Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues that Zhuang does not disclose the data structure product includes first sensor data which is acquired by a first sensor monitoring the manufacturing process, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhuang discloses “The digital twin of a product will continuously change and improve through continuous interaction with the physical entity of the product at all stages of its life cycle. For example, the product manufacturing data (such as inspection data and progress data) collected during the product manufacturing stage will be reflected in the digital twin in the virtual space. At the same time, the digital twin can realize real-time, dynamic and visual monitoring of the product manufacturing status and process” (Zhuang, see page 13), “In summary, the implementation method of product digital twin has the following characteristics: ① Aiming at the entire life cycle of the product, a single data source is used to achieve a two-way connection between the physical space and the information space; ② Product archives must be confirmed. To ensure that all materials of the product can be traced (such as actual materials[24]), it is also necessary to be able to trace quality data (such as measured dimensions, measured processing/assembly errors, measured deformations) and technical status (such as measured values of technical indicators, actual manufacturing processes, etc.); ③ In the service stage after the product is manufactured, it is still necessary to achieve interconnection with the physical product, so as to realize the monitoring, tracking, behavior prediction and control, health prediction and management of the physical product, and finally form a closed-loop product life cycle data management” (Zhuang, see page 22),
Fig. 6 of Zhuang as shown above shows that the product digital twin comprises product manufacturing data which includes quality data, technical status data, production progress data etc. (i.e. sensed manufacturing data of the product). Therefore, Zhuang discloses the limitation.
The applicant argues that Zhuang does not disclose a digital twin including actual sensor data of the manufacturing and post-manufacturing usage of the product that is being monitored, the examiner respectfully disagrees, as shown in the above response to argument, Zhuang discloses a digital twin including actual sensor data of the manufacturing of the product that is being monitored, Zhuang further discloses “In the product service (i.e. product use and maintenance) stage, it is still necessary to track and monitor the status of the product in real time, including the physical location, external environment, quality status, usage status, technical and functional status of the product, and predict and analyze the health status, lifespan, function and performance of the product based on the actual status, real-time data, usage and maintenance record data of the product, and provide early warning of product quality problems. At the same time, when the product fails or has quality problems, it can quickly locate the physical location of the product, record and analyze the causes of the failure and quality problems, replace parts, maintain the product, upgrade the product, and even scrap and retire it” (Zhuang, see page 32), Fig. 6 of Zhuang also shows that the product digital twin comprises product usage data (i.e. post-manufacturing usage) of the product that is being monitored, it is noted that Zhuang further discloses “Product digital twins will promote the seamless integration of modeling, simulation and optimization technologies into all stages of the product life cycle, such as supporting product use and service through direct association with product usage data, and promote the further development of product modeling, simulation and optimization technologies” (Zhuang, see page 15), therefore, Zhuang also discloses the digital twin performs simulation based on its collected data, and its collected data includes actual manufacturing data and actual operational sensor data.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is noted that Zhuang was used for the rejection for the major portion of claim 1 except for wherein the manufacturing process is an additive manufacturing process, data forming the data structure product are stored in a distributed database that is a blockchain that is protected against manipulation, storing in the database a unique identifier of product. Berti discloses data forming the data structure product are stored in a distributed database that is a blockchain that is protected against manipulation (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]), and Freer discloses storing in the database a unique identifier of product (Freer, see [0037]).
The applicant argues that it would certify objects based on provenance data when modifying Zhuang with the teaching of Freer, the examiner respectfully disagrees, Zhuang discloses a digital twin comprising manufacturing data and post manufacturing data, therefore, the modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to ensure that objects produced by the process are appropriately certified (Freer, see [0002]-[0003]).
