DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 6/11/2025, and 12/03/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1,10,12,14-17,20,23,24, and 28 which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued. Claims 21, 30-31 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1-20 and 22-29 and 32 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Examiner interpretation of a pulse with a leading edge that corresponds to a frequency.
Based on scientific principles, the shape of a pulse and its frequency will produce corresponding signal(s) at a frequency in the frequency domain. For example, as seen below, a square pulse signal will produce a signal in the frequency domain at a fundamental frequency (f) along with signals at a multiples of the fundamental frequency (2f,3f, 5f.. etc i.e. harmonics). In the case of the square pulse below, the frequency of the pulse produces the signal at frequency (f) and the “square” feature of the pulse creates the harmonics 2f,3f, 5f, etc.. Therefore a pulse signal that creates a signal at a particular frequency in the frequency domain (and its corresponding harmonics) will inherently have a shape and frequency that will produce said signal and its corresponding harmonics.
As such the ENTIRE shape and frequency of the pulse charge signal (the leading edge, the body and falling edge) creates (and thus corresponds to) a signal at said fundamental frequency (f) and at its corresponding harmonics f1,f2,f3, etc.
For example, a square or pulse shape signal will produce a signal at the fundamental frequency (f) and at its corresponding harmonics frequencies f1,f2,f3, etc. As the leading and falling edges become less square shape and more towards a single sinusoid, the amplitude and frequency of the harmonics are adjusted (i.e, decreased in amplitude and existence) and the frequency of the single sinusoid is present in the frequency domain.
Furthermore square wave pulses possess harmonics because they are a combination of sinusoidal waves at different frequencies (See below)
As such the leading edge, body and falling edge of a pulse signal dictates the existence and features of the harmonic frequencies and therefore the leading edge, body and falling edge are inherently shaped to correspond to signals at a frequencies in the frequency domain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-11,13-14, 16-20, 23-27, and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US 20100201320) in view of Langlinais (US 20180090945).
As to claim 1, Coe discloses a method for charging an electrochemical device comprising: based on a relationship between a frequency and an impedance of an electrochemical device (Fig. 7B shows an impedance vs frequency chart (i.e. harmonic profile) showing signals at frequencies 701-704. Fopt can be frequencies 701-704 and their corresponding harmonics ([0035])); controlling an energy flux at the electrode of the electrochemical device, the energy flux including repeating pulses (Fig. 1 the control module 106 configures the charge/discharge module 102 to generate a pulsed charge/discharge having a pulse frequency equal to fopt (Fig. 4 404 [0046] and Fig. 5B [0038]) which is the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is the smallest (Fig. 7B [0034]-[0035]). Fopt can be frequencies 701-704 and their corresponding harmonics ([0035]). See Fig. 5B where the frequency fopt is repeating), with each pulse including a shaped leading edge portion defining an increasing current (the “ramp up” portion of the pulse) controllably shaped to correspond to a shape of a sinusoid of the frequency (a pulse signal that creates a signal at a particular frequency in the frequency domain (and its corresponding harmonics) will inherently have a shape and frequency that will produce said signal and its corresponding harmonics. Based on scientific principle square wave pulses possess harmonics because they are a combination of sinusoidal waves at different frequencies. As such the leading edge of the pulse Fopt is composed on a sinusoidal frequency that is a harmonic of the fundamental), the shaped leading edge portion followed by a steady current (the charge/discharge pulse with a frequency fopt will produce a signal in the frequency domain at fopt and will inherently have leading edge that corresponds to frequency fopt. See Fig. 4A and 5B where the pulse current 404 and Fopt, Iopt have a steady state body portion).
Coe does not disclose/teach at a filter circuit comprising an inductor coupled with a switch, the inductor operably coupled with an electrode of the electrochemical device nor controlling an energy flux at electrode of the electrochemical device by controlling the switch sourcing current to the inductor nor with each pulse controllably shaped from the inductor by the controlled switch.
