Detailed Action
This office action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on April 21st, 2026. Claims 1, 4-9, 12-13, and 16-22 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 21st, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pgs. 7-10, “Remarks”) that Nishiyama and the other cited references fail to teach the limitations presented in amended Claims 1 and 20.
However, as seen below, Claims 1 and 20 are rejected by the combination of Nishiyama, Jo, and Chung.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate that the corresponding limitations are addressed with a secondary reference/embodiment in an obviousness analysis.
Claims 1, 4, 9, 13, 16, and 18-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyama et al. (U.S. 2016/0370646 A1; hereinafter Nishiyama) in view of Jo et al. (2017/0331072 A1; hereinafter Jo) and Chung et al. (2005/0236956 A1; hereinafter Chung).
Regarding Claim 1, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches:
A display panel ([0127]), comprising:
an array substrate ([0127], 40) comprising a display region (display region, see annotated fig. 4) and a non-display region (non-display region, see annotated fig. 4) surrounding at least a part of the display region (display region), wherein
the display region (display region) comprises a plurality of pixels ([0128], a group of red, blue, and green pixels is referred to as a pixel) arranged in an array, each of the pixels (pixel) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels ([0128], each of the red, blue, and green pixels is referred to as a sub-pixel), and each of the sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting device ([0129], 29, 30);
an encapsulation cover plate ([0127], 20) opposite to the array substrate (40), wherein the encapsulation cover plate (20) comprises:
a first base substrate ([0128], 10); and
a plurality of organic layers ([0128], 11, optionally 26) on a side of the first base substrate (10) close to the array substrate (40) wherein the plurality of organic layers (11, 26) are spaced apart from the light-emitting device (29, 30); and
a frame sealant ([0127], 34) in the non-display region (non-display region) and between the array substrate (40) and the encapsulation cover plate (20), and configured to adhere ([0127]) the array substrate (40) and the encapsulation cover plate (20), wherein
a gap region (area between 34 and 26, labeled gap region, see annotated fig. 4) is between an organic layer (26) of the plurality of the organic layers (11, 26) closest to the frame sealant (34) in a direction (left to right, see annotated fig. 4) from the display region (display region) to the frame sealant (34) and the frame sealant (34), the gap region (gap region) separates the organic layer (26) of the plurality of the organic layers (11, 26) closest to the frame sealant (34) from the frame sealant (34), and the gap region (gap region) is in the non-display region (non-display region), wherein
the plurality of the organic layers (11, 26) comprises: a black matrix (11) on a side of the first base substrate (10) close to the array substrate (40) and defining a plurality of sub-color filter units ([0134], 23, 24, 25);
a protection layer (26) covering at least a portion of the black matrix (top of 11) and the plurality of the sub-color filter units (23, 24, 25); and
a first spacer on a side of the first base substrate close to the array substrate and on a side of both of the black matrix and the protection layer close to the frame sealant, wherein the organic layer of the plurality of the organic layers closest to the frame sealant is the first spacer, and wherein a plane shape of the first spacer is a closed ring formed surrounding the black matrix and the protection layer, wherein
the protection layer covers a first surface of the black matrix away from the first base substrate, and does not cover a side surface of the black matrix intersecting with first surface.
Nishiyama doesn’t teach a first spacer on a side of the first base substrate close to the array substrate and on a side of both of the black matrix and the protection layer close to the frame sealant, wherein the organic layer of the plurality of the organic layers closest to the frame sealant is the first spacer, and wherein a plane shape of the first spacer is a closed ring formed surrounding the black matrix and the protection layer.
However, Jo (figs. 7-8) teaches a first spacer ([0065], R1) on a side of the first base substrate ([0059], SUB1) close to the array substrate ([0059], SUB2) and on a side of both of the black matrix ([0059], BM1) and the protection layer ([0059], PAS) close to the frame sealant ([0065], R3), wherein the organic layer of the plurality of the organic layers (R1, PAS) closest to the frame sealant (R3) is the first spacer (R1), and wherein a plane shape of the first spacer (R1) is a closed ring formed surrounding the black matrix (BM1) and the protection layer (PAS). Jo also teaches the spacer may function as a getter and easily and safely absorbs moisture from being permeated from the outside ([0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display panel of Nishiyama to include the first spacer of Jo to absorb moisture from the outside.
Nishiyama doesn’t teach the protection layer covers a first surface of the black matrix away from the first base substrate, and does not cover a side surface of the black matrix intersecting with first surface.
