Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, “a second semiconductor wafer” has previously established antecedent basis within independent claim 1. Claims 5 and 6 have inherited the rejection of claim 4 due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterheld (2019/0283209) in view of Torii (US 20070243796) and Osterheld (US 2020/0298368)
Regarding claim 1, Osterheld ‘209 discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a first semiconductor wafer with a chemical mechanical planarization head of a chemical mechanical planarization system (see at least the CMP system 100, substrate, and carrier head 104 disclosed in [0003-0004], [0013-0016]);
performing a chemical mechanical planarization process on the first semiconductor wafer (see [0013-0016], [0019], as well as Figure 1);
passing the first semiconductor wafer from the chemical mechanical planarization head to a wafer load and unload unit after the chemical mechanical planarization process (see transfer mechanism 118, disclosed in [0020-0022]; see also the de-chucking process disclosed in [0026]);
positioning a camera under the chemical mechanical planarization head (see at least cameras 200a, 200b, as well as [0030-0031]);
after passing the first wafer to the wafer load and unload unit, via a control system (see control system 190), activating the camera via a control system (see at least [0034-0037]) to capture a plurality of first images along the entire inner circumference of a retainer ring of the chemical mechanical planarization head (wherein [0030-0032] disclose the camera 200a/200b can capture images of the retaining ring 150 as the carrier head 104 moves from the polishing station to the load cup 100, or vice versa, i.e. before and after processing of the substrate; wherein [0034] discloses the field of view is sufficiently wide enough such that the entire underside of the consumable part, i.e. the retaining ring, is captured, and that multiple images can be taken to cover the entire field of view);
analyzing the first plurality of first images with the control system (see at least [0034-0037]); and
determining whether to provide a second semiconductor wafer to the chemical mechanical planarization head based on the plurality of first images (wherein [0035-0037] disclose that the image processing algorithm is run by software in the controller to determine whether there is damage to the consumable item, and wherein a signal can be generated to an operator if replacement is needed, i.e. the second semiconductor wafer is not supplied and the part is replaced).
However, Osterheld ‘209 does not explicitly teach that the number of uses of the retaining ring is monitored for a threshold number of uses, such that the camera remains inactive or is activated and pivoted throughout a plurality of positions. Specifically, Osterheld ‘209 does not explicitly teach determining whether the retainer ring has been used more than a threshold number of uses; if the retainer ring has not been used more than the threshold number of uses, preventing activation of the camera; if the retainer ring has been used more than the threshold number of uses, activating the camera including pivoting the camera through a plurality of positions such that the plurality of first images taken are captured.
Osterheld ‘209 does, however, focus on consumable part monitoring, notes that a consumable part may need replacement after a certain number of cycles of polishing and conditioning, and discloses that the consumable part can specifically be a retaining ring (see [0007-0008]).
From the same or similar field of wafer polishing, Torii teaches that the retainer ring wears down after a number of wafers are polished (see [0009]), and determining whether the retainer ring has been used more than a threshold number of uses ([0057-0060]: wherein the set threshold number N of polished wafers is determined, i.e. the number of wafers correlates to the number of uses of the retaining ring); if the retainer ring has not been used more than the threshold number of uses, preventing activation of the camera ([0075]: wherein if the number of polished wafers is smaller than N, the lot end is not reached, the instruction unit 17 uses the stored correction amount and continues the polishing operation; see also [0054] teaching that a CCD camera can be used for detecting wear thickness of the retainer ring 10); if the retainer ring has been used more than the threshold number of uses, activating the camera ([0060]: if it is judged that the number of polished wafers exceeds N, the instruction unit 17 allows wear measurement unit 40 to measure the wear thickness of the retainer ring and transfer the measured wear thickness to the calculation unit 13 to determine the optimum polishing condition; see also [0076], [0054], as well as Figures 9, 12, 14, and 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the process monitoring including number of uses, as taught by Torii, into the invention of Osterheld ‘209. Osterheld ‘209 sets a foundation for monitoring the number of use cycles of consumable parts in at least [0007-0008]. One would be motivated to combine in the teachings of Torii to further bolster the monitoring system set in place by Osterheld ‘209. Torii also teaches that some benefits of including the type of monitoring suggested by Torii are an increase in the lifetime of the retainer ring (see [0023]), thereby reducing costs, and improvement of the production efficiency and product yield (see [0068]). This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. monitoring the number of processing cycles within the context of consumable parts, to improve a similar wafer polishing device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Osterheld ‘368 teaches of a CMP apparatus for processing a substrate, wherein there is a camera (imager 42, [0030]) configured for pivoting through a plurality of positions such that images are captured (see [0032] and Figure 2; wherein the support arm 42, which carries imager 42, is pivotable such that images taken at different positions are recorded).
