DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments filed on March 23, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Bae (KR 101277314) in view of Kim et al. (US 10,784,210, filed: Dec. 27, 2018; hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2006/0125088, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Bae discloses for a light sensing device packaging structure that a substrate (printed circuit board 110, Fig. 2);
a light-emitting element (light emitting unit 120, Fig. 2) and a light-sensing element (light receiving unit 140/illuminance detecting unit 160, Fig. 2), disposed on the substrate (110, Fig. 2); and
a cover body (case 200, Fig. 2), covering the substrate (110, Fig. 2), the cover body (200, Fig. 2) comprising a shielding part (upper portion of the case 200, Fig. 2) and an extended part (edge portion of the case 200, Fig. 2);
the shielding part (upper portion of 200, Fig. 2) disposed between the light-emitting element (120, Fig. 2) and the light-sensing element (140/160, Fig. 2) and extended towards the substrate, because the upper portion of the case 200 by Bae extends towards the substrate 150 (Fig. 1),
the extended part (edge portion of 200, Fig. 2) connected with the shielding part (upper portion of 200, Fig. 2) and surrounding the light-emitting element (120, Figs. 2-3) or the light-sensing element (140/160, Figs. 2-3),
wherein the cover body (200, Fig. 2) has openings (light emitting hole 230, light receiving hole 250, Fig. 2) located at the positions corresponding to light accessing (230/250, Fig. 2) of the light-emitting element (120, Fig. 2) and the light sensing element (140/160, Fig. 2).
Bae differs from the claimed invention by not showing a substrate equipped with a via and the via is located between the light-emitting element and the light-sensing element; a surface of the shielding part facing the substrate is equipped with a metal junction; the extended part is equipped with a metal side-wall; the metal side-wall is connected with the metal junction.
However, Kim discloses for semiconductor package with electromagnetic interference (EMI) shielding layer that the electronic device 340 (Fig. 10b) includes a cellular phone or a digital camera (Col. 9, line 60), which can be regarded as a light-sensing device, since these devices includes an image sensor that detects incident light and convert photons into electrical signals, and therefore, the semiconductor die 124 and semiconductor package 50 by Kim may correspond to the light-emitting element and light-sensing element in the claimed invention, respectively. Kim further discloses that the system-in-package (SiP) device 156 (Fig. 10a) includes conductive vias 114 in the substrate 110 (Fig. 10a) and one of the conductive vias 114 in the center of the substrate 110 is located between the die 124 and the package 50; the device 156 further includes the shielding layer 160 and a surface of the shielding layer 160 facing the substrate 110 is equipped with the lid 150 which provides a continuous EMI shield (Col. 5, lines 34-35), and therefore, the lid 150 corresponds to the metal junction in the claimed invention (see attached Fig. 10a of Kim below); the shielding layer 160 is extended to an opposite side of the lid 150 (i.e., right-side wall of 160 in Fig. 10a) and it corresponds to the metal side-wall in the claimed invention, since “the shielding layer 160 can be formed from copper, aluminum, iron, or any other suitable material for EMI shielding” (Col. 5, lines 10-12); and the side-wall of the shielding layer 160 is electrically connected with the lid 150 (the claimed metal junction). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have acknowledged that light-sensing device package disclosed by Bae can be modified with the shielding layer and the lid taught by Kim, for example, the blocking wall 220 between the light emitting lens unit 130 and the light receiving lens unit 150 in Bae may be replaced with, or supplemented by the shielding layer disclosed by Kim, in order to effectively shield EMI, thereby improving device performance. Examiner notes that Applicants do not specifically claim how the metal side-wall is connected with the metal junction or whether they are electrically, physically, chemically, thermally, and/or mechanically connected.
Since both Bae and Kim teach a semiconductor packaging structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a light-sensing device package with shielding layers and metal lid between semiconductor circuits for electromagnetic interference (EMI), as taught by Kim, in order to protect the electronic device from EMI, thereby improving overall device performance.
