DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 21, 34, 82, and 126 have been amended.
Claims 1-4, 6, 11, 16-17, 21-22, 29, 34 , 37, 43, 46, 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, 82-84, 88, 90, 92-93, 98-103, and 121-124 and 126 are pending.
Claims 121-124 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 2-4, 6, 11, 16-17, 22, 29, 37, 43, 46, 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected species.
Claims 1, 21, 34, 82-84, 88, 90, 92-93, 98-103, and 126 are being acted upon.
In view of Applicant’s claim amendments, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112b are withdrawn.
Claims 1, 21, 34, 82-84, 88, 90, 92-93, 98-103, and 126 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a new matter rejection.
The specification and the claims as originally filed do not provide support for the invention as now claimed, specifically:
A) A method for enhancing tumor homing, a method of modulating immune activity of an antigen presenting cell, a method of enhancing the function of an antigen presenting cell comprising incubating with two or more different mRNAs wherein “a first mRNA encodes CD62L and/or CCR7 and a second mRNA encodes a membrane-bound IL-2 or membrane bound IL-12”. (Claim 1, 21, and 34 and dependent claims).
B) A method for enhancing tumor homing, a method of modulating immune activity of an antigen presenting cell, a method of enhancing the function of an antigen presenting cell comprising incubating with two or more different mRNAs, “wherein a third mRNA encodes CD86” (claim 126).
C) A method for enhancing tumor homing, a method of modulating immune activity of an antigen presenting cell, a method of enhancing the function of an antigen presenting cell, wherein an antigen specific T cel response is “enhanced at least 2-fold compared to an antigen presenting cell comprising an antigen alone” (Claim 1, 21, and 34 and dependent claims).
Applicant indicates that support for the new limitations can be found in paragraphs 48, 508, and Fig. 2b of the specification.
A review of the specification fails to reveal support for the new limitations.
Regarding A), the specification discloses enhancing homing using one or more mRNAs encoding one or more of CD62L, CCR2, CCR7, CX3CR1, or CXCR4. The specification discloses another embodiment of enhancing APC function using one or more mRNAs encoding one or more of IL-2, IL-7, IL12-a, IL-12b, IL-15, IL-18 or IL-21, and that the one or more of IL-2, IL-7, IL-12a, IL-12b, IL-15, IL-18, or IL-21 are membrane bound. The specification discloses many other long lists of potential mRNA agents in the following paragraphs for enhancing viability and/or function. While the specification generically discloses that embodiments can be combined, nowhere does the specification contemplate the specific combination of mRNA required in the present claims, wherein a first mRNA encodes CD62L and/or CCR7, and a second mRNA encodes membrane bound IL-2 or membrane IL-12. The disclosure fails to provide sufficient blaze marks that would lead the ordinary artisan toward the particular combination of mRNAs now claimed among the large number of competing possibilities. See Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences. 107 USPQ2d 1457 (Fed. Cir. 2013). Furthermore, the specification only discloses mRNA encoding IL-12a or IL-12b, while the present claims encompass any membrane bound “IL-12”.
Regarding B), in paragraph 88 the specification discloses methods for enhancing function of antigen presenting cells by contacting with one or more mRNAs encoding one or more of CD70, CD80, CD86, CD40L, 4-1BBL, OX40L, CITRL or ICOSL. However, nowhere does the specification contemplate choosing CD80 from the list as a “third” mRNA combined with a first mRNA encoding CD62L and/or CCR7 and a second mRNA encoding membrane bound IL-2 or IL-12.
Regarding C), in paragraph 48 the specification discloses that APC can elicit an antigen specific T cell response. In paragraph 508, the specification describes Fig. 2B, which is an experiment using bone marrow derived dendritic cells (BMDC) incubated with Ova antigen, and SQZ-loaded with IL-12, wherein an IFN-gamma CD8+ T cell response induced by SQZ-loading with IL-12 and OVA antigen was increased 2 fold compared to OVA alone. However, the present claims have a different scope. For example, the example does not use an mRNA encoding membrane bound IL-12, and also the present claims encompass a genus of other mRNA (membrane bound IL-2, CD62L and/or CCR7). The present claims encompass any antigen and any APC, unlike the example in paragraph 508. Furthermore, the present claims recite a range with no upper limit “at least 2 fold”, which is also not disclosed in the specification.
