Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 11/26/25 has been entered. Claims 7, 9, 11, 14, 18-50, 52-100 are cancelled. Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-13, 15-17, 51 and 101-113 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
STEP 1
Is the claim(s) directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-13, 15-17, 51 and 101-113 are all directed to a statutory category (e.g., a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter). The answer is YES.
STEP 2A. Prong 1
The claims disclose the abstract idea of receiving a search request for product and outputting a matching or related product.
Exemplary claim 1 recites the following abstract concepts that are found to include “abstract idea”:
--configuring a database with related product data for related products, wherein the database is implemented in a cross-reference system
“receiving… input data for a reference electrical device that comprises a reference electrical device data input and a reference electrical component parameter input provided by a user
searching the database utilizing device matching criteria based on the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device;
--determining … utilizing the device matching criteria at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device, wherein the device matching criteria is based on a value of a related product electrical component parameter of the at least one related product being within a threshold amount of the reference electrical component parameter of the reference electrical device, and wherein the at least one related product comprises a semiconductor device and/or an electrical component that is functionally equivalent to the reference electrical device; and
Automatically choosing [..] the at least one related product to recommend based on the device matching criteria, the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device
--outputting… information to the user …. that includes information on the at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device so as to enable a potential acquisition by the user of the at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device;
wherein the at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device based on the device matching criteria comprises at least one device that matching criteria to determine the at least one related product that matches, relates, correlates, and/or approximates the reference device. and
The remaining limitations are no more than computer elements (i.e., a at least one processor, a user device, an internet enabled device (see e.g. claims 17, 42) to be used as a tool to perform this abstract idea.
The recited limitations cover a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers subject matter viewed as a certain method of organizing human activity with the additional recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “implementing at least one processor” language, the “configuring”, “receiving”, “searching”, “determining”, and outputting steps in the context of this claim encompasses the user receiving a request, looking up the information from the request from a list of products, and determining a matching product.
The practice of “configuring”, “receiving”, “searching”, “determining”, and outputting data, is a commercial or legal interaction long prevalent in our system of commerce. The claims recite the idea of performing various conceptual steps generically resulting in the identification of similar products. As determined earlier, none of these steps recites specific technological implementation details, but instead get to this result by receiving, selecting and determining data. Thus, the claims are directed to a certain method of organizing human activity
STEP 2A, Prong 2
Are there additional elements or a combination of elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception?
The claims recite two additional elements:
1) a processor is used to identify the products, and “Wherein the at least one processor is implemented in a cross-reference system and/or the user device.
2) Outputting information on a display of the user device.
3) Searching a database utilizing device matching criteria.
The processor and the user device in the steps are recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing data (receiving and outputting data). These generic processor limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Furthermore, the database is recited at a high level of generality as well.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
STEP 2B
The next issue is whether the claims provide an inventive concept because the additional elements recited in the claims provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception. Taking the claim elements separately, the function performed by the processor is purely conventional. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using an internet enabled device, a processor to identify products, displaying information on a user device, or searching a database steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Considered as an ordered combination, the computer components of Applicants' claims add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately. The claimed invention does not focus on an improvement in computers as tools, but rather certain independently abstract ideas that use computers as tools. {Elec. Power, 830 F.3d at 1354). (Step 2B: NO).
There is no indication that indication that the processor is anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component, and the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. Court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here).
Independent claims 51 and 101 recite similar limitations as claim 1 and are therefore rejected under the same rationale.
The dependent claims do not include any new additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. For the reasons described above, they are also ineligible.
For example, claim 13 recites capturing data from a manufacturer websites, modifying the data and updating a database with the data. The websites and the database are tools used to perform the abstract idea.
Claim 15 recites implementing artificial intelligence to determine the related product. The artificial intelligence feature is claimed at a high level of generality and does not alter the abstract nature of the claims.
Accordingly, a conclusion that the collecting step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer Option 2.
See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. A VAuto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350,1355,112 USPQ2d 1093,1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hoteis.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial,Vne claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result-a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, VersataDev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306,1334,115 USPQ2d 1681,1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363,115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
The claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 8, 12, 13, 15-17, 51 and 101, 106, 112 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lissar et al. (US 20040088283 A1), in view of Bromley et al. (US 10043222 B1).
Re-claim 1, Lissar et al. teach a method for related product identification comprising:
--configuring a database with related product data for related products, wherein the database is implemented in a cross-reference system and/or the database is implemented in a memory of a user device, and wherein the related product data is based on parametric tables of the related products:
(see e.g. [0049] Advantageously, the data normalization 202 allows designing and dynamically maintaining a highly normalized data model (expert data model) to be populated and searched from two or more same-subject sources, thereby providing a multi-enterprise normalized database. More particularly, the data normalization 202 allows building a product cross reference system, for example, a dynamic competitor product cross reference system (a product class structure), by allowing parameterized (parametric) data searches across various types and/or different subject sources (i.e., different data sources, such as different manufacturers, different databases, etc., and various types of data sources, such as end-users, third party suppliers, testers, etc.) because initial data of the subject from any subject source is converted into the input forms describing the subject as a collection of domains (dynamic rule sets) at a higher level of abstraction than each subject source.)
[0105] The database 510 is programmed to scale to multiple servers and multiple sites with automatic update.
[0106] The user interface 530 (see FIG. 4) is the component that provides the user interface to the central web site services. This is the `front end` for all the other components. The central web site service provides simple point and click access to any feature, as well as an intuitive feel for each type of user. Accordingly, the user interface 530 provides an data entry interface for one type of user, a search interface for another type of user, a quality assurance interface for yet another type of user.)
