DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It should be noted that with regard to features and limitations directed toward an orientation/placement of components;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the modified system of Madonna as disclosed in the features of the claim of the present application (disclosed above), since it has been held that mere relocation of an element would not have modified the operation of the device. (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 17, 19, 22-24, 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), and Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), in view of Benefield (US 20200056804 A1).
1. (Currently Amended) Madonna (US 20190277529 A1) discloses A wireless zoning system comprising:
a light switch thermostat [claim 1] A combined light switch and thermostat for deployment in a room of a property comprising: a light switch [200], a touch screen [0023] The smart light switch/thermostat 200 may include a screen (e.g., a touch sensitive LCD screen),
*** circuit hardware [0050; FIG.2A] Hardware implementations may include logic circuits, application specific integrated circuits, and/or other types of hardware components.,
*** a sensor [0027] The sensors that interface with the smart light switch/thermostat 200 may include a passive infrared (PIR) occupancy sensor, an active ultrasonic occupancy sensor, a humidity sensor, various types of automation state sensors and the like. In some implementations, at least some sensors (e.g., the passive infrared (PIR) occupancy sensor) are built into the smart light switch/thermostat 200, ***,
***;
a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) control module [0025] The climate control devices that interface with the smart light switch/thermostat 200 may include a PTAC 112 or a PTAC monitor and control module 114 comprising: a wireless communication capability [0025] …the light switch/thermostat 200 may communicate via the WPAN (e.g., BLE) or WLAN (e.g. WiFi) with a PTAC monitor and control module 114 wired to the PTAC 112, which acts as a two-way capable interface between the smart light switch/thermostat 200 and the PTAC 112, wherein the HVAC control module is configured to communicate directions to an HVAC equipment, and the light switch is configured to transmit directions to the HVAC control module [0025] …and the smart light switch/thermostat 200 may directly control the PTAC…; and
***
the light switch thermostat is configured to transmit a signal to HVAC equipment [0025] including vents [0003] A PTAC is a self-contained HVAC unit, which is typically electrically powered and has vents and heat sinks both inside and outside the room
Madonna lacks the following underlined limitations:
a printed circuit board (PCB),
a sensor fixed on the PCB, and
a vent portion, wherein the light switch thermostat is configured such that, when a switch plate is placed on the light switch thermostat: the light switch, the touch screen, and the vent portion fit within an opening of the switch plate, the light switch and the touch screen are in a plane of the light switch thermostat that is parallel to a plane of the switch plate, the vent portion is not parallel to the plane of the switch plate, and an opening between an end of the vent portion and the switch plate provides air flow to the sensor fixed on the PCB;
a wireless damper sensor comprising,
a push button interface,
a light emitting diode (LED) display, and
a pressure and temperature sensor configured to sense pressure and temperature,
wherein the wireless damper sensor is configured to control a damper within the HVAC equipment.
the pressure and temperature sensor is configured to be inserted into ductwork before the damper, and the pressure and temperature sensor is configured to be mounted on either the damper or the ductwork.
wherein the touch screen is disposed adjacent to the light switch and a first end of the light switch thermostat, the light switch is disposed adjacent to the touch screen and the vent portion, the vent portion is disposed adjacent to the light switch and a second end of the light switch thermostat,
wherein: the pressure and temperature sensor of the wireless damper sensor comprises an air sampling tube;
the light switch thermostat is configured to transmit a signal to the wireless damper sensor when in a manual mode, and
the wireless damper sensor is configured to: receive a room sensor reading, receive the signal transmitted by the light switch thermostat, and as a result of receiving the signal transmitted by the light switch thermostat, adjust a damper position of the damper to a set point based on the received signal and not based on the received room sensor reading.
Examiner’s Note: Amended claim limitations with respect to claim(s) dated 07/29/2025 have been placed below for quick reference and expediency;
Regarding the limitation; “…an air sampling tube”, Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding an air control module and method, a consideration for positive static pressure contained in the supply duct 140 (e.g., provided by the fan 130 of the HVAC system) which may be capable of forcing an air sample through the flexible and/or rigid tube 235, through the valve 250 and to the sensor module 260 [0039; FIG.2]. Stakutis teaches that it is known to use a sampling tube to feed air to a sensor for data collection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the pressure and temperature sensor of the wireless damper sensor comprises an air sampling tube with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Stakutis, for the benefit of providing a dedicated opening for an air sample to flow through thereby reaching a sensor in a controlled manner without undue influence from outside factors.
Regarding the limitation; “…light switch thermostat is configured to transmit a signal to the wireless damper sensor when in a manual mode”, Sinha (US-20200141608-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [0144] Similar direct communication can be implemented between a smart light switch including various environmental sensors and the smart vent 706 and/or the thermostat 400. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that Sinha discloses a method of communication for controlling vents, which [0004] includes one or more louvers configured to change position between an open position and a closed position to permit air from the air duct to enter a zone of the building or stop the air from entering the zone, within an HVAC system when in a manual mode [0226-228] The vent status 2122 element may allow a user to view or manually adjust, a louver position between a fully closed position and a fully open position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the light switch thermostat is configured to transmit a signal to the wireless damper sensor when in a manual mode with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Sinha, for the benefit of changing position between an open position and a closed position to permit air from the air duct to enter a zone of the building or stop the air from entering the zone [0004].
Regarding the limitation; “…wireless damper sensor is configured to: receive a room sensor reading, receive the signal transmitted by the light switch thermostat, and as a result of receiving the signal transmitted by the light switch thermostat, adjust a damper position of the damper to a set point based on the received signal and not based on the received room sensor reading”, Sinha (US-20200141608-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [0144] Similar direct communication can be implemented between a smart light switch including various environmental sensors and the smart vent 706 and/or the thermostat 400. A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that Sinha discloses a method of communication for controlling vents, which [0004] includes one or more louvers configured to change position between an open position and a closed position to permit air from the air duct to enter a zone of the building or stop the air from entering the zone, within an HVAC system when in a manual mode [0226-228] The vent status 2122 element may allow a user to view or manually adjust, a louver position between a fully closed position and a fully open position.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a wireless damper sensor is configured to: receive a room sensor reading, receive the signal transmitted by the light switch thermostat, and as a result of receiving the signal transmitted by the light switch thermostat, adjust a damper position of the damper to a set point based on the received signal and not based on the received room sensor reading with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Sinha, for the benefit of providing wireless communication between a smart light/thermostat and air flow control devices such that a user is able to manually adjust damper position according to user preferences, ensuring comfortability and providing master control over HVAC components.
