DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cleaning tool” (corresponds to brush or plate brush, page 22 lines 9-10), “operating unit” (corresponds to structure comprising a gripping device, page 22 lines 24-25 and comprises operating elements, page 23 lines 6-8), “operating element” (corresponds to a program selector switch, page 9 lines 13-16 or rocker lever, page 23 lines 9-11), “control unit” (corresponds to data processing device or processor, page 4 lines 7-8), “communication unit” (corresponds to a contactless information transmitter, radio, RFID, NFC communicator, page 11 lines 9-14, page 14 lines 13-20), and “digital operating element” (corresponds to a digital variant of an operating element, page 27 lines 28-31) in claims 55 and 63-64; a “functional unit” (corresponds to a drive device for the brush, a pressing device, a chassis with a drive device, a suction assembly, a dosing device, page 22 lines 9-18) in claim 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34-40, 42-50, and 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 55 recites “…wherein an authentication device is required to operate the cleaning apparatus…” Claim 34, which depends from claim 55, recites “…wherein the cleaning apparatus is operable without a separate authentication device.” How can the cleaning apparatus be operable without a separate authentication device when the authentication device is required to operate the cleaning apparatus Therefore, claim 34 is unclear. For similar reasons, claim 35 is also unclear as it recites “…wherein an emergency cleaning operation is performable with the cleaning apparatus in the absence of an authentication device…” In addition, claim 36 requires “at least one authentication device”. Is this the same authentication device required in claim 55 or is this an additional authentication device? Claim 42 recites “…an authorization means formed separate from the accessory comprises or is an accessory device”. Is this the same authentication device required in claim 55 or is this an additional authentication device?
Each of claims 63-64 include the recitation: “…at least one digital operating element is providable on the display device”. It is unclear what is meant by “providable”. Can this be interpreted that the digital operating element needs only to be capable of being provided by the user application program? Or is it requiring that there is at least one digital operating element?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 3-10, 12-22, 30, 32-40, 42-52, 54-56, 58-59, 61, and 63-64 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troff et al., US 9,367,044 in view of Cutler, US 9,403,051, Soupert et al., US 5,341,540, and Park et al., EP 2573247.
Regarding claims 55 and 64, Troff et al. disclose a cleaning system comprising a cleaning apparatus (scrubber vacuum 10) and at least one external accessory adapted to be associated with the cleaning apparatus (playback device 23 with optical display unit 24; and/or the at least one external accessory can also include an authentication device 32, 36, 37), the cleaning apparatus comprising a chassis with a drive device for moving the cleaning apparatus over a floor surface (chassis of 10, unlabeled wheels help drive the device; see also column 5 lines 55-60), at least one cleaning tool for cleaning an object to be cleaned (tool 14, brush 15, tank 16, vacuum 17), an operating unit for a user (12), which comprises at least one operating element for operating the cleaning apparatus (operating elements 18 to 22, Figure 2 and column 6 lines 9-12), in relation to a longitudinal direction of the cleaning apparatus, being arranged on the rear side of the cleaning apparatus (Figure 1, the entirety of the control unit 12 is on a rear side of the cleaning apparatus 10), a control unit for processing operating instructions (25), an accessory/display housing arranged on the operating unit for the at least one accessory (where the playback device 23 is located, Figure 2) adapted to be associated with the cleaning apparatus and that has a display device with an image display (24), wherein the at least one accessory is in the housing in a defined position (Figure 2), the cleaning apparatus further comprising a communication unit (part of the operation unit 12 that transfers information from the vacuum to the display of the playback device 6 lines 9-23, see also column 5 lines 10-29), wherein display information being displayed on the image display are transmittable from the cleaning apparatus to the accessory positioned in the housing (column 6 lines 9-23), during a cleaning operation of the cleaning apparatus the accessory device is arranged within a field of view of the user guiding the cleaning apparatus over the floor surface such that the image display is seen during cleaning operation (column 5 lines 30-38), wherein an authentication device is required to operate the cleaning device (column 2 lines 12-21), wherein the accessory comprises or is an authentication device (playback machine accessory provides authorization information, column 5 lines 10-29; alternatively one of the accessories is an authentication device, 33, 36, 37). Regarding claim 12, the operating unit comprises a gripping device with two gripping elements arranged at a distance from one another (unlabeled side handles, see marked up version of Figure 2). Regarding claim 13, the gripping elements define a gripping plane (plane in which the gripping elements are located, Figures 1-2) wherein an abutment plane formed by the accessory housing defines an angle of less than about 20 degrees with the gripping plane (about zero degrees, are nearly planar, see Figures 1-2).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (gripping element)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (gripping element)]
