DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Applicant’s amendment and response dated 12/10/2025 has been provided in response to the 8/14/2025 Office Action which rejected claims 1, 3, 8-13, 15, 17-19, and 21-26, wherein claims 1, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 17-19 have been amended and claims 3, 15, and 21-26 have been cancelled. Thus, claims 1, 8-13, 17-19 remain pending in this application and have been fully considered by the examiner.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11-13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0195669 A1, Bhatia hereinafter) in view of Chakraborty et al. (US 2021/0360071 A1, Chakraborty, hereinafter), and Young (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0008312 A1, art being made of record).
As to claim 1, Bhatia teaches an apparatus (see Fig.1, 100 and associated text), comprising:
an external memory (see Fig.1, 123 and associated text, e.g. [0029] - The BMC 120 includes a processor 127, firmware 121 stored in memory 123, and network interface controller 122) ,
a system management processor coupled to the external memory, and configured to execute a management firmware program stored in the external memory (see Fig.1, 127 and associated text, e.g. [0029] - The BMC 120 includes a processor 127, firmware 121 stored in memory 123, and network interface controller 122 and [0046] when the firmware is executed by the processor 127, the processor 127 spawns at least one master management instance 130 and N assisting management instances, 132-1, 132-2, . . . , and 132-N, one for each of the plurality of the managed computer nodes 140-1, 140-2, . . . , and 140-N) and
a plurality of sensor circuits coupled to the system management processor and the external memory (See Fig.1, 146 and associated text e.g. [0040] - In one example, the first assisting management instance 132-1 communicates with a first managed device 146-1 of the first managed computer node 140-1 and that is coupled to the first communication bus 137-1. In one embodiment, these components include sensor devices 146 for measuring various operating and performance-related parameters within the managed computer node 140. The sensor devices 146 may be either hardware or software based components configured or programmed to measure or detect one or more of the various operating and performance-related parameters),
wherein:
the plurality of sensor circuits comprises a plurality of temperature sensor monitors (See e.g. [0041]- the SMC 148 can also be in communication with the CPU temperature sensor 146 and the CPU fan. The communication bus 137 may include components other than those explicitly shown in FIG. 1. Exemplary components not shown in FIG. 1 may include, without limitation, tachometers, heat sensors, voltage meters, amp meters, and digital and analog sensors and a plurality of power event monitors (see e.g. [0040] the assisting management instance 132 monitors operation, performance, and health-related aspects associated with the managed computer node 140, such as the temperature of one or more components of the managed computer node 140, speed of rotational components (e.g., spindle motor, CPU Fan, etc.) within the system, the voltage across or applied to one or more components within the managed computer node 140; The assisting management instance 132 may receive this information sensed by the sensors 146 via the communication bus 137 for analysis, and more particularly, for determination as to whether an "event" is occurring within the managed computer node 140),
based on configuration information stored in the external memory (See e.g. [0087] - the data storage 314 of the assisting management instance 132 stores configuration data, computer health data and/or control parameters collected by the sensors 146 of the managed computer node 140 for performing management functions), each of the plurality of temperature sensor monitors is programmable to, collect first sensor data (see e.g. [0040] - The sensor devices 146 may be either hardware or software based components configured or programmed to measure or detect one or more of the various operating and performance-related parameters) and each of the plurality of power event monitors is programmable to, in response to a triggering event received from the management firmware program, collect second sensor data and concurrently provide the second sensor data to the system management processor (see e.g. [0040]- the assisting management instance 132 monitors operation, performance, and health-related aspects associated with the managed computer node 140, such as the temperature of one or more components of the managed computer node 140, speed of rotational components (e.g., spindle motor, CPU Fan, etc.) within the system, the voltage across or applied to one or more components within the managed computer node 140, and the available or used capacity of memory devices within the managed computer node 140 and [0050]- The master management instance 130 calls a function of the assisting management instance 132 to pass the IPMB message data as well as the generated sequence number. The IPMB message data can include the target LUN number, which indicates a device 146 of the management computer node 140, and the command, which indicates an action to be applied to the identified device 146; The assisting management instance 132 receives the message data and the sequence number or the actual IPMB message, and then retrieves the fields from the data; Upon collecting the information requested, the assisting management instance 132 then sends information and the same sequence number back to the master management instance) and based on the management firmware program, the system management processor is configured to analyze the first sensor data from the plurality of temperature sensor monitors (see e.g. [0040] - The assisting management instance 132 may receive this information sensed by the sensors 146 via the communication bus 137 for analysis, and more particularly, for determination as to whether an "event" is occurring within the managed computer node 140) and [0078]) and analyze the second sensor data from the plurality of power event monitors (See e.g. [0057]- the master management instance 130 can monitor operation of a CPU 142-2 of the second managed computer node 140-2 by request, from the assisting management instance, information of a CPU temperature sensor (not shown in FIG. 1) of the sensors 146-2 and a CPU fan (not shown in FIG. 1). The requested information can be used to determine whether certain operating or performance related parameters exceed or fall below prescribed threshold ranges of operation).
