Detailed Action
This Office Action is in response to the remarks entered on 06/09/2026. Claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 are presently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5 and 6, claims recite “determining a centroid value of the first cluster based on the first reconstruction and the second reconstruction; determining a first distance of the first reconstruction from the centroid value;” and “determining a second distance of the second reconstruction from the centroid value;” It is unclear what constitutes ‘determining a centroid value based on the reconstruction’ and ‘determining distance of the reconstruction from the centroid value’ as claim 1 mentions that the latent representations are input to the clustering layer and then assigned to a specific cluster, not the reconstructions. Does it mean that the distance is calculated based on the latent space value of the reconstructions?
For purpose of examination, examiner interprets the claim to mean: The centroid value and the distances from the centroid value are determined based on the first latent space representation and the second latent representation.
Claim 7 is a method claim which depends from claim 5 and inherits the same deficiency.
Claims 15 and 16 are non-transitory, computer-readable medium claims which implement the same features as the method claims 5 and 6 and are rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim 17 is a method claim which depends from claim 15 and inherits the same deficiency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amarbayasgalan et al. (“Unsupervised Anomaly Detection Approach for Time-Series in Multi-Domains Using Deep Reconstruction Error”, 2020, hereinafter ‘Amarbayasgalan’) in view of Cai et al. (Cai et al, “Stacked sparse auto-encoder for deep clustering”, 2019, hereinafter ‘Cai’) in view of Hayes et al. (“Contextual Anomaly Detection in Big Sensor Data”, 2014, hereinafter ‘Hayes’) and further in view of Koral et al. (US 20200112574 A1, hereinafter ‘Koral’).
Regarding claim 2, Amarbayasgalan teaches:
A method [Amarbayasgalan, page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set. [Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] Both reconstruction errors and latent space representations are used to cluster and determine anomalies in the time-series unlabeled dataset. The method of Amarbayasgalan compares distances between each point to its k-th nearest neighbor and sorts these distances to make a group of points. The group of points are cluster-specific temporal representations):
receiving first time series data for a first domain for a first period of time, wherein the first period of time comprises a currently active monitoring window for the first domain; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the reconstructed output data (y1 … yn). The time window (i.e., monitoring window) is automatically determined)
generating a first feature input based on the first time series data; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set and the training set is generated by splitting the original data into training and testing sets without overlap. [page 7, lines 11-27] The generated input data are ‘features’)
inputting the first feature input into an encoder portion of a machine learning model to generate a first latent representation, wherein the encoder portion of the machine learning model is trained to generate latent representations of inputted feature inputs; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The encoder part of the autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the latent space h = a(wx + b). [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
inputting the first latent representation into a decoder portion of the machine learning model to generate a first reconstruction of the first time series data, wherein the decoder portion of the machine learning model is trained to generate reconstructions of inputted feature inputs; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The decoder part receives the latent space h from the encoder part to generate the reconstructed output x’. [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
inputting the first latent representation into a [Amarbayasgalan, page 5, paragraph under Figure 1] and [Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] Both reconstruction errors and latent space representations are used to cluster and determine anomalies in the time-series unlabeled dataset. A plurality of clusters are generated based on distances between the group of points (reconstruction errors). The paragraph shows that there are a plurality of members in each cluster and the cluster includes the first and the second domains)
determining, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data of time series data whether or not the first reconstruction is an outlier relative to the one or more reconstructions of time series data the first cluster; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 5, paragraph under Figure 1] and [Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] Both reconstruction errors and latent space representations are used to cluster and determine anomalies in the time-series unlabeled dataset and reconstructions for 986 subsequences are generated (first time series data and second time series data). The method of Amarbayasgalan compares distances between each point to its k-th nearest neighbor and sorts these distances to make a group of points. Otsu determines optimal threshold value from the distribution histogram of the data points (determining outlier relative to other domains within the cluster). After the clustering, each group is checked if the Reconstruction Errors of most instances exceeds the anomaly threshold)
Amarbayasgalan does not specifically disclose:
inputting the first latent representation into a clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a first clustering recommendation for the first domain, wherein the first clustering recommendation indicates that the first domain corresponds to a first cluster of a plurality of clusters, and wherein the clustering layer of the machine learning model is trained to cluster domains based on respective time series data;
determining, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data for the first domain to one or more reconstructions of time series data for one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster based on a respective clustering recommendation for each of the one or more other domains, whether or not the first reconstruction is an outlier relative to the one or more reconstructions of time series data for the one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster;
generating for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster;
Cai teaches:
inputting the first latent representation into a clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a first clustering recommendation for the first domain, wherein the first clustering recommendation indicates that the first domain corresponds to a first cluster of a plurality of clusters, and wherein the clustering layer of the machine learning model is trained to cluster domains based on respective [Cai, page 1535, Figure 1] and [Cai, page 1534, left col, line 1-9] collectively disclose inputting the latent space representation Z for input data X, and processing the latent the clustering layer captures Z to assign a soft label (i.e., the clustering recommendation) to each learned embedded points. [Cai, page 1535, left col, line 4-9] discloses that at least two label assignment process (the first clustering and the second clustering) is performed)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan and Cai to use the method of inputting latent representation into a clustering layer of Cai to implement the machine learning method of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the efficiency of the machine learning method as utilizing a single model instead of a plurality of models as taught in Amarbayasgalan helps reducing the amount of calculation needed to cluster input data.
However, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai do not specifically disclose:
A method for generating network alerts based on detected variances in trends of domain traffic over a given time period for disparate domains in a computer network
determining, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data for the first domain to one or more reconstructions of time series data for one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster based on a respective clustering recommendation for each of the one or more other domains, whether or not the first reconstruction is an outlier relative to the one or more reconstructions of time series data for the one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster;
generating for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster;
Hayes teaches:
determining, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first data for one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster based on a respective clustering recommendation for each of the one or more other domains, whether or not the first is an outlier relative to the one or more the first cluster; ([Hayes, page 4, left col, lines 20-26] and [page 4, right col, lines 1-32] The clustering algorithm place each sensor readings within a sensor profile (cluster) and then assign that profile group to the sensor data. The algorithm determines whether the sensor value falls within the acceptable prediction interval based on each sensor reading as shown in the equation (1) and (2))
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai and Hayes to use the method of determining an outlier based on domain-based clustering of Hayes to implement the machine learning method of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the generality and detection performance of the anomaly detection algorithm [Hayes, page 3, left col, 1st para, last 4 lines] by allowing the machine learning model to cluster the data based on its contextual data (domain).
However, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Hayes do not specifically disclose:
A method for generating network alerts based on detected variances in trends of domain traffic over a given time period for disparate domains in a computer network
generating for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster;
Koral teaches:
A method for generating network alerts based on detected variances in trends of domain traffic over a given time period for disparate domains in a computer network ([Koral, 0074] The optional step 565 provides the graph via at least one display, which is the user interface. The graph of [Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] is being displayed to users. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers) )
generating for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster; ([Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] The Fig. 3 illustrates an example graph 320 of compressed vector representations of input vectors derived from DNS traffic records. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers). According to the present specification [005], the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘generate network alerts’ encompasses indicating abrupt changes, likely changes, and/or other discrepancies in one or more values based on changes of a metric, which directs to mere display of output data)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai Hayes and Koral to use the method of utilizing the latent representation and displaying a network alert of Koral to implement the network alert generation system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the visibility of the alert generation system, as the Figure 3 of Koral shows which data point is clustered with which data points and grouping the similar data points with circles 321, 322, 323, and 324 to better display anomalies to the user.
Regarding claim 3, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes and further in view of Koral teaches further comprising:
receiving second time series data for a second domain for the first period of time; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the reconstructed output data (y1 … yn). The time window (i.e., monitoring window) is automatically determined. [page 5, paragraph under Figure 1, lines 1-6] shows that the number of subsequences is 986 and the length of each subsequence is 15 and secondly received subsequence following the first subsequence is the second time series data)
generating a second feature input based on the second time series data; ([page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set and the training set is generated by splitting the original data into training and testing sets without overlap. [page 7, lines 11-27] The generated input data are ‘features’)
inputting the second feature input into the encoder portion of the machine learning model to generate a second latent representation; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The encoder part of the autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the latent space h = a(wx + b). [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
inputting the second latent representation into a decoder portion of the machine learning model to generate a second reconstruction of the second time-series data; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The decoder part receives the latent space h from the encoder part to generate the reconstructed output x’. [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
Amarbayasgalan does not specifically disclose:
inputting the second latent representation into the clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a second clustering recommendation for the second domain;
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Cai teaches:
inputting the second latent representation into the clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a second clustering recommendation for the second domain; ([Cai, page 1535, Figure 1] and [Cai, page 1534, left col, line 1-9] collectively disclose inputting the latent space representation Z for input data X, and processing the latent the clustering layer captures Z to assign a soft label (i.e., the clustering recommendation) to each learned embedded points. [Cai, page 1535, left col, line 4-9] discloses that at least two label assignment process (the first clustering and the second clustering) is performed)
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes do not specifically disclose:
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Koral teaches:
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster. ([Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] The Fig. 3 illustrates an example graph 320 of compressed vector representations of input vectors derived from DNS traffic records. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers). According to the present specification [005], the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘generate network alerts’ encompasses indicating abrupt changes, likely changes, and/or other discrepancies in one or more values based on changes of a metric, which directs to mere display of output data)
Regarding claim 10, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai teaches the method of claim 2.
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Hayes do not specifically disclose wherein the network alert indicates that the first reconstruction comprises an outlier from respective reconstructions of domains in the first cluster.
Koral teaches:
wherein the network alert indicates that the first reconstruction comprises an outlier from respective reconstructions of domains in the first cluster. ([Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] The Fig. 3 illustrates an example graph 320 of compressed vector representations of input vectors derived from DNS traffic records. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers). According to the present specification [005], the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘generate network alerts’ encompasses indicating abrupt changes, likely changes, and/or other discrepancies in one or more values based on changes of a metric, which directs to mere display of output data)
Regarding claim 11, Amarbayasgalan teaches:
wherein the machine learning model maintains a time dependency for the first time series data. ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, last para, lines 2-7] discloses that the AE learns to copy its input x to its output y as close as possible by reducing the distinction between inputs and outputs. Since x is time-series data, the output y of the machine learning model AE maintains the time dependency of x)
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes in view of Koral and further in view of Migliori et al. (US 10291268 B1, hereinafter ‘Migliori’).
