DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
The following new and pending claims 87, 157, 158, 162, 166, 167, 176, 202-206, 208, 210-212, 214-215, 228 -230 are examined here along with elected species of SEQ ID NO: 2.
Priority
Acknowledgement of the claim to domestic benefit of U.S. Provisional Application 63/012,603, filed on 04/20/2020, is noted. All the examined claims enjoy the benefit of ‘603 filing date.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/02/2026 was filed before the mailing date of this Office Action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 87, 157, 158, 162, 166, 167, 176, 202-206, 208, 210-212, 214-215, 228 is maintained and new claims 229-230 are also rejected as noted below.
Claims 87, 157, 158, 162, 166, 167, 176, 202-206, 208, 210-212, 214-215, 228-230 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khvorova et al. (WO2017132669, pub. 08/03/2017, referred as Khvorova; although the applicant is the same as the instant application, the publication date is a year prior of the effective filing date (EFD) of the instant application, in IDS) in view of Bermingham et al. (WO2020117703, pub. date 06/11/2020 with EFD 12/3/2018, thus a 102(a)(2) reference, referred as Bermingham, of record) and Hough et al., (Nature Biotechnology, 21, 731-732, of record, referred as Hough) and Foster et al. (2018, Molecular Therapy, 26, pg. 708-717, referred as Foster).
Regarding instant cl. 87, 176, and 229-230, the elected species SEQ ID NO: 2 has the following 45 nt. target sequence: auaaggugggaguugugaagcaaacugaaacugcagcauuaaagg, and SEQ ID NO: 14 is caaacugaaa cugca, a 15 nt. subsequence within instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (bolded/italicized). SEQ ID NO: 8 (UGCAGUUUCAGUUUGCUUCA, a 20 nt. sequence) is an antisense strand complementary to the underlined portion of elected SEQ ID NO:2.
Khvorova discloses a branched oligonucleotide compound comprising two or more nucleic acids (NA), wherein the NA are connected to one another by one or more moieties selected from a linker, a spacer and a branching point (claim 1); discloses nucleic acid as double-stranded comprising sense and antisense strands (claim 7, relevant to instant cl. 87), each comprising a 5’ end and a 3’ end (see Fig. 1 below); and antisense strand comprises at least 16-20 contiguous nucleotides and has complementarity to a target (claim 13, relevant to instant cl. 87); discloses a double-stranded RNA sequence containing at least one uracil, thus disclosing a RNA compound (claim 23); therapeutic nucleic acid is defined as NA that has complementarity to a disease-associated target mRNA (par. 146). A composite figure of Fig. 1 and 9 (see below, Fig. 1 (bottom) and Fig. 9 (top)) illustrates a branched RNA compound comprising an ethylene glycol chain linker that conjugates the sense strands of the two asymmetric dsRNA molecule with the Fig. 9 dsRNA of antisense strand of 20 nt. and sense strand of 15 nt. (relevant to instant cl. 87). Khvorova Fig. 14 demonstrates wide distribution and efficacy of silencing a target mRNA expression throughout the spinal cord following bolus intrathecal injection of di-hsiRNA (di-hsiRNA illustrated in Fig. 1, bottom structure below of two dsRNA molecules) (par. 47, see Fig. 14; relevant instant cl. 229). Khvorova also discloses the 5’-terminal group R3, which is a 5’-vinyl phosphonate moiety (cl. 20-21, relevant to instant cl. 230). Khvorova teaches a fully phosphorothioated tail of 5 nt. (see Formula (II) of cl. 21, relevant to instant cl. 87).
Khvorova does not disclose MSH3 mRNA as the target mRNA, nor an antisense strand comprising SEQ ID NO: 8 complementary with a nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14.