Regarding the limitation; “…a printed circuit board (PCB), a sensor fixed on the PCB”, It should be noted that Madonna discloses an equivalent structure in main board (210). Ni (US20170115021A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding detecting or monitoring circuits, a consideration for a monitoring apparatus 500 including the monitoring circuit 100 of FIG. 1 as disposed on a monitoring circuit assembly board 51, such as a printed circuit board (PCB). Referring to FIG. 1, in one embodiment, a monitoring circuit 100 is provided. The monitoring circuit 100 in this example includes a detecting unit 1, a controller 2, a first driving unit 3 and a second driving unit 4. In the example of FIG. 1, the detecting unit 1 includes a humidity sensor 11 [0024]. The monitoring apparatus 500 of the disclosed embodiments protects the monitoring circuit board assembly 51 by using a space enclosed by the bottom case 52 and the bottom cover 53. The plurality of through holes 54 disposed on the bottom case 52 and/or the bottom cover 53 ensures that the detecting unit 1 in the monitoring circuit 100 can come in contact with or be exposed to the ambient environment for detection, which is quite convenient [0036; FIG.1-2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a printed circuit board (PCB), a sensor fixed on the PCB, as taught by Ni.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a secure location for a sensor upon a PCB whereby a housing can provide ventilation and exposure to ambient conditions for detection [0036].
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that Madonna discloses a light switch thermostat capable of sensing environmental data, but is silent as to distinctly disclosing a sensor fixed upon a PCB. “In some implementations, at least some sensors (e.g., the passive infrared (PIR) occupancy sensor) are built into the smart light switch/thermostat 200 and communicate via an internal bus of the device.” [0027].
Regarding the limitation; “…a vent portion, wherein the light switch thermostat is configured such that, when a switch plate is placed on the light switch thermostat: the light switch… and the vent portion fit within an opening of the switch plate, the light switch… is in a plane of the light switch thermostat that is parallel to a plane of the switch plate, the vent portion is not parallel to the plane of the switch plate, and an opening between an end of the vent portion and the switch plate provides air flow to the sensor fixed on the PCB”, Jonas (US 20160201935 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding humidity wall control light switch systems, a consideration for a vent portion (vent opening 57; [FIG.6]), wherein the light switch thermostat is configured such that, when a switch plate (housing 20, plate portion 36; [FIG.6, 8]) is placed on the light switch thermostat: the light switch and the vent portion fit within an opening of the switch plate (front opening 28; [FIG.2]), the light switch is in a plane of the light switch thermostat that is parallel to a plane of the switch plate [FIG.2, 11-12], the vent portion is not parallel to the plane of the switch plate [FIG.5A-B], and an opening between an end of the vent portion and the switch plate provides air flow to the sensor fixed on the PCB (vent openings 57, humidity sensor 26; [FIG.5B])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a vent portion, wherein the light switch thermostat is configured such that, when a switch plate is placed on the light switch thermostat: the light switch… and the vent portion fit within an opening of the switch plate, the light switch… is in a plane of the light switch thermostat that is parallel to a plane of the switch plate, the vent portion is not parallel to the plane of the switch plate, and an opening between an end of the vent portion and the switch plate provides air flow to the sensor fixed on the PCB, as taught by Jonas.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a secure location for a sensor upon a PCB whereby a housing can provide ventilation and control exposure to ambient conditions for detection during operations. Furthermore, sensors or sensor housings that protrude from the wall are often considered particularly undesirable. Accordingly, humidity sensors are often partially or entirely recessed within the wall with a face place flush or nearly flush with the wall to minimize the protrusion of the sensor or housing from the wall. While the recessed sensor improves the aesthetic appearance of the humidity sensor [0003].
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that the system of Madonna discloses a consideration for a touch screen (“The smart light switch/thermostat 200 may include a screen (e.g., a touch sensitive LCD screen) that encompasses a substantial portion of its front face and is configured to provide a portion of a user interface.”; [0023]) wherein under the proposed modifications discussed above, a person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand the “touch screen” portion of the modified system would fit within an opening of a switch plate, as taught by Jonas. For more information regarding the limitation “… fit within an opening of the switch plate” please see conclusion section to include for prior art which is pertinent to significant to the limitations [Lark (US 20180070424 A1)].
Regarding the limitation; “…a wireless damper sensor comprising, a pushbutton interface, a light emitting diode (LED) display, wherein the wireless damper sensor is configured to control a damper within the HVAC equipment”, Zelczer (US20210140659A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding wireless environmental zone control, a consideration for a damper 104 which includes a microcontroller 702 for facilitating communication and control of the damper 104 with control box 108 [0067]. The damper 104 further includes a damper module 406 configured to control the orientation of the damper blade assembly 404. In particular, the damper module 406 is configured to communicate with the control box 108 and to open and close the damper blade assembly 404 based on received instructions from the control box 108 [0049]. Additionally, Zelczer discloses that the damper 104 includes a pushbutton 722 to enable a contractor or administrator to initiate a communication with the control box 108 that will help identify the damper 104 for configuration purposes. The damper 104 also includes an LED indicator 714 that is configured to blink a corresponding zone color which can further assist a contractor or administrator in configuring the system 100 and setting up zone [0070]. Accordingly, Zelczer teaches a damper 104 which comprises the claimed limitations to include; in one example, a damper position sensor 528 [0064-0065] monitored by a damper module 406 configured to control a damper blade assembly 404 according to wireless instructions received from a control box 108 through a microcontroller 702, a pushbutton interface 722, and an LED indicator 714. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to integrate these features and sub-components into a single damper device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a wireless damper sensor comprising, a pushbutton interface, a light emitting diode (LED) display, wherein the wireless damper sensor is configured to control a damper within the HVAC equipment, as taught by Zelczer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a damper system capable of wireless communication and configured to enable user interaction via pushbuttons and LED indicators for assistance or maintenance [0070].
