DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the Application No. 17214723 filed on 06/17/2026. Claims 1-36 are presented for examination and are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on
06/17/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
4. The Applicants argument regarding the prior art have been considered and the Examiner is withdrawing the rejections in the previous Office action because Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection presented in this Office Action.
It is noted that arguments regarding independent claims 1, 10, 19 and 28 have
been considered but are moot because new references have now been used to remap the independent claims 1, 10, 19 and 28.
Furthermore, Badin, Nurvitadhi, Woolley, Nagy, Abdelaziz and Theverapperuma which were applied in the previous Office Action are still relevant to the instant dependent claims. As a result, their teachings have been used in this Office Action.
The dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, 20-27 and 29-36 which depend directly or
indirectly from independent claims 1, 10, 19 and 28 are not allowable because the instant claims are still obvious over the prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 9, 10, 17, 18, 19, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021)
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches one or more processors (In other embodiments, the artificial neural network may be implemented using a hardware accelerator, such as a neural processing unit (NPU) [0027]; In addition, some embodiments can be configured for various processing architectures, such as ... graphics processing units (GPUs) [0096]; The Examiner notes according to the instant specification “In at least one embodiment, that GPU then uses dedicated circuitry”[0406]),
comprising: circuitry to perform an operation using at least one tensor (In other embodiments, the artificial neural network may be implemented using a hardware accelerator, such as ... an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) [0063]; As shown in FIG. 2, CNN 200 can be configured to receive an initial feature map 201 [0036]; The Examiner notes initial feature map 201 is a tensor)
by at least: identifying a first one or more portions of the at least one tensor (For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 [0039]. The Examiner notes input group 221 is a first portion of initial feature map 201) from a memory (The data stored in host memory 721 may be transferred to accelerator architecture 700 to be used for executing neural network models [0089]),
wherein a height dimension and a width dimension of the one or more first identified portions are equal (FIG. 2 depicts an exemplary logical diagram of a convolutional neural network (CNN 200) configured to use the unconventional convolutional layer described in FIG. 1 [0035]; As shown, input group 101 b can have the same size as input group 103 a [0030]; Though depicted in FIG. 1 as including two groups of channels (e.g., input group 101 a and input group 103 a) [0028]; In some embodiments, each channel in a group of channels can have the same size. Each channel in a group of channels may further have the same width and height [0029]);
identifying a second one or more portions of the at least one tensor (For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 [0039]. The Examiner notes input group 222 is a second of initial feature map 201) from the memory (The data stored in host memory 721 may be transferred to accelerator architecture 700 to be used for executing neural network models [0089]),
wherein the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions are differently sized (As shown, the size of input group 221 can be larger than the size of input group 222 [0039]); and
generating one or more outputs by using a combination of the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions (For example, input group 221 and input group 222 can be provided to a high frequency convolutional sub-layer and a low-frequency convolutional sub-layer, which may generate an output feature map including output group 223 and output group 224 [0039], Fig. 2).
Han does not explicitly teach the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions are differently shaped.
Lin teaches the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions are differently shaped (a feature map divided into multiple data blocks [0020]; input feature map may be divided into two uneven sizes of 2 and 6, which results in four subtensor shapes: 6×6, 2×6, 6×2, and 2×2 [0034]).
Since Han as primary reference desires differently sized portions of input feature maps by teaching the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 ... the size of input group 221 can be larger that the size of input group 222 [0039], and Lin as secondary reference teaches input feature map may be divided into two uneven sizes [0034], then, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han to incorporate the teachings of Lin for the benefit of a convolution neural network accelerator involving a method of dividing data for transmission and merging in a convolution operation [0002] for an efficient storage scheme for reducing external memory bandwidth, which is aligned to the memory access patterns in modern CNN (Lin [0008])
Regarding claim 9, Han and Lin teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, Han teaches wherein the tensor represents one of: an input layer of a convolutional neural network or a feature map of an inner layer of the convolutional neural network (CNN 200 can be configured to generate the input feature map by providing the initial feature map to a sequence of layers. These layers can include a convolutional layer, and may include additional layers (e.g., an embeddings layer, a fully connected layer, or the like) [0037]).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 is similar to claim 1. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 17, Han and Lin teaches the method of claim 10, Han teaches where generating the one or more outputs further comprises: generating an output tensor (For example, input group 221 and input group 222 can be provided to a high frequency convolutional sub-layer and a low-frequency convolutional sub-layer, which may generate an output feature map including output group 223 and output group 224 [0039], Fig. 2. The Examiner notes that output group 223 and 224 are tensors).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is similar to claim 9 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 19, Han teaches a system, comprising a memory; and one or more processors, the one or more processors operatively coupled with the memory (The disclosed systems and methods include a system including at least one processor and at least one memory containing instructions. When executed by the at least one processor, the instructions can cause the system to perform operations [0003]),