--receiving with at least one processor input data for a reference electrical device that comprises a reference electrical device data input and a reference electrical component parameter input provided by a user with the
(see e.g. [0047] For the resistor, resistance is most important, in addition to type of resistor. However, for example, a design engineer as an end-user typically knows other capacitor and resistor characteristics (voltage tolerances, current tolerances, etc.) as well. Thus, a search under capacitors and type of capacitor includes capacitance as primary and the other domains as secondary. For resistors and specific types of resistors, the resistance is primary and other domains secondary. Therefore, for capacitors, search by resistance is secondary and for resistors, search by capacitance is secondary. For both capacitors and resistors, the current and potential difference domains are secondary.)
[0064] FIG. 5 illustrates table diagrams for electronic parts according to an embodiment of the invention. Using the electronic parts subject example, when entering electronic parts into a database to be used for an online parts locator search engine 505, parts records can be pre-entered from several companies in the database 510 or some records have already been entered. The parts being entered can have many fields (data elements) that describe each part.
--searching the database utilizing device matching criteria based on the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device;
(see e.g. [0064] As the user enters data in the part name and description fields for the table 550, the data entry program 500 searches the existing records for other parts that have same or similar data in their part name and description fields.)
--determining with the at least one processor utilizing the device matching criteria at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device,
(see e.g. [0064] As the user enters data in the part name and description fields for the table 550, the data entry program 500 searches the existing records for other parts that have same or similar data in their part name and description fields. If the program 500 finds same or similar records, the program enters the found data into data entry screens for the current part data entry for the remaining as yet un-entered fields in the tables 550, 555 and/or 560.)
and wherein the at least one related product comprises a semiconductor device and/or an electrical component that is functionally equivalent to the reference electrical device; and
(see e. g. [0046] For example, regarding electronic parts item category, a capacitor and a resister can share one defined field to describe how electricity flows through a capacitor and a resistor (i.e., capacitor and resistor can have overlapping domains), thereby providing another domain rule.
[0047] Intelligent searches are performed when using such overlapping domains. Using the capacitor and the resistor example, the capacitor domains typically include capacitance (farads), resistance (ohms), current (amps), potential difference (voltage), whereas the resistor includes all of these as well. For the capacitor, capacitance is most important electronic attribute, in addition to type of capacitor (prong vs. tape, barrel vs. upright, etc). For the resistor, resistance is most important, in addition to type of resistor. However, for example, a design engineer as an end-user typically knows other capacitor and resistor characteristics (voltage tolerances, current tolerances, etc.) as well. Thus, a search under capacitors and type of capacitor includes capacitance as primary and the other domains as secondary. For resistors and specific types of resistors, the resistance is primary and other domains secondary. Therefore, for capacitors, search by resistance is secondary and for resistors, search by capacitance is secondary. For both capacitors and resistors, the current and potential difference domains are secondary.)
--outputting information with the at least one processor to the user on a user device display of the user device that includes information on the at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device so as to enable a potential acquisition by the user of the at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device,
(see e.g. [0064] As the user enters data in the part name and description fields for the table 550, the data entry program 500 searches the existing records for other parts that have same or similar data in their part name and description fields. If the program 500 finds same or similar records, the program enters the found data into data entry screens for the current part data entry for the remaining as yet un-entered fields in the tables 550, 555 and/or 560.
[0097] The database service can provide complete multi-source supply management solutions for the electronics component industry, including product identification, procurement, lead time and availability for companies using the system. Each user, from a single engineer looking for a part to a company looking for improved vendor communications, can gain significant value in using the service.
--FIG. 14 is a display screen of search results by product name (e.g., a resistor) according to an embodiment of the present invention. Searches may be performed using any characteristics, features and/or functions of an item of a subject, such as in case of electronic parts a product manufacturer, a product description, and a manufacturer's part number. Searching using the product description field 552 based upon characteristics, features and/or functions of the item improves speed and accuracy of information search results based upon data from different data sources.
0095] An effective CRS provides information across products. The normalization 200 provides linked and indexed data structures that allow for a variety of parametric searches. For example, in case of electronic parts, in addition to the usual simple product characteristics (part type/current/power/resistance/color/materials, etc.) and manufacturer characteristics (name/location/contacts, etc.), a CRS of the invention allows searches by equivalency (for example, 10 ohm resistors that can all be used in a given shape or board configuration), prioritized equivalency (ordered by best option, where performance characteristics are varied or sources are constrained by preferred-source contracts), required association (one part needs a specific connector to function), or incompatibility (by performance or policy criteria).
--wherein the at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device based on the device matching criteria comprises at least one device that relates, correlates, and/or approximates the reference electrical device.
(see e.g. [0063] In particular, the data entry process 500, while entering data into a field of a record of the database 510, performs a pre-comparing process by searching the database 510 for fields similar to or associated with the entered field.
[0011] For example, an expert data model system according to the present invention can provide information relating to any set of items (any subject/item category) with very large number of elements, such as (without limitation) electronic parts and components, prescription drugs, patient data, population data, user profile data, Internet addressing data, books, DVD's. This is done by intelligently designing an intelligent data model based upon characteristics, features, and/or functions of a subject for which a database system is being implemented, intelligently validating and entering existing and/or new data into the database, and intelligently and rapidly (substantially instantly) searching the database to provide any information relating to the subject.
[0014]. In particular, the present invention provides while entering search terms, to search the database for fields similar to or associated with entered search terms to provide data of the similar or associated fields, allowing automatic real-time intelligent information retrieval.)
Although anticipated, Lissar et al. do not explicitly teach the following limitations.
