Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the amendment filed 1/29/2026 have been
considered and a new non-final issued.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 55 57-65,65,67-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier et al. (US 2019/0253976 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US20200084759A1) in further view of Chou et al. (US20160119846A1)
Regarding Claim 55, Pelletier teaches, A method in a wireless communication device, the method comprising: (wireless communication system-100, Fig 1A showing UEs 102(=202), base station 114 communicating via 116)
receiving, from a network node, an indication of useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device; ([105]- In an embodiment, the gNBs 180 a, 180 b, 180 c may implement carrier aggregation technology. For example, the gNB 180a (=network node) may transmit multiple component carriers (=useable frequencies in unlicensed spectrum) to the WTRU 102a). A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum. A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum (=unlicensed frequency) while the remaining component carriers may be on licensed spectrum.
Pelletier does not teach, selecting one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication; sending an indication of the selected one of the useable frequency to the network node;
Liu teaches, selecting one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication; ([167]- The UE 115 may then similarly tune to other frequencies(=select) during the gap 425-a to sense whether other channels are or clean or in-use.
sending an indication of the selected one of the useable frequency to the network node. Fig 1, [149]-The transmission timeline 400 illustrates communications using a frame structure that may conform to, for example, FBE regulations for shared or unlicensed radio frequency spectrum(=unlicensed frequency).
[167]-The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report(=indication) to the base station 105 indicating the results of the UE 115 measuring the other channels (=indication of selected frequencies) (i.e., a list of channels that the UE 115 may have sensed to be clean)
sending transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage; and [158]- However, because of the interfering transmissions 430, the UE may detect that these REs were received with a non-zero power, and thus the UE 115 may identify that the interference(= power level correspond to interference detected by UE).The UE 115 may then signal this interference to the base station in an IMR report in a subsequent uplink transmission(=sending transmitter power levels), for example, uplink transmission 420-a.[71]- the base station may search through potential radio frequency spectrum bands to identify channels that are unused and compile the unused (e.g., available) channels to maintain the list of clean channels that may be free from interference(=wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier selecting one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication; sending an indication of the selected one of the useable frequency to the network node as taught by Liu to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, receiving, from the network node, for each of the useable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency and receiving an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein the indication of the predetermined threshold is received from the network node in a same message as the indication of the useable frequencies
Chou teaches, receiving, from the network node, for each of the useable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a utilization level of that frequency Fig 6 [47]- the wireless entity 230 may receive traffic loading information (=a utilization level of that frequency).. a loading quantification value indicating the traffic loading indication (=indication of one or more of: a utilization level of that frequency) of a licensed spectrum of the BS 210(=receiving, from the network node,). “licensed spectrum “ - few bands(=frequency) within a spectrum as described in [49]- combination of parameters but not limited to signal strength for each bands(=for each of the useable frequencies) in the unlicensed spectrum, a sum of the received signal strengths for all bands in the unlicensed spectrum
and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency [59]- the wireless entity 230 may transmit and receive on the unlicensed spectrum using the cellular network with a contention-based mechanism in response to the compared result being that the traffic loading indication being larger than the second traffic loading threshold of the traffic loading thresholds.
and receiving an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the predetermined threshold in useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold.[51]- the wireless entity 230 may compare a traffic loading indication for the traffic loading information with traffic loading thresholds. Based on Fig 6 - the processing module 256 of the UE 250 would receive a signal command from the BS 210 through the receiving module 253 in para [55] (=receiving an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the predetermined threshold), compare an interference indication for the interference situation with interference thresholds. See also [56].
[57]- The BS 210 may further give signaling indications to its serving UEs 250 to search the wireless entity 230 by Access Network Discovery and Selection Function (ANDSF)/Radio Access Network (RAN) rules or other Wi-Fi searching protocol. (=useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu receiving, from the network node, for each of the useable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 57, Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 55, wherein selecting the one or more of the useable frequencies comprises selecting the one or more of the useable frequencies based on the level of interference, rank, channel load and/or number of other wireless communication devices for each of the useable frequencies.
Liu teaches, the method of claim 55, wherein selecting the one or more of the useable frequencies comprises selecting the one or more of the useable frequencies based on the level of interference, rank, channel load and/or number of other wireless communication devices for each of the useable frequencies. Fig 18 steps 1815-1825 detect interference from BS and switch to usable channel or frequency
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, The method of claim 55, wherein selecting the one or more of the useable frequencies comprises selecting the one or more of the useable frequencies based on the level of interference, rank, channel load and/or number of other wireless communication devices for each of the useable frequencies as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Regarding Claim 58, Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 55, wherein the method comprises measuring a level of interference or a utilization level on each of the selected one of the useable frequencies and sending an indication of the level of interference or the utilization level to the network node.
Liu teaches, The method of claim 55, wherein the method comprises measuring a level of interference or a utilization level on each of the selected one of the useable frequencies and sending an indication of the level of interference or the utilization level to the network node.Fig 18- steps 1815, 1820
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, The method of claim 55, wherein the method comprises measuring a level of interference or a utilization level on each of the selected one of the useable frequencies and sending an indication of the level of interference or the utilization level to the network node as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, one or more of the useable frequencies.
