DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated November 6, 2025, claims 1-3, 5-7 and 10-12 are pending. Claims 1 and 11-12 are amended, claims 4 and 8-9 are previously cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Lai does not teach that the charging current is adjusted according to the charging (regulating?) current, arguing that Lai teaches that an offset voltage of the amplifiers is recorded and stored by introducing a switched capacitor circuit and the offset voltage is released during the sampling process, ensuring a sampling accuracy of the charging current and solving a problem of instability and easy failure of the constant current charging loop during high current charging due to the sampling error (see page 8 of applicant arguments).
The applicants arguments and amendments have been fully considered and are, in part, persuasive, however, the reference of Lai is still applicable to the rejection, as detailed in the rejection below. In summary of the rejection, element 6 of Lai is designated as a charging current adjusting unit 6, thus, being a current regulating unit that outputs control of the current signal to the transistors MN1/MN2, which, in turn, control the charging of the battery (BAT). Thus, although the rejection is adjusted, the Examiner maintains the validity of Lai.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. CN107482722A in view of Allgaier et al. US20130106358A1 as evidenced by Bostrom US20160352293A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lai teaches a constant current charging device (page 2, first paragraph and FIG. 8), configured to charge a device to be charged (BATT).
Lai discloses a current regulating unit (6) electrically coupled to the device to be charged (BAT) and configured to provide a regulating current (from charging current regulating unit 6) and a charging current (provided to the battery BAT) according to a reference voltage (REF to amplifier A3) wherein the charging current is adjusted according to the regulating current (page 5 - ¶5 - charging current regulating unit compares the sampling voltage with the reference voltage REF to obtain a charging current regulating signal which is fed back to the gate terminal of the first transistor MN1 for controlling and regulating the magnitude of the constant charging current- thus the charging current is adjusted according to the regulating current).
Lai discloses a current-to-voltage converting unit (5) electrically coupled to the current regulating unit (6).
Lai discloses a first operational amplifier (A1) electrically coupled to the current regulating unit (6), the current-to-voltage converting unit (5), and the device to be charged (BAT) (adjust the voltage PUMP at the gate of the power transistor so as to control the charging current at a constant value; page 1; ¶3).
the current regulating unit (6) comprises:
a first transistor (MN2) comprising a first control terminal, a first input terminal, and a first output terminal (because the signal of the current regulating circuit 6 is output to the transistors MN1 and MN2, the transistors are considered part of the current regulating unit 6);
a second transistor (MN1) comprising a second control terminal, a second input terminal, and a second output terminal (because the signal of the current regulating circuit 6 is output to the transistors MN1 and MN2, the transistors are considered part of the current regulating unit 6); and
a second operational amplifier (A3) comprising an inverting input, a non-inverting input, and a second operational amplifier output (where the amplifier has inputs and an output).
Lai discloses that the first control terminal is electrically coupled to the second control terminal (the control terminal of MN2 is connected to MN1), the first input terminal is electrically coupled to a power source (MN2 connected to SYS), the power source (SYS) is other than the reference voltage (SYS is different from REF), the first output terminal (of MN2) is electrically and directly coupled to an input end (MP1 through pathway labeled IBFETH) of the current-to-voltage converting unit (5) and the first operational amplifier (A1), the second input terminal (of MN1) is electrically coupled to the power source (MN1 input connected to SYS), the second output terminal (of MN1) is electrically coupled to the first operational amplifier (A1) and the device to be charged (BAT), the non-inverting input (+) of the second operational amplifier (A3) is electrically coupled to the reference voltage (REF), the inverting input (-) of the second operational amplifier (A3) is electrically coupled to a regulating voltage output from the current-to-voltage converting unit (5), and the second operational amplifier (A3) output of the second operational amplifier is electrically and directly coupled to the first control terminal (of MN2) and the control second terminal (of MN1).
Lai does not directly disclose that the amplifier A3 within the charging current regulating unit 6 is directly coupled to the first control terminal (MN2) and the second control terminal (MN1).
Allgaier discloses a regulating unit comprising an operational amplifier 202 with a current sensing resistor 201 (FIG. 2). The output of the operational amplifier 202 is fed directly to the switching regulator 104 (¶83-84.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the charging current regulating unit of Lai with a known charging current regulator that is taught by Allgaier. This type of charging current regulator is used for regulating the charging current without limiting value relating to an input current being exceeded (Allgaier; ¶21), thus preventing overloading of the system.
