DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, and 130-131 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 5003357 A; hereinafter Kim) in view of Yokoyama et al. (US 20200043401 A1; hereinafter Yokoyama).
Regarding claim 1, FIGS. 3-4 of Kim teaches a pixel module, comprising: a module substrate (2, 12-16) having a light-emitter face (face of 2, 12-16 overlapping 1, e.g. 4 and 6-7) and a controller face (face of 2, 12-16 overlapping 17-20) different from the light-emitter face (face of 2, 12-16 overlapping 4, 6-7), wherein the module substrate (2, 12-16) is a doped semiconductor substrate (col. 2/lines 6-13); one or more light emitters (1) disposed on the light-emitter face of the module substrate (face of 2, 12-16 overlapping 4, 6-7); a controller (22) native to the module substrate (2, 12-16) and constructed in or on the controller face of the module substrate (face of 2, 12-16 overlapping 17-20) so that the controller (22) comprises at least a portion of the doped semiconductor substrate (2, see FIG. 4); and module electrodes (9), wherein at least one of the module electrodes (9) is electrically connected to the controller (22) and at least one of the module electrodes (9) is electrically connected to each light emitter of the one or more light emitters (1).
Kim does not teach the controller face opposed to and different from the light-emitter face, wherein the light-emitter face and the controller face are disposed on opposite sides opposing faces of the module substrate so that the controller face and the light-emitter face are (i) substantially or effectively parallel; (ii) non-coplanar; and (iii) overlap in a direction that is orthogonal to the light-emitter face.
FIGS. 1-4B of Yokoyama teach a pixel module (e.g. FIG. 1), comprising: a module substrate (1) having a light-emitter face (1a) and a controller face (1b) opposed to and different from the light-emitter face (1a), wherein the light-emitter face (1a) and the controller face (1b) are disposed on opposing faces of the module substrate so that the controller face (1b) and the light-emitter face (1a) are (i) substantially or effectively parallel; (ii) non-coplanar; and (iii) overlap in a direction that is orthogonal to the light-emitter face (direction orthogonal to 1a, see FIGS. 4A-4B); one or more light emitters (14) disposed on the light-emitter face of the module substrate (1a); a controller (6) native to the module substrate (1) and constructed in or on the controller face of the module substrate (1b); and module electrodes (2-3, 8a, 8a1-8a2, 8s1-8s2, 10a, 10s), wherein at least one of the module electrodes (2-3, 8a, 8a1-8a2, 8s1-8s2, 10a, 10s) is electrically connected to the controller (6) and at least one of the module electrodes (2-3, 8a, 8a1-8a2, 8s1-8s2, 10a, 10s) is electrically connected to each light emitter of the one or more light emitters (14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pixel module taught by Kim with the pixel module taught by Yokoyama for the purpose of simplifying the wiring arrangement, reducing the number of through conductors (¶ [0012]), and increasing the flexibility of the layout (¶ [0026]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIGS. 4A-4B of Yokoyama further teach wherein the module electrodes (2-3, 8a, 8a1-8a2, 8s1-8s2, 10a, 10s) electrically connect the controller (6) to the one or more light emitters (14) so that the controller (6) is operable to control the one or more light emitters (14 ¶ [0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIGS. 4A-4B of Yokoyama further teach wherein one or more of the module electrodes (2-3, 8a, 8a1-8a2, 8s1-8s2, 10a, 10s) pass through the module substrate (1) or wrap around an edge of the module substrate (edge of 1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIG. 2 of Yokoyama further teaches wherein the one or more light emitters (14) comprise a red-light emitter (LD11R) operable to emit red light, a green-light emitter (LD11G) operable to emit green light, and a blue-light emitter (LD11B) operable to emit blue light (¶ [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIG. 3 of Kim further teaches wherein the one or more light emitters (1) are one or more vertical inorganic light-emitting diodes (1) that are disposed to emit light in a direction away from the light-emitter face of the module substrate (face of 2, 12-16 overlapping 4, 6-7; col. 1/lines 45-47).