Langlinais teaches at a filter circuit comprising an inductor coupled with a switch, the inductor operably coupled with an electrode of the electrochemical device (Fig. 2 inductor of phase 2 and switch “B”) and controlling an energy flux at electrode of the electrochemical device by controlling the switch sourcing current to the inductor and with each pulse controllably shaped from the inductor by the controlled switch ([0044], Fig. 10 Here the VBUS voltage is sufficient to charge the battery (by pulsing switches B, C to control charge current through phase 2 according to any suitable buck conversion algorithm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of controlling the energy flux at the electrode of Coe to be at a filter circuit comprising an inductor coupled with a switch, the inductor operably coupled with an electrode of the electrochemical device and controlling an energy flux at electrode of the electrochemical device by controlling the switch sourcing current to the inductor and with each pulse controllably shaped from the inductor by the controlled switch as inductor switch circuits such as buck, boost converters are old and well known circuits used in charging a battery with pulse charging.
As to claim 4, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the frequency (frequencies 701-704, i.e. fopt) is associated with a combination of a real impedance value and an imaginary impedance value of the electrochemical device (fopt (Fig. 5B [0038]) which is the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is the smallest (Fig. 7B [0034]-[0035]). The dynamic internal impedance inherently has a real and an imaginary portion even if the real or imaginary potion is zero. For Example Z=X+j0).
As to claim 5, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the frequency is associated with a modulus combination of the real impedance value and the imaginary impedance value of the electrochemical device (fopt (Fig. 5B [0038]) which is the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is the smallest (Fig. 7B [0034]-[0035]). The dynamic internal impedance inherently is a complex number having a real and an imaginary portion even if the real or imaginary potion is zero. For Example Z=X+j0. Complex numbers also inherently has an absolute value (i.e. modulus) and an angle.
As to claim 6, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 4 wherein the frequency is associated with a combination of the real impedance value adjusted by a first weighted value and the imaginary impedance value adjusted by a second weighted value (fopt (Fig. 5B [0038]) which is the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is the smallest (Fig. 7B [0034]-[0035]). The dynamic internal impedance inherently is a complex number having a real and an imaginary portion which is inherently a multiple or factor of a number (i.e. first and second weighted values).
As to claim 7, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the frequency is associated with a minimum impedance value of the electrochemical device (Fig. 5B [0038] fopt which is the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is the smallest (Fig. 7B [0034]-[0035]) and further comprising: obtaining a change in the minimum impedance value ([0038] of Coe Because the charge acceptance and internal impedance of the battery pack 200 changes as the state of charge changes, the frequency sweep is repeated).
Coe does not specifically disclose controlling the energy flux at the electrode of the electrochemical device at a new frequency associated with the change in the minimum impedance value.
However since Coe controls energy flux at a harmonic associated with a minimum impedance value of the electrochemical device for maximum charge/discharge efficiency ([0031]) and also states that the frequency sweep is repeated in response to changes in the internal impedance ([0038]),it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Coe to control the energy flux at the electrode of the electrochemical device at a new frequency associated with the change in the minimum impedance value for maximum charge/discharge efficiency.
As to claim 8, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 7.
Coe does not disclose/teach wherein obtaining the change in the minimum impedance value comprises: detecting a frequency associated with a parasitic loss of the electrochemical device; and excluding the detected frequency of the parasitic loss when obtaining the change in the minimum impedance value.
However Examiner takes official notice the real part of the internal impedance (i.e internal resistances) changes or increases as the state of health of the battery degrades.
As such it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to detect a frequency associated with a parasitic loss of the electrochemical device; and excluding a harmonic value associated with the detected frequency of the parasitic loss when obtaining the change in the minimum impedance value in order to detect the real part of the impedance to determine the battery’s state of health.
As to claim 9, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the electrochemical device comprises one of a half cell battery, a cell battery, a plurality of batteries connected in parallel, or a plurality of batteries connected in series (battery pack 200 includes two batteries 201A, 201B, connected in parallel).
As to claim 10, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the energy flux comprises one of a charge current or a discharge current ([0031] and Abstract of Coe. The charge/discharge system 100 is used to maximize the charge efficiency and discharge efficiency of the battery pack 200 by applying pulse charge or pulse discharge current profile at the resonant charge frequency).
As to claim 11, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: controlling a portion of the energy flux at a frequency associated with a conductance value of admittance or a susceptance value admittance of the electrochemical device (([0031] of Coe The charge/discharge system 100 applies pulse charge or pulse discharge at the resonant charge frequency where dynamic internal impedance is smallest. The inverse of impedance is admittance and therefore the internal impedance inherently has an admittance comprising a conductance value or a susceptance value).
