Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 17 states, “further comprising a gas supply for supplying a gas to the first and second plasma-generating chambers… the gas supply comprises a helium gas supply…” However, claim 13 was amended to also recite “a gas supply configured to supply a gas to the first and second plasma-generating chambers, the supplied gas is one of helium, nitrogen, and argon.” It is unclear if the gas supply being the helium gas supply is the first instance of the gas supply as mentioned in claim 13 or the additional gas supply that is further added, since both are gas supplies and used to supply gas to the first, second plasma generating chambers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13, 15-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laroussi (US 8460283) in view of Blankenship (US 20080187676).
Regarding claim 13. Laroussi teaches in figs. 4a-6a an atmospheric pressure plasma system (plasma generator 500, det desc para. 36, summary of invention, his claim 1) comprising: a first plasma-generating chamber (the cavity inside one of the two nozzles 440/540/640, det desc para. 37) and a second plasma-generating chamber (the cavity inside the other one of the two nozzles 440/540/640, fig. 4-6) configured to generate a first atmospheric pressure plasma and a second atmospheric pressure plasma (fig. 4-6, showing the jets of atmospheric plasma 480/580 from both chambers; for interpretative purposes, the 1st, 2nd plasmas are considered the lower half of each jet), respectively; a first plasma outlet and a second plasma outlet (fig. 4-6, the nozzle pair of 440/540/640 each has an outlet fig. 4, or in fig. 4, 6 where the outlets merge into a triangular section) communicating with the first plasma- generating chamber and the second plasma-generating chamber, respectively (as disc, fig. 4-6, each one of the pair of nozzles and their chambers/cavities release/communicate the gas/plasma thru/with the outlets); plasma plumes extending from the first and second plasma outlets into an ambient environment (fig. 4-6 the said entire jets of plasma form plumes that exit both outlets and eventually into a larger, ambient area, fig. 4 or when they merge and finally exit into ambient space, fig 5, 6).
Laroussi further teaches wherein the first plasma-generating chamber is configured to generate a third atmospheric pressure plasma (considered the upper half of the atm plasma jet of one of the nozzles of each pair of 440/540/640) for preheating a gas stream prior to introduction of precursor particles for a cold spray coating (fig. 4, 5 the upper half of the plasma jet is capable of heating the gas flow, which is a combined gas flow from a central tube and both of the plasma nozzles, near the central tube 422/522/622 before particles or other additives, such as gas/fluid/chemical molecules/particles, det des para 35, reach the substrate; the particles are not apparatus structure nor structurally limiting it but are intended use raw materials that can be exchanged depending on user preference, MPEP 2114), wherein the atmospheric pressure plasma system further comprises a particle injector (as disc, the nozzle/tube 422/522/622 which injects chemical molecules/particles) for injection of the precursor particles into the gas stream (as disc, flows/injects into the merged/combined gas flow near the exit of 422/522/622 being heated by the adjacent upper half of the plasma plumes).
Laroussi further teaches wherein the first plasma-generating chamber and the second plasma-generating chamber have respectively a first axis and a second axis that are directed respectively for emission (fig. 4-6, both of said nozzles each have a injection direction/axis thru them that merge into a V shape), via the first plasma outlet and the second plasma outlet (fig. 4-6 both axis of the V pass thru the exits of the nozzles), respectively to a first point and a second point, respectively, on a substrate to be treated (it is noted the substrate and its usage, such as positioning during processing, are intended uses that do not structurally limit the apparatus, MPEP 2114, 2115; a substrate can be placed close to the exits in fig. 4a such that both plumes hit the substrate at two diff points before the plumes/axis merge or can be placed further away and the substrate is large enough that the axes extend beyond the plasma point of merging such that the axes hit the substrate at two diff points, i.e. the axes forming more of an X shape, both outer legs of the X hitting the substrate, which would be appropriate in the system of Figs. 5, 6).
