Claim Status
Applicant’s amendments and remarks, filed 08/12/2025, are acknowledged.
Claims 2, 7, 10, 14-19, and 21 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-9, 11, 13, and 20 are amended.
Claims 22-27 are new.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-13, 20, and 22-27 are pending.
As such, claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-13, 20, and 22-27 are pending examination and currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/4/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the final Office Action on 02/12/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Objections
The claim objections are withdrawn. Issues regarding minor informalities have been sufficiently addressed through amendments to the claims filed on 08/12/2025.
The specification objections are withdrawn. Issues regarding minor informalities and missing the cross-reference statement have been sufficiently addressed through amendments to the specification on 08/12/2025.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 23-34, filed 08/12/2025, with respect to claims 1-15 and 20-21 rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as allegedly being indefinite have been fully considered and are persuasive. The issue regarding have been sufficiently addressed through amendments to the claims. Specifically, Examiner acknowledges that:
The term “vehicle” recited in claims 1(a) and 21 has been removed;
Claims 1 and 8 were amended to remove the improper Markush grouping;
The term “pro-peptide” in claims 3 and 11 has been defined as being encoded by exon 2, exon 3, and exon 4 of the MPO gene;
The terms “transduced” and “transfected” recited in claims 6 and 9 have been removed;
Examiner understands that the phrase “exhibiting an inhibited or eliminated expression and/or activity of MPO” recited in claims 6 and 9 is meant to be in comparison to the original (unmodulated) MPO expression and/or activity in the transplanted subject (see pg. 57 of the specification).
Claim 9 was amended to add the term “BM” before “cell population”; and,
The phrase “and related conditions” recited in claim 20 has been removed.
Further, Examiner acknowledges that claims 2, 10, and 21 are canceled thus rendering the rejection moot. As such, the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 43-53, filed 08/12/2025, with respect to claims 1-15 and 20-21 rejected under 35 USC 112(a) as allegedly not being enabled for a method of modulating the expression and/or activity of MPO in all mammals with all gene editing compounds and all undifferentiated BM cells nor a method for treating, preventing, ameliorating, inhibiting or delaying the onset of any MPO-related condition or disorder, or NETosis and related conditions, in all mammals have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner acknowledges the claims have been amended to specify that the “gene editing compound” is a “CRISPR/Cas system”, and the claims were amended to specifically recite specific MPO-related conditions or disorders such as AD, MS, and PAH. It is known in the art that elevated MPO activity is associated with the claimed conditions or disorders as evident by Siraki (Redox Biology 46 (2021) 102109), thus the claimed method of reducing MPO activity would enable treatment for the claimed disease. Further, Examiner acknowledges that claims 2, 7, 10, 14-15, and 21 are canceled thus rendering the rejection moot. As such, the scope of enablement rejection under 35 USC 112(a) is withdrawn.
Applicant’s remarks, see pages 53-58, filed on 08/12/2025, with respect to claims 1-2, 8, 10, 14-15, and 20 rejected under 35 USC 102 as allegedly anticipated by Zhang et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner acknowledges that claims 2, 10, and 14-15 are canceled, thus rendering the rejection moot. Further, Examiner acknowledges that claims 1, 8, and 20 recite “at least one undifferentiated BM cell, or BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO, said undifferentiated BM cell being a hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) or a hematopoietic progenitor cell” which is not disclosed by Zhang et al. While the art does disclose of administering cells (such as stem cells derived from bone marrow) that are capable of differentiating completely or partially, these cells are directed to administering within the ear and is not directed to reducing or inhibiting expression and/or activity of MPO. As such, the rejection of claims 1, 8, and 20 under 35 USC 102 is withdrawn.
New Objections and Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1(a): “CRISPER” should read “CRISPR”.
Claims 5 and 13: “SEQ ID NO: 35 SEQ ID NO: 42” should read “SEQ ID NO: 35, SEQ ID NO: 42”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 4-5, 12-13, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 3, 11, and 23 recite wherein said at least one gRNA targets a protospacer comprised within at least one exon of the MPO gene encoding at least one MPO protein domain present in the MPO protein and wherein said MPO protein domain is at least one of MPO pro- peptide, MPO signal peptide, MPO light chain subunit and MPO heavy chain subunit wherein said MPO pro-peptide domain is encoded by exon 2, exon 3, and exon 4 of the MPO gene. However, claims 4-5, 12-13, and 24-25 recite “wherein said at least one gRNA targets at least one protospacer comprised within at least one of: exon 1, exon 2, exon 3, exon 5, exon 6, exon 8, exon 9 and exon 12 of the human MPO gene” and corresponding sequences which broaden the scope of the invention because it incorporates additional exons (e.g., exon 1 and exon 6). As such, claims 4-5, 12-13, and 24-25 are rejected.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-13, 20, and 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 8, 20, and 22 recite the limitation "said nucleic acid sequence" in (a)(ii). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As such, claims 1, 8, 20 and 22, and their dependent claims, are rejected.
Claims 1, 8, and 22 recite “AVV” as an acronym for ANCA-associated vasculitis; however, the specification recites “AVV” and “AAV” as acronyms for this condition (see pgs. 65-66) and “AAV” for adeno associated vectors (see pgs. 24-25), thus it is unclear what acronym Applicant is using for ANCA-associated vasculitis.
Claims 1, 8, and 22 recite “at least one undifferentiated BM cell, or BM cell population”. It is unclear whether the “BM cell population” is also “undifferentiated” or if it only applies to the singular BM cell.
Claims 6 and 9 recite the phrase “at least one BM cell or BM cell population modified by and/or comprising at least one CRISPR/Cas system”. It is unclear if the same CRISPR/Cas system that is comprised within the BM cell or BM cell population is also modifying said BM cell or BM cell population, or if a different CRISPR/Cas system is modifying said BM cell or BM cell population.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) Written Description
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11-12, 20, 22-24, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
Claim 1 is drawn to a method of reducing the expression and/or activity of Myeloperoxidase (MPO) in a mammalian subject, the method comprising the step of administering to said subject an effective amount of at least one of: (a) at least one clustered regulatory interspaced short palindromic repeat (CRISPR)/CRISPR associated (cas) protein system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated bone marrow (BM) cell of said subject, said CRISPER/Cas system comprising at least one of:(i) at least one CRISPR/cas protein: and at least one guide RNA (gRNA) that targets a protospacer within the MPO gene, (ii) a nucleic acid molecule encoding said Cas protein, or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence: and a nucleic acid sequence encoding said gRNA or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence: and (iii) composition comprising (i) or (ii); and (b) at least one undifferentiated BM cell, or BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO, said undifferentiated BM cell being a hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) or a hematopoietic progenitor cell; wherein said subject is a subject affected by or suffering from at least one MPO- related condition or disorder selected from the group consisting of: Alzheimer's disease (AD), multiple sclerosis (MS), Pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH), Antineutrophil cytoplasmic autoantibody (ANCA)-Associated Vasculitis (AVV) and ANCA-associated glomerulonephritis (AAGN).