Regarding claim 130, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and Kim further teaches wherein the controller (22) is an integrated circuit (abstract).
Regarding claim 131, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIG. 3 of Kim further teaches wherein the doped semiconductor substrate (2, 12-16) is a doped silicon substrate (col. 2/lines 6-13).
Claims 6, 8, 10, 20-25, 28, and 132 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yokoyama, and further in view of Cok et al. (US 20170256522 A1; hereinafter Cok).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1.
Kim as modified does not teach wherein the one or more light emitters are one or more horizontal inorganic light-emitting diodes that are disposed to emit light in a direction away from the light-emitter face of the module substrate.
FIGS. 5, 28B, & 29B of Cok teach a pixel module (96 ¶ [0180]), comprising: a module substrate (94) having a light-emitter side (side where light-emitters 90 are disposed) and a controller side (side where controller 92 is disposed) opposed to the light-emitter side (see examiner annotated FIG. 28B below), wherein the module substrate (94) is a semiconductor substrate (¶ [0183] “… the micro-LEDs 90 are micro-transfer printed from respective LED source wafers to the pixel substrate 94,” in other words, the pixel substrate is a destination substrate & ¶ [0032] “…the destination substrate is a member selected from the group consisting of… a semiconductor…”; ¶ [0138] “destination substrate 60 and the connection posts 40 can be in physical and electrical contact with contact pads 62” & ¶ [0186] “the one or more micro-LEDs 90 each have connection posts 40 that are electrically connected to the pixel conductors 30 on the pixel substrate 94”); one or more light emitters (90R, 90G, 90B) disposed on the light-emitter side of the module substrate (94 ¶ [0180], see examiner annotated FIG. 28B); a controller (92) native to the module substrate (94) and constructed in or on the controller side of the module substrate (94 ¶ [0180], see examiner annotated FIG. 28B below); and module electrodes (30), wherein at least one of the module electrodes (30) is electrically connected to the controller (92) and at least one of the module electrodes (30) is electrically connected to each light emitter (90R, 90G, 90B) of the one or more light emitters (90R, 90G, 90B ¶ [0181]); wherein the one or more light emitters (90R, 90G, 90B) are one or more horizontal inorganic light-emitting diodes (20) that are disposed to emit light (70) in a direction away from the light-emitter side (side where light-emitters 90 are disposed) of the module substrate (60/92 ¶ [0153]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pixel module taught by Kim with the horizontal light-emitting diodes taught by Cok for the purpose of improving heat dissipation, performance, and lifespan.
Regarding claim 8, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 6, and FIG. 5 of Cok further teaches wherein the horizontal inorganic light-emitting diodes (20) comprise a bottom side (side of 20 furthest away from 60 in FIG. 5) opposite a top side (side of 20 closest to 60 in FIG. 5) and are disposed to emit light through the bottom side (70 ¶ [0114]), wherein light-emitter electrodes (22 ¶ [0098]) are electrically connected to the top side (see FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIG. 5 of Cok further teaches wherein each light emitter of the one or more light emitters (20) comprises one or more light-emitter connection posts (22) each electrically connected to one of the module electrodes (30 connected through 40 & 62 ¶ [0110]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1.
Kim as modified does not teach wherein (i) each light emitter of the one or more light emitters comprises a broken or separated light-emitter tether, (ii) the module substrate comprises a module tether, or (iii) both (i) and (ii).