Regarding the limitation; “a wireless damper sensor comprising… a pressure and temperature sensor…”, Benefield (US 20200056804 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding adaptive modular multi-coil HVAC systems, a consideration for a wireless system comprising in various embodiments, a bypass air damper module 506 comprises an air bypass and damper operating together within an insertable-removable module [0051]. Benefield further discloses that, the said modules 502, 504, 506 contain sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a wireless damper sensor comprising a pressure and temperature sensor, as taught by Benefield.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a system which provides dampers configured to sense local ambient conditions, in turn providing comprehensive sensor data regarding the environment for use in HVAC control systems.
Regarding the limitation; “…the pressure and temperature sensor is configured to be inserted into ductwork before the damper, and the pressure and temperature sensor is configured to be mounted on either the damper or the ductwork.”, Benefield (US 20200056804 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding adaptive modular multi-coil HVAC systems, a consideration for a bypass air damper module (506). Benefield further discloses, the individual modules 506, 508, 510 are insertable-removable into and out of one or more designated slot, rack, space, location, or the like within the modular HVAC unit 102 [0051]. Furthermore, the insertable-removable bypass air damper module (506) further comprises sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would understand that Benefield teaches a bypass damper comprising sensors for pressure/temperature which can be inserted into a location within a HVAC system such as a side of HVAC ductwork.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the pressure and temperature sensor is configured to be inserted into ductwork before the damper, and the pressure and temperature sensor is configured to be mounted on either the damper or the ductwork, as taught by Benefield.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a modular damper system comprising sensors which can be mounted into ductwork enabling a system to monitor ambient temperature and pressure within.
Regarding the limitation; “…the touch screen is disposed adjacent to the light switch and a first end of the light switch thermostat, the light switch is disposed adjacent to the touch screen and the vent portion, the vent portion is disposed adjacent to the light switch and a second end of the light switch thermostat”, The modified system of Madonna, as disclosed above, discloses the claimed invention except for an orientation wherein: the touch screen is disposed adjacent to the light switch and a first end of the light switch thermostat, the light switch is disposed adjacent to the touch screen and the vent portion, the vent portion is disposed adjacent to the light switch and a second end of the light switch thermostat. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrange the modified system of Madonna as disclosed in the features of the claim of the present application (disclosed above), since it has been held that mere relocation of an element would not have modified the operation of the device. (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
In re claim 2. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the sensor of the light switch thermostat is a first sensor, the PCB of the light switch thermostat is a first PCB, and the light switch thermostat further comprises second and third PCBs, a second sensor fixed on the second PCB, and a third sensor fixed on the third PCB.
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that Madonna discloses a light switch thermostat capable of sensing environmental data, but is silent as to distinctly disclosing a sensor fixed upon a PCB. “In some implementations, at least some sensors (e.g., the passive infrared (PIR) occupancy sensor) are built into the smart light switch/thermostat 200 and communicate via an internal bus of the device.” [0027]
Regarding the limitation; “…wherein the sensor of the light switch thermostat is a first sensor, the PCB of the light switch thermostat is a first PCB…”, Ni (US20170115021A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding detecting or monitoring circuits, a consideration for a monitoring apparatus 500 including the monitoring circuit 100 of FIG. 1 as disposed on a monitoring circuit assembly board 51, such as a printed circuit board (PCB). Referring to FIG. 1, in one embodiment, a monitoring circuit 100 is provided. The monitoring circuit 100 in this example includes a detecting unit 1, a controller 2, a first driving unit 3 and a second driving unit 4. In the example of FIG. 1, the detecting unit 1 includes a humidity sensor 11 [0024; FIG.1-2]. It should be noted that “first” is merely a counting label being attributed to a “first” sensor and a “first” PCB as disclosed in Ni.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the sensor of the light switch thermostat is a first sensor, the PCB of the light switch thermostat is a first PCB, as taught by Ni.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a dedicated sensor and PCB pair which can be easily recreated throughout the system to increase sensitivity.
Regarding the limitation; “…and the light switch thermostat further comprises second and third PCBs, a second sensor fixed on the second PCB, and a third sensor fixed on the third PCB.”,
As discussed in MPEP § 2144.04, in re Harza, the court upheld that even though the reference did not disclose a plurality of parts, the mere duplication of parts which achieve essentially the same function has been recognized as an obvious mechanical expedient and therefore has no patentable weight or significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. As such, while Ni discloses a single sensor mounted upon a single printed circuit board (PCB), it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the sensor and the PCB of the system could be duplicated such that a second sensor may be fixed upon a second PCB and a third sensor may be fixed upon a third PCB as to provide additional environmental data for conditioning an enclosed space.
In re claim 3, Madonna discloses The wireless zoning system according to Claim 2, wherein sensors are chosen from among a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, a carbon dioxide (CO2) sensor, an occupancy sensor, a humidity sensor, and a volatile organic compound (VOC) sensor. (“The sensors that interface with the smart light switch/thermostat 200 may include a passive infrared (PIR) occupancy sensor, an active ultrasonic occupancy sensor, a humidity sensor, various types of automation state sensors and the like. In some implementations, at least some sensors (e.g., the passive infrared (PIR) occupancy sensor) are built into the smart light switch/thermostat 200 and communicate via an internal bus of the device. In some implementations, at least some sensors (e.g., the passive infrared (PIR) occupancy sensor) are built into the smart light switch/thermostat 200 and communicate via an internal bus of the device”; [0027])
Madonna lacks the following underlined limitations:
… wherein each of the second and third sensors is chosen from among a temperature sensor, a smoke sensor, a carbon dioxide (CO2) sensor, an occupancy sensor, a humidity sensor, and a volatile organic compound (VOC) sensor.
Regarding the lacking limitation; please see in re claim 2.