Claim 3 is drawn to the method according to claim 2, wherein: (i) said at least one gRNA targets a protospacer comprised within at least one exon of the MPO gene encoding at least one MPO protein domain present in the MPO protein; or (ii) said at least one gRNA targets a protospacer comprised within at least one exon of the MPO gene encoding at least one MPO protein domain present in the MPO protein and wherein said MPO protein domain is at least one MPO pro-peptide, MPO signal peptide, MPO light chain subunit and MPO heavy chain subunit; wherein said MPO pro-peptide domain is encoded by exon 2, exon 3, and exon 4 of the MPO gene.
Claim 4 is drawn to the method according to claim 3, wherein said at least one gRNA targets at least one protospacer comprised within at least one of: exon 1, exon 2, exon 3, exon 5, exon 6, exon 8, exon 9 and exon 12 of the human MPO gene.
Claim 6 is drawn to the method according to claim 1, wherein said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population of (b) is: (i) at least one BM cell or cell population modified by and/or comprising at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in said cells, wherein said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population is of an autologous or of an allogenic source; or (ii) said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population is a BM cell or BM cell population of an allogeneic subject exhibiting an inhibited or eliminated expression and/or activity of MPO.
Claim 8 is drawn to the method according to claim 1, for treating, ameliorating, inhibiting or delaying the onset of an MPO-related condition or disorder in a mammalian subject, the method comprising the step of administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of at least one of: (a) at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated BM cell of said subject, said CRISPR/Cas system comprising at least one of: (i) at least one CRISPR/cas protein; and at least one gRNA that targets a protospacer within the MPO gene; (ii) a nucleic acid molecule encoding said Cas protein, or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and a nucleic acid sequence encoding said gRNA or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and (iii) a composition comprising (i) or (ii); and (b) at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO; wherein said MPO-related condition or disorder is selected from the group consisting of: AD, MS, PAH, AVV and AAGN.
Claim 9 is drawn to the method according to claim 8, wherein said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population is: (a) at least one BM cell or BM cell population modified by, and/or comprising at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in said cells, wherein said undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population is of an autologous or of an allogenic source; or (b) said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population of an allogeneic subject exhibiting an inhibited or eliminated expression and/or activity of MPO.
Claim 11 is drawn to the method according to claim 8, wherein: (a) said at least one gRNA targets a protospacer comprised within at least one exon of the MPO gene encoding at least one MPO protein domain present in the MPO protein; or (b) said at least one gRNA targets a protospacer comprised within at least one exon of the MPO gene encoding at least one MPO protein domain present in the MPO protein, wherein said MPO protein domain is at least one MPO pro-peptide, MPO signal peptide, MPO light chain subunit and MPO heavy chain subunit; wherein said MPO pro-peptide domain is encoded by exon 2, exon 3, and exon 4 of the MPO gene.
Claim 12 is drawn to the method according to claim 11, wherein said at least one gRNA targets at least one protospacer comprised within at least one of exon 1, exon 2, exon 3, exon 5, exon 6, exon 8, exon 9 and exon 12 of the human MPO gene.
Claim 20 is drawn to a method for inhibiting neutrophil extracellular trap (NET) activation and release, and/or NETosis in a mammalian subject, said method comprising the step of administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of at least one of: (a) at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated BM cell of said subject, the Cas system comprising at least one of:(i) at least one CRISPR/cas protein; and at least one gRNA that targets a protospacer within the MPO gene;(ii) a nucleic acid molecule encoding said Cas protein, or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and nucleic acid sequence encoding said gRNA or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and (b) undifferentiated BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO; (c) any composition comprising at least one of the CRISPR/Cas system of (a), and/or the undifferentiated BM cell population of (b).
Claim 22 is drawn to a method for treating, ameliorating, inhibiting or delaying the onset of an MPO-related condition or disorder in a mammalian subject, the method comprising the step of administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of at least one of: (a) at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated BM cell of said subject, said CRISPR/Cas system comprising at least one of: (i) at least one CRISPR/cas protein; and at least one gRNA that targets a protospacer within the MPO gene; said at least one gRNA targets a protospacer comprised within at least one exon of the MPO gene encoding at least one MPO protein domain present in the MPO protein; (ii) a nucleic acid molecule encoding said Cas protein, or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and a nucleic acid sequence encoding said gRNA or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and(iii) a composition comprising (i) or (ii); and(b) at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO; wherein said MPO-related condition or disorder is selected from the group consisting of: AD, MS, PAH, AVV and AAGN.
Claim 23 is drawn to the method according to claim 22, wherein said at least one gRNA targets a protospacer comprised within at least one exon of the MPO gene encoding at least one MPO protein domain present in the MPO protein and wherein said MPO protein domain is at least one of MPO pro-peptide, MPO signal peptide, MPO light chain subunit and MPO heavy chain subunit; wherein said MPO pro-peptide domain is encoded by exon 2, exon 3, and exon 4 of the MPO gene.
Claim 24 is drawn to the method according to claim 23, wherein said at least one gRNA targets at least one protospacer comprised within at least one of: exon 1, exon 2, exon 3, exon 5, exon 6, exon 8, exon 9 and exon 12 of the human MPO gene.
Claim 26 is drawn to the method according to claim 22, wherein said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population of (b) is at least one BM cell or BM cell population modified by and/or comprising at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in said cells, wherein said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population is of an autologous or of an allogenic source.
Claim 27 is drawn to the method according to claim 22, wherein said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or BM cell population of (b) is a BM cell or BM cell population of an allogeneic subject exhibiting an inhibited or eliminated expression and/or activity of MPO.
The specification discloses of targeting MPO in the experimental allergic encephalomyelitis (EAE) model of MS (see Example 1). The specification disclose that Lin-hematopoietic progenitors retain their hematopoietic reconstitution potential and are adequate for CRISPR-Cas9 KO experiments (see pg. 103). The specification also discloses of targeting MPO in the FAD model of Alzheimer disease (AD) (see Example 2). The specification discloses that blood samples from FAD model mice subjected to transplantation of BM cells obtained from MPO KO mice showed less peroxidase activity, confirming MPO KO hematopoietic reconstitution of MPO KO cells in these mice (see pg. 104, Figs. 3E-3F). Further, almost undetectable MPO-mRNA levels were found in BM derived from wildtype-MPO KO and 5XFAD-MPO KO mice, as compared to high levels in the controls indicating for efficient exchange of the hematopoietic population in the transplanted mice (see pg. 105, Fig. 4B). Example 3 discloses MPO knock-out using CRISPR/Cas9 technology in isolated HSCs (see pg. 107). Example 4 discloses MPO knock-out using CRISPR/Cas9 technology in human cells (HEK293); specifically, discloses transfecting HEK293 cells with ribonucleoproteins (RNP) complexes containing Cas9 protein, fluorescently labeled tracrRNA and crRNA sequences that target the human MPO encoding sequences and the corresponding protospacers: T173 (denoted by SEQ ID NO: 33 and SEQ ID NO: 43, respectively), D260 (denoted by SEQ ID NO: 34 and SEQ ID NO: 44, respectively), H502 (denoted by SEQ ID NO: 35 and SEQ ID NO: 45, respectively), C319 (denoted by SEQ ID NO: 42 and SEQ ID NO: 46, respectively). Example 5 further teaches of MPO knock-out using CRISPR/Cas9 technology in human cells (HEK293, HL-60). Specifically, Example 5 disclose of 39 gRNA sequences (SEQ ID NOs: 107-140 and 142-145) that displayed successful knock-out targeting exons of the MPO gene (see Table 5). In human hematopoietic cells demonstrating that delivery of RNPs with synthetic MPO gRNAs (gRNA nos. 9, 12, 19, 16, 27, 28, 31, 33, 36, 37, and 39) into HSPCs led to allelic disruption of the targeted MPO sites (see Figs. 15A-16). Table 6 also disclose of gRNAs (SEQ ID NOs: 141 and 148-182) that target various MPO genes. The specification discloses of using the CRISPR/Cas9 system for manipulating human MPO function and levels (see Example 6). Specifically, Example 6 disclose of the following amino acid substitutions that: form conformational changes in the MPO protein or changes in protomer biosynthesis and processing – C167A, C180A, C319A, C158A, R128A, N355A; mimic human MPO deficiency substitutions – T173C, M251T, R569W, R499C, G501S; interfere with promoter heme binding – Q257A, D260A, M409A, E408A, H261A, H502A; and, interfere with proper protein glycosylation – N355A (see pg. 116). Example 7 discloses of a procedure for a clinical study highlighting hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT) combined with CRISPR-mediated gene editing. Example 8 discloses of a proposed treatment of PAH using MPO knock-out. Lastly, Example 9 discloses of a proposed treatment of crescentic glomerulonephritis (CGN) using MPO knock-out.