It would have been obvious to one having one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the pivotable imager/camera feature taught by Osterheld ‘368 into the invention of Osterheld ‘209. The ability to displace the camera of Osterheld ‘209 would increase the adaptability and versatility of the camera, such that the controller would be able to take additional images in a particular area that would otherwise be out of frame or at an odd angle. This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. a pivotable imaging device, to improve a similar CMP apparatus in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 2, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches
generating a classification of the plurality of first images with the control system, wherein the classification indicates whether or not the chemical mechanical planarization head is damaged (Osterheld ‘209: [0034-0038] wherein the image processing algorithm run by software in the controller is configured to determine if there is damage to the consumable part, i.e. wherein the classification includes damaged or undamaged); and
determining whether to provide the second semiconductor wafer to the chemical mechanical planarization head based on the classification (wherein [0036] describes that a signal can be generated for signaling to an operator that replacement is required, i.e. instead of providing an additional substrate, the signal is emitted).
Regarding claim 3, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches further comprising preventing, with the control system, the chemical mechanical planarization head from receiving the second semiconductor wafer if the classification indicates that the retainer ring is damaged (Osterheld ‘209: wherein [0008-0009] describe that before damage to parts impact the polishing process, the damaged part is replaced; see also [0011-0012], [0034-0036]).
Regarding claim 4, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches wherein determining whether to provide a second semiconductor wafer to the chemical mechanical planarization head includes determining whether or not the retainer ring is damaged (Osterheld ‘209: see [0008-0009], [0012], [0029], [0034-0036]; see also Torii [0061] regarding the succeeding wafers or lot of wafers, i.e. therein exists further processing).
Regarding claim 5, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches further comprising generating the classification with a convolutional neural network of the control system (Osterheld ‘209: see [0037] disclosing a convolutional neural network).
Regarding claim 6, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches, wherein capturing the plurality of first images of the retainer ring includes capturing an image of an interior surface of the retainer ring (Osterheld ‘209: see [0031-0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches further comprising:
capturing a plurality of second images with a plurality of cameras comprising the camera and one or more additional cameras (Osterheld ‘209: see at least camera 200a, 200b, as well as [0031-0033]);
analyzing the second plurality of images with the plurality of cameras (see [0031-0036], as well as [0009]); and
determining whether or not to provide the second semiconductor wafer to the chemical mechanical planarization head based on the plurality of second images (wherein based on the images obtained from the cameras and analyzed by the controller, the operator is alerted to damage and replacement is necessary before the damaged elements can impact the polishing process, i.e. indicating a second wafer should not be provided).
Regarding claim 8, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches wherein analyzing the plurality of first images includes comparing the plurality of first images to one or more reference images (Osterheld ‘209: see [0037].
Regarding claim 21, Osterheld ‘209 discloses a method, comprising:
receiving a semiconductor wafer with a wafer load and unload unit of a chemical mechanical planarization system (see transfer mechanism 118, disclosed in [0020-0022]; see also the de-chucking process disclosed in [0026]; see at least the CMP system 100, substrate, and carrier head 104 disclosed in [0003-0004], [0013-0016]);
receiving the semiconductor wafer from the wafer load and unload unit with a chemical mechanical planarization head (see carrier head 104 and [0013-0016]);
performing a chemical mechanical planarization process on the semiconductor wafer while holding the semiconductor wafer with the chemical mechanical planarization head (see [0013-0016], [0019], as well as Figure 1);
returning the semiconductor wafer from the chemical mechanical planarization head to the wafer load and unload unit after performing the chemical mechanical planarization process (see [0020-0022], [0026]);
positioning a camera below the chemical mechanical planarization head and close to the wafer handling unit (see transfer mechanism 118, disclosed in [0020-0022]; see also the de-chucking process disclosed in [0026]);
after returning the first semiconductor wafer to the wafer handling unit, using the control system (see control system 190; wherein Examiner acknowledges that the control system is established antecedently before this limitation, however to reduce confusion, the limitation which is both taught below and establishes antecedent basis for a control system is addressed below; i.e. please refer to the control system 190 of Osterheld ‘209) to activate the camera and to capture a plurality of images over an entire inner circumference of a retainer ring of the chemical mechanical planarization head (wherein [0030-0032] disclose the camera 200a/200b can capture images of the retaining ring 150 as the carrier head 104 moves from the polishing station to the load cup 100, or vice versa, i.e. before and after processing of the substrate; wherein [0034] discloses the field of view is sufficiently wide enough such that the entire underside of the consumable part, i.e. the retaining ring, is captured, and that multiple images can be taken to cover the entire field of view);
analyzing, with the control system, the plurality of images with an image analysis process (see at least [0034-0037]);
generating, with the control system, a classification of the plurality of images ([0034-0038] wherein the image processing algorithm run by software in the controller is configured to determine if there is damage to the consumable part, i.e. wherein the classification includes damaged or undamaged); and
controlling, with the control system, the chemical mechanical planarization head responsive to the classification (wherein [0036] describes that a signal can be generated for signaling to an operator that replacement is required, i.e. instead of providing an additional substrate, the signal is emitted; wherein operating parameters may also be adjusted).