Chou teaches, one or more of the useable frequencies [42]- In the frequency division mechanism, the wireless entity 230 may select a particular band for its operation, and the BS 210 would need to indicate the band information to avoid the UEs 250 performing blind search on the overall spectrum.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu one or more of the frequencies as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 59, Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 58, wherein sending an indication of the level of interference to the network node comprises sending the indication of the level of interference to the network node when the level of interference exceeds a predetermined threshold, the method further comprising receiving an indication of the predetermined threshold from the network node.
Liu teaches, The method of claim 58, wherein sending an indication of the level of interference to the network node comprises sending the indication of the level of interference to the network node when the level of interference exceeds a predetermined threshold, the method further comprising receiving an indication of the predetermined threshold from the network node.([257]- In some cases, the interference indication includes an indication of a SINR at the UE and detecting the interference is based on the SINR exceeding a SINR threshold.)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, The method of claim 55, wherein the method comprises measuring a level of interference or a utilization level on each of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies and sending an indication of the level of interference or the utilization level to the network node as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Regarding Claim 60, Pelletier teaches, the method of claim 55, comprising:
receiving an indication of a timer duration from the network node; and ([412 ] In certain embodiments , the WTRU may start an inactivity timer when it determines that a first transmission may be performed . The inactivity timer may be configured on the WTRU . The inactivity timer may be applied per group of transmissions .)
starting a timer on receipt of the indication of the useable frequencies([412]- The inactivity timer may be started from the time the WTRU receives the DCI , or at the time of the corresponding transmission);
and wherein sending the indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies
to the network node comprises sending the indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies before or when the timer reaches the timer duration.([412]- In another embodiment , if not running , the inactivity timer may be started for a first transmission a group of transmissions ; otherwise , the WTRU may restart the inactivity timer .)
Regarding Claim 61, Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 55, comprising, after sending the indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node, selecting a further one of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication, and sending an indication of the selected further one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node
Liu teaches, the method of claim 55, comprising, after sending the indication of the selected one of the useable frequencies to the network node, selecting a further one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication, and sending an indication of the selected further one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node.[167]- After sensing the other channels during the measurement gap, the UE 115 may retune to the original frequency at which the UE 115 was communicating with the base station 105 to further communicate with the base station 105.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, The method of claim 55, comprising, after sending the indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node, selecting a further one of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication, and sending an indication of the selected further one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, one or more of the useable frequencies.
Chou teaches, one or more of the useable frequencies [42]- In the frequency division mechanism, the wireless entity 230 may select a particular band for its operation, and the BS 210 would need to indicate the band information to avoid the UEs 250 performing blind search on the overall spectrum.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu one or more of the useable frequencies as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 62, Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 55, comprising, after selecting the one of the useable frequencies, sending, to the network node, one or more indications of a utilization level of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device
Liu teaches, The method of claim 55, comprising, after selecting the one or more of the useable frequencies, sending, to the network node, one or more indications of a utilization level of the selected one of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device.[194]- The UE 115-a may further generate one or more IMR reports in response to the trigger for the IMR report, as may have been received in the first downlink burst at 715. The IMR reports may indicate an amount of interference measured using the received IMR. In some cases, the IMR report may include a CSI report.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, The method of claim 55, comprising, after selecting the one of the useable frequencies, sending, to the network node, one or more indications of a utilization level of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, one or more of the useable frequencies.
Chou teaches, one or more of the useable frequencies [42]- In the frequency division mechanism, the wireless entity 230 may select a particular band for its operation, and the BS 210 would need to indicate the band information to avoid the UEs 250 performing blind search on the overall spectrum.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu one or more of the useable frequencies as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 63 , Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 55, comprising sending, to the network node, a request for an indication of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device, and wherein the indication of the useable frequencies is received in response to the request
Liu teaches, the method of claim 55, comprising sending, to the network node, a request for an indication of the useable frequency for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device, and wherein the indication of the useable frequencies is received in response to the request.Fig 17 steps 1720 to 1735
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, The method of claim 55, comprising sending, to the network node, a request for an indication of the useable frequency for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device, and wherein the indication of the useable frequencies is received in response to the request as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, useable frequencies.
Chou teaches, useable frequencies [42]- In the frequency division mechanism, the wireless entity 230 may select a particular band for its operation, and the BS 210 would need to indicate the band information to avoid the UEs 250 performing blind search on the overall spectrum.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu useable frequencies as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 64, Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 55, comprising: receiving, from the network node, an instruction to select an alternative one of the useable frequencies for wireless communication by the wireless communication device; and selecting the alternative one or more of the useable frequencies for wireless communication by the wireless communication device
Liu teaches, the method of claim 55, comprising: receiving, from the network node, an instruction to select an alternative one of the useable frequencies for wireless communication by the wireless communication device; and Fig 17 step 1735
selecting the alternative one of the useable frequencies for wireless communication by the wireless communication device.Fig 17 step 1740
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, the method of claim 55, comprising: receiving, from the network node, an instruction to select an alternative one of the useable frequencies for wireless communication by the wireless communication device; and selecting the alternative one or more of the useable frequencies for wireless communication by the wireless communication device as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, one or more of the useable frequencies.