However, Bromley et al. teach -- Automatically choosing with the at least one processor the at least one related product to recommend based on the device matching criteria, the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device,
(see e. g. col 7, lines 50-54-- The results of optimization, particularly the results of value optimization, are preferably returned to the design engineer for consideration of the proposed parts substitutions for adoption and incorporation into the given design.
col 11, lines 16-19---FIG. 2D illustrates the graphical user interface 2060 shown in FIG. 2C, but updated with results following optimization. The display includes suggested parts substitutions for certain of the listed parts.
col 12, lines 43-47---As shown, substitutions are suggested for resistor part numbers CDN001, CDN003, CDN004 with resistor part number CDN002, and substitutions are suggested for resistor parts CDN007 and CDN009 respectively with resistor parts CDN006 and CDN008.
--wherein the device matching criteria is based on a value of a related product electrical component parameter of the at least one related product being within a threshold amount of the reference electrical component parameter of the reference electrical device,
(see e.g. col 10, lines 7-12-- Preferably, the selection of optimization parameters also enables the range of values for each selected parameter to be adjustably set. That is, the quantitative boundaries over which the optimization is to occur (or the window of corresponding parameter values for the part numbers to be considered during optimization) may be selectively set.
---- col 11, lines 16-25 -- FIG. 2D illustrates the graphical user interface 2060 shown in FIG. 2C, but updated with results following optimization. The display includes suggested parts substitutions for certain of the listed parts. In the example shown, the optimization carried out over the characteristic value property within the range of 392-701 and mutual variation of +7% indicates that part number 312400000 may be substituted for by part number 339180000. This is because the value 516 for part number 312400000 is within 7% of the value for part number 339180000.
---- col 8, lines 7-22 --Turning now to FIG. 1, there is shown a schematic diagram illustrating a general flow of processes 10 iteratively carrying out a parts list optimization within a product design cycle. As shown, the flow includes the use of one or more suitable design tools 100 to generate a parts list such as a BOM 102 listing the individual parts incorporated into the designed product when fabricated. These may include both electrical (such as active devices, passive components, storage elements, . . . ) and non-electrical products (such as board stiffener members for structural reinforcement, fastening elements, . . . ). A parts selection process 104 acquires from the BOM 102 a set of parts for possible optimization by consolidating, or unifying, occurrences of one or more different parts into corresponding occurrences of a common part.
---- col 7, lines15-23 If, for example, a 10 KΩ resistor part, a 9.8 KΩ resistor part, and a 10.4 KΩ resistor part were subjected to value optimization, setting the variance at 10% would unify all of these resistor parts into the same part number in the list, but with a quantity of 3. The part number of the 10 KΩ resistor part may be used as the substitute part number for the other two resistor parts in the recomposed parts list. This parts substitution effectively proposes 10% as an affordable design tradeoff. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lissar et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Bromsley et al. , because significant cost reductions may be found if occurrences of similar but different parts having different identifier (different because of differences in physical footprint due to size and shape, in electrical properties, in tolerances, in power capacity, or the like) may be unified so that each occurrence is of the same part. This tends to yields to savings in terms of both cost and manufacturing simplicity. (see e.g. col. 5, lines 5-11, 13-14).
Re-claim 2, Lissar et al. teach a method for related product identification according to claim 1 further comprising preparing data for rendering a reference input display with the processor for display to the user on the; receiving the reference electrical device data input from the user from the reference electrical device data input portion of the user device; and receiving the reference electrical component parameter input from the user from the parameter input portion of the user device..
(see e.g. (see e.g. [0047] [Thus, a search under capacitors and type of capacitor includes capacitance as primary and the other domains as secondary. For resistors and specific types of resistors, the resistance is primary and other domains secondary. Therefore, for capacitors, search by resistance is secondary and for resistors, search by capacitance is secondary. For both capacitors and resistors, the current and potential difference domains are secondary.
[0064] The parts being entered can have many fields (data elements) that describe each part. For example, voltage, current, heat production, x-dimension, y-dimension, z-dimension, pin configuration, material, color, resistance, capacitance, name, description, and manufacturer --As the user enters data in the part name and description fields for the table 550, the data entry program 500 searches the existing records for other parts that have same or similar data in their part name and description fields. If the program 500 finds same or similar records, the program enters the found data into data entry screens for the current part data entry for the remaining as yet un-entered fields in the tables 550, 555 and/or 560.)
[0084] FIG. 9 is a display screen to start the data entry for items, such as electronic parts, to be placed in a database. FIG. 10 is a display screen to start searching the database for similar items and pre-filling data elements for entry of the new item in FIG. 9. FIG. 11 is a display screen to add an attribute (i.e., a characteristic/function/features) to the new item (e.g., an actuator) being entered in FIG. 9. FIG. 12 is a display screen to select summary data to be concatenated for pre-constructing a full text "search index" of the database. FIG. 5 shows some examples of fields which can be combined. FIG. 13 is a display screen to complete the process of entering the new item in FIG. 9 into the database
[0095] An effective CRS provides information across products. The normalization 200 provides linked and indexed data structures that allow for a variety of parametric searches. For example, in case of electronic parts, in addition to the usual simple product characteristics (part type/current/power/resistance/color/materials, etc.) and manufacturer characteristics (name/location/contacts, etc.), a CRS of the invention allows searches by equivalency (for example, 10 ohm resistors that can all be used in a given shape or board configuration), prioritized equivalency (ordered by best option, where performance characteristics are varied or sources are constrained by preferred-source contracts), required association (one part needs a specific connector to function), or incompatibility (by performance or policy criteria). As a cross-product linkage example, a tabled system for pre-made assemblages of parts and components is developed for search or investigation.)
wherein the outputting information comprises displaying information on the at least one related product to the user on the user device display: wherein the displaying information on the at least one related product comprises displaying on the user device display at least one of the following: a stock-keeping unit (SKU) for the at least one related product, a buy online icon for the at least one related product, a datasheet icon for the at least one related product, and/or a parameter data listing for the at least one related product:
(see e.g. [0084] FIG. 14 is a display screen of search results by product name (e.g., a resistor) according to an embodiment of the present invention. Searches may be performed using any characteristics, features and/or functions of an item of a subject, such as in case of electronic parts a product manufacturer, a product description, and a manufacturer's part number. Searching using the product description field 552 based upon characteristics, features and/or functions of the item improves speed and accuracy of information search results based upon data from different data sources.