The applicant argues that Zhuang/Berti does not disclose storing instruction data regarding the additive manufacturing of a product and forming the data structure product including the instruction data, the first sensor data and the second sensor data in a distributed database that is a blockchain that is protected against manipulation, the examiner respectfully disagrees, as shown in the previous response to the arguments, Zhuang discloses forming the data structure product including the first sensor data and the second sensor data in a database, Zhuang further discloses “The data composition of the product digital twin mainly includes product design data, product process data, product manufacturing data, product service data, and product retirement and scrapping data. The specific data composition of each part is as follows: ① Product design data, including product design model, product design BOM, product design documents, etc.; ② Process design data, including process model, process BOM, process document information (such as process cards, technical status data, logistics data, inspection data, production progress data, reverse control data, product health prediction and analysis data, etc.” (Zhuang, see page 19), Therefore, Zhuang discloses storing instruction data regarding the manufacturing of a product and forming the data structure product including the instruction data, the first sensor data and the second sensor data in a database. Berti discloses “the asset is tracked in order to ensure integrity of the asset. The asset in accordance with the present invention may be but is not limited to a physical piece of equipment, e.g., an earth mover or a diesel generator. A data file is created using an encryption technology. The encryption technology may be a block-chain technology. The data file may be in the form of a block-chain repository 302. The block-chain repository 302 records and maintains asset specification, asset maintenance information, other asset information and asset part (specifications for replicating the asset or asset components on 3D printers” (Berti, see [0049]) and “digital record may be maintained to monitor various aspects of the asset. The digital record may be built upon an encryption technology, preferably block-chain technology. The encrypted digital representation of the record makes it highly resistant to hacking or improper alteration—especially as the number of transaction logs, or nodes, increases. The encrypted digital record may further enhance security of the asset” (Berti, [0004]), and “the term “blockchain” is used herein to refer to any technology that allows for the creation of a non-repudiatable transaction log that is resistant to unauthorized alteration and is resilient to failures of any one or more elements in the block-chain system (Berti, [0030]), Berti discloses storing instruction data regarding the additive manufacturing of a product, storing additive manufacturing data in a distributed database that is a blockchain and forming the data structure in a distributed database that is a blockchain that is protected against manipulation, therefore, the combination of Zhuang and Berti discloses the limitation.
The applicant argues that Berti does not disclose storing additive manufacturing data in a distributed database that is a blockchain and thus the rejection did not provide necessary articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning required to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, the examiner respectfully disagrees, Berti discloses “the asset is tracked in order to ensure integrity of the asset. The asset in accordance with the present invention may be but is not limited to a physical piece of equipment, e.g., an earth mover or a diesel generator. A data file is created using an encryption technology. The encryption technology may be a block-chain technology. The data file may be in the form of a block-chain repository 302. The block-chain repository 302 records and maintains asset specification, asset maintenance information, other asset information and asset part (specifications for replicating the asset or asset components on 3D printers” (Berti, see [0049]) and “digital record may be maintained to monitor various aspects of the asset. The digital record may be built upon an encryption technology, preferably block-chain technology. The encrypted digital representation of the record makes it highly resistant to hacking or improper alteration—especially as the number of transaction logs, or nodes, increases. The encrypted digital record may further enhance security of the asset” (Berti, [0004]), Berti discloses storing additive manufacturing data in a distributed database that is a blockchain.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 12-13, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Connotation, Architecture and Trends of Product Digital Twin” to Zhuang et al. (hereinafter “Zhuang”), in view of US20190158270 to Berti, further in view of US20180173203 to Freer et al. (hereinafter “Freer”).
As per claim 1, Zhuang substantially discloses a method for forming a data structure product referring to a product and a manufacturing process of the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6 and pages 17-23), comprising:
storing instruction data on the manufacturing process of the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6 and page 19);
storing first sensor data of the product acquired during manufacture of the product, with the first sensor data being provided by at least one first sensor configured to monitor the manufacturing process (Zhuang, see Fig. 6, page 13, page 31 and pages 22-23); and
storing second sensor data of the product acquired after manufacture of the product, wherein the second sensor data is related to an analysis step to predict behavior and service intervals of the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6, page 13, pages 31-32 and pages 22-23);
wherein the instruction data, the first sensor data, and the second sensor data forming the data structure product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6);
wherein the data structure product contains data regarding the operation or maintenance of the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6, page 19 and pages 22-23);
wherein the data structure product is a digital twin of the product to simulate the use and behavior of the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6 and pages 17-23), and wherein the data structure product is adapted to monitor a later use of the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6 and pages 31-33).