Chou teaches, one or more of the useable frequencies [42]- In the frequency division mechanism, the wireless entity 230 may select a particular band for its operation, and the BS 210 would need to indicate the band information to avoid the UEs 250 performing blind search on the overall spectrum.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu one or more of the useable frequencies as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 65, Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 55, wherein the indication of the useable frequencies comprises an indication of one of: one or more useable frequency ranges; one or more useable channels; and one or more useable center frequencies
Liu teaches, The method of claim 55, wherein the indication of the useable frequencies comprises an indication of one of: one useable frequency ranges; one or more useable channels; and one or more useable center frequencies. Fig 17 step 1735,1740
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, the method of claim 55, wherein the indication of the useable frequencies comprises an indication of one or more of: one or more useable frequency ranges; one or more useable channels; and one or more useable center frequencies as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, one or more of the useable frequencies.
Chou teaches, one or more of the useable frequencies[42]- In the frequency division mechanism, the wireless entity 230 may select a particular band for its operation, and the BS 210 would need to indicate the band information to avoid the UEs 250 performing blind search on the overall spectrum.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu one or more of the useable frequencies as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 67, Pelletier teaches, the method of claim 55, wherein the wireless communication device comprises an access point or a base station.([73]- WTRUs 102c , 102d may implement a radio technology such as IEEE 802 . 15 to establish a wireless personal area network ( WPAN ) . In yet another embodiment , the base station 114b and the WTRUs 102c , 102d may utilize a cellular - based RAT ( e . g . , WCDMA , CDMA2000 , GSM , LTE , LTE - A , LTE - A Pro , NR etc. . ) to establish a picocell or femtocell . As shown in FIG . 1A , the base station 114b may have a direct connection to the Internet 110 .)
Regarding Claim 68, Pelletier teaches, A method in a network node, the method comprising: (wireless communication system-100, Fig 1A showing UEs 102(=202), base station 114 communicating via 116)
sending, to a wireless communication device, an indication of useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device; and ([105]- In an embodiment, the gNBs 180 a, 180 b, 180 c may implement carrier aggregation technology. For example, the gNB 180a(=network node) may transmit multiple component carriers(=useable frequencies in unlicensed spectrum) to the WTRU 102a). A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum. A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum(=unlicensed frequency) while the remaining component carriers may be on licensed spectrum.
Pelletier does not teach, receiving, from the wireless communication device, an indication of a selected one or more of the useable frequencies selected by the wireless communication device for unlicensed wireless communication; sending an indication of the selected one of the useable frequency to the network node.
Liu teaches, receiving, from the wireless communication device, an indication of a selected useable frequency selected by the wireless communication device for unlicensed wireless communication. ([167]- The UE 115 may then similarly tune to other frequencies(=select) during the gap 425-a to sense whether other channels are or clean or in-use.
sending an indication of the selected one of the useable frequency to the network node.Fig 1, [149]-The transmission timeline 400 illustrates communications using a frame structure that may conform to, for example, FBE regulations for shared or unlicensed radio frequency spectrum(=unlicensed frequency).
[167]-The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report(=indication) to the base station 105 indicating the results of the UE 115 measuring the other channels(=indication of selected frequencies) (i.e., a list of channels that the UE 115 may have sensed to be clean)
sending transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage; and [158]- However, because of the interfering transmissions 430, the UE may detect that these REs were received with a non-zero power, and thus the UE 115 may identify that the interference(= power level correspond to interference detected by UE).The UE 115 may then signal this interference to the base station in an IMR report in a subsequent uplink transmission(=sending transmitter power levels), for example, uplink transmission 420-a.[71]- the base station may search through potential radio frequency spectrum bands to identify channels that are unused and compile the unused (e.g., available) channels to maintain the list of clean channels that may be free from interference(=wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier sending transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage; ;receiving from the wireless communication device, an indication of a selected one or more of the useable frequencies selected by the wireless communication device for unlicensed wireless communication; sending an indication of the selected one of the useable frequency to the network node as taught by Liu to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, , to the wireless communication device, for each of the useable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; and a utilization level of that frequency; and sending an indication of predetermined threshold to the wireless communication device, wherein the indication of the predetermined threshold is sent to the wireless communication device in a same message as the indication of the useable frequencies.
