DETAILED ACTION
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. (see MPEP § 606.01).
This may result in slightly longer titles, but the loss in brevity of title will be more than offset by the gain in its informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc.
The following title is suggested:
"Display Panel and Display Device Having a Light-Absorbing Pixel Defining Layer and a Corresponding Light-Shielding Color Filter Structure"
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 20190165068).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a display panel (Fig. 2 showing the display panel including an active area (AA) having a plurality of pixels, and Fig. 6 showing a cross-sectional view of the display panel structure), comprising:
an array substrate, corresponding to first substrate 100 (Fig. 6);
a pixel defining layer disposed on the array substrate and comprising a light-absorbing structure, corresponding to bank 400 disposed on first substrate 100 (Fig. 6),
wherein the bank 400 includes second bank pattern 450 that includes black material and absorbs external light ([0088], [0093]); and
a color filter layer disposed on the pixel defining layer and comprising a light-shielding structure corresponding to the light-absorbing structure, corresponding to color filters 900 and black matrix 850 disposed above bank 400 (Fig. 6),
wherein the black matrix 850 prevents light leakage and is formed in a matrix configuration corresponding to the bank 400 ([0102]).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the display panel of claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the pixel defining layer away from the array substrate is defined with a concave-convex structure, corresponding to the upper surface profile of bank 400 shown in Fig. 6. Specifically, the upper surface of bank 400 includes alternating raised portions and recessed portions formed by first bank pattern 401 and second bank pattern 450, thereby defining a concave-convex structure (Fig. 6; [0088]).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses a display device, comprising a display panel, wherein the display panel comprises:
an array substrate, corresponding to first substrate 100 (Fig. 6);
a pixel defining layer disposed on the array substrate and comprising a light-absorbing structure, corresponding to bank 400 disposed on first substrate 100 (Fig. 6),
wherein the bank 400 includes second bank pattern 450 that includes black material and absorbs external light ([0088], [0093]); and
a color filter layer disposed on the pixel defining layer and comprising a light-shielding structure corresponding to the light-absorbing structure, corresponding to color filters 900 and black matrix 850 disposed above bank 400 (Fig. 6),
wherein the black matrix 850 prevents light leakage and is formed in a matrix configuration corresponding to the bank 400 ([0102]).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein an upper surface of the pixel defining layer away from the array substrate is defined with a concave-convex structure, corresponding to the upper surface profile of bank 400 shown in Fig. 6. Specifically, the upper surface of bank 400 includes alternating raised portions and recessed portions formed by first bank pattern 401 and second bank pattern 450, thereby defining a concave-convex structure (Fig. 6; [0088]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20190165068) in view of Shin et al. (US 20200235178).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the display panel of claim 2. But Park does not explicitly disclose that a cross section of the concave-convex structure is sawtooth-shaped.
However, Shin discloses a pixel defining layer 300 having a concave-convex structure 310 formed thereon, wherein protrusions 311 and recesses 312 define a sawtooth-shaped cross section (Fig. 3; [0068]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the concave-convex structure of Park's pixel defining layer to have the sawtooth-shaped profile taught by Shin because such a structure is taught by Shin for reducing reflected light and improving optical characteristics of the display panel.
Regarding claim 4, Park and Shin teach the display panel of claim 3 as discussed above. Further, Park discloses that the concave-convex structure of bank 400 includes protruding portions defined by inclined sidewalls and substantially flat upper surfaces, thereby forming a trapezoidal profile, as shown in Fig. 6. Therefore, Park teaches that a protrusion of the concave-convex structure is trapezoidal.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the trapezoidal protrusions of Park in the sawtooth-shaped concave-convex structure taught by Shin because both references are directed to structures for reducing reflected light in display panels and such modification would have predictably provided the known light-reflection reducing benefits.
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the display panel of claim 1. But Park does not explicitly disclose that a material of the pixel defining layer comprises photosensitive polyimide.
