Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 01/23/2026 has been entered into the prosecution of the application.
The restriction requirement was deemed proper and made final in Office Action 09/30/2025.
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for claims 1-19 are withdrawn in response to the applicant’s amendment.
Currently, claim(s) 1-20 and 34-46 is/are pending, with claims 20 and 34-46 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-13, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woon Sun Choi of US 2007/0284343 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Choi), relying on Lide, David R. "Atomic, molecular, and optical physics; ionization potentials of atoms and atomic ions." CRC handbook of chemistry and physics (2003), pg. 10-178 (hereinafter referred to as Lide) as evidentiary support.
Fig. 1 of Choi
As to claim 1, Choi teaches to a method for converting a target gas contained in an exhaust gas in a plasma phase, comprising the steps of:
generating a plasma in a conversion region (Choi, paragraph [0025], Fig. 1, teaches to generating a plasma in a conversion region, as Choi teaches that the waste gases supplied to the main combustion chamber 14 cause chemical reaction and is pyrolyzed through the plasma torch; Choi, paragraph [0023] and Figs. 1-3, teaches to flames emitted through the nozzle 31 of the plasma torch 30 flows into the main combustion chamber 14) in which the conversion of the target gas occurs (Choi, paragraph [0025], Fig. 1, teaches to in which the conversion of the target gas occurs, as Choi teaches that that the waste gases supplied to the main combustion chamber 14 cause chemical reaction and is pyrolyzed through the plasma torch);
supplying, to the conversion region, a conversion promoting agent (Choi, paragraph [0024], teaches to supplying, to the conversion region, a conversion promoting agent, as Choi teaches to reaction accelerating compound inlet 23 supplying a reaction accelerating compound; Choi, paragraph [0024], teaches that a liquid phase of sodium hydroxide (NaOH) is supplied through the first reaction accelerating compound inlet 23) containing a conversion promoting element of which the first ionization energy is not greater than 10eV (Choi, paragraph [0026], Fig. 1, teaches to containing a conversion promoting element of which the first ionization energy is not greater than 10eV, as Choi teaches to using NaOH as a reaction promoter; relying on Lide as an evidentiary support, sodium hydroxide reads into a conversion promoting agent under the broadest reasonable interpretation because sodium hydroxide of Choi is not only incorporated as an accelerating compound (Choi, paragraph [0026], Fig. 1), but also because sodium hydroxide teaches to “containing conversion promoting element of which the first ionization energy is not greater than 10eV for promoting conversion of the target gas”; Lide, pg. 10-178, teaches that sodium’s first ionization energy is 5.14 eV; in addition, when the compound recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or function may be presumed to be inherent in the prior art. A compound and all of its properties are inseparable. In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391, 137 USPQ 43, 51 (CCPA 1963). Please refer to MPEP § 2141.02(V)), wherein the conversion promoting element is ionized to generate electrons, thereby promoting the conversion of the target gas (Choi, paragraphs [0024] and [0026], Fig. 1, teaches to wherein the conversion promoting element is ionized to generate electrons, thereby promoting the conversion of the target gas, as Choi teaches that the first reaction accelerating compound inlet 23 supplies a reaction accelerating compound for accelerating oxidation-reduction reaction of a harmful substance, while the waste gases supplied to the main combustion chamber 14 cause chemical reaction and is pyrolyzed through the plasma torch, wherein a liquid phase of sodium hydroxide (NaOH) mixed with water (H2O) is supplied through the first reaction accelerating compound inlet 23, and as Choi teaches that a gas phase of sodium hydroxide (NaOH) mixed with water (H2O) is supplied through the second reaction accelerating compound inlet 24; when NaOH enters a high-energy plasma environment described by Choi, interaction of NaOH with electrons and excited species in the plasma leads to dissociative ionization and electron generation; NaOH is ionized, which contributes to generating electrons, thereby promoting the reaction of the waste gas);
supplying, to the conversion region, a conversion agent that produces conversion products by combining with dissociation products of the target gas and prevents the dissociation products from recombining into the target gas (Choi, paragraph [0023], teaches to supplying, to the conversion region, a conversion agent that produces conversion products by combining with dissociation products of the target gas and prevents the dissociation products from recombining into the target gas, as Choi teaches to a steam injection nozzle 21 injecting steam so as to prevent the reduction (recombination) of substances in a waste gas and include the substitution of the pyrolyzed waste gas into a hydrogen compound and an oxide); and
supplying the exhaust gas containing the target gas to the conversion region (Choi, paragraph [0021], teaches to supplying the exhaust gas containing the target gas to the conversion region, as Choi teaches to a waste gas outlet 13 for discharging waste gas).