Chou teaches, sending, to the wireless communication device, for each of the useable frequencies, an indication of one or more of a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency; Fig 6 [47]- the wireless entity 230 may receive traffic loading information (=a utilization level of that frequency).. a loading quantification value indicating the traffic loading indication (=indication of one or more of: a utilization level of that frequency) of a licensed spectrum of the BS 210(=receiving, from the network node,). “licensed spectrum “ - few bands(=frequency) within a spectrum as described in [49]- combination of parameters but not limited to signal strength for each bands(=for each of the useable frequencies) in the unlicensed spectrum, a sum of the received signal strengths for all bands in the unlicensed spectrum.
and a utilization level of that frequency Fig 6 [47]- the wireless entity 230 may receive traffic loading information of a licensed spectrum of the BS 210(=receiving, from the network node,)… the traffic loading information may be corresponding to at least one of or a combination of parameters but not limited to the number of UEs 250 connected with the BS 210, a loading quantification value indicating the traffic loading indication(=an indication of one or more of: a utilization level of that frequency)
and sending an indication of predetermined threshold to the wireless communication device, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold [51]- the wireless entity 230 may compare a traffic loading indication for the traffic loading information with traffic loading thresholds. Based on Fig 6 - the processing module 256 of the UE 250 would receive a signal command from the BS 210 through the receiving module 253 in para [55] (=receiving an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the predetermined threshold), compare an interference indication for the interference situation with interference thresholds. See also [56]. [57]- The BS 210 may further give signaling indications to its serving UEs 250 to search the wireless entity 230 by Access Network Discovery and Selection Function (ANDSF)/Radio Access Network (RAN) rules or other Wi-Fi searching protocol. (=useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu and sending, to the wireless communication device, for each of the useable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; and a utilization level of that frequency; and sending an indication of predetermined threshold to the wireless communication device, wherein the indication of the predetermined threshold is sent to the wireless communication device in a same message as the indication of the useable frequencies as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 69,Pelletier teaches, The method of claim 68, comprising, before sending the indication of the useable frequencies to the wireless communication device, determining the useable frequencies from available frequencies, wherein determining the useable frequencies from available frequencies is based on one or more of, for each of the available frequencies: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; ([86]- The full duplex radio may include an interference management unit 139 to reduce and or substantially eliminate self - interference via either hardware ( e.g. , a choke ) or signal processing via a processor.
Pelletier does not teach, a utilization level of that frequency at the wireless communication device; and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency.
Liu teaches, a utilization level of that frequency at the wireless communication device; and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency (Fig 18 steps 1815-1825 detect interference from BS and switch to usable channel or frequency
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, a utilization level of that frequency at the wireless communication device; and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Regarding Claim 70, Pelletier teaches, the method of claim 68, further comprising:
determining the number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device based on the selected one or more frequencies selected by each of the one or more further wireless communication device and the location for each of the one or more further wireless communication device. (Fig 1C, [0171] As there is a large available bandwidth of unlicensed spectrum , carrier selection is required for LAA nodes to select the carriers with low interference and that achieve good co - existence with other unlicensed spectrum deployments.[105]- The gNBs 180a , 1800 , 180c may each include one or more transceivers for communicating with the WTRUs 102a , 102b , 102c over the air interface 116).
Pelletier does not teach, receiving, from each of at least one further wireless communication device, an indication of a selected one or more frequencies selected by the further wireless communication device for wireless communication and a location of the further wireless communication device; and determining the number of other wireless communication devices
Liu teaches, receiving, from each of at least one further wireless communication device, an indication of a selected one or more frequencies selected by the further wireless communication device for wireless communication and a location of the further wireless communication device; and determining the number of other wireless communication devices and[188], Fig 7- The process flow may illustrate an example of the UE 115-a and the base station 105-a detecting, signaling, and mitigating interference from interfering transmissions, for example, a sequence of probe signals.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, receiving, from each of at least one further wireless communication device, an indication of a selected one or more frequencies selected by the further wireless communication device for wireless communication and a location of the further wireless communication device; and determining the number of other wireless communication devices as taught by Liu to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 71, Pelletier does not teach, The method of claim 68, comprising: receiving, from each of at least one further wireless communication device, a message comprising an indication of a selected one or more frequencies selected by the further wireless communication device for wireless communication and a location of the further wireless communication device; and sending, to the wireless communication device, an instruction to select an alternative one or more of the useable frequencies for wireless communication by the wireless communication device in response to the receiving
Liu teaches, the method of claim 68, comprising: receiving, from each of at least one further wireless communication device, a message comprising an indication of a selected one frequencies selected by the further wireless communication device for wireless communication and a location of the further wireless communication device; and Fig 7,[196]- the UE 115-a may transmit to the base station 105-a, and the base station 105-a may receive from the UE 115-a, an ACK or a NACK, where the ACK or the NACK includes the interference indication. In some cases, the base station 105-a may receive one or more NACKs from one or more further UEs 115.
sending, to the wireless communication device, an instruction to select an alternative one of the useable frequencies for wireless communication by the wireless communication device in response to the receiving. [199]- At 745, the UE 115-a may optionally sense the second channel during the measurement gap, for example, based at least in part on the measurement gap configuration, to generate a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, The method of claim 68, comprising: receiving, from each of at least one further wireless communication device, a message comprising an indication of a selected one frequencies selected by the further wireless communication device for wireless communication and a location of the further wireless communication device; and sending, to the wireless communication device, an instruction to select an alternative one or more of the useable frequencies for wireless communication by the wireless communication device in response to the receiving as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Regarding Claim 72, Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 71, wherein the message from each of the at least one further wireless communication device indicates that the further wireless communication device is experiencing interference on the selected one or more frequencies selected by the further wireless communication device, and
the method comprises determining that the wireless communication device is causing the interference, and wherein sending the instruction to the wireless communication device to select the alternative one or more of the useable frequencies is performed in response to determining that the wireless device is causing the interference.