Regarding claim 1, Amarbayasgalan teaches:
A system [Amarbayasgalan, page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set. [Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] Both reconstruction errors and latent space representations are used to cluster and determine anomalies in the time-series unlabeled dataset. The method of Amarbayasgalan compares distances between each point to its k-th nearest neighbor and sorts these distances to make a group of points. The group of points are cluster-specific temporal representations)
[Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) using an encoder, generates a latent space h, input the latent space to a decoder to generate the reconstructed output data (y1 … yn). The time window (i.e., monitoring window) is automatically determined. [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set. [Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] Both reconstruction errors and latent space representations are used to cluster and determine anomalies in the time-series unlabeled dataset. A plurality of clusters are generated based on distances between the group of points (reconstruction errors). The paragraph shows that there are a plurality of members in each cluster and the cluster includes the first and the second domains)
control circuitry configured to: receive first time series data for a first domain for a first period of time, wherein the first period of time comprises a currently active monitoring window for the first domain; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the reconstructed output data (y1 … yn). The time window (i.e., monitoring window) is automatically determined)
generate a first feature input based on the first time series data; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set and the training set is generated by splitting the original data into training and testing sets without overlap. [page 7, lines 11-27] The generated input data are ‘features’)
input the first feature input into an encoder portion of a machine learning model to generate a first latent representation; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The encoder part of the autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the latent space h = a(wx + b). [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
input the first latent representation into a decoder portion of the machine learning model to generate a first reconstruction of the first time series data; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The decoder part receives the latent space h from the encoder part to generate the reconstructed output x’. [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
input the first latent representation into [Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] Both reconstruction errors and latent space representations are used to cluster and determine anomalies in the time-series unlabeled dataset. A plurality of clusters are generated based on distances between the group of points (reconstruction errors). The paragraph shows that there are a plurality of members in each cluster and the cluster includes the first and the second domains)
determine, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data of time series data , whether or not the first reconstruction is an outlier relative to the one or more reconstructions of time series data the first cluster; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 5, paragraph under Figure 1] and [Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] Both reconstruction errors and latent space representations are used to cluster and determine anomalies in the time-series unlabeled dataset and reconstructions for 986 subsequences are generated (first time series data and second time series data). The method of Amarbayasgalan compares distances between each point to its k-th nearest neighbor and sorts these distances to make a group of points. Otsu determines optimal threshold value from the distribution histogram of the data points (determining outlier relative to other domains within the cluster). After the clustering, each group is checked if the Reconstruction Errors of most instances exceeds the anomaly threshold)
However, Amarbayasgalan does not specifically disclose:
A system for generating network alerts based on detected variances in trends of domain traffic over a given time period for disparate domains in a computer network
cloud-based storage circuitry configured to
wherein a clustering layer of the machine learning model is trained to cluster domains based on respective time series data;
input the first latent representation into a clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a first clustering recommendation for the first domain, wherein the first clustering recommendation indicates that the first domain corresponds to a first cluster of a plurality of clusters; and
determine, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data for the first domain to one or more reconstructions of time series data for one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster based on a respective clustering recommendation for each of the one or more other domains, whether or not the first reconstruction is an outlier relative to the one or more reconstructions of time series data for the one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster;
Cai teaches:
wherein a clustering layer of the machine learning model is trained to cluster domains based on respective [Cai, page 1535, Figure 1] and [Cai, page 1534, left col, line 1-9] collectively disclose inputting the latent space representation Z for input data X, and processing the latent the clustering layer captures Z to assign a soft label (i.e., the first clustering recommendation) to each learned embedded points. [page 1534, right col, D. Optimization strategy, lines 1-6] discloses that the network is pre-trained)
input the first latent representation into a clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a first clustering recommendation for the first domain, wherein the first clustering recommendation indicates that the first domain corresponds to a first cluster of a plurality of clusters; and ([Cai, page 1535, Figure 1] and [Cai, page 1534, left col, line 1-9] collectively disclose inputting the latent space representation Z for input data X, and processing the latent the clustering layer captures Z to assign a soft label (i.e., the first clustering recommendation) to each learned embedded points)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan and Cai to use the method of inputting latent representation into a clustering layer of Cai to implement the machine learning method of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the efficiency of the machine learning method as utilizing a single model instead of a plurality of models as taught in Amarbayasgalan helps reducing the amount of calculation needed to cluster input data.
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai does not specifically disclose:
A system for generating network alerts based on detected variances in trends of domain traffic over a given time period for disparate domains in a computer network
cloud-based storage circuitry configured to
wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network;
determine, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data for the first domain to one or more reconstructions of time series data for one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster based on a respective clustering recommendation for each of the one or more other domains, whether or not the first reconstruction is an outlier relative to the one or more reconstructions of time series data for the one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster;
input/output circuitry configured to: generate for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Hayes teaches:
determine, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first data for one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster based on a respective clustering recommendation for each of the one or more other domains, whether or not the first is an outlier relative to the one or more the first cluster; ([Hayes, page 4, left col, lines 20-26] and [page 4, right col, lines 1-32] The clustering algorithm place each sensor readings within a sensor profile (cluster) and then assign that profile group to the sensor data. The algorithm determines whether the sensor value falls within the acceptable prediction interval based on each sensor reading as shown in the equation (1) and (2))
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai and Hayes to use the method of determining an outlier based on domain-based clustering of Hayes to implement the machine learning method of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the generality and detection performance of the anomaly detection algorithm [Hayes, page 3, left col, 1st para, last 4 lines] by allowing the machine learning model to cluster the data based on its contextual data (domain).
However, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes and further in view of Koral do not specifically disclose:
A system for generating network alerts based on detected variances in trends of domain traffic over a given time period for disparate domains in a computer network
cloud-based storage circuitry configured to
wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network;
input/output circuitry configured to: generate for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Koral teaches:
A system for generating network alerts based on detected variances in trends of domain traffic over a given time period for disparate domains in a computer network ([Koral, 0074] The optional step 565 provides the graph via at least one display, which is the user interface. The graph of [Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] is being displayed to users. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers) )
cloud-based storage circuitry configured to ([Koral, 0030] The servers 116 and 118 are associated with cloud storage provider or a cloud computing application host)
input/output circuitry configured to: generate for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster. ([Koral, 0074] The optional step 565 provides the graph via at least one display, which is the user interface. The graph of [Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] is being displayed to users. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers) )
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai, Hayes and Koral to use the method of utilizing the latent representation and displaying a network alert of Koral to implement the anomaly detection system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the visibility of the alert generation system, as the Figure 3 of Koral shows which data point is clustered with which data points and grouping the similar data points with circles 321, 322, 323, and 324 to better display anomalies to the user.
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes and further in view of Koral does not specifically disclose:
wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network;
Migliori teaches:
wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network ([Migliori, col 5, line 39-51] The convolutional autoencoder in Migliori is used to catch the anomaly in radio-frequency signal which is a time-series data, and denoise it [Migliori, col 8, line 28-29]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai, Hayes, Koral, and Migliori to use the method of wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network of Migliori to implement the anomaly detection system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the performance of the alert generation system, as utilizing convolutional layers in autoencoder can avoid the computational cost drawback of image denoising by posing the task within the statistical framework of regression, which constitutes a more tractable computation; thus, it permits greater representational power than density estimation (Jain & Seung, 2008, “Natural Image Denoising with Convolutional Networks”, page 6-7, 5 Discussion).
Regarding claim 8, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes and further in view of Koral teaches:
The method of claim 2.
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Koral does not specifically disclose wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network.
Migliori teaches:
wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network. ([Migliori, col 5, line 39-51] The convolutional autoencoder in Migliori is used to catch the anomaly in radio-frequency signal which is a time-series data, and denoise it [Migliori, col 8, line 28-29]. Since Migliori processes real time data, non-causal sequence cannot exist, thus causal)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai, Hayes, Koral, and Migliori to use the method of wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network of Migliori to implement the network alert generation system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the performance of the alert generation system, as utilizing convolutional layers in autoencoder can avoid the computational cost drawback of image denoising by posing the task within the statistical framework of regression, which constitutes a more tractable computation; thus, it permits greater representational power than density estimation (Jain & Seung, 2008, “Natural Image Denoising with Convolutional Networks”, page 6-7, 5 Discussion).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes in view of Koral and further in view of Wen et al. (US 11308365 B2, hereinafter ‘Wen’).
Regarding claim 4, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai teaches:
further comprising: comparing the first clustering recommendation to the second clustering recommendation ([Cai, page 1535, left col, line 4-9] discloses comparing the label assignment between two successive iterations (the first clustering and the second clustering) and comparing the result to the pre-defined threshold
δ
);
determining that the first clustering recommendation and the second clustering recommendation correspond to a first cluster of a plurality of clusters ([Cai, page 1535, left col, line 4-9] discloses comparing the label assignment between two successive iterations (the first clustering and the second clustering) and the iteration is stopped when the difference between the two successive iterations are less than the pre-defined threshold
δ
(determining that the first and the second label corresponds to the first label) );
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Hayes do not specifically disclose:
determining that the network alert is generated in response to the first clustering recommendation and the second clustering recommendation corresponding to the first cluster, and that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Wen teaches:
determining that the network alert is generated in response to the first clustering recommendation and the second clustering recommendation corresponding to the first cluster, and that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster. ([Wen, claim 18] wherein the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to determine to display the label based at least partly on at least one of: the first confidence score satisfying a threshold, or a difference between the first confidence score and the second confidence score. The first confidence score corresponds to the first clustering recommendation, and the second confidence score corresponds to the second clustering recommendations, as confidence scores are calculated based on how close the data and the classification is)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai, Hayes, Koral and Wen to use the method of determining to base the network alert on the first reconstruction and the second reconstruction based on determining that the first clustering recommendation corresponds to the second clustering recommendation of Wen to implement the anomaly detection system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the efficiency of the system, as determining to base the network alert based on both the first and the second clustering recommendation better represents the alert status compared to the graph in Figure 2 of Koral which is not based on the relationship between the first clustering recommendation and the second clustering recommendation.
Regarding claim 5, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes in view of Koral and further in view of Wen teaches:
determining a centroid value of the first cluster based on the first reconstruction and the second reconstruction; ([Cai, page 1534, left col, B. The definition of clustering loss, line 3-15] discloses that the soft label (i.e., the clustering recommendation) is generated, and [Cai, page 1534, right col, D. Optimization strategy, line 1-12] discloses that the cluster centers which are used for the comparison are updated based on the previous latent representations and corresponding soft labels)
determining a first distance of the first reconstruction from the centroid value; ([Cai, page 1534, left col, B. The definition of clustering loss, line 1-13] discloses determining a distance of the data point
z
i
from the cluster center
μ
j
to cluster the data point. [Cai, page 1535, left col, line 4-9] discloses comparing the label assignment between two successive iterations (the first clustering and the second clustering) and comparing the result to the pre-defined threshold
δ
)
comparing the first distance to a threshold distance; ([Cai, page B. The definition of clustering loss, line 3-13] discloses soft label assignment based on the distance between the center point
μ
j
and the data point
z
i
. The data point is assigned to a cluster based on the output value
q
i
j
(threshold distance to assign the data point to a cluster) )
However, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Hayes do not specifically disclose:
wherein determining to generate for display the network alert based on the first reconstruction and the second reconstruction comprises:
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that the first distance equals or exceeds the threshold distance, whereby the first reconstruction is identified as an outlier within the first cluster.