As to claim 13, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the leading edge portion is shaped according to the frequency corresponding to the minimum impedance value of the electrochemical device (fopt is the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is the smallest (Fig. 7B [0034]-[0035]). The charge/discharge pulse with a frequency fopt will produce a signal in the frequency domain at fopt and will inherently have leading edge that corresponds to the frequency fopt).
As to claim 14, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 13 wherein the steady state comprises a controlled magnitude charge current value following the shaped leading edge portion (See Fig. 5B where the pulses have a leading edge body, a body portion, and falling edge).
As to claim 16, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: measuring an impedance value of the electrochemical device during an application of the energy flux to the electrode of the electrochemical device ([0031] The charge/discharge system 100 applies a pulse charge or pulse discharge at the resonant charge frequency. [0034] The "resonant charge frequency” is the frequency or frequencies at which the dynamic internal impedance is smallest) the measured impedance value is a real impedance value and imaginary impedance value (The dynamic internal impedance inherently has a real and an imaginary portion even if the real or imaginary potion is zero. For Example Z=X+j0).
As to claim 17, Coe discloses a method for charging an electrochemical device comprising: accessing a harmonic profile that describes a relationship between a frequency and an energy transfer of an electrochemical device ((Fig. 7B shows an impedance vs frequency chart (i.e. harmonic profile). Each frequency is a harmonic of a multiple of at least one. Signals at frequencies 701-704, i.e. fopt, are also identified as harmonics) and controlling an energy flux at an electrode of the electrochemical device, the energy flux including repeating pulses (Fig. 1 the control module 106 configures the charge/discharge module 102 to generate a pulsed charge/discharge having a pulse frequency equal to fopt (Fig. 5B [0038]) which is the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is the smallest (Fig. 7B [0034]-[0035]). See Fig. 5B where the frequency fopt is repeating), with each pulse including a leading edge shaped to correspond to a sinusoid at the frequency (a pulse signal that creates a signal at a particular frequency in the frequency domain (and its corresponding harmonics) will inherently have a shape and frequency that will produce said signal and its corresponding harmonics. Based on scientific principle square wave pulses possess harmonics because they are a combination of sinusoidal waves at different frequencies. As such the leading edge of the pulse Fopt is composed on a sinusoidal frequency that is a harmonic of the fundamental), the frequency associated with an optimal transfer of energy based on a real value and an imaginary value of the energy transfer at the electrode (Examiner will interpret “a real value and an imaginary value of the energy transfer at the electrode” as “the impedance value of the electrochemical device at a charge/discharge frequency”. The pulse frequency equal to fopt is the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is the smallest which is also are the same frequencies at which charge acceptance is highest (Fig. 7B [0034]-[0035]). The dynamic internal impedance inherently has a real and an imaginary portion even if the real or imaginary potion is zero. For Example Z=X+j0).
Coe does not disclose/teach at a filter circuit comprising an inductor coupled with a switch, the inductor operably coupled with an electrode of the electrochemical device nor with each pulse controllably shaped from the inductor by the controlled switch.
Langlinais teaches at a filter circuit comprising an inductor coupled with a switch, the inductor operably coupled with an electrode of the electrochemical device (Fig. 2 inductor of phase 2 and switch “B”) and with each pulse controllably shaped from the inductor by the controlled switch ([0044], Fig. 10 Here the VBUS voltage is sufficient to charge the battery (by pulsing switches B, C to control charge current through phase 2 according to any suitable buck conversion algorithm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of controlling the energy flux at the electrode Coe to be at a filter circuit comprising an inductor coupled with a switch, the inductor operably coupled with an electrode of the electrochemical device with each pulse controllably shaped from the inductor by the controlled switch as inductor switch circuits such as buck, boost converters are old and well known circuits used in charging a battery with pulse charging.
As to claim 18, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method for charging the electrochemical device of claim 17 wherein the real value of the energy transfer is a real impedance and the imaginary value of the energy transfer is an imaginary impedance ( [0034] “The dynamic internal impedance”. The dynamic internal impedance inherently has a real and an imaginary portion even if the real or imaginary potion is zero. For Example Z=X+j0).