Regarding claim 14, the accessory housing arranged on the operating unit is offset in a direction away from a user relative to the gripping elements (Figures 1-2). Regarding claim 16, the accessory housing, in relation to a transverse direction of the cleaning apparatus, is arranged between the gripping elements in a viewing direction of the user toward the image display of the accessory arranged in the accessory housing (Figures 1-2). Regarding claim 17, an operating element for acting on a chassis of the cleaning apparatus (18 to 22) is arranged laterally next to a respective gripping element (Figure 2), wherein the accessory housing is arranged between the operating elements in relation to a transverse direction (Figure 2). Regarding claim 18, the gripping elements are configured as longitudinal gripping elements (Figure 2) and the accessory housing, the hands of a user would be capable of being placed with the thenar eminence against the gripping elements, is arranged substantially in a region between the base of thumbs and the distal ends of thumbs (Figure 2). Regarding claim 19, the operating unit comprises at least one operating element (18 to 22, column 6 lines 9-12) that is capable of being arranged in front of a user in relation to the accessory housing (as shown in Figure 1, a user positioned in front would place the operating unit, operating element, and accessory housing in front of a user). Regarding claim 20, the operating element is a program selector switch (29). Regarding claim 21, the operating unit comprises an operating field defining an operating plane (plane where 24 is located, Figure 2), on which at least one operating element is arranged (20 or 21, Figure 2), wherein the operating plane is arranged in front of the receptacle in relation to a user (Figures 1-2, a user in front of the apparatus would place the operating plane and receptacle in front of the user). Regarding claim 30, the communication unit is configured to transmit display information in a contact-based or contactless manner (via 24). Regarding claim 32, display information relating to the use of the cleaning tool is transmittable to the accessory as well as instructions (column 6 lines 12-21). Regarding claim 33, at least one of status and operational information relating to an operation of the cleaning apparatus is transmittable by the communication unit to the accessory for at least one of storage and forwarding to an external processing device (column 6 lines 12-21). Regarding claims 34-35, the cleaning apparatus is operable without a separate authentication device in an emergency cleaning operation is performable with the cleaning apparatus in an absence of an authentication device or a valid authentication (an emergency cleaning operation is capable of being performed in a “standard experience” in an instance if a specialized authorization card is absent or invalid, column 8 lines 48-57). Regarding claim 36, at least one authentication device is associated with the cleaning apparatus (cards 33, 38, 39) by which an access authorization required for an operation of the cleaning apparatus is providable (column 7 lines 13-30). Regarding claim 37, the access authorization of the cleaning apparatus is transmittable contactlessly (column 6 lines 35-43). Regarding claim 38, the cleaning apparatus comprises a receptacle in which the authentication device is releasably arrangeable (31). Regarding claim 39, the access authorization is saved in a storage unit (26). Regarding claim 40, the access authorization is inputtable by a user on the authentication device by means of an input device and is transmittable to the cleaning apparatus (in that a user has input the saved authorization see column 6 lines 44-46, column 7 lines 25-30, and is transmittable contactlessly column 6 lines 35-43). Regarding claim 42, the authentication device is separate from the display accessory (33, 38, 39). Regarding claim 43, the authorization means is configured as a transponder (column 4 lines 59-66). Regarding claim 44, a user profile is provided (column 5 lines 10-24). Regarding claim 45, an authorization profile is provided, wherein two or more different authorization profiles are provided, wherein different functional scopes are providable to a user in dependence on the authorization profile (column 6 line 64 to column 7 line 21). Regarding claim 46, at least one of a user profile and authorization profile is associated with the access authorization (column 6 line 64 to column 7 line 21). Regarding claim 47, hierarchical authorization levels are provided (column 7 lines 31-41). Regarding claim 48, at least one of the user profile and authorization profile is stored or saved in or on the authentication device (26). Regarding claim 49, in dependence on the user profile display information with corresponding image contents are providable (column 5 lines 39-47) and presetting of at least one functional unit of the cleaning apparatus is performed (column 5 lines 30-47). Regarding claim 50, in dependence on the authorization profile, at least one of access authorization are created, adaptation of profiles can be performed a report on usage can be created, and data can be evaluated (column 6 line 64 to column 7 line 11). Regarding claim 51, the apparatus is a floor cleaning apparatus (Figure 1; column 5 lines 55-56). Regarding claim 52, the cleaning apparatus is a ride-on or stand-on cleaning apparatus (column 5 lines 55-67). Regarding claim 54, the cleaning apparatus cleans with a cleaning jet (column 6 lines 3-6).
