DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action in response to application 17/201,926 entitled "ANALYSIS OF DATA STREAMS CONSUMED BY HIGH-THROUGHPUT DATA INGESTION AND PARTITIONED ACROSS PERMISSIONED DATABASE STORAGE" filed on January 16, 2025, with claims 1 to 20 pending.
Status of Claims
Claim 1 has been amended and is hereby entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 16, 2025, has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and/or Claims have been noted in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed September 9, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 2, 2021, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Please see MPEP 2106 for additional information regarding Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 1-20 are directed to a system, method/process, machine/apparatus, or composition of matter, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent Claim 1 recites:
“…a system comprising:
…assigned to a plurality of client accounts such that each of the plurality of client accounts comprises dedicated processing resources;
…is stored across a plurality of ledger instances, wherein each of the plurality of ledger instances is dedicated to one client account of the plurality of client accounts such that a first ledger instance dedicated to a first client account is independent of a second ledger instance dedicated to a second client account, wherein the first ledger instance stores only data associated with the first client account, wherein the second ledger instance stores only data associated with the second client account, wherein data entries stored on the shared permissioned ledger are immutable, and wherein …is not distributed across…;
…wherein …to reduce latency in data analysis by automatically scaling and load-balancing processing resources on the execution platform independently from storage resources …
a data ingestion engine comprising a first portion …that are configured to execute instructions for ingesting data to be stored …wherein each of the first portion of the plurality of processing nodes is in communication with a load balancer that executes…for automatic scaling and load balancing when ingesting the data to be stored …
and a netting module comprising a second portion of the plurality of processing nodes that are configured to execute instructions for calculating real-time liquidity and obligations between the plurality of client accounts;
wherein each of the first portion of the plurality of processing nodes feeds data from an assigned data stream event channel to an assigned node-specific normalizer configured to normalize the data to a canonical format that is readable …
wherein each of the second portion of the plurality of processing nodes is dedicated to only one of the plurality of client accounts and configured to identify one or more trades to be included in a netting group based on the normalized data, and wherein the netting group comprises netting clients comprising three or more of the plurality of client accounts;
wherein the second portion of the plurality of processing nodes execute instructions for calculating multilateral netting for the netting clients based on real-time liquidity and obligations between each of the netting clients as determined based on data stored….”
These limitations clearly relate to managing transactions/interactions between counterparties. These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Specific instances include instructions “calculating real-time liquidity and obligations between the plurality of client accounts” and “calculating multilateral netting for the netting clients based on real-time liquidity and obligations between each of the netting clients” recites a fundamental economic principles or practice and/or commercial or legal interactions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic, commercial, or financial action, principle, or practice then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of:
[an execution platform comprising a plurality of processing nodes] [a database] [the database] [a cloud computing processor that manages the execution platform and the database][the cloud computing processor executes instructions] [of the plurality of processing nodes] [on the database][by the cloud computing processor] [a stateless Application Program Interface (API)]:
merely applying computer processing, storage, and networking technology as tools to perform an abstract idea
[comprising a shared permissioned ledger, wherein the shared permissioned ledger] [on the shared permissioned ledger];[on the shared permissioned ledger]:
merely applying distributed ledger technology as a tool to perform an abstract idea
[a blockchain network]:
generally linking to blockchain technology as a tool to perform an abstract idea
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads:
[0310] Computing device 3500 may be used to perform various procedures, such as those discussed herein. Computing device 3500 can function as a server, a client, a client node, a resource manager, or any other computing entity. Computing device 3500 can be any of a wide variety of computing devices, such as a workstation, a desktop computer, a notebook computer, a server computer, a handheld computer, a tablet, a smartphone, and the like.”
[0105] shared permissioned ledger 110 is a database including a plurality of client ledger instances 112, such as client ledger instances … the shared permissioned ledger 110 is stored across a plurality of storage hardware in a cloud-based database system in communication with a network.
[0376] Such computer-readable media can be any available media
[0377] Computer storage media (devices) includes RAM, ROM, EEPROM, CD-ROM, solid state drives (“SSDs”) ...other types of memory, other optical disk storage, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium
[0380] disclosure may be practiced in network computing environments with many types of computer system configurations, including, personal computers, desktop computers, laptop computers,...routers, switches, various storage devices, and the like.