However, Osterheld ‘209 does not explicitly teach that the number of uses of the retaining ring is monitored for a threshold number of uses, such that the camera remains inactive or is activated and pivoted throughout a plurality of positions. Specifically, Osterheld ‘209 does not explicitly teach determining, with the control system, whether the retainer ring has been used more than a threshold number of uses; if the retainer ring has not been used more than the threshold number of uses, preventing activation of the camera; if the retainer ring has been used more than the threshold number of uses, using the control system to active the camera and pivot the camera through a plurality of positions such that the plurality of first images taken are captured.
Osterheld ‘209 does, however, focus on consumable part monitoring, and notes that a consumable part may need replacement after a certain number of cycles of polishing and conditioning, and discloses that the consumable part can specifically be a retaining ring (see [0007-0008]).
From the same or similar field of wafer polishing, Torii teaches that the retainer ring wears down after a number of wafers are polished (see [0009]), and determining, with the control system (190 of Osterheld ‘209), whether the retainer ring has been used more than a threshold number of uses ([0057-0060]: wherein the set threshold number N of polished wafers is determined, i.e. the number of wafers correlates to the number of uses of the retaining ring); if the retainer ring has not been used more than the threshold number of uses, preventing activation of the camera ([0075]: wherein if the number of polished wafers is smaller than N, the lot end is not reached, the instruction unit 17 uses the stored correction amount and continues the polishing operation; see also [0054] teaching that a CCD camera can be used for detecting wear thickness of the retainer ring 10); if the retainer ring has been used more than the threshold number of uses, activating the camera ([0060]: if it is judged that the number of polished wafers exceeds N, the instruction unit 17 allows wear measurement unit 40 to measure the wear thickness of the retainer ring and transfer the measured wear thickness to the calculation unit 13 to determine the optimum polishing condition; see also [0076], [0054], as well as Figures 9, 12, 14, and 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the process monitoring including number of uses, as taught by Torii, into the invention of Osterheld ‘209. Osterheld ‘209 sets a foundation for monitoring the number of use cycles of consumable parts in at least [0007-0008]. One would be motivated to combine in the teachings of Torii to further bolster the monitoring system set in place by Osterheld ‘209. Torii also teaches that some benefits of including the type of monitoring suggested by Torii are an increase in the lifetime of the retainer ring (see [0023]), thereby reducing costs, and improvement of the production efficiency and product yield (see [0068]). This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. monitoring the number of processing cycles within the context of consumable parts, to improve a similar wafer polishing device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success.
Osterheld ‘368 teaches of a CMP apparatus for processing a substrate, wherein there is a camera (imager 42, [0030]) that may pivot through a plurality of positions such that images are captured (see [0032] and Figure 2; wherein the support arm 42, which carries imager 42, is pivotable such that images taken at different positions are recorded).
It would have been obvious to one having one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the pivotable imager/camera feature taught by Osterheld ‘368 into the invention of Osterheld ‘209. The ability to displace the camera of Osterheld ‘209 would increase the adaptability and versatility of the camera, such that the controller would be able to take additional images in a particular area that would otherwise be out of frame or at an odd angle. This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. a pivotable imaging device, to improve a similar CMP apparatus in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success, see MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 22, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches wherein the retainer ring is configured to laterally retain the semiconductor wafer when the chemical mechanical planarization head holds the semiconductor wafer (Osterheld ‘209: see [0004-0005], [0023]).
Regarding claim 23, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches wherein the classification indicates whether or not the retainer ring is damaged (Osterheld ‘209: [0034-0038] wherein the image processing algorithm run by software in the controller is configured to determine if there is damage to the consumable part, i.e. wherein the classification includes damaged or undamaged).
Regarding claim 24, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches further comprising preventing, with the control system, the chemical mechanical planarization head from receiving a next semiconductor wafer if the classification indicates that the retainer ring is damaged (Osterheld ‘209: wherein [0008-0009] describe that before damage to parts impact the polishing process, the damaged part is replaced; see also [0011-0012], [0034-0035]).
