DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas Mowles et al (U.S. Patent Application: 2002/0062858, here after Mowles),
further in view of Hidekimi Kadokura et al (Japanese Patent: 2009-030162, here after
Kadokura).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected. Mowles teaches a compound comprising
bis(pentamethylcyclopentadienyl)zinc [0130]. Although does not teach substitution of
methyl group for (n-)propyl group on the cyclopentadienyI ring. However, it would be
obvious to simply substitute (n-)propyl group for the methyl group (R1 and R2) arriving
at applicant's claimed compound as structural relationships may provide the requisite
motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compound (MPEP
2144.08), for example in the art, Kadokura teaches substitution of propyl group in
bis(propyltetramethylcyclopentadienyl) to reduce melting point of the
precursor[abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art at the time of the invention was made to have a compound of Mowles, but n-propyl
group is substitute for the methyl group (R1 and R2), because it is obvious to modify
known compounds to obtain new compound and reduce melting point of the compound.
The resultant product would be identical and inherently have the claimed melting point
(below 10C) which in fact is liquid below 10C.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected. Mowles teaches a compound comprising
bis(pentamethylcyclopentadienyl)zinc [0130]. Although does not teach substitution of
methyl group for propyl group on the cyclopentadienyl ring. However, it would be
obvious to simply substitute propyl group for the methyl group arriving at applicant's
claimed compound as structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or
suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compound (MPEP 2144.08).
for example, Kadokura teaches substitution of propyl group in
bis(propyltetramethylcyclopentadieny) to reduce melting point of the
precursor[abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art at the time of the invention was made to have a compound of Mowles, but propyl
group is substitute for the methyl group (R3 and R4), because it is obvious to modify
known compounds to obtain new compound and reduce melting point of the compound.
The resultant product would be identical and inherently have the claimed melting point
(below 10C) which in fact is liquid below 10C.
Claims 4 and 9 are rejected for the same reason claim 2 is rejected. Mowles also teaches forming a zinc-containing film by CVD [0126].
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected. Although Mowles teaches CVD and not ALD, however ALD is specific type of CVD and the precursors can be used interchainly with expectation of SUCCESS.
Claims 1-2, 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richard Blom et al, J. Chem. Soc., Chem. Commun., 1985, 266-267, here after Blom, further in view of Hidekimi Kadokura et al (Japanese Patent: 2009-030162, here after Kadokura).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected. Blom teaches a compound comprising
bis(pentamethylcyclopentadienyl)zinc. Although does not teach substitution methyl
group for (n-)propyl group on the cyclopentadienyl ring. However, it would be obvious to
simply substitute (n-)propyl group for methyl group arriving at applicant's claimed
compound as structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion
to modify known compounds to obtain new compound (MPEP 2144.08), as for
example in the art, Kadokura teaches substitution of propyl group in
bis(propyltetramethylcyclopentadieny) to reduce melting point of the
precursor[abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the
art at the time of the invention was made to have a compound of Blom, but (n-)propyl
group is substitute for the methyl group (R1 and R2), because it is obvious to modify
known compounds to obtain new compound and reduce melting point of the compound.
The resultant product would be identical and inherently have the claimed melting point
(below 10C) which in fact is liquid below 10C.
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected. Blom teaches a compound comprising
bis(pentamethylcyclopentadienyl)zinc. Although does not teach substitution methyl
group for propyl group on the cyclopentadienyl ring. However, it would be obvious to
simply substitute (-n) propyl group for methyl group arriving at applicant's claimed
compound as structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion
to modify known compounds to obtain new compound (MPEP 2144.08). for example,
Kadokura teaches substitution of propyl group in bis (propyltetram
ethylcyclopentadienyl) to reduce melting point of the precursor[abstract]. Therefore, it
would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention
was made to have a compound of Blom, but (-n) propyl group is substitute for the methyl group (R3 and R4), because it is obvious to modify known compounds to obtain new compound and reduce melting point of the compound. The resultant product would be identical and inherently have the claimed melting point (below 10C) which in fact is liquid below 10C.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/01/26, with respect to 35 U.S.C 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C 112(a) of claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/01/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues compounds in similar structure will have similar properties, however MPEP 2144.08 teaches "Structural relationships may provide the requisite motivation or suggestion to modify known compounds to obtain new compounds in fact simple substitution of one known element for other results in obtaining predictable results as for example Kadokura teaches substitution of propyl group in bis (propyltetramethylcyclopentadienyl) to reduce melting point of the precursor[abstract].
The applicant argues Mowles teaches the melting point of the compound is 107C and is ideal, however disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
The applicant argument argues regarding melting point and vapor pressure of compound by substituting (n-propyl) group for methyl group, however the rejection is based on melting point and lowering the melting point by this substitution which in fact the applicant agrees with.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718