DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 1/27/26, regarding the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued:
Nie using the word "accurately" to discuss identifying abnormal traffic does not teach the detailed feature of "the first characteristic comprises an accuracy associated to a first service capability." This is not discussing a service capability, or an accuracy of that service capability.
This claim interpretation does not acknowledge the significance of the claim formulation that "the first characteristic comprises an accuracy associated to a first service capability." The Patent Office maintains the view that this is disclosed by Nie in that it just mentions a "more accurate" identification of abnormal traffic. The same impermissibly broad interpretation seems to be present in the allegation that Nie would also disclose a model accuracy comprised in this accuracy, while Nie in fact just speaks of updating a model.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the first characteristic comprises an accuracy associated to a first service capability) are no longer recited in rejected claim 1 as Applicant has removed these limitations. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant also argued:
Claim 1 requires a structured characteristic (accuracy) that is stored in a registration entry and used by an ADF for matching and selecting an analytics function. In Nie, the "accuracy" is a performance outcome of an NWDAF's internal model update; it is not a discoverable parameter used by a discovery function to differentiate between multiple available analytics services.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and initially points out that claim 1 no longer requires a structured characteristic that is stored in a registration entry and used by an ADF for matching and selecting an analytics function. Furthermore, Nie has not been cited to teach these limitations as Applicant suggests. Hunt is cited to teach these in paragraphs [0015-0017, 0037, 0051 and 0095]. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Applicant further remarked:
As discussed above, this claim interpretation does not acknowledge the significance of the claim formulation that "the first analytics information comprises a model accuracy of a model used by the ADF to provide the requested service." The Patent Office maintains the view that this is disclosed by Nie in that it just mentions a "more accurate" identification of abnormal traffic. The same impermissibly broad interpretation seems to be present in the allegation that Nie would also disclose a model accuracy comprised in this accuracy, while Nie in fact just speaks of updating a model.
The Patent Office's interpretation conflates a general, qualitative statement about
accuracy (like "more accurate identification") with the specific, structured concept of "accuracy associated to a first service capability" as required by claim 1. The phrase "model accuracy of a model used by the ADF to provide the requested service" implies a measurable and defined relationship between the analytics accuracy and a discrete, named service offered by the system, which is a required feature of claim 1. As such, the combination of Hunt and Nie fails to teach all features of claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 is allowable over the combination of Hunt and Nie.
The Examiner submits that Nie does not just speak of updating a model but rather discloses model accuracy comprised in this accuracy. In paragraphs [0180, 0184, and 0252] Nie states:
[0180] There may be the following two implementations in which the data analytics network element obtains the service type that the terminal device allows or does not allow to be used in the period in which the hotspot switch is enabled: The UE sends an allowed or disallowed service type list to the data analytics network element, or the data analytics network element performs machine learning training, to obtain a service type identification model. The training data used for machine learning may include two types of data. One type is application data including a size, a start time and an end time, IP quintuplets, and a service type that are of a data packet, from an operator platform, an OTT (Over The Top) server, a vertical industry management and control center, or the like. Another type is network data including a UE identifier, a terminal type, an access point name (APN), a data network name (DNN), radio channel quality on a base station side, a cell ID, and other information from a network side. The data analytics network element may obtain the service type identification model based on the two types of information, and can classify a data packet of the UE that flows through the UPF network element, thereby obtaining the service type that the UE allows to be used in the period in which the Wi-Fi hotspot of the UE is enabled. (Emphasis added).
[0184] In this embodiment of this application, the data analytics network element may determine the service type of the first data packet through the service type identification model. For example, the data analytics network element may obtain a feature list of the service type identification model through feature learning, thereby obtaining a model parameter of the service type identification model through training, and performing calculation based on the characteristic parameter of the first data packet and the service identification model, so that the service type of the first data packet may be determined. (Emphasis added).
[0252] For each UE, the NWDAF network element performs big data analysis, assumes a behavior or a model of service type determination, obtains, by learning, a feature list of the service type determining model, and synchronizes the feature list corresponding to the model to feature engineering on the NWDAF network element and the UPF network element. The feature list in a feature vector may be understood as a parameter name. The feature vector reported to the NWDAF network element by the UPF network element is a parameter value. The NWDAF network element obtains, through training, the allowed (or unallowed) service type list of the UE in a specific state (the hotspot enabled state). (Emphasis added).
As described herein, Nie clearly discloses a measurable and defined relationship between the analytics accuracy and a discrete, named service offered by the system as required by claim 1. Thus the combination teaches the claimed limitations.
