DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response filed 08/25/2025 has been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 20 overcomes the previously raised objection.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 3 overcome the rejections under 35. U.S.C. 112.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued one would not modify Matsumoto in view of Fan because the two use different, incompatible methods applied to different material layers that do not correspond to one another across the two references to form a discontinuity in the organic layer (boss 4 of Fan does not have a corresponding feature in Matsumoto, and hole 3b, not hole 52, of Fan should correspond to hole 287 Matsumoto) and therefore a combination of the two would not result in the claimed asymmetrical shape.
However, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In this case, the boss structure 4 of Fan is not an additional structure that must be incorporated into Matsumoto, and layers 303 and 305 of Matsumoto do not need to be patterned in exact correspondence to any of layers 14, 4, or 5 of Fan.
Rather, as a whole, Matsumoto and Fan disclose alternative hole shapes for achieving a discontinuous organic material layer. In this case, modifying or substituting the hole shape of Matsumoto to be shaped as taught by Fan is an obvious substitution to obtain predictable results.
Matsumoto discloses a base device that differs from the claimed invention in that Matsumoto teaches a symmetric opening with a discontinuity in the organic material layer on both sides while Applicant claims an asymmetric opening with a discontinuity in the organic material layer on one side and a continuous organic material layer on a second side of the opening.
Fan teaches an analogous asymmetric opening, unlabeled in Figure 1A (52 in Figure 7B) including a discontinuity in the organic material layer 6 on one side (left) and a continuous organic material layer on a second side (right) of the opening. Fan uses this different shaped opening, however, still achieves the discontinuous organic material layer, allowing for electrical connection between the electrode 7 and the auxiliary electrode 3, paragraphs 44, 45, and 55.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one hole shape for another to achieve the predictable result of a discontinuous organic material layer and electrical connection at the discontinuity.
Fan teaches boss structure 4 is formed from a photosensitive material, paragraph 84, followed by forming pixel definition layer 5 thereon, paragraph 94. Similarly, Matsumoto discloses forming contact hole 287 in layer 303 formed of a photosensitive material, followed by forming pixel defining bank layer 305 thereon, paragraph 32.
Therefore, the combined teachings of the references suggest alternative shapes for the hole and processes for realizing them such that one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, and the results of the substitution would have been predictable.
Applicant argued one would not modify Shim in view of Chen because doing so would render Shim less effective for its intended purpose.
However, both Shim and Chen are directed to forming a discontinuity in the organic layer as is clear from the respective disclosures (Shim, paragraph 51; Chen, paragraph 57) and as characterized by Applicant on page 16 of the remarks (page 8 as listed in the application file wrapper). Chen explicitly discloses this result. The combination would not render Shim unsatisfactory for its intended purpose as this effect is maintained by Chen.
In addition, the disclosure of Shim does not support the formation of the discontinuity in the organic layer is dependent on the “inversely tapered” shape. Shim discloses “ It is due to that fact that the organic material of the organic light-emitting layer 470 travels straight in the process of deposition, the organic material is not deposited on the wall in the contact hole 590 in a step form or an inversely tapered form,” paragraph 51. That is, a contact hole with either an inversely tapered form or a step form provides the desired result and the deposition process conditions are an additional factor.
Lastly, while if a proposed modification would render the prior art invention being modified unsatisfactory for its intended purpose, there may be no suggestion or motivation to make the proposed modification, (In re Gordon, 733 F.2d 900, 221 USPQ 1125 (Fed. Cir. 1984) MPEP 2143.01 V.), “unsatisfactory” differs from “less effective.” As addressed above, both Shim and Chen provide structures and methods satisfactory for forming a discontinuous organic material layer. There is nothing in Shim or Chen to suggest this result would not be maintained in the combination. There is likewise nothing in Shim or Chen to establish one is more or less effective than the other and, even if there was, effectiveness has not been established as a criteria for establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
For at least these reasons, the combinations of references are still proper and render the inventio as claimed obvious. The rejections are therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2015/0060816) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2005/0012454) and Fan (US 2020/0212162).