Bermingham discloses an invention of antisense oligonucleotides (ASO) complementary to MSH3 transcript, with one 20 nt. antisense oligonucleotide sequence, SEQ ID NO: 491 with the sequence GCAGTTTCAGTTTGCTTCAC (Table 2, pg. 74) and discloses that oligonucleotides can comprise RNA nucleosides (pg. 37, lines 30). SEQ ID NO: 491 is complementary to portion of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 and is complementary to 14/15 nt. of instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (caaacugaaacugca, relevant to instant cl. 87) and reads on a portion of instant SEQ ID NO: 8 (the bolded portion of sequence: UGCAGUUUCAGUUUGCUUCA, relevant to instant cl. 87). Bermingham discloses a SEQ ID NO: 492 (ATGCTGCAGTTTCAGTTTGC) which is fully complementary to instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (caaacugaaacugca) (Table 2, pg. 74). Bermingham discloses the SEQ ID NO: 491 as a therapeutic oligonucleotide targeting MSH3 mRNA to treat trinucleotide repeat expansion disorder, including Huntington’s disease (HD) (pg. 1). Bermingham SEQ ID NOs: 491 and 492 result in approximately 80% of inhibition with 2 nM (see below, excerpt from Table 2, pg. 74).
Bermingham discloses the application of a pharmaceutical composition comprising one or more oligonucleotides and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (pg. 6, line 32-34, relevant to instant cl. 176).
Although Bermingham does not disclose a double-stranded RNA molecule, Khvorova points out therapeutic oligonucleotides are simple and effective tools for inhibition of gene function (par. 4) including both single-stranded oligomers, including gapmers, and double-stranded siRNAs (par. 4, 87, 152, 167). Further Khvorova highlights that the preferred embodiment is a duplex with internally modified nucleotide (par. 201).
Hough discloses that siRNA and antisense oligonucleotides generally have similar potency targeting similar region of the transcript and both have “similar hit-rate (percentage of compounds that effectively inhibit the target (Fig. 1) and potency” (pg. 731-732). Comparing the two types of compounds, Hough note that siRNA is preferred because siRNA is highly effective without any chemical modifications compared to traditional antisense compounds and note that “an unexpected observation that the duration of inhibition of endogenous targets after a single dosing of siRNA is longer than that obtained with the chemically stabilized antisense compounds used in this study. The longer duration of inhibition coupled with the reduced toxicity of siRNA enables the evaluation of gene function in complex and long-term phenotypic assays” (pg. 732). Similar to Khvorova pointing out the preference for a dsRNA/siRNA compound over the antisense oligonucleotide, Hough also notes the preference of dsRNA siRNA molecule due to prolonged activity with reduced toxicity.
Further, Khvorova discloses a fully modified siRNA complex (see above, alternating 2Ome and 2F modification pattern).
Foster demonstrates substantial efficacy improvements by further refining siRNA chemistry by optimizing the positioning of 2OMe and 2F modifications across both strands of dsRNA siRNA duplex to enhance stability without comprising intrinsic RNAi activity (abstract). Foster teaches in Fig. 2B that 2OMe content of sense strand ranging from 43% (parent) to 90% (DV11), thus the instant claimed range of 65% to 70% lies inside the disclosed range and therefore is prima facie obvious (relevant to instant cl. 87). With the goal of reducing 2F content (pg. 709), the 2OMe's positioning needs to be applied judiciously without substantially reducing RNAi activity (pg. 708). The screen identified two optimal siRNA duplex, labeled as DV18 and DV22, whose sense strand had 17 nt. modified with 2OMe and 4 nt. modified with 2F (~80%; see Fig. 2C, pg. 711; Fig. 3, pg. 712, Fig. 4 demonstrates improved results both in vivo mouse and non-human primate, pg. 713). Thus Foster indicates improving the efficacy of a fully modified 2OMe and 2F siRNA by optimizing the positioning of 2OMe and 2F nt. modifications across both strands of dsRNA.
One of the KSR rationale that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is that there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the branched oligonucleotide targeting mRNA of Khvorova in view of Bermingham, Hough, and Foster and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the branched dsRNA oligonucleotide of Khvorova with a specific, required oligonucleotide sequence to inhibit MSH3 expression to treat HD as taught by Bermingham, based on the specific SEQ ID NO: 491/492 being successful in inhibiting the expression of MSH3, and Hough disclosing that siRNAs improved inhibitory profile than antisense oligonucleotides, and Khvorova disclosing the improved distribution and efficacy in silencing the target protein in vivo in the CNS.