Bhatia does not specifically teach at a programmed periodicity, provide the first sensor data to the system management processor.
In an analogous art of collecting sensor data, however, Chakraborty teaches at a programmed periodicity, provide the first sensor data to a system management processor (See e.g. [0023]- The SDL 110 of the sensor management device 102 is configured to store sensor definitions 112-118 and interact with the SAL 120 of the end device 104 based on the stored sensor definitions 112-118 as described herein and [0032]- The configuration parameters 240 of the sensor definition 212 include configuration data that enables the SAL 220 to configure the sensor interface 222 and associated sensor 230 and to prepare the sensor 230 for operation and collection of data; The configuration parameters 240 of the sensor definition 212 include configuration data that enables the SAL 220 to configure the sensor interface 222 and associated sensor 230 and to prepare the sensor 230 for operation and collection of data; In some examples, the configuration parameters include sensor address data (e.g., an address or addresses by which the sensor is controlled and/or observed), clock frequency data or other timing data (e.g., indicators of a timing pattern at which the sensor operates), [0051] - the SDL may receive raw sensor data repeatedly for a defined time period or for the time period during which the associated sensor is active and collecting or capturing the raw sensor data, and [0114] receiving, by the processor (of the sensor management device), raw sensor data from the sensor abstraction layer via the established network connection) by a system management processor (e.g. application, see [0053] - the converted sensor data is provided to an application, connected to the sensor management device, for consumption).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bhatia to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Chakraborty in order to provide a more efficient method/system of managing sensors on devices.
Bhatia in view of Chakraborty teaches the system management processor is configured to analyze the first sensor data from the plurality of temperature sensor monitors and analyze the second sensor data from the plurality of power event monitors (See Bhatia:[0040],[0057], and [0078]), but does not specifically teach analyzing the temperature data in a first time interval or analyzing the power data in a second time interval that is shorter than the first time interval.
In an analogous art of analyzing sensor data, however, Young teaches analyzing temperature data in a first time interval and analyzing power event data in a second time interval that is shorter than the first time interval (see e.g. [0274]- the sensor 451 in the primary power supply 450 can collect and transmit sensor data covering a range of other parameters in addition to voltage, power and temperature as described hereinbefore and [0275]-if the monitored parameter being measured is voltage or power, the predetermined period of time can be one or more of: 0.01 ms, 0.05 ms, 0.1 ms, 0.5 ms, 1 ms, 2 ms, 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 500 ms, 1 s, 2 s, 5 s; Preferably, if the monitored parameter being measured is temperature, the predetermined period of time can be one or more of: less than 30 seconds, 30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes, 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 20 minutes, 30 minutes, or 60 minutes, or greater than 60 minutes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Bhatia in view of Chakraborty to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Young in order to provide a more efficient method/system of managing sensors on devices and alerting users of operating conditions for the purposes of preventing device damage and improving device performance.
As to claim 11, Bhatia also teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a server, a computer [a portable computer, a desktop computer, a mobile computing device, a set top box, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a fixed location data unit, a mobile location data unit, a global positioning system (GPS) device, a mobile phone, a cellular phone, a smart phone, a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone, a tablet, a phablet, a wearable computing device, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a monitor, a computer monitor, a television, a tuner, a radio, a satellite radio, a music player, a digital music player, a portable music player, a digital video player, a video player, a digital video disc (DVD) player, a portable digital video player, an automobile, a vehicle component, avionics systems, a drone, and a multicopter] (See Fig.1 and associated text, e.g. [0029] – The computer management system 100 includes a management device 120, and managed computer nodes 140-1, 140-2, . . . , and 140-N. In certain embodiments, the management device 120 can be a Baseboard Management Controller (BMC), and the computer nodes can be computer boards or blade servers plugged onto a back plane in a chassis. The management device 120 communicatively connected to the managed computer nodes 140-1, 140-2, . . . , and 140-N. The management device 120 may be a general purpose computer system. It should be appreciated that the management device 120 may alternatively be a "special purpose" computer system or a system that incorporates more than one interconnected system, such as a client -server network).
