Detailed Action
This action is in response to the papers filed July 25, 2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Amendments
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 05/27/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-25, 27-32, 35-38, 41-51 are cancelled.
Claims 26 and 40 are amended.
Claims 52-64 are newly added.
Claims 26, 33-34, 39-40, 52-64 are pending.
Claims 33-34, and 39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claims 26, 40, 52-64 are under examination.
Election/Restrictions
The following is a summary of the restriction/election requirements in the application:
Applicant elected without traverse the invention of Group 1, drawn to methods of culturing CD8 T cells with a signal 3 cytokine, selection thereof, and administration thereof, in the reply filed 04/29/2024. See Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed 02/29/2024.
Claims 33-34, and 39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/29/2024.
Priority
The instant application 17/258,533 was filed on 01/07/2021. This application is a national stage of international application PCT/IB2019/055801 filed 07/08/2019, claiming priority based on U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/695,298 filed 07/09/2018.
Withdrawal of Prior Rejections/Objections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous Office action mailed 02/27/2025 are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either newly applied or are reiterated and are the only rejections and/or objections presently applied to the instant application. Applicant’s remarks filed 05/27/2025 have been carefully considered, but are found moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth in this action.
Claim Interpretation
Page 4, line 22, specification defines “signal 3 cytokine” as referring to IL-12 and type I interferons, i.e., IFN-α and IFN-β.
Page 8, line 8, defines “CD8 T cell” as referring to “CD8+ T cell.”
Page 16, lines 16-19, define a “positive memory cell methylation marker” as referring to markers whose methylation status relative to the corresponding methylation status of the same marker of an appropriate control (e.g., naïve T cell) indicates increased T-cell activity compared to a naïve T cell.
Claim Objections
Claims 26 and 64 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 26, line 4, the term “CD 8” should be “CD8.”
In claim 64, the term “ICB” should be “immune checkpoint blockade (ICB).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 52-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
This rejection is newly applied.
Claims 52 and 53 recite “a memory (Tscm) cell phenotype.”
A broad limitation together with a narrow limitation that falls within the broad limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
In this case, the term “Tscm” refers to “stem cell memory T cell,” and a stem cell memory T cell phenotype is narrower in scope than a memory T cell phenotype. The claims are therefore considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. In particular, it is unclear if the claims require (1) a memory T cell phenotype or (2) a stem cell memory T cell phenotype.
For these reasons, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 26, 40, 52-64 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending U.S. Application No. 16/467,358 (reference to claim listing filed 11/06/2025); in view of Curtsinger et al. (2010) “Inflammatory cytokines as a third signal for T cell activation” Current opinion in immunology, 22(3), 333-340.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims would have been prima facie obvious over the copending claims and secondary references. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
This rejection is newly applied.
The copending claims recite a method of producing a population of CAR-modified CD8+ T cells having increased T cell activity comprising:
measuring methylation levels of genomic loci of a first population of CD8+ T cells, wherein the genomic loci comprise Tcf7, T-bet and Eomes, and
separating a subset of the CAR-modified CD8+ T cells to obtain a second population of CAR-modified CD8+ T cells, wherein the second population of CAR modified CD8+ T cells comprises decreased methylation levels of the genomic loci comprising Tcf7, T-bet, and Eomes, thereby producing a population of CAR modified CD8+ T cells having increased T cell activity (claim 1);
wherein said genomic loci further comprise at least one of: IFNγ, granzyme K, granzyme B, Foxp1, CCR7, and Myc (claim 8);
wherein the second population of CD8+ T cells is administered to a subject (claim 12);
wherein an immune checkpoint blockade (ICB) therapy is further administered to the subject (claim 54).
