matrix storage format that exploits register blocking. The sparse matrix is partitioned and stored as small rectangular blocks.
[1, Page 377]:
the effectiveness of the adaptive-tiling approach depends on the sparsity structure of the input data. If a sparse matrix already has good data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling is an efficient implementation to exploit the data locality. However, if a sparse matrix has poor data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling cannot improve the data locality. We find the poor data locality issue is quite common for real-world data. For 351 of the 1084 matrices from the SuiteSparse collection and the Network Repository [34], the adaptive-tiling method has less than 1% of the nonzeros in the dense tiles
[2.3 , Page 378]: Adaptive Sparse Tiling
As shown in Alg 1 and Alg 2, both SpMM and SDDMM in volve traversing the nonzeros of the sparse matrix S and accessing the data of the input dense matrices.
[2.3 , Page 379]: Adaptive Sparse Tiling
[BRI: adaptive tiling generally involves changing tile size (and sometimes shape, overlap, or grouping) in response to conditions such as hardware limits, data characteristics, or performance goals. While adaptive sparse tiling does not directly “change the compression ratio” as a primary goal, it can enable or improve. However, within the CSB context, adaptive sparse tiling can be interpreted as dynamically adjusting the tile size to optimize the block-based representation (small rectangular blocks) for performance, which can be viewed as tuning the effective “compression ratio” of the sparse matrix storage format
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vijay, and Jiang.
Vijay teaches hashing function.
Jiang teaches compression of weight matrix and grouping into hash buckets and applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns and tiling.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vijay, and Jiang can provide reduced memory consumption and computation complexity of the cluster procedure with LSH buckets (Jiang [3.2, Page 381]).
In regard to claim 3: (Previously Presented)
Vijay discloses:
wherein sparsification of the at least two of the plurality of layers of the DNN further includes:
- selecting the first subset of neurons based at least in part on the which neurons of the first layer have highest activation values.
[0027] :
When the number of nodes in a particular layer y of the neural network 102 is large, the classification system 100 only needs output from the K nodes with the highest probabilities of activating based on the activation vector x. For instance, when the particular layer y is an output layer, the classification system 100 only needs output for the top K classes of the output layer and can determine the top K vectors W.sup.(K), from a weight matrix W,
[0032]:
the classification system uses the updated weight vectors to compute updated hash codes for the top K nodes and moves the identifiers for the top K nodes, or a subset of these nodes, to the locations in the hash table 104 pointed to by the updated hash codes.
In regard to claim 4: (Previously Presented)
Vijay discloses:
- utilizing locality sensitive hashing includes applying one or more locality sensitive hash functions and mapping to one or more hash tables for the first layer.
[0046]:
the neural network 102 may include multiple layers for which approximate computation of matrix products is performed.
[0033]:
For instance, when the neural network 102 receives an image of a car as input, the neural network 102 may identify the top K nodes for the input image in the output layer y as nodes that represent a truck (y.sub.0) or a tree (y.sub.3).
[0033]:
The classification system 100 uses the updated weight vectors to determine new hash codes for these nodes and places identifiers for these nodes in the hash table 104 at the location pointed to by the new hash codes.
In regard to claim 5: (Previously Presented)
Vijay discloses:
- sparsification of the at least two of the layers of the DNN
[0025] :
The classification system 100 uses an input activation vector x to determine one or more hash codes. The classification system 100 uses the hash codes to determine a set of nodes y.sub.k in the particular layer y that are closest to the activation vector in the hash space and computes the matrix product for x and the set of nodes y.sub.k to determine the output for the particular layer y. The classification system 100 may set the output values for all other nodes in the particular layer y, other than the nodes in the set of nodes y.sub.k, to zero.
(BRI: setting all but certain outputs to zero is a sparsification technique)
- further includes activating the selected first subset of the neurons of the first layer
[0009] :
Accordingly, FIGS. 1-3 illustrate techniques for improving system performance leveraging heterogeneous system architectures. In some embodiments, a heterogeneous processing system, including at least one central processing unit (CPU) core and at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) core, is configured to compute an activation for each one of a plurality of neurons for a first network layer of a neural network.
[0009]:
he coalesced neural network, as represented by the set of coalesced activation sub-matrices, improves compute efficiency of heterogeneous CPU-GPU architecture by coalescing the activations from each neural network layer into contiguous space which allows for more efficient execution of operations at the processing system.
- and deactivating all other neurons of the first layer.
[0016]:
The processor 102 further includes a dropout module 140 for performing dropout operations. As described in further detail below, the dropout module 140 is configured to randomly drop a first subset of the plurality of neurons for a first neural network layer and keep a second subset of the plurality of neurons for the first neural network layer. The dropout module 140 instructs one of the CPU cores 106, 108, 110 to coalesce forwarded activation to generate a set of coalesced activation sub-matrices that are contiguous in a memory of the processing system, thereby leveraging the CPU cores 106, 108, 110 for re-organizing a dropped neural network to use GPU architecture more effectively when training a neural network.
In regard to claim 6: (Previously Presented)
Vijay discloses:
- the selected first subset of neurons includes a certain percentage of a total number of neurons of the first layer
[0018]:
For instance, the classification system uses the hash codes as input to the hash table to determine the nodes and then determines the corresponding weight vectors W.sup.(K) for those nodes,
[0019]:
The classification system retrieves the top K of those weight vectors, e.g., from the hash table or another location in memory, with K being much smaller than the number of nodes in the particular neural network layer y.
In regard to claim 9: (Previously Presented)
Vijay does not explicitly disclose:
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: compressing the matrix including storing an identification for each of the sparsity patterns mapped by the plurality of tiles.
However, Jiang discloses:
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: compressing the matrix including storing an identification for each of the sparsity patterns mapped by the plurality of tiles.
[1, Page 377]:
The compressed sparse row (CSR) representation is one of the most widely used data structures for storing sparse matrices.
In [2.1, Page 377]:
As shown in Fig 1, CSR format contains three arrays: rowptr, colidx and value. The value of rowptr [i] is the index of the first element of row i in array colidx and value. The array colidx stores the column indices of the nonzeros in the sparse matrix row by row.
(BRI: the CSR does store the indices of the sparsity value)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vijay, and Jiang.
Vijay teaches hashing function.
Jiang teaches compression of weight matrix and grouping into hash buckets and applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns and tiling.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vijay, and Jiang can provide reduced memory consumption and computation complexity of the cluster procedure with LSH buckets (Jiang [3.2, Page 381]).
In regard to claim 10 : (Currently Amended)
Vijay discloses:
- One or more non-transitory computer-readable storage mediums having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
[0065])
- receiving data for a deep neural network (DNN), the DNN including a plurality of layers, each layer including a plurality of neurons;
[0006]:
receiving, by a classification system, an activation vector as input for the particular layer, selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer
- and processing the DNN, including performing sparsification of at least two of the plurality of layers of the DNN, including selecting a subset of the plurality of neurons of a first layer of the DNN for activation based at least in part on locality sensitive hashing of inputs to the first layer, the sparsification of the at least two of the plurality of layers including
[0025]:
The classification system 100 uses an input activation vector x to determine one or more hash codes. The classification system 100 uses the hash codes to determine a set of nodes y.sub.k in the particular layer y that are closest to the activation vector in the hash space and computes the matrix product for x and the set of nodes y.sub.k to determine the output for the particular layer y. The classification system 100 may set the output values for all other nodes in the particular layer y, other than the nodes in the set of nodes y.sub.k, to zero.