Koral teaches:
wherein determining to generate for display the network alert based on the first reconstruction and the second reconstruction comprises: ([Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] The Fig. 3 illustrates an example graph 320 of compressed vector representations of input vectors derived from DNS traffic records. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers). According to the present specification [005], the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘generate network alerts’ encompasses indicating abrupt changes, likely changes, and/or other discrepancies in one or more values based on changes of a metric, which directs to mere display of output data)
However, Koral does not specifically disclose:
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that the first distance equals or exceeds the threshold distance, whereby the first reconstruction is identified as an outlier within the first cluster.
Wen teaches:
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that the first distance equals or exceeds the threshold distance, whereby the first reconstruction is identified as an outlier within the first cluster. ([Wen, claim 18] wherein the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to determine to display the label based at least partly on at least one of: the first confidence score satisfying a threshold, or a difference between the first confidence score and the second confidence score. The first confidence score corresponds to the first clustering recommendation, and the second confidence score corresponds to the second clustering recommendations, as confidence scores are calculated based on how close the data and the classification is.).
Regarding claim 6, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes in view of Koral and further in view of Wen teaches:
further comprising: determining a second distance of the second reconstruction from the centroid value; ([Cai, page 1534, left col, B. The definition of clustering loss, line 1-13] discloses determining a distance of the data point
z
i
from the cluster center
μ
j
to cluster the data point. [Cai, page 1535, left col, line 4-9] discloses comparing the label assignment between two successive iterations (the first clustering and the second clustering) and comparing the result to the pre-defined threshold
δ
)
comparing the second distance to a threshold distance; ([Cai, page B. The definition of clustering loss, line 3-13] discloses soft label assignment based on the distance between the center point
μ
j
and the data point
z
i
. The data point is assigned to a cluster based on the output value
q
i
j
(threshold distance to assign the data point to a cluster) )
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Koral in view of Hayes does not specifically disclose:
determining not to generate for display the network alert when it is determined that the second distance does not equal or exceed the threshold distance, whereby the second reconstruction is not identified as an outlier within the first cluster.
Wen teaches:
determining not to generate for display the network alert when it is determined that the second distance does not equal or exceed the threshold distance, whereby the second reconstruction is not identified as an outlier within the first cluster. ([Wen, claim 18] wherein the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to determine to display the label based at least partly on at least one of: the first confidence score satisfying a threshold, or a difference between the first confidence score and the second confidence score. The first confidence score corresponds to the first clustering recommendation, and the second confidence score corresponds to the second clustering recommendations, as confidence scores are calculated based on how close the data and the classification is.)
Regarding claim 7, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai teaches:
wherein the first distance is based on a Euclidean distance objective. ([Cai, page 1534, left col, B. The definition of clustering loss, line 3-13] The
z
i
-
μ
j
2
in the equation (4) denotes the Euclidean distance between the cluster center and the embedded point)
Claims 12-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes in view of Koral and further in view of Cella et al. (US 20190041842 A1, hereinafter ‘Cella’).
Regarding claim 12, Amarbayasgalan teaches:
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium for improving hardware resiliency during serial processing tasks [Amarbayasgalan, page 5, paragraph under Figure 1] and [Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] A plurality of subsequences in a sequence are compared to generate clusters to determine anomalous data)
receiving first time series data for a first domain for a first period of time, wherein the first period of time comprises a currently active monitoring window for the first domain; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the reconstructed output data (y1 … yn). The time window (i.e., monitoring window) is automatically determined)
generating a first feature input based on the first time series data; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set and the training set is generated by splitting the original data into training and testing sets without overlap. [page 7, lines 11-27] The generated input data are ‘features’)
inputting the first feature input into an encoder portion of a machine learning model to generate a first latent representation, wherein the encoder portion of the machine learning model is trained to generate latent representations of inputted feature inputs; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The encoder part of the autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the latent space h = a(wx + b). [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
inputting the first latent representation into a decoder portion of the machine learning model to generate a first reconstruction of the first time series data, wherein the decoder portion of the machine learning model is trained to generate reconstructions of inputted feature inputs; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The decoder part receives the latent space h from the encoder part to generate the reconstructed output x’. [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
determining, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data for the first domain to one or more reconstructions of time series data , whether or not the first reconstruction is an outlier relative to the one or more reconstructions of time series data the first cluster; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 5, paragraph under Figure 1] and [Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] Both reconstruction errors and latent space representations are used to cluster and determine anomalies in the time-series unlabeled dataset and reconstructions for 986 subsequences are generated (first time series data and second time series data). The method of Amarbayasgalan compares distances between each point to its k-th nearest neighbor and sorts these distances to make a group of points. Otsu determines optimal threshold value from the distribution histogram of the data points (determining outlier relative to other domains within the cluster). After the clustering, each group is checked if the Reconstruction Errors of most instances exceeds the anomaly threshold)
Amarbayasgalan does not specifically disclose:
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium for improving hardware resiliency during serial processing tasks in distributed computer networks;
inputting the first latent representation into a clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a first clustering recommendation for the first domain, wherein the first clustering recommendation indicates that the first domain corresponds to a first cluster of a plurality of clusters, and wherein the clustering layer of the machine learning model is trained to cluster domains based on respective time series data;
determining, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data for the first domain to one or more reconstructions of time series data for one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster based on a respective clustering recommendation for each of the one or more other domains, whether or not the first reconstruction is an outlier relative to the one or more reconstructions of time series data for the one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster;
generating for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Cai teaches:
inputting the first latent representation into a clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a first clustering recommendation for the first domain, wherein the first clustering recommendation indicates that the first domain corresponds to a first cluster of a plurality of clusters, and wherein the clustering layer of the machine learning model is trained to cluster domains based on respective [Cai, page 1535, Figure 1] and [Cai, page 1534, left col, line 1-9] collectively disclose inputting the latent space representation Z for input data X, and processing the latent the clustering layer captures Z to assign a soft label (i.e., the first clustering recommendation) to each learned embedded points)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan and Cai to use the method of inputting latent representation into a clustering layer of Cai to implement the machine learning method of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the efficiency of the machine learning method as utilizing a single model instead of a plurality of models as taught in Amarbayasgalan helps reducing the amount of calculation needed to cluster input data.