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/22/25 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the specification in paragraphs 99 and 232 discloses that two or more agents that enhance the function of antigen presenting cell can be introduced and discloses that the agents can be chosen from a T cell activating agent, an immune activity modulate agent and a homing receptor. Applicant further argues that the specification in paragraphs 85,147-148 discloses that mRNA encoding CD62L and CCR7 are homing receptor related agents, and mRNA encoding IL-2, IL-12a or IL-12b are agents that modulate immune activity, and that mRNA encoding CD86 is a T cell activating agent.
The generic disclosure cited by Applicant does not provide support of the specific species of method now claimed. For example, Applicant cites paragraph 147 for support, which discloses that an agent that modulates immune activity can upregulate the expression of one or more of IL-2, IL-7, IL-12a, IL-12b, or IL-15. This does not provide support for an mRNA encoding “membrane bound” IL-2 or “membrane bound” IL-12. Claim 1 is directed to a method of enhancing “tumor homing” of antigen presenting cells, and the only tumor homing agents disclosed are those that upregulate CXCR3, CCR5, VLA-4 or LFA-1. In other words, mRNA encoding CD62L and/or CCR7, and a second mRNA encodes membrane bound IL-2 or membrane bound IL-12 are not disclosed as agents increasing tumor homing, as now claimed. Essentially, the present claims pick and choose different embodiments form different parts of the disclosure. The specification discloses long lists of potential agents, but nowhere does the specification contemplate the specific combination of mRNA required in the present claims, wherein a first mRNA encodes CD62L and/or CCR7, and a second mRNA encodes membrane bound IL-2 or membrane bound IL-12. The disclosure fails to provide sufficient blaze marks that would lead the ordinary artisan toward the particular combination of mRNAs now claimed among the large number of competing possibilities. See Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences. 107 USPQ2d 1457 (Fed. Cir. 2013).
Claim(s) 1, 21, 34, 82-84, 88, 90, 92-93, 98-103, and 126 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2010/0215674, in view of WO2016/070136 (of record), Weinstein-Marom, 2016 (all of record) and WO 99/61051.
The ‘674 publication teaches a method of enhancing immunostimulatory capacity of APCs comprising introducing at least two different mRNA encoding proteins that modify the functionality of the APCs (see page 1, in particular). The ‘674 publication teaches that the at least two different mRNA encoding functional proteins are selected from a group comprising CD40L, CD40, caTLR4, IL-12p70, EL-select, CCR7 and/or 4-1BBL(see paragraph 7, in particular). This would render obvious selecting all of the mRNAs which would include a first mRNA encoding CCR7 and a second mRNA encoding IL-12p70 as well as an “adjuvant”. The ‘674 publication teaches that the proteins are expressed at the cell surface (i.e. increasing homing, see abstract, Fig. 1, in particular). The ‘674 publication teaches further introducing said mRNA in combination with a tumor specific antigen (see abstract in particular). The ‘674 publication teaches introducing the mRNA via electroporation (see page 1, in particular). The ‘674 publication teaches that the tumor antigen can be introduced in one step using co-electroporation with an mRNA encoding the antigen, or by loading the cells with the antigen, and that the antigen can comprise total mRNA isolated from the tumor cells, or proteins lysates of the tumor cells (See page 1-2, in particular). The ‘674 publication teaches that the antigens can be processed and presented on MHC class I and class II molecules (see pages 2-3, in particular). The ‘674 publication teaches APCs are from PBMC, that the APCs can be dendritic cells, and that the cell populations comprise both CD83+ and CD83- cell subsets, i.e. a “mixed” population (see page 10 and Fig 5B, in particular). The ‘674 publication teaches that introducing the mRNA enhances the T cell stimulatory capacity of the APC and that they elicit a high T cell immune responses (see abstract in particular). See also the drawings which depict at least two fold increase in T cell simulation after introduction of mRNA.