However, the specification fails to disclose that Applicant was in possession of the large genera of methods of reducing the expression and/or activity of MPO in a mammalian subject as recited in the claims. Specifically, the specification fails to disclose that Applicant was in possession of administering an effective amount of any CRISPR/Cas system comprising any gRNA that targets a protospacer within any mammalian species of MPO gene.
Although the specification discloses of utilizing CRISPR-Cas9 mediated KO experiments on the BM cells of MS mice models to determine MPO levels and of AD mice models to determine peroxidase activity, MPO-mRNA and amyloid-β levels, functional behavior, inflammation activity, and APOE expression, the claims are not limited to these constructs or conditions, and are inclusive of any CRISPR/Cas system comprising any gRNA that targets a protospacer within any mammalian species of MPO gene. This indicates that there are hundreds, if not thousands, of possible compositions and disorders encompassed by the claims. Thus, the claims encompass a vast genus of CRISPR/Cas systems-gRNAs that have the claimed functions. However, the specification provides limited guidance on the structure and steps required to impart the claimed function(s). Therefore, the specification does not provide adequate written description to identify the broad and variable genus of MPO reducing CRISPR/Cas systems-gRNAs because, inter alia, the specification does not disclose a correlation between the necessary structure of the CRISPR/Cas system-gRNA and the function(s) recited in the claims; and thus, the specification does not define the claimed genus and encompassed species, except by function. Although the term “protein” does impart some structure, the structure that is common to proteins is generally unrelated to its specific binding function; therefore, correlation is less likely for proteins than for other molecules. Accordingly, the specification does not define any structural features commonly possessed by the members of the genus, because while the description of an ability of the claimed substance may generically describe the molecules’ function, it does not describe the substance itself. A definition of function does not suffice to describe the genus because it is only an indication of what the substance does, rather than what it is; therefore, it is only a definition of a useful result rather than a definition of what achieves the result. In addition, because the genus of substances is highly variable (i.e. each substance would necessarily have a unique structure, See MPEP 2434), the generic description of the substance is insufficient to describe the genus. Further, given the highly diverse nature of proteins, particularly in binding site sequences, even one of skill in the art cannot envision the structure of a protein by only knowing its binding characteristics. Thus, the specification does not provide substantive evidence for possession of this large and variable genus, encompassing a potentially massive number of gene editing compounds and gRNA compositions and variants thereof claimed only be a functional characteristic(s) and/or partial structure.
A biomolecule sequence described only by a functional characteristic, without any known or disclosed correlation between that function and the structure of the sequence, normally is not sufficient identifying characteristics for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the agent. The specification does not adequately describe the correlation between the chemical structure and function of the genus, such as structural domains or motifs that are essential and distinguish members of the genus from those excluded. Thus, the genus of peptides has no correlation between their structure and function.
MPEP § 2163.03(V) states:
While there is a presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present in the specification as filed, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 262, 191 USPQ 90, 96 (CCPA 1976), a question as to whether a specification provides an adequate written description may arise in the context of an original claim. An original claim may lack written description support when (1) the claim defines the invention in functional language specifying a desired result but the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the function is performed or the result is achieved or (2) a broad genus claim is presented but the disclosure only describes a narrow species with no evidence that the genus is contemplated. See Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc). The written description requirement is not necessarily met when the claim language appears in ipsis verbis in the specification. "Even if a claim is supported by the specification, the language of the specification, to the extent possible, must describe the claimed invention so that one skilled in the art can recognize what is claimed. The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement. “Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 968, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1616 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
Applicant has not shown possession of a representative number of species of reducing the expression and/or activity of MPO in a mammalian subject comprising the step of administering to said subject an effective amount of at least one of: (a) at least one clustered regulatory interspaced short palindromic repeat (CRISPR)/CRISPR associated (cas) protein system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated bone marrow (BM) cell of said subject, said CRISPER/Cas system comprising at least one of:(i) at least one CRISPR/cas protein: and at least one guide RNA (gRNA) that targets a protospacer within the MPO gene, (ii) a nucleic acid molecule encoding said Cas protein, or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence: and a nucleic acid sequence encoding said gRNA or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence: and (iii) composition comprising (i) or (ii); and (b) at least one undifferentiated BM cell, or BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO, said undifferentiated BM cell being a hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) or a hematopoietic progenitor cell.
The disclosure of only one or two species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]." See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.") (MPEP 2163).
The instant claims do not fully describe the required method, or present any form of specific threshold or other standards that would allow the method to achieve the required function. Accordingly, the specification also does not provide adequate written description to identify the broad genus of CRISPR/Cas systems-gRNAs, claimed only be a function characteristic(s) and not structures per se, because inter alia, it does not describe a sufficient number and/or a sufficient variety of representative species to reflect the breadth and variation within the claimed genus. Consequently, based on the lack of information within the specification, there is evidence that a representative number and a representative variety of the numerous proteins and gRNAs had not yet been identified and thus, the specification represents little more than a wish for possession. Therefore, one of skill in the art would not conclude that Applicant was in possession of the broad and highly variable genus of gene editing compounds claimed only by a partial structure and functional characteristic(s). Thus the method described by the instant specification encompasses an overly broad genus, and there is no correlation between the steps of the method, the structure of the gRNAs, and the functional outcome.
As stated above, Applicant has not demonstrated possession of the overly broad genus of methods of reducing the expression and/or activity of MPO comprising administering a CRISPR/Cas system. For example, Ma et al. (ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2022, 14, 6358−6369; previously submitted with the Office Action mailed on 05/07/2024) disclose of biomimetic, pH-responsive metal organic framework (MOF) nanoparticles to deliver carbon nanodots (C-dot) nanozyme and CRISPR/Cas9 system for site-specific treatment of ulcerative colitis (UC) (see Abstract). In this system, C-dots and CD98 CRISPR/Cas9 plasmid were successfully encapsulated into MOF carrier by a one-pot approach and then camouflaged with macrophage membrane (see Abstract). Cas9 plasmids with two different CD98-targeting gRNAs were constructed on the basis of plasmid pX458 (see pg. 6361, left column). Ma et al. disclose that MPO activity could reflect the degree of neutrophil infiltration at inflammatory sites, could be used for evaluating the severity of UC (see pg. 6366, left column). After inducing dextran sulfate sodium (DSS), MPO activity was increased while treatment with the CRISPR/Cas system decreased the MPO activity; indicating that neutrophil infiltration was decreased and the severity of UC was mitigated (see pg. 6366, left column).