Applicant also argued:
The Patent Office claims that Nie's "hotspot" identification teaches a "service
capability." In the current application, a service capability refers to the specific analytics service provided by an NF. Nie's "hotspot" is a state of the terminal device or a connection type. Identifying whether a user is using a hotspot is an analytic result, not a service capability that is registered and discovered within the SBA framework. Hunt and Nie combined fail to show an ADF selecting an analytics function based on the accuracy of a specific service capability. As such, the combination of Hunt and Nie fails to teach all features of claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 is allowable over the combination of Hunt and Nie.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “service capability”) are no longer recited in rejected claim 1 as Applicant has removed these limitations. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant also remarked:
Claim 1 requires that the "model accuracy of a model used by the ADF to provide the requested service." The Patent Office cites paragraph 0305 of Nie for this limitation. However, paragraph 0305 of Nie describes the UPF (User Plane Function) buffering data and discarding it based on an abnormality answer to save resources. Nie does not disclose an ADF (Analytics Discovery Function). In Nie, the NWDAF performs the analysis, and the UPF manages the packets. There is no teaching of a discovery function using a model to provide a service. Nie's model is used by the NWDAF to identify traffic, not by a discovery function to provide the analytics service itself. As such, the combination of Hunt and Nie fails to teach all features of claim 1. Therefore, claim 1 is allowable over the combination of Hunt and Nie.
The Examiner submits that Nie performs the functions of an ADF. As cited above, paragraph [0252] of Nie states, “For each UE, the NWDAF network element performs big data analysis, assumes a behavior or a model of service type determination, obtains, by learning, a feature list of the service type determining model, and synchronizes the feature list corresponding to the model to feature engineering on the NWDAF network element and the UPF network element. The feature list in a feature vector may be understood as a parameter name. The feature vector reported to the NWDAF network element by the UPF network element is a parameter value. The NWDAF network element obtains, through training, the allowed (or unallowed) service type list of the UE in a specific state (the hotspot enabled state).” (Emphasis added). Thus Nie teaches a discovery function using a model to provide an analytics service. Furthermore, Hunt also teaches an ADF as the rejection shows and as such, the combination of Hunt and Nie teaches all features of claim 1.
Applicant also argued:
Claim 44 is allowable over the combination of Hunt, Nie, and Chan because the
combination fails to teach at least "wherein the first characteristic indicates that a most accurate model is requested, or that an accuracy of the model must be over a certain threshold." The Patent Office admits that both Hunt and Nie fail to teach this feature. In an attempt to remedy this deficiency, the Patent Office referred to col. 33, 11. 43-col. 34, 11. 16 of Chan. Applicant respectfully disagrees that this teaches the claimed features.
The Examiner submits that since in col. 33, ll. 43-col. 34, ll. 16, Chan states, “For example, if the trained model 310 fails to meet a particular threshold of reliability (e.g., based on the scored data), the prediction/recommendation engine 320 can give little to no consideration to that trained model in proposing one or more actionable tasks (e.g., while relying upon other trained models that meet such criteria in generating such tasks)”, Chan teaches the limitations, wherein the first characteristic indicates that a most accurate model is requested, or that an accuracy of the model must be over a certain threshold.
The Examiner points out that the pending claims must be "given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification" [In re Prater, 162 USPQ 541 (CCPA 1969)] and "consistent with the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach" [In re Cortright, 49 USPQ2d 1464 (Fed. Cir. 1999)]. In conclusion, upon taking the broadest reasonable interpretation of the currently amended claims, the cited references teach all of the claimed limitations and the rejections are maintained as below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the requested service" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 12, 21 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (2018/0048673) in view of Nie et al. (2020/0244557).
As per claim 1, Hunt et al. teaches a method, in an analytics discovery function, ADF, in a network comprising a network function, the method comprising: receiving a discovery request from the network function for requested analytics information [see Hunt et al., paragraphs 0010 and 0082];
determining whether the requested analytics information matches first analytics information in the first registration entry [see Hunt et al., paragraphs 0015-0017, 0037 and 0051]; and
responsive to the requested analytics information matching the first registration entry, selecting a first analytics function in the first registration entry [see Hunt et al., paragraph 0095].
But Hunt et al. fails to explicitly teach, however, Nie et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches a service based architecture, SBA, [see Nie et al., paragraph 0104]; wherein the first analytics information comprises a model accuracy of a model used by the ADF to provide the requested service [see Nie et al., paragraphs 0193-0194, 0180, 0184, 0252 and 0305].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hunt et al. with Nie et al. in order to accurately identify abnormal traffic and improve traffic management.
