DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (03/22/2021), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In a response to an election requirement dated 10/20/2023, the Applicant elected claims 1 and 4-8. Claims 2-3 were withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1 and 4-8 were examined in a Non-Final office action on 2/8/2024. A Final office action in response to Applicant’s submission of 08/06/2024 was mailed on 9/5/2024. Claims 1 and 4-8 were examined.
A second Non-Final in response to Applicants request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was mailed on 6/12/2025. Applicant's submission filed on 3/4/2025 was entered. Claims 1 and 408 were examined. A second Final office action in response to applicant’s submission of 9/11/2025 was mailed on 12/4/2025. Claims were amended so that claims 1 and 4-8 were examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments and amendments
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The arguments are related to latest amendments which are not clearly understood. It is further noted that the latest amendments do not change the scope of the claims which continue to recite adjusting second matching device to high impedance value to suppress interference from the first power supply in order to suppress instability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim1 recites the following:
“control the changeable inductance value of the second matching device; and
perform an impedance adjustment operation of the second matching device when the second radio frequency power on the second transmission path detected by the second matching device is determined by the second matching device to exceed an impedance matching condition of the second radio frequency power,
wherein, in a state in which both of the first radio frequency power supply and the second radio frequency power supply are supplying power to the sample stage, the processor is further configured to set the second matching device to the second preset impedance value to cause the impedance of the second transmission path to be an impedance at which a reflected power from the first radio frequency power into the second transmission path is suppressed to prevent the second radio frequency power on the second transmission path detected by the second matching device from exceeding the impedance matching condition of the second radio frequency power, so that the impedance matching condition is not determined by the second matching device, to prevent an instable impedance condition of the second transmission path and to prevent the impedance adjustment operation or the second matching device from being performed.”
This limitation is unclear. Regarding the first paragraph of the above, it is noted that impedance adjustment operation of the second matching device and control its changeable inductance value point to same action. However, this action is claimed to depend upon detected second radio frequency power on the second transmission path when it exceeds an impedance matching condition. In this case neither the “detected second radio frequency power on the second transmission path” nor the “impedance matching condition” is clearly understood. The specification does not disclose how, where and when this detection is done. Further, comparison of power to a matching condition is not understood since the two don’t appear to be similar quantities. It is not clear how the matching condition is considered equivalent to power.
It is noted that the specification denotes matching conditions as Pt1 and Pt2 but not define them.
Still further, the next paragraph is also unclear. It appears that the next paragraph is expanding upon the first paragraph. It is also possible that the next paragraph is describing a different requirement. However, the detection and comparison are similarly repeated and unclear as before.
Still further “first preset impedance ” and “second preset impedance” are recited in the claim. These are neither defined in the specification nor clear from the context of the claim or the specification.
Still further the limitation as below, included in the second paragraph as above is unclear
“so that the impedance matching condition is not determined by the second matching device, to prevent an instable impedance condition of the second transmission path and to prevent the impedance adjustment operation or the second matching device from being performed”
Still further, the claim requires setting impedance values at presets but does not require matching. The flow charts however disclose matching and determination of “if matching condition is satisfied”.
Although, different aspects of the claims are discussed above, the totality of the claims is unclear. It is noted that amendment to specification and drawings with proper explanation in clear and concise manner is required to remove this rejection and/or determine allowable subject matter if any.
Claim 6 recites similar limitation and is therefore rejected for the same reason.
For the examination of the claims, it is understood that the second matching device is held constant at a fixed impedance value to prevent coupling while the first is allowed to match.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as best understood as being unpatentable over Aramaki et al (US 20160351404) in view of Shao et al (US 20220270858), Hiroshi Ogawa (US 20060220574) and Dhindsa et al (US 7758764).
Aramaki et al disclose a processing chamber in which a sample is plasma-processed (Fig 1);
a sample stage that includes a first electrode and a second electrode disposed outside the first electrode and on which the sample is placed (Fig 1 and at least abstract);
a first radio frequency power supply (124) configured to supply first radio frequency power to the first electrode (111) via a first matching device (129) and a first transmission path (between 111 and 124);
a second radio frequency power supply (127) configured to supply second radio frequency power to the second electrode via a second matching device (128) and a second transmission path (between 132 and 127),
Aramaki et al disclose a control device (Para 16) but do not disclose controlling the first radio frequency power supply to supply the first radio frequency power to the sample stage when a preset value of the second matching device is a predetermined value.
Shao et al disclose a plasma processing chamber using plurality of RF power supplies and disclose a control device for controlling power supplies and matching networks to improve plasma stability (Para 0018) and for that purpose disclose control of the first radio frequency power supply to supply the first radio frequency power to the sample stage when a second matching device is a held at a fixed predetermined value (para 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust power to first electrode while keeping second matching box at a fixed predetermined value.
Regarding having variable inductance to provide preset high inductance value, it is noted that matching box provides variable capacitance and/or variable inductance as disclosed in Hiroshi Ogawa (Fig 9).
Regarding the impedance being high as taught in Aramaki et al there is a coupling of RF power from first electrode to second electrode (As shown in Fig 3) which allows first RF power to leak to second RF power. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that high impedance to first RF on second power path would reduce or prevent such coupling and reduce instability.
This is further taught in Dhindsa who teaches a filter (314) connected to second electrode (312) and configured to provide high impedance to first RF power (310) (see Col 5 line 49-Col 6 line 3).
Therefore, having high impedance in second RF path of Aramaki et al would have been obvious.
Regarding the limitation of high impedance on the second path
Regarding claim 4-5 and 7-8 first electrode 111 and second electrode 132 are embedded in dielectric (Para 42).
Claim 6 is directed to a method using the apparatus of claim 1 and is rejected along with claim 1 as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Glazek (US 20180053633) discloses a plasma processing chamber with dual power and matching systems where the master matching unit may stop matching and control another matching unit to match (para 27).
Similarly, Koguchi et al (US 20100248489) also disclose coordinating matching operation for dual RF power supplies (Abstract).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716