Further, a skilled artisan would also try to modify the positioning of 2OMe and 2F based on the success of Foster to further improve upon the efficacy of a fully modified 2OMe and 2F siRNA by refining the positions of the finite 2OMe and 2F nt. modifications on a siRNA. Foster recognized the less stabilizing effect of a less bulky 2F modifications than a 2OMe modification, thus sought to increase the 2OMe content while decreasing the 2F content. Further a skilled artisan would expect reasonable success increasing 2OMe content in an siRNA since both of the improved Foster in vivo siRNAs had ~80% 2OMe content. Also, the following KSR rationales may apply here: rationale (a) combining prior art elements by introducing the specific MSH3 sequence into dsRNA product of Khvorova, (b) simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e. dsRNA for ssRNA to inhibit MSH3 expression); and (e) obvious to try finite number of identified, predictable solutions. Thus cl. 87, 176, 229, 230 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding instant claims 157, 158, 162, 202, 206, 211, 214 Khvorova discloses in claim 18 a compound of formula (I): L-(N)n, with L selected from various groups, including ethylene glycol chain, and N is an RNA duplex comprising a sense and AS strands with each strand independently comprising one or more chemical modifications and n is 2-8; Fig. 1 illustrates a branched dsRNA molecule (n=2) with antisense strand of 20 nt. and sense strand of 15 nt. (see composite figure of Khvorova Figs. 1 and 9 above, relevant to instant cl. 157, 214). Khvorova teaches a fully phosphorothioated tail of 5 nt. (see Formula (II) of cl. 21, relevant to instant cl. 157). In structure of Formula (VII), Khvorova discloses a duplex with both strands of 20 nt. (par. 122), thus for sense strand, Khvorova discloses a range of 15 – 20 nt., and there is sufficient overlap with instant range of 16 to 21 nt. for prima facie obviousness. Khvorova discloses the formula I-1, which is the elected N-L-N, (claim 19, relevant to instant cl. 158, 162). Khvorova discloses L with structure of L1 (par. 24, relevant to instant cl. 162):
Khvorova, in claim 20, discloses antisense strand comprising a 5’ terminal group R selected from the group consisting of structures enumerated as R1 to R8, which are the same 8 structures as R1 to R8 of instant claim 202. Khvorova cl. 29 discloses a L2 linker structure, which is same as instant structure L2 (structure below, relevant to instant cl. 206).
Regarding instant cl. 211, Khvorova discloses B is a triol (e.g. glycerol) or tetrol (e.g. ribose) (par. 105). Khvorova Fig. 14 demonstrates wide distribution and efficacy of silencing a target mRNA expression throughout the spinal cord following bolus intrathecal injection of di-hsiRNA (di-hsiRNA illustrated in Fig. 1, bottom structure below) (par. 47, see Fig. 14).
Khvorova does not disclose MSH3 mRNA as the target mRNA, nor an antisense sequence complementary to portion of SEQ ID NO: 2 or an antisense strand comprising SEQ ID NO: 8 that has no more than 3 mismatches with a MSH3 nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14.
Bermingham discloses an invention of antisense oligonucleotides (ASO) complementary to MSH3 transcript, with one 20 nt. antisense oligonucleotide sequence, SEQ ID NO: 491 with the sequence GCAGTTTCAGTTTGCTTCAC (Table 2, pg. 74) and discloses that oligonucleotides can comprise RNA nucleosides (pg. 37, lines 30). SEQ ID NO: 491 is complementary to portion of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 and is complementary to 14/15 nt. of instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (caaacugaaacugca, relevant to instant cl. 157) and reads on a portion of instant SEQ ID NO: 8 (the bolded portion of sequence: UGCAGUUUCAGUUUGCUUCA). Bermingham also discloses a SEQ ID NO: 492 (ATGCTGCAGTTTCAGTTTGC) which is fully complementary to instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (caaacugaaacugca) (Table 2, pg. 74, relevant to instant cl. 157). Bermingham discloses the SEQ ID NO: 491 as a therapeutic oligonucleotide targeting MSH3 mRNA to treat trinucleotide repeat expansion disorder, including Huntington’s disease (HD) (pg. 1). Bermingham SEQ ID NOs: 491 and 492 results in approximately 80% of inhibition with 2 nM of SEQ ID NOs: 491 and 492 (see below, excerpt from Table 2, pg. 74).
Although Bermingham does not disclose a double-stranded RNA molecule, Khvorova points out therapeutic oligonucleotides are simple and effective tools for inhibition of gene function (par. 4) including both single-stranded oligomers, including gapmers, and double-stranded siRNAs (par. 4, 87, 152, 167). Further Khvorova, highlights that the preferred embodiment is a duplex with internally modified nucleotide (par. 201).