Further regarding claim 1, Bae in view of Kim differs from the claimed invention that an upper surface of the via on the substrate facing the cover body is covered with the conductive glue and the metal junction contacts the conductive glue.
However, Huang discloses for a semiconductor package that an active surface (i.e., bottom surface) of the chip 41 can be mounted on the through-hole of the substrate 40 by using an adhesive layer 45 “such as silver paste” ([0043]).
Since both Bae in view of Kim and Huang teach an electronic packaging structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that conductive glue/adhesives, tape, silver paste, conductive epoxy, or carbon compounds can be used as disclosed by Huang, because they have been widely used in semiconductor industry to attach electrical components on the printed circuit board (PCB) or leadframe to simplify a process of mounting electronic components on a PCB and to reduce manufacturing costs, as well known in the art.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Etschmaier et al. (US 2020/0333442, Foreign priority: Oct. 12, 2017 (EP); hereinafter Etschmaier) in view of Kim et al. (US 10,784,210, filed: Dec. 27, 2018; hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2006/0125088, hereinafter Huang).
Regarding claim 1, Etschmaier discloses for a light sensing device packaging structure that a substrate (die 150, Fig. 1), equipped with a via (through silicone vias 90, Fig. 1);
a light-emitting element (light emitter device 30, Fig. 1) and a light-sensing element (light detecting area 20, Fig. 1), disposed on the substrate (150, Fig. 1) and -wherein the via (90, Fig. 1) is located between the light-emitting element (30, Fig. 1) and the light-sensing element (20, Fig. 1); and
a cover body (opaque material 60, Fig. 1), covering the substrate (150, Fig. 1), the cover body (60, Fig. 1) comprising a shielding part (upper portion of opaque material 60, Fig. 1) and an extended part (edge portion of opaque material 60, Fig. 1). Examiner notes that since Applicants do not specifically claim whether the cover body is a separate lid structure and/or what it looks like, the claimed limitation “a cover body, covering the substrate” can refer to either a separate housing structure or an encapsulation film/layer covering a substrate;
the shielding part (upper portion of 60, Fig. 1) disposed between the light-emitting element (30, Fig. 1) and the light-sensing element (20, Fig. 1) and extended towards the substrate, because the upper portion of the opaque material 60 by Etschmaier extends towards the substrate 150 (Fig. 1),
the extended part (edge portion of 60, Fig. 1) connected with the shielding part (upper portion of 60, Fig. 1) and surrounding the light-emitting element (30, Fig. 1) or the light-sensing element (20, Fig. 1), because “the opaque material 60 completely surrounds the clear/light transparent material 130 and covers all of the surface 151 of the die 150…” (emphasis added, Fig. 1, [0036]),
wherein the cover body (60, Fig. 1) has openings located at the positions corresponding to light accessing locations of the light-emitting element and the light sensing element, because “the opaque material 60 completely surrounds the clear/light transparent material 130 and covers all of the surface 151 of the die 150 that is not covered by the light transparent material 130. Only the top part of the lenses 40 and 50, i.e. the upper surfaces 41 and 51 of the lenses, remain uncovered…” (emphasis added, Fig. 1, [0036]), therefore, the uncovered portion of the opaque material 60 by Etschmaier corresponds to the openings in the claimed invention.
Etschmaier differs from the claimed invention by not showing that a surface of the shielding part facing the substrate is equipped with a metal junction; the extended part is equipped with a metal side-wall; the metal side-wall is connected with the metal junction; an upper surface of the via on the substrate facing the cover body is covered with the conductive glue; the metal junction contacts the conductive glue.
