DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Becker US4189976 (hereinafter, Becker).
Regarding claim 1, Becker discloses a fastener (see Fig. 1), comprising:
a threaded shank (26, see Fig. 1) having a longitudinal axis (Y, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1);
a head (20, see Fig. 1) attached to one end of the threaded shank (24, see Fig. 1), the head comprising:
a first full-height tightening surface (FFHTS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis (Y) of the shank (24) at a first position (P1, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) around the longitudinal axis (Y) of the threaded shank (24), and a first full-height loosening surface (FFHLS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) wherein the first full- height tightening surface (FFHTS) and the first full-height loosening surface (FFHLS) define a first full-height corner (FFHC, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1);
a first short-height tightening surface (FSHTS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3) positioned at a second position (P2, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees (refer to plurality of projections (36) in Figs. 1 and 4 positioned approximately 60, 120, 180, 240 or 300 degrees) around the longitudinal axis (Y) of the threaded shank (24) from the first position (P1), and a first short-height loosening surface (FSHLS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) wherein the first short-height tightening surface (FSHTS) and the first short-height loosening surface (FSHLS) define a first short-height corner (FSHC, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4); and
wherein the first short-height tightening surface (FSHTS) is shorter than the first full-height tightening surface (FFHTS).
Annotated Fig. 1
Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding claim 3, Becker discloses the fastener according to claim 1, further comprising a second full-height tightening surface (SFHTS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3) positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis (Y) of the shank (24) at a third position (P3, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1) approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees (see Fig. 3) around the longitudinal axis (Y) of the threaded shank (24) from the first position (P1).
Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding claim 4, Becker discloses the fastener according to claim 3, further comprising a second short-height tightening surface (SSHTS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis (Y) of the shank (24) at a fourth position (P4, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees (see Fig. 4) around the longitudinal axis (Y) of the threaded shank (24) from the first position (P1), and wherein the second short-height tightening surface (SSHTS) is shorter than the first full-height tightening surface (FFHTS).
Regarding claim 5, Becker discloses the fastener according to claim 4, further comprising: a second full- height loosening surface (SFHLS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3) wherein the second full-height tightening surface (SFHTS) and the second full- height loosening surface (SFHLS) define a second full-height corner (SFHC, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3); and a second short-height loosening surface (SSHLS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) wherein the second short-height tightening surface (SSHTS) and the second short-height loosening surface (SSHLS) define a second short-height corner (SSHC, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Becker discloses the fastener according to claim 3, further comprising a third full-height tightening surface (TFHTS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3) positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis (Y) of the shank (24) at a fifth position (P5, as indicated in annotated Fig. 5) approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees (see Fig. 3) around the longitudinal axis (Y) of the threaded shank (24) from the first position (P1).
Regarding claim 7, Becker discloses the fastener according to claim 4, further comprising a third short-height third tightening surface (TSHTS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis (Y) of the shank (24) at a sixth position (P6, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees (see Fig. 4) around the longitudinal axis (Y) of the threaded shank (24), and wherein the third short-height tightening surface (TSHTS) is shorter than the first full-height tightening surface (FFHTS).
Regarding claim 8, Becker discloses the fastener according to claim 7, further comprising: a third full-height loosening surface (TFHLS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3) wherein the third full-height tightening surface (TFHTS) and the third full-height loosening surface (TFHLS) define a third full-height corner (TFHC, as indicated in annotated Fig. 3); and a third short-height loosening surface (TSHLS, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4) wherein the third short-height tightening surface (TSHTS) and the third short-height loosening surface (TSHLS) define a third short-height corner (TSHC, as indicated in annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Becker discloses the fastener according to claim 6, wherein the first, second, and third full-height tightening surfaces (FFHTS, SFHTS, TFHTS respectively) are substantially the same height (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Becker discloses the fastener according to claim 7, wherein the first, second, and third short-height tightening surfaces (FSHTS, SSHTS, TSHTS respectively) are substantially the same height (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Becker discloses the fastener according to claim 1, wherein the head (20) further comprises a platform (44, see Fig. 1), wherein the platform (44) is attached to the threaded shank (22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker.