However, Shin discloses that the pixel defining layer 300 may include a photosensitive organic insulation material ([0068]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ photosensitive polyimide as the photosensitive organic insulation material of Shin because photosensitive polyimide is a known photosensitive organic insulating material suitable for forming pixel defining layers and would have predictably provided enhanced heat resistance, mechanical strength, dielectric properties, and direct photolithographic patternability. The substitution of one known photosensitive organic insulating material for another known photosensitive organic insulating material would have yielded no more than predictable results.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the pixel defining layer of Park from photosensitive polyimide in view of the teachings of Shin.
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses the display device of claim 12. But Park does not explicitly disclose that a cross section of the concave-convex structure is sawtooth-shaped.
However, Shin discloses a pixel defining layer 300 having a concave-convex structure 310 formed thereon, wherein protrusions 311 and recesses 312 define a sawtooth-shaped cross section (Fig. 3; [0068]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the concave-convex structure of the pixel defining layer of Park to have the sawtooth-shaped profile taught by Shin because such a structure is taught by Shin for reducing reflected light and improving optical characteristics of the display device.
Regarding claim 14, Park and Shin teach the display device of claim 13 as discussed above. Further, Park discloses that the concave-convex structure of bank 400 includes protruding portions defined by inclined sidewalls and substantially flat upper surfaces, thereby forming a trapezoidal profile, as shown in Fig. 6. Therefore, Park teaches that a protrusion of the concave-convex structure is trapezoidal.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the trapezoidal protrusions of Park in the sawtooth-shaped concave-convex structure taught by Shin because both references are directed to structures for reducing reflected light in display devices and such modification would have predictably provided the known light-reflection reducing benefits.
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses the display device of claim 11. But Park does not explicitly disclose that a material of the pixel defining layer comprises photosensitive polyimide.
However, Shin discloses that the pixel defining layer 300 may include a photosensitive organic insulation material ([0068]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ photosensitive polyimide as the photosensitive organic insulation material of Shin because photosensitive polyimide is a known photosensitive organic insulating material suitable for forming pixel defining layers and would have predictably provided enhanced heat resistance, mechanical strength, dielectric properties, and direct photolithographic patternability. The substitution of one known photosensitive organic insulating material for another known photosensitive organic insulating material would have yielded no more than predictable results.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the pixel defining layer of Park from photosensitive polyimide in view of the teachings of Shin.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20190165068) in view of Jang et al. (US 20220190300).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the display panel of claim 1. But Park does not explicitly disclose a plurality of touch control electrodes disposed between the pixel defining layer and the color filter layer and corresponding to the pixel defining layer.
However, Jang discloses an input sensing layer ISL configured to sense external input ([0064]). The input sensing layer ISL includes touch control electrodes and is disposed between the color filter layer CFL and the pixel defining layer PDL, as shown in Fig. 5. Therefore, Jang teaches a plurality of touch control electrodes disposed between the pixel defining layer and the color filter layer.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the touch control electrodes of Jang into the display panel of Park in order to provide touch sensing functionality while maintaining a compact display structure.
Regarding claim 16, Park discloses the display device of claim 11. But Park does not explicitly disclose a plurality of touch control electrodes disposed between the pixel defining layer and the color filter layer and corresponding to the pixel defining layer.
However, Jang discloses an input sensing layer ISL configured to sense external input ([0064]). The input sensing layer ISL includes touch control electrodes and is disposed between the color filter layer CFL and the pixel defining layer PDL, as shown in Fig. 5. Therefore, Jang teaches a plurality of touch control electrodes disposed between the pixel defining layer and the color filter layer.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the touch control electrodes of Jang into the display device of Park in order to provide touch sensing functionality while maintaining a compact display structure.
Claims 7-9 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20190165068) in view of Jang et al. (US 20220190300), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20140117324).
