DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, and 12-24 are pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Status of Previous Claim Rejections Under 35 USC § 112
The previous rejections of claims 1, 2, 4-8, and 12-18 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claims 1 and 18.
The previous rejection of claims 3 and 11 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) are moot in view of the canceled status of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18, 20, 22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, the limitation reciting that the article includes the substrate and the additively manufactured body is new matter because the specification as originally filed does not disclose that the body and substrate together make up the article. The specification discloses that the additively manufactured body forms a near net shape of a manufactured object, which is desired to be obtained (para. [0022]). The substrate is an object on which the additively manufactured body is shaped in the subsequent additive manufacturing step (para. [0015]). The “manufactured object” is interpreted as the article, as the term “article” is not utilized in the specification. Since the substrate is a surface on which the manufactured object (article) is shaped, the substrate is not understood to be a manufactured object. Thus, the specification does not support the limitation as claimed.
Regarding claims 20, 22, and 24, the claims are likewise rejected, as they include all limitations of claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 15, 16, and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2017/216630 (A1) to Hyatt et al. (“Hyatt”) in view of US 2004/0056022 (A1) to Meiners et al. (“Meiners”) and CN 106393683 (A) to Li et al. (“Li”) (abstract and human translation is in the file as of 06/25/2024).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Hyatt discloses a method for temperature control in an additive manufacturing process for producing a build object (method for manufacturing an article that includes an additively manufactured body). Title; abstract; para. [0001], [0009].
In an exemplary method for additive manufacturing a build object with in situ heating of the build object and substrate, a substrate is preheated to a desired temperature (preheating step of heating a substrate), depositing a feature on the preheated substrate (additive manufacturing step comprising using additive manufacturing to form an additively manufactured body that is formed on the preheated substrate), and machining the feature (machining step comprising machining the additively manufactured body). Para. [0087]; FIG. 22.
The preheating process may be controlled to achieve a desired temperature target. Para. [0074]. An energy beam source may be controlled so that a selected area of the build object is maintained above a temperature target in the form of a desired temperature value (additively manufactured body is in a heated state). Para. [0074], [0075]. Reheating can be performed as an intermediate process step to maintain the temperature in a certain area or reduce the cooling rate of a certain feature before the process moves to another feature of a component. Para. [0083].
An alternative source of heating the substrate or build may be an induction heater (preheating step is conducted at least by high-frequency induction heating). Para. [0076].
Hyatt teaches machining the build object (para. [0056], [0063], [0087]), but is silent regarding whether the build object is maintained at a heated state during machining.
Meiners is directed to a method of selective laser sintering of metallic substances, where the component is built up in layers on a substrate plate. Abstract; para. [0001]. The substrate is designed as a heating plate that can be heated directly by induction. Para. [0014]. Energy is supplied to the heating plate to maintain its temperature to ensure it stays constant during the building up process of the component. Para. [0017], [0021]. In doing so, tensions in the components are reduced during the building up process, thereby preventing the risk of cracking or tensions in the component. Para. [0021]. The heating plate can also be designed for thermal follow-up treatment of the finished components after their completion. Para. [0022].
Li is directed to a 3D printer with a laser heating function. Abstract; title. The method includes a step of heating and machining at the same time so as to significantly reduce the thermal stress and thermal deformation of the workpiece. Para. [0003], [0010].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have performed the machining step of Hyatt at an elevated temperature (heated state) because it would reduce the stresses and deformation generated in the object during the machining operation. A plate (substrate) heated by induction is capable of maintaining an elevated temperature from preheating through building and thereafter during post-treatment, as taught by Meiners, thereby further alleviating cracking and tensions in the component.
Regarding claim 2, Hyatt discloses that the depositing (additive manufacturing) and machining are repeated until the object is completed. FIG. 22 – see loop; para. [0087].
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Hyatt discloses that the deposited material may be powder that is melted to form the feature. Para. [0062], [0090]. The powder feed supply can be fed through a conduit and propelled toward the target area. Para. [0061]-[0068]; FIG. 14. The powder being moved by gas suggests continuous or batch (intermittent) powder feeding due to the action of the propellant. Para. [0064]-[0068]. The material is melted to form the solid build object (melt is solidified). Para. [0010], [0060], [0061], [0090]-[0092].
Regarding claims 7, 16, 21, and 23, Hyatt discloses that reheating can be performed as an intermediate process step to maintain the temperature in a certain area or reduce the cooling rate of a certain feature before the process moves to another feature of a component (i.e., after solidification but before moving onto the next step). Para. [0083]. Hyatt discloses a temperature target that is below a melting point of the additive material (claim 9), which overlaps the claimed range. Example additive materials are high carbon steel and titanium. Para. [0073], [0077]. Meiners discloses an example heating range of 500oC or above (para. [0011], [0021]), which overlaps the claimed range. Example materials of stainless steel 1.4404, titanium, or aluminum. Para. [0003].
Regarding claims 18, 20, 22, and 24, Hyatt discloses a method for temperature control in an additive manufacturing process for producing a build object (method for manufacturing an article that includes an additively manufactured body). Title; abstract; para. [0001], [0009].
In an exemplary method for additive manufacturing a build object with in situ heating of the build object and substrate (together forming the article), a substrate is preheated to a desired temperature (preheating step of heating a substrate), depositing a feature on the preheated substrate (additive manufacturing step comprising using additive manufacturing to form an additively manufactured body that is formed on the preheated substrate), and machining the feature (machining step comprising machining the additively manufactured body). Para. [0087]; FIG. 22.
