DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The response to after final filed 06/16/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 13 and 25 have been amended. Claims 4 and 16 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-15 and 17-26 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues (page 11) the cited reference do not teach that “controlling an MeNB to count/not count an amount of packets has nothing to do with “activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology by sending control information to an access node which is responsible for the scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device”, as recited in amended claim 1”.
However, as previously discussed in the OA, Forssell teaches the argued limitation. For example, Forssell section [0043] discloses wherein the network shares information about the subscription of the user device; section [0084] discloses wherein the nodes share the control information such as sending of the RFSP index to an eNB/RNC which reasonably reads on (~access node responsible for scheduling radio transmissions), and finally section [0086] discloses whether Wi-Fi access is supported by the UE wherein the network may restrict or not WI-FI access to the user device (~restriction on scheduling radio transmissions on one of a 1st or 2nd radio technology).
In response to applicant’s argument (page 12-13) that “It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art… to provide services based on mobility restriction as taught by Forssell in the system of Tamura for bringing UE and user Wi-Fi support awareness to the mobile network without rendering necessary changing multiple interfaces as suggested, Forssell [0041]” only discusses the need to provide WiFi support awareness to the network. “It is entirely unrelated to “activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions….. as recited in amended clam 1”.
However, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding the substance of the examiner’s obviousness rejection as argued on page 12-13 of the remarks, the requirements for obviousness are discussed in MPEP § 2142. As explained in the previous Office action, both references (Tamura and Forssell) teach wherein the user device is connected to two different networks and Forssell specifically teaches controlling the access of the device to said networks. Like the claimed invention, both Tamura and Forssell are directed to controlling access to a secondary network. One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably have expected that combining the simultaneous connection between different technologies as taught by Tamura with the RFSP index control parameter of Forssell would have been within the skill of the art and yielded the predictable result of efficient use of network resource, in order to dynamically control how user device moves between mobile and Wi-Fi networks. The rejection of claim 1 as obvious over Tamura in view of Forssell is, therefore, maintained.
For at least the reasons provide above, applicant’s arguments regarding argued claims 1-3, 5-15 and 17-26 are not persuasive. Thus, claims 1-3, 5-15 and 17-26 are not allowable over the cited prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10-11, 13, 15, 18, 20, 22 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura (US 20190098684 A1) in view of Forssell (US 20160007276 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tamura teaches a method of controlling radio transmissions in a wireless communication network (method of Fig. 9), the method comprising:
a node (MME 23 of Fig. 9) of the wireless communication network controlling dual connectivity of a radio device to the wireless communication network (The MME 23 determines whether or not to activate dual connectivity, that is, whether or not to configure dual connectivity, in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB, [0101]), the dual connectivity being based on a first radio technology and a second radio technology (The Access Restriction Data is information indicating RAT which the UE 20 cannot use, [0092] and Fig. 11 depicts an example of 5G RAT and WLAN DC not allowed); and
However, Tamura does not clearly teach depending on subscription data associated with the radio device, the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology by sending control information to an access node which is responsible for the scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device.
In an analogous art, Forssell teaches depending on subscription data associated with the radio device (Mobile network needs to know UE support for Wi-Fi access/RAN/Wi-Fi Interworking mechanism and user Wi-Fi service subscription status (Wi-Fi service enabled/disabled) in order to be able to consider Wi-Fi as one RAT, [0043]), the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology ( “1 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user with Wi-Fi subscription and “0 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user without Wi-Fi subscription. Modifying the other bits (denoted by x in the example) provides room for HSS, MME, SGSN, eNB and RNC to change RFSP index allocated for the user and still provide Wi-Fi service subscription information to other elements. Then operator may dynamically set the RFSP index into HSS in accordance with the UE Wi-Fi (or other RAT) capability, HSS provides the RFSP index to MME/SGSN e.g. as part of UE making attachment, and MME/SGSN provides the RFSP index to eNB/RNC, [0084]; That is, an RFSP index number range, like e.g. 130-140, may denote that Wi-Fi is supported by the user/UE, [0086]) by sending control information to an access node which is responsible for the scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device (MME/SGSN provides the RFSP index to eNB/RNC, [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on mobility restriction as taught by Forssell in the system of Tamura in order to dynamically control how user device moves between mobile and Wi-Fi networks as suggested, Forssell [0033].