Regarding claim 25, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches further comprising permitting, with the control system, the chemical mechanical planarization head to receive the next semiconductor wafer if the retainer ring is not damaged (Osterheld ‘209: wherein the image processing algorithm includes determining the images are normal, see at least [0037], i.e. additional wafers may be processed; see [0035-0038]).
Regarding claim 26, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches wherein the camera is positioned adjacent to the wafer load and unload unit (Osterheld ‘209: see at least camera 200a, which is adjacent to the unit 110 relative to camera 200c).
Regarding claim 27, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches, further comprising generating the classification with an image analyzer of the control system that implements a convolutional neural network (Osterheld ‘209: see [0037] disclosing a convolutional neural network).
Regarding claim 28, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Torii and Osterheld ‘368 teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches further comprising generating the classification with a machine learning based image analyzer of the control system (Osterheld ‘209: see [0037] disclosing a machine learning system, see also [0038]).
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osterheld (2019/0283209) in view of Shinozaki (US 2017/0291274).
Regarding claim 9, Osterheld ‘209 discloses a method, comprising:
performing a chemical mechanical planarization process on a first semiconductor wafer held by a chemical mechanical planarization head (see [0013-0016], [0019], as well as Figure 1);
unloading the first semiconductor wafer from the chemical mechanical planarization head to a wafer load and unload unit (see transfer mechanism 118, disclosed in [0020-0022]; see also the de-chucking process disclosed in [0026]);
placing a camera in such that the camera is positioned at an angle 𝛳 relative to a vertical line (see at least cameras 200a, 200b, as well as [0030-0031]; wherein the camera is located in an area between element 110 and 118 at the furthest extent of element 118, i.e. within a gap);
capturing an image, with the camera positioned at the angle 𝛳, of a retainer ring of the chemical mechanical planarization head after unloading the first semiconductor wafer (wherein [0030-0032] disclose the camera 200a/200b can capture images of the retaining ring 150 as the carrier head 104 moves from the polishing station to the load cup 100, or vice versa, i.e. before and after processing of the substrate; wherein [0034] discloses the field of view is sufficiently wide enough such that the entire underside of the consumable part, i.e. the retaining ring, is captured, and that multiple images can be taken to cover the entire field of view);
detecting, with a control system (190), that the retainer ring is damaged based on the image (wherein [0035-0037] disclose that the image processing algorithm is run by software in the controller to determine whether there is damage to the consumable item); and
stopping, with the control system, operation of the chemical mechanical planarization head responsive to detecting that the retainer ring is damaged (see [0008-0009], wherein a signal can be generated to an operator if replacement is needed, i.e. the second semiconductor wafer is not supplied and the part is replaced; see also [0011-0012], [0034-0036]).
However, Osterheld ‘209 does not explicitly teach the camera in a recess of the wafer loading and unloading unit, wherein 𝛳 is greater than 0o, wherein the recess is located in the wafer loading and unloading unit such that when a wafer is held by the loading and unloading unit the camera is directly below the wafer.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Shinozaki teaches of a position detector element (154) in a recess of a pusher element (150), wherein the detector element is positioned at an angle 𝛳, wherein 𝛳 is greater than 0o, wherein the recess is located in the wafer loading and unloading unit such that when a wafer is held by the loading and unloading unit the camera is directly below the wafer (see Figures 7 and 8; wherein pusher element 150 includes the position detector 154, which is disposed at a ninety degree angle relative to a vertical axis, and is located below wafer W in Figure 7; see also [0074], [0079]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the camera device into the sidewalls of an element, as taught by Shinozaki, into the sidewalls of the retaining ring of Osterheld ‘209. One would be motivated to do so in order to obtain closer or alternative images of the retaining ring. Furthermore, Osterheld ‘209 intimates and suggests different locations for cameras to be placed in at least [0031-0033]. This modification would be recognized as using a known technique, i.e. internally disposed sensing elements in the context of chemical mechanical polishing devices, to improve a similar device in the same manner, and would yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. Please also refer to Section (VI.)(C.) of MPEP 2144.04 regarding the rearrangement of parts.
Regarding claim 10, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Shinozaki teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches further comprising training an image analyzer of the control system with a machine learning process to identify damage to the retainer ring (Osterheld 209’: see [0037-0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Shinozaki teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches, wherein the machine learning process includes utilizing a plurality of reference images of retainer rings as a training set (Osterheld 209’: wherein [0037] discloses training with images of normal and defective consumable parts).
Regarding claim 12, Osterheld ‘209 in view of Shinozaki teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Osterheld ‘209 further teaches wherein the image analyzer includes a convolutional neural network (Osterheld 209’: see the convolutional neural network discloses in [0037]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723