DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an apparatus configured to apply Transcranial Photobiomodulation (tPBM) to a person” in claim 1
“an apparatus configured to apply Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS) to the person” in claim 1
“an apparatus configured to obtain Electro Encephalogram (EEG) signals from the person” in claim 1
“n apparatus configured to store a plurality of stimulation recipes” in claim 1
“an apparatus configured to provide a capability to define the plurality of stimulation recipes” in claim 1
“an apparatus configured to perform dynamic closed loop feedback of the tPBM and the tDCS using one of the plurality of defined stimulation recipes and based on the obtained EEG signals” in claim 1
“an apparatus configured to provide a capability to define the plurality of stimulation recipes” in claim 9
“an apparatus configured to apply Transcranial Photobiomodulation (tPBM) to a person” in claim 1 is interpreted as at least one LED, as recited in paragraphs [0007] and [0150]-[0150] of the instant specification, and equivalents thereof
“an apparatus configured to apply Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS) to the person” in claim 1 is interpreted as a plurality of electrodes, as recited in paragraphs [0007] and [0151] of the instant specification, and equivalents thereof
“an apparatus configured to obtain Electro Encephalogram (EEG) signals from the person” in claim 1 is interpreted as EEG sensors, as recited in paragraph [0151] of the instant specification, and equivalents thereof
“n apparatus configured to store a plurality of stimulation recipes” in claim 1 is interpreted as a memory, as recited in paragraphs [0008] and [0622] of the instant specification, and equivalents thereof
“an apparatus configured to provide a capability to define the plurality of stimulation recipes” in claim 1 is interpreted as software, as recited in paragraph [0158] of the instant specification, and equivalents thereof
“an apparatus configured to perform dynamic closed loop feedback of the tPBM and the tDCS using one of the plurality of defined stimulation recipes and based on the obtained EEG signals” in claim 1 is interpreted as a processor, as recited in paragraphs [0008] and [0150] of the instant specification, and equivalents thereof
“an apparatus configured to provide a capability to define the plurality of stimulation recipes” in claim 9 is interpreted as software, as recited in paragraph [0158] of the instant specification, and equivalents thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leyde, (US 20130046358) in view of Kagan et al., (US 20120143568; hereinafter Kagan), Hagedorn, (US 20140350431), Lim, (US 20180015301; hereinafter Lim), and Abreu, (US 20070106172).
Regarding claim 1, Leyde (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) discloses a device (20), ([0063]-[0064]) comprising: an apparatus (11) configured to apply Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS) to a person ([0047], [0094]); an apparatus (9) configured to obtain Electro Encephalogram (EEG) signals from the person ([0041], [0047]); an apparatus (memory 38) configured to store a plurality of stimulation recipes defined using an apparatus (separate device comprising the observer algorithm) configured to provide the capability to define the plurality of stimulation recipes ([0054], [0056], [0062], [0087]-[0088]), and an apparatus (24) configured to perform dynamic closed loop feedback of the tDCS using one of the plurality of defined recipes and based on the obtained EEG signals ([0059], [0074], [0088], [0091]-[0092]).
Leyde fails to disclose wherein the dynamic closed loop feedback is performed using machine learning techniques to compute an optic and electric response that minimizes the difference between current and desired neural activity. However, Kagan (Figure 1) teaches a sensor-effector system (110), wherein closed loop feedback of the system is performed using machine learning techniques to compute an optic and electric response that minimizes the difference between current and desired neural activity ([0010]-[0011], [0015], [0017]-[0019], [0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde such that the closed loop feedback is performed using machine learning techniques to compute an optic and electric response that minimizes the difference between current and desired neural activity, as taught by Kagan, because the modification would provide a scalable, self-adaptive brain computer interface (BCI) platform to explore the architecture and operation of multi-scale, functional brain networks (Kagan; [0010]).
Leyde/Kagan fails to teach wherein the apparatus further comprises a visor configured to display multimedia information. However, Hagedorn (Figure 4) teaches a brain-computer interface system ([0050]) comprising a visor (460) configured to display multimedia information ([0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Kagan to include a visor configured to display multimedia information, as taught by Hagedorn, because the modification would provide optical stimulation and facilitate various types of operations, including clinical use applications, personal data collection or bio-hacking operations, gaming operations, amongst others (Hagedorn; [0016]).