to perform an operation using at least one tensor comprising (In other embodiments, the artificial neural network may be implemented using a hardware accelerator, such as ... an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC) [0063]; As shown in FIG. 2, CNN 200 can be configured to receive an initial feature map 201 [0036]; The Examiner notes initial feature map 201 is a tensor):
identifying, from the memory, first one or more portions to obtain a first output (For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 [0039]; The data stored in host memory 721 may be transferred to accelerator architecture 700 to be used for executing neural network models [0089]; CNN 200 is referred to hereafter as being implemented using a hardware accelerator [0035]. The Examiner notes input group 221 is a first portion of initial feature map 201),
wherein a height dimension and a width dimension of the one or more first identified portions are equal (FIG. 2 depicts an exemplary logical diagram of a convolutional neural network (CNN 200) configured to use the unconventional convolutional layer described in FIG. 1 [0035]; As shown, input group 101 b can have the same size as input group 103 a [0030]; Though depicted in FIG. 1 as including two groups of channels (e.g., input group 101 a and input group 103 a) [0028]; In some embodiments, each channel in a group of channels can have the same size. Each channel in a group of channels may further have the same width and height [0029]);
identifying, from the memory, a second one or more portions to obtain a second output (For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 [0039]; The data stored in host memory 721 may be transferred to accelerator architecture 700 to be used for executing neural network models [0089]; CNN 200 is referred to hereafter as being implemented using a hardware accelerator [0035].The Examiner notes input group 222 is a second of initial feature map 201),
the second one or more identified portions are differently sized from the first one or more identified portions (As shown, the size of input group 221 can be larger than the size of input group 222 [0039]); and
generating one or more outputs by using a combination of the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions (For example, input group 221 and input group 222 can be provided to a high frequency convolutional sub-layer and a low-frequency convolutional sub-layer, which may generate an output feature map including output group 223 and output group 224 [0039], Fig. 2).
Han does not explicitly teach the second one or more identified portions are differently shaped from the first one or more identified portions;
Lin teaches the second one or more identified portions are differently shaped from the first one or more identified portions (a feature map divided into multiple data blocks [0020]; input feature map may be divided into two uneven sizes of 2 and 6, which results in four subtensor shapes: 6×6, 2×6, 6×2, and 2×2 [0034]);
Since Han as primary reference desires differently sized portions of input feature maps by teaching the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 ... the size of input group 221 can be larger that the size of input group 222 [0039], and Lin as secondary reference teaches input feature map may be divided into two uneven sizes [0034], then, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han to incorporate the teachings of Lin for the benefit of a convolution neural network accelerator involving a method of dividing data for transmission and merging in a convolution operation [0002] for an efficient storage scheme for reducing external memory bandwidth, which is aligned to the memory access patterns in modern CNN (Lin [0008])
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is similar to claim 17. It is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is similar to claim 9 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
6. Claims 2, 8, 11, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) in view of Badin et al. (US20170270073) and further in view of Nurvitadhi et al. (US20180189638)
Regarding claim 2, Han and Lin teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, Han teaches wherein the first one or more identified portions are identified (For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 [0039]. The Examiner notes input group 221 is a first portion of initial feature map 201)
Han and Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the first technique is to cause the circuitry to: load data from a plurality of cells corresponding to the first one or more identified portions into a cache, wherein the first one or more identified portions correspond to one or more tiles of predetermined dimensions, and wherein the cache is accessible by one or more processing threads of the one or more processors.
Badin teaches wherein the first one or more identified portions correspond to one or more tiles of predetermined dimensions (The portions of data of the matrices representing all or a portion of a row or column of data of the matrices, such as the portions 306 a-306 d of matrix A 300 [0075]. The Examiner notes matrix 300 is a tensor, and the identified first portions are 306 a, 306 b, 306 c and 306 d in Fig. 3D-3F and tile portion 306 a of matrix A 300 and tile portion 308 a of matrix B 302 are of predetermined dimensions),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han and Lin to incorporate the teachings of Badin for the benefit of reducing or eliminating the amount of memory required to store the intermediate results [0027] in order to reduce the amount of storage space required (Badin [0051])
Han, Lin and Badin does not explicitly teach wherein the first technique is to cause the circuitry to: load data from a plurality of cells corresponding to the first one or more identified portions into a cache, and wherein the cache is accessible by one or more processing threads of the one or more processors.