In re claim 6. Madonna discloses The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the wireless zoning system is further configured to receive commands from a wireless user device. (“Other in-room devices may (at least in some cases) interface with the central host controller 140 and/or cloud control services 160, such that control commands and state and environmental information is provided through an intermediate. Such devices may include guest mobile devices 126, remote controls, dedicated keypads, certain other certain A/V and entertainment devices, and other types of devices.”; [0024, FIG.1])
In re claim 17. Madonna discloses The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the HVAC control module further comprises one or more LEDs configured to indicate a status of the HVAC equipment (“The PTAC monitor and control module 114 may include one or more relays that drive conventional HVAC wiring (e.g., W1, W2, Y1, Y2, G, O), at least one auxiliary relay (e.g., for a NO terminal, NC terminal and COM terminal), status and onboarding LEDs, and a wireless interface (e.g., a BLE radio and/or WiFi radio), among other components. Use of a PTAC monitor and control module 114 may permit the smart light switch/thermostat 200 to be located in any convenient location within the room, absent a need to run thermostat control wiring to the PTAC.”; [0025]).
In re claim 19. Madonna discloses The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the light switch thermostat further comprises a WiFi module and is configured to connect to the internet via the WiFi module (“a main board 210 of the smart light switch/thermostat 200 includes a touch sensitive LCD screen 220 for displaying a portion of the user interface; one or more physical buttons and one or more red green blue (RGB) LEDs 230 that also are part of the user interface; a wireless interface 240 coupled to an antenna 245, which may include combined WPAN (e.g., BLE) and WLAN (e.g., Wi-Fi) radio for interfacing with other in-room devices and an access point”; [0038; FIG.2]).
In re claim 22. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the HVAC control module further comprises a reset button.
Regarding the limitation; Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding wireless environmental zone control, a consideration for a control box 108 which is further communicatively coupled to one or more components associated with heating and cooling (“HVAC”) equipment 110 such a heat pump, a furnace, a refrigeration evaporator, an electric resistance heater, or other suitable auxiliary components and equipment. The control box 108 is operationally connected to the HVAC equipment 110 via a relay connector or other suitable wired or wireless connector such that the control box 108 is configured to control the HVAC equipment 110 [0039]. The control box 108 further includes a “WiFi join” pushbutton 914 that enables the administrator computing device 122 to connect to the control box 108 and enter a router password. The control box 108 further includes a “Reset” pushbutton 916 that enables users to restart the control box 108 if necessary [0082].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the HVAC control module further comprises a reset button, as taught by Zelczer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a means to enable user or maintenance personnel to restart the system if necessary [0083].
In re claim 23. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the pressure and temperature sensor is mounted on the damper.
Regarding the limitation; Benefield (US 20200056804 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding adaptive modular multi-coil HVAC systems, a consideration for a wireless system comprising in various embodiments, a bypass air damper module 506 comprises an air bypass and damper operating together within an insertable-removable module [0051]. Benefield further discloses that, the said modules 502, 504, 506 contain sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller [0051]. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing could reasonably understand that Benefield teaches a bypass damper comprising sensors, measuring pressure and temperature, as being incorporated within or mounted upon a bypass air damper module.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the pressure and temperature sensor is mounted on the damper, as taught by Benefield.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a system which provides dampers configured to sense local ambient conditions, in turn providing comprehensive sensor data regarding the environment for use in HVAC control systems.
In re claim 24. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the pressure and temperature sensor is mounted on the ductwork.
Regarding the limitation; Benefield (US 20200056804 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding adaptive modular multi-coil HVAC systems, a consideration for a bypass air damper module (506). Benefield further discloses, the individual modules 506, 508, 510 are insertable-removable into and out of one or more designated slot, rack, space, location, or the like within the modular HVAC unit 102 [0051]. Furthermore, the insertable-removable bypass air damper module (506) further comprises sensors (e.g., temperature, pressure, humidity, position, etc.) and actuators (e.g., motors) to enable feedback control by one or more system logic controller. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing could reasonably understand that Benefield teaches a bypass damper comprising sensors for pressure/temperature which can be inserted or “mounted” into a location within a HVAC system such as ductwork.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the pressure and temperature sensor is mounted on the ductwork, as taught by Benefield.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a modular damper system comprising sensors which can be mounted into ductwork enabling a system to monitor ambient temperature and pressure within.
In re claim 26. (Currently Amended) Madonna (US 20190277529 A1) lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the opening between the end of the vent portion and the switch plate is a curved slot opening.
Regarding the limitation; Jonas (US 20160201935 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding humidity wall control light switch systems, a consideration for a vent portion (vent opening 57; [FIG.6]), wherein the light switch thermostat is configured such that, when a switch plate (housing 20, plate portion 36; [FIG.6, 8]) is placed on the light switch thermostat: the light switch and the vent portion fit within an opening of the switch plate (front opening 28; [FIG.2]), the light switch is in a plane of the light switch thermostat that is parallel to a plane of the switch plate [FIG.2, 11-12], the vent portion is not parallel to the plane of the switch plate [FIG.5A-B], and an opening between an end of the vent portion and the switch plate provides air flow to the sensor fixed on the PCB (vent openings 57, humidity sensor 26; [FIG.5B]). Jonas further discloses wherein the opening between the end of the vent portion and the switch plate is a curved slot opening (vent opening 57; [FIG.2, 6, 5A-B, 10A-B]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the slot opening is a curved slot opening, as taught by Jonas.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a configuration for an air entrance which can effectively provide ventilation and exposure to ambient conditions for detection.
Examiner’s Note: It should be noted that at the time the invention was made it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to configure an opening between the end of the vent portion and the switch plate is a curved slot opening because Applicant has not disclosed that the arrangement/placement of vent portions provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skilled in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicants invention to perform equally well under the modification disclosed, because the PCB and sensor components would be effectively exposed to an ambient environment via a ventilation opening in communication with the PCB and sensor components. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), as taught by Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), to obtain the invention as specified in claim 26.
In re claim 27. Madonna (US 20190277529 A1) lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the end of the vent portion is farther from the PCB than the plane of the light switch thermostat.