Regarding claim 7, Park in view of Jang teach the display panel of claim 6. But Park and Jang do not explicitly disclose that the color filter layer comprises a color resist layer comprising a plurality of color resist units, wherein a projection of the touch control electrodes on the array substrate completely falls within a projection of the color resist units on the array substrate, and wherein the color resist units in a region corresponding to the touch control electrodes form the light-shielding structure.
However, Kim teaches a color filter layer including a plurality of color filter units 240 and light-shielding portions 230 disposed at boundary regions between adjacent color filter units (Figs. 5 and 6B). In OLED display devices utilizing color filters, color filter units are conventionally formed from colored photoresist materials. Therefore, the color filter units 240 correspond to the claimed color resist units. Kim further teaches that the color filter layer 240 together with the light-shielding layer 230 reduces reflection of external light and that the light-shielding layer 230 absorbs external light ([0068]).
As shown in Fig. 6B, touch sensor 220 is disposed directly below the corresponding color filter units 240 and associated light-shielding portions 230. Further, the lateral projection of the touch sensor 220 on the substrate is fully contained within the lateral projection of the corresponding color filter units 240. Accordingly, the projection of the touch control electrodes completely falls within the projection of the color resist units on the array substrate. Additionally, the portions of the color filter layer corresponding to the touch sensor 220 provide a light-shielding function through the light-shielding portions 230 disposed within the color filter structure, thereby forming the claimed light-shielding structure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Park and Jang to incorporate the color filter structure of Kim because Kim teaches positioning light-shielding regions within a color filter structure corresponding to touch sensing regions in order to reduce reflected external light while maintaining touch sensing functionality and display visibility. The proposed modification merely incorporates a known color filter/light-shielding arrangement into a known touch-display structure to obtain the predictable benefits of reduced reflected external light and improved display visibility.
Regarding claim 8, Park in view of Jang and Kim teach the display panel of claim 7 as discussed above.
Jang teaches that the color filter layer includes a plurality of filter parts and a light shielding part overlapping an edge of each of the plurality of filter parts ([0012]). As shown in Fig. 5, the light shielding part (BM) overlaps edge regions of adjacent filter parts (CF-R, CF-G, and CF-B), thereby defining a shared overlapping boundary region associated with adjacent color resist units. The shared overlapping boundary region functions as the light-shielding structure and is vertically aligned with the input sensing layer ISL disposed therebelow. Accordingly, Jang teaches that two adjacent color resist units overlap in a common boundary region to form the light-shielding structure, and the light-shielding structure corresponds to a position of the touch control electrodes.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the overlapping boundary structure taught by Jang in the display panel resulting from the combination of Park, Jang, and Kim because Jang teaches that the boundary region provides light-shielding functionality while maintaining display quality and touch sensing performance.
Regarding claim 9, Park in view of Jang teach the display panel of claim 6. But Park in view of Jang does not explicitly disclose the color filter layer comprises a plurality of color resist units arranged at intervals and a black matrix layer disposed between two adjacent color resist units, and a width of the black matrix layer is less than a width of the pixel defining layer; and the black matrix layer forms the light-shielding structure.
However, Kim teaches a color filter layer including a plurality of color filter units 240 and a light-shielding layer 230 disposed between adjacent color filter units 240 (Fig. 5). In OLED display devices utilizing color filters, color filter units are conventionally formed from colored photoresist materials. Therefore, the color filter units 240 correspond to the claimed color resist units. Kim further teaches that the light-shielding layer 230 absorbs external light and functions as a light-shielding structure ([0068]).
As shown in Fig. 5, the light-shielding layer 230 is disposed between adjacent color filter units 240. Further, the width of the light-shielding layer 230 is less than the width of the pixel defining layer 131 because the pixel defining layer 131 laterally extends beyond both sides of the light-shielding layer 230, such that the width of the pixel defining layer 131 completely traverses the width of the light-shielding layer 230.