As per claim 11, Hunt-Nie teaches the method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the first characteristic further comprises one or more of: a location of the first analytics function, a time at which a model used provide the first service capability was trained [see Nie et al., paragraph 0112].
As per claim 12, Hunt-Nie teaches the method as claimed in claim 1 wherein the step of determining whether the requested analytics information matches the first registration entry comprises determining whether the first characteristic meets a requested criterion in the requested analytics information [see Nie et al., paragraph 0261].
As per claim 33, Hunt-Nie teaches the ADF as claimed in claim 32 wherein the requested criterion comprises one or more of: a location of the ADF with respect to the network function, a minimum accuracy, a maximum age [see Nie et al., paragraphs 0007-0010].
Claims 21, 31 and 32 have similar limitations as to the rejected claims above therefore, they are being rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-7, 9, 22-23, 26, 27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. and Nie et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al (2020/0252813).
As per claim 2, Hunt et al. in view of Nie et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1 as above but fails to explicitly teach, however, Li et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches method as claimed in claim 1 further comprising: receiving a first registration request from the first analytics function in the SBA network, wherein the first registration request comprises the first analytics information indicative of a first service capability that the first analytics function is capable of providing to the network function, and storing the first registration entry comprising the first analytics information and a first identification of the first analytics function [see Li et al., paragraph 0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hunt et al. and Nie et al. with Li et al. in order to improve network data analytics capability in 5G core networks.
As per claim 3, Hunt-Nie-Li teaches the method as claimed in claim 2 further comprising: receiving a second registration request from a second analytics functions in the SBA network, wherein the second registration request comprises second analytics information indicative of a second service capability that the second analytics function is capable of providing to the network function in the SBA network, and storing a second registration entry for the second analytics functions comprising the second analytics information and a second identification of the second analytics function [see Li et al., paragraphs 0136-0137].
As per claim 6, Hunt-Nie-Li teaches the method as claimed in claim 2 wherein the step of determining whether the requested analytics information matches the first registration entry comprises determining whether a requested service capability indicated by the requested analytics information is the same as the first service capability [see Hunt et al., paragraphs 0015-0017].
As per claim 7, Hunt-Nie-Li teaches the method as claimed in claim 6 wherein the first analytics information comprises a first filter value limiting circumstances in which the first service capability is available from the first analytics function [see Li et al., paragraph 0277].
As per claim 9, Hunt-Nie-Li teaches the method as claimed in claim 7 wherein the first filter value comprises one or more of: at least one user identification value and at least one application identification value [see Li et al., paragraph 0347].
Claims 22-23, 26, 27 and 29 have similar limitations as to the rejected claims above therefore, they are being rejected under the same rationale.
Claim(s) 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (2020/0252813) in view of Nie et al. (2020/0244557).
As per claim 17, Li et al. teaches a method, in a network function in a service based architecture, SBA, network for discovery of an analytics function, the method comprising: transmitting a discovery request to an analytics discovery function, ADF, the discovery request comprising requested analytics information indicative of a requested service capability; and
receiving a response from the ADF comprising an identification of an analytics function capable of providing the requested service capability [see Li et al., paragraphs 0379-0387].
But Li et al. fails to explicitly teach, however, Nie et al. in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the analytics information comprises a model accuracy of a model used by the ADF to provide the requested service [see Nie et al., paragraphs 0193-0194, 0180, 0184, 0252 and 0305].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li et al. with Nie et al. in order to accurately identify abnormal traffic and improve traffic management.
As per claim 18, Li-Nie teaches the method as claimed in claim 17 further comprising transmitting a service request to the analytics function [see Li et al., paragraph 0208].
As per claim 19, Li-Nie teaches the method as claimed in claim 17 wherein the response comprises a plurality of identifications of a plurality of analytics functions capable of providing the requested service capability, and wherein the method further comprises: selecting one of the plurality of analytics functions, and transmitting a service request to the selected one of the plurality of analytics functions [see Li et al., paragraph 0158].
Claim(s) 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunt et al. (2018/0048673) in view of Nie et al. (2020/0244557) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chan (10,133,791).
Hunt et al. and Nie et al. teach the limitations of claim 1 as above but fail to explicitly teach, however, Chan in the same field of endeavor teaches, wherein the first characteristic indicates that a most accurate model is requested, or that an accuracy of the model must be over a certain threshold [Chan, col. 33, ll. 43-col. 34, ll. 16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hunt et al. and Nie et al. with Chan in order to improve the accuracy of one or more trained analytical or statistical models.
There are prior art made of record not relied upon but is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ranodhi N. Serrao
/RANODHI SERRAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444