(BRI: This is a form of “sparsity” known as “activation sparsity” which is common in ML and offers many key benefits)
[0041]:
In some implementations, during training and run-time, the classification system 100 divides the activation vector x that contains n elements into M portions that each contain n/M elements. The classification system 100, during training, creates a hash table 104 for each portion, {T.sub.m: m=1 . . . M}. For instance, the classification system 100 determines the hash code for each portion x.sub.m of the activation vector x, using the method described above or another appropriate method, and uses the resulting hash code as an index to the corresponding hash table T.sub.m,
[0042] :
During run-time, the classification system 100 similarly determines the hash code for each portion x.sub.m of a corresponding activation vector x and uses the portions x.sub.m as indices to the corresponding hash tables T.sub.m to determine a set of all identifiers of the nodes for which to perform matrix multiplication. In some examples, each hash table T.sub.m has only one entry for each index and the classification system 100 determines the set of all identifiers of the nodes using the corresponding hash codes, e.g., to determine at most M nodes. In some examples, the hash table or hash tables 104 include only one entry for each of the nodes in the particular layer y,
(BRI: the M portions represent hashing of patterns)
[0004]:
The neural network uses a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique to approximate a result of the matrix multiplication to allow the neural network to generate scores for a large number, e.g., millions, of output classes,
[0023]:
FIG. 1 is an example of a classification system 100 that uses a hash table to determine for which nodes in a particular layer y to perform matrix multiplication using an activation vector x.
[0018]:
For instance, the classification system uses the hash codes as input to the hash table to determine the nodes and then determines the corresponding weight vectors W.sup.(K) for those nodes”
(BRI: the contribution of determined nodes to perform the matrix operation provide patterns in the matrix)
[0023]:
The matrix multiplication may be a product of the activation vector x from a previous layer in the neural network or an initial input for the neural network, e.g., when the particular layer is an input layer in the neural network, and the weights W. The classification system 100 may use a hashing technique, e.g., a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique, to approximate the actual matrix multiplication to determine the output for the particular layer.
[0018]:
a neural network uses a winner takes all (WTA) hash method to reduce the computation time for the matrix multiplication,
[0018]:
a classification system stores a weight matrix W of a particular neural network layer y in a hash table using the WTA function.
[0018]:
the classification system computes hash codes using the activations from the previous layer x, e.g., the output values from the previous layer, and uses the hash codes to determine which nodes in the current layer y are most likely to be triggered based on the activations. For instance, the classification system uses the hash codes as input to the hash table to determine the nodes and then determines the corresponding weight vectors W.sup.(K) for those nodes
(BRI: the storage of weight matrix in a hash table using WTA is a “hash bucket”)
[0006]:
an activation vector as input for the particular layer, selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and a hash table that maps numeric values to nodes in the particular layer, and processing the activation vector using the selected nodes to generate an output for the particular layer
[0007]:
The method may include creating a modified activation vector by setting the values in the activation vector that correspond to the nodes that were not selected to zero,
[0023]:
the matrix multiplication may be a product of the activation vector x from a previous layer in the neural network or an initial input for the neural network, e.g., when the particular layer is an input layer in the neural network, and the weights W. The classification system 100 may use a hashing technique, e.g., a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique, to approximate the actual matrix multiplication to determine the output for the particular layer y.
[0027]:
For instance, when the particular layer y is an output layer, the classification system 100 only needs output for the top K classes of the output layer and can determine the top K vectors W.sup.(K), from a weight matrix W, that have the largest dot products with the activation vector x. The classification system 100 computes the probabilities for only these K classes, and sets the probabilities of all other classes to zero.
(BRI: Setting node to zero and setting probability to zero can deactivate the node)
- applying one or more locality sensitive hashing algorithms to the plurality of inputs to the first layer,
[0023]:
The classification system 100 may use a hashing technique, e.g., a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique, to approximate the actual matrix multiplication to determine the output for the particular layer y,
[0006]:
methods for processing an input through each of multiple layers of a neural network to generate an output, wherein each of the multiple layers of the neural network includes respective multiple nodes include the actions of for a particular layer of the multiple layers,
[0006]:
an activation vector as input for the particular layer, selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and a hash table that maps numeric values to nodes in the particular layer,
- where in the plurality of inputs to the first layer comes from the sparsification of a prior layer of the plurality of layers of the DNN
[0052]:
At 210, the classification system processes the activation vector using the selected nodes to generate an output for the particular layer. For example, the classification system performs matrix multiplication using the activation vector x and the determined weight vectors and then applies a function to the result of the matrix multiplication to generate an output for each selected node and sets all other output values for the particular layer y to zero.
[0025]:
The classification system 100 uses an input activation vector x to determine one or more hash codes. The classification system 100 uses the hash codes to determine a set of nodes y.sub.k in the particular layer y that are closest to the activation vector in the hash space and computes the matrix product for x and the set of nodes y.sub.k to determine the output for the particular layer y. The classification system 100 may set the output values for all other nodes in the particular layer y, other than the nodes in the set of nodes y.sub.k, to zero.
- wherein the one or more previous sets of inputs relate to a first subset of the plurality of neurons,
[0018] :
a neural network uses a winner takes all (WTA) hash method to reduce the computation time for the matrix multiplication. For instance, a classification system stores a weight matrix W of a particular neural network layer y in a hash table using the WTA function.
[0018] :
the classification system computes hash codes using the activations from the previous layer x, e.g., the output values from the previous layer, and uses the hash codes to determine which nodes in the current layer y are most likely to be triggered based on the activations.
(BRI: the activations from previous layer to determine which nodes in the current layers are most likely to be activated provide a relationship)
[0032]:
The classification system uses the updated weight vectors to compute updated hash codes for the top K nodes and moves the identifiers for the top K nodes, or a subset of these nodes, to the locations in the hash table 104 pointed to by the updated hash
[0043]:
In some implementations, the classification system 100 may retrieve a corresponding count for each node from the hash table 104. For instance, each count may provide a lower bound for the dot product between the activation vector x and the weight vector for the node. The count may represent the ordinal similarity between the two vectors. The classification system 100 may select the K nodes with the greatest ordinal similarity between the two vectors
- and selecting the first subset of neurons as the subset of neurons for activation based at least in part on the relation of the first subset of neurons to the one or more previous sets of inputs,
[0006]:
receiving, by a classification system, an activation vector as input for the particular layer, selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and a hash table that maps numeric values to nodes in the particular layer, and processing the activation vector using the selected nodes to generate an output for the particular layer.
[0008]:
Selecting the nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and the hash table may include selecting the one or more nodes in the particular layer by using the integers as input to the hash table. The integers may include a first subset and a second, mutually exclusive subset
[0032]:
The classification system uses the updated weight vectors to compute updated hash codes for the top K nodes and moves the identifiers for the top K nodes, or a subset of these nodes, to the locations in the hash table 104 pointed to by the updated hash codes.