Regarding such that the coating is applied to a region of a surface of the substrate where the plasma plumes of the first plasma outlet and the second plasma outlet have been momentarily been moved from, as previously stated in claim 20, the 2nd point is outside the plume of the 1st chamber, such as V-case 2-point contact or the X-case contact to the substrate, where the 2nd axis/2nd point intersects at different parts of the substrate apart from the 1st axis or the plume from the 1st chamber, thus 2 distinct points which allow for scanning across different points along the first and second plasma plumes, such as the V-case, for instance by physically moving the substrate, the plasma generator or both, and moving the plasma generator and its plume to untreated portions from the treated/coated portions as discussed in the response below; additionally, these are related to intended use process and details of the substrate, and do not limit structure of the apparatus, MPEP 2114 2115,
But does not teach wherein the atmospheric pressure plasma system further comprises a multi-axis robotics system configured to direct the first plasma-generating chamber and the second plasma-generating chamber. However, Blankenship teaches in fig. 1 [6-11] an open air treatment system with plasma [6-11, 25-28] that has a multi-axis robotics system (robotic arm, fig. 1, operating in multi axis directions [6-11 21-30]) configured to direct the first plasma-generating chamber and the second plasma-generating chamber (it mounts a plasma sprayer, such as 42, 44, equivalent to Laroussi’s plasma generator/head having said two plasma chambers). It would be obvious to those skilled in the art at the time of the invention to modify Laroussi to be able to be flexibly adjustable and utilized in a wide variety of industries, such as aerospace [1-5, 32-35] and be able to coat difficult to reach areas or objects with difficult geometries [32-35], enhancing the value and usefulness of the apparatus.
Regarding for exposing the surface of the substrate to energetic species in the plasma plumes, thereby producing an activated surface capable of adhering on contact with a coating material from a cold spray of particles to the activated surface, this is entirely an intended use directed to a processing on a substrate and resulting interactions on its surface, and does not structurally limit the apparatus, MPEP 2114, 2115. Various substrates with different features, processes, chemicals, among other process parameters, may be varied according to desired requirements to achieve processing results including but not limited to those mentioned in the claim. However, intended use elements, including the substrate and its details, do not patentably differentiate an apparatus claim, MPEP 2114 II, MPEP 2115.
Regarding a gas supply configured to supply a gas to the first and second plasma-generating chambers (supplier of carrier gas, i.e. inlet 420/520/620, det desc para. 15, which is a pair of inlets flowing carrier gas to each of the two chambers in the nozzles; this is exactly the same configuration of the applicant’s fig. 15 showing the gas supply 508 as two separate units albeit labeled the same; additionally in Laroussi, each of the pair of inlets also supply both chambers/nozzles, since the gas flow from the inlets combine in 310/410/510 in figs. 3-5), the supplied gas is one of helium, nitrogen, and argon (det desc. Para 38, 79, his claim 2; the carrier gas is helium, argon and nitrogen).
Regarding claim 15. Laroussi in view of Blankenship teaches the atmospheric pressure plasma system of claim 13, wherein each of the plasma outlets comprise a converging nozzle having a converging conical section (fig. 5-6 showing the converging/narrowing nozzle with conical cross-section shape forming the combined plasma outlet of 500/600, hence both nozzles share a common feature/structure of a converging nozzles/conical x-section).
Regarding claim 16. Laroussi in view of Blankenship teaches the atmospheric pressure plasma system of claim 13, wherein the gas supply comprises an air supply source (an injecting carrier gas supply or gas injector that supplies the carrier gas having particular gas compositions in para. 15, 16) configured for supplying air to the first and second plasma-generating chambers (para. 15, includes air).
Regarding claim 17. Laroussi in view of Blankenship teaches the atmospheric pressure plasma system of claim 13, further comprising a gas supply for supplying a gas to the first and second plasma-generating chambers (claim 13, i.e. the second or other inlet of the two inlets as discussed), and the gas supply comprises a helium gas supply source configured for supplying helium to the first and second plasma-generating chambers (para. 15, He also supplied and also prev discussed).
