Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8 and 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 20110132198) of record, in view of Heo (KR 20120076048) of record, in view of Kong (CN 204497217, machine-translation provided), in view of Zuo (U. S. Patent Pub. No. 2004/0159422).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 10 of Lee discloses a display apparatus comprising: a printed circuit board (110 “The substrate 110 is, for example, a printed circuit board”) on which a plurality of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (120) are mounted; a frame (130) including a front surface in contact with the printed circuit board so that the frame supports the printed circuit board; and a cover member (210) which covers a rear surface of the frame and includes a plurality of outlets (212), wherein the frame includes a first region (550, FIG. 9), that is non-porous, extending in a direction from the front surface toward the rear surface and is disposed close to the printed circuit board, and a second region (510) including a plurality of pores (text: radiation member 510 has a plurality of inside pores 522 comprises a porous metal foam is formed) formed between the first region and the rear surface, so that heat generated by the printed circuit board is convected to the plurality of outlets through the first region and the plurality of pores (text: “by forming the heat radiation hole 412 in the housing 410 so that the convection of air can be generated”; and the heat generated in the LED 120 are the thermal conductivity of the housing 210 by the heat radiation member 130 or, or air can be released through the heat radiation hole 212).
Lee is silent with respect to “one portion of the second region includes a heat storage material configured to absorb heat by a phase change foamed in pores of the plurality of pores included in the one portion of the second region, so that the heat storage material fills the plurality of pores included in the one portion of the second region when in the liquid state, and is seated in the plurality of pores included in the one portion of the second region when in the solid state”; “the one portion of the second region is disposed close to the first region so that the one portion of the second region absorbs heat conducted from the first region, another portion of the second region is between the one portion of the second region and the rear surface of the frame, pores of the plurality of pores included in the another portion of the second region are vacant of the heat storage material”; “the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state, and the another portion of the second region does not have pores with the heat storage material therein” and “as the heat generated by the printed circuit board is convected to the plurality of outlets, temperature of the one portion of the second region is maintained for a period of time due to the phase change of the heat storage material”.
FIG. 4 of Kong discloses a similar heat lease system, wherein one portion (3) of the second region includes a heat storage material (PCM) configured to absorb heat by a phase change, so that the heat storage material included in the one portion of the second region; the another portion (4) of the second region are vacant of the heat storage material (without PCM); the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state [0027], the one portion of the second region is disposed close to the first region so that the one portion of the second region absorbs heat conducted from the first region, another portion of the second region is between the one portion of the second region and the rear surface of the frame; the another portion of the second region does not have pores with the heat storage material therein (without PCM); and temperature of the one portion of the second region is maintained for a period of time due to the phase change of the heat storage material [0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Kong. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of realizing the power switch component of omnidirectional radiation (Abstract of Kong).
Lee as modified by Kong is silent with respect to the heat storage material foamed “in pores of the plurality of pores”; the heat storage material is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores; and “pores of the plurality of pores included in the another portion of the second region” without the heat storage material therein.
FIG. 1 of Heo discloses a similar frame, wherein the frame includes a first region (10), that is non-porous, extending in a direction from the front surface toward the rear surface and a second region (20) including a plurality of pores (21) between the first region and the rear surface, comprising a heat storage material (21a) foamed in pores of the plurality of pores and configured to absorb heat; and pores (21b) of the plurality of pores included in the another portion of the second region are vacant of the heat storage material (text: The pores 21 may be formed in a closed cell structure. The pores 21a formed inside the foam layer 20 absorb heat transferred to the base layer 10. This heat absorption of the pores 21 cools the base layer 10 heated by the heating element 100. The pores 21b formed on the outer surface of the foam layer 20 increase the heat dissipation area in contact with the outside air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a heat storage material must be included in the pores to absorb heat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Heo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipation (Abstract of Heo).
Lee as modified by Kong and Heo is silent with respect to the heat storage material is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores.
FIG. 2 of Zuo discloses similar heat storage pores, comprising a plurality of pores (FIG. 3), wherein the heat storage material (136) is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores, the heat storage material configured to absorb heat by a phase change (from a solid state to a liquid state [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Zuo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of temperature control in high heat generating systems ([0005] of Zuo).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 6 of Heo discloses the first region (10) has a longitudinal length that is less than or equal to a half of a thickness of the frame.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 6 of Lee discloses the plurality of pores are provided to have diameters which increase in the direction from the front surface toward the rear surface.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 7 of Heo discloses the second region further includes a surface formed of a non-porous material at one side of the second region and exposed to outside of the display apparatus.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 6 of Lee discloses at least one portion (side) of the second region is provided to be exposed at the outside of the display apparatus.