Regarding claim 3, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to the subscription data indicating that the one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology is not allowed, the node activating the restriction for this radio technology (when any one of the Access Restriction Data and the DC Not Allowed transmitted from the HSS 24 and the DC Not Allowed transmitted from the PGW 26 indicates not to allow the UE 20 to configure dual connectivity, the MME 23 may determine to inactivate dual connectivity in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB, Tamura [0101]); and/or in response to the subscription data indicating that the one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology is allowed, the node deactivating the restriction for this radio technology (When the DC Not Allowed indicates to allow the MeNB 21 to configure dual connectivity, the MME 23 instructs the MeNB 21 whether or not to count the amount of packets for each radio bearer by DC Traffic Count Support Indication, Tamura [0103]).
Regarding claim 6, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the node receives the subscription data from a subscriber database (The HSS 24 then transmits an Update Location Ack message to the MME 23 (S33). The Update Location Ack message contains Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed as parameters. The Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed are managed in the HSS 24 as subscriber information of the UE, Tamura [0090]).
Regarding claim 8, Tamura teaches a method of controlling radio transmissions in a wireless communication network (MME 23 of Fig. 9 in system of Figs. 1-2), the method comprising:
for at least one of a first radio technology (2G and 3G) and a second radio technology (5G), an access node (MME 23) of the wireless communication network scheduling radio transmissions of a radio device having dual connectivity based on the first radio technology and the second radio technology (The MME 23 determines whether or not to activate dual connectivity, that is, whether or not to configure dual connectivity, in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB 22 by using the Access Restriction Data and the DC Not Allowed transmitted from the HSS 24 and the DC Not Allowed received from the PGW, [0101]; For example, the case where the UE 20 has an inexpensive contract where the available RAT is restricted to 2G and 3G is described. In such a case, it is possible to prevent the UE 20 from using the RAT such as 5G, which is available by making an expensive contract, when configuring dual connectivity, [0120]);
the access node receiving control information (The HSS 24 then transmits an Update Location Ack message to the MME 23 (S33). The Update Location Ack message contains Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed as parameters. The Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed are managed in the HSS 24 as subscriber information of the UE, [0090]).
However, Tamura does not clearly teach depending on the control information, the access node activating controlling a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology.
In an analogous art, Forssell teaches depending on subscription data associated with the radio device (Mobile network needs to know UE support for Wi-Fi access/RAN/Wi-Fi Interworking mechanism and user Wi-Fi service subscription status (Wi-Fi service enabled/disabled) in order to be able to consider Wi-Fi as one RAT, [0043]), the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology (With a network driven solution, the 3GPP network may embed UE's dynamic Wi-Fi capability information such as user Wi-Fi service subscription status into network parameters such as the RFSP index to drive the selection and/or usage of the 3GPP RAN and/or the Wi-Fi network at the UE for services of interest, [0047]; As an example “1 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user with Wi-Fi subscription and “0 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user without Wi-Fi subscription. Modifying the other bits (denoted by x in the example) provides room for HSS, MME, SGSN, eNB and RNC to change RFSP index allocated for the user and still provide Wi-Fi service subscription information to other elements. Then operator may dynamically set the RFSP index into HSS in accordance with the UE Wi-Fi (or other RAT) capability, HSS provides the RFSP index to MME/SGSN e.g. as part of UE making attachment [note fig 10RRM configuration in the E-UTRAN, as such activating], and MME/SGSN provides the RFSP index to eNB/RNC, [0084], as shown in FIG. 10, illustrating a schematic diagram of signaling sequences according to exemplary embodiments of the present invention; the user is not allowed to access and benefit from the RAT (and get high speed connections via 3.5 small cell base station). In other words, according to exemplary embodiments of the present invention, the availability of service subscription may be a local permission, [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on mobility restriction as taught by Forssell in the system of Tamura in order to dynamically control how user device moves between mobile and Wi-Fi networks as suggested, Forssell [0033].