As to claim 12, the limitations of claim 12 are substantially similar to the limitations of claim 1, and therefore, is rejected for the reasons stated above.
As to claim 13, Bhatia teaches a method, comprising:
programming a plurality of sensor circuits to collect first sensor data from a plurality of temperature sensor monitors (See e.g. Fig.1, 146 and associated text e.g. [0040] - In one example, the first assisting management instance 132-1 communicates with a first managed device 146-1 of the first managed computer node 140-1 and that is coupled to the first communication bus 137-1. In one embodiment, these components include sensor devices 146 for measuring various operating and performance-related parameters within the managed computer node 140. The sensor devices 146 may be either hardware or software based components configured or programmed to measure or detect one or more of the various operating and performance-related parameters) and [0041]- the SMC 148 can also be in communication with the CPU temperature sensor 146 and the CPU fan. The communication bus 137 may include components other than those explicitly shown in FIG. 1. Exemplary components not shown in FIG. 1 may include, without limitation, tachometers, heat sensors, voltage meters, amp meters, and digital and analog sensors), and in response to a triggering event received from a management firmware program, collect second sensor data from a plurality of power event monitors and concurrently provide the second sensor data to the system management processor (see e.g. [0040]- the assisting management instance 132 monitors operation, performance, and health-related aspects associated with the managed computer node 140, such as the temperature of one or more components of the managed computer node 140, speed of rotational components (e.g., spindle motor, CPU Fan, etc.) within the system, the voltage across or applied to one or more components within the managed computer node 140, and the available or used capacity of memory devices within the managed computer node 140 and [0050]- The master management instance 130 calls a function of the assisting management instance 132 to pass the IPMB message data as well as the generated sequence number. The IPMB message data can include the target LUN number, which indicates a device 146 of the management computer node 140, and the command, which indicates an action to be applied to the identified device 146; The assisting management instance 132 receives the message data and the sequence number or the actual IPMB message, and then retrieves the fields from the data; Upon collecting the information requested, the assisting management instance 132 then sends information and the same sequence number back to the master management instance),and
programming the system management processor to determine a response based on analyzing the first sensor data from the plurality of temperature sensor monitors and analyzing the second sensor data from the plurality of power event monitors (see e.g. [0040] - The assisting management instance 132 may receive this information sensed by the sensors 146 via the communication bus 137 for analysis, and more particularly, for determination as to whether an "event" is occurring within the managed computer node 140), [0057]- the master management instance 130 can monitor operation of a CPU 142-2 of the second managed computer node 140-2 by request, from the assisting management instance, information of a CPU temperature sensor (not shown in FIG. 1) of the sensors 146-2 and a CPU fan (not shown in FIG. 1). The requested information can be used to determine whether certain operating or performance related parameters exceed or fall below prescribed threshold ranges of operation), and [0078]).
Bhatia does not specifically teach at a programmed periodicity, provide the first sensor data to the system management processor.
In an analogous art of collecting sensor data, however, Chakraborty teaches at a programmed periodicity, provide the first sensor data to a system management processor (See e.g. [0023]- The SDL 110 of the sensor management device 102 is configured to store sensor definitions 112-118 and interact with the SAL 120 of the end device 104 based on the stored sensor definitions 112-118 as described herein and [0032]- The configuration parameters 240 of the sensor definition 212 include configuration data that enables the SAL 220 to configure the sensor interface 222 and associated sensor 230 and to prepare the sensor 230 for operation and collection of data; The configuration parameters 240 of the sensor definition 212 include configuration data that enables the SAL 220 to configure the sensor interface 222 and associated sensor 230 and to prepare the sensor 230 for operation and collection of data; In some examples, the configuration parameters include sensor address data (e.g., an address or addresses by which the sensor is controlled and/or observed), clock frequency data or other timing data (e.g., indicators of a timing pattern at which the sensor operates), [0051] - the SDL may receive raw sensor data repeatedly for a defined time period or for the time period during which the associated sensor is active and collecting or capturing the raw sensor data, and [0114] receiving, by the processor (of the sensor management device), raw sensor data from the sensor abstraction layer via the established network connection) by a system management processor (e.g. application, see [0053] - the converted sensor data is provided to an application, connected to the sensor management device, for consumption).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bhatia to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Chakraborty in order to provide a more efficient method/system of managing sensors on devices.