[0097] The database service can provide complete multi-source supply management solutions for the electronics component industry, including product identification, procurement, lead time and availability for companies using the system. Each user, from a single engineer looking for a part to a company looking for improved vendor communications, can gain significant value in using the service.
and wherein the database stores at least one of the following: a stock-keeping unit (SKU) for the at least one related product, a datasheet for the at least one related product, and/or a parameter data listing for the at least one related product.
(see e.g. [0044] For example, in case of the electronic parts/component, possible domains can include all the physical features involving how electricity flows through a specified electronic part (current, voltage, resistance, capacitance, etc.) as well as any manufacturer-specific characteristics (materials, plating, color, markings, size/shape dimensions, etc). This approach is unique in having organized characteristics, features and/or functions in a fashion that exhaustively might be needed for identifying and selecting a particular electronic part, while efficiently reducing the domains, or number of allowed levels, for each characteristic, feature and/or function describing an electronic part, so that "same" or "different" are meaningful to all possible end users of the electronic parts, such as engineers, testers, etc., that will use the data model (database system).
[0046] Because the data model 202 is designed based upon the higher level domains describing the characteristics, features and/or functions of the subject from many subject sources, the data model 202 can store data using repeated/shared fields (i.e., characteristic-feature-function-speci-fic fields).
Re-claim 8, Lissar et al., further teach a method for related product identification according to claim 1 wherein the reference electrical device data input comprises at least one of the following: a manufacturer name, a part number, multiple manufacturer names, a device type, and/or multiple part numbers. (see e.g. paragraph [0084] Searches may be performed using any characteristics, features and/or functions of an item of a subject, such as in case of electronic parts a product manufacturer, a product description, and a manufacturer's part number.
[0097] According to an embodiment of the invention, a database of electronic components, which are produced by many manufacturers, can be provided. Part number, technical specification, and photographs would list these parts where appropriate.).
Re-claim 12, Lissar et al. further teaches a method for related product identification according to claim 1 further comprising receiving the reference electrical component parameter input from the user from a parameter input portion of the user device, wherein the reference electrical component parameter input comprises at least one of the following:
a qualification, a drain-source on-state resistance, a drain-source voltage, a maximum drain current, a polarity, a minimum operating temperature, a maximum operating temperature, a pulsed drain current, a DC body diode forward current, a pulsed body diode current, a gate-source voltage, a maximum transient voltage, a recommended turn-off gate voltage, a short-circuit withstand time, a power dissipation, a virtual junction temperature, a storage temperature, a soldering temperature, a body diode thermal resistance, a junction - case, thermal resistance, a body diode forward voltage, a gate-source threshold voltage, a zero gate voltage drain current, a gate-source leakage current, a transconductance, an internal gate resistance, an input capacitance, an output capacitance, a reverse capacitance, a stored energy, a total gate charge, a gate to source charge, a gate to drain charge, a turn-on delay time, a rise time, a turn- off delay time, a fall time, a turn-on energy, a turn-off energy, a total switching energy, a diode reverse recovery charge, a diode peak reverse recovery current, a device resistance, a device capacitance, device resonant points, an inductance, transfer data, a transfer function, data representative of an independent scalar input versus a dependent scalar output, parametric data, a device transfer curve, time domain waveforms, static losses, dynamic losses, and/or a drain-source current.
(see e.g. [0061] The users at client computers 110 can, online, for example, via the Internet, retrieve and/or interact with information from a database system 215 designed and implemented according to the normalization 200 for a category of items.
[0064] FIG. 5 illustrates table diagrams for electronic parts according to an embodiment of the invention. Using the electronic parts subject example, when entering electronic parts into a database to be used for an online parts locator search engine 505, parts records can be pre-entered from several companies in the database 510 or some records have already been entered. The parts being entered can have many fields (data elements) that describe each part. For example, voltage, current, heat production, x-dimension, y-dimension, z-dimension, pin configuration, material, color, resistance, capacitance, name, description, and manufacturer.)
Re-claim 13, Lissar et al. teach the method for related product identification according to claim 1 further comprising: capturing parametric tables of the related products directly from manufacturer websites; modifying data associated with the parametric tables of the related products to generate the related product data to utilize the device matching criteria and ensure accurate comparisons and matching; and updating the database with the related product data,
(see e.g. [0100] An intelligent web crawler (a database transformation application 515) reads each manufacturer or distributor web site to download the data from their web site. The web crawler is programmed with the Internet address for each manufacturer or distributors web site. It is then programmed with a schedule or interval to download the information available on that web site. The web crawler `pulls` all of the data available from the manufacturer or distributors web site and places it into directories within a central web site (cross reference system), such as a web site developed and managed by ElecDECom assignee of the present invention. This data is then `indexed` using the invention's content index and `parsed` into the database 510 using a web site parser.
[0102] As items are added to either the central web site or the database 510 the content index automatically updates its structures to include the new data. The normalization 200 allows incorporation of varying searching for data access, for example, via part name and component, via a product name, generic name and common name, and via a full text search of all of the words and phrases in the database.