Regarding claim 10, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising: in response to the control information indicating that the one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology is not allowed, the access node activating the restriction for this radio technology (For example, when any one of the Access Restriction Data and the DC Not Allowed transmitted from the HSS 24 and the DC Not Allowed transmitted from the PGW 26 indicates not to allow the UE 20 to configure dual connectivity, the MME 23 may determine to inactivate dual connectivity in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB, Tamura [0101]); and/or in response to the control information indicating that the one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology is allowed, the access node deactivating the restriction for this radio technology (When the DC Not Allowed indicates to allow the MeNB 21 to configure dual connectivity, the MME 23 instructs the MeNB 21 whether or not to count the amount of packets for each radio bearer by DC Traffic Count Support Indication, Tamura [0103]).
Regarding claim 11, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the method of claim 8: wherein the access node receives the control information from a node which is responsible for managing access of the radio device to the wireless communication network and/or mobility of the radio device in the wireless communication network (The MME 23 is a device that mainly makes mobility management of the UE 20, bearer setup request, bearer setup instruction, bearer deletion request or bearer deletion instruction, Tamura [0056]); and wherein the control plane data relates to mobility management of the radio device and/or registration of the radio device in the wireless communication network (The target eNB is an eNB that forms the communication area to which the UE 20 moves, Tamura [0155]).
Regarding claim 13, Tamura teaches a node for a wireless communication network (MME 23 of Figs. 1, 9 and 29), the node comprising:
processing circuitry (processor 1202); memory (memory 1203) containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the node is operative to: control dual connectivity of a radio device to the wireless communication network (The MME 23 determines whether or not to activate dual connectivity, that is, whether or not to configure dual connectivity, in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB, [0101]), the dual connectivity being based on a first radio technology and a second radio technology (The Access Restriction Data is information indicating RAT which the UE 20 cannot use, [0092] and Fig. 11 depicts an example of 5G RAT and WLAN DC not allowed); wherein the radio device is configured for the dual connectivity to the wireless communication network (when the MeNB 21 and the UE 20 are able to configure dual connectivity, [0093]).
However, Tamura does not clearly teach depending on subscription data associated with the radio device, the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology by sending control information to an access node which is responsible for the scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device.
In an analogous art, Forssell teaches depending on subscription data associated with the radio device (Mobile network needs to know UE support for Wi-Fi access/RAN/Wi-Fi Interworking mechanism and user Wi-Fi service subscription status (Wi-Fi service enabled/disabled) in order to be able to consider Wi-Fi as one RAT, [0043]), the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology ( “1 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user with Wi-Fi subscription and “0 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user without Wi-Fi subscription. Modifying the other bits (denoted by x in the example) provides room for HSS, MME, SGSN, eNB and RNC to change RFSP index allocated for the user and still provide Wi-Fi service subscription information to other elements. Then operator may dynamically set the RFSP index into HSS in accordance with the UE Wi-Fi (or other RAT) capability, HSS provides the RFSP index to MME/SGSN e.g. as part of UE making attachment, and MME/SGSN provides the RFSP index to eNB/RNC, [0084]; That is, an RFSP index number range, like e.g. 130-140, may denote that Wi-Fi is supported by the user/UE, [0086]) by sending control information to an access node which is responsible for the scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device (MME/SGSN provides the RFSP index to eNB/RNC, [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on mobility restriction as taught by Forssell in the system of Tamura in order to dynamically control how user device moves between mobile and Wi-Fi networks as suggested, Forssell [0033].
Regarding claim 15, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the node of claim 13, wherein the instructions are such that the node is operative to: in response to the subscription data indicating that the one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology is not allowed, activate the restriction for this radio technology (For example, when any one of the Access Restriction Data and the DC Not Allowed transmitted from the HSS 24 and the DC Not Allowed transmitted from the PGW 26 indicates not to allow the UE 20 to configure dual connectivity, the MME 23 may determine to inactivate dual connectivity in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB, [0101]); and/or in response to the subscription data indicating that the one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology is allowed, deactivate the restriction for this radio technology (When the DC Not Allowed indicates to allow the MeNB 21 to configure dual connectivity, the MME 23 instructs the MeNB 21 whether or not to count the amount of packets for each radio bearer by DC Traffic Count Support Indication, Tamura [0103]).