However, Chung (fig. 6) teaches the protection layer ([0056], 340, 342) covers a first surface of the black matrix ([0056], bottom surface of 336 in contact with 340) away from the first base substrate ([0055], 330), and does not cover a side surface of the black matrix (side surfaces of 336 are not covered by 340 and 342, see fig. 6) intersecting with first surface (bottom surface of 336) while still serving to protect and planarize the color filters and black matrices ([0056]). One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the protection layer of Chung for the protective layer of Nishiyama and yielded the predictable results of protecting and planarizing the color filters and black matrices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the protection layer of Chung for the protection layer of Nishiyama, since simple substitution of protection layers for another is an appropriate rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Annotated Figure 4
Regarding Claim 4, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of the sub-color filter units (23, 24, 25) are in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of the sub-pixels (23, 24, 25 correspond to each of the red, blue, and green pixels), and the black matrix (11) is configured ([0134]) to enable light emitted by the light-emitting device (29, 30) of each of the sub-pixels (sub-pixel) to pass through and exit from the corresponding sub-color filter unit (23, 24, 25).
Regarding Claim 9, Jo (fig. 8) teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the protection layer (PAS) is a planarization layer (PAS), and a surface of the planarization layer (PAS) away from the first base substrate (SUB1) is a flat surface (see fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 13, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the encapsulation cover plate (20) further comprises an opaque light shielding layer [0129], 33), the opaque light shielding layer (33) is on a side of the first base substrate (10) close to the array substrate (40), and an orthographic projection of the opaque light shielding layer (33) on the first base substrate (10) at least partially overlaps (see annotated fig. 4) with an orthographic projection of the frame sealant (34) on the first base substrate (10).
Regarding Claim 16, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches the display panel according to claim 4, wherein the array substrate (40) further comprises: a pixel definition layer ([0129], 31) defining the plurality of the sub-pixels (sub-pixel), wherein an orthographic projection of the black matrix (11) on the first base substrate (10) is within an orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer (31) on the first base substrate (10).
Regarding Claim 18, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches the display panel according to claim 1, further comprising: a filling material layer ([0130], filling material layer, see annotated fig. 4) which is filled between the array substrate (40) and the encapsulation cover plate (20) and comprises a first portion in the display region (display region) and a second portion in the non- display region (non-display region), wherein the first portion covers the light-emitting device (29, 30), and the second portion fills the gap region (gap region).
Regarding Claim 19, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches the display panel according to claim 18, wherein the filling material layer (filling material layer) is an elastic layer ([0130], [0138], resin may be flexible), and in a case (in this case the display panel is not applied with a pressure, therefore this limitation is interpreted as being optional) that the display panel is applied with a pressure in a direction perpendicular to the first base substrate, a thickness of the elastic layer in a direction perpendicular to the first base substrate decreases.
Regarding Claim 20, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches:
A manufacturing method of a display panel ([0127]), comprising:
Providing an array substrate ([0127], 40), wherein the array substrate (40) comprises a display region (display region, see annotated fig. 4) and a non-display region (non-display region, see annotated fig. 4) surrounding at least a part of the display region (D),
the display region (D) comprises a plurality of pixels ([0128], a group of red, blue, and green pixels is referred to as a pixel) arranged in an array, each of the pixels (pixel) comprises a plurality of sub-pixels ([0128], each of the red, blue, and green pixels is referred to as a sub-pixel), and each of the sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting device ([0129], 29, 30);
forming an encapsulation cover plate ([0127], 20), comprising:
providing a first base substrate ([0128], 10), and
forming a plurality of organic layers ([0128], 11, 26) on a side of the first base substrate (10) close to the array substrate (40) wherein the plurality of organic layers (11, 26) are spaced apart from the light-emitting device (29, 30);
forming a frame sealant ([0127], 34), wherein the frame sealant (34) is located in the non-display region (non-display region); and allowing the array substrate (40) to be opposite to the encapsulation cover plate (20) and bonding the array substrate (40) with the encapsulation cover plate (20), wherein
the frame sealant (34) is located between the array substrate (40) and the encapsulation cover plate (20), the frame sealant (34) adheres ([0127]) the array substrate (40) and the encapsulation cover plate (20),
a gap region (area between 34 and 26, labeled gap region, see annotated fig. 4) is provided between an organic layer (26) of the plurality of the organic layers (11, 26) closest to the frame sealant (34) in a direction (left to right, see annotated fig. 4) from the display region (display region) to the frame sealant (34) and the frame sealant (34), the gap region (gap region) separates the organic layer (26) of the plurality of the organic layers (11, 26) closest to the frame sealant (34) from the frame sealant (34), and the gap region (gap region) is located in the non-display region (non-display region), wherein
the plurality of the organic layers (11, 26) comprises: a black matrix (11) on a side of the first base substrate (10) close to the array substrate (40) and defining a plurality of sub-color filter units ([0134], 23, 24, 25);
a protection layer (26) covering at least a portion of the black matrix (top of 11) and the plurality of the sub-color filter units (23, 24, 25); and
a first spacer on a side of the first base substrate close to the array substrate and on a side of both of the black matrix and the protection layer close to the frame sealant, wherein the organic layer of the plurality of the organic layers closest to the frame sealant is the first spacer, and wherein a plane shape of the first spacer is a closed ring formed surrounding the black matrix and the protection layer, wherein
the protection layer covers a first surface of the black matrix away from the first base substrate, and does not cover a side surface of the black matrix intersecting with first surface.