[0105] All database components are 100% scaleable with no practical size limitations. The database 510 is programmed to scale to multiple servers and multiple sites with automatic update. Data entry can be from all sources and can be conducted both on-line and on-networl).
-- wherein the reference electrical device data input comprises at least one of the following: keyed in data, data selection by drop-down boxes, data selection by selection from a list, data selection by a drop-down list, data selection by radio buttons, voice recognition input data, image input data, and/or machine-readable code input data.
(see e.g. [0051] For manual keyboard data entry, input from correct electronic-part type input forms would be required. For optical character recognition input (OCR), there is an initial stage of checking quality and nature of data conversion from the digital image prior to evaluation as machine-readable data.
[0029] FIG. 9 is a display screen to start the data entry for items to be placed in a database according to an embodiment of the present invention.
[0071] Intelligent data entry (as well as intelligent search on the search side) is accomplished by reading data from the previously entered and validated similar fields and comparing the data with data input for the record being entered.
[0076] In FIG. 4, the parser 515, which is in communication with the data entry application 500, can speed data entry by providing an alternative automatic data entry from multiple subject sources in addition to the manual data entry of the data entry application 500. The parser 515 data entry approach uses the data model for (thought to) the data entry application 500 as follows. Advantageously, by using the data entry application 500, data read from the pages can be pre-compared according to the pre-comparing process of the data entry application 500, thereby allowing dynamic normalization 200 via dynamic data normalization 202 at operation 700 when page models are generated, dynamic domain-range reduction 205 when at operation 710 the page model is verified, and dynamic validation measures 210 when at operation 710 the page model is verified.)
Re-claims 15, 16, Lissar et al. teach the method for related product identification according to claim 1 further comprising: implementing artificial intelligence to determine the at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference device,
(see e.g. [0011] The present invention provides an expert data model system to design a data model (modeling a database structure) for a subject with very large number of data elements (fields/domains) that describe the subject, to intelligently validate existing data (data related to the subject), to intelligently enter the existing data into the database, to intelligently search the database and provide any information based on the entered data, and to substantially increase data integrity, including database search speed, efficiency, and effectiveness. For example, an expert data model system according to the present invention can provide information relating to any set of items (any subject/item category) with very large number of elements, such as (without limitation) electronic parts and components,
[0044 0045] [0047] Intelligent searches are performed when using such overlapping domains. Using the capacitor and the resistor example, the capacitor domains typically include capacitance (farads), resistance (ohms), current (amps), potential difference (voltage), whereas the resistor includes all of these as well. For the capacitor, capacitance is most important electronic attribute, in addition to type of capacitor (prong vs. tape, barrel vs. upright, etc). For the resistor, resistance is most important, in addition to type of resistor.
[0072] In FIG. 4, the data entry process 500 can further comprise an artificially intelligent data transformation application/tool 515 to read a given data structure and intelligently reformat the data into a new data structure. In particular, for example, the transformation tool 515 can read data from pre-existing databases 520, which store, according to traditional data models, data of subjects to be modeled from any subject sources in a new database 510 of the invention. Advantageously, the transformation tool 515 can intelligently automatically distribute data read from the pre-existing database 520 into fields of the database 510. --Thus, a search under capacitors and type of capacitor includes capacitance as primary and the other domains as secondary. For resistors and specific types of resistors, the resistance is primary and other domains secondary.)
wherein the outputting information on the at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter further comprises displaying at least one of the following: a stock-keeping unit (SKU) for the at least one related product, a buy online icon for the at least one related product, a datasheet icon for the at least one related product, and/or a parameter data listing for the at least one related product. (see e.g.
and wherein the database stores at least one of the following: a stock-keeping unit (SKU) for the at least one related product, a datasheet for the at least one related product, and/or a parameter data listing for the at least one related product.
(see e.g. [0044] For example, in case of the electronic parts/component, possible domains can include all the physical features involving how electricity flows through a specified electronic part (current, voltage, resistance, capacitance, etc.) as well as any manufacturer-specific characteristics (materials, plating, color, markings, size/shape dimensions, etc). This approach is unique in having organized characteristics, features and/or functions in a fashion that exhaustively might be needed for identifying and selecting a particular electronic part, while efficiently reducing the domains, or number of allowed levels, for each characteristic, feature and/or function describing an electronic part, so that "same" or "different" are meaningful to all possible end users of the electronic parts, such as engineers, testers, etc., that will use the data model (database system).
[0046] Because the data model 202 is designed based upon the higher level domains describing the characteristics, features and/or functions of the subject from many subject sources, the data model 202 can store data using repeated/shared fields (i.e., characteristic-feature-function-speci- fic fields),
---the method for related product identification according to claim 2 , wherein: the at least one processor comprises a processor implemented by a cross- reference system that comprises the database; and the processor implemented by the cross-reference system connects to the device over a network. (see e.g. (see e.g. [0049] More particularly, the data normalization 202 allows building a product cross reference system, for example, a dynamic competitor product cross reference system (a product class structure), by allowing parameterized (parametric) data searches across various types and/or different subject sources (i.e., different data sources, such as different manufacturers, different databases, etc., and various types of data sources, such as end-users, third party suppliers, testers, etc.) because initial data of the subject from any subject source is converted into the input forms describing the subject as a collection of domains (dynamic rule sets) at a higher level of abstraction than each subject source.)
Re-claim 17, Lissar et al. teach the method for related product identification according to claim 2, wherein the device comprises an internet enabled device that comprises a processor implemented as the at least one processor.