[0017]:
For instance, a neural network may use matrix multiplication W*x during a classification process, where x is the input from a layer and W refers to the weights of the connections to the next layer's outputs.
Vijay does not explicitly disclose:
- detecting similarity between a received set of inputs of the plurality of inputs and one or more previous sets of inputs based on results of the application of the one or more locality sensitive hashing algorithms
- mapping the received set of inputs to the first layer to one of a plurality of hash table buckets based on the detected similarity between the received set of inputs and the one or more previous sets of inputs of the first layer,
- wherein the one or more processors are further to perform compression of a weight or activation matrix of one or more layers of the DNN, including detection of sparsity patterns in a weight or activation matrix of the first layer of the DNN based at least in part on locality sensitive hashing of patterns in the matrix;
- and combining values of the grouped connections of each hash bucket to generate a group value for the grouped connections;
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: establishing a hash bucket for each of a plurality of sparsity patterns for the matrix;
- decomposing the matrix into a plurality of tiles;
- [and]] applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map each of the plurality of tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns found in the tiles:
- changing a tile size to dynamically adjust and optimize a compression ratio
However, Jiang discloses:
- detecting similarity between a received set of inputs of the plurality of inputs and one or more previous sets of inputs based on results of the application of the one or more locality sensitive hashing algorithms
[Abstract, Page 376]:
SpMM (multiplication of a sparse matrix and a dense matrix) and SDDMM(sampled dense-dense matrix multiplication) are at the core of many scientific, machine learning, and data mining applications.
[6, Page 386]:
Several efforts have sought to improve the performance of sparse matrix multiplication by reordering the input data and defining new representations for sparse matrices.
[Abstract, Page 376]:
We focus on performing the row-reordering efficiently, by using a hierarchical clustering procedure optimized by locality-sensitive hashing.
[6, Page 386]:
Several efforts have sought to improve the performance of sparse matrix multiplication by reordering the input data and defining new representations for sparse matrices
[3.2, Page 380]: Row-Reordering by Clustering
We have shown that reordering the rows of the sparse matrix can improve data locality for SpMM and SDDMM.
As shown in Fig2a, arow of the output matrix Y is the weighted sum of certain rows of the dense input matrix X, which are selected based on the non-zeros in the sparse matrix S.
[Abstract, Page 377]:
the effectiveness of the adaptive-tiling approach depends on the sparsity structure of the input data. If a sparse matrix already has good data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling is an efficient implementation to exploit the data locality. However, if a sparse matrix has poor data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling cannot improve the data locality.
[3.2, Page 380]:
We achieve this by using a hierarchical clustering procedure. Each row of the sparse matrix can be considered as a set of column indices. Two rows are similar if they have many non-zeros in identical columns. A natural definition of the similarity between two rows would be the Jaccard similarity between the two sets representing the two rows:
For example, row 0 of the sparse matrix in Fig 1a has nonzeros in column 0 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,4}), while row 4 has nonzeros in column 0, 3 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,3,4}).
The similarity between row 0 and 4 is |
S
0
∩
S
4
|/|
S
0
∪
S
4
| = 2/3. Intuitively, two rows with a large similarity should be put close to each other to allow more data reuse among the rows of the dense matrix. Initially, we consider each row as a cluster by itself. Then, in each iteration, we select the two clusters that have the largest similarity and group them into one. The similarity between the two clusters is the similarity between the representing rows of the two clusters. The representing row of a cluster can be defined in the following way: if a cluster has only one row, then it is the representing row; if two clusters are grouped together, then the representing row of the resulting cluster is the representing row of the larger cluster between the two; if the clusters are of the same size, we choose the row with the smaller index as the representing row of the resulting cluster.
[3.2, Page 380]:
Because any two rows in the cluster have a large similarity, which means they have many columns in common, there will be good data reuse for the dense input matrix X in SpMM and SDDMM. The procedure ends when there is no cluster left. Although the clustering procedure
[2.2, Page 378]:
In SDDMM, two dense matrices X and Y are multiplied and the result matrix is then scaled by an input sparse matrix S (Hadamard product). As shown in Fig 2b, an element in the output matrix (O[i][j]) is nonzero only if the corresponding element in the input sparse matrix (S[i] [j]) is nonzero,
- mapping the received set of inputs to the first layer to one of a plurality of hash table buckets based on the detected similarity between the received set of inputs and the one or more previous sets of inputs of the first layer,
[3.2, Page 380]:
The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering. Because the pairs of nodes within buckets are much fewer than the pairs of all nodes, LSH reduces the memory consumption and computation complexity of the clustering procedure. The performance of LSH is controlled by two parameters: siдlen (the length of the signature) and bsize (the size of the band). The larger the siglen, the more accurate the hashing. The smaller the bsize, the more likely two nodes will be hashed into the same bucket. The total time complexity is siglen × nnz +siglen/bsize ×N +
d
m
a
x
× E where nnz is the number of nonzeros in the sparse matrix, N is the number of rows,
d
m
a
x
is the number of nonzeros in the longest row, and E is the number of candidate pairs generated
- wherein the one or more processors are further to perform compression of a weight or activation matrix of one or more layers of the DNN, including detection of sparsity patterns in a weight or activation matrix of the first layer of the DNN based at least in part on locality sensitive hashing of patterns in the matrix;
[2.1, Page 377]: Compressed Sparse Row Representation
The compressed sparse row (CSR) representation is one of the most widely used data structures for storing sparse matrices.
[2.1, Page 377]:
As shown in Fig 1, CSR format contains three arrays: rowptr, colidx and value. The value of rowptr [i] is the index of the first element of row i in array colidx and value. The array colidx stores the column indices of the nonzeros in the sparse matrix row by row. The corresponding values of these nonzeros are stored in the array value. For example, in Fig 1b, the second element of rowptr is 2, which indicates that the column index and the value of the first nonzero in the second row of the sparse matrix is in colidx[2] and value[2].
(BRI: Perhaps as known to the POSITA, the CSR is a representation of the weight matrix of a layer in a NN that stores and manipulate sparse matrix)
- wherein compression of the matrix of the first layer includes:
grouping connections of the first layer of the DNN into hash buckets;
[1, Page 377]:
The goal of this work is to achieve consistently higher performance for SpMM and SDDMM.
[1, Page 377]:
We propose to use a row-reordering procedure to group similar rows together. More specifically, we first reorder the rows of the sparse matrix such that rows with non-zeroes at similar locations are put in the same row panel. This brings more non-zeros to the dense tiles and increases data reuse in the shared memory.
[3.2, Page 380 ]:
The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381 ]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering
[5.4 , Page 386]:
The ratios of the preprocessing time to the actual computation time for the 416 matrices that need row-reordering are summarized in Tables 3 and 4 for SpMM and SDDMM, respectively. We can see that, when K = 512, more than 85% of the matrices have preprocessing time that is less than 10x of the actual computation time of SpMM, and more than 90% matrices have preprocessing time that is less than 10x of the actual computation time of SDDMM.