Regarding Claim 14
FIG. 6 of Lee discloses the frame (510) is coupled to the cover member in a state in which a rear surface of the printed circuit board (110) is in contact with the front surface of the frame.
Regarding Claim 15
FIG. 10 of Lee discloses a display apparatus comprising: a printed circuit board (110 “The substrate 110 is, for example, a printed circuit board”); light emitting diodes (LEDs) (120) mounted on the printed circuit board; a frame (130) having a front surface in contact with the printed circuit board so that the frame supports the printed circuit board; the frame including a first region (550, FIG. 9) that is non-porous, extends from the front surface toward a rear surface of the frame, and is disposed close to the printed circuit board; and a second region (522) that is between the first region and the rear surface of the frame and that includes a plurality of pores (radiation member 510 has a plurality of inside pores 522 comprises a porous metal foam is formed); and a cover member (320) covering the rear surface of the frame and including outlets.
Lee is silent with respect to “one portion of the second region includes first pores having a heat storage material, configured to absorb heat by a phase change in which the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state, foamed in the first pores, so that the heat storage material fills the first pores when in the liquid state and is seated in the first pores when in the solid state, the first region is disposed close to the printed circuit board and the one portion of the second region is disposed close to the first region so that the one portion of the second region absorbs heat conducted from the first region and, as the one portion of the second region absorbs the heat, temperature of the one portion of the second region is maintained for a period of time due to the phase change of the heat storage material, and another portion of the second region is between the one portion of the second region and the rear surface of the frame, and the another portion of the second region includes second pores which are vacant of the heat storage material and does not have pores with the heat storage material therein”.
FIG. 4 of Kong discloses a similar heat lease system, wherein one portion (3) of the second region includes a heat storage material (PCM) configured to absorb heat by a phase change, so that the heat storage material included in the one portion of the second region; the another portion (4) of the second region are vacant of the heat storage material (without PCM); the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state [0027], the one portion of the second region is disposed close to the first region so that the one portion of the second region absorbs heat conducted from the first region, another portion of the second region is between the one portion of the second region and the rear surface of the frame; the another portion of the second region does not have pores with the heat storage material therein (without PCM); and temperature of the one portion of the second region is maintained for a period of time due to the phase change of the heat storage material [0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Kong. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of realizing the power switch component of omnidirectional radiation (Abstract of Kong).
Lee as modified by Kong is silent with respect to the heat storage material in first pores; the heat storage material is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores; the heat storage material is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores; and the heat dissipation region includes pores that are vacant of the heat storage material.
FIG. 1 of Heo discloses a similar frame, wherein the frame includes a first region (10), that is non-porous, extending in a direction from the front surface toward the rear surface and a second region (20) including a plurality of pores (21) between the first region and the rear surface, comprising a heat storage material (21a) foamed in pores of the plurality of pores and configured to absorb heat; and pores (21b) of the plurality of pores included in the another portion of the second region are vacant of the heat storage material (text: The pores 21 may be formed in a closed cell structure. The pores 21a formed inside the foam layer 20 absorb heat transferred to the base layer 10. This heat absorption of the pores 21 cools the base layer 10 heated by the heating element 100. The pores 21b formed on the outer surface of the foam layer 20 increase the heat dissipation area in contact with the outside air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a heat storage material must be included in the pores to absorb heat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Heo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipation (Abstract of Heo).
Lee as modified by Kong and Heo is silent with respect to the heat storage material is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores.
FIG. 2 of Zuo discloses similar heat storage pores, comprising a plurality of pores (FIG. 3), wherein the heat storage material (136) is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores, the heat storage material configured to absorb heat by a phase change (from a solid state to a liquid state [0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Zuo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of temperature control in high heat generating systems ([0005] of Zuo).
Regarding Claim 16
FIG. 10 of Lee discloses a display apparatus comprising: a printed circuit board (110 “The substrate 110 is, for example, a printed circuit board”); light emitting diodes (LEDs) (120) mounted on the printed circuit board; a frame (130) having a front surface in contact with the printed circuit board so that the frame supports the printed circuit board; the frame including a first region (550, FIG. 9) that is non-porous, extends from the front surface toward a rear surface of the frame and is disposed close to the printed circuit board; and a second region (522) that is between the first region and the rear surface of the frame and that includes a plurality of pores (radiation member 510 has a plurality of inside pores 522 comprises a porous metal foam is formed); and a cover member (320) covering the rear surface of the frame and including outlets.