Zhuang does not explicitly disclose wherein the manufacturing process is an additive manufacturing process, data forming the data structure product are stored in a distributed database that is a blockchain that is protected against manipulation.
However, Berti in an analogous art discloses wherein the manufacturing process is an additive manufacturing process (Berti, see [0049] and [0066]), data forming the data structure product are stored in a distributed database that is a blockchain that is protected against manipulation (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
The combination of Zhuang and Berti does not explicitly disclose storing in the database a unique identifier of product. However, Freer in an analogous art discloses storing in the database a unique identifier of product (Freer, see [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Freer into the above combination of Zhuang and Berti. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to ensure that objects produced by the process are appropriately certified (Freer, see [0002]-[0003]).
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Berti further discloses wherein the manufacturing process is a 3D-printing manufacturing process (Berti, see [0049] and [0066]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
Freer further disclose 3D-printing process comprising selective laser melting (Freer, see [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Freer into the above combination of Zhuang and Berti. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to ensure that objects produced by the process are appropriately certified (Freer, see [0002]-[0003]).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses storing operational data of the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6 and pages 22-23). Berti further discloses storing data of the product in the distributed database (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses a manufacturing device (Zhuang, see pages 30-32), wherein the manufacturing device is adapted to manufacture a product, and wherein the manufacturing device is adapted to provide at least a part of the data structure product produced according to the method (Zhuang, see Fig. 6, pages 22-23 and pages 30-32).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses a method of manufacturing a product, wherein the method utilizes a manufacturing process to manufacture the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6, pages 22-23 and pages 30-32), collecting data during the manufacturing process, storing the data referring to the product in a data structure product produced according to the method (Zhuang, see Fig. 6, pages 22-23 and pages 30-32). Berti further discloses wherein the manufacturing process is an additive manufacturing process (Berti, see [0049] and [0066]), storing the data structure product in a distributed database and protecting the distributed database against manipulation (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
As per claim 16, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated, Berti further discloses a non-transitory computer readable media, comprising: program commands stored thereon and adapted to perform the method (Berti, see [0016] and claim 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
As per claim 20, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses storing data regarding the maintenance of the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6 and pages 22-23).
Claims 4, 7, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, further in view of US20170279783 to Milazzo et al. (hereinafter “Milazzo”).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose storing in the distributed database a unique identifier of manufacturing device, however, Milazzo in an analogous art discloses storing in the distributed database a unique identifier of manufacturing device (Milazzo, see [0043], Fig. 2, Fig. 3, and [0052]-[0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Milazzo into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to improve the security of files distributed to 3D printers (Milazzo, see [0001]).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses data adapted to verify fulfillment of predefined requirements of product characteristics (Zhuang, see page 14). The combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose a smart contract is adapted to verify data. However, Milazzo in an analogous art discloses a smart contract is adapted to verify data (Milazzo, see [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Milazzo into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to improve the security of files distributed to 3D printers (Milazzo, see [0001]).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose a kit comprising a product and a data structure product produced according to the method. However, Milazzo in an analogous art discloses a kit comprising a product and a data structure product produced according to the method (Milazzo, see [0064] and [0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Milazzo into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to improve the security of files distributed to 3D printers (Milazzo, see [0001]).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose a non-transitory computer readable media comprising a data structure product produced according to the method, stored thereon. However, Milazzo in an analogous art discloses a non-transitory computer readable media comprising a data structure product produced according to the method, stored thereon (Milazzo, see Fig. 1 element 106 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Milazzo into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to improve the security of files distributed to 3D printers (Milazzo, see [0001]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, further in view of US20180056396 to Menon et al. (hereinafter “Menon”).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose wherein the product is a part of a streaming engine comprising blade. However, Menon in an analogous art discloses wherein the product is a part of a streaming engine comprising blade (Menon, see [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Menon into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to allow for the production of metallic articles, such as gas turbine engine components, which exhibit properties that are the same as or similar to traditionally-cast directionally-solidified articles, yet which do not require the time and expense of traditional casting processes (Menon, see [0005]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, further in view of US20180264349 to Tran et al. (hereinafter “Tran”).