[6, Page 386]:
Compressed Sparse Blocks (CSB) [3] is another sparse matrix storage format that exploits register blocking. The sparse matrix is partitioned and stored as small rectangular blocks. SpMM implementation with CSB data representation has been demonstrated to achieve high performance when both SpMM and transposed SpMM
(BRI: smaller rectangular blocks of sparse metric represents tiling)
- and combining values of the grouped connections of each hash bucket to generate a group value for the grouped connections;
[3.2, Page 380]:
We achieve this by using a hierarchical clustering procedure. Each row of the sparse matrix can be considered as a set of column indices. Two rows are similar if they have many non-zeros in identical columns. A natural definition of the similarity between two rows would be the Jaccard similarity between the two sets representing the two rows:
For example, row 0 of the sparse matrix in Fig 1a has nonzeros in column 0 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,4}), while row 4 has nonzeros in column 0, 3 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,3,4}).
[3.2, Page 380]:
Intuitively, two rows with a large similarity should be put close to each other to allow more data reuse among the rows of the dense matrix. Initially, we consider each row as a cluster by itself. Then, in each iteration, we select the two clusters that have the largest similarity and group them into one. The similarity between the two clusters is the similarity between the representing rows of the two clusters. The representing row of a cluster can be defined in the following way: if a cluster has only one row, then it is the representing row; if two clusters are grouped together, then the representing row of the resulting cluster is the representing row of the larger cluster between the two; if the clusters are of the same size, we choose the row with the smaller index as the representing row of the resulting cluster. Whenever the size of a cluster reaches a threshold, we output the rows in it and remove the cluster. Because any two rows in the cluster have a large similarity, which means they have many columns in common, there will be good data reuse for the dense input matrix X in SpMM and SDDMM. The procedure ends when there is no cluster left. Although the clustering
(BRI: the similarity measure is the combined value of each bucket)
[3.2, Page 380 ]:
The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381 ]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: establishing a hash bucket for each of a plurality of sparsity patterns for the matrix;
[2.1, Page 377]:
The compressed sparse row (CSR) representation is one of the most widely used data structures for storing sparse matrices
In [2.1, Page 377]:
As shown in Fig 1, CSR format contains three arrays: rowptr, colidx and value. The value of rowptr[i] is the index of the first element of row i in array colidx and value
(BRI: Fig 1 represents a sparsity pattern matrix)
[3.2, Page 381 ]:
The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering. Because the pairs of nodes within buckets are much fewer than the pairs of all nodes, LSH reduces the memory consumption and computation complexity of the clustering procedure.
- decomposing the matrix into a plurality of tiles;
[3.1, Page 380]:
Consider again the sparse matrix in Fig 1a. Row 0 has two identical columns (i.e. location of non-zeroes) with row 4, while row 1 has one identical column with row 5.
[1, Page 377]:
[3.1, Page 380]:
If we exchange row 1 and row 4, we can get a reordered matrix as shown in Fig 4a. Applying ASpT to the reordered matrix will give us a tiled matrix as shown in Fig 4b. We can see that the number of nonzeros in the dense tiles increases to 9. This means that more data movement from the global memory can be saved during the execution.
- [[and]] applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map each of the plurality of tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns found in the tiles:
[Abstract, Page 376]:
We focus on performing the row-reordering efficiently, by using a hierarchical clustering procedure optimized by locality-sensitive hashing.
[1, Page 377]:
To reduce the clustering overhead, we use a locality sensitive hashing procedure to first generate candidate pairs that may have similarities larger than a threshold [28], and we only consider the clustering of the candidate pairs, which are far fewer than all possible combinations of the rows,
[3.2, Page 380]:
The clustering procedure will need to compute and store 1M × 1M = 1T similarity values, which will require a large number of computing cycles and easily exceeds the memory capacity of a common computer. Therefore, we use locality sensitive hashing (LSH) to reduce the clustering overhead [28]. The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering. Because the pairs of nodes within buckets are much fewer than the pairs of all nodes, LSH reduces the memory consumption and computation complexity of the clustering procedure.
[1, Page 377]:
the effectiveness of the adaptive-tiling approach depends on the sparsity structure of the input data. If a sparse matrix already has good data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling is an efficient implementation to exploit the data locality
[BRI: a sparsity structure is a sparsity pattern]
[1, Page 377]:
We propose to use a row-reordering procedure to group similar rows together. More specifically, we first reorder the rows of the sparse matrix such that rows with non-zeroes at similar locations are put in the same row panel. This brings more non-zeros to the dense tiles and increases data reuse in the shared memory. Next, we reorder the rows of the remaining sparse tiles in a similar way. This allows rows with similar non-zeroes to be processed simultaneously and improves temporal locality in the cache when computing with the sparse tiles.
[BRI: a sparse tile represents tiles with sparse patterns]
[3.1, Page 380]:
If we exchange row 1 and row 4, we can get a reordered matrix as shown in Fig 4a. Applying ASpT to the reordered matrix will give us a tiled matrix as shown in Fig 4b. We can see that the number of nonzeros in the dense tiles increases to 9. This means that more data movement from the global memory can be saved during the execution.
- changing a tile size to dynamically adjust and optimize a compression ratio
[6, Page 386]:
Compressed Sparse Blocks (CSB) [3] is another sparse matrix storage format that exploits register blocking. The sparse matrix is partitioned and stored as small rectangular blocks.
[1, Page 377]:
the effectiveness of the adaptive-tiling approach depends on the sparsity structure of the input data. If a sparse matrix already has good data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling is an efficient implementation to exploit the data locality. However, if a sparse matrix has poor data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling cannot improve the data locality. We find the poor data locality issue is quite common for real-world data. For 351 of the 1084 matrices from the SuiteSparse collection and the Network Repository [34], the adaptive-tiling method has less than 1% of the nonzeros in the dense tiles
[2.3 , Page 378]: Adaptive Sparse Tiling
As shown in Alg 1 and Alg 2, both SpMM and SDDMM in volve traversing the nonzeros of the sparse matrix S and accessing the data of the input dense matrices.
in [2.3 , Page 379]: Adaptive Sparse Tiling
[BRI: adaptive tiling generally involves changing tile size (and sometimes shape, overlap, or grouping) in response to conditions such as hardware limits, data characteristics, or performance goals. While adaptive sparse tiling does not directly “change the compression ratio” as a primary goal, it can enable or improve. However, within the CSB context, adaptive sparse tiling can be interpreted as dynamically adjusting the tile size to optimize the block-based representation (small rectangular blocks) for performance, which can be viewed as tuning the effective “compression ratio” of the sparse matrix storage format
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vijay, and Jiang.
Vijay teaches hashing function.
Jiang teaches compression of weight matrix and grouping into hash buckets and applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns and tiling.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vijay, and Jiang can provide reduced memory consumption and computation complexity of the cluster procedure with LSH buckets (Jiang [3.2, Page 381]).