Regarding claim 18, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the node of claim 13, wherein the instructions are such that the node is operative to receive the subscription data from a subscriber database (The HSS 24 then transmits an Update Location Ack message to the MME 23 (S33). The Update Location Ack message contains Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed as parameters. The Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed are managed in the HSS 24 as subscriber information of the UE, Tamura [0090]).
Regarding claim 20, Tamura teaches an access node for a wireless communication network (MME 23 of Figs. 1, 9 and 29), the access node comprising:
processing circuitry (processor 1202); memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the access node is operative to (memory 1203): for at least one of a first radio technology and a second radio technology (The Access Restriction Data is information indicating RAT which the UE 20 cannot use, [0092] and Fig. 11 depicts an example of 5G RAT and WLAN DC not allowed), schedule radio transmissions of a radio device having dual connectivity based on the first radio technology and the second radio technology (The MME 23 determines whether or not to activate dual connectivity, that is, whether or not to configure dual connectivity, in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB, [0101]);
receive control information (The HSS 24 then transmits an Update Location Ack message to the MME 23 (S33). The Update Location Ack message contains Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed as parameters. The Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed are managed in the HSS 24 as subscriber information of the UE, [0090]).
However, Tamura does not clearly teach depending on subscription data associated with the radio device, the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology.
In an analogous art, Forssell teaches depending on subscription data associated with the radio device (Mobile network needs to know UE support for Wi-Fi access/RAN/Wi-Fi Interworking mechanism and user Wi-Fi service subscription status (Wi-Fi service enabled/disabled) in order to be able to consider Wi-Fi as one RAT, [0043]), the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology (With a network driven solution, the 3GPP network may embed UE's dynamic Wi-Fi capability information such as user Wi-Fi service subscription status into network parameters such as the RFSP index to drive the selection and/or usage of the 3GPP RAN and/or the Wi-Fi network at the UE for services of interest, [0047]; As an example “1 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user with Wi-Fi subscription and “0 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user without Wi-Fi subscription. Modifying the other bits (denoted by x in the example) provides room for HSS, MME, SGSN, eNB and RNC to change RFSP index allocated for the user and still provide Wi-Fi service subscription information to other elements. Then operator may dynamically set the RFSP index into HSS in accordance with the UE Wi-Fi (or other RAT) capability, HSS provides the RFSP index to MME/SGSN e.g. as part of UE making attachment [note fig 10RRM configuration in the E-UTRAN, as such activating], and MME/SGSN provides the RFSP index to eNB/RNC, [0084], as shown in FIG. 10, illustrating a schematic diagram of signaling sequences according to exemplary embodiments of the present invention; the user is not allowed to access and benefit from the RAT (and get high speed connections via 3.5 small cell base station). In other words, according to exemplary embodiments of the present invention, the availability of service subscription may be a local permission, [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on mobility restriction as taught by Forssell in the system of Tamura in order to dynamically control how user device moves between mobile and Wi-Fi networks as suggested, Forssell [0033].
Regarding claim 22, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the access node of claim 20, wherein the instructions are such that the access node is operative to: in response to the control information indicating that the one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology is not allowed, activate the restriction for this radio technology (For example, when any one of the Access Restriction Data and the DC Not Allowed transmitted from the HSS 24 and the DC Not Allowed transmitted from the PGW 26 indicates not to allow the UE 20 to configure dual connectivity, the MME 23 may determine to inactivate dual connectivity in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB, Tamura [0101]); and/or in response to the control information indicating that the one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology is allowed, deactivate the restriction for this radio technology (When the DC Not Allowed indicates to allow the MeNB 21 to configure dual connectivity, the MME 23 instructs the MeNB 21 whether or not to count the amount of packets for each radio bearer by DC Traffic Count Support Indication, Tamura [0103]).