Accordingly, the difference between the instantly claimed invention and that of the copending claims is a step of “incubating naïve CD8 T cells obtained from a mammal in the presence of a signal 3 cytokine to obtain modified CD8 T cells,” as instantly claimed in claim 26. Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Curtsinger teaches that CD8+ naïve T cells require signal 3 cytokines (IL-12, Type I IFN, i.e., IFNα/β), along with TCR signal (signal 1, Ag) and costimulatory signal (signal 2, including IL-2), to make a productive response and avoid death and/or tolerance induction. TCR and costimulatory signals initiate proliferation of naïve cells, but the cells fail to develop optimal effector functions, survive poorly, and do not form a responsive memory population in the absence of signal 3. In vitro experiments have found that CD8+ naïve T cells expanded for 3 days in the presence of aAPC having Ag and B7-1 on the surface, but in the absence of signal 3 cytokine, resulted in cell death within a few days following transfer to mice. By contrast, if IL-12 is present during the in vitro stimulation, the cells continued to expand for several days following transfer, and, following a characteristic contraction phase, the surviving cell population persisted long-term displaying a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory cells. See Abstract; pg. 333-334; Figure 1:
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of the copending claims by further including a step of “incubating naïve CD8 T cells obtained from a mammal in the presence of a signal 3 cytokine to obtain modified CD8 T cells,” as taught by Curtsinger, with a reasonable expectation of success because stimulation of CD8+ naïve T cells require signal 3 cytokines to make a productive response and avoid death and/or tolerance induction, allowing the cells continued to expand for several days following transfer, and, following a characteristic contraction phase, the surviving cell population persisted long-term displaying a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory cells.
For these reasons, instant claim 26 would have been prima facie obvious over the copending claims and secondary references.
Regarding instant claim 40, the copending claims recite the second population of CD8+ T cells is administered to a subject (claim 12).
Regarding instant claim 54, Curtsinger teaches incubation occurs in vitro. See, e.g., Signal 3 cytokine requirements for CD8 T cell responses on pages 333-334.
Regarding instant claim 56, Curtsinger teaches the signal 3 cytokine is a type I interferon or IL-12. See, e.g., Abstract.
Regarding instant claims 57-58, Curtsinger teaches a step of activating the at least one naïve CD8 T cell. The signal 3 cytokines (IL-12, Type I IFN, i.e., IFNα/β) are provided along with TCR signal (signal 1, Ag) and costimulatory signal (signal 2, including IL-2) to active T cells. See, e.g., pages 333-334; Abstract. Anti-CD28 monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) for T cell stimulation are also described. See, e.g., pg. 336, left column.
Regarding instant claim 61, copending claim 1 recites that the CD8+ T cells are modified with a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) prior to the measurement step.
Regarding instant claims 62-63, the copending claims do not recite that the subject or T cells are human. However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, CAR-T cell therapy comprising administration of human T cells to human subject was known in the art (Official Notice taken, if necessary). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of the copending claims by using human T cells with a reasonable expectation of success because the copending claims are directed to CAR-T therapy, and thus one of ordinary of ordinary skill in the art would have used human T cells to provide said therapy to human subjects in need thereof. Since humans possess a risk of developing cancer, including lymphoma, a leukemia, non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC), head and neck cancer, skin cancer, melanoma, or squamous cell carcinoma (SCC), the limitations of claim 63 are also met.
Regarding instant claim 64, the copending claims recite an immune checkpoint blockade (ICB) therapy is further administered to the subject (claim 54).
The instant claims further recite that the incubation step results in a memory (Tscm) cell phenotype (claim 52) comprising expression of CD95 and CD122 markers (claim 53); an effector-associated epigenetic program comprising demethylation of one or more of granzyme K, granzyme B, and perforin 1 locus (claim 55); an increase in cytokine production, increase in the formation of intracellular granules, increase in the loading of granules with effector agents, and/or an increase in the transport and exocytosis of effector agents (claim 59), wherein the effector agents are granzymes, perforins, and/or granulysins (claim 60).
MPEP 2111.04 instructs that claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. In this case, the claims 52-53, 55, 59-60 recite functional properties and intended results of performing the claimed incubation step (i.e., “incubating naïve CD8 T cells obtained from a mammal in the presence of a signal 3 cytokine”). Since the claimed incubation step is taught by Curtsinger, the recited functional properties and intended results of claims 52-53, 55, 59-60 would naturally flow from the incubation step taught by Curtsinger.