Hough discloses that siRNA and antisense oligonucleotides generally have similar potency targeting similar region of the transcript and both have “similar hit-rate (percentage of compounds that effectively inhibit the target (Fig. 1) and potency (pg. 731-732). Comparing the two types of compounds, Hough note that siRNA is preferred because siRNA is highly effective without any chemical modifications compared to traditional antisense compounds and note that “an unexpected observation that the duration of inhibition of endogenous targets after a single dosing of siRNA is longer than that obtained with the chemically stabilized antisense compounds used in this study. The longer duration of inhibition coupled with the reduced toxicity of siRNA enables the evaluation of gene function in complex and long-term phenotypic assays” (pg. 732). Similar to Khvorova pointing out the preference for a dsRNA/siRNA compound over the antisense oligonucleotide, Hough also note the preference of dsRNA siRNA molecule due to prolonged activity with reduced toxicity.
Further, Khvorova discloses preferential embodiments of a sense strand of dsRNA with alternating 2OMe and 2F nt. modifications (see composite figure above, or Structure of Formula (III), par. 112). Thus, the sense strand has ~50% 2OMe nt. modifications.
Foster demonstrates substantial efficacy improvements by further refining siRNA chemistry by optimizing the positioning of 2OMe and 2F modifications across both strands of dsRNA siRNA duplex to enhance stability without comprising intrinsic RNAi activity (abstract). Foster teaches in Fig. 2B that 2OMe content of sense strand ranging from 43% (parent) to 90% (DV11), thus the instant claimed range of 65% to 70% lies inside the disclosed range and therefore is prima facie obvious (relevant to instant cl. 157). Foster teaches that the antisense strand prefers 2F at pos. 2, 5 and 14 (Fig. 1A, relevant to instant cl. 157). 2OMe is sterically more demanding modification and has a greater stabilizing effect compared to less bulky modification, such as 2F (pg. 708). With the goal of reducing 2F content (pg. 709), the 2OMe's positioning needs to be applied judiciously without substantially reducing RNAi activity (708). The screen identified two optimal siRNA duplex, labeled as DV18 and DV22, whose sense strand had 17 nt. modified with 2OMe and 4 nt. modified with 2F (see Fig. 2C, pg. 711; Fig. 3, pg. 712, Fig. 4, improved results both in vivo mouse and non-human primate). Thus Foster indicate improving the efficacy of a fully modified 2OMe and 2F siRNA by testing out optimizing the positioning of 2OMe and 2F nt. modifications across both strands of dsRNA.
One of the KSR rationale that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is that there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the branched oligonucleotide targeting mRNA of Khvorova in view of Bermingham, Hough, and Foster and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the branched dsRNA oligonucleotide of Khvorova with a specific, required oligonucleotide sequence to inhibit MSH3 expression to treat HD as taught by Bermingham, based on the specific SEQ ID NO: 491/492 being successful in inhibiting the expression of MSH3, and further based on Hough disclosing that siRNAs improved inhibitory profile than antisense oligonucleotides.
Further, a skilled artisan would also try to modify the positioning of 2OMe and 2F based on the success of Foster to further improve upon the efficacy of a fully modified 2OMe and 2F siRNA by refining the positions of the finite 2OMe and 2F nt. modifications on a siRNA. Further Foster also recognized the less stabilizing effect of a less bulky 2F modifications than a 2OMe modification, thus sought to increase the 2OMe content while decreasing the 2F content. Further a skilled artisan would expect reasonable success in attempts to increase the 2OMe content since both of the improved siRNAs had ~80% 2OMe content. Also, the following KSR rationales may apply here: rationale (a) combining prior art elements by introducing the specific MSH3 sequence into dsRNA product of Khvorova, (b) simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e. dsRNA for ssRNA to inhibit MSH3 expression); and (e) obvious to try finite number of identified, predictable solutions. Thus claims 157, 158, 202, 206, 211, 214 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding instant cl. 203, 204 and 205, Khvorova, in claim 21, discloses having the structure of formula (II) (see below) and is same as instant enumerated structure of cl. 203:
.
Khvorova, in claim 24, teaches the formula V, which reads on the structure enumerated in instant claim 204.