[0381] functions described herein can be performed in one or more of: hardware, software, firmware, digital components, or analog components.
[0383] comprising such logic (e.g., in the form of software) stored on any computer useable medium.
[0384] Many modifications and variations are possible in light of the disclosed teaching. Further, it should be noted that any or all of the alternate implementations discussed herein may be used in any combination desired
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, the additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. The claim further defines the abstract idea and hence is abstract for the reasons presented above. The claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claim does not provide significantly more)
Dependent Claims recite additional elements.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the recited additional elements of
Claims 2-4:
“processing node”: merely applying computer processing, networking, and display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
“shared permissioned ledger … ledger instance”:
merely applying distributed ledger technology as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 5:
“processing node”: merely applying computer processing, networking, and display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 6:
“shared permissioned ledger”:
merely applying distributed ledger technology as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 7: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 8:
“shared permissioned ledger”:
merely applying distributed ledger technology as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claims 9-12: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 13:
“processing node”: merely applying computer processing, networking, and display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 14: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 15:
“processing node”: merely applying computer processing, networking, and display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 16: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 17:
“stored on the ledger”:
merely applying distributed ledger technology as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 18: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 19:
“between two ledgers”:
merely applying distributed ledger technology as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 20: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads, “[0310] Computing device 3500 may be used to perform various procedures, such as those discussed herein. Computing device 3500 can function as a server, a client, a client node, a resource manager, or any other computing entity. Computing device 3500 can be any of a wide variety of computing devices, such as a workstation, a desktop computer, a notebook computer, a server computer, a handheld computer, a tablet, a smartphone, and the like.” and “[0105] shared permissioned ledger 110 is a database including a plurality of client ledger instances 112, such as client ledger instances … the shared permissioned ledger 110 is stored across a plurality of storage hardware in a cloud-based database system in communication with a network.” Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads, “[0310] Computing device 3500 may be used to perform various procedures, such as those discussed herein. Computing device 3500 can function as a server, a client, a client node, a resource manager, or any other computing entity. Computing device 3500 can be any of a wide variety of computing devices, such as a workstation, a desktop computer, a notebook computer, a server computer, a handheld computer, a tablet, a smartphone, and the like.” Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. Dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce ("DATA PAYMENT AND AUTHENTICATION VIA A SHARED DATA STRUCTURE", U.S. Publication Number: 20170352116 A1),in view of Creighton (“REAL-TIME SETTLEMENT OF SECURITIES TRADES OVER APPEND-ONLY LEDGERS”, U.S. Publication Number: 20160321751 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Pierce teaches,
a system comprising: an execution platform comprising a plurality of processing nodes assigned to a plurality of client accounts such that each of the plurality of client accounts comprises dedicated processing resources;
(Pierce [0214] The exemplary computer devices 116 and 118 may communicate with each other and with other computer and other devices which are coupled
Pierce [0142] Ledgers typically utilize double-entry book keeping whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party,... in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party
Pierce [0230] dedicated or otherwise specifically configured hardware implementations... hardware devices, can be constructed to implement one or more of the methods described herein.)
a database comprising a shared permissioned ledger, wherein the shared permissioned ledger is stored across a plurality of ledger instances, wherein each of the plurality of ledger instances is dedicated to one client account of the plurality of client accounts
(Pierce [0145] A database is a structured collection of information or content, typically held in a computer, e.g. stored in a memory or other storage device that can be readily accessed, managed and updated, for storing the current value or net/cumulative result of a series of transactions.
Pierce [0122] the distributed electronic ledger may be a permissioned ledger.
Pierce [0132] interacting with a shared data structure
Pierce [0142] whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party, either in the same ledger or in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party
Pierce [0142] separate ledgers
Pierce [0144] replicated ledgers of blockchain)
such that a first ledger instance dedicated to a first client account is independent of a second ledger instance dedicated to a second client account,
(Pierce [0142] Ledgers typically utilize double-entry book keeping whereby ...separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party.... in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party.