The reference differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly teach introducing the mRNA by passing a cell suspension through a cell deforming constriction cause a perturbation or membrane bound IL-12.
WO 2016/070136 teaches a method, termed cell squeezing, for preferentially delivering a compound, such as mRNA, to the cytosol of immune cells, such as dendritic cells, comprising passing a cell suspension comprising said immune cell with said compound through a microfluidic device, wherein said device comprises a constriction of diameter of 2 um-10 um (see claim 1, 4 and the specification, particularly pages 1-3, 11, 14-16 and 20-21). WO 2016/070136 explains that the cell membrane is disrupted by passing the immune cell through constriction, and results in cell squeezing and cell deformation/perturbations to enable delivery of the compound (see page 4-5, in particular). WO 2016/070136 teaches that the constriction point is about 50% less than the diameter of the cells to be treated (see page 41, in particular). WO 2016/070136 teaches using the method to confer a homing phenotype of the cell (See page 23, in particular). WO 2016/070136 teaches that the method is more specific, with less off target effects and less toxicity as compared to electroporation or nucleotransfection methods (See pages 8-9, and 12, in particular).
WO 99/61051 teaches engineering cells to express membrane bound cytokines, such as membrane bound IL-2 and IL-12, which is advantageous since the close juxtaposition of the membrane bound cytokine, as compared to a soluble cytokine, permits greater modulating of an immune response to an antigen comprised by the cell (See pages 6 and 17, in particular).
Weinstein-Marom teach transfecting immune cells with mRNA encoding membrane bound IL-2 or membrane bound IL-12, wherein the cytokines act as potent adjuvants, while avoiding adverse systemic dissemination and consumption by competing suppressor cells.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the cell squeezing technique of WO 2016/070136, as the method of introducing the mRNA and antigen in the method of the ‘674 publication. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success since WO 2016/070136 teaches that the method is suitable for use in introducing a wide variety of compounds, including mRNA into immune cells, such as dendritic cells, and that method is more specific, with less off target effects and less toxicity as compared to electroporation.
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use membrane bound IL-2 or membrane bound IL-12, as taught by WO 99/610051 and Weinstein-Marom, as the IL-2 or IL-12 in the method made obvious above. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to do so since Weinstein-Marom and WO 99/610051 teach advantages of membrane bound forms of Il-2 and IL-12 such as avoiding adverse systemic dissemination and consumption by competing suppressor cells, and providing close juxtaposition of the membrane bound cytokine as compared to soluble cytokines which permits greater modulating of an immune response to an antigen.
Regarding the limitation that an antigen specific T cell response is enhanced at least 2-fold, this would be expected based on the teachings of the cite references. For example, the ‘674 publication teaches that introducing the mRNA enhances the T cell stimulatory capacity of the APC and that they elicit an high T cell immune responses (see abstract in particular). See also the drawings which depict at least two fold increase in T cell simulation. Furthermore, WO 99/610051 teaches engineering cells to express membrane bound cytokines permits greater modulating of an immune response to an antigen comprised by the cell. Thus, achieving at least two fold enhanced antigen specific T cell response would be well within the purview of the ordinary artisan.
Claim(s) 1, 21, 34, 82-84, 88, 90, 92-93, 98-103, and 126 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US2006/0188490, in view of WO 2016/070136, Dorrie, 2008, Weinstein-Marom, 2016 (all of record), and WO 99/61051.
The ‘490 publication teaches delivery of at least one mRNA, wherein the at least one mRNA codes for at least one tumor antigen, to PBMCs (see abstract and pages 1-2 and 4, in particular). The ’490 publication teaches a method comprising transfecting PBMC with at least one mRNA to produce an immune stimulating pharmaceutical composition (see page 1 and 4, in particular). The ‘490 publication teaches that the mRNA can also include at least one other functional segment coding for a cytokine, such as IL-2 or IL-12, and additionally coding for at least one costimulatory molecule such as CD86, and also encoding for at least one homing receptor such as CCR7, which directs the transfected cell into the lymph nodes (i.e. increases homing, see page 4, in particular). The ‘490 publication teaches that the transfected cells are further subjected to stimulation with CPG (See page 5, in particular). The ‘490 publication teaches that the antigen is MUC1, NY-ESO, or a polyepitope, i.e. an antigen capable of being processed into MHC-I and/or II restricted peptides (see page 2, in particular). Regarding the limitation of a lysate, an mRNA antigen is structurally identical whether it is in vitro transcribed or isolated from a lysate. The ‘490 publication teaches that the PBMC contain APCs and comprise a mixed population comprising T cells, B cells and dendritic cells (see page 1 and 8, in particular). The ‘490 publication teaches that the mRNA encoding the cytokine co-stimulator molecule, and homing receptor function to promote immune response and co-stimulate the immune response (See paragraph 38, in particular).