Regarding the limitation; “…PCB…”, It should be noted that Madonna discloses an equivalent structure in main board (210). Ni (US20170115021A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding detecting or monitoring circuits, a consideration for a monitoring apparatus 500 including the monitoring circuit 100 of FIG. 1 as disposed on a monitoring circuit assembly board 51, such as a printed circuit board (PCB). Referring to FIG. 1, in one embodiment, a monitoring circuit 100 is provided. The monitoring circuit 100 in this example includes a detecting unit 1, a controller 2, a first driving unit 3 and a second driving unit 4. In the example of FIG. 1, the detecting unit 1 includes a humidity sensor 11 [0024]. The monitoring apparatus 500 of the disclosed embodiments protects the monitoring circuit board assembly 51 by using a space enclosed by the bottom case 52 and the bottom cover 53. The plurality of through holes 54 disposed on the bottom case 52 and/or the bottom cover 53 ensures that the detecting unit 1 in the monitoring circuit 100 can come in contact with or be exposed to the ambient environment for detection, which is quite convenient [0036; FIG.1-2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a printed circuit board (PCB), a sensor fixed on the PCB, as taught by Ni.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a secure location for a sensor upon a PCB whereby a housing can provide ventilation and exposure to ambient conditions for detection [0036].
Regarding the remaining limitation; Jonas (US 20160201935 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding humidity wall control light switch systems, a consideration for a vent portion (vent opening 57; [FIG.6]), wherein the light switch thermostat is configured such that, when a switch plate (housing 20, plate portion 36; [FIG.6, 8]) is placed on the light switch thermostat: the light switch and the vent portion fit within an opening of the switch plate (front opening 28; [FIG.2]), the light switch is in a plane of the light switch thermostat that is parallel to a plane of the switch plate [FIG.2, 11-12], the vent portion is not parallel to the plane of the switch plate [FIG.5A-B], and an opening between an end of the vent portion and the switch plate provides air flow to the sensor fixed on the PCB (vent openings 57, humidity sensor 26; [FIG.5B]).
It should be noted that at the time the invention was made it would have been obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to configure an end of the vent portion to be farther from the PCB than the plane of the light switch thermostat because Applicant has not disclosed that the arrangement/placement of vent portions provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skilled in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicants invention to perform equally well under the modification disclosed, because the PCB and sensor components would be effectively exposed to an ambient environment via a ventilation opening in communication with the PCB and sensor components. Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), as taught by Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), to obtain the invention as specified in claim 27.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the end of the vent portion is farther from the PCB than the plane of the light switch thermostat.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a configuration for an air entrance which can effectively provide ventilation and exposure to ambient conditions for detection.
In re claim 28. (Previously Presented) Madonna (US 20190277529 A1) lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the light switch thermostat (light switch assembly 70) comprises the switch plate (plate portion 36; [FIG.2]).
Regarding the limitation; Jonas (US 20160201935 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding humidity wall control light switch systems, a consideration for a vent portion (vent opening 57; [FIG.6]), wherein the light switch thermostat is configured such that, when a switch plate (housing 20, plate portion 36; [FIG.6, 8]) is placed on the light switch thermostat: the light switch and the vent portion fit within an opening of the switch plate (front opening 28; [FIG.2]), the light switch is in a plane of the light switch thermostat that is parallel to a plane of the switch plate [FIG.2, 11-12], the vent portion is not parallel to the plane of the switch plate [FIG.5A-B], and an opening between an end of the vent portion and the switch plate provides air flow to the sensor fixed on the PCB (vent openings 57, humidity sensor 26; [FIG.5B]). Jonas discloses wherein the light switch thermostat (light switch assembly 70) comprises the switch plate (plate portion 36; [FIG.2]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the light switch thermostat comprises the switch plate, as taught by Jonas.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a housing and mounting plate for properly stabilizing and mounting a light switch thermostat system within a wall of a conditioned space in order to effectively provide ventilation and exposure to ambient conditions for detection.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mueller (US 20070029397 A1).
In re claim 4. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the touch screen is configured to allow a selection of a mode from a minimum of: on, off, heat, cool, fan manual, and fan auto.
Regarding the limitation; It should be noted Madonna discloses the use of a touch screen but is silent to distinctly disclosing each function as claimed. However; Mueller (US 20070029397 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding a thermostat touchscreen, a consideration for a "system" icon 50, the user may press a membrane switch 30 associated with the system icon 50 to switch the thermostat setting between a heat mode, cool mode, automatic switchover mode, or an off mode. Alternatively, the system switch does not have to be included on the touch screen display 26, and could be provided as a physical button or manual switch off of the LCD display. Where a "fan" icon 54 is provided, the user may press a membrane switch 34 associated with the "fan" icon 54 to switch the fan operation between an automatic mode or a continuously on mode. Alternatively, the fan switch does not have to be included on the touch screen display 26, and could be provided as a physical button or manual switch off of the LCD display [0022].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to modify the proposed system of Madonna to include wherein the touch screen allows a selection of a mode from a minimum of: on, off, heat, cool, fan manual, and fan auto, as taught by Mueller.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a user-friendly means for interacting with the system to set desired environmental conditions.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Buckley (US 20190154499).
In re claim 5. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the at least one light switch thermostat further allows two setpoints to be selected for a temperature and an ability to set the temperature a minimum of two times each day.
