DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 5, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Here, applicant generally claims that Stolt merely performs the operations of the encoder (Remarks of August 5, 2025, page 8). The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner argues that you have to look no further than the abstract of the prior art that indicates that the invention is related to an encoder and decoder. Further, it is implied by Stolt that the encoder and decoder performs similar operations to obtain desired result. The applicant does not appear to make an argument against a specific claim element but only argues that the claimed invention is an decoder and Stolt is teaching an encoder, which the examiner respectfully disagrees based on the stated reasons. Thus, the examiner believes a final is appropriate at this stage of patent prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 6 – 9, 11- 16, and 18 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Stolt (US 2017/0359589).
As per claim 1, Stolt discloses a method implemented by a receiving computing device (Figure 6), the method comprising:
receiving video frames of different resolutions in a video sequence from a sending computing device (¶ 37), the video frames of different resolutions comprising inter-coded frames of different resolutions, wherein receiving the video frames of the different resolutions in the video sequence comprises:
receiving encoded data representing a first frame of a first resolution; and
after receiving the video frames of different resolutions in the video sequence (¶ 64);
comparing the first resolution of the first frame with a second resolution of a second frame (¶ 48) stored in a reference frame buffer of the receiving computing device;
determining predictors associated with the second frame based on the first resolution and the second resolution, wherein a rescaling operation is performed in the second frame based on a result of the comparing (¶ 175 and 176);
decoding the encoded data to obtain the first frame based at least in part on the predictors; and
storing the first frame in the reference frame buffer (¶ 65 and 174; The another frame (or frames) that is scaled to provide the scaled reference frame for encoding the new, changed resolution source frame should be appropriately stored (e.g. buffered) for the purposes of being scaled to provide the scaled copy reference frame.).
As per claim 3, Stolt discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second frame is a frame of the video sequence received immediately prior to the first frame (¶ 60; In one embodiment the frame used for the scaled reference frame is the immediately preceding source frame).
As per claim 4, Stolt discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising resizing the first frame for display (¶ 37; The transmitted sequence of encoded frames is then decoded (e.g. using decoding processing circuitry) to provide output video image data for the sequence of frames, e.g. for display.).
As per claim 6, Stolt discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the video frames of the different resolutions in the video sequence further comprises: receiving other encoded data representing a third frame of a third resolution; and the method further comprises: decoding the other encoded data to obtain the third frame based at least on the first frame (¶ 62; It would also be possible to encode (and correspondingly decode) the new, “changed resolution” source frame with reference to plural other frames in the sequence of source frames (e.g. a previous and a future frame in the sequence of source frames), when desired.).
As per claim 7, Stolt discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising obtaining information of the first resolution of the first frame based at least in part on a particular parameter associated with the first frame (¶ 52).
As per claim 8, Stolt discloses the method of claim 7, wherein obtaining the information of the first resolution of the first frame is further based on another particular parameter associated with the video sequence of a video sequence including the first frame (¶ 52).
Regarding claim(s) 9 and 11 – 16, and 18 - 20, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1, 3, 4 and 6 - 8 are applicable for claim(s) 9 and 11 – 16, and 18 - 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIKAODILI E ANYIKIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487