Leyde/Kagan/Hagedorn fails to teach an apparatus configured to apply Transcranial Photobiomodulation (tPBM) to the person using electrical components mounted within a nostril of the person, wherein the electrical components are configured to include at least one light emitting diode (LED), further wherein the apparatus is configured to perform dynamic closed loop feedback of the tPBM in addition to the tDCS based on the obtained EEG signals. However, Lim (Figures 20-25) teaches a neurostimulation system including an apparatus (100) configured to apply tPBM to the person using electrical components (104) mounted within a nostril of the person ([0230], [0238]-[0240]), wherein the electrical components (104) are configured to include at least one LED (122), ([0241]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Kagan/Hagedorn to include an apparatus configured to apply tPBM to the person using electrical components mounted within a nostril of the person, wherein the electrical components are configured to include at least one LED, as taught by Lim, because the modification would provide a great potential to treat a wide range of medical conditions ([0012]). Furthermore, the therapeutic effects of brain-absorbed light energy are not accompanied by any substantive complications or major side effects (Lim; [0017]). In the modified device, the apparatus would still be configured to perform dynamic closed loop feedback of the neuromodulation signals based on the obtained EEG signals. The neuromodulation would be performed by the tBPM in addition to the tDCS in the modified device. Therefore, the feedback control apparatus would be configured to perform dynamic closed loop feedback of the tPBM and the tDCS based on the obtained EEG signals in the modified device.
Lim further teaches that the at least one LED (122) is attached to the user using a clip (120), ([0238]), but Leyde/Kagan/Hagedorn/Lim fails to teach a sliding mechanism operable to connect the visor to the at least one LED. However, Abreu (Figure 15X) teaches a headworn device comprising a sliding mechanism (3999) operable to connect a headworn frame (3980) to a nasal module (3998), ([0530]-[0531]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the nose clip connection taught by Lim with the sliding mechanism connection connecting the headworn frame (visor) to the nasal module (including the at least one LED in the modified device), as taught by Abreu, since both connection elements perform the same function of attaching the at least one nasal module to the user and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Regarding claim 2, Leyde/Lim/Kagan/Hagedorn further teaches wherein the apparatus configured to apply the tPBM (Lim; [00230]-[0232]; element 100) comprises: the at least one LED (Lim; [0241]; element 122) configured to be mounted in the nostril of the person; a plurality of LEDs (Lim; [0241], elements 108, 110, 112, 114) configured to be mounted on a head of the person; and circuitry (106) configured to control an on/off state and an intensity of the at least one LED (Lim; [0241]; element 122) and the plurality of LEDs (Lim; [0241], elements 108, 110, 112, 114), (Lim; [0133], [0333]-[0338]).
Regarding claim 3, Leyde/Lim/Kagan/Hagedorn further teaches wherein the circuitry (Lim; 106) configured to control the on/off state and the intensity of the at least one LED (Lim; [0241]; element 122) and the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 108, 110, 112, 114) and an intensity of the LEDs (Lim; 108, 110, 112, 114) is further configured to control the on/off state of the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 108, 110, 112, 114) in a range of 10-40Hz (Lim; [0181], [0254]) and to control the intensity of the plurality of LEDs configured to be mounted on a head of the person in a range of 20 mW/cm2 to 60 mW/cm2. Leyde/Lim/Kagan fails to teach that said intensity is controlled in a range of 75mW/cm2 to 150mW/cm2. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Lim/Kagan/Hagedorn such that said intensity is controlled in a range of 75mW/cm2 to 150mW/cm2 since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, Leyde/Lim/Kagan/Hagedorn further teaches wherein the circuitry (Lim; 106) configured to control the on/off state and the intensity of the at least one LED (Lim; [0241]; element 122) and the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 108, 110, 112, 114) and an intensity of the LEDs (Lim; 108, 110, 112, 114) is further configured to control the intensity of the at least one LED (Lim; 122) configured to be mounted in the nostril of the person to be approximately 25mW/cm2 (Lim; [0254]).
Regarding claim 5, Leyde further discloses wherein the apparatus (11) configured to apply the tDCS comprises: a plurality of electrodes (I-P) configured to be mounted on a head of the person ([0046]); and circuitry (8) configured to control a current of the plurality of electrodes ([0094]).