Regarding the limitation; Buckley (US 20190154499) discloses in a similar invention, regarding a thermostat, a consideration for a thermostat 110 that may be considered as being an example of the HVAC controller 90 (FIG. 3). The illustrative thermostat 110 includes a housing 112 that may be a unitary housing or may include two or more distinct housing sections. In some cases, as illustrated, the housing 112 may include a front housing section 114, a back housing section 116 and an intermediate housing section 118. The illustrative thermostat 110 also includes a user interface 120 that may be considered as being an example of the user interface 94 (FIG. 3). In some cases, the user interface 120 may be a touch screen display. In some cases, the user interface 120 may include a display 122 and a series of electromechanical buttons 124. Each of the individual electromechanical buttons 124 may be assigned to a particular function. For example, a particular electromechanical button 124 may be used to increase a temperature setpoint, for example, while another electromechanical button 124 may be used to decrease a temperature setpoint. One or more of the electromechanical buttons 124 may be used to adjust fan speed or fan settings. In some cases, one or more of the electromechanical buttons 124 may be used to change a system mode between HEAT, COOL and OFF, for example. In some cases, each of the electromechanical buttons 124 may have a particular assigned function. In some cases, it is contemplated that the particular function of each of the electromechanical buttons 124 may be adjustable or programmable, and may for example be assignable by the controller 98 (FIG. 3) and/or user [0043]. It should be noted that Buckley does not impose any limitations on the ability to set a temperature setpoint.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to modify the proposed system of Madonna to include wherein the at least one light switch thermostat further allows two setpoints to be selected for a temperature and an ability to set the temperature a minimum of two times each day, as taught by Buckley.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a user-friendly means for setting an acceptable predetermined temperature range, between two temperature set points, for the air-conditioning system to monitor and maintain.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Choi (US 20170017531 A1) and Kim (US 20160285717 A1).
In re claim 9. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the light switch thermostat further comprises a drop down menu on the screen to adjust brightness.
Regarding the limitation; Choi (US 20170017531 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding electronic devices, a consideration for an information display device which may include, for example, information such as device-on attributes, device-off attributes, attributes of adjusting a size or brightness of an output screen, attributes of changing the source of an image, or attributes of adjusting a volume of the audio output and the like. The door device may include door opening attributes, door closing attributes, door lock setting attributes, and the like. [0053]
Choi lacks distinctly disclosing a drop-down menu. However; Kim (US 20160285717 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding electronic devices, a consideration for controls over lamp brightness and an interactive menu which can be, for example, a full drop down menu [0241]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied the drop-down menu disclosed by Kim to the brightness controls taught by Choi. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this modification would be an effective means effectively utilizing limited space on a touch screen interface by allowing options to collapse or extended with the use of a drop down menu, providing a better user experience for navigating to additional features such as brightness.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to modify the proposed system of Madonna to include wherein the at least one light switch thermostat further comprises a drop down menu on the screen to adjust brightness, as taught by the combination of Kim and Choi.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kring (US 20190107307 A1).
In re claim 11. Madonna discloses The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, further comprising a controller (central host controller 140) configured to connect to the internet via WiFi [FIG.1], wherein the controller is configured to communicate with the light switch thermostat, the HVAC control module, and the wireless damper sensor (“Optionally, the central host controller 140 may also send control commands to the smart light switch/thermostat 200, or directly to other in-room devices 110, to change state (e.g., lighting, music, etc.) to prepare for guest arrival. At step 460, the climate control device (e.g., PTAC), and optionally other in-room devices 110, execute the commands.”; [0034, 0043-0045; FIG.4]).
Madonna lacks the following underlined limitations:
… configured to connect to the internet via WiFi, wherein the zone communication controller is configured to communicate with the light switch thermostat, the HVAC control module, and the wireless damper sensor.
Regarding the limitation; Kring (US 20190107307 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding management for HVAC systems, a consideration for a control processor 106 which may be an AC-powered device, having multiple wireless connections, including a network interface 116 to a data network 118 (e.g., an Internet connection). The system 100 further includes a control processor 106 that may be separate from the HVAC system controller 104, or may form a shared control device 108 (e.g., a central control computer) with the HVAC system controller 104. The control processor 106 is in communication with the HVAC system controller 104 and may be further communicatively connected to one or more vent registers 110, one or more sensor modules 112, and/or communication devices 120 and other electronic devices 122 (e.g., personal computers, smart televisions, etc.). The control processor 106 is programmed and/or configured to direct the HVAC system 102 and/or the HVAC system controller 104 based on information received from the HVAC system 102, the HVAC system controller 104, one or more sensor modules 112, communication devices 120, and/or other electronic devices 122 [0050].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the zone communication controller is configured to communicate with a HVAC control module, and a wireless damper sensor, as taught by Kring.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would enable wireless communication between a light switch thermostat, a HVAC control module, and a wireless damper; effectively replacing the need for long cumbersome hardline wires for use in system wide communication.
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Mowery (US 20200132332 A1).
In re claim 12. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, further comprising first and second zones, wherein the wireless damper sensor is located within the first zone.
Regarding the limitation; Mowery (US 20200132332 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding wireless remote indoor sensor for home automation, a consideration for a first zone comprising: a first variable damper and a pair of remote sensors, as well as a second zone comprising: a second variable damper and a pair of remote sensors [Claim 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the wireless damper sensor located is within the first zone, as taught by Mowery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a zoning system with components located within one or more zones, enabling control over one or more zone environments.
In re claim 13. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 12, wherein the LED display of the wireless damper sensor is configured to indicate that the wireless damper sensor is within the first zone.
Regarding the limitation; “…LED display”, the limitations are similar to those disclosed in system of claim 1. For more information regarding the limitation, please see the rejection in re claim 1.
Regarding the remaining limitations; Zelczer (US20210140659A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding wireless environmental zone control, a consideration for a damper 104 which includes a microcontroller 702 for facilitating communication and control of the damper 104 with control box 108 [0067]. The damper 104 also includes an LED indicator 714 that is configured to blink a corresponding zone color which can further assist a contractor or administrator in configuring the system 100 and setting up zone [0070]. Accordingly, Zelczer teaches a damper 104 which is configured with an LED display which can blink a corresponding zone color. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably understand that the LED display taught by Zelczer indicates what zone the damper is located in, for example a first or second zone among a plurality of zones.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the LED display of the wireless damper sensor is configured to indicate that the wireless damper sensor is within the first zone, as taught by Zelczer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a damper system that is configured to blink a corresponding zone color which can further assist a contractor or administrator in configuring the system and setting up zone [0070].
In re claim 14. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 12, wherein, the wireless damper sensor is a first wireless damper sensor, the wireless zoning further comprises a second wireless damper sensor, and the second wireless damper sensor is located within the second zone.