Regarding claim 25, Tamura teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium (MME 23 of Figs. 1, 9 and 29) storing a computer program product for controlling radio transmissions in a wireless communication network, the computer program product comprising software instructions which, when run on processing circuitry of a node of the wireless communication network, causes the node to:
control dual connectivity of a radio device to the wireless communication network (network (The MME 23 determines whether or not to activate dual connectivity, that is, whether or not to configure dual connectivity, in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB, [0101]), the dual connectivity being based on a first radio technology and a second radio technology (The Access Restriction Data is information indicating RAT which the UE 20 cannot use, [0092] and Fig. 11 depicts an example of 5G RAT and WLAN DC not allowed); and
wherein the radio device is configured for the dual connectivity to the wireless communication network (wherein DC Support contained in the Attach request message is information indicating whether or not the UE 20 can perform communications using a plurality of radio bearers at the same time, [0089]).
However, Tamura does not clearly teach depending on subscription data associated with the radio device, the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology by sending control information to an access node which is responsible for the scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device.
In an analogous art, Forssell teaches depending on subscription data associated with the radio device (Mobile network needs to know UE support for Wi-Fi access/RAN/Wi-Fi Interworking mechanism and user Wi-Fi service subscription status (Wi-Fi service enabled/disabled) in order to be able to consider Wi-Fi as one RAT, [0043]), the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology ( “1 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user with Wi-Fi subscription and “0 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user without Wi-Fi subscription. Modifying the other bits (denoted by x in the example) provides room for HSS, MME, SGSN, eNB and RNC to change RFSP index allocated for the user and still provide Wi-Fi service subscription information to other elements. Then operator may dynamically set the RFSP index into HSS in accordance with the UE Wi-Fi (or other RAT) capability, HSS provides the RFSP index to MME/SGSN e.g. as part of UE making attachment, and MME/SGSN provides the RFSP index to eNB/RNC, [0084]; That is, an RFSP index number range, like e.g. 130-140, may denote that Wi-Fi is supported by the user/UE, [0086]) by sending control information to an access node which is responsible for the scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device (MME/SGSN provides the RFSP index to eNB/RNC, [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on mobility restriction as taught by Forssell in the system of Tamura in order to dynamically control how user device moves between mobile and Wi-Fi networks as suggested, Forssell [0033].
Regarding claim 26, Tamura teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium (MME 23 of Figs. 1, 9 and 29) storing a computer program product for controlling radio transmissions in a wireless communication network, the computer program product comprising software instructions which, when run on processing circuitry of an access node of the wireless communication network, causes the access node to:
schedule, for at least one of a first radio technology and a second radio technology, radio transmissions of a radio device having dual connectivity based on the first radio technology and the second radio technology (The MME 23 determines whether or not to activate dual connectivity, that is, whether or not to configure dual connectivity, in the UE 20, the MeNB 21 and the SeNB, [0101]; The Access Restriction Data is information indicating RAT which the UE 20 cannot use, [0092] and Fig. 11 depicts an example of 5G RAT and WLAN DC not allowed);
receive control information (The HSS 24 then transmits an Update Location Ack message to the MME 23 (S33). The Update Location Ack message contains Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed subas parameters. The Access Restriction Data and DC not allowed are managed in the HSS 24 as subscriber information of the UE, [0090]).
However, Tamura does not clearly teach activate, depending on the control information, a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology.