Additionally, Yan et al. (Sci. Adv. 7, eabj0624 (2021); previously submitted with the Office Action mailed on 05/07/2024) disclose of a CRISPR-Cas9 prodrug nanosystem (termed NanoProCas9) that combines the targeted delivery and the conditional activation of CRISPR-Cas9 for the precision therapy of inflammatory bowel disease (see Abstract). NanoProCas9 is composed of (i) cationic poly(β-amino ester)(PBAE) capable of complexing plasmid DNA encoding destabilized Cas9 (dsCas9) nuclease, (ii) a layer of biomimetic cell membrane coated on PBAE/plasmid nanocomplexes for the targeted delivery of PBAE/dsCas9 complexes, and (iii) the stimuli-responsive precursory molecules anchored on the exofacial membrane (see Abstract). Similarly to the teachings of Ma et al. above, Yan et al. found that MPO activity was highly elevated in the colon of mice in the colitis group and was markedly decreased in the NanoProCas9-treated group (see pg. 8, left column; Fig. 5F).
Furthermore, Colarmartino et al (Blood 142 (2023) 7120) developed a gene therapy approach to pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH) in which autologous HSCs will undergo gene editing using CRISPR/Cas9 to achieve bi-allelic disruption of the MPO gene (see 2nd paragraph). These MPO-knock-out HSCs will then be autologous transplanted; that autologous transplantation of HSPC in which the MPO gene is disrupted is expected to prevent progression of PAH due to the essential role of neutrophil MPO activity on disease development (see 2nd paragraph). Colarmartino et al identified a sgRNA that leads to high frequency disruption of MPO in primary human CD34+ hematopoietic stem and progenitor cells (HSPC), leading to efficient elimination of MPO protein in the resultant neutrophils (see 3rd paragraph). That sequence was assessed for genome-wide off-target and showed no detectable locus, validating it as a lead candidate for safe gene editing strategy (see 3rd paragraph). MPO KO differentiated cells exhibit reduced neutrophil extracellular traps formation (NETosis) and absence of MPO protein (see 3rd paragraph). An optimized gene editing protocol for HSC was optimized and showed consistent allelic disruption over 80%. The edited cells retain hematopoietic potential and showed no skewing in the generated lineages in an in vitro colony forming assay (see 3rd paragraph).
As such, the art indicates there are known species of methods of modulating the expression and/or activity of MPO comprising administering a CRISPR/Cas system-gRNAs that are structurally different than the compounds disclosed in the instant application.
In Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 124 USPQ2d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2017), relying upon Ariad Pharms., Inc. v. Eli Lily & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed Cir. 2010), it is noted that to show invention, a patentee must convey in its disclosure that is “had possession of the claimed subject matter as of the filing date. Demonstrating possession “requires a precise definition” of the invention. To provide this precise definition” for a claim to a genus, a patentee must disclose “a representative number of species within the scope of the genus of structural features common to the members of the genus so that one of skill in the art can visualize or recognize the member of the genus” (see Amgen at page 1358). Also, it is not enough for the specification to show how to make and use the invention, i.e., to enable it (see Amgen at page 1361). An adequate written description must contain enough information about the actual makeup of the claimed products — “a precise definition, such as structure, formula, chemic name, physical properties of other properties, of species falling with the genus sufficient to distinguish the gene from other materials”, which may be present in “functional terminology when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” (Amgen page 1361). Most significant to the present case, the Court held that "knowledge of the chemical structure of an antigen [does not give] the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding antibodies" (Amgen at 1361). The idea that written description of an antibody can be satisfied by the disclosure of a newly-characterized antigen “flouts basic legal principles of the written description requirement” as it “allows patentees to claim antibodies by describing something that is not the invention, i.e., the antigen... And Congress has not created a special written description requirement for antibodies” (Amgen at page 1362).
Abbvie v. Centocor (Fed. Cir. 2014) is also relevant to the instant claims. In Abbvie, the Court held that a disclosure of many different antibodies was not enough to support the genus of all neutralizing antibodies because the disclosed antibodies were very closely related to each other in structure and were not representative of the full diversity of the genus. The Court further noted that functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus.
The instant case has many similarities to AbbVie above. First, the claims clearly attempt to define the genus of CRISPR/Cas systems-gRNAs by the functions of reducing or inhibiting the expression and/or activity of MPO. As noted by AbbVie above, functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description. Second, there is no information in the specification based upon which one of skill in the art would conclude that the disclosed species for which applicant has identified as having the recited functions would be representative of the entire genus. The specification discloses no structure to correlate with the function. Therefore, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim.
Furthermore, regardless whether a compound is claimed per se or a method is claimed that entails the use of the compound, the inventor cannot lay claim to that subject matter unless he can provide a description of the compound sufficient to distinguish infringing compounds from non-infringing compounds, or infringing methods from non-infringing methods. Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920-23, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1890-93 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
Further, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed gRNAs, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Finally, University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that: ... To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using “such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1966.
Furthermore, regardless whether a compound is claimed per se or a method is claimed that entails the use of the compound, the inventor cannot lay claim to that subject matter unless he can provide a description of the compound sufficient to distinguish infringing compounds from non-infringing compounds, or infringing methods from non-infringing methods. Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920-23, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1890-93 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Regarding nucleic acid-based therapeutics, in this case gRNAs, the efficacy of any possible DNA or RNA based therapeutic modality is highly unpredictable. This unpredictability stems from an inability to predict the effects of any particular sequence the expression or function of any target. As taught by Aagaard et al. (Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews 59 (2007) 75–86; previously submitted with the Office Action mailed on 05/07/2024), the development of RNAi based therapeutics faces several challenges, including the need for controllable or moderate promoter systems and therapeutics that are efficient at low doses (see page 79), the ability of an unpredictable number of sequences to stimulate immune responses, such as type I interferon responses (see page 79), competition with cellular RNAi components (see page 83), the side effect of suppressing off targets (see page 80), and challenging delivery (see page 83). The success of antisense strategies, including anti-RNA and anti-DNA strategies are also highly unpredictable. Warzocha et al. (Leukemia and Lymphoma (1997) Vol. 24. pp. 267-281; previously submitted with the Office Action mailed on 05/07/2024) teach that the efficacy of antisense effects varies between different targeted sites of RNA molecules and three-dimensional RNA structures (see page 269), while DNA-targeting strategies have numerous problems including a restricted number of DNA sequences that can form triple helices at appropriate positions within genes and the inaccessibility of particular sequences due to histones and other proteins (see page 269). These references demonstrate that variation in RNA or DNA based therapeutics will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of the intended therapeutic. McKeague et al. (J Nucleic Acids. 2012;2012:748913. Epub 2012 Oct 24; previously submitted with the Office Action mailed on 05/07/2024) teach that aptamers have particular challenges because unlike antibodies or molecular imprinted polymers, their tertiary structure is highly dependent on solution conditions and they are easily degraded in blood. Further, they have less chemical diversity than other antagonist molecules (see page 2), and have issues associated with determining the Kd measurements for a given molecule (see page 13).
