DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. There is no support in the disclosure indicating the vapor pressure of the compound is 0.4 torr or more at 150 C. For claims 2, and 4 there is no support in disclosure indicating the compound is liquid at 23C and vapor pressure of the compound is 0.4 torr or more at 150 C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas Mowles et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2002/0062858, here after Mowles),
further in view of Hidekimi Kadokura et al (Japanese Patent: 2009-030162, here after
Kadokura).
Claims 1 and 7 rejected. Mowles teaches a compound comprising
bis(pentamethylcyclopentadienyl)zinc [0130]. Although does not teach substitution of
methyl group for (n-)propyl group on the cyclopentadienyl ring. However, it would be
obvious to simply substitute (n-)propyl group for the methyl group (R2 and R3) arriving
at applicant's claimed compound as structural relationships may provide the requisite
motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compound (MPEP
2144.09.1), as for example in the art, Kadokura teaches substitution of propyl group in
bis(propyltetramethylcyclopentadienyl) to reduce melting point of the precursor[abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art at the time of the invention was made to have a compound of Mowles, but n-propyl
group is substitute for the methyl group (R3 and R4), because it is obvious to modify
known compounds to obtain new compound and reduce melting point of the compound.
The resultant product would be identical and inherently have the claimed vapor
pressure of 0.4 torr or more at 150C.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected. Mowles teaches a compound comprising
bis(pentamethylcyclopentadienyl)zinc [0130]. Although does not teach substitution of
methyl group for propyl group on the cyclopentadienyl ring. However, it would be
obvious to simply substitute propyl group for the methyl group arriving at applicant's
claimed compound as structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or
suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compound (MPEP 2144.09.1).
for example, Kadokura teaches substitution of propyl group in
bis(propyltetramethylcyclopentadienyl) to reduce melting point of the
precursor[abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art at the time of the invention was made to have a compound of Mowles, but propyl
group is substitute for the methyl group (R3 and R4), because it is obvious to modify
known compounds to obtain new compound and reduce melting point of the compound.
The resultant product would be identical and inherently is liquid at 23C, and have vapor
pressure of 0.4 torr or more at 150C.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected for the same reason claim 2 is rejected. Mowles also teaches forming a zinc-containing film by CVD [0126]. The resultant product would be identical and inherently have the claimed vapor pressure at 150C.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected. Although Mowles teaches CVD and not ALD, however ALD is specific type of CVD and the precursors can be used interchainly with expectation of success, and in ALD process precursor and reactant(oxidant) are alternatively supply to surface of the substrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argument regarding 35. U.S.C 112(b) rejection is not persuasive; paragraph 0034 of the specification teaches distilling the solid content twice using a simple distillation apparatus at 100-150° C and at 0.4-0.5 torr; in fact, it teaches the condition for distillation and does not teach the vapor pressure of the compound, furthermore the Zn[C.sub.5(CH.sub.3).sub.4(n-C.sub.3H.sub.7)].sub.2 is not the only form of bis(alkyltetramethylcyclopentadienyl)zinc.
The applicant argument regrading decreasing melting point and decreasing vapor pressure is not persuasive as higher melting points typically indicate stronger intermolecular forces, which conversely lead to lower vapor pressures, and not higher. Replacing a methyl group (-CH3) with an n-propyl group (-CH2CH2CH3) generally decreases the melting point of a compound, therefore should increase the vapor pressure.
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718