DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any claim not specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
Claim 1 recites “each and every one the plurality of through holes”. The phrase appears to be missing words. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was meant to recite “each and every one of the plurality of through holes” and has examined accordingly.
Claim 1 refers to “concentric circular rows”. However, it is not clear that the rows meet the specific geometric definitions attributed to a “circular” or “concentric” geometric arrangement. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed that the feature at issue are substantially concentric circular rows and has examined accordingly/
Claim 7 recites “each and every one which is arranged as a plurality of concentric circular rows”. The phrase appears to be missing words. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed the claim was meant to recite “each and every one of which is arranged as a plurality of concentric circular rows” and has examined accordingly.
Claim 1 refers to “concentric circular rows”. However, it is not clear that the rows meet the specific geometric definitions attributed to a “circular” or “concentric” geometric arrangement. In order to expedite examination, Examiner has assumed that the feature at issue are substantially concentric circular rows and has examined accordingly/
Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim Interpretation
The claims have been amended to language referring to each and every one of a plurality of through holes/openings, but not clearly and necessarily stating that all through holes/openings formed in the second member are meant to be included in claim limitation plurality of through holes/openings. Although, this appears to be the intention. In interpreting the claim language, Examiner understands and assumes the claim is meant to express the same – that is, is all through holes or openings formed through the second member are included as part of the plurality of through holes (claim 1) and plurality openings (claim 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0047595 to Kofuji et al.
Regarding claim 1: In Figs. 1 and 9, e.g., Kofuji et al. disclose a plasma processing apparatus substantially as claimed and comprising: a processing chamber (106) in which a sample (121) is subjected to plasma processing; a radio frequency power source (113) configured to supply radio frequency power for generating plasma through a first member (117) of a dielectric material disposed above the processing chamber; a coil (114) configured to form a magnetic field inside the processing chamber; a sample stage (120) where the sample is placed; and a second member disposed (116) between the first member and the sample stage and having a plurality of through holes (150) formed therein, wherein the second member is constructed so that the plurality of through holes includes each and every through hole formed through the second member and so that each and every through hole of the plurality of through holes is arranged as a plurality of substantially concentric circular rows (e.g. see annotated figure below) surrounding a center (151) of the second member at a position outside of a predetermined radius (e.g., corresponding to 151) from the center of the second member and being constructed to control a cyclotron motion of ions which pass through the plurality of through holes, wherein a distance (see, e.g., para. 50, 40mm or more) from the first member to the second member is a distance such that a density of plasma generated between the first member and the second member is a cutoff density or higher (i.e., 55mm or more per Applicant’s specification).
During an intended use of the apparatus wherein a process gas is turned into plasma by electron cyclotron resonance (ECR), using a radio frequency power source (magnetron, 113), waveguide (e.g., structures and volume between 113 and 117), and coil (114), the through holes/openings through which the plasma passes en route to an article to be processed, are by their mere presence and resulting exposure to the plasma produced, constructed to control a cyclotron motion of ions which pass therethrough during the intend use (also see, e.g., para. 46, which states that the apparatus of Kofuji et al. can be used in an ECR plasma processing method). Regarding intended use, again, it is noted that the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Furthermore, Examiner notes that the court have ruled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), wherein Kofuji et al. teach that that various features of the apparatus may be optimized (e.g. distances between the first member, second member, and sample stage; arrangement of holes, density of holes and diameter of holes with respect to sample) in order to provide desired plasma processing environment and perfectly shield ions generated between the first member and the second member from being incident on the sample (see, e.g., para. 50, 57, 69-72, 75). Examiner also notes that the courts have ruled that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Finally, while Kofuji et al. do, disclose a coil, as detailed above, a plurality of coils is not explicitly disclosed. Although, notably, a plurality of coils does appear to be illustrated in Fig. 1. Nevertheless, the courts have ruled that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In the instant case there does not appear to be any new or unexpected result by providing additional coils. Thus, the provision of a plurality of coils is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic and the disclosure of Kofuji et al. before the claimed invention was effectively filed.
With respect to claim 3, as detailed above, a distance from the first member to the second member may be 55 mm or more (see, e.g., para. 50, 40mm or more) to be capable of causing plasma to be generated only in a region between the first member and the second member. Also see above regarding intended use and/or optimization.
With respect to claim 6, in Kofuji et al., the radio frequency power is radio frequency power of microwaves (see, e.g., para. 46 and claim 2), the second member is a quartz flat plate (see, e.g., para. 52).