The designation for X, Y, -, = and, ---- as noted above are same for both, a base-pairing interaction (relevant for instant cl. 203 and 204). The terminal group of claim 20 of Khvorova is a Markush 5’-terminal group, each R1-R8 used for the same purpose and are interchangeable and all comprise the uracil (U) base, including R3, and Xs represent a sequence representing the antisense strand, which can be substituted with any sequence of interest, thus incorporating SEQ ID NO: 491 of Bermingham in a branched compound comprising 2 dsRNAs (relevant to instant cl. 205). Incorporating SEQ ID NO: 491 with the 5’-terminal R group with a uracil base, results in a 21 nt. sequence that “has” the sequence of instant SEQ ID NO: 8, with first G of SEQ ID NO: 491 is position 2 and the 19th nt. of SEQ ID NO: 491 would be position 20 of formula II of Khvorova. Khvorova indicates that the antisense strand can be longer than 20 nt. (par. 9, relevant to instant cl. 203). Y sequence is the complementary strand.
Regarding instant claims 166, 167, 208, 210, 212, 215, and, 228, Khvorova discloses in claim 31 a delivery system for therapeutic NA having the structure of Formula VIII, which is L-(cNA)n, with L is selected from various groups, including ethylene glycol chain, and each cNA is a carrier NA comprising one or more chemical modifications with n having a value from 2-8; Fig. 1 illustrates a branched dsRNA molecule (n=2) with antisense strand, i.e. NA strand, of 20 nt. and cNA strand of 15 nt. with 5’ and 3’ ends (see composite figure of Khvorova Figs. 1 and 9 above, relevant to instant cl. 166). Khvorova discloses in claim 32 having structures with formulas VIII-1 through VIII-9, which are the same structures enumerated as formulas VI-1 through VI-9 of instant claim 167, and comprises formula VIII-8 comprises at least one B, which includes B as a polyvalent organic species, and one S moiety, which includes S as an ethylene glycol chain (relevant to instant cl. 167, 208). Khvorova discloses in claim 35 wherein each NA is hybridized to least one cNA and, claim 38 discloses each NA comprises an unpaired overhang of at least 2 nt. Khvorova discloses the delivery system further comprises n therapeutic nucleic acids (NA), wherein each NA is hybridized to at least one cNA (par. 135). Composite figure of Figures 1 and 9, noted above, illustrates typical embodiments of hybridized NA and cNA with unpaired overhang of at least 2 nt. and n=2 (relevant to instant cl. 210, 215). Khvorova Formula V (see above) discloses that the overhangs comprises phosphorothioate INL (see above, relevant instant cl. 228). Khvorova discloses B is a triol (e.g. glycerol) or tetrol (e.g. ribose) (par. 105, relevant to instant cl. 212).
Khvorova does not disclose MSH3 mRNA as the target mRNA, nor an antisense sequence complementary to portion of SEQ ID NO: 2 or an antisense strand comprising SEQ ID NO: 8 that has no more than 3 mismatches with a MSH3 nucleic acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 14.
Bermingham discloses an invention of antisense oligonucleotides (ASO) complementary to MSH3 transcript, with one 20 nt. antisense oligonucleotide sequence, SEQ ID NO: 491 with the sequence GCAGTTTCAGTTTGCTTCAC (Table 2, pg. 74) and discloses that oligonucleotides can comprise RNA nucleosides (pg. 37, lines 30). SEQ ID NO: 491 is complementary to portion of instant SEQ ID NO: 2 and is complementary to 14/15 nt. of instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (caaacugaaacugca, relevant to instant cl. 166) and reads on a portion of instant SEQ ID NO: 8 (the bolded portion of sequence: UGCAGUUUCAGUUUGCUUCA, relevant to instant cl. 166). Bermingham also discloses a SEQ ID NO: 492 (ATGCTGCAGTTTCAGTTTGC) which is fully complementary to instant SEQ ID NO: 14 (caaacugaaacugca) (Table 2, pg. 74, relevant to instant cl. 166). Bermingham discloses the SEQ ID NO: 491 as a therapeutic oligonucleotide targeting MSH3 mRNA to treat trinucleotide repeat expansion disorder, including Huntington’s disease (HD) (pg. 1). Bermingham SEQ ID NOs: 491 and 492 results in approximately 80% of inhibition with 2 nM of SEQ ID NOs: 491 and 492 (see below, excerpt from Table 2, pg. 74).