However, Kim discloses for semiconductor package with electromagnetic interference (EMI) shielding layer that the electronic device 340 (Fig. 10b) includes a cellular phone or a digital camera (Col. 9, line 60), which can be regarded as a light-sensing device, since these devices includes an image sensor that detects incident light and convert photons into electrical signals, and therefore, the semiconductor die 124 and semiconductor package 50 by Kim may correspond to the light-emitting element and light-sensing element in the claimed invention, respectively. Kim further discloses that the system-in-package (SiP) device 156 (Fig. 10a) includes conductive vias 114 in the substrate 110 (Fig. 10a) and one of the conductive vias 114 in the center of the substrate 110 is located between the die 124 and the package 50; the device 156 further includes the shielding layer 160 and a surface of the shielding layer 160 facing the substrate 110 is equipped with the lid 150 which provides a continuous EMI shield (Col. 5, lines 34-35), and therefore, the lid 150 corresponds to the metal junction in the claimed invention; the shielding layer 160 is extended to an opposite side of the lid 150 (i.e., right-side wall of 160 in Fig. 10a) and it corresponds to the metal side-wall in the claimed invention, since “the shielding layer 160 can be formed from copper, aluminum, iron, or any other suitable material for EMI shielding” (Col. 5, lines 10-12); and the side-wall of the shielding layer 160 is electrically connected with the lid 150 (the claimed metal junction). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have acknowledged that light-sensing device package disclosed by Etschmaier can be modified with the shielding layer and the lid taught by Kim, for example, a metal lid between light emitter device 30 and light detecting area 20 in Etschmaier may be additionally added, in order to effectively shield EMI, thereby improving device performance. Examiner notes that Applicants do not specifically claim how the metal side-wall is connected with the metal junction or whether they are electrically, physically, chemically, thermally, and/or mechanically connected.
Since both Etschmaier and Kim teach a semiconductor packaging structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a light-sensing device package with shielding layers and metal lid between semiconductor circuits for electromagnetic interference (EMI), as taught by Kim, in order to protect the electronic device from EMI, thereby improving overall device performance.
Further regarding claim 1, Etschmaier in view of Kim differ from the claimed invention by not showing that an upper surface of the via on the substrate facing the cover body is covered with the conductive glue and the metal junction contacts the conductive glue.
However, Huang discloses for a semiconductor package that an active surface (i.e., bottom surface) of the chip 41 can be mounted on the through-hole of the substrate 40 by using an adhesive layer 45 “such as silver paste” ([0043]).
Since both Etschmaier in view of Kim and Huang teach an electronic packaging structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that conductive glue/adhesives, tape, silver paste, conductive epoxy, or carbon compounds can be used as disclosed by Huang, because they have been widely used in semiconductor industry to attach electrical components on the printed circuit board (PCB) or leadframe to simplify a process of mounting electronic components on a PCB and to reduce manufacturing costs, as well known in the art.
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Etschmaier et al. (US 2020/0333442, Foreign priority: Oct. 12, 2017 (EP); hereinafter Etschmaier) in view of Kim et al. (US 10,784,210, filed: Dec. 27, 2018; hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2006/0125088, hereinafter Huang) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xiao (US 2019/0164902).
Regarding claim 2, Etschmaier further discloses that the cover body (60, Fig. 1) is made of the opaque plastics, because “in order to create the opaque material, an absorbing additive like carbon black can be added to the transparent material 130, for example an epoxy resin or silicone” (emphasis added, [0036]), therefore, it corresponds to the opaque plastics in the claimed invention.
Etschmaier differs from the claimed invention by not showing that the metal junction and the metal side-wall are formed by the plastic electroplating process.
However, Xiao discloses for an electronic package assembly that the electromagnetic shielding layer 50 fully covers an inner surface of the second colloid 60 (Fig. 1), and “a metal material is electroplated onto the outer layer of the first colloid 40 and the grounding lines 13 to form the electromagnetic shielding layer 50. The electromagnetic shielding layer 50 is connected to the grounding lines 13 and thus provides electromagnetic shielding” (emphasis added, [0020]), therefore, the deposition process includes the electroplating process. Also, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a deposition of the metal junction can be done by an electroplating. Examiner notes that when a sample (or substrate) for electroplating process is a plastic, the process refers to “plastic” electroplating and the limitation is directed to an intended use or field of use of electroplating process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the electroplating process can be used to deposit conductive metal layer to form the metal junction and metal side-wall of the shielding mold for electronic components, as disclosed by Xiao.