(see e.g. [0039] In FIG. 1, the example embodiment is a networked client-server system 100 in which client system(s) 110 communicate with web server(s) 115a-n and database servers 120a-n via network(s) 105 using conventional Internet communication protocols and Internet document management techniques for data communication and user interface, such as Hyper Text Transfer Protocol Secure (HTTPS), Hyper Text Markup Language (HTML), and Extensible Markup Language (XML).
Claim 51 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 101 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 106 recites similar limitations as claim 8 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 112 recites similar limitations as claim 8 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 3-6, 10, 102-105, 107-111, 113 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lissar et al. (US 20040088283 A1), in view of Bromley et al. (US 10043222 B1), in further view of Xu et al. (CN 109255664 A).
Re-claim 3, Lissar et al. teach --displaying information on the at least one related product and the second at least one related product to the user on the user device display;
wherein the displaying information on the at least one related product and the second at least one related product comprises displaying to the user on the user device display at least one of the following: a stock-keeping unit (SKU) for the at least one related product, a buy online icon for the at least one related product, a datasheet icon for the at least one related product, and/or a parameter data listing for the at least one related product. wherein the database stores at least one of the following: a stock-keeping unit (SKU) for the at least one related product, a datasheet for the at least one related product, and/or a parameter data listing for the at least one related product.
(see e.g. (see e.g. [0044], [0046]).
--[0084] FIG. 14 is a display screen of search results by product name (e.g., a resistor) according to an embodiment of the present invention. Searches may be performed using any characteristics, features and/or functions of an item of a subject, such as in case of electronic parts a product manufacturer, a product description, and a manufacturer's part number. Searching using the product description field 552 based upon characteristics, features and/or functions of the item improves speed and accuracy of information search results based upon data from different data sources.)
Lissar et al., in view of Bromley et al., do not explicitly teach the limitations as claimed.
However Xu et al. teach determining with the at least one processor utilizing the device matching criteria a second at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input comprising a parameter greater than or less than the reference electrical component parameter input; and
(see e.g. page 3, 6 -receiving the product demand to be selection input by the user; finding the closest to the requirements of the product to be selection of existing product type data and the corresponding evaluation; when the evaluation is matched, then automatically select the existing product requirements of the product to be selection of model data. ----if searching the closest existing refrigeration equipment corresponding to the evaluation type data of the existing refrigeration device match, then automatically selecting product demand to be selection of the closest. ---existing refrigeration device closest to if searching out the corresponding evaluation is not matched, then further judging whether the existing refrigeration device type of the closest data relative to the actual use condition is large or small, is adjusted based on the type data of the existing product according to the judging result, and automatically selecting the type of data adjusted to be selection of product demand. such as refrigeration demand of the user is 16, the existing refrigeration equipment lowest temperature only can reach 17 degree, the type data is small relative to its use condition, need more refrigeration equipment, the proper type of product type selection to adjust. ---Because the existing refrigeration device searching the closest product requirement thereof provided with multiple is selected, Jiu-jing is most close to the building area or selected temperature, as the final result most close to the humidity environment, may demand setting weight for each product, product
requirement high priority selection and the weight closest to the current product type data and the corresponding evaluation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lissar et al., in view of Bromley et al., and include the features taught by Xu et al., in order to provide a more comprehensive range of product selection, so as to provide more accurate selection scheme, and also reduce the cost to the user (see e.g. page 4).
Re-claim 4, Lissar et al., in view of Bromley et al., do not explicitly teach the limitations as claimed.
However Xu et al. teach the method for related product identification according to claim 3 ---wherein the reference electrical component parameter input comprises a plurality of parameter inputs: wherein the plurality of parameter inputs are configured to receive a selection priority and/or a weighting priority of each of the plurality of parameter inputs:wherein the method further comprises:
receiving with the at least one processor the plurality of parameter inputs from the user with the user device:
receiving with the at least one processor a selection priority and/or a weighting priority from the user with the user device: and searching and determining with the at least one processor utilizing the device matching criteria at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input, the plurality of parameter inputs, and the selection priority and/or the weighting priority:
– (see e.g. pages 3, 4-- Preferably, the requirement of product is provided with multiple, requirement setting weight for each product, product requirement high priority selection and the weight closest to the current product type data and the corresponding evaluation.
Because the existing refrigeration device searching the closest product requirement thereof provided with multiple is selected, Jiu-jing is most close to the building area or selected temperature, as the final result most close to the humidity environment, may demand setting weight for each product, product requirement high priority selection and the weight closest to the current product type data and the corresponding evaluation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lissar et al., in view of Bromley et al., and include the features taught by Xu et al., in order to provide a more comprehensive range of product selection, so as to provide more accurate selection scheme, and also reduce the cost to the user (see e.g. page 4).
wherein the second at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input comprising a parameter greater than or less than the reference electrical component parameter input; and
wherein the second at least one related product comprises a next closest match to the reference device data input and the electrical component parameter input. (see e.g. page 3, 6 -receiving the product demand to be selection input by the user; finding the closest to the requirements of the product to be selection of existing product type data and the corresponding evaluation; when the evaluation is matched, then automatically select the existing product requirements of the product to be selection of model data. ----if searching the closest existing refrigeration equipment corresponding to the evaluation type data of the existing refrigeration device match, then automatically selecting product demand to be selection of the closest. ---existing refrigeration device closest to if searching out the corresponding evaluation is not matched, then further judging whether the existing refrigeration device type of the closest data relative to the actual use condition is large or small, is adjusted based on the type data of the existing product according to the judging result, and automatically selecting the type of data adjusted to be selection of product demand. such as refrigeration demand of the user is 16, the existing refrigeration equipment lowest temperature only can reach 17 degree, the type data is small relative to its use condition, need more refrigeration equipment, the proper type of product type selection to adjust. ---Because the existing refrigeration device searching the closest product requirement thereof provided with multiple is selected, Jiu-jing is most close to the building area or selected temperature, as the final result most close to the humidity environment, may demand setting weight for each product, product requirement high priority selection and the weight closest to the current product type data and the corresponding evaluation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lissar et al., in view of Bromley et al., and include the features taught by Xu et al., in order to provide a more comprehensive range of product selection, so as to provide more accurate selection scheme, and also reduce the cost to the user (see e.g. page 4).