In reference to claim 1, Matsumoto et al. (US 2015/0060816), hereafter “Matsumoto,” discloses a display panel, with reference to Figure 4, comprising:
a substrate including an emission area and a non-emission area;
a driving element comprising at least one transistor, TFT, configured to drive the display panel;
an auxiliary electrode 284 placed in the non-emission area and spaced apart from the driving element, paragraph 29;
a second protective layer 303 placed on the driving element and the auxiliary electrode;
a first electrode 304 placed on the second protective layer and connected to the driving element;
a first organic material layer placed on the first electrode, (one of the light emitting layer, electron injection layer, or hole transport layer of 285, 306) paragraph 28;
a second electrode 307 placed above the first organic material layer and the second protective layer;
a second organic material layer placed between the second electrode and the first organic material layer, (an other of the light emitting layer, electron injection layer, or hole transport layer of 285, 306) paragraph 28; and
a contact hole 287 in the non-emission area penetrating through the second protective layer and exposing the auxiliary electrode, paragraph 27,
wherein the second organic material layer is placed into the contact hole, wherein a discontinuity in the second organic material layer is formed along a first side of the contact hole based on a step coverage of the second organic material layer and exposes a portion of the auxiliary electrode at a portion of the contact hole nearest to an active area, paragraph 34,
wherein the second electrode is electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode at the discontinuity within the contact hole, paragraph 35,
wherein the discontinuity in the second organic material layer exposes a side surface of the second protective layer in the contact hole nearest to the active area, and
wherein the second electrode is in direct contact with the exposed side surface of the second protective layer exposed by the contact hole nearest to an active area.
Matsumoto does not specify it is the second organic material layer that contacts an upper surface of the auxiliary electrode.
wherein the second organic material layer is continuous along a second side of the contact hole.
Yamazaki et al. (US 2005/0012454), hereafter “Yamazaki,” discloses a display panel including teaching a second organic material, 608 in Figure 7, placed into a contact hole 609 and contacting at least an upper surface of an auxiliary electrode 610, paragraph 118. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second organic material layer to be placed into the contact hole and contact at least an upper surface of the auxiliary electrode. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007). In this case, substituting one organic layer configuration (Figure 7 of Yamazaki) for another, (such as (Figure 5 of Yamazaki).
Fan (US 2020/0212162), hereafter “Fan,” discloses an analogous display device including teaching a second organic material layer, 6 in Figures 1A and 1B, is continuous along a second side of the contact hole (right side of Figure 1A), paragraphs 46 and 55.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second organic material layer to be continuous along a second side of the contact hole. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting the contact hole shaped as taught by Fan for that of Matsumoto.
In reference to claim 2, Matsumoto discloses the second electrode 307 is placed to be continuous within the contact hole, Figure 4.
In reference to claim 3, Matsumoto does not disclose an angle between a top surface and the exposed side surface of the second protective layer in the contact hole is equal to or greater than 80 degrees and equal to or less than 90 degrees.
Fan teaches a contact opening including an angle between a top surface and an exposed side surface in the contact hole is equal to or greater than 80 degrees and equal to or less than 90 degrees, (the surface of the boss 4 is perpendicular to the upper surface thereof), paragraph 55. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for an angle between a top surface and the exposed side surface of the second protective layer in the contact hole to be equal to or greater than 80 degrees and equal to or less than 90 degrees. One would have been motivated to do so in order to cause a break in the organic functional layer deposited thereon, id.
In reference to claim 5, Matsumoto discloses the second electrode is in contact with the auxiliary electrode within the contact hole, paragraph 27.
In reference to claim 6, Matsumoto discloses the second organic material layer is divided into at least two parts, 285, 306 separated from each other within the contact hole, paragraph 34, and wherein the second electrode 307 is in contact with the auxiliary electrode 284 between the at least two parts of the second organic material layer 285, 306, paragraph 35.
In reference to claim 7, Matsumoto discloses the second electrode covers the at least two parts of the second organic material layer, Figure 4.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2015/0060816) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2005/0012454) and Fan (US 2020/0212162) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yamashita et al. (US 2015/0155516).
In reference to claim 4, Matsumoto does not disclose the first organic material layer has a curved surface.
Yamashita et al. (US 2015/0155516) discloses a display device including teaching a first organic material layer, 17 in Figure 1A, with a curved surface, paragraphs 39 and 81. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first organic material layer to have a curved surface. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form the device while suppressing non-wetted areas by the light emitting layer, paragraph 74.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2015/0060816) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2005/0012454) and Fan (US 2020/0212162) as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Fujii et al. (US 2014/0312329).
In reference to claim 8, Matsumoto does not disclose a partition wall covering a portion of the auxiliary electrode wherein one of the at least two parts of the second organic material layer covers the partition wall, and wherein the second electrode covers the contact hole and the partition wall.