Nurvitadhi teaches wherein the first one or more identified portions are identified using a first technique (FIG. 15a highlights paths (using dotted lines) for spMspV_csc [0157]; In particular, the processing elements 901-N may include hardware support for column and row-oriented matrix processing [0135]. The Examiner notes that CSC is a compressed sparse column [0139] and spMspV_csc as first technique),
wherein the first technique (The Examiner notes that CSC is a compressed sparse column [0139] and spMspV_csc as first technique) is to cause the circuitry to: load data from a plurality of cells corresponding to the first one or more identified portions into a cache (For example, the cache coherent interface 930 may implement a cache coherency protocol to ensure that data accessed/modified by the accelerator 900 and stored in the accelerator cache 907 [0132]),
and wherein the cache is accessible by one or more processing threads of the one or more processors (In one embodiment, coherency is maintained between one or more cache units 3706 and cores 3702-A-N [0277]; In some embodiments, one or more of the cores 3702A-N are capable of multithreading [0278]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han, Lin and Badin to incorporate the teachings of Nurvitadhi for the benefit of a processor that achieves extreme efficiencies and efficiently converts the available memory bandwidth provided to it into performance for matrix operations (Nurvitadhi [0154])
Regarding claim 8, Han and Lin teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, Han and Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the first one or more identified portions are identified using a first technique, wherein the second one or more identified portions are identified using a second technique, wherein generating one or more outputs by using a combination of the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions comprises: generating a first result using the first technique; generating a second result using the second technique; and generating an output tensor by combining the first result and the second result.
Badin teaches wherein the first one or more identified portions are identified (The portions of data of the matrices representing all or a portion of a row or column of data of the matrices, such as the portions 306 a-306 d of matrix A 300 [0075]. The Examiner notes matrix 300 is a tensor, and the identified first portions are 306 a, 306 b, 306 c and 306 d in Fig. 3D-3F)
wherein the second one or more identified portions are identified (The portions of data of the matrices representing all or a portion of a row or column of data of the matrices, such as … portions 308 a-308 d of matrix B 302 [0075]. The Examiner notes matrix 302 is a tensor, and the identified second portions are 308 a, 308 b, 308 c and 308 d in Fig. 3D-3F)
wherein generating one or more outputs (Fig. 3A-3F illustrate a non-limiting
example of matrix multiplication according to an embodiment. This example matrix multiplication involves the multiplication, or dot product, of matrix A 300 with matrix B 302 to produce a resultant matrix 304 [0043]) by using a combination of the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions (FIG. 3C illustrates an implementation of a partial matrix multiplication using the blocks 306 a, 308 a of matrices 300, 302, respectively [0049]) comprises:
generating a first result (The Examiner notes matrix 300 is a tensor, and the identified first portions are 306 a, 306 b, 306 c and 306 d in Fig. 3D-3F)
generating a second result (The Examiner notes matrix 302 is a tensor, and the identified second portions are 308 a, 308 b, 308 c and 308 d in Fig. 3D-3F)
and generating an output tensor (Fig. 3A-3F illustrate a non-limiting example of matrix multiplication according to an embodiment. This example matrix multiplication involves the multiplication, or dot product, of matrix A 300 with matrix B 302 to produce a resultant matrix 304 [0043]) by combining the first result and the second result (FIG. 3C illustrates an implementation of a partial matrix multiplication using the blocks 306 a, 308 a of matrices 300, 302, respectively [0049]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han and Lin to incorporate the teachings of Badin for the benefit of reducing or eliminating the amount of memory required to store the intermediate results [0027] in order to reduce the amount of storage space required (Badin [0051])
Han, Lin and Badin does not explicitly teach using first technique and second technique,
Nurvitadhi teaches wherein the first one or more identified portions are identified using a first technique (FIG. 15a highlights paths (using dotted lines) for spMspV_csc [0157]; In particular, the processing elements 901-N may include hardware support for column and row-oriented matrix processing [0135]. The Examiner notes that CSC is a compressed sparse column [0139] and spMspV_csc as first technique),
wherein the second one or more identified portions are identified using a second technique (FIG. 15b illustrates paths for a spMdV_csr operation [0157]; In particular, the processing elements 901-N may include hardware support for column and row-oriented matrix processing [0135]; The Examiner notes that CSR is a compressed sparse row [0139] and spMdV_csr as second technique),
comprises: generating a first result (The Examiner notes the Output Buf as the first result from Fig. 15a)
using the first technique (In particular, FIG. 15a highlights paths (using dotted lines) for spMspV_csc [0157]; The Examiner notes that CSR is a compressed sparse column [0139] and spMspV_csc as first technique);
generating a second result (The Examiner notes the Output Buf as the second output from Fig. 15b)
using the second technique (FIG. 15b illustrates paths for a spMdV_csr operation [0157]. The Examiner notes CSR is a compressed sparse row [0139] and spMdV_csr as second technique); and
generating an output tensor by combining the first result and the second result (The Examiner notes the arrows from output buffers from each PEs are the first and second results which are combined in the Reduction Unit 1404 of accelerator 900, Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han, Lin and Badin to incorporate the teachings of Nurvitadhi for the benefit of a processor that achieves extreme efficiencies and efficiently converts the available memory bandwidth provided to it into performance for matrix operations (Nurvitadhi [0154])
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is similar to claim 2 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is similar to claim 2 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
7. Claims 3-5, 12-14 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) in view of Badin et al. (US20170270073) in view of Nurvitadhi et al. (US20180189638) and further in view of Woolley jr. et al. (US20160162402 hereinafter “Woolley”)
Regarding claim 3, Han, Lin, Badin and Nurvitadhi teaches the one or more processors of claim 2, they do not explicitly teach wherein the operation comprises one or more convolution operations between a plurality of cell patches in the plurality of cells and a convolutional filter, each portion of the operation comprises the convolution operations for each cell, and each portion of the operation is performed by a separate processing thread of the one or more processing threads.