Although Lai discloses the input connections to A3, Lai discloses inverting amplifier connections rather than the non-inverting amplifier connections claimed.
Allgaier discloses that the output signal of the operational amplifier either behaves so as to be proportional or inversely proportional (¶86)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a non-inverting amplifier to the current regulating unit of Lai in order to provide lower distortion without affecting the frequency response (Bostrom; ¶62).
Regarding claim 2, Lai discloses that the charging current (Bat) is M times of the regulating current (page 5,¶5 – current flowing through the second transistor MN2 is 1/N of the current flowing through the first transistor MN1, thus, the current flowing through MN1 is NMN2; page 5, ¶6 – the current flowing through the transistor is determined by the gate voltage which is controlled by the current regulator 6),
Although Lai does not expressly state that “N” is an integer, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in the context of ratios, N would customarily be an integer.
Regarding claim 3, Lai discloses that the first operational amplifier (A1) comprises:
An inverting input (negative terminal of A1) electrically coupled to the current regulating unit (6) and the current-to-voltage converting unit (through switch S7).
A non-inverting input (+ terminal of A1) electrically coupled to the current regulating unit (6) and the device to be charged (BAT).
A first operational amplifier output electrically coupled to the current-to-voltage converting unit (A1 to 5).
Regarding claim 5, Lai discloses that the current-to-voltage converting unit (5) comprises:
a third transistor (MP1) comprising a third control terminal, a third input terminal, and a third output terminal; and
a resistor (R1).
Lai discloses that the third control terminal is electrically connected to the first operational amplifier output of the first operational amplifier (A1), the third input terminal (of MP1) is electrically connected to the inverting input (-) of the first operational amplifier (A1), one terminal of the resistor (R1) is electrically connected to the third output terminal (of MP1), and the other terminal of the resistor is electrically connected to the ground (as illustrated at (5) of FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 6, Lai discloses that M is a ratio of a channel width/length ratio of the first transistor to a channel width/length ratio of the second transistor (page 2, ¶10; MN1 is the same size as MN2, thus the ratio between transistors is 1:1).
Regarding claim 7, the current regulating unit (6) is further configured to adjust the charging voltage of the device to be charged (charging unit 1 is connected to an output of the charging current adjusting unit 6, thus adjusting the charging voltage), and the first operational amplifier (A1) is further configured to regulate the regulating current according to the charging voltage (FIG. 3 - the operation amplifier A1 amplifies compares BFETH and the BAT, thus providing regulation to the charging current regulator 6).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. CN107482722A in view of Wong US20090295339A1 as evidenced by Bostrom US20160352293A1 in further view of Belch US20070052395A1.
Regarding claim 10, Lai does not explicitly disclose when the regulating voltage is equal to the reference voltage, the charging current is zero.
Belch discloses that when the regulating voltage is equal to the reference voltage, the charging current is zero (¶8 – the current source is decreased to zero when the output voltage is equal to the input voltage).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to limit voltage outside of the prescribed limit, as taught by Belch, to Lai, the reduction of the current preventing overcharging and damage to the circuits (Belch; ¶6 and 8).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. CN107482722A in view of Wong US20090295339A1 as evidenced by Bostrom US20160352293A1 and Shimizu et al. US20130328568A1.
Regarding claim 11, Lai teaches a constant current charging device (page 2, first paragraph and FIG. 8), configured to charge a device to be charged (BATT).
Lai discloses a current regulating unit (A3/1/2) electrically coupled to the device to be charged (BAT) and configured to provide a regulating current (from charging current regulating unit 6) and a charging current (provided to the battery BAT) according to a reference voltage (REF to amplifier A3) wherein the charging current is adjusted according to the regulating current (page 5 - ¶5 - charging current regulating unit compares the sampling voltage with the reference voltage REF to obtain a charging current regulating signal which is fed back to the gate terminal of the first transistor MN1 for controlling and regulating the magnitude of the constant charging current- thus the charging current is adjusted according to the regulating current).
Lai discloses that a current-to-voltage converting unit (5) electrically coupled to the current regulating unit (6) and configured to output a regulating voltage (output voltage B – page 6; ¶12) according to the regulating current (from the current regulator 6).