Bhatia in view of Chakraborty teaches the system management processor is configured to analyze the first sensor data from the plurality of temperature sensor monitors and analyze the second sensor data from the plurality of power event monitors (See Bhatia:[0040],[0057], and [0078]), but does not specifically teach analyzing the temperature data in a first time interval or analyzing the power data in a second time interval that is shorter than the first time interval.
In an analogous art of analyzing sensor data, however, Young teaches analyzing temperature data in a first time interval and analyzing power event data in a second time interval that is shorter than the first time interval (see e.g. [0274]- the sensor 451 in the primary power supply 450 can collect and transmit sensor data covering a range of other parameters in addition to voltage, power and temperature as described hereinbefore and [0275]-if the monitored parameter being measured is voltage or power, the predetermined period of time can be one or more of: 0.01 ms, 0.05 ms, 0.1 ms, 0.5 ms, 1 ms, 2 ms, 5 ms, 10 ms, 20 ms, 500 ms, 1 s, 2 s, 5 s; Preferably, if the monitored parameter being measured is temperature, the predetermined period of time can be one or more of: less than 30 seconds, 30 seconds, 1 minute, 2 minutes, 5 minutes, 10 minutes, 20 minutes, 30 minutes, or 60 minutes, or greater than 60 minutes).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method/system of Bhatia in view of Chakraborty to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Young in order to provide a more efficient method/system of managing sensors on devices and alerting users of operating conditions for the purposes of preventing device damage and improving device performance.
As to claim 19, the limitations of claim 19 are substantially similar to the limitations of claim 13, and therefore, is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claims 8, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0195669 A1, Bhatia hereinafter) in view of Chakraborty et al. (US 2021/0360071 A1, Chakraborty, hereinafter), and Young (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0008312 A1, art being made of record) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Fish et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0168268 A1).
As to claim 8, Bhatia in view of Chakraborty and Young teaches wherein the plurality of sensor circuits includes the plurality of power event monitors (see Bhatia: e.g. [0040] - the assisting management instance 132 monitors operation, performance, and health-related aspects associated with the managed computer node 140, such as the temperature of one or more components of the managed computer node 140, speed of rotational components (e.g., spindle motor, CPU Fan, etc.) within the system, the voltage across or applied to one or more components within the managed computer node 140) and based on the management firmware program, the system management processor is configured to determine a response based on the data received from the plurality of power event monitors (See Bhatia: e.g. [0039] - a CPU fan (not shown in FIG. 1) can be used to cool off the CPU 142 after the CPU 142 reaches a prescribed temperature. Such a determination, i.e., whether the CPU 142 exceeds a prescribed temperature, can be made by the assisting management instance 132. As described above, the assisting management instance 132, through the communication interfaces 136 coupled with the communication buses 137, with the CPU temperature sensor 146 and the CPU fan to provide monitoring functionality over the temperature sensor and control functionality over the CPU fan and [0040] - The assisting management instance 132 may receive this information sensed by the sensors 146 via the communication bus 137 for analysis, and more particularly, for determination as to whether an "event" is occurring within the managed computer node 140), but does not specifically teach the plurality of temperature sensor monitors or a response based on the data received from the plurality of temperature sensor monitors.
In an analogous art of collecting sensor data, however, Fish teaches the plurality of temperature sensor monitors (see e.g. [0037]) and a response based on the data received from the plurality of temperature sensor monitors (See e.g. [0041]- When the comparison shows in the temperature sensors finds that the measured temperature is greater than the maximum tolerable temperature or the "rise target," the temperature sensor interrupts or awakens the microcontroller integrated circuit 303. The interruption causes the microcontroller integrated circuit 303 to request a temperature read from the temperature sensor, which is the temperature exceeding the maximum tolerable temperature, and to send the read temperature and an alarm via a wireless network technology to the user hub computer 104).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bhatia in view of Chakraborty to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Fish in order to provide a more efficient and cost effective method/system of managing sensors on devices and alerting users of operating status conditions for the purpose of detecting and correction failures.