Regarding claim 18. Laroussi teaches an atmospheric pressure plasma system (see claim 13) comprising: a first plasma-generating chamber configured to generate a first atmospheric pressure plasma (claim 13) for preheating a plasma-heated gas stream for introduction of precursor particles for a cold spray coating (eg the lower half of the plasma plume discussed in claim 13 which also heats a lower portion of the gas stream that was previously heated by the upper half of the plume, as disc in claim 13, hence being plasma heated); a second plasma-generating chamber configured to generate a second atmospheric pressure plasma (claim 13); a particle injector for injection of the precursor particles into the plasma-heated gas stream (claim 13); and a first plasma outlet communicating with the first plasma-generating chamber (claim 13) and through which a plasma plume exits into an ambient environment (as disc in claim 13); and a second plasma outlet communicating with the second plasma-generating chamber (claim 13), wherein the first plasma-generating chamber and the second plasma-generating chamber have respectively for emission, via the first plasma outlet and the second plasma outlet, respectively a first axis and a second axis that are directed respectively for emission to a first point and a second point, respectively, on a substrate to be treated such that the coating is applied to a region of a surface of the substrate where the plasma plume has been momentarily been moved from (claim 13), and further in view of Blankenship, teaches wherein the atmospheric pressure plasma system further comprises a multi-axis robotics system configured to direct the first plasma-generating chamber and the second plasma-generating chamber (see claim 13).
Regarding for exposing the surface of the substrate to energetic species in the plasma plume, thereby producing an activated surface capable of adhering on contact with a coating material from a cold spray of particles to the activated surface (see claim 13). Regarding a gas supply configured to supply a gas to the first and second plasma-generating chambers, the supplied gas is one of helium, nitrogen, and argon (see claim 13).
Regarding claim 20. Laroussi in view of Blankenship, teaches the atmospheric pressure plasma system of claim 18, wherein the second point is outside the plasma plume from the first plasma-generating chamber contacting the substrate, and movement of the substrate relative to the first plasma-generating chamber or the second plasma-generating chamber scans the first point and second point on the substrate such that the cold spray coating is applied to a region of the substrate where the plasma plume has momentarily been moved from (as disc in claim 13, the 2nd point is outside the plume of the 1st chamber, such as V-case 2-point contact or the X-case contact to the substrate, where the 2nd axis/2nd point intersects at different parts of the substrate apart from the 1st axis or the plume from the 1st chamber, thus 2 distinct points which allow for scanning across different points along the first plasma plume, such as the V-case as disc in claim 13; additionally, use and details of the substrate all do not limit structure of the apparatus, MPEP 2114 2115).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/25 regarding the newly amended claims 13 and 18 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The applicant argues that Laroussi teaches an atmospheric pressure plasma system including nozzles 440, 540, 640. However, there is no teaching in Laroussi of the amended Claim 13 features of a gas supply configured to supply a gas to the first and second plasma-generating chambers, the supplied gas is one of helium, nitrogen, and argon. Therefore, Laroussi does not teach or suggest the features of amended Claim 13. The argument was considered but was not found persuasive because first, the argument. As discussed, in the modified rejection above as necessitated by the amendments, Laroussi teaches a gas supply configured to supply a gas to the first and second plasma-generating chambers (supplier of carrier gas, i.e. inlet 420/520/620, det desc para. 15, which is a pair of inlets flowing carrier gas to each of the two chambers in the nozzles; this is exactly the same configuration of the applicant’s fig. 15 showing the gas supply 508 as two separate units albeit labeled the same; additionally in Laroussi, each of the pair of inlets also supply both chambers/nozzles, since the gas flow from the inlets combine in 310/410/510 in figs. 3-5), the supplied gas is one of helium, nitrogen, and argon (det desc. Para 38, 79, his claim 2; the carrier gas is helium, argon and nitrogen). No additional arguments are made regarding the dependent claims and claim 18. Claims 15-17 depend upon Claim 13. Accordingly, dependent Claims 15-17 are covered by the responses above to claim 13. Claim 18 has been amended exactly the same as to Claim 13. Claim 20 depends upon Claim 18. Accordingly, Claim 18 and its dependent Claim 20 are covered by the response above to claim 13.
Conclusion
/YUECHUAN YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718