Moreover, Curtsinger teaches that the modified CD8 T cell exhibit a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory phenotypes (pg. 334, left column); produce IFNγ (pg. 333, right column), and exhibit altered expression of genes included many whose products are involved in effector functions (granzymes, IFNγ, FasL), proliferation and costimulation (CD25, Ox-40, 4-1BB), survival (serine protease inhibitor 6, Bcl-3), trafficking and migration, and differentiation, including T-bet, eomesodermin and Blimp-1 (pg. 336, left column). Curtsinger concludes that signal 3 cytokines act, at least partly, by promoting chromatin remodeling to maintain transcription of numerous genes needed for differentiation and effector functions; epigenetic memory of chromatin remodeling contributes to the more rapid and robust response of memory cells upon rechallenge, and it appears likely that at least some of this remodeling occurs in response to the signal 3 cytokine during the early phase of Ag recognition and differentiation. See Conclusions on page 338. In addition, the copending claims recite decreased methylation levels of granzyme K and granzyme B (claim 8). Accordingly, the cited references teach similar functional properties as claimed.
For these reasons, the recited functional properties and intended results of claims 52-53, 55, 59-60 are not found to patentably distinguish the instantly claimed invention from the copending claims and secondary references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 40, 52-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/104909 A2 to Youngblood et al.; in view of Curtsinger et al. (2010) “Inflammatory cytokines as a third signal for T cell activation” Current opinion in immunology, 22(3), 333-340.
This rejection is newly applied.
Youngblood teaches a method comprising measuring the methylation status of specific memory cell methylation markers and using the markers to identify and separate population of CD8 T cells having desired T cell activity (pg. 3, ll. 1-10; claim 18), wherein the methylation markers include IFNγ, granzyme K (GzmK), granzyme B (GzmB), Prf1, T-bet, Tcf7, Myc, T-bet, eomesodermin (Eomes), Foxp1, CCR7, and/or CD62L (pg. 6, ll. 19-25).
Accordingly, the difference between the instantly claimed invention and that of Youngblood is a step of “incubating naïve CD8 T cells obtained from a mammal in the presence of a signal 3 cytokine to obtain modified CD8 T cells,” as instantly claimed in claim 26. Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Curtsinger teaches that CD8+ naïve T cells require signal 3 cytokines (IL-12, Type I IFN, i.e., IFNα/β), along with TCR signal (signal 1, Ag) and costimulatory signal (signal 2, including IL-2), to make a productive response and avoid death and/or tolerance induction. TCR and costimulatory signals initiate proliferation of naïve cells, but the cells fail to develop optimal effector functions, survive poorly, and do not form a responsive memory population in the absence of signal 3. In vitro experiments have found that CD8+ naïve T cells expanded for 3 days in the presence of aAPC having Ag and B7-1 on the surface, but in the absence of signal 3 cytokine, resulted in cell death within a few days following transfer to mice. By contrast, if IL-12 is present during the in vitro stimulation, the cells continued to expand for several days following transfer, and, following a characteristic contraction phase, the surviving cell population persisted long-term displaying a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory cells. See Abstract; pg. 333-334; Figure 1, reproduced above.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Youngblood by further including a step of “incubating naïve CD8 T cells obtained from a mammal in the presence of a signal 3 cytokine to obtain modified CD8 T cells,” as taught by Curtsinger, with a reasonable expectation of success because stimulation of CD8+ naïve T cells require signal 3 cytokines to make a productive response and avoid death and/or tolerance induction, allowing the cells continued to expand for several days following transfer, and, following a characteristic contraction phase, the surviving cell population persisted long-term displaying a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory cells.
For these reasons, instant claim 26 would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Regarding claim 40, Youngblood teaches that the CD8+ T cells are administered to a subject. See, e.g., pg. 12, ll. 4-16.
Regarding claim 54, Curtsinger teaches incubation occurs in vitro. See, e.g., Signal 3 cytokine requirements for CD8 T cell responses on pages 333-334.