Fujii et al. (US 2014/0312329) discloses a display device including teaching a partition wall, 31 in Figure 4, covering a portion of the auxiliary electrode 30, paragraph 85, wherein one of the at least two parts of the second organic material layer 24 covers the partition wall, and wherein the second electrode 25 covers the contact hole and the partition wall, paragraphs 88 and 89. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a partition wall to cover a portion of the auxiliary electrode, wherein one of the at least two parts of the second organic material layer covers the partition wall, and wherein the second electrode covers the contact hole and the partition wall. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a spacer to support an opposing substrate, paragraph 89.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2015/0060816) in view of Fan (US 2020/0212162).
In reference to claim 15, Matsumoto discloses a method of making a display panel, with reference to Figure 4, comprising:
forming, on a substrate, a driving element comprising at least one transistor, TFT, configured to drive the display panel and an auxiliary electrode 284 spaced apart from the driving element, paragraph 29;
forming a protective layer 303 on the driving element and the auxiliary electrode, paragraph 28;
forming a first electrode 304 connected to the driving element;
forming a contact hole 287 in the protective layer and exposing the auxiliary electrode, paragraph 27;
forming a first organic material layer placed on the first electrode, (one of the light emitting layer, electron injection layer, or hole transport layer of 285, 306) paragraph 28;
forming a second organic material layer (an other of the light emitting layer, electron injection layer, or hole transport layer of 285, 306) paragraph 28, on the first organic material layer, the protective layer, and the auxiliary electrode in the contact hole, wherein the second organic material layer comprises a step coverage that creates a discontinuity in the second organic material layer along a first side of the contact hole and exposes a portion of the auxiliary electrode at a portion of the contact hole nearest to an active area, paragraph 34;
forming a second electrode 307 to cover the second organic material layer and contact the auxiliary electrode at the discontinuity, paragraph 35;
wherein the discontinuity in the second organic material layer exposes a side surface of the protective layer in the contact hole nearest to the active area, and
wherein the second electrode is in direct contact with the exposed side surface of the protective layer in the contact hole nearest to an active area.
Matsumoto does not disclose wherein the second organic material layer is continuous along a second side of the contact hole
Fan discloses an analogous display device including teaching a second organic material layer, 6 in Figures 1A and 1B, is continuous along a second side of the contact hole (right side of Figure 1A), paragraphs 46 and 55.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second organic material layer to be continuous along a second side of the contact hole. To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D. In this case applying the contact hole shaped as taught by Fan to the device of Matsumoto.
In reference to claim 16, Matsumoto discloses forming the contact hole penetrating through the protective layer, Figure 4 and paragraph 27.
Matsumoto does not disclose an angle between a top surface of the protective layer and an exposed surface of the protective layer exposed by the contact hole is equal to or greater than 80 degrees and equal to or less than 90 degrees.
Fan teaches a contact opening including an angle between a top surface and an exposed surface exposed by the contact hole is equal to or greater than 80 degrees and equal to or less than 90 degrees, (the surface of the boss 4 is perpendicular to the upper surface thereof), paragraph 55. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for an angle between a top surface of the protective layer and an exposed surface of the protective layer exposed by the contact hole to be equal to or greater than 80 degrees and equal to or less than 90 degrees. One would have been motivated to do so in order to cause a break in the organic functional layer deposited thereon, id.
In reference to claim 17, Matsumoto discloses the second electrode is in contact with the auxiliary electrode within the contact hole, paragraph 27.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto et al. (US 2015/0060816) in view of Fan (US 2020/0212162) as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Yamashita et al. (US 2015/0155516).
In reference to claim 18, Matsumoto discloses the second organic material layer is formed by depositing an organic material, paragraph 34, and wherein the second electrode is formed by depositing a conductive material on the second organic material layer, paragraph 35.
Matsumoto does not disclose the first organic material layer is formed by applying a solution containing an organic material.
Yamashita et al. (US 2015/0155516) discloses a method of making a display device including teaching the first organic material layer is formed by applying a solution containing an organic material, paragraph 57. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first organic material layer to be formed by applying a solution containing an organic material. One would have been motivated to do so in order to control the amount of material applied and the thickness of the resultant film, paragraph 3.
Claims 11-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 2016/0293888) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2005/0012454) and Chen et al. (CN 103311265 A) and Uesugi et al. (US 2013/0256638).