As to claim 9, Bhatia also teaches wherein based on the management firmware program, the system management processor is configured to determine that only the first temperature sensor monitor associated with a first processing core is approaching a thermal limit, and to respond by taking an action to reduce temperature of only the first processing core (see e.g. [0057] - the master management instance 130 can monitor operation of a CPU 142-2 of the second managed computer node 140-2 by request, from the assisting management instance, information of a CPU temperature sensor (not shown in FIG. 1) of the sensors 146-2 and a CPU fan (not shown in FIG. 1). The requested information can be used to determine whether certain operating or performance related parameters exceed or fall below prescribed threshold ranges of operation. An example of such an event may be the temperature reading of heat dissipated by the CPU 142-2 reaching in excess of 145 degrees Fahrenheit and [0058] - The master management instance 130 may initiate operation of the CPU fan upon determining that the temperature dissipated by the CPU 140 has reached 146 degrees Fahrenheit).
As to claim 17, the limitations of claim 17 are substantially similar to the limitations of claim 9, and therefore, is rejected for the reasons stated above.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0195669 A1) in view of Chakraborty et al. (US 2021/0360071 A1), Young (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0008312 A1), and Fish et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0168268 A1), as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Lehwalder et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0201408 A1).
As to claim 10, Bhatia in view of Chakraborty, Young and Fish teaches the system management processor (see e.g. Bhatia: [0029]), but does not specifically teach wherein based on the management firmware program, the system processor is configured to determine that a first processing core associated with the first power event monitor is consuming more power than a second processing core associated with a second power event monitor, and to respond by reducing the power consumption of only the first processing core.
In an analogous art of monitoring sensors, however Lehwalder teaches a management firmware program (e.g. power management circuitry) is configured to determine that a first processing core associated with the first power event monitor is consuming more power than a second processing core associated with a second power event monitor, and to respond by reducing the power consumption of only the first processing core (see [0023]- The sensors 145 may sense variations in factors affecting power consumption of the electronic device such as temperature operating frequency, operating voltage, operating current, power consumption, over current, over-discharge, under voltage etc. and Figs:7-8 and associated text, e.g. [0089] - At process element 710 the SoC 410 determines whether or not the critical power warning signal has been received; if at process element 710 a critical power warning signal is in fact received, then the process proceeds to process element 712 where at least one of the SOC power or the processor power is rapidly reduced (within .mu.s) to reduce the likelihood of a crash due to the maximum available input power from the power supply having been exceeded, [0090] - Power levels of one or more CPU cores, memory or any other system component may be actively reduced in response to measurements made by the power monitoring circuitry 142).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bhatia in view of Chakraborty, Young, and Fish to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lehwalder in order to provide a more efficient method/system of monitoring power events in a system to prevent system crashes for the purpose of optimizing performance.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0195669 A1) in view of Chakraborty et al. (US 2021/0360071 A1), and Young (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0008312 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Lehwalder et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0201408 A1).
As to claim 18, Bhatia in view of Chakraborty and Young teaches method (see e.g. Bhatia: [0029]), but does not specifically teach wherein determining the response comprises determining that a first processing core associated with a first power event monitor of the plurality of power event monitors is consuming more power than a second processing core associated with a second power event monitor of the plurality of power event monitors, and taking an action to reduce the power consumption of only the first processing core.
In an analogous art of monitoring sensors, however Lehwalder teaches determining that a first processing core associated with a first power event monitor of the plurality of power events monitors is consuming more power than a second processing core associated with a second power event monitor, and taking an action to reduce the power consumption of only the first processing core (see [0023]- The sensors 145 may sense variations in factors affecting power consumption of the electronic device such as temperature operating frequency, operating voltage, operating current, power consumption, over current, over-discharge, under voltage etc. and Figs:7-8 and associated text, e.g. [0089] - At process element 710 the SoC 410 determines whether or not the critical power warning signal has been received; if at process element 710 a critical power warning signal is in fact received, then the process proceeds to process element 712 where at least one of the SOC power or the processor power is rapidly reduced (within .mu.s) to reduce the likelihood of a crash due to the maximum available input power from the power supply having been exceeded, [0090] - Power levels of one or more CPU cores, memory or any other system component may be actively reduced in response to measurements made by the power monitoring circuitry 142).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bhatia in view of Chakraborty, Young, and Fish to incorporate/implement the limitations as taught by Lehwalder in order to provide a more efficient method/system of monitoring power events in a system to prevent system crashes for the purpose of optimizing performance.
Conclusion
/CHENECA SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2192
/S. Sough/SPE, Art Unit 2192