The preheating process may be controlled to achieve a desired temperature target. Para. [0074]. An energy beam source may be controlled so that a selected area of the build object is maintained above a temperature target in the form of a desired temperature value (additively manufactured body is in a heated state). Para. [0074], [0075]. Reheating can be performed as an intermediate process step to maintain the temperature in a certain area or reduce the cooling rate of a certain feature before the process moves to another feature of a component. Para. [0083].
The additive manufacturing may be a directed energy deposition/material deposition process (use of directed energy deposition method). Para. [0005], [0060], [0061]. The deposited material may be powder that is melted to form the feature (melting raw material powder to produce a melted material). Para. [0062], [0090]. The powder feed supply can be fed through a conduit and propelled toward the target area. Para. [0061]-[0068]; FIG. 14. The material is melted to form the solid build object (melt is solidified). Para. [0010], [0060], [0061], [0090]-[0092].
An alternative source of heating the substrate or build may be an induction heater (preheating step is conducted at least by high-frequency induction heating). Para. [0076].
Hyatt teaches machining the build object (para. [0056], [0063], [0087]), but is silent regarding whether the build object is maintained at a heated state during machining.
Meiners is directed to a method of selective laser sintering of metallic substances, where the component is built up in layers on a substrate plate. Abstract; para. [0001]. The substrate is designed as a heating plate that can be heated directly by induction. Para. [0014]. Energy is supplied to the heating plate to maintain its temperature to ensure it stays constant during the building up process of the component. Para. [0017], [0021]. In doing so, tensions in the components are reduced during the building up process, thereby preventing the risk of cracking or tensions in the component. Para. [0021]. The heating plate can also be designed for thermal follow-up treatment of the finished components after their completion. Para. [0022].
Li is directed to a 3D printer with a laser heating function. Abstract; title. The method includes a step of heating and machining at the same time so as to significantly reduce the thermal stress and thermal deformation of the workpiece. Para. [0003], [0010].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have performed the machining step of Hyatt at an elevated temperature (heated state) because it would reduce the stresses and deformation generated in the object during the machining operation. A plate (substrate) heated by induction is capable of maintaining an elevated temperature from preheating through building and thereafter during post-treatment, as taught by Meiners, thereby further alleviating cracking and tensions in the component.
With respect to the heated state, Hyatt discloses that reheating can be performed as an intermediate process step to maintain the temperature in a certain area or reduce the cooling rate of a certain feature before the process moves to another feature of a component (i.e., after solidification but before moving onto the next step). Para. [0083]. Hyatt discloses a temperature target that is below a melting point of the additive material (claim 9), which overlaps the claimed range. Example additive materials are high carbon steel and titanium. Para. [0073], [0077]. Meiners discloses an example heating range of 500oC or above (para. [0011], [0021]), which overlaps the claimed range. Example materials of stainless steel 1.4404, titanium, or aluminum. Para. [0003].
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyatt in view of Meiners and Li, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, with evidence from Froes, "Machining and Chemical Shaping of Titanium," Titanium: Physical Metallurgy Processing and Applications, pp. 293-329 (“Froes”).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Hyatt discloses example additive materials of high carbon steel and titanium (para. [0073], [0077]), but is silent regarding the machinability index of these materials. However, titanium and its alloys are known to have a machinability rating of 30 or lower (Froes at Table 13.1), which falls within the claimed range.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyatt in view of Meiners and Li, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of US 2017/0136578 (A1) to Yoshimura (“Yoshimura”).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Hyatt discloses that the energy beam may be a laser beam (para. [0060]), but does not specify a semiconductor laser.
Yoshimura is directed to a three-dimensional deposition device and method. Abstract. The light source is a semiconductor laser. Para. [0014]-[0017], [0085], [0086]. A laser beam sourced from a semiconductor laser performs heating effectively. Para. [0089].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a semiconductor laser in the process of Hyatt because it can generate light that can sufficiently and effectively provide heat for the additive processes carried out therein.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyatt in view of Meiners and Li, as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of JP 2012-206243 (A) to Kunitomo (“Kunitomo”) (abstract and computer-generated translation in file as of 03/29/2024).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Hyatt teaches machining the build object (para. [0056], [0063], [0087]), but does not specify a ceramic machining tool.
Kunitomo is directed to a milling tool that is capable of highly efficiently cutting a difficult-to-cut material such as super heat-resistant alloys (superalloys). Abstract; para. [0001], [0015], [0041], [0043]. Suitable tools include ceramic tools. Para. [0036], [0041].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used a ceramic tool as the cutting tool in Hyatt because they are sufficiently sturdy to cut the brittle materials identified by Hyatt (para. [0006]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hyatt in view of Meiners, Li, and Yoshimura, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Froes.
Regarding claim 13, Hyatt discloses example additive materials of high carbon steel and titanium (para. [0073], [0077]), but is silent regarding the machinability index of these materials. However, titanium and its alloys are known to have a machinability rating of 30 or lower (Froes at Table 13.1), which falls within the claimed range.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/27/2024 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Abe are moot because the reference is not relied upon to reject the claims in this Office action.
Applicant argues that it is unreasonable to apply a DED method to Li because Li is directed to powder bed fusion.
In response, the primary reference to Hyatt discloses machining after a directed energy deposition (DED) process has been performed. Although Li performs additive manufacturing using a powder bed process, Li’s teaching of machining a heated object would have motivated a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Hyatt’s machining process accordingly because it would address the issues of tension and stress that arise in the machining of brittle materials identified by Hyatt and Meiners, as described above.
Conclusion
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
October 04, 2025