Regarding the limitation; Mowery (US 20200132332 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding wireless remote indoor sensor for home automation, a consideration for a first zone comprising: a first variable damper and a pair of remote sensors, as well as a second zone comprising: a second variable damper and a pair of remote sensors [Claim 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein, the wireless damper sensor is a first wireless damper sensor, the wireless zoning further comprises a second wireless damper sensor, and the second wireless damper sensor is located within the second zone, as taught by Mowery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a zoning system with components located within one or more zones, enabling control over one or more zone environments.
In re claim 15. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 14, wherein a LED display on the second wireless damper sensor is configured to indicate that the second wireless damper sensor is located within the second zone.
Regarding the limitation; the limitation is similar in scope to those disclosed in the system of claim 13. For more information regarding the limitations, please see the rejection in re claim 13.
In re claim 16. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 14, wherein the first zone and the second zone are set to different temperatures.
Regarding the limitation; Mowery (US 20200132332 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding wireless remote indoor sensor for home automation, a consideration for a first zone comprising: a first variable damper and a pair of remote sensors, as well as a second zone comprising: a second variable damper and a pair of remote sensors [Claim 1]. Mowery further discloses a system including a controller comprising: a memory configured to store current climate settings, wherein the current climate settings include a desired temperature and a desired humidity for a first zone, a desired temperature and desired humidity for a second zone. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably understand that the system of Mowery is enabled to set different desired temperatures for a first and a second zone.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the first zone and the second zone are set to different temperatures, as taught by Mowery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would yield a zoning system capable of controlling temperature values over one or more zone environments.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Yagy (US 20200248914 A1).
In re claim 18. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the HVAC control module is configured to provide power to the wireless damper sensor.
Regarding the limitation; Yagy (US 20200248914 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding a printed circuit board of an HVAC controller, a consideration for an HVAC controller configured to control a fan motor and other HVAC components which may include a printed circuit board (PCB) having a processor and a transformer disposed on the PCB [0015]. Yagy further discloses that, traditional HVAC systems may include several discrete power and control components utilized to power and control various air flow components, such as a fan, a damper, a sensor, and/or an electric heater of the HVAC system [0014]. In some embodiments, the PCB 32 also includes a converter 46 configured to receive the step-down voltage, for example the step-down voltage of 24 VAC, and convert it to 24 VDC. The 24 VDC power can be output, via a power output port 40, to external devices, such as a fan motor, a damper, a sensor, etc. [0027; FIG.2-3].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein HVAC control module is configured to provide power to the wireless damper sensor, as taught by Yagy.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a basic hard-wire connection for providing power to system components such as dampers.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Pridemore (US 20180087799 A1).
In re claim 20. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the wireless damper sensor is coupled to the damper and configured to provide power to the damper.
Regarding the limitation, Pridemore (US 20180087799 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding control for damper blades, a consideration for a direct drive controller 804 configured to receive wireless signals via a wireless controller interface 906 and comprising a tether 806 to a damper 802 in order to provide communications and power [0037; FIG.9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the wireless damper sensor is coupled to the damper and configured to provide power to the damper, as taught by Pridemore.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a wireless damper sensor which is enabled to power dampers for operational response to environmental conditions.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Gonia (US 20200173680 A1).
In re claim 21. Madonna lacks The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the light switch thermostat, the HVAC control module, and the wireless damper sensor are configured to communicate via a ZigBee communication protocol.
Regarding the limitation; Gonia (US 20200173680 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding a HVAC controller with a zone mode, considerations dependent upon the application and/or where the HVAC user is located, remote access and/or control of the HVAC controller 18 may be provided over the first network 54 and/or the second network 58. A variety of remote wireless devices 62 may be used to access and/or control the HVAC controller 18 from a remote location (e.g. remote from the HVAC Controller 18) over the first network 54 and/or second network 58 including, but not limited to, mobile phones including smart phones, tablet computers, laptop or personal computers, wireless network-enabled key fobs, e-readers, and/or the like. In many cases, the remote wireless devices 62 are configured to communicate wirelessly over the first network 54 and/or second network 58 with the HVAC controller 18 via one or more wireless communication protocols including, but not limited to, cellular communication, ZigBee, REDLINK™, Bluetooth, WiFi, IrDA, dedicated short range communication (DSRC), EnOcean, and/or any other suitable common or proprietary wireless protocol, as desired [0036, 0039-0041]. It should be noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Gonia teaches a similar wireless HVAC zoning system which utilizes ZigBee communication. Furthermore, Gonia teaches that ZigBee is a known, common, or proprietary wireless communication protocol.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include wherein the light switch thermostat, the HVAC control module, and the wireless damper sensor are configured to communicate via a ZIGBee communication protocol, as taught by Gonia.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a basic hard-wire connection for providing power to system components.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Puffer (US 20190360649 A1).
In re claim 25. Madonna (US 20190277529 A1) discloses The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the PCB of the light switch thermostat is a sensor PCB ([0027] The sensors that interface with the smart light switch/thermostat 200 may include a passive infrared (PIR) occupancy sensor, an active ultrasonic occupancy sensor, a humidity sensor, various types of automation state sensors and the like. In some implementations, at least some sensors (e.g., the passive infrared (PIR) occupancy sensor) are built into the smart light switch/thermostat 200 and communicate via an internal bus of the device. Other sensors, for example, housed in a separate smart sensor unit 122, may communicate with the smart light switch/thermostat, for example, via a WPAN (e.g., BLE), and the light switch thermostat (200) further comprises: a power PCB (power board 270); a relay or a triac fixed on the power PCB ([0038; FIG.2A] A power board 270 of the smart light switch/thermostat 200 may be coupled to the main board 210 via DC current and relay control wires, and may include a power relay 280 that switches the line conductor to the load conductor (e.g., to power a light fixture wired through the smart light switch/thermostat 200) and an AC to DC power supply 290 that powers the smart light switch/thermostat 200 using the line conductor and the natural conductor.); a control PCB ([FIG.2A] processor 250 main board 210); a first microcontroller including a WiFi module fixed on the control PCB (wireless interface 240); fixed on the control PCB [FIG.2A].