Liu teaches, the method of claim 71, wherein the message from each of the at least one further wireless communication device indicates that the further wireless communication device is experiencing interference on the selected one or more frequencies selected by the further wireless communication device, and[197]- In some cases, the UE 115-a may further transmit to the base station 105-a, and the base station 105-a may receive from the UE 115-a, one or more IMR reports, as the UE 115-a may have generated at 720. In some cases, the IMR reports may be, or be included in, the interference indication.
the method comprises determining that the wireless communication device is causing the interference, and wherein sending the instruction to the wireless communication device to select the alternative one or more of the useable frequencies is performed in response to determining that the wireless device is causing the interference.[199]- At 745, the UE 115-a may optionally sense the second channel during the measurement gap, for example, based at least in part on the measurement gap configuration, to generate a measurement report.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, the method of claim 71, wherein the message from each of the at least one further wireless communication device indicates that the further wireless communication device is experiencing interference on the selected one or more frequencies selected by the further wireless communication device, and the method comprises determining that the wireless communication device is causing the interference, and wherein sending the instruction to the wireless communication device to select the alternative one or more of the useable frequencies is performed in response to determining that the wireless device is causing the interference as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Regarding Claim 73, Pelletier teaches, the method of claim 68, comprising:
receiving, from a further wireless communication device, a request for an indication of wireless communication devices nearby the further wireless communication device; and ([171 ] As there is a large available bandwidth of unlicensed spectrum , carrier selection is required for LAA nodes to select the carriers with low interference and that achieve good co - existence with other unlicensed spectrum deployments).
sending, to the further wireless communication device, the indication of one or more wireless communication devices nearby the further wireless communication device,([66]- . The base station 114a may be part of the RAN 104 / 113 , which may also include other base stations and / or network elements ( not shown ) , such as a base station controller ( BSC ) , a radio network controller ( RNC ) , relay nodes , etc. For example , beamforming may be used to transmit and / or receive signals in desired spatial directions .)
wherein the indication of one or more wireless communication devices nearby the further wireless communication device includes a location of the one or more wireless communication devices; and/or([174]-[176]- RRM Measurements Including Cell Identification 10175 ] Radio resource management ( RRM ) measurements including cell identification enable mobility between SCell and robust operation in the unlicensed band)
the request indicates one or more frequencies used by the further wireless communication device, and the indication of one or more wireless communication devices nearby the further wireless communication device indicates one or more wireless communication devices nearby the further wireless communication device that use the frequencies used by the further wireless communication device.([67]-[[71]- For example , the base station 114a in the RAN 104 / 113 and the WTRUS 102a , 102b , 102c may implement a radio technology such as Universal Mobile Telecommunications System ( UMTS ) Terrestrial Radio Access ( UTRA ) , which may establish the air interface 115 / 116 / 117 using wideband CDMA ( WCDMA ) . WCDMA may include communication protocols such as High - Speed Packet Access ( HSPA ) and / or Evolved HSPA ( HSPA + ) .
Regarding Claim 75, Pelletier teaches, The method of claim 68, comprising receiving a request from an additional wireless communication device, and sending to the additional wireless communication device in response to the request an additional indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the additional wireless communication device; ([86]- The full duplex radio may include an interference management unit 139 to reduce and or substantially eliminate self - interference via either hardware ( e . g . , a choke ) or signal processing via a processor.
and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the additional wireless communication device. ([0171 ] As there is a large available bandwidth of unlicensed spectrum , carrier selection is required for LAA nodes to select the carriers with low interference and that achieve good co - existence with other unlicensed spectrum deployments).
Regarding Claim 76, Pelletier does not teach, the method of claim 68, comprising receiving, for each of the useable frequencies, from the wireless communication device and/or one or more further wireless communication device, an indication of the level of interference on that frequency and/or an indication of the utilization level of that frequency by the wireless communication device and/or one or more further wireless communication device.
Liu teaches, the method of claim 68, comprising receiving, for each of the useable frequencies, from the wireless communication device and/or one or more further wireless communication device, an indication of the level of interference on that frequency and/or an indication of the utilization level of that frequency by the wireless communication device and/or one or more further wireless communication device. Fig 18 steps 1815-1825 detect interference from BS and switch to usable channel or frequency
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, The method of claim 68, comprising receiving, for each of the useable frequencies, from the wireless communication device and/or one or more further wireless communication device, an indication of the level of interference on that frequency and/or an indication of the utilization level of that frequency by the wireless communication device and/or one or more further wireless communication device as taught by Liu to use interference from multiple devices to adjust power levels.