As to claim 2, Choi does not explicitly teach “wherein the excess ratio of the conversion promoting element is 1 or smaller.”
However, please see below.
The instant specification received 09/08/2021, page 12, provides equation (1) as “the entire conversion reaction” for converting a target gas contained in the exhaust gas.
The instant specification received 09/08/2021, page 15, paragraph [0033], provides equation (2) in which “the excess ratio” is defined for the conversion promoting element.
The instant specification received 09/08/2021, page 15, paragraph [0033], defines “excess ratio” as “a ratio of the mole number actually supplied” to “the mole number required by stoichiometry in the reaction.”
The Office notes that the recited method of the instant claim can be reached by one of ordinary skill in the art by simply recognizing the Le Chatelier’s principle (please see MPEP 2144.02) used to predict the effect of a change in conditions on chemical equilibrium to effect optimal reaction conditions because one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that changing the concentration of a chemical will shift the equilibrium to the side that would counter that change in concentration. The chemical system will attempt to partly oppose the change that affected the original state of equilibrium. In turn, the rate of reaction, extent, and yield of products would have been altered corresponding to the impact on the system.
For instance, using Le Chatelier’s principle, one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably predict that “wherein the excess ratio is 1 or smaller” in regards to adding relatively less the conversion promoting element, i.e. potassium, in equation (2) can decrease the forward reaction rate of equation (2) with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have been beneficial to one of ordinary skill in the art for promoting the forward reaction of equation (1), at least based on the principle of Le Chatelier’s principle because the rates of reaction of equations (1) and (2) are interdependent on the concentration of the target gas, i.e. CF4, in equations (1) and (2).
As to claim 3, Choi does not explicitly teach “wherein the excess ratio of the conversion agent is 1 or smaller.”
However, please see below.
The instant specification received 09/08/2021, page 12, provides equation (1) as “the entire conversion reaction” for converting a target gas contained in the exhaust gas.
The instant specification received 09/08/2021, page 15, paragraph [0033], provides equation (2) in which “the excess ratio” is defined for the conversion promoting element.
The instant specification received 09/08/2021, page 15, paragraph [0033], defines “excess ratio” as “a ratio of the mole number actually supplied” to “the mole number required by stoichiometry in the reaction.”
The Office notes that the recited method of the instant claim can be reached by one of ordinary skill in the art by simply recognizing the Le Chatelier’s principle (please see MPEP 2144.02) used to predict the effect of a change in conditions on chemical equilibrium to effect optimal reaction conditions because one of ordinary skill in the art would have known that changing the concentration of a chemical will shift the equilibrium to the side that would counter that change in concentration. The chemical system will attempt to partly oppose the change that affected the original state of equilibrium. In turn, the rate of reaction, extent, and yield of products would have been altered corresponding to the impact on the system.
For instance, using Le Chatelier’s principle, one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably predict that “wherein the excess ratio is 1 or smaller” in regards to adding relatively less the conversion promoting element, i.e. potassium, in equation (2) can decrease the forward reaction rate of equation (2) with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have been beneficial to one of ordinary skill in the art for promoting the forward reaction of equation (1), at least based on the principle of Le Chatelier’s principle because the rates of reaction of equations (1) and (2) are interdependent on the concentration of the target gas, i.e. CF4, in equations (1) and (2).
As to claim 6, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion promoting element is at least one selected from a group composed of alkali metals (sodium is an alkali metal; Choi, paragraph [0024]).
As to claim 7, Choi teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion promoting element is at least one selected from sodium (sodium; Choi, paragraph [0024]).