Lee is silent with respect to “a first region that is non-porous” and “the second region including: a third region having pores and a heat storage material configured to absorb heat by a phase change in which the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state, foamed in the pores, so that the heat storage material fills the pores of the third region when in the liquid state and is seated in the pores of the third region when in the solid state, and a fourth region between the third region and the rear surface of the frame, the fourth region having pores that do not have the heat storage material therein and not having pores with the heat storage material therein, wherein the first region is disposed close to the printed circuit board and the third region is disposed close to the first region so that the third region absorbs heat conducted from the first region”.
FIG. 6 of Heo discloses a similar frame, wherein the frame includes a first region (10), that is non-porous, extending in a direction from the front surface toward the rear surface and a second region (20) including a plurality of pores (21) between the first region and the rear surface, one portion (inside the foam layer 20) of the second region includes a heat storage material (21a) configured to absorb heat by a phase change, foamed in pores of the plurality of pores included in the one portion of the second region, another portion (the outer surface of the foam layer) of the second region is between the one portion of the second region and the rear surface of the frame, and pores (21b) of the plurality of pores included in the another portion of the second region are vacant (FIG. 1 and text: The pores 21 may be formed in a closed cell structure. The pores 21a formed inside the foam layer 20 absorb heat transferred to the base layer 10. This heat absorption of the pores 21 cools the base layer 10 heated by the heating element 100. The pores 21b formed on the outer surface of the foam layer 20 increase the heat dissipation area in contact with the outside air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a heat storage material must be included in the pores to absorb heat; and a cover member covering the rear surface of the frame and including outlets.
Furthermore, frames having heat storage portion at the surface close to the heat source and having heat dissipation portion at the rear surface to dissipate heat from electric products are common in the art. For example, FIG. 3 of Wu discloses a similar heat dissipation system, comprising one portion (16) including a heat storage material, disposed close to the electronic components (20), and configured to absorb the heat generated from the electronic components [0031]; and another portion (18) between the one portion and the rear surface of the frame, configured to exchange heat [0017]. Additional examples are provided in “Pertinent Art”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Heo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of improving heat dissipation (Abstract of Heo).
Lee as modified by Heo is silent with respect to the heat storage pores include “a heat storage material, configured to absorb heat by a phase change in which the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state”; the heat storage material is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores; and the fourth region having pores that do not have the heat storage material therein and not having pores with the heat storage material therein.
FIG. 4 of Kong discloses a similar heat lease system, wherein the third portion (3) includes a heat storage material (PCM) configured to absorb heat by a phase change, so that the heat storage material included in the one portion of the second region when in the liquid state, and is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores included in the one portion of the second region when in the solid state; the fourth portion (4) is vacant of the heat storage material (without PCM); the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state [0027], the third portion is disposed close to the first region so that the one portion of the second region absorbs heat conducted from the first region, the fourth portion is between the third portion and the rear surface of the frame; and temperature of the third portion is maintained for a period of time due to the phase change of the heat storage material [0027].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Kong. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of realizing the power switch component of omnidirectional radiation (Abstract of Kong).
Lee as modified by Kong and Heo is silent with respect to the heat storage material is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores.
FIG. 2 of Zuo discloses similar heat storage pores, comprising a plurality of pores (FIG. 3), wherein the heat storage material (136) is seated in the pores of the plurality of pores, the heat storage material configured to absorb heat by a phase change (from a solid state to a liquid state [0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Zuo. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of temperature control in high heat generating systems ([0005] of Zuo).
Claims 9 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Heo, Kong and Zuo, in view of Kim (KR 20080094240) of record.
Regarding Claim 9
Lee as modified by Heo, Kong and Zuo discloses Claim 1, wherein heat generated by the electronic part is dissipated to the plurality of outlets through the second region.
Lee as modified by Heo, Kong and Zuo is silent with respect to “an electronic part electrically connected to the printed circuit board”.
FIG. 1 of Kim discloses a similar display apparatus, comprising an electronic part (22/23) electrically connected to the printed circuit board (20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of preventing organic sticking (Abstract of Kim).