Regarding Claim 77, Pelletier teaches, the method of claim 68, comprising: sending an indication of a timer duration to the wireless communication device; ([0412 ] In certain embodiments , the WTRU may start an inactivity timer when it determines that a first transmission may be performed . The inactivity timer may be configured on the WTRU . The inactivity timer may be applied per group of transmissions .)
and wherein receiving the indication of the selected one of the useable frequencies from the wireless communication device comprises receiving the indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies before or when a timer reaches the timer duration. ([412]- The inactivity timer may be started from the time the WTRU receives the DCI , or at the time of the corresponding transmission. [412]- In another embodiment , if not running , the inactivity timer may be started for a first transmission a group of transmissions ; otherwise , the WTRU may restart the inactivity timer .)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier and wherein receiving the indication of the selected one of the useable frequencies from the wireless communication device comprises receiving the indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies before or when a timer reaches the timer duration as taught by Liu to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 78, Pelletier teaches, an apparatus in a wireless communication device, wherein the apparatus comprises a processor and a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processor such that the apparatus is configured to: disclosed embodiments may be implemented ; [ 0050 ] FIG . 1B is a system diagram illustrating an example wireless transmit / receive unit ( WTRU ) that may be used within the communications system illustrated in FIG . 1A according to an embodiment ;
receive, from a network node, an indication of useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device; ([105]- In an embodiment, the gNBs 180 a, 180 b, 180 c may implement carrier aggregation technology. For example, the gNB 180a(=network node) may transmit multiple component carriers(=useable frequencies in unlicensed spectrum) to the WTRU 102a). A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum. A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum(=unlicensed frequency) while the remaining component carriers may be on licensed spectrum.
Pelletier does not teach, select one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication; send an indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node;
Liu teaches, select one of the useable frequency for unlicensed wireless communication; and ([149]-The transmission timeline 400 illustrates communications using a frame structure that may conform to, for example, FBE regulations for shared or unlicensed radio frequency spectrum (=unlicensed frequency [167]- The UE 115 may then similarly tune to other frequencies(=select) during the gap 425-a to sense whether other channels are or clean or in-use.
send an indication of the selected one of the useable frequency to the network node. [149]-The transmission timeline 400 illustrates communications using a frame structure that may conform to, for example, FBE regulations for shared or unlicensed radio frequency spectrum (=unlicensed frequency).
[167]-The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report(=indication) to the base station 105 indicating the results of the UE 115 measuring the other channels (=indication of selected frequencies) (i.e., a list of channels that the UE 115 may have sensed to be clean)
sending transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage; and [158]- However, because of the interfering transmissions 430, the UE may detect that these REs were received with a non-zero power, and thus the UE 115 may identify that the interference(= power level correspond to interference detected by UE).The UE 115 may then signal this interference to the base station in an IMR report in a subsequent uplink transmission(=sending transmitter power levels), for example, uplink transmission 420-a.[71]- the base station may search through potential radio frequency spectrum bands to identify channels that are unused and compile the unused (e.g., available) channels to maintain the list of clean channels that may be free from interference(=wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier sending transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage; select one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication; send an indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node as taught by Liu to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, send transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage; wherein the memory contains instructions executable by the processor such that the apparatus is further configured to receive, from the network node, for each of the usable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency and receive an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein the indication of the predetermined threshold is received from the network node in a same message as the indication of the useable frequencies.
Chou teaches, wherein the memory contains instructions executable by the processor such that the apparatus is further configured to receive, from the network node, for each of the usable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of a utilization level of that frequency Fig 6 [47]- the wireless entity 230 may receive traffic loading information (=a utilization level of that frequency).. a loading quantification value indicating the traffic loading indication (=indication of one or more of: a utilization level of that frequency) of a licensed spectrum of the BS 210(=receiving, from the network node,). “licensed spectrum “ - few bands(=frequency) within a spectrum as described in [49]- combination of parameters but not limited to signal strength for each bands(=for each of the useable frequencies) in the unlicensed spectrum, a sum of the received signal strengths for all bands in the unlicensed spectrum
and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency, and [59]- the wireless entity 230 may transmit and receive on the unlicensed spectrum using the cellular network with a contention-based mechanism in response to the compared result being that the traffic loading indication being larger than the second traffic loading threshold of the traffic loading thresholds.
receive an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold. [51]- the wireless entity 230 may compare a traffic loading indication for the traffic loading information with traffic loading thresholds. Based on Fig 6 - the processing module 256 of the UE 250 would receive a signal command from the BS 210 through the receiving module 253 in para [55] (=receiving an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the predetermined threshold), compare an interference indication for the interference situation with interference thresholds. See also [56]. [57]- The BS 210 may further give signaling indications to its serving UEs 250 to search the wireless entity 230 by Access Network Discovery and Selection Function (ANDSF)/Radio Access Network (RAN) rules or other Wi-Fi searching protocol. (=useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu wherein the memory contains instructions executable by the processor such that the apparatus is further configured to receive, from the network node, for each of the usable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; and a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency receive an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein the indication of the predetermined threshold is received from the network node in a same message as the indication of the useable frequencies as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 79, Pelletier teaches, an apparatus in a network node, wherein the apparatus comprises a processor and a memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processor such that the apparatus is configured to: FIG. 1D is a system diagram illustrating a further example RAN and a further example CN that may be used within the communications system illustrated in FIG. 1A according to an embodiment;
send, to a wireless communication device, an indication of useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device; and([105]- In an embodiment, the gNBs 180 a, 180 b, 180 c may implement carrier aggregation technology. For example, the gNB 180a(=network node) may transmit multiple component carriers(=useable frequencies in unlicensed spectrum) to the WTRU 102a). A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum.