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated, Berti further discloses the distributed database (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
The combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose storing in the database a control mechanism adapted to control a processing mechanism of incoming data structure products according to a specified order, wherein the data structure product contains a priority data, wherein said priority data is adapted to influence the control mechanism. However, Tran in an analogous art discloses storing in the database a control mechanism adapted to control a processing mechanism of incoming data structure products according to a specified order, wherein the data structure product contains a priority data, wherein said priority data is adapted to influence the control mechanism (Tran, see [0438]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Tran into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to allow for maximum performance, faster response times, and more effective maintenance and operational strategies (Tran, see [0127]).
Claims 17-18 and 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, further in view of US20170056970 to Chin et al. (hereinafter “Chin”).
As per claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Berti further discloses storing data in the distributed database pertaining to the product (Berti, see Fig. 2 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
The combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose data pertaining to a surface of the product obtained during an analyzing step of the surface of the product. However, Chin in an analogous art discloses data pertaining to a surface of the product obtained during an analyzing step of the surface of the product (Chin, see Fig. 5 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Chin into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to be able to trace back to where the defect occur for accurate manufacturing analytics (Chin, see [0134]).
As per claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Berti further discloses storing data in the distributed database indicating information (Berti, see Fig. 2 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
Chin further discloses data indicating one or more problems with the part, said data indicating the one or more problems based on a comparison of the data pertaining to the surface of the product with theoretical data of the surface of the product (Chin, see Fig. 5 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Chin into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to be able to trace back to where the defect occur for accurate manufacturing analytics (Chin, see [0134]).
As per claim 24, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses the data structure product further includes data regarding the product after the manufacturing process of the product; wherein the product is transferred to a measurement device after the manufacturing process of the product and the measurement device is configured to analyze the product and acquire data regarding the product, data from the data structure product, wherein data is stored in the data structure product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6 and pages 17-23). The combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose data regarding a surface of the product, wherein the measurement device is configured to retrieve the data regarding the surface of the product and compare the retrieved data with the acquired data regarding the surface of the product, data is based on the comparison of the retrieved data with the acquired data, wherein the data is configured to identify problems or damages to the surface of the product during the manufacturing process. However, Chin in an analogous art discloses ata regarding a surface of the product, wherein the measurement device is configured to retrieve the data regarding the surface of the product and compare the retrieved data with the acquired data regarding the surface of the product, data is based on the comparison of the retrieved data with the acquired data, wherein the data is configured to identify problems or damages to the surface of the product during the manufacturing process (Chin, see Fig. 5 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Chin into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to be able to trace back to where the defect occur for accurate manufacturing analytics (Chin, see [0134]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, further in view of US20080276092 to Eberhardt et al. (hereinafter “Eberhardt”).
As per claim 19, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses the stored sensor data from the at least one first sensor monitoring the manufacturing process of the product (Zhuang, see Fig. 6 and pages 22-23), Berti further discloses storing in the distributed database information of the product (Berti, see Fig. 2 and its corresponding paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
The combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose a cryptographic checksum of sensor data. However, Eberhardt in an analogous art discloses a cryptographic checksum of sensor data (Eberhardt, see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Eberhardt into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to allow the integrity of the data to be checked to allow security chain from the sensor to a data administration with a secure infrastructure (Eberhardt, [0011]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, further in view of US10282914 to Tran et al. (hereinafter “Tran’914”).
As per claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses wherein the data structure product is utilized as part of a digital twin or is a digital twin of the product to simulate the use and behavior of the product and wherein the data structure product is adapted to monitor a later use of the product; and wherein the data structure product is adapted to monitor the later use of the product including being adapted to monitor usage of the product to detect operational conditions of the product being exceeded (Zhuang, see pages 31-32).
The combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose detect violations of a service interval of the product. However, Tran’914 in an analogous art discloses detect violations of a service interval of the product (Tran’914, see col. 15 lines 32-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Tran’914 into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to notifier the user of the product, the status of the product (Tran’914, see col. 15 lines 56-66).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, in view of Eberhardt, further in view of translation to CN206351546 to Chen.