Nishiyama doesn’t teach a first spacer on a side of the first base substrate close to the array substrate and on a side of both of the black matrix and the protection layer close to the frame sealant, wherein the organic layer of the plurality of the organic layers closest to the frame sealant is the first spacer, and wherein a plane shape of the first spacer is a closed ring formed surrounding the black matrix and the protection layer.
However, Jo (figs. 7-8) teaches a first spacer ([0065], R1) on a side of the first base substrate ([0059], SUB1) close to the array substrate ([0059], SUB2) and on a side of both of the black matrix ([0059], BM1) and the protection layer ([0059], PAS) close to the frame sealant ([0065], R3), wherein the organic layer of the plurality of the organic layers (R1, PAS) closest to the frame sealant (R3) is the first spacer (R1), and wherein a plane shape of the first spacer (R1) is a closed ring formed surrounding the black matrix (BM1) and the protection layer (PAS). Jo also teaches the spacer may function as a getter and easily and safely absorbs moisture from being permeated from the outside ([0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display panel of Nishiyama to include the first spacer of Jo to absorb moisture from the outside.
Nishiyama doesn’t teach the protection layer covers a first surface of the black matrix away from the first base substrate, and does not cover a side surface of the black matrix intersecting with first surface.
However, Chung (fig. 6) teaches the protection layer ([0056], 340, 342) covers a first surface of the black matrix ([0056], bottom surface of 336 in contact with 340) away from the first base substrate ([0055], 330), and does not cover a side surface of the black matrix (side surfaces of 336 are not covered by 340 and 342, see fig. 6) intersecting with first surface (bottom surface of 336) while still serving to protect and planarize the color filters and black matrices ([0056]). One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the protection layer of Chung for the protective layer of Nishiyama and yielded the predictable results of protecting and planarizing the color filters and black matrices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the protection layer of Chung for the protection layer of Nishiyama, since simple substitution of protection layers for another is an appropriate rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 21, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches a display apparatus ([0033], liquid crystal display device) comprising the display panel ([0033], [0127], light emitting device) according to claim 1.
Regarding Claim 22, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches the display panel according to claim 18, wherein a first part (part of filling material layer in the space between 26 and 29, see annotated fig. 4) of the filling material layer (filling material layer) is located between the light-emitting device (29, 30) and the plurality of organic layers (11, 26), and a second part (part of filling material layer in gap region, see annotated fig. 4) of the filling material layer (filling material layer) is filled between the plurality of organic layers (11, 26) and the frame sealant (34).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyama, Jo, and Chung as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (2015/0380470 A1; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding Claim 5, Nishiyama fails to teach the larger a size of the non-display region in the direction from the display region to the frame sealant is, the larger a width of the gap region in a transverse direction is.
However, Lee (fig. 6) teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the larger a size of the non-display region (region between 52 and 72, see fig. 6) in the direction (left to right, see fig. 6) from the display region (region including 72, see fig. 6) to the frame sealant ([0037], 52) is, the larger (as the distance between 52 and 72 increases, the gap increases in size) a width of the gap region (area between 52 and the end of 66) in a transverse direction (left to right, see fig. 6) is. Lee teaches that the shape of the frame sealant may be sloped while still maintaining the function of sealing the display device. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the frame sealant of Lee for the frame sealant of Nishiyama and yielded the predictable results of sealing the display device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the frame sealant of Lee for the frame sealant of Nishiyama, since simple substitution of a frame sealant for another is an appropriate rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 6, Nishiyama fails to teach the larger a size of the frame sealant in the direction from the display region to the frame sealant is, the smaller a width of the gap region in a transverse direction is.
However, Lee (fig. 6) teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the larger a size of the frame sealant ([0037], 52) in the direction (left to right, see fig. 6) from the display region (region including 72, see fig. 6) to the frame sealant (52) is, the smaller (as 52 increases in width, the gap decreases in size) a width of the gap region (area between 52 and the end of 66) in a transverse direction (left to right, see fig. 6) is. Lee teaches that the shape of the frame sealant may be sloped while still maintaining the function of sealing the display device. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the frame sealant of Lee for the frame sealant of Nishiyama and yielded the predictable results of sealing the display device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the frame sealant of Lee for the frame sealant of Nishiyama, since simple substitution of a frame sealant for another is an appropriate rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyama, Jo, Chung, and Lee as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of Ito et al. (2014/0252386 A1; hereinafter Ito).