As to claim 8, Choi teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion promoting agent is at least one selected from a group composed of compounds (sodium hydroxide is a compound; Choi, paragraph [0024]).
As to claim 9, Choi teaches to the method of claim 8, wherein the compound is at least one selected from a group composed of hydroxide (sodium hydroxide is a compound; Choi, paragraph [0024]).
As to claim 10, Choi teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion agent contains at least one selected from hydrogen, oxygen, nitrogen and carbon as a constituent element (water contains hydrogen and oxygen; Choi, paragraph [0024]).
As to claim 11, Choi teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion agent is at least one selected from a group composed of water, hydrogen, and oxygen (water; Choi, paragraph [0024]).
As to claim 12, Choi teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein a solution in which the conversion promoting agent is dissolved in the liquid phase conversion agent is used as a feedstock (a liquid phase of sodium hydroxide is mixed with water; Choi, paragraph [0024] and Fig. 1).
As to claim 13, Choi teaches to the method of claim 12, wherein the liquid phase conversion agent is water (Choi, paragraph [0024] and Fig. 1).
As to claim 16, Choi teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the target gas is at least one selected from a group composed of halogen compounds (PFC gas refers to perfluorocompounds, including CF4; Choi, paragraph [0021]).
As to claim 17, Choi teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the target gas is at least one selected from a group composed of perfluorocompounds (PFC gas refers to perfluorocompounds, including CF4; Choi, paragraph [0021]).
As to claim 18, Choi teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the target gas is at least one selected from CF4 (PFC gas refers to perfluorocompounds, including CF4; Choi, paragraph [0021]).
As to claim 19, Choi teaches to the method of claim 1, wherein the plasma is one of thermal plasma (a plasma torch generates a thermal plasma; Choi, paragraph [0003]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woon Sun Choi of US 2007/0284343 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Choi), relying on Lide, David R. "Atomic, molecular, and optical physics; ionization potentials of atoms and atomic ions." CRC handbook of chemistry and physics (2003), pg. 10-178 (hereinafter referred to as Lide) as evidentiary support, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Vladimir I. Gorokhovsky of US 5,587,207 A (hereinafter referred to as Gorokhovsky) and Radovanov, S. B., Ivanka Holclajtner-Antunović, and M. Tripković. "Thermal plasma composition in the presence of easily and noneasily ionized components." Plasma Chemistry and Plasma Processing 9.4 (1989): 445-463 (hereinafter referred to as Radovanov).
As to claim 4, Choi does not explicitly teach “wherein the mole fraction of the conversion promoting element in the conversion regions ranges between 0.1 and 10,000 ppm.”
However, a particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Please see below.
Gorokhovsky pertains to the instant invention because Gorokhovsky teaches to plasma torch (Gorokhovsky, col. 1, ln. 19). Gorokhovsky teaches that adding alkali metals with low ionization potential into plasma may achieve electron conductivity and density of the plasma used for coating (Gorokhovsky, col. 19, ln. 10-25). Gorokhovsky teaches that Li, K, Na, Cs, and Fr are known to have low ionization potential, such that when added to the conversion zone, it has the effect of lowering the operating temperature and increased distribution of the plasma arc (Gorokhovsky, col. 20, ln. 18-29).
Both Choi and Gorokhovsky relate to using plasma torch (Gorokhovsky, col.1, ln. 19). Choi does not explicitly teach using alkali metals, which have a low ionization potential, for obtaining better control of the generated plasma. Choi does teach using alkali metals, such as sodium (Choi, Choi, paragraph [0024]), as a reaction accelerating compound. Gorokhovsky teaches adding alkali metals, including lithium, sodium, potassium, and cesium (Gorokhovsky, col. 20, ln. 18-29). Gorokhovsky teaches that the alkali metal additions are well-known to have the effect of lowering the operating temperature and increased distribution of the plasma arc (Gorokhovsky, col. 20, ln. 18-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the method of Choi with the teachings of Gorokhovsky for obtaining better operating conditions for using a plasma torch.