As to claim 19, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method for charging the electrochemical device of claim 17 wherein the real value of the energy transfer is a conductance value and the imaginary value of the energy transfer is a susceptance value ( [0034] “The dynamic internal impedance”. The dynamic internal impedance is the inverse of admittance which inherently has a real portion which is a conductance value an imaginary value which is a susceptance value).
As to claim 20, Coe discloses a charging system comprising (Fig. 1):
a charge signal shaping circuit (charge/discharge module 102); and a controller (control module 106), using a relationship between frequency components of a charge signal and impedance, controlling the charge signal shaping circuit to generate a charge pulse, the charge pulse with a leading edge shaped according to a sinusoid based on the relationship between frequency components of charge signal and impedance (Fig. 1 and 7B. The control module 106 identifies the resonant charge frequency or frequencies 701-704, fopt, at which the dynamic internal impedance are the smallest ([0034]-[0035] i.e. a relationship between frequency components of a charge signal and impedance). The charge/discharge system 100 (Fig. 1) applies a pulse charge at the frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is smallest (fopt, Fig. 5B [0038] i.e. generating a charge pulse with a leading edge shaped based on the relationship between frequency components of charge signal and impedance). Since Coe applies a pulse charge at the frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is smallest, and the pulse inherently has a leading edge, the leading edge of the charge signal is defined based on the relationship between frequency components of charge signal and impedance. Based on scientific principle square wave pulses possess harmonics because they are a combination of sinusoidal waves at different frequencies. As such the leading edge of the pulse Fopt is composed on a sinusoidal frequency that is a harmonic of the fundamental), the pulse further including a body portion following the shaped leading edge that includes a constant current to define a width of the pulse (See Fig. 5B where the pulses for fopt have a leading edge body, a body portion including a constant current, and falling edge. Coe further states that the generated pulses include as square shaped pulse [0027][0054] which will have a constant current that defines the width of the pulse).
Coe does not disclose/teach a first shaping inductor operably coupled with a first switching device, the first inductor operably coupled with an electrode of an electrochemical device nor the charged shape is generated from the inductor by the controlled switch.
Langlinais teaches a first shaping inductor operably coupled with a first switching device, the first inductor operably coupled with an electrode of an electrochemical device (Fig. 2 inductor of phase 2 and switch “B”) and the charged shape is generated from the inductor by the controlled switch ([0044], Fig. 10 Here the VBUS voltage is sufficient to charge the battery (by pulsing switches B, C to control charge current through phase 2 according to any suitable buck conversion algorithm).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charging system of Coe to include a first shaping inductor operably coupled with a first switching device, the first inductor operably coupled with an electrode of an electrochemical device nor the charged shape is generated from the inductor by the controlled switch as inductor switch circuits such as buck, boost converters are old and well known circuits used in charging a battery with pulse charging.
As to claim 23, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the battery charging system of claim 20.
Coe does not disclose/teach wherein the charge signal shaping circuit further comprises: the inductor in electrical communication to a power rail; and the first switching device in electrical communication between the one or more first shaping inductor and the electrode of the electrochemical device.
Langlinais teaches wherein the charge signal shaping circuit comprises the inductor in electrical communication to a power rail (Fig. 2 inductor of phase 1) ; and the first switching device in electrical communication between the one or more first shaping inductor and the electrode of the electrochemical device (Fig. 2 switch “I”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charge signal shaping circuit of Coe to comprise wherein the charge signal shaping circuit further comprises: the inductor in electrical communication to a power rail; and the first switching device in electrical communication between the one or more first shaping inductor and the electrode of the electrochemical device, in order to operate in buck mode when charging the battery at a low voltage, and in boost mode when charging the battery at a high voltage as taught by Langlinais [0008].
As to claim 24, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the battery charging system of claim 23.
Coe does not disclose/teach wherein the charge signal shaping circuit comprises: one or more second shaping inductors in electrical communication with the electrode of the electrochemical device; and a second switching device in electrical communication between the one or more second shaping inductors and the power rail.