Regarding Claim 7, Nishiyama and Lee fail to teach a width of the gap region in the direction from the display region to the frame sealant to the frame sealant is greater than or equal to 10 µm.
However, Ito (figs. 7A and 11A) teaches the display panel according to claim 6, wherein a width of the gap region (region between 305 and the end of 307, see fig. 11A) in the direction from the display region to the frame sealant ([0168], 305) to the frame sealant (305) is greater than or equal to 10 µm ([0168], 100 µm).
In reference to MPEP § 2144.06.II., both Nishiyama and Ito provide gap regions that separate the display region from the frame sealant in the art of display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art substitute the gap region of Ito for the gap region of Nishiyama to select the appropriate width for the gap region while still maintaining a functional display device.
Regarding Claim 8, Nishiyama and Lee fail to teach in the direction from the display region to the frame sealant, a width of the frame sealant is less than or equal to 2 mm, and the width of the gap region is greater than or equal to 100 µm.
However, Ito (figs. 7A and 11A) teaches the display panel according to claim 7, wherein in the direction from the display region to the frame sealant (305), a width of the frame sealant (305) is less than or equal to 2 mm ([0170], 250 µm), and the width of the gap region is greater than or equal to 100 µm ([0168], 100 µm).
In reference to MPEP § 2144.06.II., both Nishiyama and Ito provide frame sealants that seal connect opposing substrates and seal the space in between in the art of display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art substitute the frame sealant of Ito for the frame sealant of Nishiyama to select the appropriate width for the frame sealant while still maintaining a functional display device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyama, Jo, and Chung as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Liou et al. (2007/0273821 A1; hereinafter Liou).
Regarding Claim 12, Nishiyama (annotated fig. 4) teaches the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the encapsulation cover plate (20) further comprises an opaque light-shielding layer ([0129], 33), the opaque light shielding layer (33) is on a side of the first base substrate (10) close to the array substrate (40). Nishiyama doesn’t teach an orthographic projection of the opaque light shielding layer on the first base substrate does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the frame sealant on the first base substrate.
However, Liou (fig. 6) teaches an orthographic projection of the opaque light shielding layer ([0027], 39) on the first base substrate ([0022], 31) does not overlap ([0027], see fig. 6) with an orthographic projection of the frame sealant ([0022], 35) on the first base substrate (31). ). Liou also teaches that the greater exposure is useful for sealants that have a lower capability of photosensitivity and also can diminish the panel dimensions ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display panel of Nishiyama to include the opaque light shielding layer of Liou to carry out the process of shielding light and also reduce panel dimensions
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyama, Jo, and Chung as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view of Luo (2019/0058153 A1; hereinafter Luo).
Regarding Claim 17, Nishiyama fails to teach a second spacer on a side of the pixel definition layer close to the black matrix, wherein a space is between the second spacer and the protection layer, an orthographic projection of the second spacer on the first base substrate is within the orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer on the first base substrate, and is within the orthographic projection of the black matrix on the first base substrate; and a height of the second spacer in a direction perpendicular to the first base substrate is smaller than a height of the first spacer in the direction perpendicular to the first base substrate.
However, Luo (figs. 3 and 5) teaches the display panel according to claim 16, further comprising: a second spacer ([0045], 1021) on a side of the pixel definition layer ([0082], 202) close to the black matrix ([0040]-[0041], 105, mistakenly written as 104 in the specification), wherein a space (1022 is between 1021 and 106, see fig. 3) is between the second spacer (1021) and the protection layer ([0040], 106), an orthographic projection of the second spacer (1021) on the first base substrate ([0040], 100) is within the orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer (202) on the first base substrate (100), and is within the orthographic projection of the black matrix (105) on the first base substrate (100); and a height of the second spacer in a direction perpendicular to the first base substrate is smaller than a height of the first spacer in the direction perpendicular to the first base substrate. Luo also teaches that including the second spacer can improve the conductivity of the top electrodes ([0050]-[0052]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the display device of Nishiyama to include the second spacer of Luo to improve conductivity. The combination of Jo and Luo renders obvious the limitation wherein a height of the second spacer (Luo, 1021) in a direction perpendicular to the first base substrate (Luo, 100, Jo, SUB2) is smaller (the first spacer R1 of Jo extends the height of the frame sealant R3, the second spacer 1021 of Luo does not) than a height of the first spacer (Jo, R1) in the direction perpendicular to the first base substrate (Luo, 100, Jo, SUB2).
Conclusion
/A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817