Woolley teaches wherein the operation comprises one or more convolution operations between a plurality of cell patches in the plurality of cells and a convolutional filter, each portion of the operation comprises the convolution operations for each cell (each of the thread groups configures the floating-point unit to perform matrix multiplication operations between the assigned image tile 542 and the corresponding filter tile 544 [0096]. The Examiner notes image tile 542 incudes plurality of cell patches), and
each portion of the operation is performed by a separate processing thread of the one or more processing threads (The convolution engine divides the virtual image matrix into separate image tiles and then assigns the processing of each image tile to a different thread group [0107]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han, Lin, Badin and Nurvitadhi to incorporate the teachings of Woolley so that the amount of parallel processing memory used can be dramatically reduced (Woolley [0011])
Regarding claim 4, Han, Lin, Badin, Nurvitadhi and Woolley teaches the one or more processors of claim 3, Woolley teaches wherein the convolutional filter (FIG. 4 illustrates an image batch 410, a filter stack 440, and an output batch 470 associated with a multi-convolution operation [0062])
comprises a plurality of weight values for a convolution layer of a convolutional neural network model (Consequently, the optimized performance of the matrix-based multi-convolution operation is relatively consistent across changes in the values of individual parameters [0072]; The multi-convolution operation corresponds to the predominant calculation involved in executing a particular convolution layer included in a CNN [0062]. The Examiner notes parameters to imply weights).
The same motivation to combine dependent claim 3 applies here.
Regarding claim 5, Han, Lin, Badin and Nurvitadhi teaches the processor of claim 2, they do not explicitly teach load padding elements or zero-padding cells corresponding to the first one or more portions into the cache.
Woolley teaches wherein the circuitry is further to: load padding elements or zero-padding cells corresponding to the one of the first one or more portions into the cache (For example, in some embodiments, the parameters 465 may include a padding height and a padding width. The padding height and the padding width append, respectively, rows of zeros and columns of zeros to output images 480 included in the output batch 470 for any technical reason, such as formatting for future operations [0066]; The L1 cache 384 supports, among other things, load and store operations performed by the execution units [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han, Lin, Badin and Nurvitadhi to incorporate the teachings of Woolley so that the amount of parallel processing memory used can be dramatically reduced (Woolley [0011])
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 is similar to claim 3 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is similar to claim 4 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is similar to claim 5 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 21, Han, Lin, Badin and Nurvitadhi teaches the system of claim 20, they do not explicitly teach wherein the operation comprises: performing convolution operations between a plurality of cell patches in the plurality of cells and a convolutional filter to generate the first output, wherein the convolution operations for each cell in the first output are performed by a separate processing thread of the one or more processing threads.
Woolley teaches wherein the operation comprises: performing convolution operations between a plurality of cell patches in the plurality of cells and a convolutional filter to generate the first output (The pipeline then performs matrix multiplication operations between the image tile and a filter tile to generate a contribution of the image tile to an output matrix (abstract); The Examiner notes the output matrix (or output tensor) is the first tiled technique output of the operation between image tile and a filter tile),
wherein the convolution operations for each cell in the first output are performed by a separate processing thread of the one or more processing threads (The convolution engine divides the virtual image matrix into separate image tiles and then assigns the processing of each image tile to a different thread group [0107]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han, Lin, Badin and Nurvitadhi to incorporate the teachings of Woolley so that the amount of parallel processing memory used can be dramatically reduced (Woolley [0011])
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is similar to claim 4 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is similar to claim 5 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
8. Claims 6, 15, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) in view of Badin et al. (US20170270073)in view of Nurvitadhi et al. (US20180189638) and further in view of Nagy et al. (US20210241082 filed 04/09/2019)
Regarding claim 6, Han , Lin, Badin and Nurvitadhi teaches the one or more processors of claim 2, Nurvitadhi teaches wherein the circuitry is further to (FIG. 10 illustrates another view of accelerator 900 and other components previously described including a data management unit 905, a plurality of processing elements 901-N [0135], Fig. 9 and 10):
access a second one or more identified portions of the at least one tensor from the memory (For the spMdV_csr, the x vector subset is loaded in to the PE's RAM 1421. DMU 905 streams in matrix row elements (i.e., {A.val,A.idx} pairs) from memory [0159])
Han , Lin, Badin and Nurvitadhi does not explicitly teach make a determination that the second one or more identified portions have smaller dimensions than the predetermined dimensions; and access the second one or more identified portions of the at least one tensor from the memory responsive to the determination.