Choi in view of Gorokhovsky does not explicitly teach “wherein the mole fraction of the conversion promoting element in the conversion regions ranges between 0.1 and 10,000 ppm.”
Radovanov pertains to the instant invention because Radovanov relates to thermal plasma (Radovanov, pg. 445). Radovanov teaches a conversion promoting elements (easily ionized elements; Radovanov, pg. 445), wherein 1% of alkali metal, such as Li, is used. Radovanov teaches that the increase in electrical conductivity of the resulting plasma is confirmed through experiments (Radovanov, pg. 451). In conclusion, Radovanov teaches that the presence of easily ionized elements, referring to the alkali metals with low first ionization energy, results in a considerable increase in electron density and in the overall degree of ionization (Radovanov, pgs. 450-451).
As can be learned by Radovanov, adding a trace amounts of alkali metals, or easily ionizable elements, would have been well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art of plasma physics, because easily ionized elements, such as alkali metals, are known to increase electron density and conductivity of thermal plasma.
Both Choi in view of Gorokhovsky and Radovanov relate to using thermal plasma (Radovanov, pg. 445). Choi in view of Gorokhovsky does not explicitly teach trace amounts of the conversion promoting elements. Choi in view of Gorokhovsky does teach using alkali metals, such as sodium (Choi, Choi, paragraph [0024]), as a reaction accelerating compound and for increasing electron density in plasma (Gorokhovsky, col. 19, ln. 10-25). Radovanov teaches adding alkali metals, including lithium, in a trace amount (1% Li; Radovanov, pg. 451). 1% amounts to 10,000 ppm.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the method of Choi in view of Gorokhovsky with trace amounts of the Radovanov for obtaining better control and for increasing efficiency of providing a thermal plasma used for treating a waste gas.
For reasons above, the mole fraction of the conversion promoting element amounts to a results-effective variable. However, a particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woon Sun Choi of US 2007/0284343 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Choi), relying on Lide, David R. "Atomic, molecular, and optical physics; ionization potentials of atoms and atomic ions." CRC handbook of chemistry and physics (2003), pg. 10-178 (hereinafter referred to as Lide) as evidentiary support, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Vladimir I. Gorokhovsky of US 5,587,207 A (hereinafter referred to as Gorokhovsky) and Radovanov, S. B., Ivanka Holclajtner-Antunović, and M. Tripković. "Thermal plasma composition in the presence of easily and noneasily ionized components." Plasma Chemistry and Plasma Processing 9.4 (1989): 445-463 (hereinafter referred to as Radovanov), and Friel, P. J. Electron Density and Electrical Conductivity of High Temperature Air Seeded with the Alkali and Alkaline Earth Metals. No. R59SD459. 1969 (hereinafter referred to as Friel).
As to claim 5, Choi does not explicitly teach “wherein the mole fraction of the conversion promoting element in the conversion regions ranges between 1 and 1,000 ppm.”
However, a particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Please see below.
Gorokhovsky pertains to the instant invention because Gorokhovsky teaches to plasma torch (Gorokhovsky, col. 1, ln. 19). Gorokhovsky teaches that adding alkali metals with low ionization potential into plasma may achieve electron conductivity and density of the plasma used for coating (Gorokhovsky, col. 19, ln. 10-25). Gorokhovsky teaches that Li, K, Na, Cs, and Fr are known to have low ionization potential, such that when added to the conversion zone, it has the effect of lowering the operating temperature and increased distribution of the plasma arc (Gorokhovsky, col. 20, ln. 18-29).
Both Choi and Gorokhovsky relate to using plasma torch (Gorokhovsky, col.1, ln. 19). Choi does not explicitly teach using alkali metals, which have a low ionization potential, for obtaining better control of the generated plasma. Choi does teach using alkali metals, such as sodium (Choi, Choi, paragraph [0024]), as a reaction accelerating compound. Gorokhovsky teaches adding alkali metals, including lithium, sodium, potassium, and cesium (Gorokhovsky, col. 20, ln. 18-29). Gorokhovsky teaches that the alkali metal additions are well-known to have the effect of lowering the operating temperature and increased distribution of the plasma arc (Gorokhovsky, col. 20, ln. 18-29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the method of Choi with the teachings of Gorokhovsky for obtaining better operating conditions for using a plasma torch.