Specifically, regarding CRISPR/Cas9-mediated genome editing, Peng et al. (FEBS Journal 283 (2016) 1218–1231; previously submitted with the Office Action mailed on 05/07/2024) disclose that the CRISPR/Cas9 system has improved tremendously with respect to exploring the pathogenesis of diseases and correcting disease mutations, as well as phenotypes, due to short gRNAs (sgRNAs) precisely directing Cas9 to target sites and functions as an endonuclease to efficiently produce breaks in DNA double stands (see Abstract). However, there are still pitfalls regarding this system. Firstly, Cas9 can recognize genomic loci under the guidance of sgRNAs that bind to 20 target sequences (see pg. 1222, left column). However, sgRNAs with +85 nucleotide tracrRNA tails demonstrated concatenated and interspaced two base mismatches, which occurred in the proximal region of PAM, which greatly reduced Cas9 activity thus suggesting that excessively truncated gRNA would also result in Cas9 losing cutting activity (see pg. 1222, left column). Further, excessive sgRNA:Cas9 complexes may give rise to off-target effects as a result of the inevitable complementarity of nonspecific sequences in the genome (see pg. 1222, right column). Secondly, rational sgRNA design is of prime concern as CRISPR/Cas9 systems are highly programmable (see pg. 1223, left column). It’s assumed that Cas9/sgRNA complexes could cleave DNA in the presence of PAM and an adjacent complementary target sequence, however, many experiments show that some sgRNAs are less efficient or even inactive (see pg. 1223, left column). Thirdly, delivery methods need to be optimized. Peng et al. disclose that the demand for large fragment expression, multiple plasmids have been used to target different sites; however, all or part of the plasmids are often randomly integrated into the host genome (see pg. 1223, right column). Additionally, delivering via transfection are inefficient in primary cells and may lead to cytotoxicity, and once transfected plasmid DNA can also persist inside the cells for several days, which may aggravate off-target effects (see pg. 1225, right column). Delivery via electroporation or microinjection may be stressful to cells and may be inefficient (see pg. 1225, right column). With the use of viral vectors to deliver CRISPR systems, IDLVs are used to transfer CRISPR systems into mammalian cells but Cas9 expression may persist after IDLV delivery in quiescent and slowly dividing cells leading to high off-target effects (see pg. 1226, left column). Lastly, some of the fundamental attributes of the CRISPR/cas9 system remain unclear, including the catalytic mechanism of Cas9, the mechanisms of underlying target sites identification and the basis for PAM-dependence (see pg. 1228, right column).
Given the teachings of Aagaard et al, Warzocha et al, and McKeague et al, the claimed nucleic acid therapeutics could not be predicted based on the targets selected or similarities to the disclosed example therapeutics. Additionally, given the teachings of Peng et al., the claimed CRISPR/Cas9 system cannot be predicted based on several different aspects such as gRNA design, delivery methods, and off-target effects. Therefore, it is impossible for one of skill in the art to predict that any particular encompassed nucleic acid based therapeutic, such as CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing systems, oligonucleotide aptamers, RNAi molecules and antisense oligonucleotides, would function to decrease expression or function of a target gene or protein, or treat disease.
The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described where an invention is described solely in terms of a method of its making coupled with its function and there is no described or art-recognized correlation or relationship between the structure of the invention and its function (see MPEP 2163). A patent specification must set forth enough detail to allow a person of ordinary skill in the art to understand what is claimed and to recognize that the inventor invented what is claimed. In the case of DNA/RNA, an adequate written description requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention (see Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1566 (quoting Fiers, 984 F.2d 15 1171 ). Because the specification does not describe the amino acid sequences nor any core structures for potentially numerous different peptide amino acid sequences which would have the recited functions, one of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus of all CRISPR/Cas system-gRNAs.
Lastly, Applicants have not shown possession of a representative number of species of CRISPR/Cas systems-gRNAs. As noted above, the claims are generic for the components of the compositions. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]." See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.") (MPEP 2163).
While "examples explicitly covering the full scope of the claim language" typically will not be required, a sufficient number of representative species must be included to "demonstrate that the patentee possessed the full scope of the [claimed] invention." Lizard tech v. Earth Resource Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1345, 76 USPQ2d 1724,1732 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
In the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus. One of skill in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that the applicant was in possession of the claimed method of reducing the expression and/or activity of MPO in any mammalian subject. Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features (see, Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916,927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1895 (Fed. Cir. 2004); accord Ex Parte Kubin, 2007-0819, BPAI 31 May 2007, opinion at p. 16, paragraph 1). The specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116).
Without an adequate structural description of the claimed components and descriptive support on how to put them together, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised that Applicant was in possession of the genus of recombinant proteins as claimed. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant respectfully traverses the rejections of claims 1-15 and 20-21 under 35 USC 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement (see pgs. 34-43 of the Remarks filed on 08/12/2025).
With respect to the gene editing compound, solely for expediting the examination, the claims have now been amended to specify use of the CRISPR/Cas system to inhibit and/or reduce MPO expression and/or activity. However, the present specification provides a detailed and thorough description of various gene editing systems applicable in the present disclosure. More specifically, manipulation of MPO can be performed ex vivo in autologous or allogeneic undifferentiated BM cells that are then transferred back to the patient, via adoptive transfer, for example. When an in vivo approach is applied, the subject is administered with the gene editing system… It should be further noted that Examples 3-6 demonstrate successful use of the CRISPR/Cas9 gene editing system. Still further, the present disclosure uses BM cells of Knockout MpoTml/Lus mice that were edited using breeding in the classic way, that does not involve the CRISPR/Cas gene editing system. This actually supports that any means, and any gene editing system that provides reduced and/or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO in undifferentiated cells is applicable for the present disclosure. The present disclosure therefore provides sufficient disclosure enabling the skilled artisan to use any gene editing system that reduces or inhibits MPO activity and/or expression, and even more so, the CRISPR/Cas system…
Furthermore, operative guide RNAs and their corresponding targets are discussed in paragraphs [0193]-[0195], and particular functional targeting sequences are disclosed in paragraphs [0196]-[0200]. Importantly, the CRISPR/Cas systems relevant to the present claims are not only described in technical and functional detail within the specification, but also possess well-defined common structural elements, namely, a Cas nuclease and a guide RNA sequence, along with common functional feature, a functional mechanism involving site-specific cleavage of a target sequence as directed by the guide RNA. Accordingly, the present disclosure provides both an enabling description and sufficient written description support for the use of CRISPR/Cas gene editing systems as recited in the claims…
Similarly, Applicants assert that the term "MPO-related disorders" as used in the claims is sufficiently supported by the present disclosure. The mechanistic explanation for the modulation of MPO levels is provided on pages 55-56, detailing the shared etiology underlying the various conditions. The term "MPO-related condition" is defined by the first paragraph of page 61 to the first paragraph of page 62. Immune-related disorders are defined by the second paragraph of page 62… As to NETosis and related conditions included in claim 20, the definition of NETosis is described in pages 50-51 as well in the third paragraph of page 91.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the claims. Specifically, Examiner acknowledges that the claims now recite “CRISPR/Cas system” which is more descriptive than “gene editing compound” and has limited the MPO-related conditions or diseases to AD, MS, PAH, AVV, and AAGN. However, as stated in the rejection the claims describe reducing MPO expression and/or activity in all mammalian species without providing sufficient description of the gRNA(s) within said CRISPR/Cas system. As stated in the rejection, Applicant is attempting to define the genera of CRISPR/Cas system-gRNAs by function, without providing the structure that correlates with the function, or a representative number of species that demonstrates the breadth of the genera. While Applicant is entitled to use functional language in the description of claimed agents, according to MPEP 2163, an invention described solely in terms of a method of making and/or its function may lack written descriptive support where there is no described or art-recognized correlation between the disclosed function and the structure(s) responsible for the function. This matches the facts here. The claims require specific functionality for the compounds, but neither the instant disclosure, nor the art, provide description of the corresponding structure for that functionality or a representative number of species for the agents.
