DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Damgaard et al. (US 2007/0036655) in view of Pederson et al. (US 2015/0300319) and Mikhail et al. (US 2002/0105189).
Regarding claim 1,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
A method of treating a bearing system (Fig. 3B) comprised in a wind turbine drive train (Fig. 5, 3)
during storage and/or transport (¶0079-¶0083), the drive train comprising a rotor (Fig. 4, 5) coupled to a generator (21, coupled in Fig. 5), the method comprising
about at least one half revolution or at least one revolution (¶0100-¶0107, rotation, ¶0121-
¶0122),
to the generator when the generator together with the drive train is stored or transported
(¶0113)
They do not disclose:
controlling the generator to operate as a motor to deliver a driving torque causing the rotor to rotate
wherein the controlling the generator comprises: supplying a driving power stream from an
auxiliary converter system
wherein the auxiliary converter system is electrically coupled to the generator.
However, Pederson teaches (fig. 1):
controlling the generator (Fig. 1, 4) to operate as a motor (¶0039) to deliver a driving torque
causing the rotor (6) to rotate (¶0039-¶0040)
Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
wherein the controlling the generator comprises: supplying a driving power stream from an
auxiliary converter system (Fig. 6B, 624) wherein the auxiliary converter system (624) is electrically coupled to the generator (620, ¶0081).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 2,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
wherein by rotating the rotor at least one roller and/or ball (Fig. 3b, 11) is moved relative to a raceway (13) of at least one component of the bearing system (Fig. 3B, ¶0082-¶0083), and/or wherein the generator generated driving torque continuously and/or in a stepwise manner and/or in a back and forth manner rotates the rotor during at least 20%, in particular between 50% and 100%, of the transport time and/or storage time (¶0121-¶0123).
Regarding claim 3,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
wherein the generator generated driving torque rotates the rotor with a predetermined
rotational speed, between 0.1 rpm and 5 rpm (¶0121-¶0123),
Regarding claim 4,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
wherein the auxiliary system (Fig. 4, 14) exclusively supplies driving power to the generator
(¶0095-¶0104).
Regarding claim 5,
Damgaard discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the auxiliary converter system comprises an auxiliary frequency converter which is
powered by an external power supply, wherein a three phase AC power stream having a predetermined
frequency of 50 Hz or 60 Hz is supplied to the auxiliary frequency converter
However, Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
wherein the auxiliary converter system comprises an auxiliary frequency converter (Fig. 6B, 624) which is powered by an external power supply (from grid), wherein a three phase AC power stream having a predetermined frequency of 50 Hz or 60 Hz is supplied to the auxiliary frequency converter (grid frequency is 60Hz, ¶0007)
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 6,
Damgaard discloses the above elements from claim 5.
They do not disclose:
wherein the auxiliary frequency converter comprises controllable switches connected between DC-terminals at an input section and comprises further controllable switches connected between DC- terminals at an output section, wherein conductance states of the controllable switches and the further controllable switches are controlled by an auxiliary converter controller supplying control signals to gates of the controllable switches and the further controllable switches.
However, Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
wherein the auxiliary frequency converter comprises controllable switches (IGBTS not shown, ¶0095) connected between DC-terminals at an input section and comprises further controllable switches connected between DC-terminals at an output section (2 inverters connected between DC Bus 631), wherein conductance states of the controllable switches and the further controllable switches are controlled by an auxiliary converter controller supplying control signals to gates of the controllable switches and the further controllable switches (¶0095-¶0096).
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 7,
Damgaard discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the auxiliary converter system or comprises at least one wind turbine converter connectable to the generator and used during normal operation of the wind turbine, to convert a variable frequency power stream, generated by the generator due to wind impacting on rotor blade connected to the rotor, to a substantially fixed frequency power stream to be delivered to a utility grid, wherein the auxiliary converter system has a capacity of between 1% and 20% of a capacity of each wind turbine converter
However, Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
wherein the auxiliary converter system comprises at least one wind turbine converter (Fig. 6B, 624, 630) connectable to the generator (620) and used during normal operation of the wind turbine, to convert a variable frequency power stream (¶0100), generated by the generator due to wind impacting on rotor blade connected to the rotor (¶0100), to a substantially fixed frequency power stream to be delivered to a utility grid, wherein the auxiliary converter system has a capacity of between 1% and 20% of a capacity of each wind turbine converter (90158).