Nagy teaches make a determination that the second one or more identified portions have smaller dimensions than the predetermined dimensions (The stride value may also be used to determine whether the result store 439 may store results of more than one output area, … the size of the resulting output area will be smaller than the size of corresponding input areas [0168]); and
access the second one or more identified portions of the at least one tensor from the memory responsive to the determination (For hardware resources, M may determine the amount of parallel processing elements 418 and R may determine the physical capacity of the result store 439 in each processing element 418 [0162]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han, Lin, Badin and Nurvitadhi to incorporate the teachings of Nagy for the benefit of accessing and processing of data, such as by applying convolution operations, which may be flexibly adapted to various scenarios, which efficiently exploits available resources, and handles bandwidth issues with regard to exchange of input and output data processed by the accelerator apparatus (Nagy [0007]).
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is similar to claim 6 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is similar to claim 6 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
9. Claims 7, 16, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) in view of Nurvitadhi et al. (US20180189638) and further in view of Abdelaziz et al. (US20210326686 filed 06/12/2020)
Regarding claim 7, Han and Lin teaches the one or more processors of claim 1, Han teaches the second one or more identified portions are identified (For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 [0039]. The Examiner notes input group 222 is a second of initial feature map 201)
Han and Lin does not explicitly teach using second technique,
Nurvitadhi teaches wherein the second technique is to cause the circuitry to (FIG. 15b illustrates paths for a spMdV_csr operation [0157]; The Examiner notes that CSR is a compressed sparse row [0139]):
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han and Lin to incorporate the teachings of Nurvitadhi for the benefit of a processor that achieves extreme efficiencies and efficiently converts the available memory bandwidth provided to it into performance for matrix operations (Nurvitadhi [0154])
Han, Lin and Nurvitadhi does not explicitly teach apply a transformation to one or more blocks of the at least one tensor to unroll the one or more blocks into at least one two-dimensional (2D) tensor; load the at least one 2D tensor into a cache; and perform, using data in the cache, a convolution operation between a convolutional filter and the at least one tensor, via general matrix multiply, to obtain a second output.
Abdelaziz teaches apply a transformation to one or more blocks of the at least one tensor to unroll the one or more blocks (In one embodiment, the PE units are configured to unroll in one or more selected dimensions of the input feature map, convolution kernel, and/or output feature map, and perform parallel dot-product computations in the unrolled dimension(s) [0028])
into at least one two-dimensional (2D) tensor (In one embodiment, the 2D array of PE units is invoked for performing dot-product computations for computing a layer of the neural network, such as a convolution layer of the CNN, in parallel [0028]; In one embodiment, the size of register files per PE (RF/PE) is reduced by unrolling in one or two of the kernel dimensions [0032]);
load the at least one 2D tensor into a cache (For example, input a0 is fed to the PE units in row 412 of the tile, input a1 is fed to the PE units in row 414 of the tile, and input a15 is fed to the PE units in row 416 of the tile [0060]; In the weight stationary architecture, given that the weight data may be preloaded into the register files of the various PE units [0032]. The Examiner notes register in the PE unit as cache); and
perform, using data in the cache, a convolution operation between a convolutional filter and the at least one tensor, via general matrix multiply, to obtain a second output (In performing the convolution computation during the first processing cycle, inputs a0-a15 are multiplied with weight B0 of kernel column 406 (in the various input channels), which is stored in the PE units of column 400 of the tile, for generating a partial sum of output pixel a0 [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han, Lin and Nurvitadhi to incorporate the teachings of Abdelaziz for the benefit of performing parallel dot-product computations in the unrolled dimension(s) which may thus accelerate the computation of the neural network layer (Abdelaziz [0028])
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is similar to claim 7 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is similar to claim 7 and it is rejected in the same manner and reasoning applying.