Choi in view of Gorokhovsky does not explicitly teach “wherein the mole fraction of the conversion promoting element in the conversion regions ranges between 1 and 1,000 ppm.”
Radovanov pertains to the instant invention because Radovanov relates to thermal plasma (Radovanov, pg. 445). Radovanov teaches a conversion promoting elements (easily ionized elements; Radovanov, pg. 445), wherein 1% of alkali metal, such as Li, is used. Radovanov teaches that the increase in electrical conductivity of the resulting plasma is confirmed through experiments (Radovanov, pg. 451). In conclusion, Radovanov teaches that the presence of easily ionized elements, referring to the alkali metals with low first ionization energy, results in a considerable increase in electron density and in the overall degree of ionization (Radovanov, pgs. 450-451).
As can be learned by Radovanov, adding a trace amounts of alkali metals, or easily ionizable elements, would have been well-known to one of ordinary skill in the art of plasma physics, because easily ionized elements, such as alkali metals, are known to increase electron density and conductivity of thermal plasma.
Both Choi in view of Gorokhovsky and Radovanov relate to using thermal plasma (Radovanov, pg. 445). Choi in view of Gorokhovsky does not explicitly teach trace amounts of the conversion promoting elements. Choi in view of Gorokhovsky does teach using alkali metals, such as sodium (Choi, Choi, paragraph [0024]), as a reaction accelerating compound and for increasing electron density in plasma (Gorokhovsky, col. 19, ln. 10-25). Radovanov teaches adding alkali metals, including lithium, in a trace amount (1% Li; Radovanov, pg. 451).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the method of Choi in view of Gorokhovsky with trace amounts of the Radovanov for obtaining better control and for increasing efficiency of providing a thermal plasma used for treating a waste gas.
Choi in view of Gorokhovsky and Radovanov does not explicitly teach “wherein the mole fraction of the conversion promoting element in the conversion regions ranges between 1 and 1,000 ppm.”
Friel pertains to the instant invention because Friel relates to plasma physics (Friel, Descriptor). Friel teaches to studying change in electron density and electrical conductivity of high temperature plasma upon the addition of alkali and alkaline earth metals as seeds for trace amounts (mole fraction of alkali and alkaline earth metals equal to 0.001 and 0.000001, respectively; Friel, abstract). Mole fraction of 0.000001 equates to 1 ppm.
For reasons above, the mole fraction of the conversion promoting element amounts to a results-effective variable. However, a particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (please refer to MPEP § 2144.05(II)(B)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have discovered the optimum or workable ranges, including values within the claimed range, through routine experimentation.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woon Sun Choi of US 2007/0284343 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Choi), relying on Lide, David R. "Atomic, molecular, and optical physics; ionization potentials of atoms and atomic ions." CRC handbook of chemistry and physics (2003), pg. 10-178 (hereinafter referred to as Lide) as evidentiary support, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Byug Chul Choi of KR 20180051343 A (hereinafter referred to as Byug Chul Choi).
As to claim 14, Choi does not explicitly teach “a step of preheating the exhaust gas containing the target gas before supplying it to the conversion region.”
Byug Chul Choi pertains to the instant invention because Choi relates to treating PFCs (Byug Chul Choi, paragraph [0001]).
Byug Chul Choi teaches a dual heat exchanger for performing heat exchange to preheat and recover exhaust heat from the exhaust gas (Byug Chul Choi, paragraph [0021], Fig. 3).
Both Choi and Byug Chul Choi relate to treating PFCs (Byug Chul Choi, paragraph [0001]). Choi does not explicitly teach preheating the target gas before subjecting the target gas to the generated plasma. Choi does teach injecting high temperature steam into the plasma reactor (Choi, paragraph [0014]). Byug Chul Choi teaches preheating by recovering exhaust heat from the exhaust gas using a dual heat exchanger (Byug Chul Choi, paragraph [0021], Fig. 3). Byug Chul Choi teaches that energy can be saved (Byug Chul Choi, paragraph [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the method of Choi with the step of preheating using the dual heat exchanger of Byug Chul Choi for saving energy by recovering exhaust heat.