There are potentially hundreds or thousands of possible gRNAs encompassed by the instant claims, many of which may not have been discovered yet. One of skill in the art could not immediately envisage the encompassed species in each genus from the guidance provided in the instant specification and claims. Further, the claims are not limited to the described species in Examples 3-6. The claims encompass any CRISPR/Cas system and any gRNA. This encompasses an extremely broad genus of CRISPR/Cas system-gRNAs with a specific function, for which no correlating structure is provided. While one of skill in the art could likely screen for said CRISPR/Cas system-gRNAs, the mere fact that experimentation is necessary to identify the members of the genus indicates that proper description has not been provided.
The Federal Circuit has explained that a specification cannot always support expansive claim language and satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112 "merely by clearly describing one embodiment of the thing claimed." LizardTech v. Earth Resource Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1346, 76 USPQ2d 1731, 1733 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Describing a composition by its function alone typically will not suffice to sufficiently describe the composition. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3 at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (Holding that description of a gene’s function will not enable claims to the gene "because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is."); see also Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1169-71, 25 USPQ2d at 1605-06 (discussing Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharm. Co., 927 F.2d 1200, 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991)). An adequate written description of a chemical invention also requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, and not merely a wish or plan for obtaining the chemical invention claimed. See, e.g., Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1894-95 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (The patent at issue claimed a method of selectively inhibiting PGHS-2 activity by administering a non-steroidal compound that selectively inhibits activity of the PGHS-2 gene product, however the patent did not disclose any compounds that can be used in the claimed methods. While there was a description of assays for screening compounds to identify those that inhibit the expression or activity of the PGHS-2 gene product, there was no disclosure of which peptides, polynucleotides, and small organic molecules selectively inhibit PGHS-2. The court held that "[w]ithout such disclosure, the claimed methods cannot be said to have been described.").
Regarding the disclosed species (i.e., Examples 3-6), Applicant is attempting to read limitations into the claims that are not present. As indicated in MPEP 2145, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claims are not limited to the CRISPR/Cas system-gRNAs tested in the Examples, and instead encompass large genera of CRISPR/Cas system-gRNAs, for which the components are not adequately described.
As such, the written description rejection is maintained.
Double Patenting
17/257,764
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-13, 20, and 22-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-14, 16-18, 24-25, 27, 30, 37, 44, and 46-48 of copending Application No. 17/257,764 in view of Civin et al. (US 7,799,528 B2; patent date: 09/21/2010; previously submitted with the Office Action mailed on 05/07/2024) and Morishita et al. (THE JOURNAL OF BIOLOGICAL CHEMISTRY, Vol. 262, No. 8, Issue of March 15, pp. 3844-3851, 1987; previously submitted with the Office Action mailed on 05/07/2024) as evidenced by Morishita and Tsuchiya et al. (THE JOURNAL OF BIOLOGICAL CHEMISTRY, Vol. 262, No. 31, Issue of November 5, pp. 15208-15213, 1987; previously submitted with the Office Action mailed on 05/07/2024).
The ‘764 application is drawn to a method of reducing the expression and/or activity of Myeloperoxidase (MPO) in a mammalian subject, the method comprising the step of administering to said subject an effective amount of at least one of: (a) at least one clustered regulatory interspaced short palindromic repeat (CRISPR)/CRISPR associated (cas) protein system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated bone marrow (BM) cell of said subject, said CRISPER/Cas system comprising at least one of: clustered regulatory interspaced short palindromic repeat (CRISPR)/CRISPR associated (cas) protein system; and (b) at least one undifferentiated BM cell, or BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO; wherein said subject is a subject affected by or suffering from at least one MPO-related condition or disorder selected from the group consisting of: Alzheimer's disease (AD), multiple sclerosis (MS), Pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH), Antineutrophil cytoplasmic autoantibody (ANCA)-Associated Vasculitis (AVV) and ANCA-associated glomerulonephritis (AAGN) (see claim 1).
Claim 5 is drawn to the method according to claim 1, wherein said gRNA comprises the nucleic acid sequence as denoted by any one of: SEQ ID NO: 33, SEQ ID NO: 34, SEQ ID NO: 35, SEQ ID NO: 42, SEQ ID NO: 47, SEQ ID NO: 50, SEQ ID NO: 55, SEQ ID NO: 60, SEQ ID NO: 63, SEQ ID NO: 66, SEQ ID NO: 71, SEQ ID NO: 74, SEQ ID NO: 77, SEQ ID NO: 80, SEQ ID NO: 85, SEQ ID NO: 88, and SEQ ID NO: 91.
Claim 6 is drawn to the method according to claim 1, wherein said at least one of: (i) at least one undifferentiated BM cell or undifferentiated BM cell population is at least one undifferentiated BM cell or a BM cell population transduced or transfected with said at least one said CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in said cells; and (ii) the at least one undifferentiated BM cell or the undifferentiated BM cell population is of an autologous or of an allogenic source.
Claim 8 is drawn to the method according to claim 1, wherein said undifferentiated BM cell population is a BM cell population of an allogeneic subject exhibiting an inhibited or eliminated expression and/or activity of MPO.
Claim 9 is drawn to the method according to claim 1, wherein reducing the expression and/or activity of MPO comprises inhibiting or eliminating the expression and/or activity of MPO in said subject.
Claim 10 is drawn to the method according to claim 1, for treating, ameliorating, inhibiting or delaying the onset of an MPO-related condition or disorder in a mammalian subject, the method comprising the step of administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of at least one of: (A) at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated BM cell of said subject; said CRISPR/Cas system comprising at least one of:(i) at least one CRISPR/cas protein; and at least one gRNA that targets a protospacer within the MPO gene:(ii) a nucleic acid molecule encoding said Cas protein, or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and a nucleic acid sequence encoding said gRNA or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and(iii) a composition comprising (i) or (ii); and (B) at least one undifferentiated BM cell or cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO; wherein said MPO-related condition or disorder is selected from the group consisting of: AD, MS, PAH, AVV and AAGN.