10. Claims 28 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) and further in view of Theverapperuma et al. (US20220024485 filed 07/24/2020)
Regarding claim 28, Han teaches one or more cameras (Initial feature map 201 can comprise feature values received from a sensor or another device (e.g., a camera of a device implementing CNN 200, or a remote camera) [0036]); and
one or more cameras to capture at least one image (For example, when CNN 200 receives sensor data from a digital camera, the initial feature map may include three channels, each corresponding to one of the red, green, and blue channels of the digital camera sensor data [0036]; input (e.g., image data) [0051]), and
an operation using at least one tensor corresponding to the at least one image as an operand by at least (Initial feature map 201 can comprise feature values received from a sensor or another device (e.g., a camera of a device implementing CNN 200, or a remote camera). The feature values can be intensity values for inputs (e.g. the intensity of light impinging on a pixel in a CMOS or CCD array). For example, when CNN 200 receives sensor data from a digital camera, the initial feature map may include three channels, each corresponding to one of the red, green, and blue channels of the digital camera sensor data [0036]. The Examiner notes initial feature map 201 is a tensor):
identifying a first one or more portions of at least one tensor (For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 [0039]. The Examiner notes input group 221 is a first portion of initial feature map 201) from a memory (The data stored in host memory 721 may be transferred to accelerator architecture 700 to be used for executing neural network models [0089]),
wherein a height dimension and a width dimension of the one or more first identified portions are equal (FIG. 2 depicts an exemplary logical diagram of a convolutional neural network (CNN 200) configured to use the unconventional convolutional layer described in FIG. 1 [0035]; As shown, input group 101 b can have the same size as input group 103 a [0030]; Though depicted in FIG. 1 as including two groups of channels (e.g., input group 101 a and input group 103 a) [0028]; In some embodiments, each channel in a group of channels can have the same size. Each channel in a group of channels may further have the same width and height [0029]);
identifying a second one or more portions of the at least one tensor (For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 [0039]. The Examiner notes input group 222 is a second of initial feature map 201) from the memory (The data stored in host memory 721 may be transferred to accelerator architecture 700 to be used for executing neural network models [0089]),
wherein the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions are differently sized (As shown, the size of input group 221 can be larger than the size of input group 222 [0039]); and
generating one or more outputs by using a combination of the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions (For example, input group 221 and input group 222 can be provided to a high frequency convolutional sub-layer and a low-frequency convolutional sub-layer, which may generate an output feature map including output group 223 and output group 224 [0039], Fig. 2).
Han does not explicitly teach an autonomous vehicle comprising: one or more cameras; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the one or more cameras to capture at least one image, and the one or more processors to use one or more trained neural networks to process an operation using at least one tensor corresponding to the at least one image:, the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions are differently shaped.
Lin teaches the first one or more identified portions and the second one or more identified portions are differently shaped (a feature map divided into multiple data blocks [0020]; input feature map may be divided into two uneven sizes of 2 and 6, which results in four subtensor shapes: 6×6, 2×6, 6×2, and 2×2 [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han to incorporate the teachings of Lin for the benefit of a convolution neural network accelerator involving a method of dividing data for transmission and merging in a convolution operation [0002] for an efficient storage scheme for reducing external memory bandwidth, which is aligned to the memory access patterns in modern CNN (Lin [0008])
Han and Lin does not explicitly teach an autonomous vehicle comprising: one or more cameras; and one or more processors operatively coupled to the one or more cameras to capture at least one image, and the one or more processors to use one or more trained neural networks to process at least one tensor corresponding to the at least one image:
Theverapperuma teaches an autonomous vehicle (FIG. 1A is a simplified block diagram of an autonomous vehicle incorporating a controller system (referred to herein as an autonomous vehicle management system (AVMS)) according to certain embodiments [0014]) comprising:
one or more cameras (In certain embodiments, values of a set of features extracted from at least one camera image are processed to identify an edge represented in the at least one camera image, where the identified edge corresponds to an edge of an object in a physical environment or an edge of a drivable surface [0011]); and
one or more processors operatively coupled to the one or more cameras to capture at least one image (Each of the sensors in FIG. 4 is communicatively coupled to a respective pre-processing unit in the pre-processing subsystem 410. For example, camera 402 may be configured to provide image data to a pre-processing unit 412, camera 404 may be configured to provide image data to a pre-processing unit 414 [0091]), and
the one or more processors to use one or more trained neural networks to process at least one tensor corresponding to the at least one image (The feature extractor 422 can be implemented as a neural network that has been trained (e.g., through supervised learning and backpropagation) to generate a vector or multi-dimensional tensor for input to each of the modules 424, 426, and 428. The vector or multi-dimensional tensor is an abstract representation of a 2D image that combines information from the individual camera images [0094]) by:
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han and Lin to incorporate the teachings of Theverapperuma for the benefit of implementing a neural network that has been trained to generate a vector or multi-dimensional tensor for input (Theverapperuma [0094])
Regarding claim 36, Han, Lin and Theverapperuma teaches the autonomous vehicle of claim 28, Theverapperuma teaches wherein the tensor (The feature extractor 422 can be implemented as a neural network that has been trained … to generate a vector or multi-dimensional tensor for input to each of the modules 424, 426, and 428. The vector or multi-dimensional tensor is an abstract representation of a 2D image that combines information from the individual camera images. The feature extractor 422 typically includes many layers (e.g., on the order of a hundred) that perform various mathematical operations, including convolution and pooling operations [0094]) represents one of: an input layer of a convolutional neural network or a feature map of an inner layer of the convolutional neural network (Multipurpose CNN 740 may include a separate sub-network for each of its components, where each subnetwork includes at least one convolutional layer. For instance, the feature extractor 722 may correspond to a first set of layers, … and so on [0117]).