In regard to claim 12: (Previously Presented)
Vijay discloses:
- wherein sparsification of the at least two of the plurality of layers of the DNN further includes:
[0018]:
a classification system stores a weight matrix W of a particular neural network layer y in a hash table using the WTA function. At run-time, the classification system computes hash codes using the activations from the previous layer x, e.g., the output values from the previous layer, and uses the hash codes to determine which nodes in the current layer y are most likely to be triggered based on the activations. For instance, the classification system uses the hash codes as input to the hash table to determine the nodes and then determines the corresponding weight vectors W.sup.(K) for those nodes
(BRI: a layer and a previous layer are two layers and the sparsificaiton by reducing the computation)
- selecting the first subset of neurons based at least in part on the which neurons of the first layer have highest activation values.
[0027] :
When the number of nodes in a particular layer y of the neural network 102 is large, the classification system 100 only needs output from the K nodes with the highest probabilities of activating based on the activation vector x. For instance, when the particular layer y is an output layer, the classification system 100 only needs output for the top K classes of the output layer and can determine the top K vectors W.sup.(K), from a weight matrix W,
In [0032]:
the classification system uses the updated weight vectors to compute updated hash codes for the top K nodes and moves the identifiers for the top K nodes, or a subset of these nodes, to the locations in the hash table 104 pointed to by the updated hash codes.
In regard to claim 13 (Previously Presented)
Vijay discloses:
- sparsification of the at least two of the layers of the DNN
[0025] :
The classification system 100 uses an input activation vector x to determine one or more hash codes. The classification system 100 uses the hash codes to determine a set of nodes y.sub.k in the particular layer y that are closest to the activation vector in the hash space and computes the matrix product for x and the set of nodes y.sub.k to determine the output for the particular layer y. The classification system 100 may set the output values for all other nodes in the particular layer y, other than the nodes in the set of nodes y.sub.k, to zero.
(BRI: setting all but certain outputs to zero is a sparsification technique)
- further includes activating the selected first subset of the neurons of the first layer
[0009] :
Accordingly, FIGS. 1-3 illustrate techniques for improving system performance leveraging heterogeneous system architectures. In some embodiments, a heterogeneous processing system, including at least one central processing unit (CPU) core and at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) core, is configured to compute an activation for each one of a plurality of neurons for a first network layer of a neural network.
[0009]:
he coalesced neural network, as represented by the set of coalesced activation sub-matrices, improves compute efficiency of heterogeneous CPU-GPU architecture by coalescing the activations from each neural network layer into contiguous space which allows for more efficient execution of operations at the processing system.
- and deactivating all other neurons of the first layer.
[0016]:
The processor 102 further includes a dropout module 140 for performing dropout operations. As described in further detail below, the dropout module 140 is configured to randomly drop a first subset of the plurality of neurons for a first neural network layer and keep a second subset of the plurality of neurons for the first neural network layer. The dropout module 140 instructs one of the CPU cores 106, 108, 110 to coalesce forwarded activation to generate a set of coalesced activation sub-matrices that are contiguous in a memory of the processing system, thereby leveraging the CPU cores 106, 108, 110 for re-organizing a dropped neural network to use GPU architecture more effectively when training a neural network.
In regard to claim 16: (Currently Amended)
Vijay discloses:
- A computing system comprising: one or more processors; and a memory to store data for processing of a deep neural network (DNN) a plurality of layers, each layer including a plurality of neurons
[0006] :
embodiments of this aspect include corresponding computer systems, apparatus, and computer programs recorded on one or more computer storage devices, each configured to perform the actions of the methods. A system of one or more computers can be configured to perform particular operations or actions by virtue of having software, firmware, hardware, or a combination of them installed on the system that in operation causes or cause the system to perform the actions,
[0070]:
Computers suitable for the execution of a computer program include, by way of example, can be based on general or special purpose microprocessors or both, or any other kind of central processing unit. Generally, a central processing unit will receive instructions and data from a read-only memory or a random access memory or both. The essential elements of a computer are a central processing unit for performing or executing instructions and one or more memory devices for storing instructions and data”,
[0017]:
This specification describes a method for neural networks, e.g., deep neural networks, that enables approximate computation of matrix products at various layers so that the number of output dimensions at a particular layer in the neural network can be increased by several orders of magnitude, while keeping the computation cost about the same and with little loss in accuracy,
[0006] :
In general, one innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this specification can be embodied in methods for processing an input through each of multiple layers of a neural network to generate an output, wherein each of the multiple layers of the neural network includes respective multiple nodes include the actions of for a particular layer of the multiple layers.
- wherein the computing system is operable to perform neural network layer sparsification, including the computer system to:
[0018]:
a neural network uses a winner takes all (WTA) hash method to reduce the computation time for the matrix multiplication,
[0018]:
a classification system stores a weight matrix W of a particular neural network layer y in a hash table using the WTA function. At run-time, the classification system computes hash codes using the activations from the previous layer x, e.g., the output values from the previous layer, and uses the hash codes to determine which nodes in the current layer y are most likely to be triggered based on the activations. For instance, the classification system uses the hash codes as input to the hash table to determine the nodes and then determines the corresponding weight vectors W.sup.(K) for those nodes
[0007]:
The method may include creating a modified activation vector by setting the values in the activation vector that correspond to the nodes that were not selected to zero,
[0023]:
the matrix multiplication may be a product of the activation vector x from a previous layer in the neural network or an initial input for the neural network, e.g., when the particular layer is an input layer in the neural network, and the weights W. The classification system 100 may use a hashing technique, e.g., a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique, to approximate the actual matrix multiplication to determine the output for the particular layer y.
[0025]:
The classification system 100 uses an input activation vector x to determine one or more hash codes. The classification system 100 uses the hash codes to determine a set of nodes y.sub.k in the particular layer y that are closest to the activation vector in the hash space and computes the matrix product for x and the set of nodes y.sub.k to determine the output for the particular layer y. The classification system 100 may set the output values for all other nodes in the particular layer y, other than the nodes in the set of nodes y.sub.k, to zero.
(BRI: sparsity)
- utilize locality sensitive hashing to map inputs to a first layer of the DNN to a plurality of hash table buckets, including:
[0018]:
the classification system computes hash codes using the activations from the previous layer x, e.g., the output values from the previous layer, and uses the hash codes to determine which nodes in the current layer y are most likely to be triggered based on the activations. For instance, the classification system uses the hash codes as input to the hash table to determine the nodes and then determines the corresponding weight vectors W.sup.(K) for those nodes
(BRI: the storage of weight matrix in a hash table using WTA is a “hash bucket”)
[0044] :
the classification system 100 may use a WTA hash function that defines an ordinal embedding. For instance, as P.fwdarw.∞, the dot product between two WTA hashes tends to the rank correlation between the underlying vectors and WTA hashes are well suited as a basis for locality-sensitive hashing. This may result in a more robust proxy for dot product similarity and may be used to determine a count for each of the nodes that represents the ordinal similarity between the node and the activation vector x.
in [Abstract]:
selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and a hash table that maps numeric values to nodes in the particular layer, and processing the activation vector using the selected nodes to generate an output for the particular layer.