Lai discloses a first operational amplifier (A1) electrically coupled to the current regulating unit (6), the current-to-voltage converting unit (5), and the device to be charged (BAT) (adjust the voltage PUMP at the gate of the power transistor so as to control the charging current at a constant value; page 1; ¶3).
the current regulating unit (6) comprises:
a first transistor (MN2) comprising a first control terminal, a first input terminal, and a first output terminal (because the signal of the current regulating circuit 6 is output to the transistors MN1 and MN2, the transistors are considered part of the current regulating unit 6);
a second transistor (MN1) comprising a second control terminal, a second input terminal, and a second output terminal (because the signal of the current regulating circuit 6 is output to the transistors MN1 and MN2, the transistors are considered part of the current regulating unit 6); and
a second operational amplifier (A3) comprising an inverting input, a non-inverting input, and a second operational amplifier output (where the amplifier has inputs and an output).
Lai discloses that the first control terminal is electrically coupled to the second control terminal (the control terminal of MN2 is connected to MN1), the first input terminal is electrically coupled to a power source (MN2 connected to SYS), the power source (SYS) is other than the reference voltage (SYS is different from REF), the first output terminal (of MN2) is electrically and directly coupled to an input end (MP1 through pathway labeled IBFETH) of the current-to-voltage converting unit (5) and the first operational amplifier (A1), the second input terminal (of MN1) is electrically coupled to the power source (MN1 input connected to SYS), the second output terminal (of MN1) is electrically coupled to the first operational amplifier (A1) and the device to be charged (BAT), the non-inverting input (+) of the second operational amplifier (A3) is electrically coupled to the reference voltage (REF), the inverting input (-) of the second operational amplifier (A3) is electrically and directly coupled to a regulating voltage output from the current-to-voltage converting unit (5), and the second operational amplifier (A3) output of the second operational amplifier is electrically and directly coupled to the first control terminal (of MN2) and the control second terminal (of MN1).
Although Lai discloses the input connections to A3, Lai discloses inverting amplifier connections rather than the non-inverting amplifier connections claimed. Further, although Lai discloses a power source and a current regulating unit, Lai does not explicit disclose a voltage detecting unit, wherein the voltage detecting unit is electrically coupled between a power source and the current regulating unit.
Lai does not directly disclose that the amplifier A3 within the charging current regulating unit 6 is directly coupled to the first control terminal (MN2) and the second control terminal (MN1).
Allgaier discloses a regulating unit comprising an operational amplifier 202 with a current sensing resistor 201 (FIG. 2). The output of the operational amplifier 202 is fed directly to the switching regulator 104 (¶83-84.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the charging current regulating unit of Lai with a known charging current regulator that is taught by Allgaier. This type of charging current regulator is used for regulating the charging current without limiting value relating to an input current being exceeded (Allgaier; ¶21), thus preventing overloading of the system.
Although Lai discloses the input connections to A3, Lai discloses inverting amplifier connections rather than the non-inverting amplifier connections claimed.
Allgaier discloses that the output signal of the operational amplifier either behaves so as to be proportional or inversely proportional (¶86)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a non-inverting amplifier to the current regulating unit of Lai in order to provide lower distortion without affecting the frequency response (Bostrom; ¶62).
Allgaier does not explicitly teach a voltage detecting unit, wherein the voltage detecting unit is electrically coupled between a power source and the current regulating unit and configured to adjust a charging voltage.
Shimizu discloses a voltage detecting unit (10), wherein the voltage detecting unit (10) is electrically coupled between a power source (power arriving via power supply line 55) and the current regulating unit (80) and configured to adjust a charging voltage (¶69 and ¶71).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide a voltage detecting unit to Lai in order to reduce the dispersion of dark currents (¶15).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai et al. CN107482722A in view of Allgaier et al. US20130106358A1 as evidenced by Bostrom US20160352293A1 and in further view of Huong et al. US20140184160A1.