Although Bermingham does not disclose a double-stranded RNA molecule, Khvorova points out therapeutic oligonucleotides are simple and effective tools for inhibition of gene function (par. 4) including both single-stranded oligomers, including gapmers, and double-stranded siRNAs (par. 4, 87, 152, 167). Further Khvorova, highlights that the preferred embodiment is a duplex with internally modified nucleotide (par. 201).
Hough discloses that siRNA and antisense oligonucleotides generally have similar potency targeting similar region of the transcript and both have “similar hit-rate (percentage of compounds that effectively inhibit the target (Fig. 1) and potency (pg. 731-732). Comparing the two types of compounds, Hough note that siRNA is preferred because siRNA is highly effective without any chemical modifications compared to traditional antisense compounds and note that “an unexpected observation that the duration of inhibition of endogenous targets after a single dosing of siRNA is longer than that obtained with the chemically stabilized antisense compounds used in this study. The longer duration of inhibition coupled with the reduced toxicity of siRNA enables the evaluation of gene function in complex and long-term phenotypic assays” (pg. 732). Similar to Khvorova pointing out the preference for a dsRNA/siRNA compound over the antisense oligonucleotide, Hough also note the preference of dsRNA siRNA molecule due to prolonged activity with reduced toxicity.
Further, Khvorova discloses preferential embodiments of a sense strand of dsRNA with alternating 2OMe and 2F nt. modifications (see composite figure above, or Structure of Formula (III), par. 112). Thus, the sense strand has ~50% 2OMe nt. modifications.
Foster demonstrates substantial efficacy improvements by further refining siRNA chemistry by optimizing the positioning of 2OMe and 2F modifications across both strands of dsRNA siRNA duplex to enhance stability without comprising intrinsic RNAi activity (abstract). Foster teaches in Fig. 2B that 2OMe content of sense strand ranging from 43% (parent) to 90% (DV11), thus the instant claimed range of 65% to 70% lies inside the disclosed range and therefore is prima facie obvious (relevant to instant cl. 166). Foster teaches that the antisense strand (NA here) prefers 2F at pos. 2, 5 and 14 (Fig. 1A, relevant to instant cl. 166). 2OMe is sterically more demanding modification and has a greater stabilizing effect compared to less bulky modification, such as 2F (pg. 708). With the goal of reducing 2F content (pg. 709), the 2OMe's positioning needs to be applied judiciously without substantially reducing RNAi activity (708). The screen identified two optimal siRNA duplex, labeled as DV18 and DV22, whose sense strand had 17 nt. modified with 2OMe and 4 nt. modified with 2F (see Fig. 2C, pg. 711; Fig. 3, pg. 712, Fig. 4, improved results both in vivo mouse and non-human primate). Thus Foster indicate improving the efficacy of a fully modified 2OMe and 2F siRNA by testing out optimizing the positioning of 2OMe and 2F nt. modifications across both strands of dsRNA.
One of the KSR rationale that may be used to support a conclusion of obviousness is that there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the branched oligonucleotide targeting mRNA of Khvorova in view of Bermingham, Hough, and Foster and arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the delivery system L-(cNA)n of Khvorova with a specific, required oligonucleotide sequence to inhibit MSH3 expression to treat HD as taught by Bermingham, based on the specific SEQ ID NO: 491/492 being successful in inhibiting the expression of MSH3, and further Hough disclosing that siRNAs, i.e. instant therapeutic NA (NA), improved inhibitory profile than antisense oligonucleotides.
Further, a skilled artisan would also try to modify the positioning of 2OMe and 2F based on the success of Foster to further improve upon the efficacy of a fully modified 2OMe and 2F siRNA by refining the positions of the finite 2OMe and 2F nt. modifications on a siRNA. Further Foster also recognized the less stabilizing effect of a less bulky 2F modifications than a 2OMe modification, thus sought to increase the 2OMe content while decreasing the 2F content. Further a skilled artisan would expect reasonable success in attempts to increase the 2OMe content since both of the improved siRNAs had ~80% 2OMe content. Also, the following KSR rationales may apply here: rationale (a) combining prior art elements by introducing the specific MSH3 sequence into dsRNA product of Khvorova, (b) simple substitution of one known element for another (i.e. dsRNA for ssRNA to inhibit MSH3 expression); and (e) obvious to try finite number of identified, predictable solutions. Thus instant claims 166, 167, 208, 210, 212, 215, and 228 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 (“the Remarks”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Remarks insist on the following (and repeat most arguments made in earlier Remarks):
First, the Remarks argue the lack of motivating factors to select Bermingham:
Bermingham does not suggest modifying the branched product of Khvorova and “does not teach specific scaffold or formulation to provide therapeutic benefit,” i.e. no in vivo administration; thus lacking motivation for the POSITA to modify the branched oligonucleotides of Khvorova with a MSH3 targeting ASO (pg. 12).
