DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Remarks
This action is in response to the RCE filed 04/02/2025.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-17, 19, and 22-28 are pending. Claims 29-39 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-14, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4, 7-19, and 22-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Independent claims 1 and 16 have been amended to recite limitations from claims 3 and 18, which have now been cancelled. Further, independent claims 1 and 16 have been amended to specify the reflection mechanism is a “reflection coating” and that the monitoring beam is “used to detect flexure of the optical fiber”. Applicant argues that the art of record does not disclose the amended limitations. Examiner agrees. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made, as explained in the office action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-17, 19, and 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0049806 – of record), hereinafter Yu, in view of Diao et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0333304 – of record), hereinafter Diao, further in view of Pratten et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0168729 – of record), hereinafter Pratten, and further in view of Younge et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0323075), hereinafter Younge.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Yu discloses an optical probe (e.g. Abstract) comprising:
a holder member that is mounted on a distal end side of an optical fiber and holds the optical fiber (e.g. Fig. 2: member 114 coupled to distal end of optical fiber 112; Par. [0049]: describing Fig. 2; Fig. 3: member 140 coupled to distal end of optical fiber 112; Par. [0058]; Fig. 5: members 183 and 184 hold the distal end of the fiber 112; Par. [0065]: describing Fig. 5);
a traveling direction changing unit that changes a traveling direction of an output beam to a sideward direction with respect to the optical fiber, wherein the traveling direction changing unit is a reflector that is joined to a part of a surface of the holder member and reflects the output beam (e.g. Fig. 2: reflector 130 changes direction of output beam and is connected to member 114; Fig. 3: reflector 130 changes direction of output beam and is connected to main body 140; Fig. 5: reflector 230 changes direction of the output beam and is connected to member 184; Par. [0052]: reflective surface 130 promotes reflection of laser beam; Par. [0060]: laser beam reflected off of surface 130 to desired target; Par. [0067]: reflective surface 230); and
a reflection mechanism arranged on a distal end surface of the optical fiber from which the output beam is output, the reflection mechanism being configured to transmit the output beam and reflect a monitoring beam having a certain wavelength different from a wavelength of the output beam (e.g. Par. [0073]: the reflector transmits the beam at 420nm and reflects beam at 532nm),
wherein the holder member includes an insertion hole and a diameter extending hole that communicates with the insertion hole and has a larger inner diameter than the insertion hole, the optical fiber is inserted in the insertion hole, the distal end surface of the optical fiber is located at a boundary of the insertion hole and the diameter extending hole or at a side of the diameter extending hole relative to the boundary (e.g. Fig. 3: dotted lines show insertion hole as having a smaller diameter than the diameter of the main body, optical fiber 112 is located at the insertion hole), and
wherein the reflection mechanism is a reflection coating (e.g. Par. [0067]: reflection coating 240).
However, Yu fails to disclose the output beam is a light beam for cautery, and the monitoring beam is output from a proximal end side of the optical fiber and is used to detect flexure of the optical fiber. Diao is directed towards a laser probe. Diao discloses it is known to use a light beam for cautery (e.g. Par. [0003]: a laser probe is used for cauterization).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu to include the light beam being used for cautery as taught by Diao because doing so would provide the required cauterization.
However, Yu in view of Diao fails to specifically disclose a monitoring beam output from a proximal end side of the optical fiber and is used to detect flexure of the optical fiber. Pratten is directed towards a catheter system and method for ablating a tissue. Pratten discloses a beam being output from a proximal end of the fiber (e.g. Par. [0176]: the sensing beam travels to the proximal end of the fiber; Fig. 2D: sensing beam 140 going towards proximal end of the fiber).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Diao to include the beam being output from a proximal end of the fiber as taught by Pratten because doing so would allow monitoring of the sensing beam.
However, Yu in view of Diao and Pratten fail to specifically disclose the monitoring beam being used to detect flexure of the optical fiber. Younge, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards measuring bending in optical fibers. Younge discloses using a light beam to detect bending of the optical fiber (e.g. Par. [0112]: using the reflected light to determine bending of the optical fiber).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Diao and Pratten to include detecting flexure of the optical fiber as taught by Younge because doing so would allow determination of the spatial position and orientation of the fiber while in use (e.g. Younge, par. [0005]).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Yu further discloses wherein the traveling direction changing unit is a diffraction grating that is arranged on the holder member and diffracts the output beam (e.g. Par. [0054]: reflective surface 130 can be a binary diffraction surface).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Yu further discloses wherein the distal end surface of the optical fiber from which the output beam is output is inclined with respect to an optical axis of the optical fiber (e.g. Par. [0006]: known to have a beveled end surface; Fig. 13: inclined surface 320).