The same motivation to combine independent claim 28 applies here.
11. Claims 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) in view of Theverapperuma et al. (US20220024485 filed 07/24/2020) and further in view of Nurvitadhi et al. (US20180189638)
Regarding claim 29, Han, Lin and Theverapperuma teaches the autonomous vehicle of claim 28, Han teaches wherein the first one or more identified portions are identified (For example, as depicted in FIG. 2, the input feature map can include input group 221 and input group 222 [0039]. The Examiner notes input group 221 is a first portion of initial feature map 201)
Han, Lin and Theverapperuma does not explicitly teach using a first technique, wherein the first technique comprises loading data from a plurality of cells corresponding to the first one or more identified portions into a cache, wherein the first one or more identified portions include one or more tiles of predetermined dimensions, and wherein the cache is accessible by one or more processing threads of the processor.
Nurvitadhi teaches using a first technique, wherein the first technique (In particular, FIG. 15a highlights paths (using dotted lines) for spMspV_csc [0157]; The Examiner notes that CSR is a compressed sparse row [0139]) comprises loading data from a plurality of cells corresponding to the first one or more identified portions into a cache (For example, the cache coherent interface 930 may implement a cache coherency protocol to ensure that data accessed/modified by the accelerator 900 and stored in the accelerator cache 907 [0132]),
wherein the first one or more identified portions include one or more tiles of predetermined dimensions (The operation of each accelerator tile is summarized in FIG. 19. At 1901, the y vector (vdata) is loaded to the PE RAM 1421. At 1902, the x vector and column pointers are loaded to the aux buffer 1801. At 1903 [0182]), and
wherein the cache is accessible by one or more processing threads of the processor (In one embodiment, coherency is maintained between one or more cache units 3706 and cores 3702-A-N [0277]; In some embodiments, one or more of the cores 3702A-N are capable of multithreading [0278]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han, Lin and Theverapperuma to incorporate the teachings of Nurvitadhi for the benefit of a processor that achieves extreme efficiencies and efficiently converts the available memory bandwidth provided to it into performance for matrix operations (Nurvitadhi [0154])
12. Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) in view of Theverapperuma et al. (US20220024485 filed 07/24/2020) in view of Nurvitadhi et al. (US20180189638) and further in view of Woolley jr. et al. (US20160162402 hereinafter “Woolley”)
Regarding claim 30, Han, Lin, Theverapperuma and Nurvitadhi teaches the autonomous vehicle of claim 29, they do not explicitly teach wherein the operation comprises one or more convolution operations between a plurality of cell patches in the plurality of cells and a convolutional filter, and each portion of the operation comprises the convolution operations for each cell that are performed by a separate processing thread of the one or more processing threads.
Woolley teaches wherein the operation comprises one or more convolution operations between a plurality of cell patches in the plurality of cells and a convolutional filter, and each portion of the operation comprises the convolution operations for each cell (each of the thread groups configures the floating-point unit to perform matrix multiplication operations between the assigned image tile 542 and the corresponding filter tile 544 [0096]. The Examiner notes image tile 542 incudes plurality of cell patches), and
that are performed by a separate processing thread of the one or more processing threads (The convolution engine divides the virtual image matrix into separate image tiles and then assigns the processing of each image tile to a different thread group [0107]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han, Lin, Theverapperuma and Nurvitadhi to incorporate the teachings of Woolley so that the amount of parallel processing memory used can be dramatically reduced (Woolley [0011])
Regarding claim 31, Han, Lin, Theverapperuma, Nurvitadhi and Woolley teaches the autonomous vehicle of claim 30, Woolley teaches wherein the convolutional filter (FIG. 4 illustrates an image batch 410, a filter stack 440, and an output batch 470 associated with a multi-convolution operation [0062])
comprises a plurality of weight values for a convolution layer of a convolutional neural network model (Consequently, the optimized performance of the matrix-based multi-convolution operation is relatively consistent across changes in the values of individual parameters [0072]; The multi-convolution operation corresponds to the predominant calculation involved in executing a particular convolution layer included in a CNN [0062]).
The same motivation to combine dependent claim 30 applies here.
Regarding claim 32, Han, Lin, Theverapperuma and Nurvitadhi teaches the autonomous vehicle of claim 29, they do not explicitly teach load padding elements corresponding to the first one or more portions into the cache.