Pierce [0142] separate ledgers
Pierce [0144] replicated ledgers of blockchain)
and wherein the database is not distributed across a blockchain network;
(Pierce [0152] Many business applications rely upon centralized databases/DBMS's, i.e. a database under the control of single or central entity, which, because they do not feature the replicated structure of blockchain or the cryptographic chaining of transactions, are typically implemented as a System of Record.
Pierce [0145] As used herein, a database refers not only to the underlying data structure(s) which are used to actually contain data but also the mechanisms coupled therewith to enable access, management, updating, etc. Together, this may also be referred to as a database management system (“DBMS”).)
a cloud computing processor that manages the execution platform
(Pierce [0038] as a distributed system, e.g., where some of the disclosed functions are performed by the computer systems of the market participants.
Pierce [0238] The computing system can include clients and servers. A client and server are generally remote from each other and typically interact through a communication network.)
and the database,
(Pierce [0152] Many business applications rely upon centralized databases/DBMS's, i.e. a database)
wherein the cloud computing processor executes instructions
(Pierce [0038] as a distributed system, e.g., where some of the disclosed functions are performed by the computer systems of the market participants.
Pierce [0238] The computing system can include clients and servers. A client and server are generally remote from each other and typically interact through a communication network.)
a data ingestion engine comprising a first portion of the plurality of processing nodes that are configured to execute instructions for ingesting data to be stored on the database,
(Pierce [0100] to data dissemination via electronic messages and data feeds, ..., e.g., market data feeds.
Pierce [0102] As used herein, the terms “data feed” and “data stream” may refer to a sequentially or serially communicated set of related data/data messages, each of which may be transmitted/communicated, automatically or responsive to a request therefore, to a recipient in real time or a substantial approximation thereof
Pierce [Claim 1] receiving,...a plurality of electronic data
Pierce [0026] database 108 may be included to store information
Pierce [0055] data relating to the received transaction is stored. The data may be stored in any device)
that executes a stateless Application Program Interface (API)
(Pierce [0239] using an open message standard implementation, such as FIX, FIX Binary, FIX/FAST, or by an exchange-provided API)
when ingesting the data to be stored on the database;
(Pierce [0100] to data dissemination via electronic messages and data feeds, ..., e.g., market data feeds.
Pierce [0102] As used herein, the terms “data feed” and “data stream” may refer to a sequentially or serially communicated set of related data/data messages, each of which may be transmitted/communicated, automatically or responsive to a request therefore, to a recipient in real time or a substantial approximation thereof
Pierce [Claim 1] receiving,...a plurality of electronic data
Pierce [0026] database 108 may be included to store information
Pierce [0055] data relating to the received transaction is stored. The data may be stored in any device)
and a netting module
(Pierce [0142] the current “state” of a ledger may be ascertained by netting or otherwise totaling all of the entries up to the current time period...The net result of these two entries is the extinguishing of the debt of B to A.
Pierce [0145] a memory or other storage device that can be readily accessed, managed and updated, for storing the current value or net/cumulative result of a series of transactions... a database typically records only the net result of the performance of those transactions.
Pierce [0156] The business logic/business rules may further define, where the proposed value differs from the recalculated value, an acceptable range by which those values may differ)
comprising a second portion of the plurality of processing nodes that are configured to execute instructions
(Pierce [0179] may be implemented with computer devices and computer networks
Pierce [0208] and executable by the processor 602 to cause the processor)
for calculating real-time liquidity and obligations between the plurality of client accounts;
(Pierce [0162] such reconciliation may be referred to as real time or self-reconciliation or that the data structure is real time or self-reconciling, immediately reconciled, reconciled in real time or inherently reconciled
Pierce [0065] An MQI may be considered a value indicating a likelihood that a particular order will improve or facilitate liquidity in a market.... an indication of a particular market participant's effect on market liquidity. For example, a Market Quality Index (“MQI”) of an order may be determined using the characteristics. An MQI may be considered a value indicating a likelihood that a particular order will improve or facilitate liquidity in a market
Pierce [0019] settling trading accounts)
wherein each of the first portion of the plurality of processing nodes feeds data from an assigned data stream event channel to an assigned node-specific
(Pierce [0179] may be implemented with computer devices and computer networks
Pierce [0208] and executable by the processor 602 to cause the processor
Pierce [0100] to data dissemination via electronic messages and data feeds, ..., e.g., market data feeds.