As per claim 22, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses transfer the first sensor data (Zhuang, see Fig. 6 and pages 22-23). Berti further discloses wherein the processing unit is configured to transfer the sensor data (Berti, see [0016], [0053] and [0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Berti into the method of Zhuang. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to further enhance security of the asset by storing the data in distributed database that is a blockchain (Berti, see Fig. 2, its corresponding paragraphs, [0004] and [0030]).
The combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose a cryptographic checksum of sensor data. However, Eberhardt in an analogous art discloses a cryptographic checksum of sensor data and a unique identifier of the sensor to the data structure product through an interface comprising a data storage (Eberhardt, see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Eberhardt into the above combination of Zhuang and Berti. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to allow the integrity of the data to be checked to allow security chain from the sensor to a data administration with a secure infrastructure (Eberhardt, [0011]).
The combination of Zhuang, Berti, Freer and Eberhardt does not explicitly disclose wherein the first sensor is connected by a first connection to a processing unit of a manufacturing device that performs the additive manufacturing process, wherein the first connection is secured using a security casing enclosing the first sensor, the first connection and the processing unit. However, Chen in an analogous art discloses wherein the first sensor is connected by a first connection to a processing unit of a manufacturing device that performs the additive manufacturing process, wherein the first connection is secured using a security casing enclosing the first sensor, the first connection and the processing unit (Chen, see pages 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Chen into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti, Freer and Eberhardt. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to improve the quality of printer by having the first sensor is connected by a first connection to a processing unit (Chen, see page 1).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, further in view of US20180001567 to Juan et al. (hereinafter “Juan”).
As per claim 23, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, the combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose after the manufacturing process of the product, the product is transferred to a processing device where a coating is applied to the product, wherein the data structure product further includes data regarding a specification of the coating, wherein the data regarding the specification of the coating is retrieved from the data structure product. However, Juan in an analogous art discloses after the manufacturing process of the product, the product is transferred to a processing device where a coating is applied to the product, wherein the data structure product further includes data regarding a specification of the coating, wherein the data regarding the specification of the coating is retrieved from the data structure product (Juan, see [0027], [0032]-[0037], and [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Juan into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to achieve the predictable result of strengthening the three-dimensional product against breakage by adding the coating.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, further in view of US20200230877 to Barnes.
As per claim 25, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses the first sensor data comprises sensor data provided by the at least one first sensor that includes a sensor (Zhuang, see Fig. 6, page 13, page 31 and pages 22-23). Freer further discloses temperature sensor (Freer, see [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Freer into the above combination of Zhuang and Berti. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to ensure that objects produced by the process are appropriately certified (Freer, see [0002]-[0003]).
The combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer does not explicitly disclose temperature sensor data indicates a temperature of material fused together during the manufacturing process. However, Barnes in an analogous art discloses temperature sensor data indicates a temperature of material fused together during the manufacturing process (Barnes, see [0021]-[0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Barnes into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to adjust a power level of the thermal energy source based on the compared temperatures (Barnes, see abstract).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhuang, in view of Berti, in view of Freer, further in view of US20200238625 to Champion et al. (hereinafter “Champion”).
As per claim 26, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Zhuang further discloses the first sensor data comprises sensor data provided by the at least one first sensor that includes a sensor (Zhuang, see Fig. 6, page 13, page 31 and pages 22-23). The combination of Zhuang, Berti, and Freer does not explicitly disclose the first sensor data comprises optical sensor data provided by the at least one first sensor that includes an optical sensor, wherein the optical sensor data indicates one of movement of a coating knife applying a layer of material to be fused together or a quality of distribution of a powder applied during the manufacturing process, wherein the optical sensor is configured to acquire pictures during the manufacturing process. However, Champion in an analogous art discloses the first sensor data comprises optical sensor data provided by the at least one first sensor that includes an optical sensor, wherein the optical sensor data indicates a quality of distribution of a powder applied during the manufacturing process, wherein the optical sensor is configured to acquire pictures during the manufacturing process (Champion, see [0012]-[0017] and [0095]-[0097]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Champion into the above combination of Zhuang, Berti and Freer. The modification would be obvious because one of the ordinary skill in the art would want to ensure that the 3D object produced satisfies predetermined build criteria for the object (Champion, see [0013]).
Conclusion
/JASON LIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117