Accordingly, Kim teaches a plurality of color resist units arranged at intervals, a black matrix layer disposed between two adjacent color resist units, wherein a width of the black matrix layer is less than a width of the pixel defining layer, and wherein the black matrix layer forms the light-shielding structure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the color filter structure of Kim into the display panel of Park and Jang because Kim teaches reducing reflected external light while maintaining display quality and touch sensing functionality. The proposed modification merely incorporates a known color filter/light-shielding arrangement into a known touch-display structure to obtain the predictable benefits of reduced reflected external light and improved display visibility.
Regarding claim 17, Park in view of Jang teach the display device of claim 16. But Park and Jang do not explicitly disclose that the color filter layer comprises a color resist layer comprising a plurality of color resist units, wherein a projection of the touch control electrodes on the array substrate completely falls within a projection of the color resist units on the array substrate, and wherein the color resist units in a region corresponding to the touch control electrodes form the light-shielding structure.
However, Kim teaches a color filter layer including a plurality of color filter units 240 and light-shielding portions 230 disposed at boundary regions between adjacent color filter units (Figs. 5 and 6B). In OLED display devices utilizing color filters, color filter units are conventionally formed from colored photoresist materials. Therefore, the color filter units 240 correspond to the claimed color resist units. Kim further teaches that the color filter layer 240 together with the light-shielding layer 230 reduces reflection of external light and that the light-shielding layer 230 absorbs external light ([0068]).
As shown in Fig. 6B, touch sensor 220 is disposed directly below the corresponding color filter units 240 and associated light-shielding portions 230. Further, the lateral projection of the touch sensor 220 on the substrate is fully contained within the lateral projection of the corresponding color filter units 240. Accordingly, the projection of the touch control electrodes completely falls within the projection of the color resist units on the array substrate. Additionally, the portions of the color filter layer corresponding to the touch sensor 220 provide a light-shielding function through the light-shielding portions 230 disposed within the color filter structure, thereby forming the claimed light-shielding structure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device of Park and Jang to incorporate the color filter structure of Kim because Kim teaches positioning light-shielding regions within a color filter structure corresponding to touch sensing regions in order to reduce reflected external light while maintaining touch sensing functionality and display visibility. The proposed modification merely incorporates a known color filter/light-shielding arrangement into a known touch-display structure to obtain the predictable benefits of reduced reflected external light and improved display visibility.
Regarding claim 18, Park in view of Jang and Kim teach the display device of claim 17 as discussed above.
Jang teaches that the color filter layer includes a plurality of filter parts and a light shielding part overlapping an edge of each of the plurality of filter parts ([0012]). As shown in Fig. 5, the light shielding part (BM) overlaps edge regions of adjacent filter parts (CF-R, CF-G, and CF-B), thereby defining a shared overlapping boundary region associated with adjacent color resist units. The shared overlapping boundary region functions as the light-shielding structure and is vertically aligned with the input sensing layer ISL disposed therebelow. Accordingly, Jang teaches that two adjacent color resist units overlap in a common boundary region to form the light-shielding structure, and the light-shielding structure corresponds to a position of the touch control electrodes.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the overlapping boundary structure taught by Jang in the display device resulting from the combination of Park, Jang, and Kim because Jang teaches that the boundary region provides light-shielding functionality while maintaining display quality and touch sensing performance.
Regarding claim 19, Park in view of Jang teach the display device of claim 16. But Park in view of Jang does not explicitly disclose the color filter layer comprises a plurality of color resist units arranged at intervals and a black matrix layer disposed between two adjacent color resist units, and a width of the black matrix layer is less than a width of the pixel defining layer; and the black matrix layer forms the light-shielding structure.
However, Kim teaches a color filter layer including a plurality of color filter units 240 and a light-shielding layer 230 disposed between adjacent color filter units 240 (Fig. 5). In OLED display devices utilizing color filters, color filter units are conventionally formed from colored photoresist materials. Therefore, the color filter units 240 correspond to the claimed color resist units. Kim further teaches that the light-shielding layer 230 absorbs external light and functions as a light-shielding structure ([0068]).