Pierce [0102] As used herein, the terms “data feed” and “data stream” may refer to a sequentially or serially communicated set of related data/data messages, each of which may be transmitted/communicated, automatically or responsive to a request therefore, to a recipient in real time or a substantial approximation thereof
Pierce [Claim 1] receiving,...a plurality of electronic data
Pierce [0012] data entitlement system provides data stream generation, flow, control and permissioning
Pierce [0013] based on the permission and access level granted to each entity.)
normalizer configured to normalize the data
(Pierce [0106] Examples of the various types of market data feeds ... to provide such information in different formats
Pierce [0108] An MBP feed may utilize different message formats for conveying different types of market impacting events...MBP feeds may further batch reporting of multiple events, i.e., report the result of multiple market impacting events in a single message.
Pierce [0112] Market data is configured and formatted so that an end user of the market data, e.g., a trader, requires one...software packages...to view and consume the market data.
Pierce [0146] the information is organized in a structured manner, i.e. using a particular format, protocol or structure for organizing and storing the data therein, and the information may be accessed, or edited via transactions, i.e. single database operations, according to a particular set of principles)
to a canonical format that is readable
(Pierce [0146] Usually, the information is organized in a structured manner, i.e. using a particular format, protocol or structure for organizing and storing the data therein, and the information may be accessed, or edited via transactions, i.e. single database operations, according to a particular set of principles)
by the cloud computing processor;
(Pierce [0038] as a distributed system, e.g., where some of the disclosed functions are performed by the computer systems of the market participants.
Pierce [0238] The computing system can include clients and servers. A client and server are generally remote from each other and typically interact through a communication network.)
wherein each of the second portion of the plurality of processing nodes is dedicated to only one of the plurality of client accounts
(Pierce [0179] computer devices
Pierce [0129] shows nodes
Pierce [0142] separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party, ... in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party.
Pierce [0143] Ledgers may be held by individual parties)
and configured to identify one or more trades to be included in a netting group based on the normalized data,
(Pierce [0166] executes trades on behalf of the traders
Pierce [0025] includes information identifying traders and other users of exchange computer system 100, such as account numbers or identifiers, user names )
and wherein the netting group comprises netting clients comprising three or more of the plurality of client accounts;
(Pierce [0142] the current “state” of a ledger may be ascertained by netting or otherwise totaling all of the entries up to the current time period...The net result of these two entries is the extinguishing of the debt of B to A.
Pierce [0142] separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party, ... in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party.
Pierce [0143] Ledgers may be held by individual parties
Pierce [0129] nodes 708, 710, 712, 714, and 716
Pierce [0025] includes information identifying traders and other users of exchange computer system 100, such as account numbers)
wherein the second portion of the plurality of processing nodes execute instructions for calculating multilateral netting for the netting clients
(Pierce [0142] the current “state” of a ledger may be ascertained by netting or otherwise totaling all of the entries up to the current time period...The net result of these two entries is the extinguishing of the debt of B to A.
Pierce [0145] a memory or other storage device that can be readily accessed, managed and updated, for storing the current value or net/cumulative result of a series of transactions... a database typically records only the net result of the performance of those transactions.
Pierce [0156] The business logic/business rules may further define, where the proposed value differs from the recalculated value, an acceptable range by which those values may differ.
Pierce [Abstract] flow, control and permissioning between multiple entities
Pierce [0001] data is often subscribed to, provided and consumed in a non-linear, multilateral fashion)
based on real-time liquidity
(Pierce [0162] such reconciliation may be referred to as real time or self-reconciliation or that the data structure is real time or self-reconciling, immediately reconciled, reconciled in real time or inherently reconciled
Pierce [0065] An MQI may be considered a value indicating a likelihood that a particular order will improve or facilitate liquidity in a market)
and obligations between each of the netting clients as determined
(Pierce [0142] A ledger may be a collection of entries (obligations, assertions, debts, credits, etc.)