Re-claim 5, Lissar et al. teach wherein the outputting information on the second at least one related product comprises displaying at least one of the following: a stock-keeping unit (SKU) for the at least one related product, a buy online icon for the at least one related product, a datasheet icon for the at least one related product, and/or a parameter data listing for the at least one related product. (see e.g. [0044], [0046]).
Lissar et al., in view of Bromley et al., do not teach the following limitations.
However, Xu et al. teach -the method for related product identification according to claim 1--wherein the outputting information on the at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input further comprises displaying information to the user on the user device on a second at least one related product that has a next closest match to the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input (see e.g. page 3, 6 -receiving the product demand to be selection input by the user; finding the closest to the requirements of the product to be selection of existing product type data and the corresponding evaluation; when the evaluation is matched, then automatically select the existing product requirements of the product to be selection of model data. ----if searching the closest existing refrigeration equipment corresponding to the evaluation type data of the existing refrigeration device match, then automatically selecting product demand to be selection of the closest. ---existing refrigeration device closest to if searching out the corresponding evaluation is not matched, then further judging whether the existing refrigeration device type of the closest data relative to the actual use condition is large or small, is adjusted based on the type data of the existing product according to the judging result, and automatically selecting the type of data adjusted to be selection of product demand. such as refrigeration demand of the user is 16, the existing refrigeration equipment lowest temperature only can reach 17 degree, the type data is small relative to its use condition, need more refrigeration equipment, the proper type of product type selection to adjust. ---Because the existing refrigeration device searching the closest product requirement thereof provided with multiple is selected, Jiu-jing is most close to the building area or selected temperature, as the final result most close to the humidity environment, may demand setting weight for each product, product requirement high priority selection and the weight closest to the current product type data and the corresponding evaluation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lissar et al., in view of Bromley et al., and include the features taught by Xu et al., in order to provide a more comprehensive range of product selection, so as to provide more accurate selection scheme, and also reduce the cost to the user (see e.g. page 4).
Re-claim 6, Lissar et al., further in view of Xu et al. teach the limitations as seen in claim 3 above. The third related products is an obvious variation of Lissar et al., further in view of Xu et al., since multiple components are displayed as search results.
Re-claim 10, Lissar et al., in view of Bromley et al., do not explicitly teach the limitations as claimed.
However Xu et a. teach the method for related product identification according to claim 1 wherein the reference electrical component parameter input comprises a plurality of parameter inputs; wherein the plurality of parameter inputs are configured to receive a selection priority and/or a weighting priority of each of the plurality of parameter
and wherein the method further comprises: receiving with the at least one processor the plurality of parameter inputs from the user with the user device: receiving with the at least one processor a selection priority and/or a weighting priority from the user with the user device: and searching and determining with the at least one processor utilizing the device matching criteria at least one related product that matches the reference electrical device data input, the plurality of parameter inputs, and the selection priority and/or the weighting priority.
– (see e.g. pages 3, 4-- Preferably, the requirement of product is provided with multiple, requirement setting weight for each product, product requirement high priority selection and the weight closest to the current product type data and the corresponding evaluation.
Because the existing refrigeration device searching the closest product requirement thereof provided with multiple is selected, Jiu-jing is most close to the building area or selected temperature, as the final result most close to the humidity environment, may demand setting weight for each product, product requirement high priority selection and the weight closest to the current product type data and the corresponding evaluation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Lissar et al., and include the features taught by Xu et al., in order to provide a more comprehensive range of product selection, so as to provide more accurate selection scheme, and also reduce the cost to the user (see e.g. page 4).
Claim 102 recites similar limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 103 recites similar limitations as claim 4 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 104 recites similar limitations as claim 5 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 105 recites similar limitations as claim 6 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 107 recites similar limitations as claim 10 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 108 recites similar limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 109 recites similar limitations as claim 10 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 110 recites similar limitations as claim 5 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 111 recites similar limitations as claim 6 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 113 recites similar limitations as claim 10 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12-13, 15-17, 51 and 101 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With respect to the 103 rejection, the argued references GUO and WAKAKO are no longer relied upon. After further review, it is noted that Lissar et al. teach the limitations as claimed. Please see the rejection.
With respect to the 101 rejection, Applicant's arguments merely rehash issues addressed in the Non Final Rejection mailed January 10, 2025 and incorporated herein. Please see the response to arguments from the Non Final dated 1/10/25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/26/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Most of Applicant’s remarks were addressed in the previous Advisory Actions.
1. Applicant’s argument
Further, Applicant directs Examiner's attention to the USPTO Subject Matter Eligibility Examples: Abstract Ideas, that states the "following examples should be used in conjunction with the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG). In particular, Example 37 provides further details of the analysis related to the example referenced in Section vi. In particular, Example 37 provides analysis for step 2A - Prong 2. The analysis being that: the claim recites the combination of additional elements of receiving, via a GUI, a user selection to organize each icon based on the amount of use of each icon, a processor for performing the determining step, and automatically moving the most used icons to a position on the GUI closest to the start icon of the computer system based on the determined amount of use. (Emphasis added)
Likewise, the disclosure teaches in the following paragraphs of the application as filed utilizing the publication paragraph numbering:
[0063]... receiving input data 104.
