DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/US2019/047405 filed 08/21/2019, which claims the benefit of the priority of US Provisional application 62/720672 filed 08/21/2018.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-14, 24-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and III and/or based on the elected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/07/2024. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I drawn to a modified collagen or gelatin, in the reply filed on 05/07/2024 is acknowledged.
Applicant further elects the species of
. A search of the elected species did not uncover any prior art. The search was therefore expanded to the other species recited in claim 6 which did not uncover any prior art. The species election is herein withdrawn.
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 5-14, and 24-34 are pending. Claims 1 is amended. Claims 2, 4, 15-23, 25 are canceled. Claims 1, 3, 5-11 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 1, and 8-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (Nano Lett. 2015, 15, 10, 7138–7145) is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 - New
Claims 1, and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Black et al. (Tissue Eng Part A. 2015; 21(7-8): 1333-42).
Regarding claim 1, Black teaches a peptide amphiphile with the structure shown below:
(Fig. 1).
Examiner notes that the structure of Black reads on the instant structure with Glycine residue, and X and Y being Glycine and hydroxylysine residues, R1 is CH2-CnH2n+p, R2 is H.
With regards to claims 8-11, Examine notes that Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties recited in claims 8-11applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id. See MPEP 2112.01(II). . In the instant case, since the instant composition of claim 1 comprising the modified collagen is taught by the teachings of Jin, the limitations of claims 8-11 express the intended result of the modified collagen of claim 1 and thus the limitations of claims 8-11 would be necessarily present.
MPEP 2111.04 states: claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. In the instant case, since the instant composition of claim 1 comprising the modified collagen is taught by the teachings of Jin, the limitations of claims 8-11 express the intended result of the modified collagen of claim 1 and thus the limitations of claims 8-11 would be inherently present.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 09/05/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Black et al.
Examiner’s comment and Allowable subject matter
Claims 1, and 8-11 are rejected.
Claims 3, 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is Black et al. (Tissue Eng Part A. 2015; 21(7-8): 1333-42). Black teaches a peptide amphiphile with the structure shown below:
(Fig. 1).
Examiner notes that the structure of Black reads on the instant structure with Glycine residue, and X and Y being Glycine and hydroxylysine residues, R1 is CH2-CnH2n+p, R2 is H.
Black does not teach a modified collagen wherein X is proline, or hydroxyproline, and does not teach the repeating units recited in claims 5-6.
Conclusion
Claims 1, and 8-11 are rejected. Claims 3, 5-7 are objected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/LIANKO G GARYU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1654