Regarding claim 6, Leyde further discloses wherein the circuitry (8) configured to control the current of plurality of electrodes (11) is further configured to control the current of the electrodes (11) in a range of 1 to 4 mA ([0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Leyde further discloses wherein the circuitry (8) configured to control the current of the plurality of electrodes (11) is further configured to apply Transcranial Alternating Current Stimulation (tACS), ([0094]).
Regarding claim 8, Leyde further discloses wherein the circuitry (8) configured to control the current of the plurality of electrodes (11) is further configured to apply tACS in a current range ±0.5 to ±2mA and a frequency range of 2 to 100 Hz ([0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Leyde (Figures 1-2 and 6-7) discloses a device (20), ([0063]-[0064]) comprising: a processor (4, 42), memory (38) accessible by the processor, and program instructions and data stored in the memory (38), ([0073]-[0074], [0091]); a plurality of electrodes (9, 11) connected to signal output circuitry interfacing the processor (4, 42) with the electrodes (9, 11), wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory (38) are further configured so that the processor (4, 42) generates and transmits Transcranial Direct Current Stimulation (tDCS) signals to the plurality of electrodes (9, 11), ([0047], [0094]); wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory (38) are further configured so that the processor (4, 42) receives Electro Encephalogram (EEG) signals from the electrodes (9, 11), connected to signal input circuitry ([0041], [0047]); wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory (38) are further configured to store a plurality of stimulation recipes defined using an apparatus (separate device comprising the observer algorithm) configured to provide the capability to define the plurality of stimulation recipes ([0054], [0056], [0062], [0087]-[0088]) and are further configured so that the processor (4, 42) performs dynamic closed loop feedback of the tDCS signals based on the received EEG signals ([0059], [0074], [0088]).
Leyde fails to disclose wherein the closed loop feedback is performed using machine learning techniques to compute an optic and electric response that minimizes the difference between current and desired neural activity. However, Kagan (Figure 1) teaches a sensor-effector system (110), wherein closed loop feedback of the system is performed using machine learning techniques to compute an optic and electric response that minimizes the difference between current and desired neural activity ([0010]-[0011], [0015], [0017]-[0019], [0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde such that the closed loop feedback is performed using machine learning techniques to compute an optic and electric response that minimizes the difference between current and desired neural activity, as taught by Kagan, because the modification would provide a scalable, self-adaptive brain computer interface (BCI) platform to explore the architecture and operation of multi-scale, functional brain networks (Kagan; [0010]).
Leyde/Kagan fails to teach wherein the apparatus further comprises a visor configured to display multimedia information. However, Hagedorn (Figure 4) teaches a brain-computer interface system ([0050]) comprising a visor (460) configured to display multimedia information ([0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Kagan to include a visor configured to display multimedia information, as taught by Hagedorn, because the modification would provide optical stimulation and facilitate various types of operations, including clinical use applications, personal data collection or bio-hacking operations, gaming operations, amongst others (Hagedorn; [0016]).
Leyde fails to disclose electrical components mounted within a nostril of a person, wherein the electrical components are operable to include at least one of a plurality of LEDs connected to signal output circuitry interfacing the processor with the plurality of LEDs, wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory are configured so that the processor generates and transmits Transcranial Photobiomodulation (tPBM) signals to the at least one of the plurality of LEDs; wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory are further configured so that the processor performs dynamic closed loop feedback of the tPBM signals in addition to the tDCS signals based on the received EEG signals. However, Lim (Figures 20-25) teaches a neurostimulation system including an apparatus (100) comprising electrical components (104) mounted within a nostril of a person, wherein the electrical components (104) are operable to include at least one of a plurality of LEDs (122) configured to apply tPBM to the person ([0007], [0230]-[0232], [0238]-[0241]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde to include a plurality of LEDs mounted within a nostril of a person, the LEDs configured to apply tPBM to the person, as taught by Lim, because the modification would provide a great potential to treat a wide range of medical conditions ([0012]). Furthermore, the therapeutic effects of brain-absorbed light energy are not accompanied by any substantive complications or major side effects (Lim; [0017]). In the modified device, the processor would still be configured to perform dynamic closed loop feedback of the neuromodulation signals based on the obtained EEG signals. The neuromodulation would be performed by the tBPM in addition to the tDCS in the modified device. Therefore, the modified device would include a plurality of LEDs connected to signal output circuitry interfacing the processor with the LEDs, wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory are configured so that the processor generates and transmits tPBM signals to the LEDs; wherein the program instructions and data stored in the memory are further configured so that the processor performs dynamic closed loop feedback of the tPBM signals and the tDCS signals based on the received EEG signals.