Pelletier does not teach, send, to a wireless communication device, an indication of useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device; receive, from the wireless communication device, an indication of a selected one or more of the useable frequencies selected by the wireless communication device for unlicensed wireless communication.
Liu teaches, send, to a wireless communication device, an indication of useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device; ([167]- The UE 115 may then similarly tune to other frequencies(=select) during the gap 425-a to sense whether other channels are or clean or in-use. Fig 1, [167]-The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report(=indication) to the base station 105 indicating the results of the UE 115 measuring the other channels(=indication of selected frequencies) (i.e., a list of channels that the UE 115 may have sensed to be clean)
receive, from the wireless communication device, an indication of a selected one or more of the useable frequencies selected by the wireless communication device for unlicensed wireless communication. [149]-The transmission timeline 400 illustrates communications using a frame structure that may conform to, for example, FBE regulations for shared or unlicensed radio frequency spectrum (=unlicensed frequency).
[167]-The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report(=indication) to the base station 105 indicating the results of the UE 115 measuring the other channels (=indication of selected frequencies) (i.e., a list of channels that the UE 115 may have sensed to be clean)
sending transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage; and [158]- However, because of the interfering transmissions 430, the UE may detect that these REs were received with a non-zero power, and thus the UE 115 may identify that the interference(= power level correspond to interference detected by UE).The UE 115 may then signal this interference to the base station in an IMR report in a subsequent uplink transmission(=sending transmitter power levels), for example, uplink transmission 420-a.[71]- the base station may search through potential radio frequency spectrum bands to identify channels that are unused and compile the unused (e.g., available) channels to maintain the list of clean channels that may be free from interference(=wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier, sending transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage send, to a wireless communication device, an indication of useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device; receive, from the wireless communication device, an indication of a selected one or more of the useable frequencies selected by the wireless communication device for unlicensed wireless communication as taught by Liu to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, receive transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage; wherein the memory contains instructions executable by the processor such that the apparatus is further configured to send, to the wireless communication device, for each of the usable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; and a utilization level of that frequency.
Chou teaches, wherein the memory contains instructions executable by the processor such that the apparatus is further configured to send, to the wireless communication device, for each of the usable frequencies, an indication of one or more of:a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency; [59]- the wireless entity 230 may transmit and receive on the unlicensed spectrum using the cellular network with a contention-based mechanism in response to the compared result being that the traffic loading indication being larger than the second traffic loading threshold of the traffic loading thresholds.
and a utilization level of that frequency Fig 6 [47]- the wireless entity 230 may receive traffic loading information of a licensed spectrum of the BS 210(=receiving, from the network node,)… the traffic loading information may be corresponding to at least one of or a combination of parameters but not limited to the number of UEs 250 connected with the BS 210, a loading quantification value indicating the traffic loading indication(=an indication of one or more of: a utilization level of that frequency)
and send an indication of predetermined threshold to the wireless communication device, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold. [51]- the wireless entity 230 may compare a traffic loading indication for the traffic loading information with traffic loading thresholds. Based on Fig 6 - the processing module 256 of the UE 250 would receive a signal command from the BS 210 through the receiving module 253 in para [55] (=receiving an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the predetermined threshold), compare an interference indication for the interference situation with interference thresholds. See also [56].
[57]- The BS 210 may further give signaling indications to its serving UEs 250 to search the wireless entity 230 by Access Network Discovery and Selection Function (ANDSF)/Radio Access Network (RAN) rules or other Wi-Fi searching protocol. (=useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu wherein the memory contains instructions executable by the processor such that the apparatus is further configured to send, to the wireless communication device, for each of the usable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; and a utilization level of that frequency and send an indication of predetermined threshold to the wireless communication device, wherein the indication of the predetermined threshold is sent to the wireless communication device in a same message as the indication of the useable frequencies as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Regarding Claim 80, Pelletier teaches, A system comprising a wireless communication device and a network node, wherein: the network node is configured to send, to the wireless communication device, [52] FIG . 1D is a system diagram illustrating a further example RAN and a further example CN that may be used within the communications system illustrated in FIG . 1A according to an embodiment;
indication of useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device; ([105]- In an embodiment, the gNBs 180 a, 180 b, 180 c may implement carrier aggregation technology. For example, the gNB 180a(=network node) may transmit multiple component carriers(=useable frequencies in unlicensed spectrum) to the WTRU 102a). A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum.
the wireless communication device is configured to receive, from the network node, the indication of useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication by the wireless communication device, ([105]- In an embodiment, the gNBs 180 a, 180 b, 180 c may implement carrier aggregation technology. For example, the gNB 180a (=network node) may transmit multiple component carriers (=useable frequencies in unlicensed spectrum) to the WTRU 102a). A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum. A subset of these component carriers may be on unlicensed spectrum (=unlicensed frequency) while the remaining component carriers may be on licensed spectrum.