In reference to claim 20, Shim et al. (US 2016/0293888), hereafter “Shim,” discloses a display device, with reference to Figure 5, comprising:
a substrate including an emission area and a non-emission area;
a driving element comprising at least one transistor configured to drive the display panel, paragraphs 32, 33, and 40;
an auxiliary electrode 520 placed in the non-emission area and spaced apart from the driving element;
a first protective layer 427 placed on the driving element and the auxiliary electrode;
a first electrode 440 placed on the first protective layer and connected to the driving element;
a second electrode 480 placed above the first organic material layer and the first protective layer;
a second organic material layer 470 placed between the second electrode and the first electrode;
a contact hole 590 penetrating through the first protective layer and exposing the auxiliary electrode,
a third electrode 540, insulated from the first electrode and placed between the first protective layer and the organic material layer, wherein the third electrode is in contact with the auxiliary electrode within the contact hole;
a partition wall 450 disposed on the first electrode covering a portion of the auxiliary electrode;
wherein the second organic material layer is placed into the contact hole and contacts the third electrode,
wherein a discontinuity in the second organic material layer is formed along a first side of the contact hole based on a step coverage of the second organic material layer and exposes a portion of the third electrode at a portion of the contact hole nearest to an active area,
wherein the second electrode is electrically connected to the third electrode, paragraph 51.
Shim does not disclose a first organic material layer placed on the first electrode, the second organic material layer placed between the second electrode and the first organic material layer, or
the second organic material layer is continuous along a second side of the contact hole,
the partition wall covers a side of the first protective layer at a portion of the contact hole furthest to an active area,
wherein a slope of the side of the first protective layer covered by the partition wall is greater than a slope of a side of [the] partition wall in the contact hole.
Yamazaki discloses a display panel including teaching a first organic material layer 606 placed on a first electrode 603, paragraph 117, a second organic material, 608 in Figure 7, placed between the second electrode 614 and the first organic material layer 606, paragraph 121, the second organic material placed into a contact hole 609 and contacting third electrode 610, paragraph 118. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a first organic material layer to be placed on the first electrode, the second organic material to be placed between the second electrode and the first organic material layer, the second organic material placed into a contact hole and contacting third electrode. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007). In this case, substituting one organic layer configuration (Figure 7 of Yamazaki) for another, (such as (Figure 5 of Yamazaki).
Chen et al. (CN 103311265 A), a machine translation of which is provided herewith and cited herein, discloses a display device including teaching a discontinuity in a second organic material layer, 170 in Figure 2, is formed along a first side of the contact hole based on a step coverage of the second organic material layer and the second organic material layer is continuous along a second side of the contact hole, paragraph 57. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second organic material layer to be formed with a discontinuity along a first side of the contact hole and to be continuous along a second side of the contact hole. One would have been motivated to do so in order to deposit the second organic material layer without a mask in order to apply the manufacturing process to large size panels, paragraphs 64 and 65.
Uesugi et al. (US 2013/0256638) discloses an analogous display device including teaching a partition wall, 42 in Figure 13A, disposed on the first electrode 61 covers a portion of the auxiliary electrode 71 and a side of the first protective layer 41 at a portion of the contact hole furthest to an active area 33,
wherein a slope of the side of the first protective layer covered by the partition wall is greater (vertical) than a slope of a side of [the] partition wall in the contact hole, paragraphs 181, 182, and 192.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a partition wall to be disposed on the first electrode and cover a portion of the auxiliary electrode and a side of the first protective layer at a portion of the contact hole furthest to an active area,
wherein a slope of the side of the first protective layer covered by the partition wall is greater than a slope of a side of [the] partition wall in the contact hole.
To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007), MPEP 2143 I. B. In this case substituting one contact hole shape for another.
In reference to claim 11, Shim discloses the second organic material layer includes at least two parts placed on the third electrode and spaced apart from each other, and wherein the second electrode is in contact with the third electrode between the at least two parts of the second organic material layer, Figure 5 and paragraph 51.
In reference to claim 12, Shim discloses the second electrode 480 covers the at least two parts of the second organic material layer 470, Figure 5 and paragraph 51.
In reference to claim 13, Uesugi discloses the partition wall, 42 in Figure 13A, covering a portion of the third electrode 81 within the contact hole, and
Shim discloses wherein one of the at least two parts of the second organic material layer 470 covers the partition wall and wherein the second electrode 480 covers the contact hole and the partition wall, Figure 5.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 2016/0293888) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2005/0012454), Chen et al. (CN 103311265 A), and Uesugi et al. (US 2013/0256638) as applied to claim 20 above and further in view of Matsumi (US 2017/0278919).