[0066]... the product cross-reference matching process 108 may determine at least one product that matches a manufacturer name, a part number, a parameter selection, multiple manufacturer names, multiple part numbers, multiple parameter selections, and/or the like received from the device 300.
"[0072]... the product cross-reference matching process 108 may automatically choose the right devices to recommend.
Likewise, claim 1 recites in pertinent part:
A method for related product identification comprising:...
receiving... input provided by a user...;
determining with the at least one processor utilizing the device matching criteria at least one related product that matches...;
automatically choosing with the at least one processor the at least one related product to recommend... being within a threshold amount... and... is functionally equivalent....
Independent system claim 51 and independent recording medium claim 101 include similar recitations.
Accordingly, for at least these reasons, claims 1, 51, and 101 are statutory.
Examiner’s response:
Example 37 specifically addresses determining the amount of use of each icon by tracking how much memory has been allocated to each application associated with each icon over a predetermined period of time. That claimed step cannot practically be performed in the human mind, at least because it requires a processor accessing computer memory indicative of application usage. The current application uses a processor to compare and output data.
2. Applicant’s argument
Moreover, the disclosed process, system, and device may enable a user to quickly find the closest product match, as well as at least the next closest product match with a parameter less than the desired value and the next closest product match with a parameter greater than the desired value.
Applicant asserts that this is a practical application.
Examiner’s response:
Relying on a computer to perform routine tasks more quickly or more accurately is insufficient to render a claim patent eligible. See Alice, (use of a computer to create electronic records, track multiple transactions, and issue simultaneous instructions" is not an inventive concept);
3.Applicant’s argument
Moreover, consistent with the Federal Circuit in Contour, the claims are patent eligible because the claims are directed to a technological solution to the technological problem.
The technological problem: "[0021] When selecting a product, finding the closest match from multiple suppliers (cross-referencing)... when two products have features and/or parameters that are substantially similar or different."
The technological solution to the technological problem: "[0021]... The disclosed process, system, and device may enable a user to quickly find the closest product match, as well as at least the next closest product match with a parameter less than and/or a parameter greater than the desired value. Moreover, the disclosed process, system, and device may enable a user to quickly find the closest product match, as well as at least the next closest product match with a parameter less than the desired value and the next closest product match with a parameter greater than the desired value."
Accordingly, for at least these reasons, claims 1, 51, and 101 are statutory.
Examiner’s response:
The above paragraphs highlight the problem Applicants seek to solve, which is enabling a user to quickly find the closest product match. It does use computer automation to solve the problem, but the problem is one of business inventory realm and uses computer technology as a solution, rather than solving a technical computer problem, or improving the performance of the computer itself.” The current invention does not disclose such an improvement in the claims or specification.
4. Applicant’s argument
The claims recite an application with, or by use of, a particular machine.
Examiner's Response:
The processor, claimed by Applicant as a particular machine, performs generic functions and is used as a tool. --The claims do not improve or impact performance of the processor. They are a process that qualifies as an abstract idea for which the processor is invoked as a tool.
5. Applicant’s argument
Accordingly, LISSAR teaches automatic entry of data "for the remaining as yet un- entered fields."
Applicant asserts that automatic entry does not relate to the claimed searching the database utilizing device matching criteria based on the reference electrical device data input and the reference electrical component parameter input of the reference electrical device; [and] determining... at least one related product that matches... within a threshold amount of the reference electrical component parameter of the reference electrical device."
LISSAR does not teach nor fairly disclose a "method for related product identification comprising:... receiving... a reference electrical device data input and a reference electrical component parameter input...;
Examiner’s response:
What Appicant describes above is the teaching of how the database is built and searched. Besides that teaching, Lissar et al. clearly teach that a part (resistor) is entered on a screen by a user to be searched in the database.
(see e.g. [0079] Thus, when any words or combination of words (search terms) are input to the search engine 505, the search terms are compared to "indexes" for the tables in the database being searched. If the input search terms match same or similar data in the indexes, then searched data is located.
[0106] The user interface 530 (see FIG. 4) is the component that provides the user interface to the central web site services. This is the `front end` for all the other components. The central web site service provides simple point and click access to any feature, as well as an intuitive feel for each type of user.
[0047] Intelligent searches are performed when using such overlapping domains. Using the capacitor and the resistor example, the capacitor domains typically include capacitance (farads), resistance (ohms), current (amps), potential difference (voltage), whereas the resistor includes all of these as well. For the capacitor, capacitance is most important electronic attribute, in addition to type of capacitor (prong vs. tape, barrel vs. upright, etc). For the resistor, resistance is most important, in addition to type of resistor. However, for example, a design engineer as an end-user typically knows other capacitor and resistor characteristics (voltage tolerances, current tolerances, etc.) as well. Thus, a search under capacitors and type of capacitor includes capacitance as primary and the other domains as secondary. For resistors and specific types of resistors, the resistance is primary and other domains secondary. Therefore, for capacitors, search by resistance is secondary and for resistors, search by capacitance is secondary.
Furthermove, Bromley et al. teach “ FIG. 2B illustrates successive screen shots of the graphical user interface 2020. In the first screen shot, a user has selected the characteristic “Value” from the available properties for a particular component. In the second screen shot, the user has additionally selected a “COST” property, leaving just “Level” and “RANK” properties as the available properties remaining for selection.” (see e.g. col. 10, lines 20-26).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Arnold et al. (US 20080189260 A1) --USE OF ASSOCIATE MEMORY LEARNING AGENT TECHNOLOGY TO IDENTIFY INTERCHANGEABLE PARTS IN PARTS CATALOGS.
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627 March 6, 2026