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai does not specifically disclose:
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium for improving hardware resiliency during serial processing tasks in distributed computer networks;
determining, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data for the first domain to one or more reconstructions of time series data for one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster based on a respective clustering recommendation for each of the one or more other domains, whether or not the first reconstruction is an outlier relative to the one or more reconstructions of time series data for the one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster;
generating for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Hayes teaches:
determining, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first data for one or more other domains corresponding to the first cluster based on a respective clustering recommendation for each of the one or more other domains, whether or not the first is an outlier relative to the one or more the first cluster; ([Hayes, page 4, left col, lines 20-26] and [page 4, right col, lines 1-32] The clustering algorithm place each sensor readings within a sensor profile (cluster) and then assign that profile group to the sensor data. The algorithm determines whether the sensor value falls within the acceptable prediction interval based on each sensor reading as shown in the equation (1) and (2))
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai and Hayes to use the method of determining an outlier based on domain-based clustering of Hayes to implement the machine learning method of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the generality and detection performance of the anomaly detection algorithm [Hayes, page 3, left col, 1st para, last 4 lines] by allowing the machine learning model to cluster the data based on its contextual data (domain).
However, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Hayes do not specifically disclose:
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium for improving hardware resiliency during serial processing tasks in distributed computer networks.
generating for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Koral teaches:
generating for display, on a user interface, a network alert based on the determination that the first reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster. ([Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] The Fig. 3 illustrates an example graph 320 of compressed vector representations of input vectors derived from DNS traffic records. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers). According to the present specification [005], the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘generate network alerts’ encompasses indicating abrupt changes, likely changes, and/or other discrepancies in one or more values based on changes of a metric, which directs to mere display of output data)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai and Koral to use the method of utilizing the latent representation and displaying a network alert of Koral to implement the anomaly detection system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the visibility of the alert generation system, as the Figure 3 of Koral shows which data point is clustered with which data points and grouping the similar data points with circles 321, 322, 323, and 324 to better display anomalies to the user.
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Koral does not specifically disclose:
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium for improving hardware resiliency during serial processing tasks in distributed computer networks.
Cella teaches:
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium for improving hardware resiliency during serial processing tasks in distributed computer networks ([Cella, 0314] In embodiments, the cognitive data marketplace 4102 may use a secure architecture for tracking and resolving transactions, such as a distributed ledger 4004, wherein transactions in data packages are tracked in a chained, distributed data structure, such as a Blockchain™, allowing forensic analysis and validation where individual devices store a portion of the ledger representing transactions in data packages. ).
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai, Hayes, Koral and Cella to implement the transitory, computer-readable medium for improving hardware resiliency during serial processing tasks in distributed computer networks such as blockchain of Cella to implement the anomaly detection system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the security of the system, as using distributed computer networks such as blockchains allows forensic analysis and validation ([Cella, 0314]).