Office fails to provide “sufficient rationale” for selecting SEQ ID NOs: 491/492 of Bermingham from amongst the hundreds of Tables 2/3 (pg. 14).
Only a portion of SEQ ID NO: 491, a gapmer, reads on instant SEQ ID NO: 8 and “the nucleobase sequence of SEQ ID NO: 491 differs from SEQ ID NO: 8 at both the 5’ and 3’ end.” (pg. 15).
In vitro results of Bermingham would not necessarily mean “therapeutic MSH3 silencing”: increasing its concentration for in vivo can mean off-target effects that can result in loss of efficiency and increased toxicity and dual-test assay indicates (pointed out using Table 3 of Bermingham, pg. 16 of Remarks) that higher mRNA content suggests off-target activity “because non-specific activity diminishes the effectiveness of on-targeting silencing;”
Further the teachings of Hough further highlight the lack of any reasonable expectation of success in arriving at instantly claimed compounds: Hough presumes that potency of ASO could be determined, but Bermingham did not provide potency for majority of the tested ASOs, including SEQ ID NO: 491.
Targeting the region of instant SEQ ID NO: 8 is unpredictable when the target is +/- 5 nt. from the start point of SEQ ID NO: 491and for these reasons, a POSITA would not prioritize SEQ ID NO: 491 (pg. 15).
Claimed invention comprising SEQ ID NO: 8 “exhibit unexpected potency for MSH3 silencing compared with the ASO of Bermingham” (pg. 17-25).
The siMSH3_1000 was selected based on studies of 60 siRNA sequences and demonstrated “highest silencing efficacy of the tested compounds in both human and mouse cells,” and would be unexpected when compared to results of SEQ ID NO: 491 of Bermingham (pg. 17). As noted above, Bermingham fails to disclose a dose-dependent response, i.e. showing lower efficacy at higher concentration; however, instant SEQ ID NO: 8 exhibits robust concentration-dependent silencing over 8-different concentration and siMSH3_1000 siRNA, comprising SEQ ID NO: 8, exhibited the highest silencing efficacy of the tested compounds in both human and mouse cells” (pg. 17). The potency is unexpected.
The Remarks point to another ASO of Bermingham and compares it to siRNA targeting the same region and “due to lack of correspondence” between the ASO and siRNA performance argue that “efficacy is not predictable” (pg. 18). The ASO of Bermingham that targets position 993 (SEQ ID NO: 485) “exhibited good inhibition,” (~80%) but Applicant’s siRNA corresponding to that region (i.e. siMSH3_993) “did not exhibit silencing comparable to the ASO” (pointing to Fig. 1, which appears to show an inhibition ~60% with siMSH3_993) (pg. 18).
Remarks point to inhibition in vivo in different regions of the brain (pg. 18-23) and then point to data of Fig. 10, which is treatment with MSH3_1000 siRNA and HTT 10150 siRNA (pg. 23) and Fig. 11, which demonstrates that siMSH3 in Q111 mouse model (CAG111 mouse model) is “able to suppress somatic repeat expansion” (pg. 24); all of which are unexpected based on prior art and a “POSITA could not have predicted the extent of in vitro silencing and in vivo expansion suppression from the prophetic examples of Bermingham or by picking and choosing from amongst all the individual embodiments described in the cited art” (pg. 25).
The thorough argument is, respectfully, not persuasive.
Regarding motivation (argument 1a, 1d), the role of MSH3 in a trinucleotide repeat expansion disorder disclosed by Bermingham is a sufficient rationale (see pg. 6, 03/02/2026 action), but Bermingham also discloses that “any methods of delivery of nucleic acids known in the art may be adaptable to the delivery of the oligonucleotides described herein” (see e.g., pg. 58, line 13-14). Khvorova’s disclosure is not limiting to some specific gene, its branched oligonucleotide can be used “ to allow efficient, stable delivery of siRNA in order to promote potent silencing of therapeutic target genes” (par. 81). Thus, both references provide sufficient rationale for modification of ASO of Bermingham both for delivery and for therapeutic purposes. Further the claimed invention is to the products and not method of treatment, i.e. therapeutic purpose. Thus, their application encompasses in vitro or in vivo.
Now to the specific SEQ ID NO: 491/492 (arguments 1b, c) from hundreds of ASOs disclosed by Bermingham, the reasonable standard for prima facie obviousness rejection only requires that a skilled artisan would reasonably expect success. MPEP 2143.02 (I) indicates that “[c]onclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success.” Here, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect success in inhibiting a MSH3 transcript by selecting any of the ASO that results in inhibition of the target gene. The SEQ ID NO: 491/492 are also successful in achieving inhibition of target gene. As noted in prior action, “Remarks point out that the “Office must consider the prior art in its entirety,” MPEP 2123 notes similarly that patents are relevant as prior art for all they contain and that preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a nonpreferred embodiments” (pg. 19, 03/02/2026 action).
Regarding the dual-dose screen (the Remarks state Table 3, but most likely means Table 2, since there is no Table 3 in Bermingham), which has been addressed in prior action of 03/02/2026. Also, it does not change the fact that a skilled artisan would still consider that SEQ ID NO: 491/492 inhibit the target the expression of target gene and that these SEQ ID NOs provide accessible region of the transcript for complementary antisense binding.
Addressing 1e and 1f, the purpose of Hough is to provide that response of ASO and siRNA are similar, not that they are equivalent in the potency. It also supports that at an accessible site of a transcript either an ASO or the antisense strand of a siRNA is capable of binding; and a skilled artisan recognizes that the extent of inhibition will vary between the platforms. The similar argument also applies that by shifting location of antisense binding on the transcript also affects the level of inhibition/potency, as noted in the excerpt of Table 2 (Remarks notes it as excerpt of Table 3). The variance based on shifting the location of antisense binding to a target transcript is not unexpected.
Further, as much as the Remarks focuses on Bermingham, it should be noted that in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The combined references of Bermingham, Khvorova, Hough and Foster renders the claimed invention prima facie obvious.
Regarding the unexpected data (2a-2c), as noted in prior action, MPEP 716.02(d) requires that unexpected results are commensurate in scope with claimed invention. It should be pointed out that MSH3_1000, the dsRNA comprises an asymmetric siRNA where the antisense is 21 nt., while the sense strand is 15 nt. (i.e. duplex is 15 base pairs). The L of claimed subject matter is broad in scope (can be various molecules, including a phosphate group or a RNA) along with various branched structure formations. The claimed branched compounds encompasses broader than results of the MSH3_1000; claim 87 does not require branched asymmetric siRNAs, claims 157-158 and 166 recite embodiments that are broader than MSH3_1000. Khvorova highlights the importance of branched siRNA comprising asymmetric siRNAs, see below.
Further, comparing similar unmodified ASO SEQ ID NO: 491 or 492 of Bermingham and instant MSH3_1000 (an unbranched asymmetric siRNA), Fig. 1 discloses that MSH3_1000 has inhibition of ~85% (par. 490), the result is similar to what is expected based on the ASO of Bermingham SEQ ID NO: 491/492MPEP (see 03/02/26 action, pg. 6, excerpt of Table 2) in combination with Hough and Khvorova. Hough indicates that siRNA and ASO have similar hit rate and potency. Further, Khvorova indicates that branched product comprising asymmetric siRNA is even more potent than unbranched or possibly even branched compound comprising canonical siRNA due to branched compound comprising asymmetric siRNA having improved tissue retention based on the hydrophobicity of the two single-stranded phosphorothioated tails, even a siRNA with a cholesterol conjugate diffuses away from site of injection (par. 179). Thus proving the criticality of an asymmetric siRNA with single-stranded tails that is not existent in a canonical siRNAs.
Thus, SEQ ID NO: 491/492 of Bermingham in combination with Khvorova, Foster and Hough renders the instant claimed invention obvious, and the results of instant claimed compound is not unexpected.
Thus, examined claims are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
No claims allowed.
Conclusion
/KEYUR A VYAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Soren Harward/Primary Examiner, TC 1600