Pelletier does not teach, select one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless Page 9 communication, and send an indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node; the wireless communication device is configured to send transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage;
Liu teaches, select one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication, ([167]- The UE 115 may then similarly tune to other frequencies(=select) during the gap 425-a to sense whether other channels are or clean or in-use.
and send an indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node. Fig 1, [149]-The transmission timeline 400 illustrates communications using a frame structure that may conform to, for example, FBE regulations for shared or unlicensed radio frequency spectrum(=unlicensed frequency).
[167]-The UE 115 may transmit a measurement report(=indication) to the base station 105 indicating the results of the UE 115 measuring the other channels (=indication of selected frequencies) (i.e., a list of channels that the UE 115 may have sensed to be clean)
the wireless communication device is configured to send transmitter power levels used on the selected one or more of the useable frequencies, wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage; and [158]- However, because of the interfering transmissions 430, the UE may detect that these REs were received with a non-zero power, and thus the UE 115 may identify that the interference(= power level correspond to interference detected by UE).The UE 115 may then signal this interference to the base station in an IMR report in a subsequent uplink transmission(=sending transmitter power levels), for example, uplink transmission 420-a.[71]- the base station may search through potential radio frequency spectrum bands to identify channels that are unused and compile the unused (e.g., available) channels to maintain the list of clean channels that may be free from interference(=wherein the transmitter power levels are used to determine spectrum usage)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier select one or more of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless Page 9 communication, and send an indication of the selected one or more of the useable frequencies to the network node as taught by Liu to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Pelletier in view of Liu does not teach, the wireless communication device is further configured to receive an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein the indication of the predetermined threshold is received from the network node in a same message as the indication of the useable frequencies;
the wireless communication device is further configured to receive an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein the indication of the predetermined threshold is received from the network node in a same message as the indication of the useable frequencies;the network node is configured to send, to the wireless communication device, for each of the useable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; a rank of that frequency; a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency; and a utilization level of that frequency; and the network node is further configured to sending an indication of predetermined threshold to the wireless communication device, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold.
Chou teaches, the wireless communication device is further configured to receive an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein the indication of the predetermined threshold is received from the network node in a same message as the indication of the useable frequencies;[53]- receive using the cellular network and the wireless local network upon unlicensed spectrum in response to the traffic loading indication being smaller than a first traffic loading threshold of the traffic loading thresholds.
the network node is configured to send, to the wireless communication device, for each of the useable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency; [59]- the wireless entity 230 may transmit and receive on the unlicensed spectrum using the cellular network with a contention-based mechanism in response to the compared result being that the traffic loading indication being larger than the second traffic loading threshold of the traffic loading thresholds.
and a utilization level of that frequency; Fig 6 [47]- the wireless entity 230 may receive traffic loading information of a licensed spectrum of the BS 210(=receiving, from the network node,)… the traffic loading information may be corresponding to at least one of or a combination of parameters but not limited to the number of UEs 250 connected with the BS 210, a loading quantification value indicating the traffic loading indication(=an indication of one or more of: a utilization level of that frequency)
and the network node is further configured to sending an indication of predetermined threshold to the wireless communication device, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold. [51]- the wireless entity 230 may compare a traffic loading indication for the traffic loading information with traffic loading thresholds. Based on Fig 6 - the processing module 256 of the UE 250 would receive a signal command from the BS 210 through the receiving module 253 in para [55] (=receiving an indication of predetermined threshold from the network node, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the predetermined threshold), compare an interference indication for the interference situation with interference thresholds. See also [56].
[57]- The BS 210 may further give signaling indications to its serving UEs 250 to search the wireless entity 230 by Access Network Discovery and Selection Function (ANDSF)/Radio Access Network (RAN) rules or other Wi-Fi searching protocol. (=useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu the network node is configured to send, to the wireless communication device, for each of the useable frequencies, an indication of one or more of: a level of interference at the wireless communication device on that frequency; a rank of that frequency; a number of other wireless communication devices nearby the wireless communication device using that frequency; and a utilization level of that frequency; and the network node is further configured to sending an indication of predetermined threshold to the wireless communication device, wherein a single message from the network node conveys both the indication of the useable frequencies for unlicensed wireless communication and the indication of the predetermined threshold as taught by Chou to use interference levels to select frequencies.
Claim 66 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pelletier et al. (US 2019/0253976 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US20200084759A1) in further view of Chou et al. (US20160119846A1) in further view of Afifi et al. (US20190182675A1)
Regarding Claim 66, Pelletier in view of Liu and Chou does not teach, the method of claim 55, wherein the network node comprises an Automatic Frequency Controller (AFC).
Afifi teaches, the method of claim 55, wherein the network node comprises an Automatic Frequency Controller (AFC)([270]- Dynamic frequency selection (DFS) is a regulatory requirement for some frequency bands, e.g., to detect interference from radar systems and to avoid co-channel operation with these systems by selecting a different carrier on a relatively slow time scale.)
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Pelletier in view of Liu, and Chou the method of claim 55, wherein the network node comprises an Automatic Frequency Controller (AFC) as taught by Afifi to use automatic frequency selection to make selection faster.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478