DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of 02/18/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 5, and 20 are amended due to the applicant's amendment.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention as set forth in the previous Office action are each overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. WO-2010107244-A2 in view of Oka et al. WO-2014171541-A1 and Kamalasanan et al. US-20130015431-A1 (and as applied to claim 1 and in view of further cited references) as set forth in the previous Office action are each maintained.
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. WO-2011037429-A2 in view of Oka et al. WO-2014171541-A1 and Kamalasanan et al. US-20130015431-A1 (and as applied to claim 1 and in view of further cited references) as set forth in the previous Office action are each overcome due to the applicant's amendment.
Additionally, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection of claim 5 have been made over Kim et al. US-20120018717-A1.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments on pages 28-30 of the reply dated 02/18/2026 with respect to the rejection of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. WO-2010107244-A2 in view of Oka et al. WO-2014171541-A1 and Kamalasanan et al. US-20130015431-A1 (and as applied to claim 1 and in view of further references) as set forth in the previous Office Action have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's argument – The applicant argues that a compound of formed such that the position corresponding to A11 in Formula 1 is an anthracene group and the position corresponding to A12 in Formula 1 is a carbazole group is excluded from the claims and therefore the cited compound TA8-H4-H2 of Cho is excluded from the claims because, in the cited compound TA8-H4-H2 of Cho, the position corresponding to A11 of Formula 1 is an anthracene group and the position corresponding to A12 of Formula 1 is a carbazole group.
Examiner's response – This is not found persuasive for the following reasons. The cited compound TA8-H4-H2 of Cho has the structure
. As discussed in the rejection of record, this compound meets claimed Formula 1 wherein A11 is a benzene group and A12 is a C20 heterocyclic group, a naphthocarbazole group, either by being selected as or formed by these groups. The examiner does not dispute that the compound also meets the claimed formula wherein A11 is an anthracene group and A12 is a carbazole group. However, the scenario where A11 is a benzene group and A12 is a naphthocarbazole group reads on the positively recited definitions of A11 and A12 and has not been expressly excluded in the form a proviso. Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that the compound TA8-H4-H2 of Cho still reads on the claimed Formula 1 where A11 is a benzene group and A12 is a naphthocarbazole group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-14, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. WO-2010107244-A2 (hereinafter "Cho") in view of Oka et al. WO-2014171541-A1, see US-20160056388-A1 for English language equivalent (hereinafter "Oka") and Kamalasanan et al. US-20130015431-A1 (hereinafter "Kamalasanan").
Regarding claims 1, 3-4, 6-14, 16-17, and 20, Cho teaches an organic electroluminescent device comprising of a first electrode, a second electrode, and at least one organic layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the organic layer comprises one or more organic electroluminescent compounds represented by one of Chemical Formulas (1) to (5) (¶ [80]), as a host with a phosphorescent dopant (¶ [81]). Cho teaches that the device exhibits excellent luminous efficiency and very good operation life when the compound is used as a host (¶ [85]). Cho teaches a specific example of the organic electroluminescent device in Example 1 wherein the device has the following layer structure: ITO anode / hole injection layer of 2-TNATA / hole transport layer of NPB / light emitting layer comprising the compound of TA8-H4-H2 as a host and (piq)2Ir(acac) as a dopant / electron transport layer of Alq / electron injection layer of Liq / Al cathode (¶ [193]-[200] and Table 3). The details of structure of TA8-H4-H2 can be found in paragraphs [198]:
.
The compound TA8-H4-H2 of Cho is a first compound represented by the claimed Formula 1 wherein:
Ar11 is a group represented by Formula 1-1;
m11 is 1;
A11 is a C6 carbocyclic group (a benzene group), A12 is a C20 heterocyclic group (a naphthocarbazole group), and A81 and A82 are not required to be present;
X11 is N[(L13)a13-R13];
X12 is a single bond;
X81 is not required to be present;
X82 is not required to be present;
L11 to L-16 and L81 to L84 are not required to be present;
a11 to a12 are not required to be present, a13 is 0, and a16 and a81 to a84 are not required to be present;
R11 to R12 are not required to be present, R13 is a substituted C5 heteroaryl group (an unsubstituted pyridinyl group), and R16- is not required to be present;
n11 and n12 are each 0;
R81 to R84 are not required to be present;
R101 is hydrogen, R102 is a substituted C4 heteroaryl group (a pyrimidinyl group substituted with two C6 aryl groups), and R85 and R86 are not required to be present; and
b101 is 4 and b102 is 1, and b85 and b86 are not required to be present.
Cho does not specifically disclose a device as described above wherein the electron transport region comprises a compound represented by the claimed Formula 2.
Oka teaches cyclic azine compounds of a general formula (1), a general formula (2), and a general formula (2') (¶ [0021]) and that an organic electroluminescent device having an electron transport layer containing the cyclic azine compound is excellent in luminous efficiency characteristics and drive voltage characteristics in addition to long service life (¶ [0012], ¶ [0019], ¶ [0506]). Oka teaches specific examples of the cyclic azine compound including compound E-1
(¶ [0108]), page 99).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the instant claims to modify the device of Cho to include an electron transporting layer of Oka in the electron transport region of the device of Cho, based on the teaching of Oka. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an organic electroluminescent device which is excellent in luminous efficiency characteristics and drive voltage characteristics in addition to long service life, as taught by Oka.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifically select cyclic azine compound E-1, because it would have been choosing from the list of specifically exemplified compounds of Oka, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a cyclic azine compound useful as in the electron transport layer and possessing the benefits of excellent in luminous efficiency characteristics and drive voltage characteristics, as taught by Oka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising the compound of Oka having the benefits as described above taught by Oka in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success of a device excellent in luminous efficiency characteristics and drive voltage characteristics in addition to long service life, as taught by Oka. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
The compound E-1 of Oka in the electron transport layer is a second compound represented by the claimed Formula 2 wherein:
A21 is a C6 arene group (a benzene group),
X21 is N, X22 is C(R22), X23 is N, X24 is C(R24), and X25 is N,
R21 is not required to be present, R22 is a C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), R23 is not required to be present, R24 are each a C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), R25 is not required to be present, and in one instance R26 is a group represented by Formula 9-2 and in the other instance R26 is a substituted C6 aryl group (a phenyl group),
b26 is 2,
L91 is not required to be present,
L92 is a C6 arylene group (a phenylene group) and L93 is not required to be present,
a91 is not required to be present,
a92 is 1, and a93 is not required to be present,
R91 and R93 are not required to be present,
R92 is a pyrimidinyl group substituted with a C1 alkyl group (methyl), and
Q1 to Q3 are not required to be present.
The compound E-1 of Oka in the electron transport layer is a second compound represented by the claimed Formula 2-1 wherein:
X21 is N, X22 is C(R22), X23 is N, X24 is C(R24), and X25 is N,
R21 is not required to be present, R22 is a C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), R23 is not required to be present, R24 is a C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), R25 is not required to be present, R26a is not required to be present, R26b is a group represented by Formula 9-2, R26c is not required to be present, R26d is a substituted C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), and R26e is not required to be present, and
Q1 to Q3 are not required to be present.
Cho in view of Oka does not specifically teach a device as discussed above wherein the electron transport layer that comprises cyclic azine compound E-1 further comprises at least one selected from an alkaline metal complex and an alkaline earth-metal complex. However, Oka teaches the electron transport layer may also contain other electron-transporting materials in addition to the cyclic azine compound including alkali metal complexes, alkaline earth metal complexes (¶ [0262]).
Kamalasanan teaches alkaline metal quinolate compounds of general formula 1 comprising lithium, sodium or potassium (¶ [0001]), and that the doping of these materials in electron transport materials improves their electron mobility (¶ [0004]). Kamalasanan teaches the alkaline metal quinolate compound of general formula 1 used as an n-dopant in the electron transport layer of an organic light emitting device (¶ [0043]). Kamalasanan teaches efficient charge balance in organic light emitting devices can be achieved with the alkaline metal quinolates in the electron transport layer (¶ [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the instant claims to further modify the device of Cho in view of Oka by doping the electron transport layer that comprises cyclic azine compound E-1 with the alkaline metal quinolate complex of general formula 1 of Kamalasanan, based on the teaching of Kamalasanan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve electron mobility and achieve efficient charge balance, as taught by Kamalasanan.
The compound (piq)2Ir(acac)
(¶ [198]) in the light-emitting layer is an organometallic complex represented by claimed Formula 401 wherein:
M is iridium (Ir),
L401 is a ligand represented by Formula 402, and xc1 is 2, and the two L401 ligands are identical,
L402 is an organic ligand, and xc2 is 1,
X401 is carbon, X402 is nitrogen, X403, and X404 are each carbon,
X401 and X403 are connected to each other via a double bond, and X402 and X404 are connected to each other via a single bond,
A401 is a C6 carbocyclic group (a phenyl group) and A402 is a C9 heterocyclic group (a quinoline group) and,
X405 is a single bond,
X406 is a single bond,
R401 and R402 are each hydrogen,
xc11 is 4 and xc12 is 6, and
* and *' in Formula 402 each indicate a binding site to M in Formula 401.
The electron injection layer is formed of lithium quinolate (Liq), which is an alkaline metal compound.
Therefore, the modified device of Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan meets claims 1, 3-4, 6-14, 16-17, and 20.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. WO-2010107244-A2 (hereinafter "Cho") in view of Oka et al. WO-2014171541-A1, see US-20160056388-A1 for English language equivalent ("Oka") and Kamalasanan et al. US-20130015431-A1 ("Kamalasanan") as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim et al. US-20040100190-A1 (hereinafter “Kim-190”).
Regarding claim 2, Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan does not specifically teach a device as discussed above wherein the layer between the light-emitting layer and the electron transport layer of Oka comprises either the claimed first compound represented by Formula 1 or the claimed second compound represented by Formula 2.
Kim-190 teaches an OLED having an emission layer comprising a host and a dopant and a non-doping layer as a hole blocking layer adjacent to the emission layer comprising only the host (see Abstract, ¶ [0001]). Kim-190 teaches that such an arrangement improves luminescence efficiency and simplifies the manufacturing process since an additional hole blocking material is not required (see Abstract, ¶ [0022]–[0023], ¶ [0043], and ¶ [0045]–[0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan to further include a non-doping layer as a hole blocking layer adjacent to the emission layer on the cathode side comprising the host compound of Cho, based on the teaching of Kim-190. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain improved luminescence efficiency with a simplified manufacturing process, as taught by Kim-190.
The non-doping layer as a hole blocking layer of Kim-190 is between the cathode and the light-emitting layer and necessarily transport electrons from the cathode into the light-emitting layer. Therefore, the non-doping layer as a hole blocking layer is in the electron transport region and corresponds to the claimed first layer comprising the compound of Formula 1.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. WO-2010107244-A2 (hereinafter "Cho") in view of Oka et al. WO-2014171541-A1, see US-20160056388-A1 for English language equivalent ("Oka") and Kamalasanan et al. US-20130015431-A1 ("Kamalasanan") as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lee et al. US-20060103298-A1 (hereafter "Lee").
Regarding claim 15, Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan does not specifically teach a device as discussed above wherein the emission layer comprises a first host and a second host, the first host is the first compound, and the first host is different from the second host. In the modified devices discussed above the host compound in the light-emitting layer is the compound of Cho.
Lee teaches an organic electroluminescent device which can prevent device characteristics from being degraded due to crystallization which may occur during a device operation (¶ [0013]) wherein the device comprising at least one light-emitting layer, wherein the light emitting layer comprises at least one dopant and at least two host materials include a first host material and a second host material (¶ [0015]). Lee teaches that by forming the light emitting layer using the mixture of two or more host materials, crystallization which may occur during a manufacturing process or device operation can be prevented, thereby reducing inferiority resulting from the device characteristic degradation and device damage (¶ [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the light-emitting layer further comprising a second host compound, based on the teaching of Lee. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce crystallization and thereby reduce inferiority resulting from the device characteristic degradation and device damage, as taught by Lee.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. WO-2010107244-A2 (hereinafter "Cho") in view of Oka et al. WO-2014171541-A1, see US-20160056388-A1 for English language equivalent ("Oka") and Kamalasanan et al. US-20130015431-A1 ("Kamalasanan") as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jang et al. US-20100289008-A1 ("Jang").
Regarding claim 18, Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan does not specifically teach a device as discussed above wherein the hole transport region between the emission layer and the anode comprises a p-dopant and the p-dopant has a lowest unoccupied molecular orbital (LUMO) energy level of 3.5 eV or less. However, the hole transport layer of the modified device of Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan comprises NPB.
Jang teaches an organic light emitting device having high efficiency can be obtained by forming a hole injecting and/or transporting layer of an organic light emitting device doping a material with a LUMO energy level of -4 eV or less in a material with a HOMO energy level of -4 eV or less (¶ [0009],¶ [0011]). Jang teaches specific examples of the material with a LUMO energy level of -4 eV or less include 2,3,5,6-tetrafluoro-7,7,8,8-tetracyanoquinodimethane (F4TCNQ) and hexaazatriphenylene-hexacarbonitrile (¶ [0036]), which comprise a cyano group, and specific examples of the material with a HOMO energy level of -4 eV or less include NPB (¶ [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan by doping the hole transport layer comprising NPB, which is a HOMO energy level of -4 eV or less, with a material with a LUMO energy level of -4 eV or less, based on the teaching of Jang. The motivation for doing so would have been to obtain high efficiency, as taught by Jang.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifically select 2,3,5,6-tetrafluoro-7,7,8,8-tetracyanoquinodimethane (F4TCNQ) or hexaazatriphenylene-hexacarbonitrile as the material with a LUMO energy level of -4 eV or less, because it would have been choosing from the list of materials specifically disclosed by Jang, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful in a hole transport layer of an organic light emitting device and possessing the benefit of high efficiency as taught by Jang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising the material with a LUMO energy level of -4 eV or less having the benefit of high efficiency as taught by Jang in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success of a device with high efficiency, as taught by Jang. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
The instant specification teaches the p-dopant may include 2,3,5,6-tetrafluoro-7,7,8,8-tetracyanoquinodimethane (F4TCNQ) and hexaazatriphenylene-hexacarbonitrile (see ¶ [00381] and ¶ [00383]). Jang teaches that the LUMO of these compounds is -4 eV or less and this is lower than -3.5 eV. Therefore the Office is equating 2,3,5,6-tetrafluoro-7,7,8,8-tetracyanoquinodimethane (F4TCNQ) and hexaazatriphenylene-hexacarbonitrile with the claimed p-dopant because the instant specification teaches the p-dopant may be 2,3,5,6-tetrafluoro-7,7,8,8-tetracyanoquinodimethane (F4TCNQ) and hexaazatriphenylene-hexacarbonitrile and because the each meet the instant claim limitations of comprising a cyano group and having a LUMO lower than -3.5 eV and it is presumed that compounds that meet the instant claim limitations function as the claimed p-dopant.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. WO-2010107244-A2 (hereinafter "Cho") in view of Oka et al. WO-2014171541-A1, see US-20160056388-A1 for English language equivalent ("Oka") and Kamalasanan et al. US-20130015431-A1 ("Kamalasanan") as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bamfield, Peter Hutchings, Michael G. (2010). Chromic Phenomena - Technological Applications of Colour Chemistry (2nd Edition) - 3.9.10 Applications of OLEDs in Displays. Royal Society of Chemistry ("Bamfield").
Regarding claim 19, Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan teaches the modified device as discussed above with respect to claim 1.
Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan does not specifically teach a device as discussed above wherein the phosphorescent-emitting layer is a first-color light emission layer, the organic layer further comprises i) at least one second-color light emission layer, wherein the first-color light and the second-color light are identical to or different from each other, or ii) at least one second-color light emission layer and at least one third-color light emission layer, wherein the first-color light, the second-color light, and third-color light are identical to or different from one another, and when the organic light-emitting device operates, mixed light comprising the first-color light and the second-color light is emitted, or mixed light comprising the first-color light, the second-color light, and the third-color light is emitted.
Bamfield teaches that white light may be obtained by a multilayer device wherein two or more emitter layers are on top of each other such that when activated, they produce white light (page 351, Section 3.9.10.1, first paragraph) and exemplifies a blue/red/green multilayer structure in Fig. 3.55(a) (page 352). Bamfield teaches white OLEDs advantageously emit diffuse light over an area and are useful lighting spaces and back lighting display panels (page 350, Section 3.9.10 first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the instant claims to further modify the device of Cho in view of Oka and Kamalasanan to provide the emitting layer as a laminate of a plurality of layers of blue, red, and green such that when activated, they produce mixed light comprising the three colors, i.e., white light, based on the teaching of Bamfield. The motivation for doing so would have been to produce diffuse white light useful in lighting spaces and back lighting display panels, as taught by Bamfield.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US-20120018717-A1 (hereinafter "Kim-717") in view of Oka et al. WO-2014171541-A1, see US-20160056388-A1 for English language equivalent (hereinafter "Oka") and Kamalasanan et al. US-20130015431-A1 (hereinafter "Kamalasanan").
Regarding claim 5, Kim-717 teaches an organic electronic device comprising a compound having aryl or hetero aryl condensed with inden and indole in a light emitting layer as a host (¶ [0008]-[0011]). Kim-717 teaches specific examples of the organic light emitting device including Example 3 wherein the device has the following layer structure: ITO anode / CuPc hole injection layer / a-NPD hole transport layer / light emitting layer comprising compound C-6 as a host and Ir(ppy)3 as a dopant / BAlq hole blocking layer / Alq3 electron injection layer / LiF/Al cathode (¶ [0113]-[0117] and TABLE 1).
The compound C-6 has the structure
(page 17) and is a first compound represented by the claimed Formula 1 wherein:
Ar11 is a group represented by Formula 1-1;
m11 is 1;
A11 is a C6 carbocyclic group (a benzene group), A12 is a C14 carbocyclic group (a fluorene group), and A81 and A82 are not required to be present;
X11 is N[(L13)a13-R13];
X12 is a single bond;
X81 is not required to be present;
X82 is not required to be present;
L11 to L-16 and L81 to L84 are not required to be present;
a11 to a12 are not required to be present, a13 is 0, and a16 and a81 to a84 are not required to be present;
R11 to R12 are not required to be present, R13 is a substituted C5 heteroaryl group (a pyrimidine group substituted with two phenyl groups), and R16- is not required to be present;
n11 and n12 are each 0;
R81 to R84 are not required to be present;
R101 is hydrogen and R102 is an unsubstituted C1 alkyl group (a methyl group), and R85 and R86 are not required to be present; and
b101 is 4 and b102 is 2, and b85 and b86 are not required to be present.
Kim-717 does not specifically disclose a device as described above comprising an electron transport region that comprises a compound represented by the claimed Formula 2.
Oka teaches cyclic azine compounds of a general formula (1), a general formula (2), and a general formula (2') (¶ [0021]) and that an organic electroluminescent device having an electron transport layer containing the cyclic azine compound is excellent in luminous efficiency characteristics and drive voltage characteristics in addition to long service life (¶ [0012], ¶ [0019], ¶ [0506]). Oka teaches specific examples of the cyclic azine compound including compound E-1
(¶ [0108]), page 99).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the instant claims to modify the device of Kim-717 to include an electron transporting layer of Oka in the electron transport region of the device of Kim, based on the teaching of Oka. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide an organic electroluminescent device which is excellent in luminous efficiency characteristics and drive voltage characteristics in addition to long service life, as taught by Oka.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specifically select cyclic azine compound E-1, because it would have been choosing from the list of specifically exemplified compounds of Oka, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a cyclic azine compound useful as in the electron transport layer and possessing the benefits of excellent in luminous efficiency characteristics and drive voltage characteristics, as taught by Oka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising the compound of Oka having the benefits as described above taught by Oka in order to pursue the known options within their technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success of a device excellent in luminous efficiency characteristics and drive voltage characteristics in addition to long service life, as taught by Oka. See MPEP § 2143.I.(E).
The compound E-1 of Oka in the electron transport layer is a second compound represented by the claimed Formula 2 wherein:
A21 is a C6 arene group (a benzene group),
X21 is N, X22 is C(R22), X23 is N, X24 is C(R24), and X25 is N,
R21 is not required to be present, R22 is a C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), R23 is not required to be present, R24 are each a C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), R25 is not required to be present, and in one instance R26 is a group represented by Formula 9-2 and in the other instance R26 is a substituted C6 aryl group (a phenyl group),
b26 is 2,
L91 is not required to be present,
L92 is a C6 arylene group (a phenylene group) and L93 is not required to be present,
a91 is not required to be present,
a92 is 1, and a93 is not required to be present,
R91 and R93 are not required to be present,
R92 is a pyrimidinyl group substituted with a C1 alkyl group (methyl), and
Q1 to Q3 are not required to be present.
The compound E-1 of Oka in the electron transport layer is a second compound represented by the claimed Formula 2-1 wherein:
X21 is N, X22 is C(R22), X23 is N, X24 is C(R24), and X25 is N,
R21 is not required to be present, R22 is a C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), R23 is not required to be present, R24 is a C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), R25 is not required to be present, R26a is not required to be present, R26b is a group represented by Formula 9-2, R26c is not required to be present, R26d is a substituted C6 aryl group (a phenyl group), and R26e is not required to be present, and
Q1 to Q3 are not required to be present.
Kim-717 in view of Oka does not specifically teach a device as discussed above wherein the electron transport layer that comprises cyclic azine compound E-1 further comprises at least one selected from an alkaline metal complex and an alkaline earth-metal complex. However, Oka teaches the electron transport layer may also contain other electron-transporting materials in addition to the cyclic azine compound including alkali metal complexes, alkaline earth metal complexes (¶ [0262]).
Kamalasanan teaches alkaline metal quinolate compounds of general formula 1 comprising lithium, sodium or potassium (¶ [0001]), and that the doping of these materials in electron transport materials improves their electron mobility (¶ [0004]). Kamalasanan teaches the alkaline metal quinolate compound of general formula 1 used as an n-dopant in the electron transport layer of an organic light emitting device (¶ [0043]). Kamalasanan teaches efficient charge balance in organic light emitting devices can be achieved with the alkaline metal quinolates in the electron transport layer (¶ [0129]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to before the effective filing date of the instant claims to further modify the device of Kim-717 in view of Oka by doping the electron transport layer that comprises cyclic azine compound E-1 with the alkaline metal quinolate complex of general formula 1 of Kamalasanan, based on the teaching of Kamalasanan. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve electron mobility and achieve efficient charge balance, as taught by Kamalasanan.
Therefore, the modified device of Kim-717 in view of Oka and Kamalasanan meets claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786