Regarding claim 13, Amarbayasgalan teaches:
wherein the instructions further cause operations comprising: receiving second time-series data for a second domain for the first period of time; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the reconstructed output data (y1 … yn). The time window (i.e., monitoring window) is automatically determined. [page 5, paragraph under Figure 1, lines 1-6] shows that the number of subsequences is 986 and the length of each subsequence is 15 and secondly received subsequence following the first subsequence is the second time series data)
generating a second feature input based on the second time series data; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set and the training set is generated by splitting the original data into training and testing sets without overlap. [page 7, lines 11-27] The generated input data are ‘features’)
inputting the second feature input into the encoder portion of the machine learning model to generate a second latent representation; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The encoder part of the autoencoder receives input time series data (x1 … xn) to generate the latent space h = a(wx + b). [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
inputting the second latent representation into a decoder portion of the machine learning model to generate a second reconstruction of the second time-series data; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, line 34 – page 7, line 28] The decoder part receives the latent space h from the encoder part to generate the reconstructed output x’. [page 6, lines 17-19] discloses that the candidate models are trained from the training set)
Amarbayasgalan does not specifically disclose:
inputting the second latent representation into the clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a second clustering recommendation for the second domain; and
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Cai teaches:
inputting the second latent representation into the clustering layer of the machine learning model to generate a second clustering recommendation for the second domain; ([Cai, page 1535, Figure 1] and [Cai, page 1534, left col, line 1-9] collectively disclose inputting the latent space representation Z for input data X, and processing the latent the clustering layer captures Z to assign a soft label (i.e., the first clustering recommendation) to each learned embedded points. [Cai, page 1535, left col, line 4-9] discloses that at least two successful iterations are performed (the first clustering and the second clustering) )
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Hayes do not specifically disclose:
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Koral teaches:
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster. ([Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] The Fig. 3 illustrates an example graph 320 of compressed vector representations of input vectors derived from DNS traffic records. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers). According to the present specification [005], the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘generate network alerts’ encompasses indicating abrupt changes, likely changes, and/or other discrepancies in one or more values based on changes of a metric, which directs to mere display of output data)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai, Hayes and Koral to use the method of utilizing the latent representation and displaying a network alert of Koral to implement the anomaly detection system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the visibility of the alert generation system, as the Figure 3 of Koral shows which data point is clustered with which data points and grouping the similar data points with circles 321, 322, 323, and 324 to better display anomalies to the user.
Regarding claim 20, Amarbayasgalan teaches:
The non-transitory, computer readable medium of claim 12.
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Hayes do not specifically disclose:
wherein the network alert indicates that the first reconstruction comprises an outlier from respective reconstructions of domains in the first cluster.
Koral teaches:
wherein the network alert indicates that the first reconstruction comprises an outlier from respective reconstructions of domains in the first cluster ([Koral, 0052; Fig. 3] The Fig. 3 illustrates an example graph 320 of compressed vector representations of input vectors derived from DNS traffic records. [Koral, 0053] The graph 320 displays which data belongs to which cluster, which indicates which data is anomalous. In the example, networks grouped within cluster 321 are normal network traffic records, and other groups indicates abnormal network (outliers).).
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes in view of Koral in view of Cella and further in view of Wen (US 11308365 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Amarbayasgalan teaches:
determining that the first clustering recommendation and the second clustering recommendation correspond to a first cluster of a plurality of clusters; ([Amarbayasgalan, page 7, 3.2. Reconstruction Error Based Anomaly Identification, lines 3 – page 8, line 10] Both reconstruction errors and latent space representations are used to cluster and determine anomalies in the time-series unlabeled dataset. The method of Amarbayasgalan compares distances between each point to its k-th nearest neighbor and sorts these distances to make a group of points. After the clustering, each group (including the first cluster which includes the first data and the second data) is checked if the Reconstruction Errors of most instances exceeds the anomaly threshold)
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai and further in view of Hayes do not specifically disclose:
wherein the instructions further cause operations comprising:
comparing the first clustering recommendation to the second clustering recommendation; and
determining that the network alert is generated in response to the first clustering recommendation and the second clustering recommendation corresponding to the first cluster, and that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Koral teaches:
wherein the instructions further cause operations comprising: comparing the first clustering recommendation to the second clustering recommendation ([Koral, 0097] The additional sample of network traffic data may be associated with the first one of the at least one of the plurality of clusters by determining that a distance between the additional sample of network traffic data and the first one of the at least one of the plurality of clusters is less than the threshold distance. This process compares how close both clusters are);
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes in view of Koral and further in view of Cella does not specifically disclose:
determining that the network alert is generated in response to the first clustering recommendation and the second clustering recommendation corresponding to the first cluster, and that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster.
Wen teaches:
determining that the network alert is generated in response to the first clustering recommendation and the second clustering recommendation corresponding to the first cluster, and that at least one of the first reconstruction or the second reconstruction is an outlier within the first cluster. ([Wen, claim 18] wherein the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to determine to display the label based at least partly on at least one of: the first confidence score satisfying a threshold, or a difference between the first confidence score and the second confidence score. The first confidence score corresponds to the first clustering recommendation, and the second confidence score corresponds to the second clustering recommendations, as confidence scores are calculated based on how close the data and the classification is)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai, Hayes, Koral, and Wen to use the method of determining to base the network alert on the first reconstruction and the second reconstruction based on determining that the first clustering recommendation corresponds to the second clustering recommendation of Wen to implement the anomaly detection system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the efficiency of the system, as determining to base the network alert based on both the first and the second clustering recommendation better represents the alert status compared to the graph in Figure 2 of Koral which is not based on the relationship between the first clustering recommendation and the second clustering recommendation.
Regarding claim 15, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai teaches:
determining a centroid value of the first cluster based on the first reconstruction and the second reconstruction; ([Cai, page 1534, left col, B. The definition of clustering loss, line 3-15] discloses that the soft label (i.e., the clustering recommendation) is generated, and [Cai, page 1534, right col, D. Optimization strategy, line 1-12] discloses that the cluster centers which are used for the comparison are updated based on the previous latent representations and corresponding soft labels)
determining a first distance of the first reconstruction from the centroid value; ([Cai, page 1534, left col, B. The definition of clustering loss, line 1-13] discloses determining a distance of the data point
z
i
from the cluster center
μ
j
to cluster the data point. [Cai, page 1535, left col, line 4-9] discloses comparing the label assignment between two successive iterations (the first clustering and the second clustering) and comparing the result to the pre-defined threshold
δ
)
comparing the first distance to a threshold distance; ([Cai, page B. The definition of clustering loss, line 3-13] discloses soft label assignment based on the distance between the center point
μ
j
and the data point
z
i
. The data point is assigned to a cluster based on the output value
q
i
j
(threshold distance to assign the data point to a cluster) )
However, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes and further in view of Koral do not specifically disclose:
wherein determining to display the network alert based on the first reconstruction and the second reconstruction comprises:
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that the first distance equals or exceeds the threshold distance, whereby the first reconstruction is identified as an outlier within the first cluster.