Claim 11 is drawn to the method according to claim 10, wherein at least one of: (i) said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or undifferentiated BM cell population is at least one undifferentiated BM cell or a BM cell population transduced or transfected with said at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in said cells; and(ii) the at least one undifferentiated BM cell or undifferentiated BM cell population is of an autologous or of an allogenic source.
Claim 13 is drawn to the method according to claim 10, wherein said at least one undifferentiated BM cell or undifferentiated BM cell population is at least one undifferentiated BM cell or a BM cell population of an allogeneic subject exhibiting an inhibited or eliminated expression and/or activity of MPO.
Claim 16 is drawn to the method according to claim 10, wherein the gRNA comprises the nucleic acid sequence as denoted by any one of SEQ ID NO: 33, SEQ ID NO: 34, SEQ ID NO: 35, SEQ ID NO: 42, SEQ ID NO: 47, SEQ ID NO:50, SEQ ID NO: 55, SEQ ID NO: 60, SEQ ID NO: 63, SEQ ID NO: 66, SEQ ID NO: 71, SEQ ID NO: 74, SEQ ID NO: 77, SEQ ID NO: 80, SEQ ID NO: 85, SEQ ID NO: 88 and SEQ ID NO: 91.
Claim 18 is drawn to the method according to claim 10, wherein at least one of: (a) said disorder is Alzheimer's disease (AD); (b) said disorder is multiple sclerosis (MS); (d) said disorder is Pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH).
Claim 44 is drawn to a method for inhibiting neutrophil extracellular trap (NET) activation and release (NETosis) in a mammalian subject, said method comprises the step of administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of at least one of:(a) at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated BM cell of said subject; and (b) at least one undifferentiated BM cell or undifferentiated BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO, wherein said CRISPR/cas system comprising at least one of (i) at least one CRISPR/cas protein and at least one gRNA that targets a protospacer within the MPO gene:(ii) a nucleic acid molecule encoding said Cas protein, or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and a nucleic acid sequence encoding said gRNA or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and(iii) a composition comprising (i) or (ii).
Claim 46 is drawn to the method according to claim 44, wherein said gRNA comprises the nucleic acid sequence as denoted by any one of SEQ ID NO: 33, SEQID NO: 34, SEQ ID NO: 35, SEQ ID NO: 42, SEQ ID NO: 47, SEQ ID NO: 50, SEQ ID NO: 55, SEQ ID NO: 60, SEQ ID NO: 63, SEQ ID NO: 66, SEQ ID NO: 71, SEQ ID NO: 74, SEQ ID NO: 77, SEQ ID NO: 80, SEQ ID NO: 85, SEQ ID NO: 88 and SEQ ID NO: 91.
Claim 47 is drawn to the method according to claim 44, wherein said undifferentiated BM cell population is a BM cell population of an allogeneic subject exhibiting an inhibited or eliminated expression and/or activity of MPO.
Claim 48 is drawn to a method for inhibiting production of reactive oxygen species (ROS) in a mammalian subject, said method comprising the step of administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of at least one of: (a) at least one CRISPR/Cas system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated BM cell of said subject; and (b) at least one undifferentiated BM cell or undifferentiated BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO, wherein said CRISPR/cas system comprising at least one of:(i) at least one CRISPR/cas protein; and at least one gRNA that targets a protospacer within the MPO gene;(ii) a nucleic acid molecule encoding said Cas protein, or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and a nucleic acid sequence encoding said gRNA or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence; and(iii) a composition comprising (i) or (ii).
The instant claims are drawn to a method of reducing the expression and/or activity of Myeloperoxidase (MPO) in a mammalian subject, the method comprising the step of administering to said subject an effective amount of at least one of: (a) at least one clustered regulatory interspaced short palindromic repeat (CRISPR)/CRISPR associated (cas) protein system that inhibits or reduces the expression and/or activity of MPO in at least one undifferentiated bone marrow (BM) cell of said subject, said CRISPER/Cas system comprising at least one of:(i) at least one CRISPR/cas protein: and at least one guide RNA (gRNA) that targets a protospacer within the MPO gene, (ii) a nucleic acid molecule encoding said Cas protein, or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence: and a nucleic acid sequence encoding said gRNA or a nucleic acid construct comprising said nucleic acid sequence: and (iii) composition comprising (i) or (ii); and (b) at least one undifferentiated BM cell, or BM cell population exhibiting a reduced or inhibited expression and/or activity of MPO, said undifferentiated BM cell being a hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) or a hematopoietic progenitor cell; wherein said subject is a subject affected by or suffering from at least one MPO- related condition or disorder selected from the group consisting of: Alzheimer's disease (AD), multiple sclerosis (MS), Pulmonary arterial hypertension (PAH), Antineutrophil cytoplasmic autoantibody (ANCA)-Associated Vasculitis (AVV) and ANCA-associated glomerulonephritis (AAGN). The claims are drawn to at least one gRNA targets at least one protospacer comprised within at least one of exon 1, exon 2, exon 3, exon 5, exon 6, exon 8, exon 9 and exon 12 of the human MPO gene (see claims 4, 12, and 24). The claims are drawn to said gRNA comprises the nucleic acid sequence as denoted by any one of: SEQ ID NO: 118, SEQ ID NO: 125, SEQ ID NO: 115, SEQ ID NO: 122, SEQ ID NO: 132, SEQ ID NO: 133, SEQ ID NO: 134, SEQ ID NO: 137, SEQ ID NO: 139, SEQ ID NO: 142, SEQ ID NO: 143, SEQ ID NO: 145, SEQ ID NO: 33, SEQ ID NO: 34, SEQ ID NO: 35, SEQ ID NO: 42, SEQ ID NO: 47, SEQ ID NO: 50, SEQ ID NO: 55, SEQ ID NO: 60, SEQ ID NO: 63, SEQ ID NO: 66, SEQ ID NO: 71, SEQ ID NO: 74, SEQ ID NO: 77, SEQ ID NO: 80, SEQ ID NO: 85, SEQ ID NO: 88, and SEQ ID NO: 91, or any combinations of said gRNAs (see claims 5 and 13).
Instant SEQ ID NOs: 33, 34, 35, 42, 47, 50, 55, 60, 63, 66, 71, 74, 77, 80, 85, 88, and 91 share 100% identity to SEQ ID NOs: 33, 34, 35, 42, 47, 50, 55, 60, 63, 66, 71, 74, 77, 80, 85, 88, and 91 of the reference application. The reference application does not teach of the limitations recited in instant claims 3-4 and 11-12.