Regarding claim 56, Curtsinger teaches the signal 3 cytokine is a type I interferon or IL-12. See, e.g., Abstract.
Regarding claims 57-58, Youngblood teaches a step of activating comprising anti-CD3/CD28 antibodies. See, e.g., pg. 42, ll. 21-25; pg. 47, ll. 1-11. Curtsinger teaches a step of activating the at least one naïve CD8 T cell. The signal 3 cytokines (IL-12, Type I IFN, i.e., IFNα/β) are provided along with TCR signal (signal 1, Ag) and costimulatory signal (signal 2, including IL-2) to active T cells. See, e.g., pages 333-334; Abstract. Anti-CD28 monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) for T cell stimulation are also described. See, e.g., pg. 336, left column.
Regarding instant claim 61, Youngblood teaches that the CD8+ T cells are modified with a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR). See, e.g., pg. 12, ll. 4-16.
Regarding instant claims 62-63, Youngblood teaches that the T cells and subject are human. See, e.g., pg. 11, ll. 27-30; pg. 12, ll. 4-16; pg. 22, ll. 19-20. Since humans possess a risk of developing cancer, including lymphoma, a leukemia, non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC), head and neck cancer, skin cancer, melanoma, or squamous cell carcinoma (SCC), the limitations of claim 63 are also met. In addition, Youngblood teaches that the subject has a lymphoma, a leukemia, non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC), head and neck cancer, skin cancer, melanoma, or squamous cell carcinoma (SCC). See, e.g., claim 16.
Regarding instant claim 64, Youngblood an immune checkpoint blockade (ICB) therapy is further administered to the subject. See, e.g., pg. 12, ll. 4-16; claim 17.
The claims further recite that the incubation step results in a memory (Tscm) cell phenotype (claim 52) comprising expression of CD95 and CD122 markers (claim 53); an effector-associated epigenetic program comprising demethylation of one or more of granzyme K, granzyme B, and perforin 1 locus (claim 55); an increase in cytokine production, increase in the formation of intracellular granules, increase in the loading of granules with effector agents, and/or an increase in the transport and exocytosis of effector agents (claim 59), wherein the effector agents are granzymes, perforins, and/or granulysins (claim 60).
MPEP 2111.04 instructs that claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. In this case, the claims 52-53, 55, 59-60 recite functional properties and intended results of performing the claimed incubation step (i.e., “incubating naïve CD8 T cells obtained from a mammal in the presence of a signal 3 cytokine”). Since the claimed incubation step is taught by Curtsinger, the recited functional properties and intended results of claims 52-53, 55, 59-60 would naturally flow from the incubation step taught by Curtsinger.
Moreover, Curtsinger teaches that the modified CD8 T cell exhibit a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory phenotypes (pg. 334, left column); produce IFNγ (pg. 333, right column), and exhibit altered expression of genes included many whose products are involved in effector functions (granzymes, IFNγ, FasL), proliferation and costimulation (CD25, Ox-40, 4-1BB), survival (serine protease inhibitor 6, Bcl-3), trafficking and migration, and differentiation, including T-bet, eomesodermin and Blimp-1 (pg. 336, left column). Curtsinger concludes that signal 3 cytokines act, at least partly, by promoting chromatin remodeling to maintain transcription of numerous genes needed for differentiation and effector functions; epigenetic memory of chromatin remodeling contributes to the more rapid and robust response of memory cells upon rechallenge, and it appears likely that at least some of this remodeling occurs in response to the signal 3 cytokine during the early phase of Ag recognition and differentiation. See Conclusions on page 338. In addition, Youngblood teaches that the cells exhibit a Tscm phenotype and express CD95 (pg. 41, 47), demethylation of one or more genomic loci (pg. 41). and an increase in cytokine production (pg. 7). Accordingly, the cited references teach similar functional properties as claimed.
For these reasons, the recited functional properties and intended results of claims 52-53, 55, 59-60 are not found to patentably distinguish the instantly claimed invention from the prior art.