Madonna lacks the following underlined limitations:
…and a second microcontroller including a Zigbee module fixed on the control PCB.
Regarding the limitation; “…and a second microcontroller including a Zigbee module”, Puffer (US 20190360649 A1) discloses in a similar invention, regarding ventilation methods, a consideration for a controller (200) including a Zigbee module “[0075] The ventilation and lighting system 100 may include a communications module for transmitting and receiving signals from the wall-mounted controller 200 and/or mobile device 232 executing the control program 230. For example, the communications module may implement wireless communications according to known protocols such as Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Zigbee, infrared, dedicated control wiring, signal-over-power, and/or other suitable protocols to communicate with the wall-mounted controller 200 and/or mobile device 232.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant application was filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a second microcontroller including a Zigbee module, as taught by Puffer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the benefits of this modification as it would provide a commonly known communication protocol for operating communications and signal processing within a system.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Choi (US 20170017531 A1).
In re claim 29. (Previously Presented) The wireless zoning system according to Claim 1, wherein the light switch comprises display on a front of the light switch thermostat ([0023] The smart light switch/thermostat 200 may include a screen (e.g., a touch sensitive LCD screen) that encompasses a substantial portion of its front face and is configured to provide a portion of a user interface.) and is configured to allow a user to turn on a light by pressing the display ([0026] Each smart light bulb 116 may be individually activated, dimmed, and/or have its color changed in response to control commands from the smart light switch/thermostat 200.).
Madonna lacks the following underlined limitations:
wherein the light switch comprises an icon displayed on a front of the light switch thermostat
Regarding the limitation: Choi (US 20170017531 A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [0196] a lighting control icon 1560 associated with controlling the operation of a living room light switch, and an e-book control icon 1570 based on selection of an e-book application item. When the lighting control icon 1560 is selected, the electronic device 100 may output a screen interface (e.g., for turning on lighting, turning off the lighting, and adjusting brightness of the lighting) associated with controlling the lighting as a pop-up window or a new window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include an icon with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of providing a recognizable element for lighting controls for users or operators.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madonna (US 20190277529 A1), Stakutis (US 20130260668 A1), Sinha (US-20200141608-A1), Ni (US20170115021A1), Jonas (US 20160201935 A1), Zelczer (US 20210140659 A1), and Benefield (US 20200056804 A1), as applied to claim 17 above and further in view of Chen (US-9775222-B1), Oppermann (US-20060255164-A1).
In re claim 30. (Previously Presented) Madonna (US 20190277529 A1) discloses The wireless zoning system according to Claim 17, wherein the one or more LEDs configured to indicate the status of the HVAC equipment (“The PTAC monitor and control module 114 may include one or more relays that drive conventional HVAC wiring (e.g., W1, W2, Y1, Y2, G, O), at least one auxiliary relay (e.g., for a NO terminal, NC terminal and COM terminal), status and onboarding LEDs, and a wireless interface (e.g., a BLE radio and/or WiFi radio), among other components. Use of a PTAC monitor and control module 114 may permit the smart light switch/thermostat 200 to be located in any convenient location within the room, absent a need to run thermostat control wiring to the PTAC.”; [0025, 0038 (LEDs 230)).
Madonna lacks the following underlined limitations:
comprise a first LED indicating a power status, a second LED indicating a mode, a third LED indicating a humidity status, and fourth LED indicating a dehumidify status.
Regarding the limitation(s): “…a first LED indicating a power status, a second LED indicating a mode” Oppermann (US-20060255164-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [0044] The LEDs 122 may include a power on LED 122 a, a bucket-full and/or low temperature indicator LED 122 b, a high fan speed LED 122 c, and a low fan speed LED 122 n.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a first LED indicating a power status, a second LED indicating a mode with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Oppermann, for the benefit of providing a visual indicator for user convenience.
Regarding the limitation(s): “…a third LED indicating a humidity status” Chen (US-9775222-B1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [col.8 ln.22] As described above, the wireless detection and control device 2 can not only control the LED lamp A″ according to the light detection signal S2, the temperature detection signal S2′ and the humidity detection signal S2″ for the LED lamp A″ to operate according to the light detection signal S,2 the temperature detection signal S2′ and the humidity detection signal S2…″.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a third LED indicating a humidity status with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Chen, for the benefit of providing a visual indicator for user convenience.
Regarding the limitation(s): “…fourth LED indicating a dehumidify status” Oppermann (US-20060255164-A1) discloses in a similar invention field of endeavor, a consideration for [0008] The one or more LEDs indicate various operating modes of the dehumidification system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the instant application was effectively filed to adapt the modified system of Madonna to include a fourth LED indicating a dehumidify status with a reasonable expectation for success, as taught by Oppermann, for the benefit of providing a visual indicator for user convenience.
Conclusion
It should be noted that there exists prior art which is pertinent to significant though unclaimed features of the defined invention or directed to the state of art. The following is a brief description of relevant prior art cited but not applied:
Thomsen (US-20040047776-A1) discloses in a similar invention, a consideration for 54. The method of claim 59, further comprising: collecting air samples by a sampling tube received within the air sampling port.
Desmet (US-20160018119-A1) discloses in a similar invention, a consideration for [0077] A smart light switch could include sensors (130, 140, 150, 180). Such a smart light switch could be retrofitted within a space to provide information from sensors (130, 140, 150, 180) to master control system (160). A smart light switch may also comprise master control system (160) in addition to or in lieu of sensors (130, 140, 150, 180). Such a smart light switch could be retrofitted within a space to operate as master control system (160) of exemplary thermal comfort control system (100) by controlling any existing HVAC system (170), fan(s) (110), and/or any other climate and environmental control products.
Foster (US-20140244043-A1) discloses in a similar invention, a consideration for a combo controller.
Chema (US-20190297712-A1) discloses in a similar invention, a consideration for a smart light switch.
Lark (US 20180070424 A1) discloses in a similar invention, a consideration for a smart light switch apparatus and face plate fitting components together [FIG.1A].
See PTO-892: Notice of references cited.
Contact
/M.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3663