Langlinais teaches wherein the charge signal shaping circuit comprises: one or more second shaping inductors in electrical communication to the electrode of the electrochemical device (Fig. 2 inductor of phase 2); and a second switching device in electrical communication between the one or more second shaping inductors and the power rail (Fig. 2 switch “B”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the charge signal shaping circuit of Coe to comprise one or more second shaping inductors in electrical communication to the electrode of the electrochemical device; and a second switching device in electrical communication between the one or more second shaping inductors and the power rail, in order to operate in buck mode when charging the battery at a low voltage, and in boost mode when charging the battery at a high voltage as taught by Langlinais [0008].
As to claim 25, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the battery charging system of claim 23 wherein the controller signal generates the charge pulse with the leading edge shaped based on a frequency associated with a minimum impedance value of the electrochemical device (Fig. 5A and [0031] [0033]-[0034] The charge/discharge system 100 applies a pulse charge at the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is smallest (i.e. defining an aspect of a charge signal for an electrochemical device based on the relationship between frequency components of charge signal and impedance)).
Coe in view of Langlinais is not specifically clear as to the controller transmitting a first control signal to the first switching device and a second control signal to the first switching device to generate the claimed charge pulse with the leading edge.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Langlinais to control the first switching device in an PWM manner (i.e. first control signal and second control signal) in order to provide charging signal to the battery .
As to claim 26, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the battery charging system of claim 23, further comprising: a power source in electrical communication with the power rail (Fig. 2 of Langlinais External DC source) , wherein the power source is one of a voltage-controlled power source or a current-controlled power source (Fig. 2 of Langlinais External DC source).
As to claim 27, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the battery charging system of claim 20, further comprising: an impedance measurement circuit in communication with the controller (control module 106) and further discloses the controller obtaining an impedance measurement of the electrochemical device (Fig. 5A and [0031] [0033]-[0034].. The control module 106 calculates the dynamic internal impedance of the batteries at various pulse frequencies).
Coe does not disclose the controller transmitting an impedance control signal to the claimed impedance measurement (Fig. 5A and [0031] [0033]-[0034].. The control module 106 calculates the dynamic internal impedance of the batteries at various pulse frequencies).
However it is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art that a processor transmits it commands and instructions to perform its processing tasks. As such it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Coe’s control module to be a processor transmitting instructions to calculate the dynamic internal impedance of the battery (i.e. “transmitting an impedance control signal”) in order to process the impedance calculation faster and more efficiently.
As to claim 32, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the frequency (fopt) is associated with a minimum impedance value of the electrochemical device (fopt is the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is the smallest (Fig. 7B [0034]-[0035]).
Claim 2-3 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US 20100201320) in view of Langlinais (US 20180090945) in view of Lee (US 20150258907).
As to claim 2, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1.
Coe in view of Langlinais does not disclose/teach wherein the frequency is associated with a minimum real impedance value of the electrochemical device.
Lee teaches wherein the frequency is associated with a minimum real impedance value of the electrochemical device (Fig. 3 showing impedance vs. frequency at multiple frequencies wherein the minimum real impedance identified is where the imaginary impedance is zero).
Since Coe teaches frequencies at which the dynamic internal impedance is smallest is the frequency having the highest charge acceptance ([0034]), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the frequency of Coe to be associated with a minimum real impedance value in order to determine the charging operating point that has the highest charge acceptance.
As to claim 3, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 1.
Cole does not disclose/teach wherein the frequency is associated with a minimum imaginary impedance value of the electrochemical device.
Lee teaches wherein the frequency is associated with a minimum imaginary impedance value of the electrochemical device (Fig. 3 showing impedance vs. frequency at multiple frequencies wherein the minimum imaginary impedance identified is zero).
Since Coe teaches frequencies at which the dynamic internal impedance is smallest is the frequency having the highest charge acceptance ([0034]), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the frequency of Coe to be associated with a minimum imaginary impedance value of the electrochemical device in order to determine the charging operating point that has the highest charge acceptance.
As to claim 12, Coe in view of Lee in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the frequency associated with the minimum real impedance value comprises an upper frequency of a range of harmonics associated with the minimum real impedance value (Fig. 3 showing impedance vs. frequency at multiple frequencies wherein the minimum real impedance identified is where the imaginary impedance is zero).
Claim 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US 20100201320) in view of Langlinais (US 20180090945) in view of Ghantous (US 20190072618).