Pierce [0133] transaction between two participants in which the first party undertakes an obligation to the second party)
based on data stored on the shared permissioned ledger.
(Pierce [0042] The net result of these two entries is the extinguishing of the debt of B to A. Ledgers typically utilize double-entry book keeping whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction
Pierce [0145] a memory or other storage device that can be readily accessed, managed and updated, for storing the current value or net/cumulative result of a series of transactions... a database typically records only the net result of the performance of those transactions.
Pierce [0156] The business logic/business rules may further define, where the proposed value differs from the recalculated value, an acceptable range by which those values may differ.
Pierce [Abstract] flow, control and permissioning between multiple entities)
Pierce does not teach wherein the first ledger instance stores only data associated with the first client account, wherein the second ledger instance stores only data associated with the second client account, wherein data entries stored on the shared permissioned ledger are immutable; to reduce latency
in data analysis by automatically scaling and load-balancing processing resources on the execution platform independently from storage resources on the shared permissioned ledger; wherein each of the first portion of the plurality of processing nodes is in communication with a load balancer ...for automatic scaling and load balancing.
Creighton teaches,
wherein the first ledger instance stores only data associated with the first client account, wherein the second ledger instance stores only data associated with the second client account, wherein data entries stored on the shared permissioned ledger are immutable;
(Creighton [0042] Using a primary ledger, the system 512 is able to create an unlimited number of side ledgers, or secondary and tertiary ledgers which contain only a subset of the global trade orders.
Creighton [0049] The system 600 further include additional ledgers including secondary ledgers 604a-b which correspond to custodians 606a-b....Secondary ledgers 604a-b contain an incomplete history of transactions. The secondary ledgers 604a-b include only those transactions corresponding to securities held by the associated custodian 604a/606a and 604b/606b. The system 600 further includes tertiary ledgers 608a-d which are include only transactions for securities controlled by traders 610a-d.
Creighton [0032] For purposes of the disclosure, the terms “immutable” or “append-only” with reference to ledgers mean that once data has been entered into the ledger, that data is not changed.)
to reduce latency
(Creighton [0077] The instructions are encrypted and hashed to reduce latency.
Creighton [0086] transferring 40 character hashes is much faster and less demanding on latency.)
in data analysis by automatically scaling and load-balancing processing resources on the execution platform independently from storage resources on the shared permissioned ledger;
(Creighton [0059] Enough workers are spawned to handle the real-time load. For example, if it takes a worker one second to process a report completely, and 1000 reports are generated per second, at least 1000 workers are spawned to process jobs, or a backlog will occur. The system scales workers dynamically to handle larger loads during peak transaction volume times.
Creighton [0108] govern and/or manage permission to access/proxy data in a computer network
Creighton [Abstract] into a cryptographic ledger.)
wherein each of the first portion of the plurality of processing nodes is in communication with a load balancer ...for automatic scaling and load balancing
(Creighton [0031] The physical device is referred to a node in as much as the physical device is programmed to contribute to the network. The word “node” can additionally refer to the programming or software on the physical device that causes the device to know which other devices to communicate with and contribute with the network.
Creighton [0059] Enough workers are spawned to handle the real-time load. For example, if it takes a worker one second to process a report completely, and 1000 reports are generated per second, at least 1000 workers are spawned to process jobs, or a backlog will occur. The system scales workers dynamically to handle larger loads during peak transaction volume times.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data ingestion across permissioned ledgers of Pierce to incorporate the load-balancing and latency reduction of Creighton for “The instructions are encrypted and hashed to reduce latency.” (Creighton [0077]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. segregated database in a multiple distributed ledger system) to a known concept (i.e. load-balancing and latency reduction) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “The system scales workers dynamically to handle larger loads during peak transaction volume times.” Creighton [0059])
Regarding Claim 2,
Pierce and Creighton teach the data ingestion across permissioned ledgers of Claim 1 as described earlier.
Pierce teaches,
wherein the resource manager is coupled to the first client account and the second client account, and wherein: the execution platform
(Pierce [0142] Ledgers typically utilize double-entry book keeping whereby ...separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party.... in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party.
Pierce [0065] thus the system may use computing resources more efficiently by expending resources to match orders of the higher value messages prior to expending resources of lower value messages.