Although the ‘490 publication does not explicitly teach using three different mRNAs, as taught by Dorrie multiple immune stimulatory proteins and an antigen can be expressed in cells using a mixture of multiple different mRNAs encoding the protein and the antigen (see page 470). Dorrie teach that the method provides for high transduction efficiency and good cell survival (see page 470, in particular). Therefore, based on Dorrie, it would be obvious to use a mixture of multiple different mRNAs encoding the antigen, CCR7, CD86 and IL-2 or IL-12, as the one or more mRNA in the method of transfecting PBMC of the ‘490 publication. Selecting from the specifically discloses functional immune stimulating molecule for use in mRNA transfection, which include IL-12, CD86, and CCR7 using separate mRNAs would involve choosing among a finite number of predictable options which could be pursued with a reasonable expectation of success. A person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (see KSR International Co. V. Telefex Inc 82 USPQ2d 1385).
The references above differ from the claimed invention in that they do not explicitly teach introducing the mRNA by passing a cell suspension through a cell deforming constriction cause a perturbation or membrane bound IL-2 or membrane bound Il-12.
WO 2016/070136 teaches a method, termed cell squeezing, for preferentially delivering a compound, such as mRNA, to the cytosol of immune cells, comprising passing a cell suspension comprising said immune cell with said compound through a microfluidic device, wherein said device comprises a constriction of diameter of 2 um-10 um (see claim 1, 4 and the specification, particularly pages 1-3, 11, 14-16 and 20-21). WO 2016/070136 explains that the cell membrane is disrupted by passing the immune cell through constriction, and results in cell squeezing and cell deformation/perturbations to enable delivery of the compound (see page 4-5, in particular). WO 2016/070136 teaches that the constriction point is about 50% less than the diameter of the cells to be treated (see page 41, in particular). WO 2016/070136 teaches using the method to confer a homing phenotype of the cell (See page 23, in particular). WO 2016/070136 teaches that the method is more specific, with less off target effects and less toxicity as compared to electroporation or nucleotransfection methods (See pages 8-9, and 12, in particular).
Weinstein-Marom teach transfecting immune cells with mRNA encoding membrane bound IL-2 or membrane bound IL-12, wherein the cytokines act as potent adjuvants, while avoiding adverse systemic dissemination and consumption by competing suppressor cells.
WO 99/61051 teaches engineering cells to express membrane bound cytokines, such as membrane bound IL-2 and IL-12, which is advantageous since the close juxtaposition of the membrane bound cytokine, as compared to a soluble cytokine, permits greater modulating of an immune response to an antigen comprised by the cell (See pages 6 and 17, in particular).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the cells squeezing technique of WO 2016/070136, as the method of introducing the mRNA in the method of the ‘674 publication and Dorrie. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success since WO 2016/070136 teaches that the method is suitable for use in introducing a wide variety of compounds, including mRNA into immune cells, and that method is more specific, with less off target effects and less toxicity as compared to electroporation.
Furthermore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use membrane bound IL-2 or membrane bound IL-12, as taught by WO 99/610051 and Weinstein-Marom, as the IL-2 or IL-12 in the method made obvious above. The ordinary artisan would be motivated to do so since Weinstein-Marom and WO 99/610051 teach advantages of membrane bound forms of Il-2 and IL-12 such as avoiding adverse systemic dissemination and consumption by competing suppressor cells, and providing close juxtaposition of the membrane bound cytokine as compared to soluble cytokines which permits greater modulating of an immune response to an antigen.