FIGS. 5, 28B, & 29B of Cok teach a pixel module (96 ¶ [0180]), comprising: a module substrate (94) having a light-emitter side (side where light-emitters 90 are disposed) and a controller side (side where controller 92 is disposed) opposed to the light-emitter side (see examiner annotated FIG. 28B below), wherein the module substrate (94) is a semiconductor substrate (¶ [0183] “… the micro-LEDs 90 are micro-transfer printed from respective LED source wafers to the pixel substrate 94,” in other words, the pixel substrate is a destination substrate & ¶ [0032] “…the destination substrate is a member selected from the group consisting of… a semiconductor…”; ¶ [0138] “destination substrate 60 and the connection posts 40 can be in physical and electrical contact with contact pads 62” & ¶ [0186] “the one or more micro-LEDs 90 each have connection posts 40 that are electrically connected to the pixel conductors 30 on the pixel substrate 94”); one or more light emitters (90R, 90G, 90B) disposed on the light-emitter side of the module substrate (94 ¶ [0180], see examiner annotated FIG. 28B); a controller (92) native to the module substrate (94) and constructed in or on the controller side of the module substrate (94 ¶ [0180], see examiner annotated FIG. 28B below); and module electrodes (30), wherein at least one of the module electrodes (30) is electrically connected to the controller (92) and at least one of the module electrodes (30) is electrically connected to each light emitter (90R, 90G, 90B) of the one or more light emitters (90R, 90G, 90B ¶ [0181]); the pixel module (96) including a module substrate (94, 56 ¶ [0181]) wherein the module substrate comprises a broken or separated module tether (56 ¶ [0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pixel module taught by Kim with the pixel module taught by Cok for the purpose of reducing electrical faults and manufacturing costs (¶ [0030],[0136]).
Regarding claim 21, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIG. 25A of Cok further teaches a pixel module (96) including a module substrate (94, 56 ¶ [0181]) wherein the module substrate comprises a broken or separated module tether (56 ¶ [0183]).
Regarding claim 22, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and Cok further teaches wherein each of the one or more light emitters (20) is non-native to the module substrate (60/94 ¶ [0030], see examiner annotated FIG. 28B above).
Regarding claim 23, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIG. 5 of Cok further teaches wherein a dielectric (28 ¶ [0114]) is disposed between the at least one light emitter (20) and at least a portion of each of the at least one of the module electrodes (30 disposed in 60/94, see FIG. 28B).
Regarding claim 24, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIG. 18 of Cok further teaches comprising an encapsulating layer (26) disposed over the one or more light emitters (20 ¶ [0099]).
Regarding claim 25, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 24, and FIG. 16F-G of Cok further teach wherein any one or more of the encapsulating layers (26) comprises a broken or separated module tether (56 ¶ [0133], [0136]).
Regarding claim 28, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1, and FIG. 5 of Cok teaches a pixel module (e.g., FIG. 5) comprising a printable electronic component (20) on a destination substrate (60/92) wherein the printable electronic component (20) has a minimum thickness of 2 to 5 micron and the destination substrate (60/92) has a minimum thickness of 5 to 10 microns (¶ [0032]). Thus, Cok teaches wherein the pixel module has a thickness of no more than 150 microns.
Regarding claim 132, Kim as modified teaches the pixel module of claim 1.
Kim as modified does not teach wherein the pixel module comprises a single pixel and the single pixel comprises the one or more light emitters and the controller.
FIGS. 5, 28B, & 29B of Cok teach a pixel module (96 ¶ [0180]), comprising: a module substrate (94) having a light-emitter side (side where light-emitters 90 are disposed) and a controller side (side where controller 92 is disposed) opposed to the light-emitter side (see examiner annotated FIG. 28B above); one or more light emitters (90R, 90G, 90B) disposed on the light-emitter side (side where light-emitters 90 are disposed) of the module substrate (94 ¶ [0180], see examiner annotated FIG. 28B above); a controller native (92) to the module substrate (94) and constructed in or on the controller side of the module substrate (94 ¶ [0180], see examiner annotated FIG. 28B above); and module electrodes (30), wherein at least one of the module electrodes (30) is electrically connected to the controller (92) and at least one of the module electrodes (30) is electrically connected to each light emitter of the one or more light emitters (90R, 90G, 90B ¶ [0181]), wherein the pixel module (96) comprises a single pixel (96, e.g. FIG. 28B) and the single pixel (96) comprises the one or more light emitters (90R, 90G, 90B) and the controller (92 ¶ [0180]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pixel module taught by Kim with the pixel module taught by Cok for the purpose of reducing electrical faults and manufacturing costs (¶ [0030],[0136]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nora T. Nix/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891