DETAILED ACTION
This Office action details a non-final action on the merits for the above referenced application No. Claims 9-16, and 18-20 are pending in this application.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, and 17 are cancelled. Claim 18 is amended.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24 Sep. 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 24 Sep. 2025 have been entered.
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicants amendments, the rejection of claims 18-20 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Illig et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett.; published 2008; “Illig et al. III”), in view of Bernard-Gauthier et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett.; published 2014) and Illig et al. (WO 2006/047504 A1; published 2006) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Illig et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett; published 2008), in view of Bernard-Gauthier et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett.; published 2014) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 31 Mar. 2025.
Claim(s) 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Illig et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett; published 2008), in view of Bernard-Gauthier et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett.; published 2014), in further view of Illig et al. (WO 2006/047504 A1; published 4 May 2003; “Illig et al. III”) for the reasons cited in the Office action filed on 31 Mar. 2025.
Applicants Arguments
Applicants assert that a POSA must have had a reasonable expectation of success in achieving the claimed invention in view of the prior art. In this case, a POSA would not have had a reasonable expectation of success. Even if a compound is a potent CSF1R inhibitor with good bioavailability, it does not necessarily follow that a radiolabeled variant of the compound will exhibit good performance as a PET imaging agent. A recent study by Foss demonstrated that a radiolabeled [11C] variant of Illig’s compound 8 exhibited poor imaging properties in baboon. Foss explains that [11C]1 exhibited poor in vivo brain uptake, making it unsuitable for CNS PET studies. In Attili, the 11C-labeled compound, [11C]26, did not show any specific CSF1R binding in the brain. Despite Illig’s compounds 8 and 26 exhibiting good performance as CSF1R inhibitors, these compounds did not perform well as PET tracers. Illig’s compound 24 exhibited similar performance to Illig’s compounds 8 and 26 as a CSF1R inhibitor. A radiolabeled variant of compound 24 exhibits excellent PET imaging properties, whereas Illig’s compounds 8 and 26 did not. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success at achieving the claimed invention, particularly in view of the numerous failures of derivatives of Illig’s compounds at performing as PET imaging agents. A person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated and would not have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Illig’s compound 24 based on its performance as a CSF1R inhibitor.
Applicant's arguments filed 24 Sep. 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Illig provides for the CSF-1R inhibitor compound 24
where B=
and C=
having a CSF-1R IC50 of 0.8 nM determined using in vitro CSF-1R inhibition experiments. According to Illig, CSF-1R is associated with diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis and metastatic cancer. At pg. 1646 and table 4, Illig teaches that compound 24 showed good oral bioavailability, an adequate half-life and moderate plasma clearance. In this case, Illig provides an adequate reasonable expectation of success that compound 24 would be a suitable imaging agent for in vitro and/or in vivo detection of CSF-1R associated diseases including metastatic cancer. Under AIA , predictability is determined before the effective filing date. Conclusive proof of efficacy is not required to show a reasonable expectation of success; nor is there a requirement for absolute predictability. See OSI Pharm., LLC v. Apotex Inc., 939 F.3d 1375, 1385, 2019 USPQ2d 379681 (Fed. Cir. 2019). There would have been a reasonable expectation of success since Illig teaches that compound 24 binds to CSF-1R with high affinity and that compound 24 shows good bioavailability and moderate clearance suggesting an advantage for quantitative PET imaging. Foss and Attili only support the Examiner’s position that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings of Illig before the effective filing date with a reasonable expectation of success to select and then modify one of the most promising compounds therein by substituting an Me- with [11C]Me for imaging and detection of CSF-1R in vitro and in vivo. Foss selected and then modified compound 8 in Illig by 11C substitution. Attili selected and then modified compound 26 in Illig by 11C substitution.
Foss was published after the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Foss could not have informed one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date about the predictability of compound 24 in Illig for PET imaging CSF-1R in vitro or in vivo. None of claims 9-14 require in vivo imaging of CSF-1R.
Attili does not inform one of ordinary skill in the art about the predictability of compound 24 in Illig for PET imaging CSF-1R in vitro or in vivo. Attili teaches a different compound having a different metabolism and different physiochemical properties and lower binding affinity than compound 24 in Illig. In order for Attilli to have dissuaded Applicants from selecting and modifying compound 24 in Illig, Applicant would have had to of been aware of Attili before the effective filing date. Both Illig and Attili teach that CSF-1R is overexpressed in a number of disease states but Attili teaches biodistribution and blocking experiments in healthy adult mice and Attili implies autoradiography experiments one healthy rat brain slice. Attili does not inform one of ordinary skill in the art about PET detecting elevated CSF-1R expression in various disease states.