Claims 26, 40, 52-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Curtsinger et al. (2010) “Inflammatory cytokines as a third signal for T cell activation” Current opinion in immunology, 22(3), 333-340; in view of Satoh et al. (2012) "The development of IL-17/IFN-γ-double producing CTLs from Tc17 cells is driven by epigenetic suppression of Socs3 gene promoter" European journal of immunology, 42(9), 2329-2342; and Abdelsamed et al. (10 May 2017) “Human memory CD8 T cell effector potential is epigenetically preserved during in vivo homeostasis” Journal of Experimental Medicine, 214(6), 1593-1606.
This rejection is newly applied.
Curtsinger teaches that CD8+ naïve T cells require signal 3 cytokines (IL-12, Type I IFN, i.e., IFNα/β), along with TCR signal (signal 1, Ag) and costimulatory signal (signal 2, including IL-2), to make a productive response and avoid death and/or tolerance induction. TCR and costimulatory signals initiate proliferation of naïve cells, but the cells fail to develop optimal effector functions, survive poorly, and do not form a responsive memory population in the absence of signal 3. In vitro experiments have found that CD8+ naïve T cells expanded for 3 days in the presence of aAPC having Ag and B7-1 on the surface, but in the absence of signal 3 cytokine, resulted in cell death within a few days following transfer to mice. By contrast, if IL-12 is present during the in vitro stimulation, the cells continued to expand for several days following transfer, and, following a characteristic contraction phase, the surviving cell population persisted long-term displaying a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory cells. . See Abstract; pg. 333-334; Figure 1, reproduced above. Curtsinger further teaches that the modified CD8 T cell exhibits a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory phenotypes (pg. 334, left column); produce IFNγ (pg. 333, right column), and exhibit altered expression of genes included many whose products are involved in effector functions (granzymes, IFNγ, FasL), proliferation and costimulation (CD25, Ox-40, 4-1BB), survival (serine protease inhibitor 6, Bcl-3), trafficking and migration, and differentiation, including T-bet, eomesodermin and Blimp-1 (pg. 336, left column). Curtsinger concludes that signal 3 cytokines act, at least partly, by promoting chromatin remodeling to maintain transcription of numerous genes needed for differentiation and effector functions. Epigenetic memory of chromatin remodeling contributes to the more rapid and robust response of memory cells upon rechallenge, and it appears likely that at least some of this remodeling occurs in response to the signal 3 cytokine during the early phase of Ag recognition and differentiation. See Conclusions on page 338.
Accordingly, Curtsinger provides a method of modulating the activity of naïve CD8+ T cells obtained from a mammal, the method comprising a step of incubating the naïve CD8+ T cells in the presence of a signal 3 cytokine to obtain modified CD8+ T cells possessing enhanced activity. Curtsinger further recognizes that the modified CD8 T cells exhibit a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory phenotypes, and the signal 3 cytokines likely act, at least partly, through epigenetic changes and chromatin remodeling of numerous genes needed for differentiation and effector functions.
However, Curtsinger does not teach steps of measuring the methylation profile of the T cells; and separating a subset of the T cells comprising at least one positive memory cell methylation marker (claim 26), wherein the at least one positive memory cell methylation marker comprises CCR7, CD62L, T-bet, Eomes, Foxp1, IFNγ, granzyme K, granzyme B, or perforin 1 (claim 51).
Prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Satoh is relevant art for disclosing a method of activating naïve CD8+ T cells with an antigenic peptide (OVA257–264 peptide), followed by incubation of the activated CD8+ T cells in media containing IL-12. See page 2339, Generation of CD8+ T-cell subsets. Satoh teaches that IL-12 treatment results in epigenetic modifications of the Ifng (IFNγ) promoter region that results in induced IFN-y production (pg. 2330, Epigenetic remodeling of IL-12-converted Tc17 cells). Figure 3A shows an increased degree of methylated histone 3 lysine 4 residues (H3K4me), which is a permissive modification, and a decreased degree of tri-methylation of histone 3 lysine 27 residues (H3K27me3), which is a repressive modification, relative to control Tc17 cells. Accordingly, Satoh recognizes that IL-12 treatment results in IFN-γ production and epigenetic changes of the Ifng (IFNγ) locus.