In reference to claim 21, Shim does not disclose a second protective layer disposed between the auxiliary electrode and the first protective layer, and wherein a side surface of the second protective layer exposed by the contact hole and a side surface of the first protective layer exposed by the contact hole are aligned by each other.
Matsumi (US 2017/0278919) discloses a display device including teaching a second protective layer, 16 in Figure 5B, disposed between the auxiliary electrode 18b and the first protective layer 17A, and wherein a side surface 17AS of the second protective layer exposed by the contact hole and a side surface of the first protective layer exposed by the contact hole are aligned by each other, paragraph 68.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a second protective layer to be disposed between the auxiliary electrode and the first protective layer, wherein a side surface of the second protective layer exposed by the contact hole and a side surface of the first protective layer exposed by the contact hole are aligned by each other. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form an insulating protective layer and a planarizing layer over the driving element and expose the auxiliary electrode for electrical connection, paragraphs 47 and 68.
Claims 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 2016/0293888) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2005/0012454) and Chen et al. (CN 103311265 A) and Uesugi et al. (US 2013/0256638) as applied to claim 20 above and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 20180047607 A).
In reference to claim 22, Shim discloses the at least one transistor includes an active pattern 405, a source electrode 420, a gate electrode 410, and a drain electrode 420, paragraph 40.
Shim does not disclose a lower wire disposed between the substrate and the active pattern and overlapping the active pattern; and an auxiliary wire in direct contact with the auxiliary electrode, wherein the lower wire and the auxiliary wire include the same material and are disposed on the same layer.
Lee et al. (KR 20180047607 A), hereafter “Lee,” a machine translation of which is provided herewith and cited herein, discloses an analogous display device including teaching a lower wire, 142 in Figure 2, disposed between the substrate 101 and the active pattern 214 and overlapping the active pattern; and an auxiliary wire 162, VSL in direct contact with the auxiliary electrode 164, wherein the lower wire and the auxiliary wire include the same material and are disposed on the same layer, Figure 3 and paragraph 42.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a lower wire to be disposed between the substrate and the active pattern and overlapping the active pattern; and an auxiliary wire to be in direct contact with the auxiliary electrode, wherein the lower wire and the auxiliary wire include the same material and are disposed on the same layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form multiple portions of the device together in a same mask process in order to simplify manufacturing, paragraph 62.
In reference to claim 23, Lee discloses a storage electrode, 144 in Figure 2, overlapping with the lower wire 142, and a storage capacitor Cst formed between the lower wire and the storage electrode, Figure 7a and paragraphs 24, 27 and 50.
In reference to claim 24, Lee discloses the lower wire 142 is in contact with the drain electrode 210 (at 146), Figures 2 and 7 and paragraph 50.
In reference to claim 25, Lee discloses a data line DL disposed between the lower wire 142 and auxiliary wire 162, VST (of an adjacent sub-pixel, paragraph 15), wherein the lower wire and the data line include the same material and are disposed on the same layer, Figure 3 and paragraphs 41 and 42.
In reference to claim 26, Lee discloses a power supply wire VDL1 in contact with the source electrode 208 (via VDL2), Figure 1 and paragraph 17, wherein the lower wire and the power supply wire include the same material and are disposed on the same layer, Figure 3 and paragraphs 41 and 42.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim et al. (US 2016/0293888) in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2005/0012454) and Chen et al. (CN 103311265 A), Uesugi et al. (US 2013/0256638) and Lee et al. (KR 20180047607 A) as applied to claim 26 above and further in view of Nam et al. (US 10,050,098).
In reference to claim 27, Shim in view of Lee does not disclose a pad that is not covered by the first protective layer, wherein the lower wire and the pad include the same material and are disposed on the same layer.
Nam et al. (US 10,050,098) discloses an analogous display device including teaching a pad, 150 in Figure 1, that is not covered by the protective layer 148, wherein the lower wire 102 and the pad include the same material and are disposed on the same layer, col. 6 lines 48-51.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the display device to further comprise a pad that is not covered by the first protective layer, wherein the lower wire and the pad include the same material and are disposed on the same layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form an input pad connected to a signal line of the display, col. 6 lines 4-7.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R JUNGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897