DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 5/01/26. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dias et al. (US PGPub 2003/0104679, hereinafter referred to as “Dias”).
Dias discloses the semiconductor device substantially as claimed. See figures 1-14 and corresponding text, where Dias teaches, in claim 1, a microelectronic device comprising:
an active surface (104) (figure 3; [0035]);
a side surface (122) extending vertically from the active surface (104), the side surface (122) including:
a first portion (126) comprising at least about 50% of the side surface, the first portion having a reflective conductive surface throughout the first portion (figure 3; [0036], the V-shaped notch is preferably about one-half of the thickness of the microelectronic device wafer. In addition, applicant describes the reflective materials to be tungsten, titanium, etc. [0037], thus Dias teaches titanium, tungsten [0034] as the metallization layer (128)); and
a second, vertically adjacent portion (124’) (at the corner surfaces of both the (124) and (124’) are vertically adjacent) having an uneven non-reflective surface (122) (figures 3 and 4; [0034-0035], the semiconductor surfaces underneath the metallization layer are the uneven non-reflective surfaces).
Dias teaches, in claim 2, wherein the reflective conductive surface comprises a metal material ([0034]).
Dias teaches, in claim 3, wherein the metal material is selected from the group consisting of copper, tungsten, and titanium ([0034]).
Dias teaches, in claim 5, wherein the uneven non-reflective surface comprises a fractured surface of semiconductor material ([0033-0034], the examiner views the portion being removed to form the V-notch is the fracture surface of the semiconductor wafer).
Dias teaches, in claim 6, wherein the first portion includes two superimposed materials (figure 3; [0030]).
Dias teaches, in claim 7, wherein the two superimposed materials include a diffusion barrier adjacent a semiconductor material and a conductive material over the diffusion barrier (figure 3; [0030]).
Dias teaches, in claim 8, wherein the diffusion barrier comprises a material selected from a group consisting of nitride, silicon nitride, tantalum, tantalum nitride ([0030]).
Dias teaches, in claim 9, wherein the conductive material comprises a metal ([0030]).
Dias teaches, in claim 10, wherein the conductive material comprises a material selected from the group consisting of copper, tungsten, titanium ([0030]).
Dias teaches, in claim 23, a microelectronic device package comprising:
a stack of microelectronic devices (144, 144’), each including:
an active surface (104) (figure 5; [0035])
a side surface (at the corner surfaces of both the (124) and (124’) are vertically adjacent) extending vertically from the active surface (104), the side surface including:
a first metal portion (128) of the side surface exhibiting a reflective surface, the first metal portion comprising at least 50% of the side surface (figure 3; [0036], the V-shaped notch is preferably about one-half of the thickness of the microelectronic device wafer; In addition, applicant describes the reflective materials to be tungsten, titanium, etc. [0037], thus Dias teaches titanium, tungsten [0034] as the metallization layer (128))); and
a second portion of the side surface, the second portion comprising a semiconductor material (102) and exhibiting a rough non-reflective surface (figures 3 and 4; [0034-0035], non-reflective surfaces underneath the reflective conductive surfaces)). (Please see modified illustration below)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s amendment has necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 May 21, 2026
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898