- applying one or more locality sensitive hashing algorithms to the plurality of inputs to the first layer,
[0023]:
The classification system 100 may use a hashing technique, e.g., a fast locality-sensitive hashing technique, to approximate the actual matrix multiplication to determine the output for the particular layer y,
[0006]:
methods for processing an input through each of multiple layers of a neural network to generate an output, wherein each of the multiple layers of the neural network includes respective multiple nodes include the actions of for a particular layer of the multiple layers,
in [0006]:
an activation vector as input for the particular layer, selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and a hash table that maps numeric values to nodes in the particular layer,
- where in the plurality of inputs to the first layer comes from the sparsification of a prior layer of the plurality of layers of the DNN
[0052]:
At 210, the classification system processes the activation vector using the selected nodes to generate an output for the particular layer. For example, the classification system performs matrix multiplication using the activation vector x and the determined weight vectors and then applies a function to the result of the matrix multiplication to generate an output for each selected node and sets all other output values for the particular layer y to zero.
[0025]:
The classification system 100 uses an input activation vector x to determine one or more hash codes. The classification system 100 uses the hash codes to determine a set of nodes y.sub.k in the particular layer y that are closest to the activation vector in the hash space and computes the matrix product for x and the set of nodes y.sub.k to determine the output for the particular layer y. The classification system 100 may set the output values for all other nodes in the particular layer y, other than the nodes in the set of nodes y.sub.k, to zero.
- wherein the one or more previous sets of inputs relate to a first subset of the plurality of neurons,
[0018] :
a neural network uses a winner takes all (WTA) hash method to reduce the computation time for the matrix multiplication. For instance, a classification system stores a weight matrix W of a particular neural network layer y in a hash table using the WTA function.
[0018] :
the classification system computes hash codes using the activations from the previous layer x, e.g., the output values from the previous layer, and uses the hash codes to determine which nodes in the current layer y are most likely to be triggered based on the activations.
(BRI: the activations from previous layer to determine which nodes in the current layers are most likely to be activated provide a relationship)
[0032]:
The classification system uses the updated weight vectors to compute updated hash codes for the top K nodes and moves the identifiers for the top K nodes, or a subset of these nodes, to the locations in the hash table 104 pointed to by the updated hash
[0043]:
In some implementations, the classification system 100 may retrieve a corresponding count for each node from the hash table 104. For instance, each count may provide a lower bound for the dot product between the activation vector x and the weight vector for the node. The count may represent the ordinal similarity between the two vectors. The classification system 100 may select the K nodes with the greatest ordinal similarity between the two vectors
- select the first subset of neurons as the subset of neurons for activation based at least in part on the relation of the first subset of neurons to the one or more previous sets of inputs,
[0006]:
receiving, by a classification system, an activation vector as input for the particular layer, selecting one or more nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and a hash table that maps numeric values to nodes in the particular layer, and processing the activation vector using the selected nodes to generate an output for the particular layer.
[0008]:
selecting the nodes in the particular layer using the activation vector and the hash table may include selecting the one or more nodes in the particular layer by using the integers as input to the hash table. The integers may include a first subset and a second, mutually exclusive subset
[0032]:
The classification system uses the updated weight vectors to compute updated hash codes for the top K nodes and moves the identifiers for the top K nodes, or a subset of these nodes, to the locations in the hash table 104 pointed to by the updated hash codes.
[0017]:
For instance, a neural network may use matrix multiplication W*x during a classification process, where x is the input from a layer and W refers to the weights of the connections to the next layer's outputs.
- activate the selected first subset of the neurons of the first layer
[0009] :
Accordingly, FIGS. 1-3 illustrate techniques for improving system performance leveraging heterogeneous system architectures. In some embodiments, a heterogeneous processing system, including at least one central processing unit (CPU) core and at least one graphics processing unit (GPU) core, is configured to compute an activation for each one of a plurality of neurons for a first network layer of a neural network.
[0009]:
he coalesced neural network, as represented by the set of coalesced activation sub-matrices, improves compute efficiency of heterogeneous CPU-GPU architecture by coalescing the activations from each neural network layer into contiguous space which allows for more efficient execution of operations at the processing system.
- and deactivate all other neurons of the first layer.
[0016]:
The processor 102 further includes a dropout module 140 for performing dropout operations. As described in further detail below, the dropout module 140 is configured to randomly drop a first subset of the plurality of neurons for a first neural network layer and keep a second subset of the plurality of neurons for the first neural network layer. The dropout module 140 instructs one of the CPU cores 106, 108, 110 to coalesce forwarded activation to generate a set of coalesced activation sub-matrices that are contiguous in a memory of the processing system, thereby leveraging the CPU cores 106, 108, 110 for re-organizing a dropped neural network to use GPU architecture more effectively when training a neural network.
Vijay does not explicitly disclose:
- detecting similarity between a received set of inputs of the plurality of inputs and one or more previous sets of inputs based on results of the application of the one or more locality sensitive hashing algorithms
- mapping the received set of inputs to the first layer to one of a plurality of hash table buckets based on the detected similarity between the received set of inputs and the one or more previous sets of inputs of the first layer
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: establishing a hash bucket for each of a plurality of sparsity patterns for the matrix;
- decomposing the matrix into a plurality of tiles;
- [[and ]] applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map each of the plurality of tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns found in the tiles:
- changing a tile size to dynamically adjust and optimize a compression ratio
However, Jiang discloses:
- detecting similarity between a received set of inputs of the plurality of inputs and one or more previous sets of inputs based on results of the application of the one or more locality sensitive hashing algorithms
[Abstract, Page 376]:
SpMM (multiplication of a sparse matrix and a dense matrix) and SDDMM(sampled dense-dense matrix multiplication) are at the core of many scientific, machine learning, and data mining applications.
[6, Page 386]:
Several efforts have sought to improve the performance of sparse matrix multiplication by reordering the input data and defining new representations for sparse matrices.
[Abstract, Page 376]:
We focus on performing the row-reordering efficiently, by using a hierarchical clustering procedure optimized by locality-sensitive hashing.
[6, Page 386]:
Several efforts have sought to improve the performance of sparse matrix multiplication by reordering the input data and defining new representations for sparse matrices
[3.2, Page 380]: Row-Reordering by Clustering
We have shown that reordering the rows of the sparse matrix can improve data locality for SpMM and SDDMM.
As shown in Fig2a, arow of the output matrix Y is the weighted sum of certain rows of the dense input matrix X, which are selected based on the non-zeros in the sparse matrix S.
[Abstract, Page 377]:
the effectiveness of the adaptive-tiling approach depends on the sparsity structure of the input data. If a sparse matrix already has good data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling is an efficient implementation to exploit the data locality. However, if a sparse matrix has poor data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling cannot improve the data locality.
[3.2, Page 380]:
We achieve this by using a hierarchical clustering procedure. Each row of the sparse matrix can be considered as a set of column indices. Two rows are similar if they have many non-zeros in identical columns. A natural definition of the similarity between two rows would be the Jaccard similarity between the two sets representing the two rows:
For example, row 0 of the sparse matrix in Fig 1a has nonzeros in column 0 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,4}), while row 4 has nonzeros in column 0, 3 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,3,4}).