Pierce [0098] to the data transaction processing system over a data communication network
Pierce [0019] settling trading accounts
Pierce [0025] identifying traders and other users of exchange computer system 100, such as account numbers or identifiers, user names and passwords. An account data module 104 may be provided which may process account information that may be used during trades.)
comprises a first processing node assigned to the first client account and a second processing node assigned to the second client account;
(Pierce [0069] trading is advertised, to the market participants through electronic notifications/broadcasts
Pierce [0129] shows nodes...representative of participants
Pierce [0025] identifying traders and other users of exchange computer system 100, such as account numbers or identifiers, user names and passwords. An account data module 104 may be provided which may process account information that may be used during trades.)
the shared permissioned ledger comprises the first ledger … assigned to the first client account and the second ledger … assigned to the second client account;
(Pierce [0122] the distributed electronic ledger may be a permissioned ledger.
Pierce [0142] whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party, either in the same ledger or in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party.
Pierce [0143] Ledgers may be held by individual parties
Pierce [0034] It should be appreciated that concurrent processing limits may be defined by or imposed separately or in combination,...on one or more of the trading system components, including the user database 102, the account data module
Pierce [0142] Ledgers typically utilize double-entry book keeping whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party))
of the data ingestion engine for consuming data pushed by the first client account, wherein the first instance of the data ingestion engine comprises one or more node-specific ingestors
(Pierce [0100] to data dissemination via electronic messages and data feeds, ..., e.g., market data feeds.
Pierce [0102] As used herein, the terms “data feed” and “data stream” may refer to a sequentially or serially communicated set of related data/data messages, each of which may be transmitted/communicated, automatically or responsive to a request therefore, to a recipient in real time or a substantial approximation thereof
Pierce [Claim 1] receiving,...a plurality of electronic data
Pierce [0034] It should be appreciated that concurrent processing limits may be defined by or imposed separately or in combination,...on one or more of the trading system components, including the user database 102, the account data module
Pierce [0142] Ledgers typically utilize double-entry book keeping whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party))
and one or more node-specific normalizers each assigned to one data stream event channel pushed by the first client account; and the second processing node executes a second instance
(Pierce [0069] trading is advertised, to the market participants through electronic notifications/broadcasts
Pierce [0106] Examples of the various types of market data feeds ... to provide such information in different formats
Pierce [0108] An MBP feed may utilize different message formats for conveying different types of market impacting events...MBP feeds may further batch reporting of multiple events, i.e., report the result of multiple market impacting events in a single message.
Pierce [0112] Market data is configured and formatted so that an end user of the market data, e.g., a trader, requires one...software packages...to view and consume the market data.
Pierce [0146] the information is organized in a structured manner, i.e. using a particular format, protocol or structure for organizing and storing the data therein, and the information may be accessed, or edited via transactions, i.e. single database operations, according to a particular set of principles.
Pierce [0142] Ledgers typically utilize double-entry book keeping whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party))
of the data ingestion engine for consuming data pushed by the second client account, wherein the second instance of the data ingestion engine comprises one or more node-specific ingestors
(Pierce [0100] to data dissemination via electronic messages and data feeds, ..., e.g., market data feeds.
Pierce [0102] As used herein, the terms “data feed” and “data stream” may refer to a sequentially or serially communicated set of related data/data messages, each of which may be transmitted/communicated, automatically or responsive to a request therefore, to a recipient in real time or a substantial approximation thereof
Pierce [Claim 1] receiving,...a plurality of electronic data
Pierce [0034] It should be appreciated that concurrent processing limits may be defined by or imposed separately or in combination,...on one or more of the trading system components, including the user database 102, the account data module
Pierce [0142] Ledgers typically utilize double-entry book keeping whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party))
and one or more node-specific normalizers each assigned to one data stream event channel pushed by the second client account.
(Pierce [0069] trading is advertised, to the market participants through electronic notifications/broadcasts
Pierce [0106] Examples of the various types of market data feeds ... to provide such information in different formats
Pierce [0108] An MBP feed may utilize different message formats for conveying different types of market impacting events...MBP feeds may further batch reporting of multiple events, i.e., report the result of multiple market impacting events in a single message.