Regarding Claim 12
Lee as modified by Heo, Kong and Zuo discloses Claim 1. The claim “the plurality of LEDs are provided to directly display an image” containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed. This recitation does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus because the apparatus of Lee teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987), see MPEP 2114 R-1.
Furthermore, FIG. 1 of Kim discloses a similar display apparatus, wherein the plurality of LEDs are provided to directly display an image.
Claims 9-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Heo, Kong and Zuo, in view of Wang (CN 109188744) of record.
Regarding Claim 9
Lee as modified by Heo, Kong and Zuo discloses Claim 1, wherein heat generated by the electronic part is dissipated to the plurality of outlets through the second region.
Lee as modified by Heo, Kong and Zuo is silent with respect to “an electronic part electrically connected to the printed circuit board”.
FIG. 3 of Wang discloses a similar display apparatus, comprising an electronic part (61) electrically connected to the printed circuit board (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Wang. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of forming a transparent liquid crystal display hollow glass (Technology field of Wang).
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 3 of Wang discloses the frame further includes a seating space provided in which the electronic part (61) is seated.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 3 of Wang discloses the electronic part is in contact with at least one portion of the frame (62).
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, Heo, Kong and Zuo, in view of Ho (KR 2012118556) of record.
Regarding Claim 13
Lee as modified by Heo, Kong and Zuo discloses Claim 1.
Lee as modified by Heo, Kong and Zuo is silent with respect to “an image display panel configured to display an image, wherein the plurality of LEDs are configured to emit light to the image display panel”.
FIG. 1 of Ho discloses a similar display apparatus, comprising an image display panel configured to display an image, wherein the plurality of LEDs mounted on the printed circuit board (40) are provided to emit light to the image display panel (50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lee, as taught by Ho. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lee in the above manner for purpose of prolonged service life, better lightning performance and mass production and high economic effect (ADVANTAGE of Ho).
Pertinent Art
Liao (CN 109832911) discloses a display apparatus, comprising a heat storage material (8), configured to absorb heat by a phase change in which the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state (text: the phase change heat storage medium 8 uses calcium chloride hexahydrate, calcium chloride hexahydrate is solid and 30 degrees centigrade at normal temperature, it will gradually melt into liquid state, when the heat conduction to heat the solid calcium chloride hexahydrate absorbing heat will be gradually melted). CN 214395690 discloses a third region (4) having pores and a heat storage material, and a fourth region (3) having pores that that do not have the heat storage material foamed therein. CN 104235800 discloses heat absorption pores filled with phase change material and metal lattice improves heat dissipation. CN 213319092 and CN 213601370 each discloses the heat dissipation pore has hollow structure. FIG. 9 of Wang (CN 116915930) discloses the heat storage pores (162) include a heat storage material, configured to absorb heat by a phase change (text: the heat-absorbing particles 162 adopt phase change material, the phase-change material can control the temperature by absorbing and releasing the heat, the phase-change material can store the energy in the heat absorbing process, and then convert the energy into the cooling effect when releasing the heat so as to reduce the temperature) and the heat transfer pores are vacant (hollow iron ball). Kim (KR 20050110451) discloses the heat storage pores 42 include a heat storage material, configured to absorb heat by a phase and the heat transfer pores include heat conduction medium, wherein the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state. FIG. 1 of Sugiyama (WO 2018135140) discloses the heat storage pores (22) include a heat storage material (for example, aluminum oxide), configured to absorb heat by a phase change and the heat transfer pores (23) are vacant (hollow particles). FIG. 2 of Qu (CN 104344289) discloses a heat storage material (4), configured to absorb heat by a phase change in which the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state [0004]. FIG. 6 of Hartmann (U. S. Patent No. 10,679,923) discloses the heat storage pores (646) include a heat storage material (mCAP PCM), configured to absorb heat by a phase change and the heat transfer pores (645) are vacant (without PCM). FIG. 6 of Joshi (U. S. Patent No. 8,587,945) discloses the heat storage pores (300) include a heat storage material (PCM 304), wherein the heat storage material changes from a solid state to a liquid state (35). FIG. 2 of Willard (U. S. Patent Pub. No. 2002/0102895) discloses PCM contained within capsules 24.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 15 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. Applicant’s arguments with respect to Heo is not persuasive. Heo clearly states “The pores 21a formed inside the foam layer 20 absorb heat transferred to the base layer 10”. Nowhere in Heo states the heat storage material is simply air. Heo does NOT preclude that the heat storage material may be phase change material.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897