However, Civin et al. disclose of a novel group of genes and/or their encoded gene products that are differentially represented in two substantially enriched CD34+/CD38-/Lin- and CD34+/[CD38/Lin]++ hematopoietic cell populations isolated from normal bone marrow (see Abstract). Civin et al. teach that allogeneic bone marrow transplantation (BMT) may be particularly useful medically as it can be used to remedy acquired defects in either the hematopoietic system or the immune system, since both types of cells develop from a common stem cell (see col. 1, lines 21-26). However, due to the inability to transfer only the stem cell population, the applicability of allogeneic BMT remains restricted by graft vs. host disease (GVHD) (see col. 1, lines 46-49). Autologous BMT can avoid most of the problems associated with allogeneic transplants, however, it is necessary to reintroduce only desirable cell populations free of diseased cell populations to avoid re-introduction of the disease (see col. 1, lines 52-57). Many problems associated with both allogeneic and autologous BMT can be alleviated by using purified stem cell populations for the graft, obtained from marrow cell suspensions by positive selection or negative selection (see col. 1, lines 58-63). Isolating CD34+ cells result in a mixed cell population of stem and progenitor cells that include all lineages and stages of lymphohematopoietic stem and progenitor cells and some later precursor cells (see col. 2, lines 38-41). Civin et al. disclose that MPO was one of the genes found to be expressed in total CD34+ cells, not in undifferentiated HSCs (see col. 3, lines 54-58). Many genes known (or expected) to be expressed only hematopoietic progenitor cells (HPCs) or more mature blood or immune, such as MPO, are not present hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) list, they are detected in the HPC population (see col. 56, lines 23-26). Particularly, Civin et al. disclose of SEQ ID NO: 144, wherein nucleic acid positions 2268-2249 share 100% identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 145 (see alignment).
Civin et al. does not explicitly indicate that this sequence is within an exon of the MPO gene, however, Morishita et al. disclose the partial amino acid sequence of human MPO for molecular cloning and characterization of cDNA (see Abstract). Specifically, Morishita et al. disclose that the cDNA of the above sequence is within the heavy chain of the MPO gene (see Fig. 4, positions 2268-2249) which is within exon 12 as evidenced by Morishita and Tsuchiya et al. (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to combine the teachings of the ‘764 application, Civin, and Morishita et al. to develop a method of modulating MPO expression and/or expression comprising at least one gRNA comprising a polynucleotide sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 145. One would be motivated to do so as Civin et al. has demonstrated CD34+ cells result in a mixed cell population of stem and progenitor cells that include all lineages and stages of lymphohematopoietic stem and progenitor cells and some later precursor cells (see col. 2, lines 38-41). Civin et al. disclose that MPO was one of the genes found to be expressed in total CD34+ cells, not in undifferentiated HSCs. Further, Civin et al. disclose of SEQ ID NO: 144 (which comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 145) and Morishita et al. disclose that this section of the sequence cDNA is within the heavy chain of the MPO gene (see Fig. 4, positions 2268-2249) which is within exon 12 as evidenced by Morishita and Tsuchiya et al. (see Fig. 1). Thus, it would be prima facie obvious to combine the teachings as there would be a reasonable expectation that a gRNA comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 145 would target the MPO gene, specifically, exon 12 of the gene.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant respectfully traverses the provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 8-9, 11-13, 20, and 22-27 as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-11, 13-14, 16-18, 24-25, 27, 30, 37, 44, and 46-48 of copending application no. 17/257,764 in view of Civin et al and Morishita et al, as evidenced by Morishita and Tsuchiya et al (see pgs. 58 and 59 of the Remarks filed 08/12/2025).
It should be first noted that the present CIP application has been filed, together with the national phase copending application no. 17/257,764, within a year from the date of the publication of the corresponding PCT, and therefore, the copending application no. 17/257,764 cannot be considered as prior art. In any case, all arguments provided above with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejection in the light of these references, apply also for the present double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/07/2024 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner acknowledges the filing dates of the present and copending applications. However, Applicant is reminded that a copending application in a double patenting rejection need not be considered prior art (i.e., filed earlier) in order for a terminal disclaimer to filed (see MPEP 804.01). Specifically, a CIP is an application filed during the lifetime of an earlier application by at least one common (joint) inventor that repeats some substantial portion or all of the earlier application and adds matter not disclosed in the earlier application. In this particular case, the ‘764 application is filed earlier than the present application. Furthermore, the 35 USC 121 double patenting protections do not apply to CIP applications, only divisional and original applications in response to a restriction requirement.
Additionally, the Examiner acknowledges that MPEP 1490 states that if the provisional ODP rejections in both applications are the only rejections remaining in those applications, the examiner should then withdraw the provisional ODP rejection in the earlier-filed application thereby permitting that application to issue without need of a terminal disclaimer. The instant application has a filing date of 01/05/2021, while the copending application has a filing date of 01/04/2021. The copending application is therefore the earlier filed application. Further, the double patenting rejection is not the only rejection remaining, and therefore the rejection is maintained.
It is strongly advised that Applicants file any Terminal Disclaimer by using eTerminalDisclaimer (http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp) in EFS-Web. The new eTerminal Disclaimer provides applicants with many advantages and promotes greater efficiency in the patent examination process. This web-based eTerminal Disclaimer can be filled out completely online through web-screens and no EFS-Web fillable forms are required. eTerminal Disclaimers are auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission if the request meets all of the requirements. This is especially important for a Terminal Disclaimer filed after final.
Fees must be paid immediately which will then provide users more financial flexibility. A paper filed Terminal Disclaimer requires a fee but does not guarantee a Terminal Disclaimer approval. Each eTerminal Disclaimer filed requires a single terminal disclaimer fee, but can include up to 50 “reference applications” and 50 “prior patents”.
See http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-QSG.pdf for instructions. For assistance with filing an eTerminal Disclaimer, or to suggest improvements, please call the Patent Electronic Business Center at 866-217-9197 (toll free) or send an email to EBC@uspto.gov.
Further, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). As such, the combined teachings must be taken as a whole. As disclosed by the rejection, the ‘764 application is drawn to a method of modulating the expression and/or activity of Myeloperoxidase (MPO) in a mammalian subject comprising the same steps as recited in the instant application (e.g., gene editing compound, gRNA, PEN, etc.). Additionally, Civin et al. teach that allogeneic bone marrow transplantation (BMT) may be particularly useful medically as it can be used to remedy acquired defects in either the hematopoietic system or the immune system, since both types of cells develop from a common stem cell (see col. 1, lines 21-26). Many genes known (or expected) to be expressed only hematopoietic progenitor cells (HPCs) or more mature blood or immune, such as MPO, are not present hematopoietic stem cell (HSC) list, they are detected in the HPC population (see col. 56, lines 23-26). Particularly, Civin et al. disclose of SEQ ID NO: 144, wherein nucleic acid positions 2268-2249 share 100% identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 145 (see alignment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to combine the teachings of the ‘764 application, Civin, and Morishita et al. to develop a method of modulating MPO expression and/or expression comprising at least one gRNA comprising a polynucleotide sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 145. One would be motivated to do so as Civin et al. has demonstrated CD34+ cells result in a mixed cell population of stem and progenitor cells that include all lineages and stages of lymphohematopoietic stem and progenitor cells and some later precursor cells (see col. 2, lines 38-41). Civin et al. disclose that MPO was one of the genes found to be expressed in total CD34+ cells, not in undifferentiated HSCs. Further, Civin et al. disclose of SEQ ID NO: 144 (which comprises instant SEQ ID NO: 145) and Morishita et al. disclose that this section of the sequence cDNA is within the heavy chain of the MPO gene (see Fig. 4, positions 2268-2249) which is within exon 12 as evidenced by Morishita and Tsuchiya et al. (see Fig. 1). Thus, it would be prima facie obvious to combine the teachings as there would be a reasonable expectation that a gRNA comprising instant SEQ ID NO: 145 would target the MPO gene, specifically, exon 12 of the gene.
As such, the provisional double patenting rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/DANAYA L MIDDLETON/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674