Regarding claim 7, Yu further discloses wherein the distal end surface of the optical fiber from which the output beam is output is inclined with respect to an optical axis of the optical fiber, and the traveling direction changing unit is a reflector that is arranged on the distal end surface and that reflects the output beam (e.g. Par. [0006]: known to have a beveled end surface; Fig. 13: inclined surface 320; (e.g. Fig. 2: reflector 130 changes direction of output beam and is connected to member 114; Fig. 3: reflector 130 changes direction of output beam and is connected to main body 140; Fig. 5: reflector 230 changes direction of the output beam and is connected to member 184; Par. [0052]: reflective surface 130 promotes reflection of laser beam; Par. [0060]: laser beam reflected off of surface 130 to desired target; Par. [0067]: reflective surface 230).
Regarding claim 8, Yu further discloses wherein the holder member includes an insertion hole and an opening hole that communicates with the insertion hole and that is opened on a side surface with respect to a direction in which the insertion hole is extended, the optical fiber is inserted in the insertion hole of the holder member, the distal end surface protrudes to an inside of the opening hole, and the distal end surface of the optical fiber is oriented to a side opposite to an opening side of the opening hole (e.g. Fig. 3: dotted lines show insertion hole as having a smaller diameter than the diameter of the main body, optical fiber 112 is located at the insertion hole).
Regarding claims 9 and 22, Yu further discloses wherein the holder member has an approximately cylindrical outer shape (e.g. Par. [0059]: cylindrical socket; Par. [0066]: main body is cylindrical).
Regarding claims 10 and 23, Yu discloses wherein the reflection mechanism that reflects the monitoring beam with the certain wavelength different from the wavelength of the output beam has reflectivity with respect to the monitoring beam with the certain wavelength different from the wavelength of the output beam (e.g. Par. [0073]: the reflector transmits the beam at 420nm and reflects beam at 532nm; Par. [0052]: reflective surface 130 promotes reflection of laser beam; Par. [0060]: laser beam reflected off of surface 130 to desired target; Par. [0067]: reflective surface 230). Yu discloses the claimed invention except for the reflectivity being 4% or higher. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention as taught by Yu in view of Diao, Pratten, and Younge with the reflectivity being 4% or higher, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233].
Regarding claims 11 and 24, Yu discloses wherein the reflection mechanism that reflects the monitoring beam with the certain wavelength different from the wavelength of the beam has reflectivity with respect to the monitoring beam with the certain wavelength different from the wavelength of the output beam (e.g. Par. [0073]: the reflector transmits the beam at 420nm and reflects beam at 532nm; Par. [0052]: reflective surface 130 promotes reflection of laser beam; Par. [0060]: laser beam reflected off of surface 130 to desired target; Par. [0067]: reflective surface 230). Yu discloses the claimed invention except for the reflectivity being 40% or higher. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention as taught by Yu in view of Diao, Pratten, and Younge with the reflectivity being 40% or higher, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233].
Regarding claims 12 and 25, Yu further discloses wherein the certain wavelength of the monitoring beam different from the output beam is separated by 3 nanometers or more from the wavelength of the beam (e.g. Par. [0073]: wavelengths of 420nm and 532nm are separated by more than 3 nanometers).
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Yu fails to disclose a plurality of reflectors or Bragg gratings that reflect a plurality of beams with wavelengths different from the wavelength of the output beam. Younge, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards measuring bending in optical fibers. Younge discloses a plurality of Bragg gratings that reflect a plurality of beams with wavelengths different from the wavelength of the beam to determine the position or deflection of the instrument (e.g. Par. [0085]: fiber with different gratings that each have a corresponding wavelength spectra).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Diao, Pratten, and Younge to include the Bragg gratings as taught by Younge because doing so would allow determination of the position or deflection of the instrument (e.g. Younge, par. [0085]).
Regarding claims 14 and 27, Yu further discloses the certain wavelength of the monitoring beam different from the output beam belongs to one of a visible region, an O band, and a C band (e.g. Par. [0073]: wavelength of 532nm is in the visible range). However, Yu fails to disclose wherein the wavelength of the output beam belongs to a 980-nanometer wavelength range. Pratten, in a similar field of endeavor, is directed towards a catheter system for tissue ablation. Pratten discloses the ablating beam having a wavelength of 808nm – 980nm (e.g. Par. [0082]; Par. [0117]; Par. [0151]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yu in view of Diao, Pratten, and Younge to include the wavelength belonging to a 980nm range as taught by Pratten because doing so would provide an optical beam to perform ablation.
Regarding claims 15 and 28, Yu further discloses wherein a core diameter of the optical fiber is 65 micrometers or larger (e.g. Par. [0076]: optical fiber with core diameter of 500 micrometers).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fuller et al. (US 4,883,054) is directed towards determining optical fiber breaks.
Hung et al. (US 2016/0103017) is directed towards sensing parameters using Bragg gratings.
Takayama et al. (US 2017/0100196) is directed towards a device for estimating the shape of an optical fiber.
Liu et al. (US 2017/0196479) is directed towards a medical device with a multi-core fiber for optical sensing.
/SHREYA ANJARIA/Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/PAMELA M. BAYS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796