Wen teaches:
wherein determining to display the network alert based on the first reconstruction and the second reconstruction comprises: ([Wen, claim 18] wherein the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to determine to display the label based at least partly on at least one of: the first confidence score satisfying a threshold, or a difference between the first confidence score and the second confidence score. The first confidence score corresponds to the first clustering recommendation, and the second confidence score corresponds to the second clustering recommendations, as confidence scores are calculated based on how close the data and the classification is)
determining to generate for display the network alert based on a determination that the first distance equals or exceeds the threshold distance, whereby the first reconstruction is identified as an outlier within the first cluster. ([Wen, claim 18] wherein the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to determine to display the label based at least partly on at least one of: the first confidence score satisfying a threshold, or a difference between the first confidence score and the second confidence score. The first confidence score corresponds to the first clustering recommendation, and the second confidence score corresponds to the second clustering recommendations, as confidence scores are calculated based on how close the data and the classification is)
Regarding claim 16, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai teaches:
determining a second distance of the second reconstruction from the centroid value; ([Cai, page 1534, left col, B. The definition of clustering loss, line 1-13] discloses determining a distance of the data point
z
i
from the cluster center
μ
j
to cluster the data point. [Cai, page 1535, left col, line 4-9] discloses comparing the label assignment between two successive iterations (the first clustering and the second clustering) and comparing the result to the pre-defined threshold
δ
)
comparing the second distance to the threshold distance; ([Cai, page B. The definition of clustering loss, line 3-13] discloses soft label assignment based on the distance between the center point
μ
j
and the data point
z
i
. The data point is assigned to a cluster based on the output value
q
i
j
(threshold distance to assign the data point to a cluster) )
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes and further in view of Koral do not specifically disclose:
determining not to generate for display the network alert when it is determined that the second distance does not equal or exceed the threshold distance, whereby the second reconstruction is not identified as an outlier within the first cluster.
Wen teaches:
determining not to generate for display the network alert when it is determined that the second distance does not equal or exceed the threshold distance, whereby the second reconstruction is not identified as an outlier within the first cluster. ([Wen, claim 18] wherein the one or more processors are programmed by further executable instructions to determine to display the label based at least partly on at least one of: the first confidence score satisfying a threshold, or a difference between the first confidence score and the second confidence score. The first confidence score corresponds to the first clustering recommendation, and the second confidence score corresponds to the second clustering recommendations, as confidence scores are calculated based on how close the data and the classification is)
Regarding claim 17, Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai teaches:
wherein the first distance is based on a Euclidean distance objective. ([Cai, page 1534, left col, B. The definition of clustering loss, line 3-13] The
z
i
-
μ
j
2
in the equation (4) denotes the Euclidean distance between the cluster center and the embedded point)
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Koral in view of Cella and further in view of Migliori.
Regarding claim 18, Amarbayasgalan teaches:
A non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 12, … wherein the machine learning model maintains a time dependency for the first time series data ([Amarbayasgalan, page 6, last para, lines 2-7] discloses that the AE learns to copy its input x to its output y as close as possible by reducing the distinction between inputs and outputs. Since x is time-series data, the output y of the machine learning model AE maintains the time dependency of x)
Amarbayasgalan in view of Cai in view of Hayes in view of Koral and further in view of Cella does not specifically disclose:
wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network.
Migliori teaches:
wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network. ([Migliori, col 5, line 39-51] The convolutional autoencoder in Migliori is used to catch the anomaly in radio-frequency signal which is a time-series data, and denoise it [Migliori, col 8, line 28-29]. Since Migliori processes real time data, non-causal sequence cannot exist, thus causal)
Before the effective filing date of the invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art, it would have been obvious, having the teachings of Amarbayasgalan, Cai, Hayes, Koral and Migliori to use the method of wherein the machine learning model comprises an autoencoder constructed using a causal sequence convolutional neural network of Migliori to implement the anomaly detection system of Amarbayasgalan. The suggestion and/or motivation for doing so is to improve the performance of the alert generation system, as utilizing convolutional layers in autoencoder can avoid the computational cost drawback of image denoising by posing the task within the statistical framework of regression, which constitutes a more tractable computation; thus, it permits greater representational power than density estimation (Jain & Seung, 2008, “Natural Image Denoising with Convolutional Networks”, page 6-7, 5 Discussion).
Response to Arguments
Response to Arguments under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Amended Claims were received on 06/09/2026. 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections regarding the limitation “determining, based on the first clustering recommendation and by comparing the first reconstruction of the first time series data for the first domain to one or more reconstructions of other domains assigned to the first cluster, whether or not the first reconstruction comprises an outlier within the first cluster” have been withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections regarding claims 5-7 and 15-17 are maintained because the applicant did not provide any arguments regarding the rejections.
Response to Arguments under 35 U.S.C. 101
Amended claims were received on 06/09/2026. 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments under 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8, 10-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUN KWON/Examiner, Art Unit 2127
/BRIAN M SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2122