Troff et al. fails to disclose a receptacle arranged on the operating unit for the external accessory of a playback device (23) with a display unit (24), or how the external accessory (playback device (23) having the optical display unit (24)) is specifically mounted, as shown in Figure 2. Troff et al. fails to disclose how an accessory (23 and/or 24) is removably positioned in a receptacle arranged on an operating unit. Also Troff et al. disclose operating elements (18 to 22, Figure 2) on the operating unit (12), but does not provide specifics, including whether the operating unit includes an integrated display device to display status information (Figure 2 shows elements 20 and 21 as a type of knob or gauge, but does not disclose specifics). Further, Troff et al. does not disclose that the accessory has executably saved a user application program where operating instructions for the cleaning apparatus are providable by the user and are transmittable from the accessory to the communication unit.
Cutler discloses an exercise machine (Title; 10) and in particular teaches an operating unit (28) to mount an accessory (a playback machine with a display 60, Figure 6; column 6 lines 5-11), within a receptacle (48) so that it is removable and adjustable so that a user can manipulate the display and so as to hold other objects as necessary (see column 4 lines 12-41). In particular, Cutler teaches a receptacle that allows a display screen to be held on a piece of equipment in an easy and convenient manner, prevents the display from moving due to vibrations, and firmly holds the accessory in place (column 9 lines 56-59, 62-65 and column 10 lines 1-16), the receptacle comprises or forms at least one abutment element against which the accessory abuts (50, Figure 6). Regarding claim 3, the abutment element is at least one of flat and planar in configuration (see Figures 3 and 5-10). Regarding claim 4, the receptacle comprises or forms a shoulder for abutting the accessory (50, Figure 6). Regarding claim 5, the receptacle defines an abutment plane that encloses an angle with the horizontal of about 0 degrees to about 90 degrees (see Figures 3 and 5-10). Regarding claim 6, the receptacle is arranged or arrangeable on the operating unit (28) in such a way that the image display of the accessory positioned in the receptacle defines an image plane substantially perpendicular to the viewing direction of the user (depending on how the user is standing, see Figures). Regarding claim 7, a surface normal of an abutment plane defined by the receptacle is oriented in a vertical plane (see Figures). Regarding claim 8, the receptacle comprises at least one frictional coefficient increasing element against which the accessory is able to abut (64; column 6 lines 27-32). Regarding claims 9-10, the receptacle is configured to be movable relative to the operating unit for changing a viewing angle of the user on the image display and is adjustable over an angular range of about at least 45 degrees (column 7 lines 1-34). Regarding claim 22, the receptacle is configured for accepting an arrangement of accessories (the receptacle is capable of accepting accessories of various dimensions, the accessory itself is not a positively recited element of the cleaning apparatus). Regarding claim 56, the accessory playback device is a smartphone or tablet computer (column 6 lines 6-11).