At abstract, Bernard-Gauthier teaches that the results from the biological evaluation of compound 10 and the radiosynthesis of [18F]10 support the further investigation of the tracer as a potential PET imaging for CSF-1R. At table 1, compound 1 is reported as having a lower binding affinity for CSF-1R than compound 24 in Illig. A recognized advantage is the strongest reason to combine. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify compound 24 in Illig by substituting the N-Me with N-[11C]Me with a reasonable expectation of success as taught by Illig and Bernard-Gauthier because the substituting would have been expected to enable further PET investigation of the obvious [11C]24 expected to be suitable for PET imaging of CSF-1R in a number of disease states associated with elevated CSF-1R expression.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Illig et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett; published 2008), in view of Bernard-Gauthier et al. (Bioorg. Med. Chem. Lett.; published 2014) and Kniess et al. (MedChemComm; published 2015; see attached 892), in further view of Illig et al. (WO 2006/047504 A1; published 4 May 2006; see IDS filed 25 Mar. 2022; “IIIig et al. II”).
Illig et al. teach as discussed above. Illig et al. teach the discovery of novel FMS kinase inhibitors as anti-inflammatory agents (see pg. 1642). Illig et al. teach that colony stimulating factor is also known as FMS (see pg. 1642). Illig et al. teach the inhibition of FMS appears to be of therapeutic value in treating diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis and metastatic cancer to the bone where osteoclasts and macrophages are pathogenic (see pg. 1642). Illig et al. teach that compound 24 of formula
wherein B is
and C is
has an FMS IC50 of 0.0008 µM (see pg. 1645). Illig et al. teach that the involvement of macrophages and cells of the macrophage lineage in inflammation, metastatic bone disease, and arthritis, these agents may have good utility for the treatment of these diseases (see pg. 1647). Illig et al. teach fluorinated compounds 23 and 27 (tables 1 and 2). Illig et al. teach that having achieved good in vitro potency, the pharmacokinetic profiles of several of the more potent compounds (e.g. 24) were evaluated. The pharmacokinetic parameters for these compounds are shown in table 4 (pg. 1646; table 4).
Illig et al. do not teach a compound of instant formula (1k)
or a method for imaging CSF1R in a subject afflicted with a neuroinflammatory disorder such as AD.
Bernard-Gauthier et al. teach 5-(4-((4-[18F]fluorobenzyl)oxy)-3-methoxybenzyl)pyrimidine-2,4-diamine: a selective dual inhibitor for potential PET imaging of Tfrk/CSF-1R (see title). Bernard-Gauthier et al. teach that the high selectivity of 9 could constitute a promising basis for the development of PET-TKI probes with potential imaging applications for CFF-1R, since CSF-1R also represents a useful PTE imaging target. CSF-1R regulates mononuclear phagocyte differentiation and proliferation and as such plays a central role in multiple macrophage-mediated pathological conditions. In particular, infiltration of TAMs within tumor microenvironments relying on CSF-1R for survival and differentiation is associated with poor prognosis in numerous cancers. The structure of GW2580 possesses two aromatic methoxy moieties potentially amenable for carbon-11 (t1/2= 20 min) labeling (see pg. 4785). Fluorine-18 displays better nuclear properties which allow for a more flexible radiosynthesis and lead to high quality PET images. The derivatives were selected in order to be accessible as 18F-isotopolugues (pg. 4785).
Kniess et al. teach 2-[18F]fluoroethyl tosylate as a versatile tool for building 18F-based radiotracers for PET (see title). In general, the fluoroethyl group holds similar steric properties like methyl and ethyl groups and is expected to maintain the pharmacological properties of the lead compound. The increased lipophilicity originating from the fluoroethyl group may be beneficial for addressing specific targets or organs, e.g. brain. From a radiochemists point of view,the [18F]fluoroethyl group may act as a surrogate for a [11C]methyl radiolabel because it can be coupled to the same functional groups. Precursors already available for methylation with [11C]methyl iodide can be used without modification for [18F]fluoroethylation (pg. 1715). Kniess et al. teach N-[18F]fluoroethylamines (pgs. 1733-1738).
Illig et al. II teach aromatic amides as inhibitors of C-FMS kinase (see title). Illig et al. teach that examples of diseases that can be effective treated include Alzheimer’s disease and multiple sclerosis (see pg. 30). Illig et al. II teach 4-cyano-1H-pyrrole-2-carboxylic acid (see pgs. 36 and 106).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the compound of Illig et al. (compound 24) by substituting its N-Me with N-Et18F as taught by Bernard-Gauthier et al. and Kniess et al. because the substituting would have been expected to advantageously enable a PET imaging probe for disease associated CSF-1R and enable a surrogate for a [11C]methyl group while advantageously providing a longer half-life and benefiting targeting organs including the brain. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify Illig et al. by administering the obvious [18F]FEt-24 to a subject suspected of having AD or MS and PET image the subject as taught by Illig et al. II, Bernard-Gauthier et al. and Kniess et al. because it would have been expected to enable non-invasive in vivo PET diagnosis of CSF-1R associated AD or MS in the subject.
Conclusion
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/SEAN R. DONOHUE/
Examiner, Art Unit 1618