Regarding claim 19, [A fastener, comprising:
a threaded shank having a longitudinal axis;
a head attached to one end of the threaded shank, the head comprising:
a first full-height lug positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis of the shank at a first position around the longitudinal axis of the threaded shank;
a first short-height lug positioned at a second position approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees around the longitudinal axis of the threaded shank from the first position; and
wherein the first short-height lug is shorter than the first full-height lug],
(Portion of claim 19 is substantially similar to portion of claim 1 where first full height tightening surface and first full height loosening surface make up a full height lug, similarly first short-height tightening surface and first short-height loosening surface make up a short height lug. Therefore, Becker makes obvious and teaches the claimed limitations. Please see rejection set forth above for claim 1.)
Becker fails to teach wherein opposite sides of at least one lug form an angle of at least 30 degrees.
Becker does teach opposite sides of at least one lug form an angle of 0 degrees, however changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of the lug forming an angle of at least 30 degrees. Therefore, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle of the opposite sides of the lug to be at least 30 degrees as an obvious change in shape. MPEP2144.04 (iv)(b).
Regarding claim 14, The fastener according to claim 19, further comprising a second full-height lug positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis of the shank at a third position approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees around the longitudinal axis of the threaded shank from the first position.
(Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 3. Therefore, Becker makes obvious and meets the limitations of claim 14. Please refer to rejection set forth above for claim 3)
Regarding claim 15, The fastener according to claim 19, further comprising a second short-height lug positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis of the shank at a fourth position approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees around the longitudinal axis of the threaded shank from the first position, and wherein the second short-height lug is shorter than the first full-height lug.
(Claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 4. Therefore, Becker makes obvious and meets the limitations of claim 15. Please refer to rejection set forth above for claim 4)
Regarding claim 16, The fastener according to claim 14, further comprising a third full-height lug positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis of the shank at a fifth position approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees around the longitudinal axis of the threaded shank from the first position.
(Claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 6. Therefore, Becker makes obvious and meets the limitations of claim 16. Please refer to rejection set forth above for claim 6)
Regarding claim 17, The fastener according to claim 15, further comprising a third short-height lug positioned parallel to the longitudinal axis of the shank at a sixth position approximately 60, 120, 180, 240, or 300 degrees around the longitudinal axis of the threaded shank from the first position, and wherein the third short-height lug is shorter than the first full-height lug.
(Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 7. Therefore, Becker makes obvious and meets the limitations of claim 17. Please refer to rejection set forth above for claim 7)
Regarding claim 18, Becker teaches the fastener according to claim 19, but fails to teach wherein sides of at least two adjacent lugs form an angle of at least 90 degrees.
Becker does teach sides of two adjacent lugs from angle of 0 degrees, however changes in shape have been established to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art in the absence of a persuasive evidence that the particular configuration was significant. The disclosure does not provide any evidence of the criticality of the shape of the lug forming an angle of at least 90 degrees. Therefore, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle of the sides between adjacent lug to be at least 90 degrees as an obvious change in shape. MPEP2144.04 (iv)(b).
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker in view of MacLean et al., US4269248 (hereinafter, MacLean).
Regarding claim 12, Becker teaches the fastener according to claim 1, but fails to teach a top central surface that is shorter than the first full-height tightening surface.
However, MacLean teaches a top central surface (20, see Fig. 1) shorter than the first full height tightening surface (A, as indicated in annotated Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to have modified the Becker to incorporate teaching of MacLean to save material, cost and cut down the weight of the fastener.
Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding claim 20, Becker teaches the fastener according to claim 19, further MacLean teaches a top central surface (20) that is shorter than the first full-height lug (12A, see Fig. 1).
(Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 12. Therefore, Becker in view of MacLean make obvious and teaches the limitations of claim 20. Please see rejection and rationale set forth for claim 12)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peter Unseld et al., US20130195581, discloses a Nut with plurality of full height and short height lugs with tightening surfaces and loosening surfaces, and a platform.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DIL K. MAGAR/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/WILLIAM D HUTTON JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3674