Lim further teaches that the at least one LED (122) is attached to the user using a clip (120), ([0238]), but Leyde/Kagan/Hagedorn/Lim fails to teach a sliding mechanism operable to connect the visor to the at least one LED. However, Abreu (Figure 15X) teaches a headworn device comprising a sliding mechanism (3999) operable to connect a headworn frame (3980) to a nasal module (3998), ([0530]-[0531]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the nose clip connection taught by Lim with the sliding mechanism connection connecting the headworn frame (visor) to the nasal module (including the at least one LED in the modified device), as taught by Abreu, since both connection elements perform the same function of attaching the at least one nasal module to the user and it has been held that substituting parts of an invention which perform the same function involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.06 (II)(B).
Regarding claim 10, Leyde/Lim/Kagan/Hagedorn further teaches wherein the plurality of LEDs (Lim; [0241]; elements 108, 110, 112, 114, 122) comprises: the at least one of the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 122) configured to be mounted in the nostril of the person; and a second plurality of the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 108, 110, 112, 114) configured to be mounted on a head of the person (Lim; [0230]-[0232], [0241]).
Regarding claim 11, Leyde/Lim/Kagan/Hagedorn further teaches wherein the program instructions and data to generate and transmit the tPBM signals are further configured to control an on/off state and an intensity of the at least one of the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 122) and second plurality of the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 108, 110, 112, 114), (Lim; [0133], [0333]-[0334]).
Regarding claim 12, Leyde/Lim/Kagan/Hagedorn further teaches wherein the program instructions and data to generate and transmit the tPBM signals are further configured to control the on/off state of the at least one of the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 122) in a frequency range of 10-40Hz (Lim; [0181], [0254]) and to control the intensity of the second plurality of the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 108, 110, 112, 114), configured to be mounted on the head of the person in a range of 20 mW/cm2 to 60 mW/cm2. Leyde/Lim/Kagan fails to teach that said intensity is controlled in a range of 75mW/cm2 to 150mW/cm2. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Leyde/Lim/Kagan/Hagedorn such that said intensity is controlled in a range of 75mW/cm2 to 150mW/cm2 since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 13, Leyde/Lim/Kagan/Hagedorn further teaches wherein the program instructions and data to generate and transmit the tPBM signals are further configured to control the intensity of the at least one of the plurality of LEDs (Lim; 122) configured to be mounted in the nostril of the person to be approximately 25mW/cm2 (Lim; [0254]).
Regarding claim 14, Leyde further discloses wherein the plurality of electrodes (11) connected to signal output circuitry comprises a plurality of electrodes (I-P) configured to be mounted on a head of the person ([0094]).
Regarding claim 15, Leyde further discloses wherein the program instructions and data to generate and transmit tDCS signals are further configured to control the current of the plurality of electrodes connected to the signal output circuitry (11) in a range of 1 to4 mA ([0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Leyde further discloses wherein the program instructions and data is configured so that the processor generates and transmits Transcranial Alternating Current Stimulation (tACS) signals to the plurality of electrodes connected to the signal output circuitry (11), ([0094]).
Regarding claim 17, Leyde further discloses wherein the program instructions and the data to generate and transmit the tACS signals are further configured to control the current of the plurality of electrodes connected to the signal output circuitry (11) to apply the tACS signals in a current range ±0.5 to ±2mA and a frequency range of 2 to 100 Hz ([0006]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 05/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection(s) has/have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art reference Abreu and a new interpretation of Lim. Under the new interpretation, Lim teaches a neurostimulation system in which nose-mounted LEDs on a nasal module are configured to apply tPBM signals to the patient, wherein the nasal module is attached to the patient using a nose clip. Abreu teaches a headworn device in which a nasal module is attached to the patient using a sliding mechanism connecting a headworn frame to the nasal module. Therefore, the new Leyde/Kagan/Hagedorn/Lim/Abreu combination teaches the invention as recited at least in newly amended independent claims 1 and 9.
Conclusion
/C.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/EUN HWA KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794