DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of species A and species I in the reply filed on 03/19/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-4,6,9-12,14,17-20 are examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/19/2025 has been entered.
Claims 5,7-8,13,15-16 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2,9-10,17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190383903 A1 (Chao) in view of US 20210041567 A1 (Milgrome).
Claim 9,1 and 17 (mutatis mutandis). Chao teaches a system for detecting an object comprising:
a processor (para 5,12 note processor);
and a memory in communication with the processor, the memory (para 12,18) including:
a feature generation module including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: receive sensor data, the sensor data based on information from a first set of echo points and a second set of echo points (para 5 note first channel and second channel),
and generate a first set of feature maps based on the first set of echo points (para 5 first channel of the signal reflected and first feature map ) and a second set of feature maps based on the second set of echo points (para 5 note a second channel of the signal reflected and second feature map ); and a bounding box generation module including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: predict a bounding box for the object based on the first set of feature maps and the second set of feature maps (para 5 note receiving output from the first and second feature map generators and forming frames. Para 21).
Chao teaches first set of echo points and second set of echo points but fails to explicitly teach that at least one echo point from the first set of echo points and one echo point from the second set of echo points originating from a single beam. However, Milgrome teaches that at least one echo point from the first set of echo points and one echo point from the second set of echo points originating from a single beam (para 40 note single laser and multiple returns)
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Chao and Milgrome and modify the system such that at least one echo point from the first set of echo points and one echo point from the second set of echo points originating from a single beam. The motivation to do so would be to have multiple return detection system and save power by not transmitting multiple signals.
Claim 10,2 and 18 (mutatis mutandis). Chao as modified in view of Milgrome teaches the system of claim 9. Chao teaches wherein the memory further includes: an object classification module including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: classify the object based on the first set of feature maps and the second set of feature maps (para 21-24 note classifying gestures.).
Claim(s) 3-4,11-12, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190383903 A1 (Chao) in view of US 20210041567 A1 (Milgrome) further in view of US 20190361456 A1 (Zeng).
Claim 11,3 and 19 (mutatis mutandis). Chao as modified in view of Milgrome teaches the system of claim 9. Chao fails to explicitly teach but Zeng teaches wherein the sensor data is based on at least one of a plurality of bounding box proposals and 3-dimensional (3D) features (para 118).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Chao, Milgrome and Zeng and modify the system such that the sensor data is based on at least one of a plurality of bounding box proposals and 3-dimensional (3D) features. The motivation to do so would be to find location of the object (Zeng para 119).
Claim 12,4 and 20 (mutatis mutandis). Chao as modified in view of Milgrome and Zeng teaches the system of claim 11. Chao fails to explicitly teach but Zeng teaches wherein the memory further includes:
the feature generation module including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: generate ROI features based on the plurality of bounding box proposals the first set of feature maps, and the second set of feature maps; and the bounding box generation module including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: predict the bounding box based on the ROI features (para 162-164 note ROI, bounding box and features).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Chao, Milgrome and Zeng and modify the system such that it can generate region of interest (ROI) features based on the plurality of bounding box proposals, the first set of feature maps, and the second set of feature maps and predicting the bounding box based on the ROI features. The motivation to do so would be to find location of the object (Zeng para 119).
Claim(s) 6,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190383903 A1 (Chao) in view of US 20210041567 A1 (Milgrome) further in view of US 20200401823 A1 (Miller).
Claim 14 and 6 (mutatis mutandis). Chao as modified in view of Milgrome teaches the system of claim 9. Chao fails but Miller teaches wherein the memory further includes: an echo point assignment module including instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: determine whether to assign an echo point to the first set of echo points or the second set of echo points based on an intensity value of the echo point (see figure 13 ref 1304 note cluster of points with high intensity ).
It would have been obvious to have combined the references of Chao and Miller and modify the system such that it can assign an echo point based on intensity of the echo point. The motivation to do so would be to classify the object (Miller see abstract)
Conclusion
/SANJIDA NASER/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645