In an analogous art, Forssell teaches depending on subscription data associated with the radio device (Mobile network needs to know UE support for Wi-Fi access/RAN/Wi-Fi Interworking mechanism and user Wi-Fi service subscription status (Wi-Fi service enabled/disabled) in order to be able to consider Wi-Fi as one RAT, [0043]), the node activating a restriction on scheduling of radio transmissions of the radio device for one of the first radio technology and the second radio technology (With a network driven solution, the 3GPP network may embed UE's dynamic Wi-Fi capability information such as user Wi-Fi service subscription status into network parameters such as the RFSP index to drive the selection and/or usage of the 3GPP RAN and/or the Wi-Fi network at the UE for services of interest, [0047]; As an example “1 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user with Wi-Fi subscription and “0 xxxx xxxxb” indicates user without Wi-Fi subscription. Modifying the other bits (denoted by x in the example) provides room for HSS, MME, SGSN, eNB and RNC to change RFSP index allocated for the user and still provide Wi-Fi service subscription information to other elements. Then operator may dynamically set the RFSP index into HSS in accordance with the UE Wi-Fi (or other RAT) capability, HSS provides the RFSP index to MME/SGSN e.g. as part of UE making attachment [note fig 10RRM configuration in the E-UTRAN, as such activating], and MME/SGSN provides the RFSP index to eNB/RNC, [0084], as shown in FIG. 10, illustrating a schematic diagram of signaling sequences according to exemplary embodiments of the present invention; the user is not allowed to access and benefit from the RAT (and get high speed connections via 3.5 small cell base station). In other words, according to exemplary embodiments of the present invention, the availability of service subscription may be a local permission, [0095]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on mobility restriction as taught by Forssell in the system of Tamura in order to dynamically control how user device moves between mobile and Wi-Fi networks as suggested, Forssell [0033].
Claims 2, 7, 9, 14, 19, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura in view of Forssell and further in view of Wafta et al. (US 2017/0289866 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Tamura and Forssell do not teach wherein the restriction blocks scheduling of radio transmissions with user plane data while admitting scheduling of radio transmissions with control plane data.
In an analogous art, Wafta teaches wherein the restriction blocks scheduling of radio transmissions with user plane data while admitting scheduling of radio transmissions with control plane data (maintaining, by the AP in accordance with the received context information, a control plane connection for the session associated with the WTRU, and (2) suspending the user plane connection for the session associated with the WTRU [0069], claim 13]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the DC restriction of Tamura and Forssell with the control plane of Wafta to provide services in order to manage access based on available radio access technologies as suggested.
Regarding claim 7, Tamura as modified by Forssell and Wafta teaches the method of claim 2: wherein the node is responsible for managing access of the radio device to the wireless communication network and/or mobility of the radio device in the wireless communication network (The MME 23 is a device that mainly makes mobility management of the UE 20, bearer setup request, bearer setup instruction, bearer deletion request or bearer deletion instruction, Tamura [0056]); and wherein the control plane data relates to mobility management of the radio device and/or registration of the radio device in the wireless communication network (The target eNB is an eNB that forms the communication area to which the UE 20 moves, Tamura [0155]).
Regarding claim 9, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the method of claim 8.
However, Tamura and Forssell do not teach wherein the restriction blocks scheduling of radio transmissions with user plane data while admitting scheduling of radio transmissions with control plane data.
In an analogous art, Wafta teaches wherein the restriction blocks scheduling of radio transmissions with user plane data while admitting scheduling of radio transmissions with control plane data (maintaining, by the AP in accordance with the received context information, a control plane connection for the session associated with the WTRU, and (2) suspending the user plane connection for the session associated with the WTRU [0069], claim 13]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the DC restriction of Tamura and Forssell with the control plane of Wafta to provide services in order to manage access based on available radio access technologies as suggested.
Regarding claim 14, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the node of claim 13.
However, Tamura and Forssell do not teach wherein the instructions are such that the node is operative to control the restriction further depending on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network.
In an analogous art, Wafta teaches wherein the instructions are such that the node is operative to control the restriction further depending on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network (maintaining, by the AP in accordance with the received context information, a control plane connection for the session associated with the WTRU, and (2) suspending the user plane connection for the session associated with the WTRU [0069], claim 13]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the DC restriction of Tamura and Forssell with the control plane of Wafta to provide services in order to manage access based on available radio access technologies as suggested.
Regarding claim 19, Tamura as modified by Forssell and Wafta teaches the node of claim 14: wherein the instructions are such that the node is operative to manage access of the radio device to the wireless communication network and/or mobility of the radio device in the wireless communication network (The MME 23 is a device that mainly makes mobility management of the UE 20, bearer setup request, bearer setup instruction, bearer deletion request or bearer deletion instruction, Tamura [0056]); and wherein the control plane data relates to mobility management of the radio device and/or registration of the radio device in the wireless communication network (The target eNB is an eNB that forms the communication area to which the UE 20 moves, Tamura [0155]).