Satoh further teaches the steps of measuring the methylation profile (H3K4me and H3K27me3) of the CD8+ T cells (Figures 3A-B, 4D), and separating T cell subsets based on production of IFN-γ (pg. 2333, Modifications in the Il17a and Ifng loci of Tc17/IFN-γ cells; Figure 4). Satoh further recognizes that the IL-12 modified T cells comprise the positive methylation markers of IFN-γ and T-bet (Tbx21). See, e.g., Figure 3.
Accordingly, Satoh’s separated IFNγ+ T cells comprise at least the positive methylation marker of T-bet (Tbx21), as claimed in claim 26.
In addition, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, Abdelsamed performed whole-genome bisulfite sequencing (WGBS) to measure the methylation profiles delineating CD8+ T cell differentiation states: naïve T cell > stem cell memory T (Tscm) cell > central memory T (Tcm) cell > effector memory T (Tem) cell. See, e.g., Abstract; pg. 1594, right column. Abdelsamed further found the following differentially methylated regions (DMRs): IFNγ, CCR7, CD62L (SELL), T-bet (Tbx21), eomesodermin (Eomes), granzyme K (GzmK), granzyme B (GzmB), and perforin 1 (Prf1). See, e.g., pages 1594-1596, and Figure 1. Abdelsamed further teaches separating the memory T cells from naïve T cells, by CD45RA+ cell depletion, and infusing said separated cells into a subject. See, e.g., pg. 1599, 1601; and Figure 5.
Accordingly, Abdelsamed recognizes that the differentiated, memory CD8+ T cell subsets exhibit the positive methylation markers, including IFNγ, CCR7, CD62L (SELL), T-bet (Tbx21), eomesodermin (Eomes), granzyme K (GzmK), granzyme B (GzmB), and perforin 1 (Prf1), relative to naïve T cells, and Abdelsamed separated memory T cells comprising said positive methylation markers by CD45RA+ cell depletion, as claimed in claim 26.
Therefore, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Curtsinger by further including steps of measuring the methylation profile of the modified CD8+ T cells, and separating a subset of the modified CD8+ T cell comprising at least one positive memory cell methylation marker selected from CCR7, CD62L, T-bet, Eomes, granzyme K, granzyme B and perforin 1, as taught by Satoh and Abdelsamed, with a reasonable expectation of success because the IL12-modified CD8+ T cells of Curtsinger exhibit a memory phenotype, including Tcm and Tem phenotypes, by epigenetic changes and chromatin remodeling of numerous genes related to differentiation and effector functions, and positive memory cell methylation markers (IFNγ, CCR7, CD62L, T-bet, Eomes, granzyme K, granzyme B and perforin 1) were previously identified by Satoh and Abdelsamed to delineate the memory T cell subsets from naïve T cells.
For these reasons, claim 26 would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Regarding claim 40, Curtsinger teaches adoptive transfer of T cells. See, e.g., page 334. Abdelsamed teaches infusing the memory T cells into a subject. See, e.g., pg. 1599, 1601; and Figure 5.
Regarding claim 54, Curtsinger teaches incubation occurs in vitro. See, e.g., Signal 3 cytokine requirements for CD8 T cell responses on pages 333-334.
Regarding claim 56, Curtsinger teaches the signal 3 cytokine is a type I interferon or IL-12. See, e.g., Abstract.
Regarding claims 57-58, Curtsinger teaches a step of activating the at least one naïve CD8 T cell. The signal 3 cytokines (IL-12, Type I IFN, i.e., IFNα/β) are provided along with TCR signal (signal 1, Ag) and costimulatory signal (signal 2, including IL-2) to active T cells. See, e.g., pages 333-334; Abstract. Anti-CD28 monoclonal antibodies (mAbs) for T cell stimulation are also described. See, e.g., pg. 336, left column. Satoh teaches a step of activating T cells with antigenic peptides (OVA257-264) and anti-CD8/CD28 antibodies. See, e.g., pg. 2339-2340. Abdelsamed teaches activating T cells with anti-CD8/CD28 antibodies. See, e.g., pg. 1597, and Figure 2.