Soupert et al. teach a similar cleaning system as Troff et al. where there is an operating unit for a user (upper and rear part of the apparatus 1 where console 15 is located) comprising at least one operating element for operating a cleaning apparatus (15, 16, 17, 30, 33, 34, 61, 62; Figure 3), in relation to a longitudinal direction of the cleaning apparatus, being arranged on the rear side of the cleaning apparatus (Figure 1); an integrated display device, arranged on the operating unit, is for displaying status information (16 and/or 33, as 33 is a monitoring key or signal for alarms, battery monitor, column 9 lines 30-32).
Park et al. teach a cleaning system comprising at least one cleaning tool for cleaning (drum 124 and tub 122 of a washing machine, see Figures), an operating unit for a user, which comprises at least one operating element for operating the cleaning apparatus (includes panel shown in Figure 3 and inner workings of the washing machine, Figure 2), a control unit for processing operating instructions (control panel 114), a receptacle, arranged on the operating unit (140 or 220, see Figures 3, 25 and 33-35), for an external accessory adapted to be associated with the cleaning apparatus that has a display device with an image display (M, see Figures 3, 25, 33-35; the display is shown particularly in Figure 3), the accessory is removably positionable in the receptacle in a defined position (in any position in which the phone fits into the receptacle, Figures 3, 25, 33-35), and a communication unit by way of which display information being displayed on the image display are transmittable from the cleaning apparatus to the accessory positioned in the receptacle (160; paragraphs 0081-0086, 0111-0114). Notably, with regards to claims 55, 59, and 63-64, the accessory has executably saved a user application program which operating instructions are capable of being provided by a user and operating instructions are transmittable from the accessory to the communication unit (paragraphs 0087, 0089), by way of the application program, there is at least one digital operating element is providable on the display for accepting operating instructions (see paragraphs 0087, 0100-0108, in addition to embodiments described in paragraphs 0167, 0249; digital operating element capable of accepting operating instructions referred to as “operations”, at least one digital operating element is located on a display 144 to generate predetermined input data relating to the operations, information displayed is based on an operation of the machine and operation when finished, corresponding to a control command, or may display a progress of an operation by using a character, an emoticon, an image, a menu, a number; Figure 3), wherein the operating unit comprises no corresponding physical functionally identical operating element of the operating unit (not functionally identical in Figure 3). Regarding claim 58, the operating instructions comprise settings of at least one operating parameter of a functional unit of the cleaning apparatus (paragraphs 0096-0100). Regarding claim 61, by way of at least one the accessory and communication unit, a communicative connection with an externally arranged data processing device is established (paragraphs 0096, 0098, 0135-0140). The user application allows a user to control the cleaning operation by using the application program stored by the accessory (paragraphs 0017-0019, 0021-0023).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the way that the external accessory (playback machine) of Troff et al. is positioned on its operating unit so that it is held within a receptacle so that the accessory is removably positionable in the receptacle, for the receptacle taught by Cutler, so that the accessory having the display of Troff et al. can be removed from the operating unit as needed and held securely to the operating unit when the cleaning system is operational and also it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating unit of Troff et al. to include an integrated display device arranged on the operating unit that displays status information, as taught by Soupert et al., so as to display the status information relating to monitoring batteries or an alarm, and even further it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the accessory the cleaning system of Troff et al. to include an executable application program with operating instructions for cleaning and by way of the application program at least one digital operating element is provided on the display for accepting operating instructions, as taught by Park et al., so that the user is able to communicate and control operations of the cleaning apparatus by using a program provided by the accessory.
Further, with regards to claim 15, neither Troff et al. nor Cutler disclose a value for the offset of the receptacle/housing to be between 5 cm and 20 cm. It is clear in Figures 1-2 of Troff et al. that the housing of the accessory is offset minimally from the gripping elements. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the value of the offset of Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al., and Park et al. to be in a range of about 5 cm to 20 cm in order to optimize the design of the receptacle and operating unit for a user as one would have had a reasonable expectation of success to construct this offset in the range given the proportions and relative sizes of the structure of Troff et al.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troff et al., US 9,367,044, Cutler, US 9,403,051, Soupert et al., US 5,341,540, and Park et al., EP 2573247 as applied to claim 55, in view of Field, US 9,700,190.
Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al., and Park et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above. Troff et al. discloses that the cleaning apparatus comprises a housing (housing includes tank 16, Figure 1) positioned in front of the operating unit (Figure 1), but does not disclose that in relation to a longitudinal direction of the cleaning apparatus, that there is a movable housing part arranged in front of the operating unit, the housing part pivotable from a closed position in the direction of the operating unit into an open position. Troff et al. is silent on the operation of the housing and tank.
Field teaches a similar cleaning device with a housing (housing of 300, also includes a tank 306; Figures 8A-8C), in relation to a longitudinal direction of the cleaning apparatus, has a movable housing part (304) arranged in front of its operating unit (operating unit includes 346, 348), the housing part is pivotable from a closed position in the direction of the operating unit into an open position and vice versa (Figures 8A-8C), wherein the housing part in the open position is free of contact with the operating unit (Figures 8A-8C). The housing has a movable housing part to provide access into the interior of the housing, including access to an interior tank for cleaning liquid (column 10 lines 17-26).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning apparatus of Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al., and Park et al. so that its housing has a movable housing part arranged in front of the operating unit and free of contact from the operating unit with the receptacle and accessory, as taught by Field, so that a user can access the interior of the housing as necessary for maintenance of the apparatus.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troff et al., US 9,367,044, Cutler, US 9,403,051, Soupert et al., US 5,341,540, and Park et al., EP 2573247 as applied to claim 55, in view of Peng et al., CN 206183203 A (see also English translation).
Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al., and Park et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose that the cleaning apparatus comprises a charging device for providing electrical energy for the accessory.
Peng et al. teach a cleaning apparatus comprising a chassis with a drive device for moving the cleaning apparatus over a floor surface (1; see English translation of Abstract), at least one cleaning tool for cleaning an object to be cleaned (ground washing vehicle, Abstract; floor scrubber in claim 1; Figure 1), an operating unit for a user, which comprises at least one operating element for operating the cleaning apparatus (operation panel 32), a control unit for processing operating instructions (circuitry and circuit board, see English translation), a receptacle, arranged on the operating unit (6), for an external accessory adapted to be associated with the cleaning apparatus (see English translation, 6 is a storage box for a mobile phone, a playback device), the receptacle comprising or forming at least one abutment element (bottom or wall of planar surface of box 6), the external accessory having a display device with an image display (a mobile phone has a display device with an image display; see English translation), a communication unit (USB interface described throughout the English translation, information from the mobile phone is capable of transmission via the circuitry), wherein the accessory is removably positionable in the receptacle in a defined position (in any position in which the phone fits into the receptacle, Figure 1), display information being displayed on the image display are transmittable by way of the communication unit from the cleaning apparatus to the accessory positioned in the receptacle (USB interface described throughout the English translation, information from the mobile phone is capable of transmission via the circuitry). Regarding claim 24, the cleaning apparatus comprises a charging device for providing electrical energy for the accessory (not shown, see English translation), and the accessory is able to be applied with electrical energy when arranged in the receptacle (see English translation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning apparatus of Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al., and Park et al. so that there is a charging device for providing electrical energy for the accessory, wherein the accessory is able to be applied with electrical energy when arranged in the receptacle, as Peng et al. teach as a simple and convenient charging mechanism for an accessory that is a playback device.
Claim(s) 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troff et al., US 9,367,044, Cutler, US 9,403,051, Soupert et al., US 5,341,540, Park et al., EP 2573247, and Peng et al., CN 206183203 A (see also English translation) as applied to claim 24, in view of Jolda et al., US 2014/0223065.
Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al., Park et al., and Peng et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however fail to disclose a type of charging device.