The similarity between row 0 and 4 is |
S
0
∩
S
4
|/|
S
0
∪
S
4
| = 2/3. Intuitively, two rows with a large similarity should be put close to each other to allow more data reuse among the rows of the dense matrix. Initially, we consider each row as a cluster by itself. Then, in each iteration, we select the two clusters that have the largest similarity and group them into one. The similarity between the two clusters is the similarity between the representing rows of the two clusters. The representing row of a cluster can be defined in the following way: if a cluster has only one row, then it is the representing row; if two clusters are grouped together, then the representing row of the resulting cluster is the representing row of the larger cluster between the two; if the clusters are of the same size, we choose the row with the smaller index as the representing row of the resulting cluster.
[3.2, Page 380]:
Because any two rows in the cluster have a large similarity, which means they have many columns in common, there will be good data reuse for the dense input matrix X in SpMM and SDDMM. The procedure ends when there is no cluster left. Although the clustering procedure
[2.2, Page 378]:
In SDDMM, two dense matrices X and Y are multiplied and the result matrix is then scaled by an input sparse matrix S (Hadamard product). As shown in Fig 2b, an element in the output matrix (O[i][j]) is nonzero only if the corresponding element in the input sparse matrix (S[i][j]) is nonzero,
- mapping the received set of inputs to the first layer to one of a plurality of hash table buckets based on the detected similarity between the received set of inputs and the one or more previous sets of inputs of the first layer,
[3.2, Page 380]:
The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering. Because the pairs of nodes within buckets are much fewer than the pairs of all nodes, LSH reduces the memory consumption and computation complexity of the clustering procedure. The performance of LSH is controlled by two parameters: siдlen (the length of the signature) and bsize (the size of the band). The larger the siglen, the more accurate the hashing. The smaller the bsize, the more likely two nodes will be hashed into the same bucket. The total time complexity is siglen × nnz +siglen/bsize ×N +
d
m
a
x
× E where nnz is the number of nonzeros in the sparse matrix, N is the number of rows,
d
m
a
x
is the number of nonzeros in the longest row, and E is the number of candidate pairs generated
[1, Page 377]:
The goal of this work is to achieve consistently higher performance for SpMM and SDDMM.
[1, Page 377]:
We propose to use a row-reordering procedure to group similar rows together. More specifically, we first reorder the rows of the sparse matrix such that rows with non-zeroes at similar locations are put in the same row panel. This brings more non-zeros to the dense tiles and increases data reuse in the shared memory.
[3.2, Page 381]:
Alg 3 shows our clustering-based row-reordering procedure. First, we use LSH to get a list of candidate pairs of rows that are likely to have large values of similarity score.
(BRI: grouping similar rows. LSH that is used to provide candidate pair of rows that are in similarity queues does provide similarity between the received set of inputs and the one or more previous sets of inputs of the first layer as a result of hashing the input items and grouping similar items into same bucket. See code line 2 in Alg 3 for similarity queue)
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: establishing a hash bucket for each of a plurality of sparsity patterns for the matrix;
[2.1, Page 377]: Compressed Sparse Row Representation
The compressed sparse row (CSR) representation is one of the most widely used data structures for storing sparse matrices.
[2.1, Page 377]:
As shown in Fig 1, CSR format contains three arrays: rowptr, colidx and value. The value of rowptr [i] is the index of the first element of row i in array colidx and value. The array colidx stores the column indices of the nonzeros in the sparse matrix row by row. The corresponding values of these nonzeros are stored in the array value. For example, in Fig 1b, the second element of rowptr is 2, which indicates that the column index and the value of the first nonzero in the second row of the sparse matrix is in colidx[2] and value[2].
(BRI: Perhaps as known to the POSITA, the CSR is a representation of the weight matrix of a layer in a NN that stores and manipulate sparse matrix)
[2.1, Page 377]:
The compressed sparse row (CSR) representation is one of the most widely used data structures for storing sparse matrices
[2.1, Page 377]:
As shown in Fig 1, CSR format contains three arrays: rowptr, colidx and value. The value of rowptr[i] is the index of the first element of row i in array colidx and value
(BRI: Fig 1 represents a sparsity pattern matrix)
[3.2, Page 381 ]:
The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering. Because the pairs of nodes within buckets are much fewer than the pairs of all nodes, LSH reduces the memory consumption and computation complexity of the clustering procedure.
- decomposing the matrix into a plurality of tiles;
[3.1, Page 380]:
Consider again the sparse matrix in Fig 1a. Row 0 has two identical columns (i.e. location of non-zeroes) with row 4, while row 1 has one identical column with row 5.
[1, Page 377]:
[3.1, Page 380]:
If we exchange row 1 and row 4, we can get a reordered matrix as shown in Fig 4a. Applying ASpT to the reordered matrix will give us a tiled matrix as shown in Fig 4b. We can see that the number of nonzeros in the dense tiles increases to 9. This means that more data movement from the global memory can be saved during the execution.
- [[and]] applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map each of the plurality of tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns found in the tiles:
[Abstract, Page 376]:
We focus on performing the row-reordering efficiently, by using a hierarchical clustering procedure optimized by locality-sensitive hashing.
[1, Page 377]:
To reduce the clustering overhead, we use a locality sensitive hashing procedure to first generate candidate pairs that may have similarities larger than a threshold [28], and we only consider the clustering of the candidate pairs, which are far fewer than all possible combinations of the rows,
[3.2, Page 380]:
The clustering procedure will need to compute and store 1M × 1M = 1T similarity values, which will require a large number of computing cycles and easily exceeds the memory capacity of a common computer. Therefore, we use locality sensitive hashing (LSH) to reduce the clustering overhead [28]. The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering. Because the pairs of nodes within buckets are much fewer than the pairs of all nodes, LSH reduces the memory consumption and computation complexity of the clustering procedure.
[1, Page 377]:
the effectiveness of the adaptive-tiling approach depends on the sparsity structure of the input data. If a sparse matrix already has good data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling is an efficient implementation to exploit the data locality
[BRI: a sparsity structure is a sparsity pattern]
[1, Page 377]:
We propose to use a row-reordering procedure to group similar rows together. More specifically, we first reorder the rows of the sparse matrix such that rows with non-zeroes at similar locations are put in the same row panel. This brings more non-zeros to the dense tiles and increases data reuse in the shared memory. Next, we reorder the rows of the remaining sparse tiles in a similar way. This allows rows with similar non-zeroes to be processed simultaneously and improves temporal locality in the cache when computing with the sparse tiles.
[BRI: a sparse tile represents tiles with sparse patterns]
[3.1, Page 380]:
If we exchange row 1 and row 4, we can get a reordered matrix as shown in Fig 4a. Applying ASpT to the reordered matrix will give us a tiled matrix as shown in Fig 4b. We can see that the number of nonzeros in the dense tiles increases to 9. This means that more data movement from the global memory can be saved during the execution.
- changing a tile size to dynamically adjust and optimize a compression ratio
[6, Page 386]:
Compressed Sparse Blocks (CSB) [3] is another sparse matrix storage format that exploits register blocking. The sparse matrix is partitioned and stored as small rectangular blocks.