Regarding claim 61, Satoh teaches that the T cells comprise a heterologous T-cell receptor (TCR). See, e.g., page 2330. Curtsinger also teaches OT-I CD8 T cells (e.g., pg. 334), which comprise a heterologous TCR.
Regarding claims 62-63, Abdelsamed teaches that the subject and T cells are human. See, e.g., page 1599, 1601; and Figure 5. Since humans possess a risk of developing cancer, including lymphoma, a leukemia, non-small cell lung carcinoma (NSCLC), head and neck cancer, skin cancer, melanoma, or squamous cell carcinoma (SCC), the limitations of claim 63 are also met.
Regarding claim 64, the claim recites that the subject is administered an immune checkpoint blockade (ICB) therapy. Curtsinger, Satoh and Abdelsamed do not teach ICB therapy. However, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, ICB therapy was known in the art to enhance T cell therapy by preventing checkpoint molecule triggered exhaustion (Official Notice taken, if necessary). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Curtsinger, Satoh and Abdelsamed, combined, by further including a step of administering ICB therapy to the subject, as previously known in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success because ICB therapy enhances T cell therapy by preventing checkpoint molecule triggered exhaustion.
The claims further recite that the incubation step results in a memory (Tscm) cell phenotype (claim 52) comprising expression of CD95 and CD122 markers (claim 53); an effector-associated epigenetic program comprising demethylation of one or more of granzyme K, granzyme B, and perforin 1 locus (claim 55); an increase in cytokine production, increase in the formation of intracellular granules, increase in the loading of granules with effector agents, and/or an increase in the transport and exocytosis of effector agents (claim 59), wherein the effector agents are granzymes, perforins, and/or granulysins (claim 60).
MPEP 2111.04 instructs that claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. In this case, the claims 52-53, 55, 59-60 recite functional properties and intended results of performing the claimed incubation step of naïve CD8+ T cells and signal 3 cytokines. Since the claimed incubation step is taught by Curtsinger, the recited functional properties and intended results of claims 52-53, 55, 59-60 would naturally flow from the incubation step taught by Curtsinger.
Moreover, Curtsinger teaches that the modified CD8 T cell exhibit a memory phenotype, including both central (Tcm) and effector (Tem) memory phenotypes (pg. 334, left column); produce IFNγ (pg. 333, right column), and exhibit altered expression of genes included many whose products are involved in effector functions (granzymes, IFNγ, FasL), proliferation and costimulation (CD25, Ox-40, 4-1BB), survival (serine protease inhibitor 6, Bcl-3), trafficking and migration, and differentiation, including T-bet, eomesodermin and Blimp-1 (pg. 336, left column). Curtsinger concludes that signal 3 cytokines act, at least partly, by promoting chromatin remodeling to maintain transcription of numerous genes needed for differentiation and effector functions; epigenetic memory of chromatin remodeling contributes to the more rapid and robust response of memory cells upon rechallenge, and it appears likely that at least some of this remodeling occurs in response to the signal 3 cytokine during the early phase of Ag recognition and differentiation. See Conclusions on page 338. In addition, Abdelsamed teaches that the cells exhibit a memory (Tscm) cell phenotype comprising expression of CD95 and CD122 markers (e.g., pg. 1593), and an effector-associated epigenetic program comprising demethylation of one or more of granzyme K, granzyme B, and perforin 1 locus (e.g., pg. 1596, Figure 1). Accordingly, the cited references teach similar functional properties as claimed.
For these reasons, the recited functional properties and intended results of claims 52-53, 55, 59-60 are not found to patentably distinguish the instantly claimed invention from the prior art.
Conclusion
/JAMES JOSEPH GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631