Regarding the limitation that an antigen specific T cell response is enhanced at least 2-fold, this would be expected based on the teachings of the cite references. For example, the ‘490 publication teaches that the mRNA encoding the cytokine co-stimulator molecule, and homing receptor function to promote immune response and co-stimulate the immune response (See paragraph 38, in particular). Furthermore, WO 99/610051 teaches engineering cells to express membrane bound cytokines permits greater modulating of an immune response to an antigen comprised by the cell. Thus, achieving at least two fold enhanced antigen specific T cell response would be well within the purview of the ordinary artisan.
Applicant argues that the ‘490 publication teaches using one mRNA encoding multiple polypeptides, and although Dorrie teaches separate mRNAs, one would not be motivated to use separate mRNAs since it would increase time and costs.
References may be relied upon for all that they suggest to the ordinary artisan and Dorrie specifically teaches that separate mRNAs can be used and that doing so provides for high transduction efficiency and good survival.
Claims 1, 21, 34, 82-84, 88, 90, 92-93, 98-103, and 126 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-113 of U.S. Patent No. 11,111,472 (of record), in view of US2010/0215674, (of record), Dorie, 2008, Weinstein-Marom, 2016, US 2006/0188490 and WO 99/610051.
The ‘472 patent claims a method for engineering of immune cell function in an immune cell comprising intracellular delivery of an RNA encoding a protein or a compound that confers homing or enhanced immune function, by passing a suspension comprising said immune cell through a microfluidic device comprising a constriction and contacting the immune cell with said compound to deliver said compound into the cytosol of said immune cell, wherein the constriction has a diameter of 2 μm to 10 μm (i.e. causing perturbations to allow the compound to pass into the immune cell)l. The ‘472 application claims that the immune cell is a T cell or a dendritic cell (i.e. antigen presenting cells). The ‘472 patent claims that the compound is an mRNA. The ‘472 patent claims that delivery of compound increases the expression of one or more markers including CD80, CCR7 and/or CD62L. The ‘472 patent also claims that the immune cells can be PBMC and that the compound can be a tumor antigen that is presented via MHC-I or MHC-II or a tumor cell lysate.
The patent differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly claim two or more mRNA encoding CCR7, CD80, and IL-12.
However, it would be obvious to use a mixture of three different mRNA encoding CCR7, CD80, and IL-2 or IL-12 to increase homing and immunostimulatory function of PBMC or dendritic cells, as taught by the ‘490 publication, Dorrie, and the ‘674 publication for the reasons set forth above. Furthermore, expressing said IL-2 or IL-12 in membrane bound form would be obvious based on Weinstein-Marom and WO 99/610051 for the reasons set forth above.
Claims 1, 21, 34, 82-84, 88, 90, 92-93, 98-103, and 126 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-67 of U.S. Patent No. 10,696,944, in view of US2010/0215674, Dorie, 2008, US 2006/0188490 Weinstein-Marom and WO 99/610051.
The ‘944 patent claims a method for delivering a payload, such as RNA into immune cells, the method comprising: providing the cells in a suspension solution; passing the solution through a microfluidic channel that includes a cell-deforming constriction, wherein a diameter of the constriction is 20-99% of a diameter of the cell in the suspension solution such that a deforming force is applied to the cell as it passes through the constriction thereby causing perturbations of the cell large enough for a payload to pass through; and incubating the cell in a payload-containing solution for a predetermined time after it passes through the constriction.
The patent differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly claim two or more RNA encoding CCR7, membrane bound IL-12 and CD80.
However, it would be obvious to use a mixture of three different mRNA encoding CCR7, CD80, and IL-2 or IL-12 to increase homing and immunostimulatory function of PBMC or dendritic cells, as taught by the ‘490 publication, Dorrie, and the ‘674 publication for the reasons set forth above. Furthermore, expressing said IL-2 or IL-12 in membrane bound form would be obvious based on Weinstein-Marom and WO 99/610051 for the reasons set forth above.
No claim is allowed.
Amy E. Juedes
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
/AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644