Regarding claim 7, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 8,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
wherein the bearing system (Fig. 3b) comprises at least one of: a primary and/or secondary rotor main bearing (¶0082); a gear box bearing (¶0086-¶0087); and a generator bearing (Fig. 3b, ¶0016-¶0017).
Regarding claim 9,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
wherein the method is performed during transport of a nacelle loaded on a transport frame (¶0018-¶0019), the nacelle (Fig. 4, 3) comprising the generator (21), the rotor (5), the drive train (16, 17, 18, 19, 20) and the bearing system (part of rotor and generator, Fig. 3b), an auxiliary converter system being arranged in or at the nacelle or at the transport frame (everything arranged in transport frame, ¶0018-¶0019).
Regarding claim 10,
Damgaard discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the nacelle further comprises: at least one wind turbine converter in case of a multiple
winding set generator, each one of the wind turbine converters connectable to the generator.
However, Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
wherein the nacelle further comprises: at least one wind turbine converter (Fig. 6B, 624, 630) in case of a multiple winding set generator (620), each one of the wind turbine converters connectable to the generator (both converters connected, ¶0081).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 11,
Damgaard discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein each one of the wind turbine converters is connectable to the generator via a
respective generator breaker, wherein during the method generator breakers are opened.
However, Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
wherein each one of the wind turbine converters is connectable to the generator via a
respective generator breaker, wherein during the method generator breakers are opened (¶0042).
Regarding claim 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 12,
Damgaard discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the generator is a single winding set generator or a multiple winding set generator, wherein in case of a multiple winding set generator, the auxiliary converter system is connected to only one winding set of the generator.
However, Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
wherein the generator is a single winding set generator or a multiple winding set generator (Fig.
2, ¶0006), wherein in case of a multiple winding set generator, the auxiliary converter system is connected to only one winding set of the generator (each converter is connected to one set, ¶0006).
Regarding claim 12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 13,
Damgaard discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the generator is a permanent magnet synchronous generator, having an outer rotor
with plural permanent magnets, or an induction generator.
However, Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
wherein the generator is a permanent magnet synchronous generator, having an outer rotor
with plural permanent magnets, or an induction generator (¶0005).
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 14,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
A method of storing and/or transporting a wind turbine arrangement comprising a drive train (Fig.4 all elements) with a rotor (5), a generator (21, coupled in Fig. 5) coupled to the rotor (5), a bearing system rotatably supporting at least one component of the drive train (not shown, Fig. 3b, ¶0082-¶0084), and an auxiliary converter system (14, ¶0100-¶0107, rotation, ¶0121-¶0122), comprising about at least one half revolution or at least one revolution (¶0100-¶0107, rotation, ¶0121-¶0122) during the storing and/or the transporting (¶0118-¶0121), to the generator when the generator together with the drive train is stored or transported (¶0113),
They do not disclose:
controlling the generator to operate as a motor to deliver a driving torque causing the rotor to rotate wherein the controlling the generator comprises: supplying a driving power stream from an auxiliary converter system wherein the auxiliary converter system is electrically coupled to the generator.