Woolley teaches wherein the circuitry is further to: load padding elements corresponding to the first one or more portions into the cache (For example, in some embodiments, the parameters 465 may include a padding height and a padding width. The padding height and the padding width append, respectively, rows of zeros and columns of zeros to output images 480 included in the output batch 470 for any technical reason, such as formatting for future operations [0066]; The L1 cache 384 supports, among other things, load and store operations performed by the execution units [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han, Lin, Theverapperuma and Nurvitadhi to incorporate the teachings of Woolley so that the amount of parallel processing memory used can be dramatically reduced (Woolley [0011])
13. Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) in view of Theverapperuma et al. (US20220024485 filed 07/24/2020) in view of Nurvitadhi et al. (US20180189638) and further in view of Nagy et al. (US20210241082 filed 04/09/2019)
Regarding claim 33, Han, Lin, Theverapperuma and Nurvitadhi teaches the autonomous vehicle of claim 29, they do not explicitly teach further comprising determining that the second one or more identified portions have smaller dimensions than the predetermined dimensions; and accessing the second one or more identified portions of the at least one tensor from the memory responsive to the determination.
Nagy teaches further comprising determining that the second one or more identified portions have smaller dimensions than the predetermined dimensions (The stride value may also be used to determine whether the result store 439 may store results of more than one output area, … the size of the resulting output area will be smaller than the size of corresponding input areas [0168]); and
accessing the second one or more identified portions of the at least one tensor from the memory responsive to the determination (For hardware resources, M may determine the amount of parallel processing elements 418 and R may determine the physical capacity of the result store 439 in each processing element 418 [0162]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han, Lin, Theverapperuma and Nurvitadhi to incorporate the teachings of Nagy for the benefit of accessing and processing of data, such as by applying convolution operations, which may be flexibly adapted to various scenarios, which efficiently exploits available resources, and handles bandwidth issues with regard to exchange of input and output data processed by the accelerator apparatus (Nagy [0007]).
14. Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) in view of Theverapperuma et al. (US20220024485 filed 07/24/2020) and further in view of Abdelaziz et al. (US20210326686 filed 06/12/2020)
Regarding claim 34, Han, Lin, Theverapperuma teaches the autonomous vehicle of claim 28, they do not explicitly teach further comprising: applying a transformation to one or more blocks of the at least one tensor to unroll the one or more blocks into at least one two-dimensional (2D) tensor; loading the at least one 2D tensor into a cache; and performing, using data in the cache, a convolution operation between a convolutional filter and the at least one tensor, via general matrix multiply, to obtain a second output.
Abdelaziz teaches further comprising: applying a transformation to one or more blocks of the at least one tensor to unroll the one or more blocks (In one embodiment, the PE units are configured to unroll in one or more selected dimensions of the input feature map, convolution kernel, and/or output feature map, and perform parallel dot-product computations in the unrolled dimension(s) [0028])
into at least one two-dimensional (2D) tensor (In one embodiment, the 2D array of PE units is invoked for performing dot-product computations for computing a layer of the neural network, such as a convolution layer of the CNN, in parallel [0028]; In one embodiment, the size of register files per PE (RF/PE) is reduced by unrolling in one or two of the kernel dimensions [0032]);
loading the at least one 2D tensor into a cache (For example, input a0 is fed to the PE units in row 412 of the tile, input a1 is fed to the PE units in row 414 of the tile, and input a15 is fed to the PE units in row 416 of the tile [0060]; In the weight stationary architecture, given that the weight data may be preloaded into the register files of the various PE units [0032]. The Examiner notes register in the PE unit as cache); and
performing, using data in the cache, a convolution operation between a convolutional filter and the at least one tensor, via general matrix multiply, to obtain a second output (In performing the convolution computation during the first processing cycle, inputs a0-a15 are multiplied with weight B0 of kernel column 406 (in the various input channels), which is stored in the PE units of column 400 of the tile, for generating a partial sum of output pixel a0 [0060]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Han, Lin, Theverapperuma to incorporate the teachings of Abdelaziz for the benefit of performing parallel dot-product computations in the unrolled dimension(s) which may thus accelerate the computation of the neural network layer (Abdelaziz [0028])
15. Claims 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20210357730 filed 05/12/2020) in view of Lin et al. (US20220156551 filed 02/02/2021) in view of Theverapperuma et al. (US20220024485 filed 07/24/2020) and further in view of Badin et al. (US20170270073)
Regarding claim 35, Han, Lin and Theverapperuma teaches the autonomous vehicle of claim 28, they do not explicitly teach wherein generating the one or more outputs comprises: generating an output tensor.
Badin teaches where generating the one or more outputs further comprises: generating an output tensor (Fig. 3A-3F illustrate a non-limiting example of matrix multiplication according to an embodiment. This example matrix multiplication involves the multiplication, or dot product, of matrix A 300 with matrix B 302 to produce a resultant matrix 304 [0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Han, Lin, Theverapperuma and Nurvitadhi to incorporate the teachings of Badin for the benefit of reducing or eliminating the amount of memory required to store the intermediate results [0027] in order to reduce the amount of storage space required (Badin [0051])
Conclusion
/M.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2148