Regarding claim 12. Lai teaches a constant current charging device (page 2, first paragraph and FIG. 8), configured to charge a device to be charged (BATT), and the constant current charging device comprising:
Lai discloses a current regulating unit (A3/1/2) electrically coupled to the device to be charged (BAT) and configured to provide a regulating current (from charging current regulating unit 6) and a charging current (provided to the battery BAT) according to a reference voltage (REF to amplifier A3) wherein the charging current is adjusted according to the regulating current (page 5 - ¶5 - charging current regulating unit compares the sampling voltage with the reference voltage REF to obtain a charging current regulating signal which is fed back to the gate terminal of the first transistor MN1 for controlling and regulating the magnitude of the constant charging current- thus the charging current is adjusted according to the regulating current).
Lai discloses a current-to-voltage converting unit (5) electrically coupled to the current regulating unit (6).
Lai discloses a first operational amplifier (A1) electrically coupled to the current regulating unit (6), the current-to-voltage converting unit (5), and the device to be charged (BAT) (adjust the voltage PUMP at the gate of the power transistor so as to control the charging current at a constant value; page 1; ¶3).
the current regulating unit (6) comprises:
a first transistor (MN2) comprising a first control terminal, a first input terminal, and a first output terminal (because the signal of the current regulating circuit 6 is output to the transistors MN1 and MN2, the transistors are considered part of the current regulating unit 6);
a second transistor (MN1) comprising a second control terminal, a second input terminal, and a second output terminal (because the signal of the current regulating circuit 6 is output to the transistors MN1 and MN2, the transistors are considered part of the current regulating unit 6); and
a second operational amplifier (A3) comprising an inverting input, a non-inverting input, and a second operational amplifier output (where the amplifier has inputs and an output).
Lai discloses that the first control terminal is electrically coupled to the second control terminal (the control terminal of MN2 is connected to MN1), the first input terminal is electrically coupled to a power source (MN2 connected to SYS), the power source (SYS) is other than the reference voltage (SYS is different from REF), the first output terminal (of MN2) is electrically and directly coupled to an third input end (MP1 through pathway labeled IBFETH) of the current-to-voltage converting unit (5) and the first operational amplifier (A1), the second input terminal (of MN1) is electrically coupled to the power source (MN1 input connected to SYS), the second output terminal (of MN1) is electrically coupled to the first operational amplifier (A1) and the device to be charged (BAT), the non-inverting input (+) of the second operational amplifier (A3) is electrically coupled to the reference voltage (REF), the inverting input (-) of the second operational amplifier (A3) is electrically coupled to a regulating voltage output from the current-to-voltage converting unit (5), and the second operational amplifier (A3) output of the second operational amplifier is electrically and directly coupled to the first control terminal (of MN2) and the control second terminal (of MN1).
Lai does not explicitly teach a voltage regulating unit, wherein the voltage regulating unit is electrically coupled between a power source and the current regulating unit. Further, although Lai discloses the input connections to A3, Lai discloses inverting amplifier connections rather than the non-inverting amplifier connections claimed.
Lai does not directly disclose that the amplifier A3 within the charging current regulating unit 6 is directly coupled to the first control terminal (MN2) and the second control terminal (MN1).
Allgaier discloses a regulating unit comprising an operational amplifier 202 with a current sensing resistor 201 (FIG. 2). The output of the operational amplifier 202 is fed directly to the switching regulator 104 (¶83-84.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the charging current regulating unit of Lai with a known charging current regulator that is taught by Allgaier. This type of charging current regulator is used for regulating the charging current without limiting value relating to an input current being exceeded (Allgaier; ¶21), thus preventing overloading of the system.
Although Lai discloses the input connections to A3, Lai discloses inverting amplifier connections rather than the non-inverting amplifier connections claimed.
Allgaier discloses that the output signal of the operational amplifier either behaves so as to be proportional or inversely proportional (¶86)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a non-inverting amplifier to the current regulating unit of Lai in order to provide lower distortion without affecting the frequency response (Bostrom; ¶62).
Allgaier does not explicitly teach a voltage regulating unit, wherein the voltage regulating unit is electrically coupled between a power source and the current regulating unit.
Huang teaches a voltage regulating unit (24), wherein the voltage regulating unit (24) is electrically coupled between a power source (10) and the current regulating unit (where Lai teaches that the current regulating unit is part of the charger thus, Huang teaches a voltage regulator between the two features).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a voltage regulator after the power source in order to supply necessary power needed for charging through buck and boost regulation by a voltage regulator allowing for more efficient charging (Huang; ¶19).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859