As shown in Fig. 5, the light-shielding layer 230 is disposed between adjacent color filter units 240. Further, the width of the light-shielding layer 230 is less than the width of the pixel defining layer 131 because the pixel defining layer 131 laterally extends beyond both sides of the light-shielding layer 230, such that the width of the pixel defining layer 131 completely traverses the width of the light-shielding layer 230.
Accordingly, Kim teaches a plurality of color resist units arranged at intervals, a black matrix layer disposed between two adjacent color resist units, wherein a width of the black matrix layer is less than a width of the pixel defining layer, and wherein the black matrix layer forms the light-shielding structure.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the color filter structure of Kim into the display device of Park and Jang because Kim teaches reducing reflected external light while maintaining display quality and touch sensing functionality. The proposed modification merely incorporates a known color filter/light-shielding arrangement into a known touch-display structure to obtain the predictable benefits of reduced reflected external light and improved display visibility.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20190165068) in view of Jang et al. (US 20220190300), further in view of Kim et al. (US 20140117324), and further in view of Sato et al. (US 20150069361).
Regarding claim 10, Park in view of Jang and Kim teach the display panel of claim 9. But Park in view of Jang and Kim does not explicitly disclose the pixel defining layer comprises a plurality of slots, and a width of each of the slots is less than a width of each of the color resist units.
However, Sato further teaches that the pixel defining layer, corresponding to insulating layer 122, has an upper surface including a plurality of concave portions 124 and convex portions 126 defining a concavo-convex structure (Figs. 9; [0072]). Specifically, Sato teaches that plural concave portions 124 are formed in areas 128 between adjacent pixel regions ([0072]). The claims do not define the term "slot." Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a slot encompasses a narrow groove, notch, slit, aperture, or depression. Sato teaches that insulating layer 122 includes plural concave portions 124 formed in areas 128 between adjacent pixel regions ([0072]). The concave portions 124 are narrow, elongated recessed regions formed in the pixel defining layer and therefore constitute the claimed slots.
As shown in Fig. 9, each concave portion 124 occupies only a portion of the corresponding pixel region and is substantially narrower than the corresponding color filter 146 disposed thereover. Accordingly, the width of each concave portion 124 is less than the width of the corresponding color filter 146, which corresponds to a color resist unit.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the slot structure taught by Sato into the display panel resulting from the combination of Park, Jang, and Kim because Sato teaches forming recessed slot-like regions in the pixel defining layer to control light propagation and improve optical performance of the display panel.
Regarding claim 20, Park in view of Jang and Kim teach the display device of claim 19. But Park in view of Jang and Kim does not explicitly disclose the pixel defining layer comprises a plurality of slots, and a width of each of the slots is less than a width of each of the color resist units.
However, Sato further teaches that the pixel defining layer, corresponding to insulating layer 122, has an upper surface including a plurality of concave portions 124 and convex portions 126 defining a concavo-convex structure (Fig. 9; [0072]). Specifically, Sato teaches that plural concave portions 124 are formed in areas 128 between adjacent pixel regions ([0072]). The claims do not define the term "slot." Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, a slot encompasses a narrow groove, notch, slit, aperture, or depression. Sato teaches that insulating layer 122 includes plural concave portions 124 formed in areas 128 between adjacent pixel regions ([0072]). The concave portions 124 are narrow, elongated recessed regions formed in the pixel defining layer and therefore constitute the claimed slots.
As shown in Fig. 9, each concave portion 124 occupies only a portion of the corresponding pixel region and is substantially narrower than the corresponding color filter 146 disposed thereover. Accordingly, the width of each concave portion 124 is less than the width of the corresponding color filter 146, which corresponds to a color resist unit.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the slot structure taught by Sato into the display device resulting from the combination of Park, Jang, and Kim because Sato teaches forming recessed slot-like regions in the pixel defining layer to control light propagation and improve optical performance of the display device.
Conclusion
/Changhyun Yi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812