Jolda et al. teach a vehicle that includes a receptacle with an abutment element (12, 20; Abstract, abutment element can be the walls or bottom; see Figures), the receptacle is for an external accessory associated with the vehicle (14, tablet computer), the external accessory having a display device with an image display (tablet display, touch screen 92); the vehicle having a communication unit (includes 74, 78, 80; see paragraphs 0037, 0039-0042); wherein the accessory is removably positionable in the receptacle in a defined position (some positions shown in Figures 1-5), display information being displayed on the image display is transmittable by way of the communication unit from the vehicle to the accessory positioned within the receptacle (paragraphs 0039-0042); wherein during operation of the vehicle the accessory device abuts against the at least one abutment element and is arranged with within the field of view of the user guiding it the vehicle over a floor or ground surface such that the image display is seen well during operation (as shown in Figures 2-4). Jolda et al. additionally comprises a charging device for providing electrical energy for the accessory (paragraph 0038), wherein the accessory is able to be applied with electrical energy when arranged in the receptacle (paragraph 0038). Regarding claim 25, the charging device is an inductive charging device for contactlessly acting on the accessory (84, paragraph 0038). Regarding claim 26, the charging device comprises at least one electrical connecting element fixedly arranged on the receptacle and couples to a corresponding electrical connecting element of the accessory (induction coil 84 connects electrically to the battery 77, paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging device of Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al., Park et al., and Peng et al. for one that is inductive or has an electrical connecting element, as taught by Jolda et al., so that the accessory can be conveniently charged.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troff et al., US 9,367,044, Cutler, US 9,403,051, Soupert et al., US 5,341,540, and Park et al., EP 2573247 as applied to claim 55, in view of Jolda et al., US 2014/0223065.
Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al., and Park et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above, however does not disclose that the communication unit is automatically activated to transmit the display information upon the accessory being positioned in the receptacle and/or is automatically deactivated upon the accessory being removed from the receptacle.
Regarding claim 31, Jolda et al. teach that the communication unit is automatically activated to transmit the display information upon the accessory being positioned in the receptacle (paragraph 0044) to initiate a process where the accessory communicates with the vehicle (paragraphs 0043-0045).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al., and Park et al. so that the communication unit is activated to transmit information upon the accessory being positioned in the receptacle, as taught by Jolda et al., so that the accessory can be automatically in communication without activation by the user.
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Troff et al., US 9,367,044, Cutler, US 9,403,051, Soupert et al., US 5,341,540, and Park et al., EP 2573247.
Troff et al., Cutler, Soupert et al. and Park et al. disclose all elements previously discussed above. fails to disclose that the apparatus is configured as self-propelled and self-steering. Troff et al. is a walk-behind cleaning apparatus (column 5 lines 63-67) and is not configured as a self-propelled and self-steering cleaning apparatus.
Soupert et al. teach a similar cleaning apparatus (1), but instead is autonomous, self-propelled, and self-steering (Abstract) so that there needs minimum intervention by a supervisor (column 1 lines 14-19).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Troff et al. as modified by Cutler, Soupert et al., and Park et al. so that it is further configured as a self-propelled and self-steering apparatus, as taught by Soupert et al., such that the apparatus can operate with minimal interaction with a user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art made of record disclose, teach, or suggest the invention of claims 28-29. Specifically, the prior art does not teach that a cleaning system according to claim 55 further wherein the integrated display device is at least partially covered by the accessory when the accessory is arranged in the receptacle or that the integrated display device is switched off when the accessory is arranged in the receptacle and is activatable or activated when the accessory is removed from the receptacle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant states that they do not agree with the examiner’s interpretation of Park as it relates to original claim 60, and states that “it should be made clear that the display device of the accessory provides at least one operating element for which there is no corresponding operating element with identical functionality on the operating unit”. The applicant then states that “the display device can provide additional operating elements for operating the cleaning system that are not mirrored on the operating unit of the cleaning apparatus”. As this relates to Park, the applicant argues that the display unit 144 is the operating unit and therefore the operating element 142 is not an operating element of the accessory/mobile terminal. Thus, the applicant argues that Park does not show an operating element of an accessory for operating a cleaning system and that a combination including Park would not lead a person skilled in the art to find the subject matter of newly added claim 64 to be obvious.
With regards to claim 55, the applicant argues that the authorization cards 33, 38, and 39 of Troff are not accessories that provide an image display or an accessory having an executably saved user application program (“Neither a display nor a executable program is comprised by the authorization cards of Troff”).
The applicant provides arguments relating to invoking 35 USC 112(f), that each of the elements recites sufficient structure.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with these arguments for the reasons below.