Pierce [0112] Market data is configured and formatted so that an end user of the market data, e.g., a trader, requires one...software packages...to view and consume the market data.
Pierce [0146] the information is organized in a structured manner, i.e. using a particular format, protocol or structure for organizing and storing the data therein, and the information may be accessed, or edited via transactions, i.e. single database operations, according to a particular set of principles.
Pierce [0142] Ledgers typically utilize double-entry book keeping whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party))
Regarding Claim 3,
Pierce and Creighton teach the data ingestion across permissioned ledgers of Claim 2 as described earlier.
Pierce teaches,
wherein the resource manager scales the processing resources on the execution platform and the storage resources
(Pierce [0065] thus the system may use computing resources more efficiently by expending resources to match orders of the higher value messages prior to expending resources of lower value messages.
Pierce [0013] the disclosed data entitlement system may improve the fault tolerance of a data messaging system by replicating data across different locations simultaneously, or substantially or approximately simultaneously
Pierce [0222] The memory 204 may be an external storage device or database for storing data...memory 204 is operable to store instructions executable by the processor ...The functions, acts or tasks are independent of the particular type of instructions set, storage media, processor or processing strategy )
on the shared permissioned ledger …
(Pierce [0122] the distributed electronic ledger may be a permissioned ledger.
Pierce [0132] interacting with a shared data structure
Pierce [0142] whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party, either in the same ledger or in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party.)
to the first processing node, the second processing node, the first ledger instance, and the second ledger instance based on client need.
(Pierce [0122] the distributed electronic ledger may be a permissioned ledger.
Pierce [0142] whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party, either in the same ledger or in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party
Pierce [0142] separate ledgers
Pierce [0144] replicated ledgers of blockchain)
Pierce does not teach resource manager scales… up and down
Creighton teaches,
resource manager scales… up and down
(Creighton [0059] Enough workers are spawned to handle the real-time load. For example, if it takes a worker one second to process a report completely, and 1000 reports are generated per second, at least 1000 workers are spawned to process jobs, or a backlog will occur. The system scales workers dynamically to handle larger loads during peak transaction volume times.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the data ingestion across permissioned ledgers of Pierce to incorporate the load-balancing and latency reduction of Creighton for “The instructions are encrypted and hashed to reduce latency.” (Creighton [0077]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. segregated database in a multiple distributed ledger system) to a known concept (i.e. load-balancing and latency reduction) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “The system scales workers dynamically to handle larger loads during peak transaction volume times.” Creighton [0059])
Claims 4-7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce and Creighton in view of Crouchman (“MANAGING APPLICATION PERFORMANCE IN VIRTUALIZATION SYSTEMS”, U.S. Patent Number: 9830192 B1).
Regarding Claim 4,
Pierce and Creighton teach the data ingestion across permissioned ledgers of Claim 2 as described earlier.
Pierce teaches,
the first ledger instance stores trade data only associated with the first client account; the second ledger instance stores trade data only associated with the second client account; the first processing node …on the second ledger instance; and the second processing node … on the first ledger ….
(Pierce [0012] In particular, the disclosed data entitlement system provides data stream generation, flow, control and permissioning
Pierce [0142] whereby separate ledger entries, or separate ledgers, are maintained for each side (account/party) to a transaction and transactions are recorded as a pair of opposing transactions, e.g. credits vs. debits, to each respective account/party, either in the same ledger or in separate ledgers, each maintained by the respective party
Pierce [0142] separate ledgers
Pierce [0144] replicated ledgers of blockchain.)
Pierce does not teach does not have read or write authorization;
Crouchman teaches,
does not have read or write authorization
(Crouchman [Col 3, Lines 20-23] Container systems provide an operating-system level virtualization in which the kernel of an operating system can allow for multiple isolated user space instances.
Crouchman [Col 3, Lines 37-42] The container system provides means to provision containers, allocate and control the resources available to a container, deploy and execute applications in the container, and facilitate full use of the container resources by such containerized applications, while isolating them from other applications
Crouchman [Col 27, Lines 25-27] regardless of type (such as a