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses that the via is connected to ground, which makes the metal side-wall (right-side wall of 160 in Fig. 10a), the metal junction (150, Fig. 10a), the conductive glue and the via (114 between 124 and 50, Fig. 10a) be electrically connected to form a grounding loop, because “lid 150 is electrically coupled to a ground node through conductive layer 114 and bumps 116 to aid in EMI blocking capability” (emphasis added, Fig. 10a, Col. 4, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 4, Etschmaier further discloses that the light-emitting element (30, Fig. 1) is sealed in a transparent molding substance (light transparent material 130, Fig. 1), the light-sensing element (20, Fig. 1) is sealed in the other transparent molding substance (130, Fig. 1), because “the two light detecting areas 10 and 20 are covered by separate volumes 40 and 50 of a light transparent material 130, for example a clear epoxy resin or silicone” (Fig. 1, [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Etschmaier further discloses that the extended part (edge portion of 60, Fig. 1) is extended from the shielding part (Fig. 1) and surrounding the light-sensing element (20, Fig. 1), because the left edge portion of the opaque material 60 by Etschmaier, which corresponds to the extended part in the claimed invention, is extended from the upper part of 60 (Fig. 1), and surrounds the light-detecting area 20, which corresponds to the light-sensing element in the claimed invention.
Etschmaier differs from the claimed invention by not showing that the metal side-wall shields the light-sensing element.
However, Kim further discloses that a right sidewall of the shielding layer 160 (Fig. 10a), which corresponds to the metal side-wall in the claimed invention, shields the semiconductor package 50 which can be either the light-emitting element or the light-sensing element.
Since both Etschmaier and Kim teach the electronic packaging structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the mold can have electrically conductive side-wall and can shield electronic components to block the electromagnetic interference, as taught by Kim.
Regarding claim 7, Etschmaier further disclose that the cover body (60, Fig. 1) further comprises the other extended part (right edge portion of 60, Fig. 1), connected with the shielding part and surrounded the light-emitting element (30, Fig. 1), because the right edge portion of the opaque material 60 by Etschmaier corresponds to the other extended part in the claimed invention and is connected with the upper portion of 60 and surrounds the light-emitter device 30 (Fig. 1).
Etschmaier differs from the claimed invention by not showing that the extended part further equipped with the other metal side-wall connected with the metal junction and shielded the light-emitting element.
However, Kim further discloses that another portion of the shielding layer 160, i.e., another sidewall (Fig. 2g), which corresponds to the other side-wall in the claimed invention, and covers the semiconductor die 124, which corresponds to either light emitting element or light sending element in the claimed invention, and is connected to the lid 150, and therefore, it shields the semiconductor die 124 from EMI (Fig. 2g).
Since both Etschmaier and Kim teach the electronic packaging structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the mold can have electrically conductive side-wall and can shield electronic components to block the electromagnetic interference, as taught by Kim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in March 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive due to the following reasons: In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to Applicant’s argument, “Fundamental Structural Mismatch: Kim Does Not Teach the Claimed Cover Body, Metal Junction, or Metal Side-Wall” (REMARKS, page 5), the argument appears to focus on attacking the secondary reference (Kim) individually; as previously explained in the Office Action mailed on December 22, 2025, Kim discloses the lid 150 made of a metal layer positioned between the semiconductor die 124 and the package 50 to reduce the magnitude of electromagnetic interference (EMI) (Col. 4, lines 44-47 of Kim). In addition, Kim further discloses the shielding layer 160, wherein a surface of the shielding layer 160 facing the substrate 110 is provided with the lid 150 (Fig. 10a), therefore, when combined with the teachings of Bae, the light-sensing device package of Bae would have been modified to include the metal lid and shielding features taught by Kim, yielding a structure that includes the claimed features such as a cover body, metal junction, and metal side-wall, for the predictable purpose of reducing or shielding EMI. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY C KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/WOO K LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2815