As to claim 15, Choi in view of Byug Chul Choi teaches to the method of claim 14, wherein the preheating is achieved by recovering waste heat remaining in the material after passing through the conversion region with heat exchange (Byug Chul Choi, paragraph [0021], Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pgs. 12 to 17 of 21, the Applicant asserts that Choi does not read into claim 1 because the reaction accelerating compound of Choi acts as a basic reactant to produce salt, instead of acting in a catalytic manner. The Applicants teaches that pyrolysis is performed in absence of oxygen, whereas combustion is performed in presence of oxygen. Choi appears to referring to both and use the terms interchangeably, so long as the plasma torch is used to treat the waste gas using a combustion chamber. Instead of suggesting what Choi teaches or does not teach, the applicant is invited to clearly indicate through claim amendments on what is considered novel and nonobvious of the claimed invention for advancing compact prosecution.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “acting in a catalytic manner for promoting conversion of the target gas (CF4)”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
On pg. 18 of 21, the Applicant asserts that the cited reference fails to describe at least a conversion promoting agent or element of claim 1 because the Choi’s reaction accelerating compound is different from the conversion promoting agent or element recited in claim 1. However, having a different purpose does not amount to nonobviousness when prior art reads into the recited steps in the claimed invention. In addition, claim 1, as written, does not result in necessitating the described operating mechanism. Therefore, the fact that Choi teaches a different reaction does not result in nonobviousness under the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1.
On pg. 19 of 21, the Applicant asserts that “Choi focuses on the by-product, rather than on the gas to be converted itself. Further, Choi does not describe that the reaction accelerating compound promotes conversion of the target gas.”
The fact that Choi focuses on the by-product does not result in nonobviousness. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Yet further, the Examiner disagrees that Choi does not describe the reaction accelerating compound promoting conversion of the target gas. Choi teaches to wherein the conversion promoting element is ionized to generate electrons, thereby promoting the conversion of the target gas (Choi, paragraphs [0024] and [0026], Fig. 1, teaches to wherein the conversion promoting element is ionized to generate electrons, thereby promoting the conversion of the target gas, as Choi teaches that the first reaction accelerating compound inlet 23 supplies a reaction accelerating compound for accelerating oxidation-reduction reaction of a harmful substance, while the waste gases supplied to the main combustion chamber 14 cause chemical reaction and is pyrolyzed through the plasma torch, wherein a liquid phase of sodium hydroxide (NaOH) mixed with water (H2O) is supplied through the first reaction accelerating compound inlet 23, and as Choi teaches that a gas phase of sodium hydroxide (NaOH) mixed with water (H2O) is supplied through the second reaction accelerating compound inlet 24; when NaOH enters a high-energy plasma environment described by Choi, interaction of NaOH with electrons and excited species in the plasma leads to dissociative ionization and electron generation; NaOH is ionized, which contributes to generating electrons, thereby promoting the reaction of the waste gas).
In case of Choi, alkali metal participates in the reaction by reacting chemically, rather than being purely spectator catalysts. However, Choi still reads into the amended claim 1. Paragraphs [0010], [0037] of specification 01/23/2026 teaches to “the conversion promoting element in the present disclosure serves as a kind of catalyst in plasma phase.” Separate from the argument, the applicant is reminded that using alkali elements (such as potassium, sodium, and cesium) as a kind of catalyst in plasma phase to promote plasma reactions; in fact, it is a well-known technique in plasma catalysis and materials processing (please refer to the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure).
At least for these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. White, L. K., and Jer‐Shen Maa. "Etch rate enhancement of silicon in CF4‐O2 plasmas." Applied physics letters 46.11 (1985): 1050-1052 (hereinafter, White) teaches to the catalytic effect. Andrew James Seeley of US 2010/0290966 A1 (hereinafter, Seeley) teaches to a removal of fluorinated gas stream using a calcium salt.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794