Regarding claim 21, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the access node of claim 20.
However, Tamura and Forssell do not teach wherein the restriction blocks scheduling of radio transmissions with user plane data while admitting scheduling of radio transmissions with control plane data.
In an analogous art, Wafta teaches wherein the restriction blocks scheduling of radio transmissions with user plane data while admitting scheduling of radio transmissions with control plane data (maintaining, by the AP in accordance with the received context information, a control plane connection for the session associated with the WTRU, and (2) suspending the user plane connection for the session associated with the WTRU [0069], claim 13]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to have modified the DC restriction of Tamura and Forssell with the control plane of Wafta to provide services in order to manage access based on available radio access technologies as suggested.
Regarding claim 23, Tamura as modified by Forssell and Wafta teaches the access node of claim 21: wherein the instructions are such that the access node is operative to receive the control information from a node which is responsible for managing access of the radio device to the wireless communication network and/or mobility of the radio device in the wireless communication network (The MME 23 is a device that mainly makes mobility management of the UE 20, bearer setup request, bearer setup instruction, bearer deletion request or bearer deletion instruction, Tamura [0056]); and wherein the control plane data relates to mobility management of the radio device and/or registration of the radio device in the wireless communication network (The target eNB is an eNB that forms the communication area to which the UE 20 moves, Tamura [0155]).
Claims 5, 12, 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamura in view of Forssell and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0338133 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Tamura and Forssell do not teach wherein the controlling of the restriction further depends on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein the controlling of the restriction further depends on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network (preventing additional packets from being scheduled on serving AP 615 when UE 605 approaches an edge of a coverage area associated with serving AP 615 and there are no available neighbor APs [paragraph 109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on the location of the coverage as taught by Lee et al. in the system of Tamura and Forssell in order to manage access based on available radio access technologies.
Regarding claim 12, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the method of claim 8.
However, Tamura and Forssell do not teach wherein the control information depends on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein the control information depends on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network (preventing additional packets from being scheduled on serving AP 615 when UE 605 approaches an edge of a coverage area associated with serving AP 615 and there are no available neighbor APs [paragraph 109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on the location of the coverage as taught by Lee et al. in the system of Tamura and Forssell in order to manage access based on available radio access technologies.
Regarding claim 17, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the node of claim 13.
However, Tamura and Forssell do not teach wherein the instructions are such that the node is operative to control the restriction further depending on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein the instructions are such that the node is operative to control the restriction further depending on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network (preventing additional packets from being scheduled on serving AP 615 when UE 605 approaches an edge of a coverage area associated with serving AP 615 and there are no available neighbor APs [paragraph 109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on the location of the coverage as taught by Lee et al. in the system of Tamura and Forssell in order to manage access based on available radio access technologies.
Regarding claim 24, Tamura as modified by Forssell teaches the access node of claim 20.
However, Tamura and Forssell do not teach wherein the control information further depends on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein the control information further depends on a location of the radio device within a coverage area of the wireless communication network (preventing additional packets from being scheduled on serving AP 615 when UE 605 approaches an edge of a coverage area associated with serving AP 615 and there are no available neighbor APs [paragraph 109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application was made to provide services based on the location of the coverage as taught by Lee et al. in the system of Tamura and Forssell in order to manage access based on available radio access technologies.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pietraski et al. (US 20130153298 A1): A wireless communication network and method are described for enhancing cell-edge performance of a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU). The WTRU may establish a connection with a plurality of sites via respective downlinks (DLs). Each DL may include at least one DL component carrier (CC) that operates on a frequency that is the same or different than one or more of the other CCs. The sites may manipulate their transmit power for a particular CC operating frequency such that the distance from a particular one of the sites to its cell boundary may become larger by increasing its transmit power on the particular frequency, and the distance from at least one of the other sites to its respective cell boundary may become smaller by decreasing its transmit power on the particular frequency.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641