Regarding claim 7: In Figs. 1 and 9, e.g., Kofuji et al. disclose a plasma processing apparatus substantially as claimed and comprising: disclose a processing chamber (106) in which a sample (121) is subjected to plasma processing; a radio frequency power source (113) configured to supply radio frequency power for generating plasma through a first member (117) of a dielectric material disposed above the processing chamber; a coil (114) configured to form a magnetic field inside the processing chamber; a sample stage (120) where the sample is placed; and a second member disposed (116) between the first member and the sample stage and having a plurality of openings (150) formed therein, wherein the second member is constructed so that the plurality of openings includes each and every opening formed through the second member and so that each and every through hole of the plurality of through holes is arranged as a plurality of substantially concentric circular rows (e.g. see annotated figure below) surrounding a center (151) of the second member and formed along a circumferential direction in a region that extends inwardly from an outer edge (of the second member) to a position outside of a predetermined radius (e.g., corresponding to 151) from the center of the second member in a plan view, the plurality of openings being constructed to control a cyclotron motion of ions which pass through the plurality of openings, such that the plurality of openings are not within an inner portion (e.g., corresponding to 151) of the second member inside of the predetermined radius, wherein a distance (see, e.g., para. 50, 40mm or more) from the first member to the second member is a distance such that a density of plasma generated between the first member and the second member is a cutoff density or higher (i.e., 55mm or more per Applicant’s specification).
During an intended use of the apparatus wherein a process gas is turned into plasma by electron cyclotron resonance (ECR), using a radio frequency power source (magnetron, 113), waveguide (e.g., structures and volume between 113 and 117), and coil (114), the through holes/openings through which the plasma passes en route to an article to be processed, are by their mere presence and resulting exposure to the plasma produced, constructed to control a cyclotron motion of ions which pass therethrough during the intend use (also see, e.g., para. 46, which states that the apparatus of Kofuji et al. can be used in an ECR plasma processing method). Regarding intended use, again, it is noted that the courts have ruled a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Furthermore, Examiner notes that the court have ruled that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), wherein Kofuji et al. teach that that various features of the apparatus may be optimized (e.g. distances between the first member, second member, and sample stage; arrangement of holes, density of holes and diameter of holes with respect to sample) in order to provide desired plasma processing environment and perfectly shield ions generated between the first member and the second member from being incident on the sample (see, e.g., para. 50, 57, 69-72, 75). Examiner also notes that the courts have ruled that inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)).
Finally, while Kofuji et al. do, disclose a coil, as detailed above, a plurality of coils is not explicitly disclosed. Although, notably, a plurality of coils does appear to be illustrated in Fig. 1. Nevertheless, the courts have ruled that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). In the instant case there does not appear to be any new or unexpected result by providing additional coils. Thus, the provision of a plurality of coils is considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense and logic and the disclosure of Kofuji et al. before the claimed invention was effectively filed.
With respect to claim 9, as detailed above, a distance from the first member to the second member may be 55 mm or more (see, e.g., para. 50, 40mm or more) to be capable of causing plasma to be generated only in a region only between the first member and the second member. Also see above regarding intended use and/or optimization.
With respect to claim 10, in Kofuji et al., the radio frequency power is radio frequency power of microwaves (see, e.g., para. 46 and claim 2), the second member is a quartz flat plate (see, e.g., para. 52).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 6-7 and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference as specifically applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The prior art rejections have been modified. Applicant has voluntarily amended the claims, making Applicant’s request for a non-final rejection misplaced. In the previous rejection, Examiner notes that although additional, superfluous descriptions and rejections remained (e.g., 35 USC 112 and cancelled subject matter), the claims were actually properly rejected with respect to the prior art and the subject matter claimed, wherein as clearly set forth in the rejection, the relationship of the apparatus and the article worked upon were considered substantially as intended use. This issue was addressed in the prior art rejections and the response to arguments. For example, see, para. 17 of the office action which addresses the arrangement of through holes with respect to the article worked upon in a plan view. Examiner also notes that Applicant’s response does not address the insufficiency of the prior art as set forth in the office action with respect to the claimed invention.
The above rejection is necessitated solely by Applicant’s amendment(s) to the claims; and thus, is proper (see MPEP 706.07(a).). A second non-final rejection is not being issued for the reasons above.
The claimed invention still fails to distinguish over relied upon prior art reference, Kofuji et al. See above.
Regarding the myriad of disclosed or claimed intended use(s) and results thereof included in Applicant’s arguments, as previously noted, as opposed to claiming an apparatus, Applicant may want to consider a separate application drawn to a method for providing an apparatus (or a method of using an apparatus), which may be helpful in overcoming interpretations based on the intended uses of the claimed/disclosed apparatus on which Applicant appears to be putting a large amount of weight in setting forth potential distinguishing features. Note: rejections based on anticipation and teachings of optimization contained in the prior art may still be applicable to a claimed invention that is a method.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent No. 6,335,293 teaches Various types of diverters and combinations of diverters, baffles, and restricters can be used in embodiments of the present invention to achieve the desired process results. The diverter used in some embodiments may comprise one or more plates, and at least one of those plates may contain a hole or pattern of holes. The diameter of the diverter, hole pattern, hole size, and distance of separation between the diverter and the substrate may be adjusted to achieve the desired process results. In one embodiment, the diverter may also screen the line of sight from the plasma to the substrate, minimizing UV radiation and charging damage, thus contributing to process optimization. In the case where the diverter consists of more than one plate, exemplary embodiments may include configurations in which that part of the diverter closest to the wafer has holes for gaseous species to flow through to the wafer. This multi-plate diverter may be used to prevent line-of sight to the wafer from the generation region, which may contain a plasma.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716