[1, Page 377]:
the effectiveness of the adaptive-tiling approach depends on the sparsity structure of the input data. If a sparse matrix already has good data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling is an efficient implementation to exploit the data locality. However, if a sparse matrix has poor data reuse among consecutive rows, adaptive-tiling cannot improve the data locality. We find the poor data locality issue is quite common for real-world data. For 351 of the 1084 matrices from the SuiteSparse collection and the Network Repository [34], the adaptive-tiling method has less than 1% of the nonzeros in the dense tiles
[2.3 , Page 378]: Adaptive Sparse Tiling
As shown in Alg 1 and Alg 2, both SpMM and SDDMM in volve traversing the nonzeros of the sparse matrix S and accessing the data of the input dense matrices.
in [2.3 , Page 379]: Adaptive Sparse Tiling
[BRI: adaptive tiling generally involves changing tile size (and sometimes shape, overlap, or grouping) in response to conditions such as hardware limits, data characteristics, or performance goals. While adaptive sparse tiling does not directly “change the compression ratio” as a primary goal, it can enable or improve. However, within the CSB context, adaptive sparse tiling can be interpreted as dynamically adjusting the tile size to optimize the block-based representation (small rectangular blocks) for performance, which can be viewed as tuning the effective “compression ratio” of the sparse matrix storage format
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vijay, and Jiang.
Vijay teaches hashing function.
Jiang teaches compression of weight matrix and grouping into hash buckets and applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns and tiling.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vijay, and Jiang can provide reduced memory consumption and computation complexity of the cluster procedure with LSH buckets (Jiang [3.2, Page 381]).
In regard to claim 18: (Original)
Vijay does not explicitly disclose:
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: compressing the matrix including storing an identification for each of the sparsity patterns mapped by the plurality of tiles.
However, Jiang discloses:
- wherein compression of the weight or activation matrix of the first layer further includes: compressing the matrix including storing an identification for each of the sparsity patterns mapped by the plurality of tiles.
[1, Page 377]:
The compressed sparse row (CSR) representation is one of the most widely used data structures for storing sparse matrices.
In [2.1, Page 377]:
As shown in Fig 1, CSR format contains three arrays: rowptr, colidx and value. The value of rowptr [i] is the index of the first element of row i in array colidx and value. The array colidx stores the column indices of the nonzeros in the sparse matrix row by row.
(BRI: the CSR does store the indices of the sparsity value)
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to combine Vijay, and Jiang.
Vijay teaches hashing function.
Jiang teaches compression of weight matrix and grouping into hash buckets and applying a locality sensitive hashing function to map tiles to the hash buckets based on sparsity patterns and tiling.
One of ordinary skill would have motivation to combine Vijay, and Jiang can provide reduced memory consumption and computation complexity of the cluster procedure with LSH buckets (Jiang [3.2, Page 381]).
In regard to claim 19: (Original)
Vijay does not explicitly disclose:
wherein compression of the matrix of the first layer includes:
- grouping connections of the first layer of the DNN into hash buckets;
- and combining values of the grouped connections of each hash bucket to generate a group value for the grouped connections.
However, Jiang discloses:
- wherein compression of the matrix of the first layer includes:
grouping connections of the first layer of the DNN into hash buckets;
[2.1, Page 377]: Compressed Sparse Row Representation
The compressed sparse row (CSR) representation is one of the most widely used data structures for storing sparse matrices.
[2.1, Page 377]:
As shown in Fig 1, CSR format contains three arrays: rowptr, colidx and value. The value of rowptr [i] is the index of the first element of row i in array colidx and value. The array colidx stores the column indices of the nonzeros in the sparse matrix row by row. The corresponding values of these nonzeros are stored in the array value. For example, in Fig 1b, the second element of rowptr is 2, which indicates that the column index and the value of the first nonzero in the second row of the sparse matrix is in colidx[2] and value[2].
(BRI: Perhaps as known to the POSITA, the CSR is a representation of the weight matrix of a layer in a NN that stores and manipulate sparse matrix)
[1, Page 377]:
The goal of this work is to achieve consistently higher performance for SpMM and SDDMM.
[1, Page 377]:
We propose to use a row-reordering procedure to group similar rows together. More specifically, we first reorder the rows of the sparse matrix such that rows with non-zeroes at similar locations are put in the same row panel. This brings more non-zeros to the dense tiles and increases data reuse in the shared memory.
[3.2, Page 380 ]:
The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381 ]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering
[5.4 , Page 386]:
The ratios of the preprocessing time to the actual computation time for the 416 matrices that need row-reordering are summarized in Tables 3 and 4 for SpMM and SDDMM, respectively. We can see that, when K = 512, more than 85% of the matrices have preprocessing time that is less than 10x of the actual computation time of SpMM, and more than 90% matrices have preprocessing time that is less than 10x of the actual computation time of SDDMM.
[6, Page 386]:
Compressed Sparse Blocks (CSB) [3] is another sparse matrix storage format that exploits register blocking. The sparse matrix is partitioned and stored as small rectangular blocks. SpMM implementation with CSB data representation has been demonstrated to achieve high performance when both SpMM and transposed SpMM
(BRI: smaller rectangular blocks of sparse metric represents tiling)
- and combining values of the grouped connections of each hash bucket to generate a group value for the grouped connections;
[3.2, Page 380]:
We achieve this by using a hierarchical clustering procedure. Each row of the sparse matrix can be considered as a set of column indices. Two rows are similar if they have many non-zeros in identical columns. A natural definition of the similarity between two rows would be the Jaccard similarity between the two sets representing the two rows:
For example, row 0 of the sparse matrix in Fig 1a has nonzeros in column 0 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,4}), while row 4 has nonzeros in column 0, 3 and 4 (i.e.,
S
0
= {0,3,4}).
[3.2, Page 380]:
Intuitively, two rows with a large similarity should be put close to each other to allow more data reuse among the rows of the dense matrix. Initially, we consider each row as a cluster by itself. Then, in each iteration, we select the two clusters that have the largest similarity and group them into one. The similarity between the two clusters is the similarity between the representing rows of the two clusters. The representing row of a cluster can be defined in the following way: if a cluster has only one row, then it is the representing row; if two clusters are grouped together, then the representing row of the resulting cluster is the representing row of the larger cluster between the two; if the clusters are of the same size, we choose the row with the smaller index as the representing row of the resulting cluster. Whenever the size of a cluster reaches a threshold, we output the rows in it and remove the cluster. Because any two rows in the cluster have a large similarity, which means they have many columns in common, there will be good data reuse for the dense input matrix X in SpMM and SDDMM. The procedure ends when there is no cluster left. Although the clustering
(BRI: the similarity measure is the combined value of each bucket)
[3.2, Page 380 ]:
The idea of LSH is to hash the nodes to be
[3.2, Page 381 ]:
clustered into different buckets such that nodes in the same buckets are likely to be very similar while nodes in different buckets are not similar. The pairs of nodes within the buckets are considered candidate pairs for clustering.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to TIRUMALE KRISHNASWAMY RAMESH whose telephone number is (571)272-4605. The examiner can normally be reached by phone.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TIRUMALE K RAMESH/Examiner, Art Unit 2121
/Li B. Zhen/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2121