Regarding argument (A), it is noted that, as best understood, newly claims 63-64 each recite “that at least one digital operating element is providable on the display device of the accessory for accepting operating instructions”. Elements/images that are shown on a digital display is not positively recited structure of the cleaning system, accessory, or cleaning apparatus. Park is capable of providing at least one digital operating element on the display device for accepting operating instructions as discussed previously. In Park, an accessory has executably saved a user application program which operating instructions are capable of being provided by a user and operating instructions are transmittable from the accessory to the communication unit (paragraphs 0087, 0089). There is at least one digital operating element is providable on the display of a mobile terminal (M) for accepting operating instructions (see paragraphs 0087, 0100-0108, in addition to embodiments described in paragraphs 0167, 0249; digital operating element capable of accepting operating instructions referred to as “operations”, at least one digital operating element is located on a display 144 to generate predetermined input data relating to the operations, information displayed is based on an operation of the machine and operation when finished, corresponding to a control command, or may display a progress of an operation by using a character, an emoticon, an image, a menu, a number; Figure 3), wherein the operating unit comprises no corresponding physical functionally identical operating element of the operating unit (not functionally identical in Figure 3). The examiner maintains that it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the accessory of the cleaning system of Troff et al. to include an executable application program with operating instructions for cleaning and by way of the application program at least one digital operating element is provided on the display for accepting operating instructions, as taught by Park et al., so that the user is able to communicate and control operations of the cleaning apparatus by using a program provided by the accessory.
Regarding argument (B), the examiner points to the language of claim 55. Lines 1-2 require “at least one external accessory”, lines 14-16 describe a receptacle for “the external accessory”, lines 18-21 describe how “the accessory” is positionable and communicates information, line 22 describes that “the accessory device” abuts an abutment element, line 25 describes that there is a user application program executably saved on “the accessory”, and line 30 describes that “the accessory comprises or is an authentication device”. The examiner notes that there are some inconsistencies where there are plural or singular accessories mentioned throughout claim 55. As stated above, the examiner interprets a playback device 23 with optical display unit 24 of Troff as an accessory. In addition, the authorization cards 33, 38, and 39 of Troff may also be interpreted as external accessories, although these do not have a display device (the playback device and authorization cards combined create plural external accessories). With particular regard to the newly added claim language in claim 55, in Troff an authentication device is required to operate the cleaning apparatus (column 2 lines 12-21). Also, any of the plural accessories can either comprise or is an authentication device in that the playback device 23 provides authorization information to the user (column 5 lines 10-29) and additionally the authorization cards can also be an authentication device (column 6 lines 37-43).
Regarding argument (C), the examiner relies upon MPEP 2181 relating to 35 USC 112(f) for claim interpretation. MPEP 2181 outlines a three-prong analysis for evaluating whether a claim limitation defines sufficient structure for performing the claimed function. Note that the applicant has not pointed to specific deficiencies in the examiner’s analysis or interpretation, just broadly states that each of the elements comprise sufficient structure. The examiner respectfully disagrees and finds that a “cleaning tool for cleaning” does not provide structure that accomplishes the act of cleaning (such as a brush or plate brush), an “operating unit…for operating” does not provide structure to carry out any operations of the cleaning apparatus (such as a gripping device), an “operating element for operating” does not provide structure to carry out any operations (such as a switch), “control unit for processing” does not provide structure for carrying out any processes (such as a data processing device or processor), “communication unit” does not provide structure for communicating (such as a transmitter, radio, RFID, NFC communicator), and “digital operating element” for accepting instructions does not provide structure (such as a digital variant of an operating element), a “functional unit” does not provide structure capable of fulfilling a function (such as a drive device).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2018/0173223 to Doane et al. teach a golf cart having a chassis (Figure 1), operating unit having a receptacle (227) for a smart device (paragraph 0145), an integrated display (190), the smart device (smart phone) communicates to authenticate authorized use of the golf cart (paragraph 0032). US 9,220,388 to Walz et al. is also considered relevant and in the same field of endeavor as the applicant’s invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg