DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the response filed 11/21/2025, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
In light of Applicant’s amendments to the claims, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of claims 36-38 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2017/0222158 A1) in view of Male et al. (US 2010/0013377 A1) and further in view of Schmid et al. (US 2012/0286253 A1), is withdrawn by the Office.
Claims 14, 16, 27, and 36-38 have been amended.
Claims 39 and 40 are added
Claims 14-27, 32-33, and 36-40 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendments do not overcome the prior art because the prior art still reads on the claimed invention.
A reinterpretation of the prior art is given below to explain how the prior art still reads on the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-27, 32-33, and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (US 2017/0222158 A1) as evidenced by Kim et al. (US 2019/0326520 A1), and further in view of Male et al. (US 2010/0013377 A1).
With respect to claim 14, Jung discloses an organic optoelectronic device (a light emitting device), comprising an anode, a cathode, an organic layer between the electrodes and the organic layer comprises an electron-transporting layer (an auxiliary electron transport layer), which includes a compound of chemical formula 1 (abstract) and an organometallic complex (Liq, paragraph 0250).
However, Jung never defines what “Liq” is. Examiner is interpreting “Liq” to be the electron transporting organometallic complex 8-Quinolinolato lithium, as this is a well-known electron transporting organometallic complex in the art of electroluminescent devices.
This is evidenced by Kim who teaches that the electron transport region may include a metal-containing material (paragraph 0290), and examples of the metal-containing material include Compound ET-DI (lithium quinolate, LiQ) (paragraph 0292), which is pictured directly below the definition, and also below to facilitate discussion.
Thus, as evidenced by Kim, Jung teaches an organometallic complex, Liq, in the electron transporting layer.
Jung also teaches that the electron transport compound of chemical formula 1 includes compound [A-26] (page 14) which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Jung chemical Formula 1-III (page 8) when R5a and R5b are a biphenyl group (paragraph 0092 and Group 1 on the bottom of page 8).
Jung also teaches that R5a and R5b may be a C4 alkyl (paragraph 0092, line 2), such as t-butyl (paragraph 0037).
Such a compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when A represents a six-membered heteroaromatic ring having 3 nitrogen atoms, R0 represents a substituent represented by Formula (G-1), R2 is a phenyl group having a substituent and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms, the phenyl group having a substituent has two substituents, and the substituents are two alkyl groups having 4 carbon atoms (t-butyl) and the number of carbon atoms forming an sp3 (8) represents 23% of the total number of carbon atoms in the molecule (35).
However, Jung does not exemplify an alkyl substituent in any of the preferred embodiments of the invention.
In analogous art, Male teaches a substituted triazinyl material for use in an organic electroluminescent device (abstract).
Male teaches that some triazine hosts suffer from solubility issues and are not suitable for solution processing (paragraph 0024, lines 9-12), however, this problem can be solved by adding a solubilizing substituent (paragraph 0033), and that preferably the solubilizing substituent is a C4-C20 alkyl group (paragraph 0040).
Male goes on to give 16 preferred embodiments of triazine compounds bearing a solubilizing substituent, of which, 7 of the compounds’ solubilizing substituent is at least one t-butyl group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a t-butyl solubilizing substituent as the substituent at R5a and R5b in the compound of Jung in order to form a material for use in an organic electroluminescent device which is suitable for solution processing, as taught by Male.
With respect to claim 15, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, and the organic compound is represented by General Formula (G2) when R2 is a substituted phenyl group and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms.
With respect to claim 16, Jung discloses an organic optoelectronic device (a light emitting device), comprising an anode, a cathode, an organic layer between the electrodes and the organic layer comprises an electron-transporting layer (an auxiliary electron transport layer), which includes a compound of chemical formula 1 (abstract) and an organometallic complex (Liq, paragraph 0250).
However, Jung never defines what “Liq” is. Examiner is interpreting “Liq” to be the electron transporting organometallic complex 8-Quinolinolato lithium, as this is a well-known electron transporting organometallic complex in the art of electroluminescent devices.
This is evidenced by Kim who teaches that the electron transport region may include a metal-containing material (paragraph 0290), and examples of the metal-containing material include Compound ET-DI (lithium quinolate, LiQ) (paragraph 0292), which is pictured directly below the definition, and also below to facilitate discussion.
Thus, as evidenced by Kim, Jung teaches an organometallic complex, Liq, in the electron transporting layer.
Jung also teaches that the electron transport compound of chemical formula 1 includes compound [A-26] (page 14) which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Jung chemical Formula 1-III (page 8) when R5a and R5b are a biphenyl group (paragraph 0092 and Group 1 on the bottom of page 8).
Jung also teaches that R5a and R5b may be a C4 alkyl (paragraph 0092, line 2), such as t-butyl (paragraph 0037).
Such a compound meets the requirements of the instant claim when A represents a six-membered heteroaromatic ring having 3 nitrogen atoms, R0 represents a substituent represented by Formula (G-1), R2 is a phenyl group having a substituent and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms, the phenyl group having a substituent has two substituents, and the substituents are two alkyl groups having 4 carbon atoms (t-butyl) and the number of carbon atoms forming an sp3 (8) represents 23% of the total number of carbon atoms in the molecule (35).
However, Jung does not exemplify an alkyl substituent in any of the preferred embodiments of the invention.
In analogous art, Male teaches a substituted triazinyl material for use in an organic electroluminescent device (abstract).
Male teaches that some triazine hosts suffer from solubility issues and are not suitable for solution processing (paragraph 0024, lines 9-12), however, this problem can be solved by adding a solubilizing substituent (paragraph 0033), and that preferably the solubilizing substituent is a C4-C20 alkyl group (paragraph 0040).
Male goes on to give 16 preferred embodiments of triazine compounds bearing a solubilizing substituent, of which, 7 of the compounds’ solubilizing substituent is at least one t-butyl group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a t-butyl solubilizing substituent as the substituent at R5a and R5b in the compound of Jung in order to form a material for use in an organic electroluminescent device which is suitable for solution processing, as taught by Male.
With respect to claim 17, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, and the phenyl group having a substituent is represented by Formula (G1-2) when α is phenylene group, R20 is an alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms, m is 1 and n is 2.
With respect to claim 18, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 17, and the phenyl group having a substituent is found at R2 only, as pictured above.
With respect to claim 19, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, and the phenyl group having a substituent is represented by Formula (G1-3) when n is 0, R22 is represented by Formula (G1-3-1), and R23 and R24 are an alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms.
With respect to claim 20, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 19, and the phenyl group having a substituent is used at R2 only, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 21, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, and the substituent of the phenyl group having a substituent is an alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 22, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, and the aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms in a ring is a phenyl group, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 23, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, and the aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms in a ring is represented by instant formula (ra-5), as discussed above.
With respect to claim 24, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, as discussed above.
In the description of R1-R15, variable R2 is a phenyl group having a substituent, and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms.
Examiner notes that the limitations of a substituted or unsubstituted pyridyl is referred to in the alternative only in parent claim 14 in the definition of R1-R15. As Jung in view of Male teaches a compound wherein variable R2 is a phenyl group having a substituent, and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms, the limitations of a substituted or unsubstituted pyridyl is alternative to the primary species, and thus the features of a substituted or unsubstituted pyridyl is not required by the parent claim, nor the instant claim, and therefore, Jung and Male reads on the claim.
With respect to claim 25, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, as discussed above.
In the description of R1-R15, variables R2 is a phenyl group having a substituent, and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms.
Examiner notes that the limitations of an alicyclic group is referred to in the alternative only in parent claim 14 in the definition of R1-R15. As Male teaches a compound wherein variable R2 is a phenyl group having a substituent, and all other R groups are hydrogen atoms, the limitations of an alicyclic group is alternative to the primary species, and thus the features of an alicyclic group is not required by the parent claim, nor the instant claim, and therefore, Jung and Male reads on the claim.
With respect to claim 26, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, and the alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms is a branched alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms (t-butyl), as discussed above.
With respect to claim 27, Jung discloses an organic optoelectronic device (a light emitting device), comprising an anode, a cathode, an organic layer between the electrodes and the organic layer comprises an electron-transporting layer (an auxiliary electron transport layer), which includes a compound of chemical formula 1 (abstract) and an organometallic complex (Liq, paragraph 0250).
However, Jung never defines what “Liq” is. Examiner is interpreting “Liq” to be the electron transporting organometallic complex 8-Quinolinolato lithium, as this is a well-known electron transporting organometallic complex in the art of electroluminescent devices.
This is evidenced by Kim who teaches that the electron transport region may include a metal-containing material (paragraph 0290), and examples of the metal-containing material include Compound ET-DI (lithium quinolate, LiQ) (paragraph 0292), which is pictured directly below the definition, and also below to facilitate discussion.
Thus, as evidenced by Kim, Jung teaches an organometallic complex, Liq, in the electron transporting layer.
Jung also teaches that the electron transport compound of chemical formula 1 includes compound [A-26] (page 14) which is pictured below.
This compound is derived from Jung chemical Formula 1-III (page 8) when R5a and R5b are a biphenyl group (paragraph 0092 and Group 1 on the bottom of page 8).
Jung also teaches that R5a and R5b may be a C4 alkyl (paragraph 0092, line 2), such as t-butyl (paragraph 0037).
However, Jung does not exemplify an alkyl substituent in any of the preferred embodiments of the invention.
In analogous art, Male teaches a substituted triazinyl material for use in an organic electroluminescent device (abstract).
Male teaches that some triazine hosts suffer from solubility issues and are not suitable for solution processing (paragraph 0024, lines 9-12), however, this problem can be solved by adding a solubilizing substituent (paragraph 0033), and that preferably the solubilizing substituent is a C4-C20 alkyl group (paragraph 0040).
Male goes on to give 16 preferred embodiments of triazine compounds bearing a solubilizing substituent, of which, 7 of the compounds’ solubilizing substituent is at least one t-butyl group.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a t-butyl solubilizing substituent as the substituent at R5a and R5b in the compound of Jung in order to form a material for use in an organic electroluminescent device which is suitable for solution processing, as taught by Male.
Such a compound is identical to instant Compound (120).
With respect to claims 32 and 33, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14 and claim 16, and the compound has a molecular weight between 500 and 2,000 (Da).
With respect to claims 36 through 38, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, and the organometallic complex comprises an alkali metal (lithium).
With respect to claims 39 and 40, Jung and Male teach the device of claim 14, as discussed above.
Examiner is interpreting this composition to meet the requirements of the instant claims through its use as a preferred embodiment of the claimed invention, as given on pages 20 (Compound 120) and 115 (Liq) of the instant specification. Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and it has been held that when the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present (See MPEP 2112.01(II)), and the compounds of Jung in view of Male read on the claims.
Jung and Male are silent to the ordinary refractive index of the compounds with respect to light with a wavelength in a range from 455 nm to 465 nm being higher than or equal to 1.5 and lower than or equal to 1.75. However, this is considered to be a property of the composition. Support for this presumption comes from the use of like materials and like processes when the compounds are used as materials in the organic layer of an electroluminescent device, which would result in the claimed property described in the instant claims. Therefore, the claims are considered to be obvious over Jung and Male, and the burden shifts to applicant to show that there is an unobvious difference between the claimed composition and the composition in the prior art. See MPEP 2112 (V). In addition, the presently claimed properties are considered to be present once the work of Jung and Male was first provided. See MPEP 2112.01 (II).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Examiner, Art Unit 1786