However, Pederson teaches (fig. 1):
controlling the generator (Fig. 1, 4) to operate as a motor (¶0039) to deliver a driving torque causing the rotor (6) to rotate (¶0039-¶0040)
Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
wherein the controlling the generator comprises: supplying a driving power stream from an auxiliary converter system (Fig. 6B, 624) wherein the auxiliary converter system (624) is electrically coupled to the generator (620, ¶0081).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 15,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
An arrangement for treating a bearing system (Fig. 3b) comprised in a wind turbine drive train
(Fig. 5, all elements) during storage and/or transport (¶0079-¶0083), the drive train comprising a rotor (5) coupled to a generator (21, coupled in Fig. 5), the arrangement comprising: a nacelle (3) and;
for supplying a driving power stream to the generator when the generator together with the drive train is stored or transported (¶0113),
causing the rotor to rotate about at least one revolution (¶0100-¶0107, rotation, ¶0121-¶0122);
They do not disclose:
an auxiliary converter electrically coupled to the generator
To control the generator to operate as a motor to deliver a driving torque causing the rotor to rotate
However, Pederson teaches (fig. 1):
to control the generator (Fig. 1, 4) to operate as a motor (¶0039) such that the generator (4)
delivers a driving torque causing the rotor (6) to rotate (¶0039-¶0040)
Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
an auxiliary converter system (Fig. 6B, 624) electrically coupled to the generator (620, ¶0081)
Regarding claim 15 it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 16,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
wherein the rotor is caused to rotate about more than 100 revolutions (¶0121-¶0122, could rotate indefinitely).
Regarding claim 17,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
wherein the rotor is caused to rotate about more than 1000 revolutions (¶0121-¶0122, could rotate indefinitely).
Regarding claim 18,
Damgaard discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
further comprising: in a motor mode, supplying a driving power stream to the generator so the generator operates as the motor; and in a generator mode, operating the generator to convert rotational energy of the rotor into electric energy.
However, Pederson teaches:
further comprising:in a motor mode, supplying a driving power stream to the generator so the generator operates as the motor (¶0039-¶0040);
Mikhail teaches (Fig. 6B):
and in a generator mode, operating the generator to convert rotational energy of the rotor into electric energy (¶0057).
Regarding claim 18, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the clamed invention to take the turbine transport apparatus from Damgaard that turns a rotor of a generator in order to keep the bearings lubricated (¶0119-¶0121) and send power to the generator of the wind turbine to turn the rotor in order to enable a smooth start up as taught by Pederson (¶0039-¶0040). This would reduce costs by not needing an extra unit to turn the generator and also protects the bearings which would increase reliability.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the wind turbine transportation apparatus from Damgaard that uses a generator to turn the rotor of the turbine with the assistance of an auxiliary unit during transit (¶0097, ¶0107) and use a converter to drive the rotor of a generator of a wind turbine as taught by Mikhail (¶0007). This would enable the rotor to rotate during transit to prevent wear and tear as taught by Damgaard (¶0097, ¶0107).
Regarding claim 19,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
wherein the generator electrically coupled to the auxiliary converter system (14) is decoupled
and disconnected from all other circuitries to which the generator is connected during normal operation while producing electric energy (10098).¶
Regarding claim 20,
Damgaard discloses (Fig. 3B):
wherein controlling the generator to operate as the motor does not require mechanically
coupling any auxiliary device to rotating components of the drive train (¶0115).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s arguments pertaining to claims 1-20, applicant argues that the combination of Damgaard in view of Pederson is improper because Damgaard teaches away from Pederson’s high torque generator as a motor a approach and that the high speed from using the generator as a motor would rupture the oil film, however, this is not claimed, furthermore, in ¶0039, Pederson teaches how a high static friction needs to be overcome and this could be used instead of a separate motor unit as shown from Damgaard. Furthermore, it is known to operate a motor and generator differently during a startup state and a steady state, during startup one would need to overcome static friction then a slow motoring mode could be used. Damgaard As such, the combination is proper because this would reduce the amount of components needed to turn the turbine during transit which would reduce costs. Applicant also argues that none of the reference teach how a generator operates as a motor during storage or transport but viewed as a whole combination, since Pederson’s generator is used as a motor to move the turbine when its being installed, that would be nearly equivalent to transport without the blades. Furthermore, the combination of Damgaard in view of Pederson and Mikhail is proper because although Applicant is arguing combining the references teaches away from Damgaard, for example, that a special low frequency inverter would be required, the Pedersen reference would be able to accomplish this task by actuating the motor as a generator at low speed which is taught in ¶0043 from Pedersen. The generator from Pederson operating in a motoring mode would teach this aspect. As such, examiner is maintaining the rejections for claims 1-20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.S.L./ Examiner, Art Unit 2837 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837