As to claim 15, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the energy flux further comprises a trailing edge portion following the body portion (See Fig. 5B where the pulses have a leading edge body, a body portion, and falling edge). ,
Cole does not disclose/teach the trailing edge portion comprising a voltage value below a transition voltage corresponding to a zero current flow at the electrochemical device.
Ghantous teaches wherein the energy flux further comprises a trailing edge portion comprising a voltage value below a transition voltage corresponding to a zero current flow at the electrochemical device (Fig. 7c)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Cole to include wherein the energy flux further comprises a trailing edge portion comprising a voltage value below a transition voltage corresponding to a zero current flow at the electrochemical device, as taught by Ghantous in order to be associated with lower values of the real component of impedance.
Claim 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coe (US 20100201320) in view of Langlinais (US 20180090945) in view of Sone (US 20200083731).
As to claim 22, Coe in view of Langlinais teaches the battery charging system of claim 20 further comprising: a power source providing a power signal (Fig. 5A and [0031] [0033]-[0034] Since charge/discharge module 102 generates a charge profile a power source is providing a power signal).
Coe does not disclose/teach and wherein controlling the charge signal shaping circuit comprises siphoning energy from the power signal to provide the charge signal (Based on [0062] of the specification, Examiner interprets “siphoned energy” as “siphoned current”).
Sone teaches and wherein controlling the charge signal shaping circuit comprises siphoning energy from the power signal to provide the charge signal ([0004] The second DC/DC converter lowers the power output from the main DC/DC converter to an accessory battery charge setting voltage suitable for charging the accessory battery.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery charging system of Coe to herein controlling the charge signal shaping circuit comprises siphoning energy from the power signal to provide the charge signal, in order to provide a charge setting voltage suitable for charging the accessory battery as taught by Sone ([0004]).
Claim 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Langlinais (US 20180090945) in view of Coe (US 20100201320).
As to claim 28, Langlinais discloses a battery cell charging system (Fig. 10) comprising: a charge signal shaping circuit (Fig. 10 inductors of phase 1 and 2 with switches A-D and I and J) ,comprising a first inductor and a first switching circuit (Fig. 10 inductors of phase 1 with switch I),
Langlinais further discloses the charge signal shaping device in electrical communication to a power rail (Fig. 8, DC source as power rail), the switching device in electrical communication to a battery cell (Fig. 10 switch I connected to battery 3); and a controller (Controller Fig. 10) providing a pulse width module control signal to the first switching device to control current to the first inductor to controllably shape a leading edge of a charge signal pulse produced from the first inductor (Controller 2, Fig.8, and 10 where switch I is controlled to charge the battery from the DC source. Switches D, E, I, J are pulsed to charge battery and therefore the charge signal inherently has a leading edge).
Langlinais does not disclose the shape of the leading edge corresponding to a sinusoid at a frequency associated with a minimum impedance of the electrochemical device.
Coe discloses the shape of the leading edge corresponding to a sinusoid at a frequency associated with a minimum impedance of the electrochemical device (Fig. 5A and [0031] [0033]-[0034].. apply an electrical stimulus to the battery pack 200 that includes a pulsed current frequency sweep 500 as shown in FIG. 5A. The charge/discharge system 100 applies a pulse charge at the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is smallest. [0027] [0054] generated pulse shapes include sinusoidal.).
Therefore since Langlinais controls battery charger circuit via switching devices A-D and I and J to provide a charge signal to battery 3 ([0034]-[0054]) which shapes the leading edge of the charge signal, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Langlinais battery charger circuit to control the charge signal via switching devices A-D, I and J to provide a pulse charge at the resonant charge frequency at which the dynamic internal impedance is smallest (i.e. a sinusoid at a frequency associated with a minimum impedance of the electrochemical device) in order to charge the battery at the highest charge acceptance.
As such the pulsed charge signal of Langlinais in view of Coe has a leading edge corresponding to a sinusoid at a frequency associated with a minimum impedance of the electrochemical device.
As to claim 29, Langlinais in view of Coe teaches battery cell charging system of claim 28 further comprising: a second switching device in electrical communication with a node that receives the charge signal pulse (switches B), the controller providing a pulse-width modified signal to activate the second switching device to further shape the leading edge of the charge signal pulse ([0044] … pulsing switches B).
Conclusion
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859